Skip to main content

Full text of "Commemorative biographical record of prominent and representative men of Racine and Kenosha counties, Wisconsin, containing biographical sketches of business and professional men and of many of the early settled families"

See other formats


V 


HOKK  fUBi,^ 


\mi7^/ 


x\JK 


k 


-) 


Co^f 


Digitized  by  tine  Internet  Arcinive 

in  2008  witii  funding  from 

IVIicrosoft  Corporation 


littp://www.arcliive.org/details/commemorativebiogrOOjlibe 


COMMEMORATIVE 

BIOGRAPHICAL  RECORD 

OF 

PROMINENT  AND  REPRESENTATIVE  MEN 

OF 

RACINE  AND  KENOSHA  COUNTIES 

WISCONSIN 


CONTAINING 


BIOGRAPHICAL  SKETCHES   OF  BUSINESS  AND 
PROFESSIONAL  MEN   AND  MANY  OF  THE 
EARLY  SETTLED  FAMILIES. 


ILLUSTRATED 


J.  H.  BEERS  &  CO. 

CHICAGO 

1906 


HC«K  POB^^^ 


preface:. 


HE  importance  of  placing  in  1x>ok  form  biographical  history  of  rep- 
resentative citizens — both  for  its  immediate  worth  and  for  its  value 
to  coming  generations — is  admitted  by  all  thinking  people;  and  with- 
in the  past  decade  there  has  been  a  growing  interest  in  this  commend- 
able means  of  perpetuating  biography  and  family  genealogy. 

That  the  public  is  entitled  to  the  privileges  afforded  by  a  work  of  this 
nature  needs  no  assertion  at  our  hands ;  for  one  of  our  greatest  Americans 
has  said  that  the  history  of  any  country  resolves  itself  into  the  biographies 
of  its  stout,  earnest  and  representative  citizens.  This  medium,  then,  serves 
more  than  a  single  purpose;  while  it  perpetuates  biography  and  family  gen- 
ealogy, it  records  history,  much  of  which  would  be  preserved  in  no  other  way. 
In  presenting  the  Commemorative  Biographical  Record  to  its  patrons, 
the  publishers  have  to  acknowledge,  with  gratitude,  the  encouragement  and 
support  their  enterprise  has  received,  and  the  willing  assistance  rendered  in 
enabling  them  to  surmount  the  many  unforeseen  obstacles  to  be  met  with  in 
the  production  of  a  work  of  this  character.  In  nearly  every  instance  the 
material  composing  the  sketches  was  gathered  from  those  immediately  in- 
terested, and  then  submitted  in  type-written  form  for  correction  and  revision. 
The  volume,  which  is  one  of  generous  amplitude,  is  placed  in  the  hands  of 
the  public  with  the  belief  that  it  will  be  found  a  valuable  addition  to  the 
library,  as  well  as  an  invaluable  contribution  to  the  historical  literature  of  the 
State  of  Wisconsin. 

THE  PUBLISHERS. 


INDEX 


PAGE. 

Acker,  Marvin  W 585 

Adams,    John    W 559 

Alirens,    Otto    E 458 

Alaxon,    Edwin    315 

Alaxon,    Knut    315 

Alexander,  Rev.  Walter  S 625 

Allen,    Charles    W 27 

Allen,    Nathan    27 

Allen.  Nathan  R 26 

Andrewson,  Christian 163 

Andsion    Family    219 

Apple,    Hon.    Adam 40 

Apple,  Charles  E 41 

Apple,   Harry    41 

Arnold.   John    175 

Ashy,   William    311 

Bailey,   Hon.   Alexander 104 

Bailey    Family    104 

Bain,    Edward    394 

Baker,    George   R 401 

Baker,    John    R 421 

Baker,  jily ron  A 55 

Baker,    Robert    H 23 

Baldwin,  James  G 131 

Barnes,  Mrs.   Clara   P 411 

Barrows,    Alvin    510 

Barrows,    Mrs.    Clarissa 511 

BiEsett,  Mrs.  Adeline  F 591 

Bassett,    Edgar    625 

Bassett,   George    626 

Bassett,  Reuben  L 581 

Bassett,    Volney    L 591 

Bayley  Family   181 

Bayley.    Herbert    0 181 

Beardsley,   Ezra 207 

Becker,    Dr.   Bernard   A 589 

Becker,    Peter 606 

Beecher,  Gustavns  A 180 

Beimer,    Henry  G 432 

Beimer,  Rudolph   432 

Belden,    Hon.   Ellsworth    B 48 

Belden,   Hon.    Philo 22 

Benson,    Mrs.    Elizabeth 427 

Benson,   Elliott   C 426 

Bever,  Michael    319 

Bevins,  Arthur  N 636 

Bierce,  Rev.  Daniel  E 625 

Billings,   Edward   T 331 


P.ACE. 

Bird,  Walter  B 164 

Bishop,    Isaac    T 323 

Blakey,   John    S 172 

Blood,    Alvin    H 597 

Bloss,   Ward    539 

Bolton,    James    363 

Bones,   Benjamin   R 317 

Booth,    George    H 416 

Botsford,  Ahira  F 551 

Brehm,    Bernard 127 

Brook,    James     223 

Brower,   William    B 428 

Brown,  Charles  C 572 

Brueggenian,   Frank   H 391 

Bryant,   James    5S0 

Buchan,    Edwin    166 

Buckmaster,  Albert  E 168 

Buell    Family    576 

Buell,    Fred   J 5/6 

Buell,    Thomas    W 576 

Bull,    Frank    K '27 

Bull,    Silas    H 557 

Bull.   Stephen    i 

Bull,  Wakely  T 396 

Bullamore,   Henry   L 256 

Burfeind,  William  F 257 

Burroughs,  Eben   596 

Buttles,   Elijah    T 310 

Buttles,    Mrs.    Nancy    E 310 

Cadwell,  Rev.  Christopher  C 621 

Caley,    Henry    613 

Calkins,   Orla   M 235 

Callaghan,   John   J 414 

Callender,  John    456 

Callender,    William    J ......456 

Cape,    James,    Jr 78 

Carswell,  Charles  N 454 

Case,    Henry    C 328 

Case.    Jackson    1 59 

Case,  Hon.  Jerome  1 2 

Cavanagh,  James   232 

Chandler.    James    G 31 

Choak,  Charles   380 

Christien,  Joseph  M 299 

Clausen,  John   392 

Clemons  Family  326 

demons,  Ward  C 606 

Clergyman,    The    Pioneer 620 


INDEX 


PAGE, 

Collar,  Deacon  Daniel  N 4^9 

Collier,   Joshua   Z 5'- 

Colville,  Rev.  George  M.,  D.  D 625 

GonnoUy,   (Patrick    H 67 

Cooper,    Archibald 211 

Cooper,  Hugh  R 212,  322 

Corwin,  Rev.  Eli,  D.  D 625 

Cox.  Francis   158 

Crabb,    Odle    L 213 

Crane,  John   W 307 

Crane,  William 546,  553 

Crane,    William    A 240 

Cunningham,    Matthew    223 

Curtis,  Cyrus  A 409 

Curtis,  G.  Harry  574 

Curtis,    Philo    408 

Curtiss,  Hon.  Walker  M 448 

Cutting,  Andrew   J 611 

Dabbs,   William   G 308 

Daniels,    Anton    39° 

Daniels.    Nicholas    374 

Darbv,  Henry  C,  M.  D 412 

Dardis.  H.  Gene 117 

Davidson,  Joseph  F 58 

Davies,  John  P 208 

Davis   Family    33t 

Dearsley,   John    W 53- 

DeVuyst.    Abraham 643 

Dexter,  Hon.  Walter  L 116 

Dingee,   William   W 66 

Dixon,  Joseph  E 403 

Dow,    William    C 182- 

Dowse.  James   C 148 

Drake,    William    H 3S8 

Dunkirk,   John    437 

Dunnebacke,  Ferdinand 603 

Dyer,  Judge  Charles  E 459 

Early  Settlers  of  Racine  County 461 

Eastman,  J.  Russell,  M.  D 588 

Edwards,  Hugh   R 332 

Emerson   Family    152 

Emerson,    Thomas    J 152 

English,    John    J 95 

Erskine,  IMassena  B 273 

Esmond,  James  0 546 

Essmann.   Theodore   H 451 

Evans,  Dr.  Christmas  E 438 

Evans,  Dr.  Evan  R 598 

Evans,    John 371 

Faulkner,    George    W 604 

Feldshau,    Frederick    C 375 

Fennell,  John 503 

Feuerer,  Pious   547 

Findlay.  Charles  M 373 

Fink,    Eugene    540 

Fisher,    Frederick    176 

Fisher.   William    F 178 

Flegel,  Albert  L 71 

Foltz,   Charles  G 140 

Folwell.  John  H 602 

Fonk,   John    263 


PACE. 

Foote,    Rev.    Hiram 622 

Foster,  Julian   A.,   Sr 348 

Foxwell,   John    102 

Fratt,    George    N 43 

Fratt,  Hon.   Nicholas  D 278 

Frost,    Charles    N 352 

Frost    Family    352 

Gaines,    Harvey    B 640 

Garnetz,  August  W 287 

Gehr,    Rev.    George    F 558 

Gittings,   Christopher   C 70 

Gittings,    John    T 612 

Gittins,    Elmer    E I39 

Gleeson,   Bartholomew 382 

Goodland,  Walter  S 51 

Goold,    John    F 49 

Gould,    Myron    A 563 

Graham,   Charles    L 525 

Graham,   Owen    P 410 

Gray,   James   H 123 

Greeley,    Horace    C 333 

Grenier,   George    W 288 

Griffiths,  Thomas  P no 

Gunder.son,    Gouty 150 

Gunter,    Charles    615 

Gunter,    William    615 

Hale  F'amily   250 

Hale,  George 250 

Hale,  Myron  H 252 

Hallock,    William    H 297 

Halter,    Henry    198 

Hansen,  Thomas   284 

Hansen,   Valdemar    521 

Hanson,  Dr.  William  C 541 

Harbridge,  Frederick   44 

Harcus,    Adam    H 347 

Harden,    Delbert    354 

Harden,    Theodore 353 

Hartnell,   Frank   G 368 

Hartnell,   John    368 

Harvey,    William    J 129 

Haumersen,    Frederick    H 62 

Hausner,  Christof   528 

Hausner,   John   W 529 

Haven,   Wiltsie   S 146 

Hay,    John    S 413 

Hay.  Thomas    155 

Head.   Eugene  R 372 

Head,   George   D 96 

Heck,   Judge   i\Iax  W 60 

Hcg,   Ole    313 

Hegeman,    Louis    590 

Heidbrink,    Dr.    Jay    A 627 

Heidersdorf,    Christian 255 

Henningfeld,  Louis  542 

Herzog,   George   H 608 

Hewitt,  Benjamin  F 169 

Hewitt,   Mrs.   Louisa   M 170 

Higgins.  Michael,  Jr 136 

Hildebrand,    Andrew    79 

Hilker,    Adolph    280 

Hilker,   Adnlph    W 280 

Hilker,  William    272 


INDEX 


PAGE. 

]Iinchliffe,   Tom    316 

Hocking,   James   N 537 

Hocking.  Josiah   525 

Hocking.   J\Iiss   Prudence   M 525,  538 

Hoffman.   Martin   L 424 

Hogenson,   Christopher    420 

Holhster,   Homer  T 618 

Holloway,    Morris    W 538 

Holton   Family    75 

Hood.   William   C 247 

Hoyt    Family    26g 

Hcyt,    Franklin    E 269 

Hoyt.    William    E 268 

Huck.  Mathias   113 

Hueffner,  Ernst  J 22 

Humphrey,  Rev.  Zephaniah  M 623 

Hunter,  Adam    2,2"] 

Hunter,    Mrs.    Charlotte 328 

Hurd,    James    405 

Hurn,    David 197 

Hutchins.  Rev.  Charles  J 624 

Hyde,    Henry    H 63 

Jacobs,    Rev.    Theodore 184 

Jasperson,   Orlando   A 643 

Johnson,    Charles    K 203 

Johnson,   Charles  0 286 

Johnson    Family    200 

Johnson,    Halvor    K 242 

Johnson,  Henry  F 233 

Johnson,    John    F 204 

Johnson,   Joseph    C 545 

Johnson,    Samuel    C 200 

Jones   Family    350 

Jones,   Richard    262 

Jordan,    Henry    F 141 

Jorgensen,  Dr!  Palle  P.  M 39° 

Kaltenbach,  Louis  E.,  D.  D.  S 119 

Karcher.    Adam 436 

Kehlor.   John    M 64 

Killeen.   John    A 146 

Kimball,    Roger    N 637 

Klein,    Francis    G 265 

Kolander,    Frederick    W 550 

Kradwell,    Gustave    V 579 

Krenzke,  Charles   587 

Krichbaum.   Joseph   E 326 

Kruckman,  August   H 427 

Kupfer,   William   M 291 

Lane,   Capt.  Theodore 132 

Lawton.  IDavid   236 

Leber.    John    5^4 

Lee.   Charles   H 115 

Leet.    George    F 253 

Leonard,    Harry    J 632 

Leonard.   Peter  F 632 

Lewjs,    Arthur    W S36 

Lewis.    William   H 535 

Lichber,    George    362 

Lintner,    Frank    567 

Litzenberger,    Charles    434 

Loescher,    Mathias    534 


TACE. 

Lothrop,  Jason   156 

Lugg,    James    397 

Lund,    Jacob    C 5S1 

Lytle,  Henry   143 

McBeth,    Daniel    174 

McBeth,    Mrs.    Elizabeth    A 369 

McBeth,    John    369 

McCanna,   Charles   B 68 

McCarron,    George    B 633 

McCarron,   Jeremiah    634 

i\IcFarland,  David  E 555 

McMamis,   Charles    16; 

McNeil,    Charles    D 94 

McQuarrie,    Frank    507 

Malone,  Edward   600 

Alabch,  Fredrick   21  r 

IMarlatt.  Walter  T 566 

Maxwell,    Elmer    A 160 

Maxwell.   Hon.    Walter    S ito 

Maver.    Joseph    A 441 

.Meachem,  John   G.,  M.  D 38 

Meadows,    George    357 

Meadows,   Hon.   William 245 

Mealy,   Mrs.   Alice   M 444 

Mealy,    Patrick    444 

Meredith,    Charles    E 501 

Mever,  Rev.  Theodore  B 192 

Miles,    Herbert    E 281 

Miller,  Frank  J 74 

Miller,   Joseph    T2 

Miller,    Joseph    F 7=; 

Miller,   W.   Henry 46 

Moeller,    John '. 604 

Mohr,  Charles  J 513 

Mohr,    Jacob    54 

Monaghan,   John    388 

Moore   Family    506 

Moore,    Col.    Webster    P 504 

Morey,    Darius    J 124 

Moth.    Robert    H 393 

Movie.  John  F 114 

Movie.  Dr.  Thomas  F 616 

Mungen,    Matthias    383 

Murdoch.   John    439 

Murdoch,   William   M 440 

Murphy,    James    300 

^lurray,  James  H 295 

Mutter.   James    122 

Mutter,  James  W 599 

Mutter,    Robert    .■ 87 

JNIyrick  Family  320 

Myrick,    Mead    0 320 

Myritp.    Mars    213 

Nelson.    Hans   P 264 

Nelson,    Ole    258 

Nelson,    Peter  B 112 

Newell,  Frank  F.,  j\L  D 592 

Newell,  George  E.,  M.  D 561 

Newell,   Henry   B.,   M.   D 336 

Newman.  Hiram    154 

Nichols.  Rev.  Cyrus 620 


INDEX 


PAGE. 

Nickerson,  Rev.  Charles  S.,  D.  D 625 

Nims,    F.    H 147 

Nisen,  Michael   126 

Noble,   John    446 

Noll,  Louis,  Sr 215 

Northrop,   Byron    B 31 

Northrup,  O.sro  S 243 

O'Laughlin,   John    593 

Orvis,   Charles  W 520 

Orvis    Family    450 

Orvis,  Miss  Flora  B 521 

Oversen,   Andrew   547 

Overson,  Henry  M 227 

Ozanne,    Lawrence    E 351 

Ozanne,    Peter    351 

Paddock,  Alva   422 

Palmer.    Walter    C 216 

Park,    Linus    H 42 

Parker  Families   67,  348 

Parker.  Frederick   0 191 

Patterson,    Albert    345 

Peacock,   Arthur   H 376 

Peacock,  George  W 338 

Pearce,   John   P 128 

Peat.   Richard   229 

Perkins.   Edward  D 135 

Petersen,   George   C 441 

Peterson,  Halvor  N 292 

Pettit.    O^sian    M 276 

Pfeiffer,    John    P 529 

Pfennig,    Charles    C 569 

Pfister,    Fred    149 

Phillips,    Charles    594 

Pierce,   Alzo   B 560 

Pierce,   Andrew  J 29 

Pierce,  Joshua   138 

Pjerce.    William 138 

Pioneer    Clergyman,   The 620 

Pirsch.   George   R 629 

Pirsch,  John  B 629 

Pirsch,  Nicholas  628 

Powles,    Henry    G 90 

Pow'les.    William 532 

Prasch.   Frank  J 573 

Puffer,   Kneelon    C 443 

Pugh,  William  H 279 

Purvis,  William  R 271 

Racine  County,  Early  Settlers  of 461 

Ramsden,   John    139 

Rasch,    Gustave    C 312 

Rasmussen.   Matt  A 626 

Reesmann.   Henry    178 

Remer.    Clarence   E 144 

Reynolds.   Samuel    106 

Reynolds.    William    F 631 

Richards.  Clarence  J 24.  47 

Richards,  Griffith   304 

Ripley,    Everett    W 619 

Ripley,  George  H.,  M.  D 75 

Ritter.    Hiram    159 

Robbins.    Herbert    E 518 

Roberts,   Robert   F 544 


PAGE. 

Roliinson,    Dwight     499 

Riil)inson,  Mrs.  Frances  S 500 

Ri)l)inson,    Frederick    34 

Robinson,  Hon.   Frederick 56 

Robinson,  Rev.  Henry  D.,  D.  D 30 

Robinson,  Richard  T 39 

Rogers,   Zophar    344 

Rooker,   Joseph    C 502 

Rowntree   Family    238 

Rowntree,    George   W 238 

Rowntree,   James    C 289 

Runkel,    John    P 607 

Russell,   Andrew  J 296 

Russell,    James     447 

Russell,   Richard    445 

Ryan,  Dr.  Charles  C 394 

Rygh,    Carl   J 218 

Rygh,  ]\Irs.  Ellen  A 219 

Sage,   Miss   Emma   M 82 

Sage  Family  80 

Sage,   Sidney  A 82 

Sage,    Stephen    H 80 

Sanders,    ^Irs.    Eunice 70 

Sanders,   Horace   T 69 

Schaeffer.    Jacob    P 343 

Scherf.  Anton   399 

Schiefen.   Rev.   John   H 570 

Schlax.  John  H 433 

Schlax,    Peter    402 

Schlegel,    Leonard    335 

Schmitt,   Peter    457 

Schnederman,  Edward  H 316 

Schreck.  Frederick  R 568 

Schroeder,   Frederick   C 610 

Schweitzer,  Charles  T 53 

Sears,  William   439 

Secor,  IMartin  M '84 

Scngbusch,    Frederick   J 565 

Shepbard.    Wesley    638 

Shields.    George    A 634 

Shumway,  Walter   G 406 

Simmons,  Ezra  6 

Simmons,   Gilbert   M 224 

Simmons,   Gilbert  M.,  Library 224 

Simmons,  Samuel  S SS4 

Simmons,  Hon.  Zalmon  G 6 

Smieding.  Judge  William,  Jr 103 

Smieding.   William,    Sr 46 

Smith,    Arthur   D 509 

Smith,    Frank    F 365 

Smith,    Frank  J 641 

Smith,    Hiram    J 134 

Smith,    Rufus 364 

Snyder.  Clarence   628 

Sorenson,    Soren    C 642 

Spear.  Hugh  S 277 

Spencer   Family    356 

Spencer.    James    E 355 

Spiegelhoff.   Erwin    614  , 

Spillum.    George    82 

Sprague  Family   349 

Stanbridge.   William   309 

Stanley,   William  J 635 


INDEX 


PACE. 

Starbuck,  Frank  W 120 

Stebbins,  James  M 260 

Steinmetz.    Martin    387 

Stevens   Family    ol 

Stevens,  Frank  E.,  M.  D 61 

Stevens,   John    L *» 

Stocker,   Bradley   H 524 

Stoel,   William   N 452 

Stone,  Dr.  George  \V.,  Jr 355 

Stone,   Dr.   George  W.,    Sr 209 

St.  Patrick's  Church  Society 99 

Sturges,    Benjamin    0 86 

Summers.  Joseph   W 293 

Swantz,   Fred   W 4i8 

Swenson,    Richard   B 53° 

Tate,    William    R 267 

Thelen,   Nicholas   C 435 

Thiers,   Edward   C 34 

Thiers,   Louis   M 226 

Thronson,  Bartholomew  C 171 

Tiedemann.    Peter    52 

Timme,    Henry    H 303 

Tilley,    Henry    520 

Titus,    Alonzo    S 552 

Toner,    Charles    302 

Topp,  Albert  J So4 

Torrey.   James    P 55° 

Trant   Family    98 

Trant.  Rev.  Stephen  Dean 98 

Turnock,  James   H 384- 

Udell,  Lathrop   A 568 

Upson   Family    378 

Upson,  Salmon  E 378 

Van  Alstine,  James  J 381 

Van  Arsdale.  William 630 

Veitch,  Dr.  John  H 385 

\'incent,    Dow    J 039 

Vnorhces,   Elias   S m 

Vos,    Frank    H 503 

Vyvyan,   Henry    453 

Vyvyan,  John   5io 

Wadsworth,   John    339 


PAGE. 

Walker,  Mortimer  E 118 

Walker,  Robert  M Si7 

Wallis,  George   455 

Wallmann,  George  F 121 

Ward,  Lorenzo  C I94 

Washburn,  Charles  H 418 

Weber,    Adolph    583 

Wells,  Frank  L 45 

Wendt,    Frank    531 

Wentworth,  John  T 65 

Wentworth,  Hon.  John  T 21 

Werve,    Alathias    248 

West,    Benjamin    37° 

West,  George    330 

West,  George  A 331 

West,    Thomas     234 

Whitcher,    Charles    H 584 

White,  Joshua  H 361 

Wicks,   Frank  B 609 

Wieners.   Joseph.   Sr 508 

Wigley,   David   P lOO 

WiUerton,  Charles  H 359 

Willett,    George    P 522 

Willev,   John   R 400 

Willey,    Samuel    400 

Williams,    Daniel     366 

Williams  Family  .  . .  . .' 196 

Williams,    Henry    252 

Williams,   Henrv   C 162 

Williams.  John   G I95 

Williams,    Lewis    C 54^ 

Williams,    Thomas    L 168 

Williamson,   Capt.   Halvor 217 

Wilmore,  William  J. 386 

Worthington,    Francis    E 34i 

Wright,  Edwin  E 407 

Wustum,  Charles  A 76 

Wustum   Family    76 

Yule,   George    36 

Yule,    George    A 38 

Yule,    John    T 283 

Zimmermann,    Henry   E 360 


A 


i^> 


.{Ec^^ 


BIOGH/ 


STEP! 

cine,  Wis.,  r. 

the  city,  ha\  i- 

Although  iKi 

man,  of  men! 

1845.     He  V 

■f  DeGrove  : 

DeGrovt 

consin  alxnn 

spent  the  rem 

seventy-secor, 

away,  aged  (  . 

still  living: 

widow  of  Tb 

Clarissa,  decc' 

I.  Case;  Dan  if 

ci-ne;  Wakely 

farmer  of  the 

Stephen   ■ 

first  employmi 

were  plowing. 

to  school  duri: 

that  the  teach. 

to  New  Yorl 

e  he  clerki 

Wisconsin,  !■ 

;acine  for 

county  and  '.v 

ing  Prairit 

mained  about 

In  iRs7  ''• 

ever  since.  O 

K'      ■'    . 

J.  I.  Case.  ari. 

the  firm.    Mr    ' 

■!i(l  Mr.  i 

At  that  time  '.' 

I'll  name  \^ 

T.  I.   C:i-r    ■■■■ 

y;  Machine 

^'■-i   urc 

his  deai; 

iiie^iidcn. 

d  down  t.' 

if  the  0 

esent  pre^' 

t8..-  A[r 

Hull  wns  T' 

2  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

through  his  foresight  and  good  management  that  the  success  of  the  firm  lias 
been  so  marked.  Mr.  BuU  was  also  president  of  The  ^Nlihvaukee  Harvester 
Company  for  twenty  years. 

Stephen  Bull  has  been  a  stockholder  in  the  Manufacturers  National  Bank 
since  1872,  of  which  Mr.  Case  was  the  first  president,  being  succeeded  by  Mr. 
M.  B.  Erskine,  who  in  turn  was  succeeded  by  Mr.  Bull,  who  held  that  office 
-until  Jan.  i,  1904,  when  he  resigned. 

On  June  7,  1849,  ^i'"-  Bull  married  Miss  Ellen  C.  Kellogg,  of  White 
Pigeon,  Mich.,  daughter  of  A.  B.  and  Rhoda  (Lawrence)  Kellogg.  She  died 
March  27,  1880.  There  were  seven  children  born  to  this  union:  One  son 
■died  when  three  months  old;  Ida  R.,  who  married  H.  W.  Conger,  lives  in  San 
Francisco.  Cal. ;  Frank  K.,  president  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine 
Co.,  married  Miss  Arabella  Jones,  of  Milwaukee;  Jeanette  married  Richard 
T.  Robinson,  and  they  live  in  Racine:  Lillian  M.  married  Frederick  Robinson; 
Herbert  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-three  years ;  and  Bessie  ]\I.  married  A. 
Arthur  Guilbert. 

Among  the  heads  of  the  prominent  families  of  Racine,  none  is  more  con- 
•spicuous  that  is  Wx.  Stephen  Bull.  The  great  benefits  to  the  community  that 
have  come  from  the  institutions  and  enterprises  with  which  he  has  been  con- 
nected can  hardly  be  estimated.  Their  influence  will  continue  to  be  felt  as  long 
as  the  city  stands,  hundreds  of  families  having  been  sustained  and  deriving 
benefit  therefrom.  The  name  of  Mr.  Bull  will  endure,  and  cannot  be  effaced 
from  the  histoiy  of  the  city  and  county.  The  fame  of  such  men  should  be 
written  not  for  a  brief  moment,  but  as  an  everlasting  example  worthv  of  emu- 
lation. Notwithstanding  his  strenuous  life,  Mr.  Bull  is  noted  for  his  genial 
•disposition  and  affable  manner,  and  he  has  hosts  of  friends  in  all  classes. 

HON.  JEROME  I.  CASE  (deceased)  was  undoubtedly  the  most  re- 
markable of  the  many  strong  characters  who  came  to  Racine  county  in  pio- 
neer days.  In  his  own  line,  as  a  manufacturer,  he  was  foremost  among  the 
most  successful  in  the  world.  Yet  the  influence  of  his  success  was  not  so 
much  on  manufacturing  interests  as  on  agricultural  interests,  and  especially 
on  the  developing  farming  lands  of  Wisconsin.  The  use  of  the  wonderful 
machines  he  improved  or  invented  has  spread  until  they  are  known  in  almost 
every  agricultural  region  on  the  earth,  but  Wisconsin  had  the  first  benefit 
of  these  products  of  his  genius.  Thus  the  limitations  of  poverty  are  not 
aUvays  prejudicial.  In  the  struggling  days  of  his  early  manhood  he  was 
obliged  to  use  the  facilities  at  hand  for  the  fulfillment  of  his  ambitions,  and 
he  likewise  chose  the  field  nearest  at  hand,  in  which  to  introduce  his  first 
attempts  at  improved  farm  machinery.  This  was  one  manifestation  of  a  trait 
which  always  predominated  in  his  character.  He  never  wasted  his  energies 
looking  for  something  particularlv  worthy  of  his  efforts,  or  rejected  imme- 
diate opportunities  for  those  that  looked  better  because  their  disadvantages 
were  less  apparent  at  a  distance.  He  did  the  work  that  lav  nearest  to  him, 
Avith  the  facilities  available,  and,  like  many  another  modest  but  aspiring  spirit, 
found  that  when  ambition  and  industry  go  hand  in  hand  the  road  to  success 
■cannot  be  closed  against  them.  His  particular  road  to  success  mav  well  be 
compared  with  the  roads  of  his  adopted  State.  When  he  came  to  Wisconsin 
the  pioneers  of  this  section  were  still  making  their  wav  through  the  dense 
forests  bv  means  of  blazed  trails,  the  beginnings  of  the  fine  roads  which  now 


COMMEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RFXORD.  3 

traverse  the  country.  So  he  started  his  career  in  a  practicaUy  untried  field, 
making  slow  progress  at  first,  with  the  uncertainty  of  first  steps.  But  no  man 
ever  came  to  realize  more  fully  than  he  that  "nothing  succeeds  like  success." 
His  interests  broadened  with  the  years  until  the  road  was  so  wide  and  well 
laid  that  it  afforded  room  for  many  besides  the  man  who  unconsciously  laid 
out  a  great  highway  to  prosperity  for  so  many  of  his  fellowmen. 

Mr.  Case  did  much  for  his  fellowmen  in  other  ways,  though  of  course 
/he  building  up  of  the  great  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company  may  justly 
be  considered  his  most  important  work,  especially  from  a  material  standpoint. 
He  was  essentially  a  business  man,  hut  the  executive  ability  which  was  so 
manifest  in  the  management  of  his  own  affairs  enabled  him  to  give,  time 
to  other  things.  As  a  leading  business  man  of  Racine  he  was  naturally  con- 
cerned in  the  advancement  of  the  city,  but  his  interest  was  not  a  selfish  one. 
He  gave  of  his  means  and  influence  to  the  furtherance  of  every  good  cause, 
and  as  an  official  gave  considerable  time  and  personal  attention  to  the  proper 
management  of  civil  affairs  at  a  period  when  a  progressive  but  wisely  con- 
servative leader  was  much  needed.  He  was  the  object  of  appreciative  regarn 
among  the  best  element  of  the  citizens  of  Racine  and  his  business  associates 
and  employes  had  the  utmost  respect  for  him  as  a  man,  inspired  by  many  years 
of  congenial  association. 

Mr.  Case  was  the  product  of  old  New  England  stock,  of  English  de- 
scent, his  first  ancestor  in  America  being  one  of  four  brothers  who  came  hither 
from  England  in  Colonial  days.  He  himself  was  a  native  of  New  York 
State,  born  Dec.  11,  1818,  in  Williamstown,  Oswego  county,  of  which  county 
his  parents,  Caleb  and  Deborah  (Jackson)  Case,  were  pioneers,  having  moved 
thither  from  Rensselaer  county,  same  State.  These  hardy  people  cleared  a 
farm  from  the  woods,  the  sons  assisting  in  the  work,  which  was  arduous  and 
apparently  never-ending.  Jerome  I.,  though  the  youngest  son,  had  his  share. 
He  received  such  education  as  the  local  schools  afforded,  but  as  the  country 
was  sparsely  settled  school  was  held  only  for  a  few  weeks  in  the  year,  and 
the  instruction  was  elementary.  Thus  he  continued,  helping  at  hqme  and 
attending  school,  until  he  was  about  sixteen,  at  which  he  practically  began 
the  work  to  which  'he  devoted  his  life.  At  that  time  his  father  secured  the 
right  to  sell  and  use  a  one-horse  treadpower  threshing  machine,  a  wonderful 
thing  in  that  day,  and  he  turned  the  management  of  same  over  to  our  sub- 
ject, who  must  have  given  evidence  of  some  special  abilitv  in  that  line  to  en- 
title him  to  such  trust. 

As  w^as  the  custom  in  those  times,  Mr.  Case  faithfully  gave  his  services 
to  his  father  until  he  was  of  age,  after  which  he  began  to  run  a  threshing 
machine  on  his  account.  However,  he  was  anxious  to  add  to  his  intel- 
lectual acquirements,  and  his  first  savings  were  devoted  to  that  end.  In  Jan- 
uary, 1 84. 1,  he  entered  the  academy  at  Mexicoville.  N.  Y.,  where  he  took  up 
such  studies  as  he  thought  would  help  him  most  in  business  life.  But  with  all 
his  ambition  for  and  appreciation  of  book  learning  it  is  not  to  be  denied  that 
the  greater  and  more  valuable  part  of  his  knowledge  was  acquired  by  his  con- 
tact with  men  in  the  management  of  his  vast  interests. 

At  the  age  of  twenty-three,  in  the  spring  of  1842.  Mr.  Case  tried  a  new 
field.  He  bought  six  threshing  machines,  on  credit,  which  was  then  his  only 
capital,  and  brought  them  to  what  was  then  the  Territory  of  Wisconsin,  ar- 


4  CO.MMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

riving  at  Racine.  He  sold  five  of  them,  and  with  the  remaining  machine 
went  about  the  country,  doing  threshing.  With  constant  usage  the  machine 
at  the  end  of  the  second  season  needed  rebuilding,  and  Mr.  Case  applied  him- 
self to  the  task  with  interest.  He  had  no  special  mechanical  training,  and  his 
tools  under  ordinary  circumstances  would  have  been  considered  inadequate, 
but  he  had  no  time  to  remedy  either  lack,  and  did  have  definite  ideas 
of  what  he  wished  to  accomplish.  Until  that  time  there  was  no  machine  that 
would  thresh  and  separate  the  grain  in  one  operation,  but  Mr.  Case's  ex- 
perience convinced  him  that  such  a  machine  was  possible.  The  open  or 
"ground  hog"  threshers,  as  they  were  generally  know^n,  only  beat  out.  the 
grain,  which  was  thrown  out  together  with  the  straw  and  chaff,  after  which 
the  tedious  work  of  winnowing  had  to  be  done.  A  thresher  that  would  do 
away  with  this  was  the  ideal  Mr.  Case  kept  before  him,  and  in  the  winter  of 
1843-44,  in  the  kitchen  of  a  farmhouse  in  Rochester,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  he 
made  a  model,  showing  his  ideas  in  practical  form,  which  must  certainly  have 
been  gratifying  to  the  ambitious  young  man.  He  found  himself  in  possession 
of  a  thresher  which  could  not  be  equalled  even  by  the  best  product .  of  the 
East.  During  the  summer  he  demonstrated  the  practical  qualities  of  the  ma- 
chine and  improved  it,  and  in  the  fall  (1844)  he  rented  a  small  shop  in 
Racine,  as  he  had  planned  to  build  a  few  machines  for  sale. 

Modesty  was  ever  one  of  Mr.  Case's  most  prominent  traits,  especially  in 
estimating  his  ow^n  worth  and  achievements,  and  while  he  knew  his  invention 
filled  a  long-felt  want  he  never  dreamed  of  the  popularity  it  was  destined  to 
win.  Even  his  most  optimistic  encouragers  thought  that  a  half-dozen  ma- 
chines, if  they  were  proved  successful,  would  fill  the  demand  in  Wisconsin, 
and  the  further  extension  of  the  business  does  not  seem  to  have  entered  into 
the  original  plans.  It  may  be  that  the  business  gained  much  of  its  solidity 
from  this  natural  grow-th.  Mr.  Case  always  exerted  himself  to  keep  up  with 
the  demand,  but  he  never  forced  it — such  a  course  would  have  been  contrary 
to  his  nature.  He  did  good  work,  he  turned  out  a  product  the  people  w-anted. 
he  managed  his  own  affairs  tvell,  and  did  right  by  his  associates  and  his 
patrons — and  success  took  care  of  itself. 

In  1847  Mr.  Case  erected  near  the  site  of  the  present  manufactory,  a 
three-story  brick  building  30x90  feet  in  dimensions.  It  was  more  than  the 
needs  of  the  business  called  for  at  that  day,  but  his  public  spirit  impelled 
him  to  put  up  a  structure  that  would  reflect  credit  on  the  town.  But  farmers 
in  the  Western  State  were  beginning  to  prosper,  and  the  merits  of  the  T-  I-  Case 
threshers  and  horsepower  machines  became  known,  the  demand  running  ahead 
of  the  supply.  The  small  plant  was  enlarged  from  time  to  time  by  the  erec- 
tion of  new-  buildings,  each  supplied  with  the  most  up-to-date  machinery  of 
the  day.  and  the  process  of  expansion  and  improvement  has  never  ceased,  until 
now  the  establishment  is  the  largest  of  the  kind  in  the  world.  No  one  could 
have  predicted  the  phenomenal  prosperity  which  attended  the  undertaking. 
That  the  modest  little  shop  opened  in  1844  would  ever  develop  into  a  factory 
of  such  immense  proportions  would  have  seemed  beyond  belief  at  that  day, 
when,  for  one  thing,  business  enterprises  were  not  conducted  on  so  larsre  a 
scale  as  nowadays.  Moreover,  Racine  was  then  only  a  small  town,  with  no 
promise  of  its  present  importance  as  a  lake  port  and  manufacturing;  center. 
There  is  no  question   that   many  other  business  concerns  of   more   or   less 


COMMEMORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  5 

magnitude  liave  been  attracted  to  the  place  through  the  influence  of  the  Case 
estabhshment,  but  it  has  continued  to  be  the  great  industry  of  the  place,  one- 
sixth  of  the  total  population  of  the  city  being  made  up  of  the  employes  and 
their  families.  The  annual  output  is  valued  at  over  $2,000,000,  and  the  ]: 
I.  Case  threshers  and  plows  are  shipped  to  almost  every  country  on  the  globe. 
The  buildings  now  cover  some  thirty  acres  of  ground,  on  the  banks  of  the 
Root  river,  just  inside  the  lake  harbor,  with  its  docks  for  loading  an/1  unload- 
ing vessels. 

With  all  the  changes  and  all  the  improvements  which  have  been  made 
in  the  thresliers  since  their  manufacture  was  started,  the  basic  idea  is  still 
the  same,  the  problem  of  a  perfect  thresher  having  been  solved  in  the  first 
model.  But  many  changes  have  taken  place  in  the  conduct  of  the  business. 
In  1863  Mr.  Case  admitted  to  partnership  three  men  who  were  then  in  his 
employ,  and  the  mere  mention  of  their  names  justifies  his  choice — Steolien 
Bull,  the  late  ;\I.  B.  Erskine  and  the  late  Robert  H.  Baker.  Thev  did  business 
under  the  firm  name  of  J.  I.  Case  &  Co.,  and  continued  together  until  Mr. 
Baker's  death,  on  Oct.  5,  1885.  Meantime,  in  1880,  the  concern  had  been  re- 
organized as  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company,  with  a  paid-up 
capital  of  $1,000,000,  and  Mr.  Case  was  president  of  the  same  from  the  time 
of  its  organization  until  his  death. 

An  important  advance  in  the  threshing  business  was  made  with  the  in- 
troduction of  the  portable  steam  engine,  and  later  the  traction  steam  eneine, 
which  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  ^lachine  Company  manufactures  extensivelv. 

In  1876  a  company  was  organized  to  manufacture  plows  at  Racine, 
under  the  style  of  Case,  \\'hitney  &  Co.,  with  a  capital  stock  of  $120,000, 
which  was  increased  to  $150,000.  Mr.  Case  was  made  president,  and  con- 
tinued as  such  after  the  reorganization,  two  years  later,  when  the  concern 
was  incorporated  as  the  J.  I.  Case  Plow  Company.  He  was  at  the  head  of 
affairs  in  this  company  also  until  his  death.  Many  other  enterprises  of  Racine 
besides  these  two  principal  ones  received  his  support  and  encouraeement.  but 
he  did  not  confine  his  attention  to  manufacturing  interests.  In  1871  he  was 
one  of  the  incorporators  of  the  Manufacturers'  National  Bank  of  Racine,  one 
of  the  soundest  financial  institutions  in  the  State,  of  which  he  was  elected 
president,  sen'ing  in  that  capacity  until  his  death.  The  same  vear  he  assisted 
in  establishing  the  First  National  Bank  of  Burlin?ton.  ^^'is..  which  he  also 
served  as  president.  He  aided  in  establishing  banking  houses  at  ]\lonrovia, 
Cal. :  Fargo,  N.  Dak. ;  and  Crookston,  Minnesota. 

It  is  no  exaggeration  to  say  that  Mr.  Case  did  more  to  make  Racine 
a  manufacturing  city  than  any  other  one  man,  and  his  fellow-citizens  of  all 
classes  were  not  unappreciative.  He  received  many  honors  at  their  hands. 
In  1856  he  was  chosen  mayor,  and  so  satisfactory  was  his  administration  of 
affairs  that  he  was  renominated  the  next  year,  but  declined.  Again  in  18^8 
he  was  urged  to  accept  the  nomination,  and  was  elected  over  Hon.  Tohn  M. 
Cary.  Aleantime.  in  1856,  he  was  elected  to  the  State  Senate,  and  served  two 
years  as  a  member  of  that  body.  Originally  Mr.  Case  was  an  old-time  Whig' 
in  political  sentiment  until  the  rise  of  the  Renublican  narty.  to  whose  prin- 
ciples he  adhered  ever  afterward.  His  first  Presidential  vote  was  cast  for 
William  Henry  Harrison.     He  was  an  ardent  supporter  of  the  Union  cause. 


6  comme:\iorative  biographical  record. 

and  when,  at  the  Ijreaking  out  of  the  Civil  war,  Col.  William  Utley  proposed 
lo  raise  a  regiment,  JNIr.  Case  generously  offered  $i,ooo  to  the  first  company 
that  would  enlist.  Throughout  the  war  he  was  unfailing  in  his  liberality  to 
the  families  of  the  boys  in  blue. 

Air.  Case's  admiration  iur  fast  horses  l.ir(jught  him  considerable  pmnii- 
nence.  He  took  great  pleasure  in  breeding  and  training  turf  stock,  and  not 
only  had  elegant  barns  and  track  at  Racine,  but  also  a  third  interest  in  the 
Glenview  Stock  Farm,  near  Louisville,  Ky.  He  enjoyed  the  distinction  of 
having  the  once  fastest  trotting  horse  on  the  globe,  the  famous  "Jay- Eye- 
See."  "Hickory  Grove  Farm,"  his  stock  farm  situated  just  south  of  the  city 
of  Racine,  and  adjacent  to  the  city  limits,  became  justly  famous.  Mr.  Case 
bred  and  owned  forty-eight  horses  that  made  records  ranging  from  2:10  to 
2:34.  The  names  and  records  of  a  few  are  here  given:  "Jay-Eye-See," 
2:10;  "Phallas."  2:13^;  "Brown"  (at  four  years  old  in  race),  2:1894- 

As  has  been  said,  Mr.  Case  was  eminently  a  business  man,  but  he  never 
lost  sight  of  the  fact  that  his  success  in  business  was  based  upon  the  agri- 
cultural development  of  the  country,  and  he  took  a  real  interest,  not  prompted 
wholly  by  prospect  of  material  gains  for  himself,  in  the  agricultural  advance- 
ment of  the  country,  having  been  identified  with  both  State  and  county  agri- 
cultural societies.  He  was  one  of  the  founders  and  a  life  member  of  the 
Wisconsin  Academy  of  Sciences,  Arts  and  Letters. 

With  all  his  hard  work,  his  devotion  to  business,  and  his  numerous  (ither 
interests,  Mr.  Case  lived  to  be  over  seventy,  passing  away  Dec.  22,  1891.  It 
is  enough  to  say  that  he  was  sincerely  mourned  alike  by  his  family,  his  busi- 
ness associates,  his  hundreds  of  employes,  and  the  entire  community  for  which 
he  had  done  so  much,  and  where  he  had  resided  for  half  a  century. 

In  1849  ^^^'-  Case  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Lydia  A.  Bull,  daugh- 
ter of  DeGriive  and  Amanda  (Crosby)  Bull.  Seven  children  were  born  to 
the  union,  four  living  to  maturity:  Henrietta,  the  wife  of  Percival  ,S-  Ful- 
ler, a  prominent  lawyer  at  Chicago;  Jessie  F.,  the  wife  of  H.  M.  Wallis,  who 
owns  a  large  interest  in  and  has  full  charge  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Plow  Works  at 
Racine;  Amanda,  the  wife  of  J.  J.  Crooks,  of  San  Francisco,  Cal. ;  and  Jack- 
son I.,  deceased,  who  served  at  one  time  as  mayor  of  Racine,  and  is  said  to 
have  been  the  youngest  mayor  of  a  large  city  in  the  L'nited  States. 

HON.  ZALMON  GILBERT  SIMMONS  has  a  business  reputation 
which  extends  all  over  the  United  States  among  railroad  and  telegraph  men. 
His  connection  with  Kenosha  covers  a  period  of  over  sixty  years,  and  he  has 
improved  the  opportunities  his  high  position  and  means  have  given  him  to 
such  good  purpose  that  he  is  justly  regarded  as  its  principal  benefactor.  He 
has  done  more  than  any  other  one  man  for  the  Iniilding  up  of  the  city.  His 
gifts  to  various  enterprises  which  have  been  a  matter  of  pride  to  Kenosha 
have  been  liberal  and  bestowed  with  hearty  good-will.  The  benefits  his  ex- 
tensive undertakings  in  the  locality  have  conferred  can  hardly  be  estimated. 

Mr.  Simmons  was  born  in  the  town  of  Euphrates,  Montgomery  Co.,  N. 
Y.,  Sept.  10,  1828,  and  conies  of  old  New  England  stock.  His  grandparents. 
Rouse  and  Mary  (Potter)  Simmons,  were  early  settlers  in  Montgomery  coun- 
ty, N.  Y.,  moving  thither  from  Rhode  Island.     Ezra  Simmons,  father  of  Zal- 


^^/^iyk-wiA.-^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  7- 

mon  G.  Sinionms,  was  born  x\pril  3,  1805,  in  Montgomery  county.  In  acquiring 
an  education  he  had  to  cope  with  the  usual  disadvantages  of  an  undeveloi)ed 
section  in  that  respect,  but  he  was  naturally  studious  and  persevering  and  he 
managed  to  prepare  himself  for  teaching.  He  alternated  the  pursuit  of  that 
profession  with  clerking  when  a  young  man.  Not  long  after  his  marriage  he 
removed  with  his  wife  and  young  child  to  Oneida  county,  N.  Y.,  to  a  region 
which  was  then,  like  his  old  home  in  his  boyhood,  in  its  primitive  state.  He 
made  a  home  in  the  woods,  clearing  and  improving  a  farm  upon  which  he  re- 
mained until  1839,  in  which  year  he  removed  to  Rome,  the  county  seat,  la 
1843  the  family  came  West,  journeying  by  canal  to  Buffalo,  where  they  took 
steamer  for  Southport,  as  Kenosha  was  then  called.  They  arrived  on  the  I2tl'i: 
of  June,  but  remained  in  the  village  only  a  short  time,  Mr.  Simmons  buying  a 
tract  of  land  in  Benton  township.  Lake  Co.,  111.  Again  he  began  the  work  of 
wresting  a  farm  from  the  wilderness,  this  being  the  third  place  on  which  he  had 
such  experience.  He  made  a  remarkable  improvement  in  the  place  during  his 
residence  thereon,  but  in  1851  he  entered  into  partnership  with  his  sons  in  a 
mercantile  business  in  Kenosha,  under  the  name  of  Simmons  &  Sons.  After 
four  years  Ezra  Simmons  retired  from  the  firm,  and  he  spent  the  rest  of  his 
life  in  retirement,  dying  July  14,  1878.  He  was  buried  in  the  Kenosha  ceme- 
tery. 

]\Ir.  Simmons  was  married,  in  Montgomery  county,  N.  Y.,  to  Maria  Gil- 
bert, who  was  born  there  April  20,  1808,  and  five  children  came  to  this  union, 
namely:  Zalmon  G.,  Burr,  Rouse,  and  Ezra  and  Mrs.  J.  M.  Stebbins,  twins. 
All  married,  reared  families  and  settled  in  Kenosha.  Mrs.  Simmons  survived 
her  husliand,  making  her  home  until  her  death  with  her  daughter,  IMrs.  Steb- 
bins. ]\Ir,  and  Airs.  Simmons  first  united  with  the  Methodist  Church,  of  which 
they  were  active  members,  Mr.  Simmons  acting  as  class-leader  for  many  years, 
but  in  later  life  their  belief  was  that  of  the  Unitarians.  He  was  originally  a 
Democrat  in  political  sentiment,  but  supported  the  Republican  party  from  the 
time  of  its  formation. 

Zalmon  G.  Simmons  passed  his  boyhood  in  his  native  State,  being  fourteen 
years  old  when  the  family  came  West.  His  early  life,  both  in  "York  State" 
and  in  the  new  West,  was  typical  of  the  times.  He  was  a  sturdy  youth  and 
able  to  handle  the  hard  work  which  fell  to  his  lot  on  the  home  farm,  and  he 
became  skilled  in  the  rude  athletic  feats  so  popular  in  that  day  in  rural  com- 
munities. Remaining  on  the  farm  until  he  attained  his  majority,  he  then  went 
to  Southport  to  take  a  position  as  clerk  in  the  store  of  Seth  Doan,  a  pioneer 
merchant  of  the  place. 

Mr.  Simmons  clerked  for  Mr.  Doan  sixteen  months,  at  the  end  of  that  time 
purchasing  the  stock  and  store  and  embarking  in  business  on  his  own  account. 
As  previously  stated,  the  firm  was  originally  Simmons  &  Sons.  The  business 
was  well  managed,  and  custom  increased  steadily  until  the  Simmons  establish- 
ment was  among  the  most  thriving  in  the  city.  The  next  move  our  subject 
made  showed  his  strong  faith  in  the  future  of  the  State  as  well  as  the  tire- 
less efforts  which  he  was  willing  to  expend  on  anything  he  undertook.  After 
two  years  of  mercantile  life  he  sold  out  to  devote  himself  to  the  interests  of  the 
Kenosha,  Rockford  &  Rock  Island  Railroad  Company,  taking  the  presidency. 
The  tide  in  its  affairs  was  then  so  low  that  it  had  neither  money  nor  credit,  and 


8  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

he  was  obliged  to  draw  on  his  own  friends  and  endorse  the  company's  paper 
in  order  to  complete  the  partially  finished  road,  which  had  been  turned  over  to 
him  entirely.  The  first  train  was  run  through  for  a  meeting  of  the  stockholders 
at  Harvard,  111.,  on  the  day  the  first  battle  of  Bull  Run  was  fought.  The  stock- 
holders were  so  disheartened  that  they  refused  to  advance  the  necessary  money 
for  equipment,  etc.,  and  voted  unanimously  that  Mr.  Simmons  take  the  road 
and  manage  things  as  he  liked.  He  entered  into  the  work  undismayed,  al- 
though he  was  involved  to  the  extent  of  $80,000.  Perhaps  the  magnitude  of  the 
task  and  the  hopeless  attitude  of  his  associates  acted  as  a  spur  to  his  energies, 
and  he  determined  to  come  out  on  top.  The  difficulties  he  had  to  contend  witti 
can  be  neither  understood  nor  appreciated  by  anyone  unfamiliar  with  such  a 
situation.  It  was  a  task  the  success  of  which  depended  as  much  upon  his  will 
power  and  strength  of  character  as  on  his  financial  and  executive  ability.  Many 
a  man  would  have  gi\en  up  in  despair.  The  same  indomitable  perseverance 
which  made  this  undertaking  a  success  has  distinguished  the  man  in  the  suc- 
cessful conduct  of  the  other  vast  enterprises  in  which  he  has  since  become  in- 
terested, many  of  which  he  has  piloted  from  an  almost  hopelessly  involved  con- 
dition into  assured  prosperity. 

Mr.  Simmons  entered  upon  a  similar  experience  with  the  Wisconsin  State 
Telegraph  Company.  In  1856  he  had  acquired  a  half  interest  in  the  company 
for  $500,  which  would  have  been  considered  a  sufficient  price  for  the  other  half 
also,  as  the  line  was  considered  practically  worthless.  Time  proves,  however, 
that  his  judgment  was  not  at  fault.  He  was  president  of  the  Telegraph  Com- 
pany from  the  time  he  became  connected  with  it.  and  manager  until  the  year 
1 88 1,  and  the  unbounded  success  of  the  concern  is  due  directly  to  his  methods 
of  business.  But  at  the  time  he  became  interested  in  the  project  the  little  line 
from  Milwaukee  to  Madison  was  not  regarded  as  a  wise  investment  from  a 
business  standpoint.  With  his  usual  gift  of  far-sightedness  ]Mr.  Simmons 
recognized  the  possibilities  of  the  business  particularly  in  the  growing  North- 
west, in  whose  great  distances  a  means  of  rapid  communication  would  be  es- 
pecially valuable.  There  was  nothing  to  prevent  the  company  putting  up  its 
lines  wherever  a  business  opportunity  offered,  and  the  rough  country  was  not 
enough  to  prove  a  serious  drawback  to  the  indomitable  men  who  were  back  of 
the  enterprise.  It  is  enough  to  say  that  during  the  period  it  was  operated  bv  an 
independent  company,  from  the  beginning  of  Mr.  Simmons's  connection  there- 
with until  1 88 1,  it  paid  a  total  of  nearly  one  million  dollars,  also  a  dividend  of 
$1,250,000  in  seven  per  cent  bonds,  besides  the  amount  of  the  original  outlay. 
In  the  year  1881  the  lines  were  leased  to  the  Western  Union  Telegraph  Com- 
pany, for  ninety-nine  years,  the  Western  Union  Company  taking  care  of  the 
outstanding  bonds,  $1,180,000,  and  a  semi-annual  dividend  on  $2.^00,000, 
commencing  at  four  per  cent  and  increasing  to  six  per  cent. 

All  this,  however,  was  in  the  line  of  ordinary-  business,  from  which  he 
made  quite  a  departure  when  he  undertook  the  construction  of  what  is  pooularly 
known  as  the  "Cog  Road"  up  Pike's  Peak.  Work  was  besfun  in  October, 
1889.  and  the  first  train  made  the  ascent  June  30.  i8gi.  The  road  starts  at 
Manitou,  Colo.,  at  the  base  of  the  Peak,  and  winds  its  way  up  the  mountain- 
side at  n  grade  of  one  foot  in  four.  cn\-ering  a  distance  of  nine  miles,  the  sum- 
mit of  the  peak  being  reached  at  an  altitude  of  14.143  feet — the  highest  point 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  9 

attained  by  rail  in  the  world.  The  road-bed  is  of  solid  earth  or  masonry,  ex- 
cept where  four  chasms  are  spanned  by  iron  bridges.  The  superstructure  con- 
sists of  three  steel  rails,  the  outer  ones  on  which  the  train  runs  laid  at  standard 
gauge.  The  one  in  the  center  is  a  compound  cog  rail,  on  which  the  propelling 
wheels  of  the  engine  act.  All  along  the  route  the  traveler  enjoys  a  panoramic 
view  of  magnificent  scenery.  The  road  is  operated  during  the  summer  months 
when  a  trip  to  the  high  altitude  is  exhilarating  and  novel. 

Mr.  Simmons  has  always  encouraged  local  enterprises.  He  has  been 
president  of  the  Northwestern  Manufacturing  Company  since  he  founded  the 
same,  in  1872.  They  first  manufactured  cheese  boxes,  but  before  long  began 
to  make  wire  mattresses,  and  with  the  advantages  afforded  by  modern  machin- 
ery they  have  been  able  to  enlarge  the  scale  and  scojie  of  the  business  until  they 
are  now  extensively  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  iron  and  brass  bedsteads 
and  cots.  The  mattress  business  increased  so  that  the  original  yearly 
output  of  fifteen  hundred  was  in  time  equalled  by  the  daily  output. 
This  concern  gives  steady  employment  to  two  thousand  people.  Mr.  Simmons 
has  been  president  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Kenosha,  the  oldest  bank  in 
the  city,  for  some  thirty-seven  years.  It  was  due  principally  to  his  influence 
that  the  Brass  Works  were  located  in  the  city,  and  he  helped  to  organize  the 
Scotford  and  the  Lane  Manufacturing  Companies.  The  incalculable  benefit 
which  all  these  prosperous  concerns  have  brought  to  the  town  is  well  appreci- 
ated by  the  citizens,  especially  as  steady  and  profitable  employment  is  given  to 
hundreds  of  respected  and  substantial  residents. 

Mr.  Simmons  cast  his  first  vote  for  John  P.  Hale,  and  he  has  been  a  Re- 
publican ever  since  the  formation  of  that  party.  In  spite  of  the  demands  of  his 
numerous  business  interests,  he  has  found  time  for  acceptable  public  services, 
believing  it  the  duty  of  every  patriotic  citizen.  In  1865  he  represented  Keno- 
sha county  in  the  State  Legislature.  He  served  two  terms  as  mayor  of  Keno- 
sha, 1884  and  1885,  and  gave  the  city  an  administration  remarkable  in  many 
ways,  his  wise  methods  and  the  practical  projects  he  set  on  foot  conferring  last- 
ing benefit  on  the  municipality.  His  activity  in  the  matter  of  the  city  debt  won 
him  the  admiration  and  appreciation  of  every  public-spirited  citizen.  The  ex- 
penditures for  harbor  construction  and  extension  of  railroad  connections,  so 
necessary  to  the  continued  advancement  of  the  city,  had  involved  the  munici- 
pality to"  the  extent  of  $1,750,000,  including  interest,  etc.,  with  no  prospect  of 
relief.  When  Mr.  Simmons  took  the  helm  the  city  was  struggling  hopelessly 
against  this  burden,  which  had  already  begun. to  aiYect  business  very  materially, 
many  of  the  residents  moving  away.  Through  his  able  financiering  the  entire 
debt  was  refunded  with  $200,000  worth  of  1-20  bonds  at  five  per  cent.  His 
services  in  this  line  covered  altogether  a  period  of  about  twenty  years,  during 
which  he  worked  untiringly,  without  compensation,  bearing  his  own  expenses, 
an  important  item,  as  he  had  to  do  considerable  traveling.  But  the  problem 
was  one  of  the  kind  which  has  always  roused  Mr.  Simmons's  best  business 
instincts,  and  as  usual  he  came  out  ahead.  Many  new  enterprises  were  at- 
tracted to  the  town,  and  the  healthy  reaction  thus  brought  about  has  been  one 
of  the  most  potent  factors  in  its  prosperity.  At  the  present  time  there  is 
plenty  of  work,  at  good  pay,  for  the  population  of  21,000.  However,  this  is 
only  one  of  the  many  things  which  have  jjroved  his  genuine  interest  in  the 


10  CO^niE^^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

welfare  of  tlie  place.  His  gifts  to  churches  regardless  of  denomination,  and 
to  benevolent  objects  generally,  would  amount  to  considerable,  without 
thought  of  the  influence  his  connection  with  such  enterprises  means  to  those 
interested.  The  elegant  library  building,  as  fine  as  anything  of  the  kind  to  be 
found  in  the  State,  is  another  substantial  evidence  of  his  generosity.  It  was 
the  result  of  the  action  of  the  city  authorities  taken  upon  the  receipt  of  the  fol- 
lowing letter : 

Gentlemen : 

In  making  the  following  proposition  to  you  and  through  you  to  the  citizens  of 
Kenosha,  I  beg  to  acknowledge  my  grateful  consideration  and  appreciation  of  the  many 
blessings  that  have  come  to  me  and  my  family  during  the  long  time  we  have  lived  in 
}-our  midst,  a  period  reaching  beyond  a  half  century. 

Proposition. 

I  will  construct  a  building  of  sufficient  size  to  hold  over  30,000  volumes ;  material  to 
be  used  stone,  steel  and  hardwood  made  fireproof.  It  will  be  my  aim  to  make  it  a  beauti- 
ful building  in  every  way.  and  to  secure  this  object  no  efliort  will  be  spared.  The  struc- 
ture to  be  placed  as  near  as  may  be  in  the  center  of  the  park. 

Second :  I  will  continue  and  complete  the  curbing  around  the  park.  I  will  make  of 
cement  the  curbing  around  the  park.  I  will  make  of  cement  and  concrete 
all  the  walks  that  will  be  required  in  the  park;  will  do  all  the.  necessary  grading, 
will  remove  and  replace  all  the  trees  and  add  thereto  all  the  trees  and  shrubbery 
that  may  be  needed  to  make  the  park  a  fit  setting  for  the  building,  so  there  will  be  a 
true  harmony  throughout.  In  this  building  I  will  place  not  less  than  25,000  of  well-selected 
books.  The  whole  when  completed  I  make  a  free  gift  to  the  city  of  Kenosha  on  the  fol- 
lowing conditions:  ist — The  Library  shall  be  named  Gilbert  M.  Simmons.  '2d — The 
city  to  accept  the  same  and  agree  to  levy  and  collect  the  one  mill  tax  provided  by  law 
on  all  taxable  property  in  the  city.  3d — The  Library  to  be  kept  open  no  less  than  six 
hours  every  day.  4th — After  paying  the  necessary  expenses  of  the  librarian  and  help, 
heating  and  lighting,  the  remainder  (if  there  be  any)  of  this  one  mill  tax  fund  to  be  used 
for  the  purchase  of  additional  books. 

Most  respectfully  submitted, 

Z.  G.  Simmons. 

^Ir.  Simmons  has  always  been  particularly  interested  in  the  welfare  of  the 
old  soldiers,  and  to  show  that  he  believes  in  honoring  their  memory,  as  well 
as  in  looking  after  their  well  being  physically,  he  has  presented  to  the  city  a 
magnificent  monument,  which  was  dedicated  May  30,  1900,  the  occasion  being 
a  memorable  one.  The  numerous  visitors,  the  carefully  and  elaborately  ar- 
ranged parade,  the  profuse  street  decorations  in  honor  of  the  event,  and  the 
dedication  ceremonies  themselves,  combined  to  make  the  grandest  spectacle 
ever  witnessed  in  Kenosha,  and  one  which  will  live  in  the  memory  of  all  who 
participated.  The  weather  was  auspicious,  trainload  upon  trainload  of  visi- 
tors arrived,  and  fully  thirty  thousand  people  were  at  the  services.  At  noon 
Fred  S.  Lovell  Post,  G.  A.  R.,  and  the  various  civic  societies  formed  on  Mar- 
ket Square  and  marched  to  the  North  Western  Depot  to  meet  the  comrades 
from  the  North  and  South  who  were  to  be  present,  and  then  reforming 
marched  along  West  Main  street  (beautifully  decorated  with  flags  and  bunt- 
ing and  pictures  of  Lincoln  and  the  famous  generals  of  the  Civil  war)  to 
Grand  avenue,  and  thence  east  to  the  harbor,  where  salutes  were  fired  by  the 
L^nited  States  Gunboats  "Michigan"  and  "Fessenden,"  and  the  revenue  cutter 
"]\IorriIl,"'  which  was  sent  by  the  government  in  honor  of  the  occasion.  Then 
they  proceeded  to  Central  Park,  where  tlie  monument  stands,  and  the  crowd 
was  called  to  order  by  Commander  Hale,  who  had  charge  of  the  ceremonies, 
with  these  words : 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  ii 

"This  is  a  special  and  open  meeting  of  the  Fred  S.  LoveU  Post,  No.  230, 
Department  of  Wisconsin,  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic,  assembled  to-clay 
with  their  visiting  comrades  and  friends,  for  the  purpose  of  unveiling  and 
dedicating  this  beautiful  monument,  erected  by  our  friend  and  fellow  citizen, 
Mr.  Z.  G.  Simmons,  in  honor  of  the  brave  men  of  Kenosha  county,  who  vic- 
toriously defended  the  Union  on  land  and  sea  during  the  war  of  the  great 
rebellion  of  1861-65.  The  ceremonies  will  open  with  the  invocation  of  the 
Divine  blessing." 

After  the  invocation  of  God's  blessing  upon  the  events  of  the  day,  the  old 
soldiers  and  the  donor  of  the  monument,  by  Rev.  H.  S.  Roblee,  who  is  a  son  of 
a  veteran,  St.  George's  choir  sang  "Hail!  Hail!  Starry  Banner,"  with  good 
effect.     Attorney  Peter  Fisher  delivered  the  address  of  welcome,  as  follows : 

"It  is  my  pleasant  duty,  on  behalf  of  the  county  and  city  of  Kenosha,  to 
welcome  you,  in  a  formal  manner,  to  our  exercises  to-day,  and  one  cannot  fail 
to  feel  a  pride  in  welcoming  the  soldiers  and  citizens  of  this  land  to  our  beau- 
tiful county  and  city  on  such  an  occasion  as  this.  We  now  meet  in  commem- 
oration of  the  deeds  of  the  brave  men  who  fought  on  land  and  water  the  stern 
battles  of  the  Civil  war — in  commemoration  of  their  patriotic  valor — in  com- 
memoration of  the  noble  deeds  of  the  now  silent  dead — in  formal  recognition 
of  their  zeal  for  their  country's  welfare — in  perpetuation  of  the  grand  prin- 
ciple that  this  Union  is  one  and  inseparable — and  we  most  heartily  welcome 
you,  each  and  all,  to  join  us  in  our  devotions  to  the  memory  of  those  men  and 
the  principles  for  which  they  fought. 

"As  the  memory  goes  back  thirty-five  or  forty  years  our  breasts  swell  with 
patriotic  emotions  and  our  hearts  extend  the  warmest  sympathy  to  the  homes 
made  desolate  by  that  war,  and  with  loving  hearts  to  cherish  the  memory  of 
the  departed  soldiers. 

"From  1861  to  1865  Kenosha  county  and  city  took  a  foremost  place  in 
the  ranks  of  the  Federal  army  and  navy,  and  many  a  tombstone  now  marks 
the  last  resting-place  of  the  men  who,  then  in  early  life,  offered  their  time  and 
their  lives  that  the  constitution  of  the  United  States  might  prevail  and  that  the 
homes  of  their  loved  ones  might  be  protected,  and  many  a  crutch  supports  the 
tottering  limbs  of  the  survivors  of  that  brave  band.  Hence  we  love  to  meet  on 
such  occasions,  so  that  the  lessons  of  patriotism  taught  by  these  men.  often 
cemented  in  blood,  may  endure  for  all  time.  And  we  welcome  to  our  midst 
and  to  our  assistance  the  citizens  of  this  country,  of  whatever  city,  county  or 
State,  for  our  purpose  is  a  common  purpose.  And  thrice  welcome  to  our  ranks 
to-day  are  the  men  who  stood  side  by  side  with  these  departed  heroes  through 
the  long  tedious  'march  and  upon  the  bullet-ridden  and  blood-stained  battle- 
field, or  braved  the  angry  waves  on  bullet-torn  battleships.  To  you.we  extend 
the  kindest  welcome. 

"Through  the  kind  generosity  and  patriotism  of  one  of  its  honored  citi- 
zens Kenosha  county  is  to-day  able  and  glad  to  dedicate  to  the  memory  of  those 
departed  heroes  a  monument,  beautiful  and  grand,  symbolical  and  symmetrical, 
which  is  only  exceeded  in  endurance  and  beauty  by  the  principles  for  which 
these  men  fought,  and  of  which  it  shall  ever  be  constant  reminder. 

"We  thank  this  generous  giver  for  his  noble  deed.  We  thank  these  brave 
men  for  their  lessons  of  patriotism,  for  their  sacrifices,  for  the  protection  of  our 


12  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

homes,  for  the  defense  of  our  country,  for  the  hberation  of  the  b(jndsnien,  and 
for  the  perpetuation  of  the  American  Union.  And  we  sincerely  welcome  you 
to  join  us  in  uttering  our  appreciation  of  these  things. 

"While  such  exercises  awaken  a  great  many  sad  memories,  recall  a  great 
many  disappointments,  they  are  tinged  with  joy  when  we  contemplate  the 
grand  and  noble  deeds  of  the  veterans  of  the  Civil  war,  and  now  see  our  coun- 
try, then  on  the  verge  of  dissolution,  united  and  happy,  knowing  neither  North 
nor  South,  East  nor  West,  prosperous  and  free.  We  therefore  welcome  you, 
citizens  and  soldiers,  laymen  and  veterans,  patriots  and  heroes,  most  cordially, 
to  participate  on  this  beautiful  May  day  in  dedicating  to  the  memory  of  these 
departed  warriors  that  which  shall  speak  to  future  generations,  when  you  and 
I  have  passed  away,  of  the  heroic  acts,  of  the  unsullied  patriotism,  of  the  un- 
faltering devotion  to  country,  and  of  the  unexcelled  bravery  of  the  soldiers, 
whether  on  land  or  sea,  of  the  Civil  war." 

At  this  juncture  Miss  Elizabeth  Clarkson  Simmons,  granddaughter  of 
Air.  Z.  G.  Simmons,  was  escorted  to  the  base  of  the  monument  by  Capt.  E.  G. 
Timme,  who  lost  his  arm  at  Chickamauga.  Miss  Simmons  pulled  away  the 
flags  that  veiled  the  monument,  and  as  she  did  so  the  bands  played  the  "Star 
Spangled  Banner,"  and  the  warships  and  revenue  cutter  fired  a  salute  in  honor 
of  the  event.    The  vast  multitude  rent  the  air  with  cheer  after  cheer. 

Then  Commander  Hale  introduced  Kenosha's  benefactor  as  follows : 

"Comrades  and  Citizens  :  It  is  my  great  pleasure  to  introduce  to  you  Mr. 
Z.  G.  Simmons — the  true  friend  of  the  citizen-soldier  from  1861  to  1865,  and 
from  1865  to  this  Memorial  day,  1900 — who  will  now  present  formally,  this 
beautiful  memorial  shaft  to  the  citizens  of  Kenosha  county." 

On  rising  Mr.  Simmons  was  greeted  with  a  hurricane  of  applause  and 
when  it  ceased  he  said : 

"Two  score  years  ago  this  Nation  divided  on  the  question  of  human 
slavery.  This  was  followed  by  the  greatest  war  of  modern  times.  And  now 
looking  back  on  these  two  score  years,  judging  by  results  and  consequences, 
we  may  safelv  claim  it  to  have  been  the  most  important  war  of  all  time. 

"When  this  war  commenced  Kenosha  county  bad  less  than  1700  able- 
bodied  men  subject  to  military  duty.  Before  it  ended  she  gave  1,367  of  her 
bravest  and  best  to  the  field.  Before  this  record  I  am  dumb.  \\\)rds  cannot 
tell  of  its  grandeur  and  glory. 

"This  granite  monument  standing  before  us,  serene  and  beautiful,  is 
placed  here  to  tell  the  story  of  their  sublime  achievements ;  not  for  to-dav 
alone,  but  for  all  time ;  not  to  the  people  of  this  land  alone,  but  to  all  people  of 
all  lands. 

"With  a  feeling  of  profound  gratefulness  for-  the  privilege,  I  turn  this 
monument  over  to  the  care  and  keeping  of  the  liberty  loving  people  of  Keno- 
sha county,  to  be  their  possession  forever. 

"Mav  the  blessed  sunshine  bathe  it  until  all  bloodstains  are  washed  away. 
May  God's  approval  rest  upon  it  now  and  forever." 

Supervisor  Samuel  B.  Cropley  of  Pleasant  Prairie,  who  had  been  dele- 
gated for  the  dutv  bv  Mr.  H.  F.  Jordan,  chairman  of  the  countv  board  of 
supervisors,  accepted  the  moiniment  on  behalf  of  the  people  of  the  county. 
In  doing  so  he  said  : 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  13 

"Mr.  Simmons  :  The  duty  of  accepting  from  you,  in  behalf  of  the  citizens 
of  Kenosha  county,  this  beautiful  testimonial  of  your  gratitude  to  the  men  of 
Kenosha  county  who  defended  the  Union  during  the  war  of  the  Rebellion,  has 
fallen  upon  me,  and  I  assure  you  that  1  esteem  it  an  honor,  indeed,  to  have  the 
privilege  of  accepting  it  from  one  whose  patriotism  and  generosity  has  made 
possible  these  exercises. 

"In  accepting  this,  I  trust  that  I  may  safely  pledge  the  honor  of  every  citi- 
zen of  Kenosha  county  that  it  shall  be  protected  and  cared  for  and  the  sur- 
roundings kept  in  harmony  with  its  beauty. 

"Inscribed  on  yonder  monument  are  the  words,  'In  honor  of  the  bra\-e  men 
of  Kenosha  county,  who  victoriously  defended  tjie  Union  on  land  and  sea  dur- 
ing the  war  of  the  great  rebellion — 1861-1865,'  an  inscription  teaching  to  the 
present  and  future  generations  the  impressive  lesson  of  gratitude.  As  one  who 
took  an  humble  part  in  that  victorious  defense  of  the  Union,  it  occurs  to  me 
that  this  memorial  shaft  expresses  still  an(ither  message  to  future  generations 
— a  lesson  of  patriotism. 

"Long  may  it  stand  where  you  have  placed  it — stand  in  all  its  beautv, 
sublime  yet  not  silent,  but  as  an  object  lesson  teaching  that  although  those  to 
whose  memory  it  has  been  erected  may  have  sacrificed  health  and  even  life 
itself — yet  their  sacrifices  and  achievements  have  not  been  forgotten ;  and  may 
it  also  instill  in  their  minds  and  hearts  that  true  spirit  of  patriotism  which  shall 
cause  them  to  be  ever  ready  to  defend  their  homes  and  country.  The  motive 
which  actuated  you  in  the  erection  of  this  most  beautiful  monument,  as  we 
all  well  know,  and  as  stated  in  your  presentation,  is  one  of  profound  gratitude 
to  those  in  whose  memory  jt  has  been  placed  there,  and  your  object  to  tell  of 
their  sublime  achievements. 

"A  few  words,  yet  impressive  and  full  of  meaning,  realizing  as  you  do 
most  fully  that  they'  achieved  that  for  which  they  fought,  the  preservation  of 
our  country,  that  it  might  live  as  a  nation,  and  to-day  it  does  live,  respected  and 
honored  by  all  nations. 

"I  am  conscious  of  my  inability  to  fitly  express  to  you  the  feeling  of  grati- 
tude which  to-day  fills  the  hearts  of  every  patriotic  man  and  woman  of  Keno- 
sha county,  yet  I  feel  that  I  not  only  voice  the  sentiment  of  the  survivors  of 
those  who  sacrificed  their  lives  in  that  great  struggle,  but  also  the  sentiment  of 
every  living  soldier  and  sailor,  when  I  say  that  they  are  most  profoundlv  grate- 
ful to  you  for  what  you  have  previously  done  for  them,  and  for  this  your  crown- 
ing efTort  in  the  erection  of  yonder  '■2autiful  monument  to  their  memory. 

"And  now  in  behalf  of  those  who  laid  down  their  lives  on  battlefields,  in 
prison  pen  or  hospital — in  behalf  of  all  who  have  been  laid  to  rest  from  1861 
to  this  Memorial  day,  1900— in  behalf  of  the  fathers,  mothers,  widows  and 
orphans  of  those  who  have  passed  away,  and  in  behalf  of  the  living  soldiers. 
and  of  each  and  every  citizen  of  Kenosha  county,  I  most  sincerely  thank  vou. 
May  God  graciously  prolong  your  life  that  you  may  have  the  satisfaction  of  the 
completion  of  this  long  cherished  wish,  and  when  in  the  lapse  of  time  vou  have 
passed  to  the  Great  Beyond  may  your  name  ever  remain  fresh  in  the  hearts 
and  minds  of  every  one— remain  revered  and  honored  as  long  as  yonder 
memorial  shaft  shall  stand  where  your  hands  have  placed  it. 
"Again  and  again  I  thank  you." 


14  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

St.  George's  choir  then  sang  "Brave  Hearts  Sleep  On." 

The  orator  of  the  day,  Bishop  Samuel  Fallows,  of  Chicago,  was  then  in- 
troduced hy  Attorney  James  Cavanagh.  In  introducing  the  speaker  Mr. 
Cavanagh  said : 

"Decoration  Day  is  the  grandest,  nohlest  and  most  impressive  day  in  the 
whole  calendar  of  patriotism.  It  is  the  day  of  heroes,  not  of  soldiers.  Soldiers 
are  men  bred  to  war ;  heroes  are  men  of  peace.  The  men  of  '61-65  were  heroes. 
They  went  to  the  front  not  for  emolument  or  the  spoils  of  war,  but  for  love  of 
country  and  home,  and  to  preserve  the  nation  and  the  flag.  The  gentleman 
who  presented  this  noble  and  beautiful  shaft  as  the  crowning  act  of  his  grati- 
tude to  the  heroes  of  the  War  bf  the  Rebellion  has  erected  other  monuments  in 
the  hearts  of  the  veterans  and  has  ever  been  mindful  of  them.  It  was  a  happy 
thought  that  suggested  Bishop  Fallows  as  the  speaker  on  this  occasion.  He 
is  one  of  the  heroes  of  the  Civil  war.  He  knew  personally  and  fought  side  by 
side  with  many  of  the  heroes  whose  memory  is  held  in  trust  by  this  beautiful 
shaft.  I  have  the  honor  and  it  is  my  pleasure  to  introduce  to  you  Bishop  Sam- 
uel Fallows,  who  is  known  throughout  the  length  and  breadth  of  land  as  the 
'Fighting  parson  from  Wisconsin.'  " 

When  Bishop  Fallows  rose  to  speak  he  was  met  with  a  warm  recejjtion. 
He  spoke  as  follows  : 

"Comrades,  Fellow  Citizens,  Ladies  and  Gentlemen :  The  sod  is  scarcely 
green  over  the  graves  of  many  in  both  hemispheres  who  listened  to  Edmund 
Burke  on  the  floor  of  the  British  Parliament,  as  with  his  broad  majestic  elo- 
quence he  spoke  of  America  as  having  been  within  the  lifetime  of  some  around 
him  'a  little  speck  scarcely  visible  in  the  mass  of  the  national  interest ;  a  small 
seminal  principle,  rather  than  a  formed  body.' 

"During  the  few  short  years  since  these  words  were  uttered  this  'little 
speck'  has  grown  to  be  one  of  the  most  populous,  civilized  nations  of  the  earth. 
Within  its  borders  has  been  carried  on  a  war  compared  with  which  the  most 
gigantic  military  campaigns  of  the  past  dwindle  into  comparative  insignificance. 

"Two  million,  six  hundred  and  eighty-eight  thousand  names  were  placed 
on  the  muster-roll  of  the  armies  of  the  republic;  over  one  million  and  a  half 
on  the  muster-roll  of  the  Confederacy. 

"I  need  not  stop  to  recapitulate  the  causes  which  led  to  this  struggle. 
"That  memorable  April  day  came  when  the  flag  of  the  Republic,  never 
before  dishonored,  was  shot  down  and  trailed  in  the  dust — that  flag  of  which 
we  have  often  proudly  sung,' 

.  "When    freedom    from    he.r    mountain    height 

Unfurled   her  standard   to   the   air, 
She  tore  the   azure   robe  of  night 
And  set  the  star  of  glory  there. 

"Then  came  the  unparalleled  uprising  of  the  people,  the  call  for  75,000 
men,  and  the  advance  of  the  'whirlwind  of  the  North,'  the  darkness  and  defeat 
of  the  first  Bull  Run  battle,  the  deepened  determination,  the  varying  fortunes 
of  war,  the  piercing  of  that  long  and  well  defended  Confederate  line  stretch- 
ing from  the  eastern  mountains  to  the  Mississippi,  and  the  capturing  of  Forts 
Henry  and  Donelson  by  L^nconditional  Surrender  Grant,  the  battle  of  Shiloh, 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  15 

the  gallant  fight  of  the  'Cumberland'  and  'Monitor'  with  the  'Merrimac,'  the 
immortal  exploits  of  Farragut  and  Porter,  and  the  capture  of  New  Orleans; 
answering  the  song  of  the  nation  'We  Are  Coming  Father  Abraham,  300,000 
More,'  the  battles  of  Antietam  and  F"redericksburg,  the  bloody  conflicts  of 
Chancellorsville  and  Gettysburg,  the  surrender  of  Vicksburg,  the  starvation, 
defeat  and  glorious  victory  at  Chickamauga,  the  enthusiastic  response,  'We  Are 
Coming  Father  Abraham,  300,000  more" ;  the  placing  of  the  flag  on  Lookout 
Mountain,  the  storming  of  Missionary  Ridge  and  the  'fight  above  the  clouds.' 
The  song  more  earnestly  than  ever  sung  'We  Are  Coming  Father  Abraham, 
300,000  More' ;  the  decisive  battles  of  Atlanta  and  Nashville,  the  siege  of  Rich- 
mond, the  'Grand  March  to  the  Sea,'  and  the  final  chorus  of  the  nation,  'We 
Are  Coming  Father  Abraham,  600,000  More.'  The  surrender  of  Lee  and  John- 
son, the  foul  assassination  of  President  Lincoln,  the  passionate  _grief  of  the 
people,  the  magnificent  review  at  Washington,  the  glad  thundering  of  guns 
without  the  murderous  thunderbolts,  the  rising  tide  of  a  redeemed  nation's 
rapturous  joy,  as  it  swelled  from  the  Atlantic,  rolled  over  the  Alleghanieg,  on 
over  our  w^estern  prairies,  'God's  own  Gardens,'  up  and  over  the  Rocky  Moun- 
tains, down  the  slopes  of  the  Pacific  States,  till  'like  a  sea  of  glory,  it  spread 
from  pole  to  pole.'  And  the  melting  of  the  vast  army  into  the  ranks  of  civil 
life  like  mist  before  the  rising  sun. 

"Our  soldier  dead  cannot  receive  their  just  meed  of  praise  without  the 
fullest  recognition  and  the  most  unqualified  admiration  of  the  magnificent 
bravery  of  the  soldier  dead;  they  engaged  in  strife  on  the  more  than  two  thou- 
sand battlefields  of  the  war.  Virtue  is  measured  by  the  temptation  it  meets 
and  masters ;  success  is  scored  according  to  the  difficulties  to  be  surmounted ; 
victory  has  its  values  precisely  proportionate  to  the  means  and  men  to  be  over- 
come. In  our  war  West  Point  met  West  Point,  volunteer  vied  Avith  volunteer. 
The  flower  of  our  hearts  and  homes  lay  down  side  by  side  in  the  last  long  sol- 
dier sleep  with  the  flower  of  the  Southland's  hearts  and  homes :  sincerity  strove 
against  sincerity ;  conviction  confronted  conviction ;  determination  defied  deter- 
mination ;  purpose  was  pitted  against  purpose ;  sacrifice  was  set  over  against 
sacrifice:  prayer  against  prayer.  Not  men  of  alien  nations  were  they:  they 
were  our  own  kith  and  kin.  And  because  they  were  of  our  own  stock  and  lin- 
eage, they  fought,  as  men  who  would  not  disgrace  the  American  family  name. 
That  is  the  reason  it  took  four  long  years  to  end  the  contest.  Because  of 
this  the  hands  of  our  Southern  brethren  set  fire  to  a  thousand  miles  of  cotton, 
their  very  last  resource,  that  every  bridge  might  be  burned  behind  them.  To 
'die  in  the  last  ditch'  was  no  language  of  empty  braggadocio.  It  meant  the 
grim  resolve  of  stubborp.  ingrained  Anglo-American  valor,  which,  enlisted 
with  our  own  on  the  side  of  right,  can,  if  need  arise,  whip  the  world. 

"This  noble  shaft  and  this  beautiful  library  building  are  striking  and 
worthy  tributes  to  the  transcendent  idea  that  wealth  has  its  irreparable  obliga- 
tions to  society.  He  who  by  genius  and  industry  and  honorable  dealins:  has 
amassed  a  fortune,  viewing  his  lawful  acquisitions  aright,  truly  savs,  'These 
are  not  my  own  for  sordid  and  selfish  ends.  They  are  for  the  well-being  of 
those  dependent  upon  me.  and  for  that  of  my  fellowmen.  I  will  therefore  use 
them  to  enrich  and  glorify  human  lives.  I  will  blend  in  their  use  the  gift  of 
architecture,  poetry  and  eloquence,  with  the  undying  sentiments  of  philan- 


i6  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

thropy  and  patriotism.  I  will  unfold  new  vistas  of  knowledge  to  the  opening 
and  gladdened  eyes  of  youth.  I  will  multiply  for  them  the  sources  of  inspira- 
tion and  the  upward  paths  of  aspiration.' 

"It  is  thus  my  friends  that  money  should  be  used,  not  to  forge  fetters  to 
bind  and  enthrall  mankind,  but  with  chains  of  gold  to  link  heart  to  heart  in 
the  reciprocal  offices  of  good-will  and  glowing  gratitude. 

"He  whom  we  all  delight  to  honor  to-day,  and  whose  name  will  be  lield  in 
increasing  regard  as  the  generations  come  and  go,  in  this  spirit  has  caused  this 
splendid  monument  to  spring  into  being.  And  in  the  fullest  sympathy  with  the 
words  of  James  Whitcomb  Riley  has  he  erected 

"A  monument  to  the  soldiers. 

And  what  shall  you  build  it  of? 
Can  you  build  it  of  marble,  or  brass  or  bronze, 

Outlasting  a  soldier's  love? 
Can  you  glorify  it  with  legends 

As  grand  as  their  blood  has  writ 
From  the  inmost  shrine  of  this  land  of  thine 

To  the  outermost  verge  of  it? 

"A  monument  for  the  soldiers- 
Built  of  a  people's  love, 

And  blazoned  and  decked  and  panoplied 
With  the  hearts  ye  build  it  of. 

And  see  that  you  build  it  stately 
In  pillar  and  niche  and  gate 

And  high  in  pose  as  the  soul  of  those 
It   would  commemorate. 

"Your  most  generous  friend  and  fellow  townsman  ardently  desired  to  go 
to  the  front  when  the  war  broke  out,  but  considerations  of  business  in  which 
the  vital  interests  of  many  others  were  concerned  interposed  an  insuperable 
barrier.  And  yet  he  always  felt  a  keen  disappointment  that  stern  necessity  had 
prevented  the  enrollment  of  his  name  among  his  country's  actual  defenders. 
But  in  this  case  we  all  have  taken  gladly  'The  will  for  the  deed' :  and  in  the  en- 
during form  of  this  graceful  memorial  shaft  has  that  will  found  a  renewed  ex- 
pression of  the  profound  regard  he  has  ever  cherished  and  of  the  marked  prac- 
tical appreciation  he  has  ever  felt  for  the  heroes  of  the  Republic. 

"It  has  been  reared  as  described  in  the  beautiful  and  felicitous  language 
on  its  base  'In  honor  of  the  brave  men  of  Kenosha  county,  who  victoriously 
defended  the  Union  on  land  and  sea  during  the  war  of  the  great  rebellion  of 
1861-1865." 

"Not  soldiers  professionally  trained,  but  men  who  became  soldiers  for  the 
time  of  strenuous  need,  did  this  country  send  forth.  When  the  war  was  over 
the  survivors  of  the  gallant  Union  host  resumed  their  places  in  society  as  men. 
Men  first  and  always  they  were.  The  function  of  the  soldier  was  but  a  tem- 
porary one  in  their  experience. 

"Glorious  beyond  the  power  of  utterance  were  the  deeds  they  wrought 
amid  the  fire  and  tempest  of  battle.  But  they  fought  not  for  conquest  but  for 
harmony,  unity  and  peace.  The  peace  which  was  to  make  the  Nation  one  could 
only  come  by  power.  Look  upon  that  radiant  figure  which  crowns  this  un- 
springing  column.  It  is  not  the  representative  of  the  god  of  war  crying  'To 
arms !  To  arms !"  It  is  tliat  of  the  Angel  of  Peace,  breathing  benediction  and 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  v; 

love.  And  yet  wilhuut  the  men  girded  with  overcuming  strength  the  iVngel  ut 
Peace  wouW  not  have  descended  from  ahove. 

"Other  hps  will  tell  in  detail  the  thnllmg  story  of  the  loyalty  and  bravery 
of  our  Kenosha  boys.  No  more  intrepid  citizen-soldiers  shouldered  arms  or 
carried  sword.  The  great  State  that  sent  them  fortli  gained  added  glory 
through  their  renown. 

"General  Sherman  said  in  my  hearing  and  in  that  of  the  Thirty-second 
Wisconsin  Regiment  in  the  field,  'Had  all  the  regiments  behaved  as  well  as  the 
Wisconsin  troops,  there  would  have  been  no  Bull  Run."  And  it  was  as  much  in 
compliment  of  the  men  we  sent  out  as  well  as  of  the  policy  of  the  State  in  fill- 
ing up  her  regiments  with  recruits  that  he  said  in  his  Memoirs,  'We  estimated 
a  VV'isconsin  regiment  equal  to  an  ordinary  brigade.'  It  is  no  disparagement  to 
the  valiant  soldiers  from  the  other  States  to  say  that  Wisconsin  soldiers  were, 
second  to  none  in  every  physical,  intellectual,  moral  and  military  quality. 
Wherever  the  white  plume  of  Henry  of  Navarre  was  seen  there  always  was 
the  fight  the  hottest.  Wherever  the  dags  of  Wisconsin  regiments  were  seen  in 
battle  you  might  know  the  thickest  of  the  deadly  fray  was  there.  The  history 
of  the  war  could  be  made  out  from  the  records  of  the  conflicts  in  which 
Wisconsin  soldiers  took  part.  I  cannot  do  justice  to  the  deeds  of  our 
Wisconsin  dead.  Ten  thousand  fell  in  battle,  on  the  march,  in  hospital,  in 
prison  pens,  and  through  wounds  and  disease  at  home.  Our  noble  Governor 
Harvey,  going  to  the  front  to  care  for  the  wounded,  found  a  watery  grave  in 
the  swiftly  flowing  Tennessee.  Colonel  Haskell,  the  embodiment  of  chivalrous 
courtesy,  culture  and  daring,  surrendered  his  life  early  and  heroically  at  his 
post  of  duty.  Gen.  Cassius  Fairchild  and  General  Cutler,  after  the  battle's 
shock  was  over,  lay  down  to  rest,  wearied  unto  death,  through  the  preternatural 
stress  and  strain  of  war.  Scores  of  other  brave  officers  fell,  whose  names  and 
deeds  are  engraven  on  tablet  and  monument,  and  slirined  in  the  undying  re- 
membrance of  grateful  hearts. 

"True  to  the  last  were  those  Wisconsin  soldiers.  One  of  them,  who  went 
from  the  University  in  the  northern  part  of  our  State,  with  the  baptism  of  learn- 
ing on  his  brow,  fell  at  the  head  of  his  cavalry  command,  but  the  last  word 
that  escaped  young  Paine's  lips,  as  the  sand  in  the  roadside  drank  his  blood, 
was  'Forward.'  That  motto  of  Wisconsin  must  be  the  watchword  of  the  Na- 
tion.    It  has  the  right  military  ring  in  its  imperative  utterance. 

"This  Memorial  day  speaks  to  us  perhaps  as  never  before  of  common 
duties  and  responsibilities.  It  summons  the  whole  nation  to  bear  together  the 
'white  man's  burden.'  to  meet  the  red  man's  claims,  to  safeguard  the  brown 
man's  rights,  and  redress  the  black  man's  wrongs.  She  must  check  with  the 
hand  of  prudence  and  justice  the  insatiable  greed  of  rapacious  monopolies  and 
trusts  which  exist  by  the  grace  and  to  the  disgrace  of  the  long-suf=fering  public, 
and  which,  like  the  horse"  leech  with  her  two  daughters,  are  evermore  crying 
'Give !  give !'  She  must  not  only  shut  now  and  forever  the  door  of  the  Ameri- 
can congress  to  polygamy,  but  sternly  prevent  its  baleful  spread.  She  must 
deal  practicallv  and  in  a  common-sense  manner  with  intemperance.  She  must 
preserve  the  sacredness  of  marriage,  and  the  integrity  of  the  home,  and  the 
open  school-house  for  her  children. 

"No  maudlin  sentimentalism  must  weaken  the  tenacity  of  the  iron  mole- 
cules in  the  martial  blood  of  our  American  youth.     Millennial  conditions  do- 


i8  co]mme:\iorative  biographical  record. 

not  as  yet  prevail.  However  ardently  we  may  desire  and  fervently  pray  for 
peace,  we  can  fulfill  our  mission  as  a  Christian  nation  only  as  we  become  thor- 
oughly prepared  to  compel  peace  when  ambitious  nations  may  desire  to  'let 
slip  the  dogs  of  war." 

"There  can  be  omnipotence  in  our  ringing  utterances  only  as  we  can  make 
these  nations  hear  the  reverberations  of  the  best  cannon,  sighted  by  the  best 
artillerists  the  world  knows  of,  if  occasion  should  demand  such  an  accom)3ani- 
ment.  We  have  sprung  to  the  front  as  one  of  the  great  world-powers,  not  by 
any  will  of  our  own,  for  no  statesman  or  soldier  dreamed  of  this  three  years 
ago. 

"Let  skeptics  sneer  at  us  if  they  choose.  I  but  repeat  the  thought  of  devout 
and  practical  men  that  the  right  hand  of  the  God  of  Nations  was  on  the  hands 
of  our  American  heroes  when  they  were  lift  up  to  destroy  tyranny  and  make 
wider  yet  the  bounds  of  freedom  in  the  enlarging  of  our  national  domain. 
What  we  have  we  must  hold  and  we  will  hold  with  the  grip  of  gravitation.  We  ■ 
will  strike  swift  and  steady  blows  till  the  last  armed  foe  expires.  We  are  sure 
we  are  right  and  we  are  going  ahead.  We  are  going  to  tax  to  the  utmost  the 
learning  and  ability  of  our  commanding  constitutional  lawyers,  the  construc- 
tive genius  of  our  foremost  governmental  administrators,  the  knowledge  and 
deliberative  wisdom  of  our  most  impartial  and  patriotic  legislators,  in  dealing 
Avith  the  tractable  and  intractable  human  material  that  Providence  has  forced 
upon  us. 

"  'He  has  sounded  forth  a  trumpet  that  shall  never  call  retreat.'  Vrni  mav 
as  well  try  to  roll  yonder  sun  backward  as  to  turn  the  American  people  from 
the  inward  path  of  honor.  We  are  workers  together  with  God  in  lifting  up  and 
enlightening  the  once  enslaved  people  now  committed  to  our  care. 

"The  Republic  is  living  a  grander  life  today  than  when  Grant  grasped 
tlie  hand  of  Lee  and  said  'Let  us  have  peace.'  The  years  that  have  sped  on 
since  then  have  welded  together  the  North  and  the  South  into  a  compact  and 
glorious  unity.  Beneath  the  starry  flag  of  the  fathers  the  sires  and  sons  who 
represented  contending  hosts  have  been  marching  victoriously  forward  to  ful- 
fill our  manifest  destiny. 

"We  shall  solve  the  many  and  complicated  problems  which  are  before  us 
to-dav  even  as  those  who  sleep  in  soldiers'  graves  solved  the  problems  they 
had  to  face  during  the  stirring  times  in  which  they  lived.  Because  they  suc- 
ceeded we  have  the  sure  promise  of  unfailing  success,  if  we  shall  be  faithful 
as  were  they.  It  is  not  only  poetry  but  prose  which  is  embodied  in  the  senti- 
ment of  the  song  'Columbia,  the  Gem  of  the  Ocean.'  She  is  indeed  the  chief 
of  the  nations  of  the  earth.  W^e  can  gratefully  thank  the  Giver  of  good  gifts 
that  there  is  no  consumption  in  her  blood,  no  paralysis  in  her  limbs,  no  serious 
impairment  of  her  digestive  powers,  no  signs  of  heart  failure  in  that  central 
organ  of  her  being. 

"Tlie  strength  of  the  'everlasting  hills'  is  in  her  glorious  frame.  The 
beauty  of  her  flushing  lakes  and  rivers  and  seas  is  in  her  beaming  face.  'The 
sweep  continental'  of  mighty  and  majestic  thought  is  in  her  active  brain.  The 
ardency  and  freshness  of  perennial  youth  are  in  her  leaping  pulses.  The  light 
of  liberty  is  in  her  eyes  of  heavenlit  blue.  The  words  of  conciliation  and  af- 
fection are  on  her  persuasive  lips,  and  her  yearning  arms  have  clasped  once 
more  all  her  children  to  her  bounteous  bosom  in  the  unbroken  embrace  of  ma- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  19 

ternal,  filial  and  fraternal  love.     And  the  children  now  sing  as  ne\er  before 
could  be  sung : 

"Columbia,  Columbia,  to  glory  arise, 
The  Queen  of  the  World  and  the  child  of  the  skies." 

Attorney  James  Cavanagh  then  introduced  Rev.  Father  Cleary,  of  Min- 
neapolis, who  said  that  the  erecting  of  the  monument  was  but  a  very  small  part 
of  what  Mr.  Simmons  has  done  for  the  old  soldiers.  He  said  that  Mr.  Sim- 
mons had  always  taken  a  great  interest  in  the  upbuilding  of  Kenosha,  and  gave 
liberally  of  his  means  toward  every  worthy  enterprise.  He  told  how,  when  he 
commenced  the  work  of  building  St.  James'  Church,  Mr.  Simmons  took  him 
by  the  hand  one  morning  and  told  him  he  was  glad  to  see  that  there  was  one 
man  who  had  faith  in  the  future  prosperity  of  Kenosha — that  Kenosha  was 
all  right — to  go  ahead  with  the  building  of  the  church,  and  when  in  need  of 
fvmds  to  call  on  him.  He  also  said  that  Mr.  Simmons  remarked  to  him  after 
the  dedication  of  the  soldiers'  monument  in  the  city  cemetery  several  years  ago 
which  was  the  gift  of  Mr.  Simmons,  that  the  dead  soldiers  should  have  a 
monument,  and  they  would  have  it  if  he  had  to  erect  it  himself.  Everyone 
knows  when  Mr.  Simmons  said  anything  had  to  be  done  it  would  be  done.  In 
concluding  his  short  address  he  invoked  the  choicest  blessings  of  Hea\-en  on 
Ml'.  Simmons. 

The  exercises  closed  with  the  singing  of  "America"  by  the  assemblage. 

Rev.  Roblee  then  announced  that  the  old  soldiers  would  be  furnished  tick- 
ets for  their  supper  at  the  dining  halls  of  the  W.  R.  C.  and  the  ladies  of  the 
several  churches. 

A  nice  feature  of  the  day  was  the  singing  by  the  school  children.  After 
the  exercises  the  Wolcott  Post  Drum  Corps  of  Milwaukee  serenaded  Air.  Sim- 
mons at  his  home.  During  the  evening  the  surviving  members  of  the  Twentv- 
sixth  Regiment,  Wisconsin  Volunteers,  held  a  reunion  at  St.  George's  Hall. 
It  was  a  happy  event. 

The  M onumcnt . — The  monument  is  a  fluted  Corinthian  column  twentv- 
ejght  feet  in  height,  four  feet  in  diameter  at  the  bottom  and  tapering  to  three 
feet  four  inches  at  the  top,  and  is  one  solid  piece  of  gray  granite.  The  cap- 
stone is  five  feet  six  inches  square,  and  six  feet  high.  On  top  of  this  stone  is 
a  beautiful  statue  of  Victory,  eleven  feet  in  height,  holding  in  her  hand  a 
wreath.  On  the  base  is  the  inscription,  "In  honor  of  the  brave  men  of  Keno- 
sha county,  who  victoriously  defended  the  Union  on  land  and  sea  during  the 
war  of  the  great  rebellion — 1861-1865." 

The  approaches  consist  of  four  -steps  and  eight  buttresses.  The  lower 
course  is  circular  in  form  and  thirty-six  feet  in  diameter.  From  the  approaches 
to  the  base  of  the  column  the  monument  is  octagonal  in  shape,  consisting  of 
two  bases,  eleven  feet  six  inches  in  diameter,  also  a  die,  six  feet  six  inches,  and 
a  capstone  eight  feet  in  diameter.  The  approaches  are  similar  to  the  approaches 
to  the  Victory  monument  at  West  Point,  N.  Y.  The  monument  was  designed 
by  Mr.  D.  H.  Burnham.  who  designed  the  buildings  for  the  ^^"or!d's  Fair.  The 
statue  of  Victory  was  designed  by  \\' illiam  H.  Morse,  of  this  city,  who  erected 
the  monument.  The  work  on  the  monument  was  all  done  by  the  William  H. 
Morse  Company,  at  Barre,  Vt.    The  total  weight  of  granite  is  180  tons.    There 


20  CO!^BIEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

is  not  a  finei"  niunument  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin.  [The  ahove  report  is 
taken  from  the  Kenosha  Union  of  May  31,  1900. J 

No  better  evidence  of  the  good  feehng  created  by  this  handsome  gift  was 
necessary  than  the  make-up  of  the  procession,  which  inckided,  besides  veterans 
and  sons  and  grandsons  of  veterans,  representatives  of  numerous  societies  of 
every  kind. 

This  generous  act  was  but  the  climax  of  a  consistent  career  of  helpfulness 
in  behalf  of  the  veteran  soldiery  and  their  families,  which  covers  a  period  from 
the  beginning  of  the  Civil  war  until  the  present  time.  It  is  not  too  much  to 
say  that  no  person  in  the  United  States  to-day  is  a  warmer  friend,  or  a  more 
liberal  contributor,  to  the  cause  represented  by  the  G.  A.  R.  than  Hon.  Z.  G. 
Simmons,  of  Kenosha.  Abundant  evidences  of  his  friendly  attitude,  and  of  his 
splendid  work,  which  proves  his  iaith  in  the  great  patriotic  fraternity,  are  scat- 
tered along  the  past  forty  years  of  his  life.  One  of  the  most  touching  local 
incidents  testifying  to  his  good-will  is  the  annual  entertainment  which  he  has 
prepared  and  given  for  the  last  thirty  years  at  his  private  residence  for  the 
enjoyment  of  two  hundred  veterans  of  Kenosha,  Waukegan,  Racine  and  Mil- 
waukee. Last  year  the  late  Commander-in-Chief  of  the  Grand  xA.rmy,  W.  \V. 
Blackmar,  was  present  on  this  occasion. 

A  more  striking  evidence  was  presented  at  the  thirty-ninth  national  en- 
campment of  the  G.  A.  R.,  held  at  Denver,  Colo.  While  there,  in  company 
with  the  regular  members  of  the  Kenosha  post  and  with  his  own  granddaugh- 
ter, Mr.  Simmons  and  the  lady  mentioned  were  called  to  the  platform  and 
heartily  applauded.  Then  and  there  Mr.  Simmons  was  unanimously  and  en- 
thusiastically pronounced  a  comrade  of  the  gray-haired  boys  in  blue,  and  voted 
formally  into  the  organization — in  view  of  what  he  had  done  in  the  past  for 
them  and  theirs.  In  reply  he  delivered  a  short  but  telling  address ;  but  he  had 
come  to  the  convention  provided  with  something  more  tangible  than  words, 
and  calculated  to  give  a  more  enduring  pleasure.  Before  the  session  was  com- 
pleted he  had  distributed  three  tons  of  handsome  bronze  medals,  which  had 
been  struck  ofif  at  his  personal  expense.  The  soldiers  attending  the  Denver 
Encampment  received  15,000  of  these  beautiful  mementoes,  and,  after  return- 
ing home,  Mr.  Simmons  had  more  of  the  medals  made  for  presentation  to  the 
members  of  the  Kenosha  post  who  did  not  attend  the  convention. 

On  April  20,  1850,  Mr.  Simmons  was  married,  in  Kenosha,  to  iVIiss 
Emma  E.  Robinson,  daughter  of  Capt.  Morris  Robinson,  a  prominent  pioneer 
of  Benton  township.  Lake  Co.,  111.  Mrs.  Simmons  was  born  in  Cleveland, 
Ohio,  Oct.  15,  1830,  and  in  1835  went  with  her  father  to  Lake  county.  111., 
where  she  grew  to  womanhood. 

Children  as  follows  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Simmons :  Gilbert  ^T. 
died  in  the  prime  of  manhood ;  Nelson  L.  died  at  the  age  of  three  years ;  Min- 
nie J.  is  the  wife  of  Arthur  F.  Towne,  of  Chicago ;  Emma  Belle,  Mrs.  Lance, 
is  a  resident  of  Kenosha ;  Ezra  J-  died  at  the  age  of  thirteen  years;  Zalmon  G., 
Jr.,  is  the  youngest.  The  mother  passed  away  Oct.  11,  1899.  In  religious  faith 
she  was  a  Unitarian,  as  is  also  Mr.  Simmons. 

Mr.  Simmons  has  proved  in  his  career  that  hard  work  is  a  blessing  and 
not  a  bane.  His  success  also  is  evidence  of  the  fact  that  a  man  never  injures 
his  own  prospects  by  generosity  to  others,  and  the  esteem  in  which  he  is  held 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  21 

by  all  is  the  reward  of  a  life-long  policy  of  unselfishness.  His  name  is  known 
to  every  resident  of  Kenosha  county,  for  he  has  taken  a  prominent  part  in  the 
history  and  development  of  both  city  and  county  throughout  the  period  of  his 
long  residence  here.  He  has  made  his  way  from  small  beginnings,  for  when  he 
arrived  in  the  then  town  of  Southport  he  had  only  $2.50  in  cash,  and  his  cap- 
ital when  he  took  the  store  was  but  $200,  though  he  had  a  good  name  ancP 
credit  from  which  none  of  his  subsequent  dealings  have  detracted. 

HON.  JOHN  T.  WENTWORTH  (deceased)  was  one  of  the  self-made 
men  of  his  day  and  for  years  was  a  prominent  citizen  of  Racine.  He  was 
born  March  30,  1820,  in  Saratoga  County,  New  York,  a  son  of  John  and 
Mary  (Brown)  Wentworth. 

The  Wentworth  family  is  of  English  extraction.  About,  the  middle 
of  the  seventeenth  century,  one  William  Wentworth  came  from  England  to 
America  and  established  his  home  in  New  Hampshire.  Among  his  distin- 
guished descendants  were  John  Wentworth,  who  became  governor  of  New 
Hampshire,  and  another  John,  of  a  later  generation,  who  was  one  of  the 
early  settlers  and  liberal  patrons  of  Chicago,  Illinois. 

John  Wentworth,  father  of  Judge  Wentworth,  was  born  in  New  Hamp- 
shire, and  married  Mary  Brown  of  Rhode  Island.  He  died  in  Sarato'ga 
County,  N.  Y..  when  the  late  Judge  Wentworth,  the  youngest  member  of  his 
family  of  five  children,  was  but  two  years  of  age. 

The  late  Judge  John  T.  Wentworth  was  given  liberal  educational  ad- 
vantages and  he  graduated  in  the  class  of  1846  at  Union  College,  Schenec- 
tady, N.  Y.,  one  of  a  brilliant  coterie  of  distinguished  men.  He  then  began 
the  reading  of  law  with  William  A.  Beach,  at  Saratoga  Springs,  and  was 
admitted  to  the  Bar  in  1850,  and  began  the  practice  of  his  profession  at  this 
point.  After  two  years  he  went  as  far  west  as  Chicago,  where  he  engaged  in 
practice  until  1856,  when  he  removed  to  Geneva  Lake,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis., 
where  in  the  following  year  he  was  elected  district  attorney  and  re-elected 
in  1859.  In  1870  he  was  made  clerk  of  the  circuit  court,  and  held  the  posi- 
tion for  five  years,  and  while  still  officiating  as  such,  was  elected  circuit  judge 
to  fill  a  vacancy  of  two  and  a  half  years.  When  this  period  had  expired  he 
was  elected  to  the  office,  and  he  continued  to  serve  until  1884,  his  circuit  in- 
cluding Walworth,  Kenosha  and  Racine  counties.  In  1877  Judge  Went- 
worth had  removed  to  Racine,  and  his  death  occurred  in  the  familv  home 
in  that  city.  For  ten  years  he  served  as  circuit  court  commissioner,  and  for 
an  extended  period  as  United  States  court  commissioner. 

Judge  Wentworth  was  married  Oct.  4,  1852,  in  Saratoga  county,  N.  Y., 
to  Miss  Frances  McDonnell,  of  Saratoga  county,  and  they  had  children  as 
follows :  John  T.,  a  graduate  of  Yale  and  a  prominent  attorney  at  Racine : 
Thomas  M.,  who  died  in  April,  1882:  Mary;  and  Jane,  who  is  the  wife  of 
J.  Pinto,  consul  at  Brussels  from  Cuba. 

Judge  Wentworth  was  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  as  are  the 
other  members  of  his  family.  His  political  affiliation  was  with  the  Repub- 
lican party.  Fraternally  he  was  a  Knight  Templar  Mason,  belonging  to 
Geneva  Lodge,  of  wdiich  he  was  master:  Geneva  Chapter,  of  which  he  was 
high  priest,  and  Racine  Commandery,  No.  7.     In  1865  he  was  elected  grand 


'^2  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

master  of  the  State,  and  two  years  prior  to  this  had  been  grand  senior  warden. 
He  was  also  an  honored  member  of  the  Wisconsin  Bar  Association. 

HON.  PHILO  BELDEN.  The  late  Senator  Philo  Belden,  one  of  the 
earliest  pioneers  and  universally  respected  citizens  of  Racine  county,  Wis., 
was  born  Oct.  22,  181 5,  at  Canaan,  Litchfield  Co.,  Conn.,  son  of  Jonathan 
and  Love  (Dean)  Belden. 

In  the  spring  of  1838  he  came  to  the  Territory  of  Wisconsin,  locating 
at  Rochester.  Racine  county.  He  returned  to  Indiana  in  the  following  year 
and  was  there  married,  June  6,  1839,  to  Mary  F.  Belden,  born  Sept.  23,  1818, 
daughter  of  Henry  and  Fannie  Belden.  With  his  bride  Mr.  Belden  came 
again  to  Wisconsin  and,  until  his  death  many  years  later,  he  was  one  of  the 
leading  men  of  his  community. 

In  October,  1839,  in  company  with  Martin  C.  Whitman,  Levi  Godfrey, 
Obed  Hulburd  and  Hiland  Hulburd,  Mr.  Belden  caused  to  be  platted  all  the 
village  property  extending  on  the  west  side  of  Fox  river,  and  also  all  the 
property  on  the  east  side  south  of  Main  street.  In  1840  Mr.  Belden  built  a 
sawmill  on  the  Muskego  river,  and  two  years  later,  with  Jeremiah  Ford  and 
T.  E.  Green,  was  interested  in  the  establishment  of  the  town's  present  water 
power.  !Mr.  Belden  was  the  builder  of  the  first  flouring  mill  at  Rochester, 
of  which  he  was  the  sole  owner  until  1846.  He  was  prominent  in  many  of  the 
other  industries  of  the  place,  operating  an  iron  factory  and  encouraging  other 
enterprises  new  to  the  region.  He  brought  bricks  from  the  mouth  of  Root 
river,  and  built  the  first  brick  chimney  ever  constructed  in  Rochester.  Mr. 
Belden  was  very  public-spirited.  When  the  Fox  River  Valley  railroad  was 
first  thought  of  as  a  possibility,  and  a  company  was  formed  for  its  construc- 
tion, he  was  elected  president,  and  contmued  as  such  until  unlocked  for  difli- 
culties  arose,  over  which  he  had  no  control,  and  the  scheme  was  abandoned. 
He  lost  heavily  financially,  and  was  disappointed  at  the  failure  of  the  enter- 
prise which  he  had  encouraged  on  account  of  its  promised  value  to  this  section. 

In  his  political  sympathies  he  was  a  Republican  and  from  early  man- 
hood had  been  appointed  and  elected  by  his  party  to  responsible  ofiices.  In 
1852  he  was  first  elected  to  the  State  Legislature,  was  re-elected  in  1862  and 
again  in  1865.  and  in  1870  he  was  elected  to  the  State  Senate.  In  1884  he 
was  appointed  by  Gov.  Rusk  to  fill  the  vacancy  created  by  the  death  of  Judge 
Bronson  on  the  County  Bench,  and  in  1885  he  was  elected  for  the  succeeding 
four  years.  His  service  continued  until  the  month  of  his  decease,  September, 
1889,  he  having  but  a  week  previously  resigned  on  account  of  failing  healthy 

Judge  Belden  and  wife  had  four  children,  viz. :  Henry  W.,  of  Milwau- 
kee: Edward  J.,  of  Stockton,  Cal. ;  Albert  O.,  of  Rochester,  Wis.;  and  Allen 
H.,  of  Rochester.  During  the  Civil  war  Judge  Belden  gave  support  and  en- 
couragement to  the  L^nion  cause  not  only  with  voice  and  pen.  but  saw  three 
of  his  beloved  sons  enter  the  army  and  encouraged  them  for  their  patriotism. 
The  death  of  this  statesman,  jurist  and  loyal  citizen  removed  from  Racine 
county  one  of  its  notable  men,  one  whose  name  is  identified  with  much  that 
has  made  it  great. 

ERNST  J.  HUEFFNER,  president  of  the  Manufacturers"  National 
Bank,  is  one  of  the  most  prominent  citizens  and  enterprising  business  men 


CO\BIEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  33 

of  Racine.  He  was  born  in  Forste,  Prussia,  Germany,  Feb.  15,  1838,  son  of 
Ernst  C.  and  Julia  (Klinkmueller)  Hueffner,  natives  of  Germany.  The 
grandparents,  both  paternal  and  maternal,  died  in  Germany. 

Ernst  C.  Hueffner  always  followed  the  tanning  business,  operating  a 
tannery  in  his  native  country,  and,  on  coming  to  America,  in  1848^  located 
a  tannery  at  Racine.  He  died  here  in  187 1,  aged  sixty-three  years,  while  his 
widow  survived  until  1880,  being  seventy-one  years  old  at  the  time  of  her 
death.  Both  were  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  Mr.  Hueffner  was  one 
of  Racine's  early  aldermen.  He  and  his  wife  had  seven  children,  two  of 
whom  still  survive:  Ernst  J.  and  Bertha  A.,  the  latter  the  widow  of  August 
Frank,  of  Milwaukee. 

Ernst  J.  Hueft'ner  was  ten  years  old  when  brought  to  America  bv  his 
parents.  His  early  schooling  was  obtained  in  Germany,  and  he  attended  the 
public  schools  in  Racine  for  a  time.  Here  he  grew  to  manhood,  helping  his 
father  in  the  tannery  and  later  in  the  leather  and  shoe  finding  business,  and 
on  his  father's  retirement  he  became  his  successor,  and  has  since  continued  in 
that  business.  He  has  been  a  stockholder  in  the  Manufacturers'  National 
Bank  since  its  organization,  and  in  January,  1904,  was  made  president  of 
that  institution,  a  position  he  still  holds. 

In  1868  Mr.  Hueffner  married  Miss  Martha  A.  J.  Kuehne,  daughter  of 
Henry  and  Caroline  (Voelz)  Kuehne,  and  nine  children  have  been  born  to 
this  union,  seven  now  living :  Julia,  who  married  August  C.  Frank,  of  Racine ; 
Ernest  C,  assistant  cashier  in  the  Manufacturers"  National  Bank,  who  mar- 
ried Miss  Lillian  Cook,  of  New  York;  Bertha,  who  married  A.  J.  Horlick; 
Alfred,  a  clerk  for  his  father  in  the  leather  business,  as  is  also  Otto ;  and 
Frederick  and  Martin,  who  are  attending  the  State  University,  at  Madison. 
Mr.  Hueffner  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  Politically  he  is  in- 
dependent, and  he  served  as  alderman  for  several  terms,  and  as  mavor  in 
1879. 

ROBERT  HALL  BAKER  (deceased).  The  death  of  Robert  Hall 
Baker,  which  occurred  at  his  beautiful  home  in  the  city  of  Racine,  Wis., 
removed  a  man  who  was  noted  not  only  for  his  business  success,  but  for  those 
high  ideals  of  business  honor  which  won  for  him  the  esteem  of  those  with 
whom  his  many  important  enterprises  brought  him  closely  in  contact. 

Mr.  Baker  was  born  June  27,  1839,  at  Lake  Geneva,  Walworth  Co., 
Wis.,  and  died  Oct.  5,  1882.  His  parents  were  Charles  M._and  Martha  L. 
Baker,  natives  of  Larrabee  Point.  Vt.,  who  were  early  settlers  in  Wisconsin. 
Mr.  Baker  completed  the  common  school  course  in  his  own  neighborhood  and 
then  entered  Beloit  College.  In  March,  1856.  he  came  to  Racine.  Wis.,  and 
for  several  years  was  a  clerk  in  a  hardware  store.  In  i860  he  became  general 
bookkeeper  and  accountant  with  J.  I.  Case,  and  in  1863  purchased  a  fourth 
interest  in  the  manufacturing  business  and  was  one  of  the  incorporators  of 
the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company.  Besides  his  interest  in  and 
conijection  with  this  great  enterprise,  Mr.  Baker  was  interested  in  many 
others  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin.  He  was  a  large  stockholder  in  the  Manufac- 
turers' National  Bank  of  Racine;  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Crookston. 
Minn. ;  and  in  the  First  National  Bank  of  Burlington,  Wis. ;  a  director  of  the 


24  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Racine  Hardware  Manufacturing  Company;  and  of  the  National  Iron  Co.,  of 
DePere,  Wis. ;  and  president  of  the  Hampton  Coal  Mining  Company. 

Mr.  Baker  was  always  a  zealous  supporter  of  the  Republican  party  and 
a  defender  of  its  principles.  In  1867  he  was  elected  school  comniissioner ; 
in  1865  and  1868  was  elected  an  alderman  and  re-elected  to  this  office  in 
1871  ;  in  the  year  succeeding  he  was  elected  to  the  Wisconsin  State  Senate; 
in  1873  ^""^  ^^'^^  ^^^^  Republican  candidate  for  lieutenant-governor;  in  1874 
he  was  chosen  mayor  of  Racine;  in  1875  ^"'J  '"  1876  he  again  served  in  the 
State  Senate.  During  the  campaign  of  Garfield,  Mr.  Baker  was  chairman  of 
the  Republican  State  Central  Committee,  a  position  he  held  at  the  time  of  his 
death,  and  he  was  also  chairman  of  the  delegation  to  the  National  Repub- 
lican Convention  that  nominated  Mr.  Garfield.  During  this  campaign  he  was 
so  active  that  his  health  became  impaired.  Subsequently  he  was  ofiiered 
important  positions  under  the  Government,  but  refused  all  with  the  exception 
of  Government  director  of  the  Union  Pacific  Railroad,  which  at  that  time 
was  in  the  beginning  of  its  reconstruction  period.  This  position  of  respon- 
siljility  he  held  until  the  end  of  his  life. 

Mr.  Baker's  superior  executive  ability,  extensive  acquaintance,  comjjined 
with  his  prominent  position  in  his  State,  influenced  his  appointment  in  the 
representation  of  the  State  of  Wisconsin  at  the  Centennial  Exposition  in 
1876.  He  was  made  a  sub-committee  to  supervise  and  arrange  the  exhibits 
of  agricultural  machinery  and  implements  and  the  care  which  he  gave  to  this 
commission  resulted  in  the  notable  display  offered.  Through  his  instru- 
mentality Racine  was  specially  represented  in  the  art  department  of  that 
exposition.  In  1878  Mr.  Baker  was  sent  as  Wisconsin's  representative  to 
the  Exposition  Universal  at  Paris. 

On  Dec.  20,  1859,  Mr.  Baker  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Emily 
M.  Carswell,  daughter  of  John  S.  Carswell,  formerly  sheriff  of  the  county. 
To  this  union  were  born  four  sons  and  one  daughter,  viz. :  George  C. ;  Edward 
L. ;  Robert  H. ;  Charles  H. ;  and  Mary  Louise,  who  is  the  wife  of  Clarence  T- 
Richards,  a  prominent  attorney-at-law^  at  Racine. 

The  funeral  of  Mr.  Baker  was  a  very  impressive  one  and  was  conducteil 
under  the  auspices  of  the  Episcopal  Church  of  which  he  was  a  consistent 
member,  and  of  the  Masonic  fraternity  in  which  he  was  a  Knight  Templar. 
A  few  lines  may  be  appropriately  quoted  from  the  beautiful  sermon  of  the 
Rev.  Dr.  Corwin,  of  Racine,  on  this  occasion,  as  follows : 

"Of  no  man  in  the  community  cculd  it  be  said  that  his  friendships  were 
.so  numerous  or  so  wiile-reachins:,  including  those  of  every  class,  creed  and 
condition.  This  arose  not  from  the  lack  of  positivity  of  manner  or  of  opinion, 
but  was  the  natural  outcome  of  his  whole-souled  manners,  his  personrd  can- 
dor and  quick  appreciation  of  what  was  worthy  or  winning  in  all  classes. 
This  vast  concourse  of  sincere  mourners  is  a  sincere  tribute  not  to  wenlth  but 
to  worth.  Of  magnetic  temperament  he  made  fast  friends  and  made  them 
just  as  readily  when  he  was  comparatively  noor  as  when  diligence  was 
crowned  with  affluence.  His  was  not  a  cold  and  neutral  nature.  I  have  often 
noticed  the  cmickness  of  his  svmpathy  when  the  weak  and  helpless  were 
wrone'ed.  and  the  lieat  of  his  in'ho-n^tion  when  some  meanness  wns  meditated 
toward  those  whose  worth  he  highlv  esteemed.     He  had  large  plans  for  the 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  25 

improvement  of  the  city  where  he  dwelt,  which  his  deatli  must  delay,  if  not 
wholly  thwart,  and  was  not  backward  in  affording-  the  Church  of  Christ 
financial  support." 

Appropriate  resolutions  were  adoptetl  by  the  various  business  and  fra- 
ternal bodies  with  which  he  had  been  connected.  At  a  bank  meetin.s;'  which 
was  presided  over  by  President  J.  I.  Case,  the  late  Judge  Allen  s))oke  as 
follows : 

"Few  men  possessed  the  rare  qualities  of  a  banker  equal  to  Mr.  Baker, 
which  always  led  to  success.  His  mind  had  a  powerful  intuition  as  well  as 
great  powers  of  analyzing,  enabling  him  at  a  glance  to  separate  the  spurious 
from  the  genuine,  so  that  he  was  seldom,  if  ever,  deceived.  His  long  ex- 
perience with  business  transactions  of  great  magnitude,  to  the  smallest  detail 
thereof  had  so  developed  his  mental  powers  as  a  banker  and  as  a  business  man 
that  it  may  be  said  of  him  with  truthfulness  that  he  had  attained  the  eminence 
that  raised  him  among  the  most  elevated  of  business  men,  and  as  he  went 
up,  he  took  his  integrity  with  him,  a  quality  he  never  surrendered  and  which 
has  never  been  questioned.  While  Mr.  Baker  was  an  ambitious  man,  he  loved 
justice  more  than  money.  His' word  or  obligation  was  never  broken  but 
faithfully  kept  and  maintained.  He  religiously  believed  in  the  divinitv  of  a 
man's  word  and  contract,  and  if  not  kept  and  maintained,  mankind  must 
go  back  to  barbarism.  While  I  speak  of  him  as  a  banker  and  business  man, 
I  may  justly  add  that  he  was  equally  so  as  a  gentleman,  and  none  are  more 
willing  to  bear  witness  of  the  fact  than  the  Board  of  Directors  of  the  bank 
as  well  as  its  employes. 

"Mr.  Baker  was  a  kind  man,  whether  in  business  or  out  of  it.  he  was 
ever  the  same  genial  gentleman.  He  was  free  from  mif¥s  and  resentments 
without  a  good  cause,  and  never  with  a  revengful  spirit.  He  regarded  that 
the  fairest  action  of  man  was  scorning  to  revenge  an  injury.  By  the  death  of 
Mr.  Baker,  it  is  not  the  bank  alone  that  has  met  with  a  loss,  but  the  Nation. 
Mr.  Baker,  by  instinct  and  education,  was  a  statesman,  ranking  with  the  most 
eminent.  He  had  clear  and  comprehensive  views  of  national  affairs,  and  his 
influence  was  felt  outside  the  bounds  of  his  native  State,  where  he  was  so 
favorably  known.  He  took  a  deep  interest  in  all  public  affairs  for  the 
county's  good,  and  to  this  end  it  may  be  said  that  he  was  generous  with  his 
monev  and  labor  to  accomplish,  at  the  same  time  without  anv  sinister  motive. 

"It  is  true  that  Mr.  Baker  has  left  us  to  return  not,  but  he  has  not  left 
us  comfortless.  He  left  his  good  character  with  us,  a  legacy  above  all  price, 
on  which  there  is  not  a  spot  or  blemish ;  it  belongs  to  his  family  and  the  pub- 
lic in  common.  Indeed  the  loss  of  Robert  H.  Baker  reaches  far  and  wide, 
the  people  mourn  it  as  a  calamity,  and  well  may  they,  for  Mr.  Baker  was  a 
benefactor;  the  world  was  made  better  and  people  have  been  iDlessed  for  his 
having  lived  in  it.  We  all  deplore  his  death.  He  was  entirelv  free  from 
ostentation,  and  mingled  with  his  fellow  citizens  as  one  of  them,  apparently 
unconscious  of  his  superiority.  But  it  was  in  his  home,  surrounded  bv  his 
family  and  friends,  if  any  olace  more  than  another,  he  excelled.  He  was  a 
kind,  affectionate,  appreciative  husband;  equally  so  as  a  father,  and  had  a 
fpculty  in  receiving  and  entertaining  his  friends  in  a  Avav  that  endeared  them 
all  to  him.     Indeed,  he  was  a  general  favorite  everywhere  and  had  the  love 


26  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

and  confidence  of  all  who  knew  him.  He  was  the  same  courtly  gentleman 
to  all  classes,  the  poor  as  well  as  the  rich,  and  was  equally  approachable  by 
all,  and  none  now  speak  of  him  except  to  praise." 

After  the  closing  of  the  church  service  at  St.  Luke's  Church,  Racine, 
Rev.  Arthur  Piper,  rector,  reciting  the  impressive  service  of  that  church,  the 
funeral  was  taken  charge  of  by  the  Knight  Templar  Masons  of  Racine  Com- 
niandery,  and  the  procession  was  formed  on  Main  street,  in  the  following 
order :  Garfield  Guards,  Light  Guards,  employes  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing 
Machine  Company,  Fire  Department,  Racine  Club,  Racine  Lodge,  No.  i8, 
A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  Belle  City  Lodge,  No.  92,  Racine  Commandery  No.  7,  Knights 
Templar,  Wisconsin  Commandery,  No.  i,  Consistory  No.  i,  of  Milwaukee. 
Then  came  the  heavily  draped  hearse  with  its  guard  of  honor,  followed  by 
the  family,  the  city  council  and  a  long  line  of  carriages  filled  with  citizens  who 
desired  in  this  way  to  show  respect  for  one  who  was  so  universally  mourned. 
The  body  was  consigned  to  the  dust  with  Masonic  rites,  Prelate  Arthur  Piper 
officiating.  Had  a  longer  life  been  vouchsafed  to  Mr.  Baker  he  might  have 
risen  still  higher  in  the  halls  of  fame  but  he  could  not  have  achieved  more 
entirely  a  lasting  remembrance  in  the  hearts  o'f  his  fellow  citizens. 

NATHAN  R.  ALLEN  (deceased)  was  the  first  sheriff  of  Kenosha 
county,  the  builder  of  the  first  frame  structure  erected  in  the  city,  for  many 
years  the  proprietor  of  an  extensive  tannery,  and  stands  in  the  local  annals  as 
among  the  earliest  and  most  respected  pioneers  of  Kenosha.  His  sons,  Charles 
W.  and  Nathan  Allen,  have  continued  his  business  under  the  firm  name  of  N. 
R.  Allen  &  Sons. 

Nathan  R.  Allen  was  born  in  Granby,  Oswego  Co.,  N.  Y.,  Feb.  3,  1812, 
being  the  son  of  Zodac  and  Esther  (Blake)  Allen.  The  father,  of  Scotch- 
Irish  ancestry,  was  a  native  of  Connecticut,  bvit  migrated  to  New  York  and 
located  at  Granby  Center,  near  Fulton,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  until  his 
death,  at  an  advanced  age,  in  the  year  1837.  His  wife,  who  died  while  still 
young,  bore  him  a  large  family.  Nathan  R.  Allen  was  reared  on  his  father's 
farm,  acquired  as  good  an  education  as  the  schools  of  the  time  afforded,  and  for 
several  winter  terms  was  a  teacher  himself.  In  the  summer  of  1835  he  mi- 
grated to  the  West,  settling  at  Pike's  Creek,  afterward  called  Soutliport  and 
finally  Kenosha. 

When  he  first  settled  at  what  is  now  the  city  of  Kenosha,  Mr.  Allen  took 
charge  of  a  small  store  for  William  Bullen,  besides  turning  his  industrious  and 
ingenious  hand  to  such  various  occupations  as  wood-chopping,  lathing  and 
building.  As  stated  he  erected  the  first  frame  structure  of  the  settlement  and 
afterward  superintended  the  building  of  many  others.  For  a  number  of  years 
he  was  the  owner  of  the  largest  building  in  the  city,  in  which  were  installed  all 
of  the  municipal  offices.  Upon  the  organization  of  Kenosha  countv  he  was 
elected  its  sheriff  and  after  serving  out  his  term  engaged  for  a  time  in  the 
lumber  business. 

In  1856,  with  Levi  Grant  as  a  partner,  Mr.  Allen  opened  a  small  tannery 
on  the  site  of  the  present  large  establishment.  The  business  gradually  in- 
creased until  it  became  one  of  the  most  prominent  industries  of  Kenosha.  On 
Feb.  2,  i8go.  the  tannerv  was  destroyed  bv  fire,  but  a  new  and  larger  iilant  was 


A^v , 


^^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  27 

promptly  erected  and  tlie  liusiness  was  continued  witli  its  old-time  prosperity. 
In  the  meantime  Mr.  Cirant  had  retired  and  Mr.  Allen's  two  sons,  Charles  W. 
and  Nathan,  had  been  admitted  to  the  hrm. 

On  Oct.  25,  1843,  Nathan  R.  Allen  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Hale,  of 
Paris  Hill,  N.  Y.,  the  American  branch  of  whose  family  is  traced  to  the  seven- 
teenth century,  when  Richard  Hale  emigrated  from  England  and  settled  in 
Connecticut.  Samuel  Hale,  father  of  Mary  (Hale)  Allen,  a  native  of  New 
York,  engaged  in  farming  at  Paris  Hill,  and  died  at  the  age  of  over  seventy 
years,  his  wife,  Hannah  (Munson)  Hale,  passing  away  at  about  the  same  age. 
To  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nathan  R.  Allen  were  born  nine  children,  of  whom  the  fol- 
lowing four  are  living:  Charles  W.,  Nathan,  Julia,  and  Clara  A.  (Mrs. 
Charles  E.  Arnold,  of  Milwaukee).  The  father  passed  away  April  15,  1890, 
but  his  wife  is  still  living,  in  her  eighty-seventh  year.  Neither  were  members 
of  any  church,  but  were  constant  attendants  of  the  Congregational  services. 
In  this  connection  it  should  be  stated  that  Mr.  Allen  assisted  in  building  the 
first  sacred  edifice  ever  erected  in  Kenosha.  In  early  manhood  the  deceased 
was  an  Abolitionist,  during  the  Civil  war  was  a  Republican,  and  afterward 
became  a  Democrat. 

Charles  W.  Allen,  now  the  senior  partner  in  the  firm  of  N.  R.  Allen  & 
Sons,  was  born  in  Kenosha,  was  educated  in  its  public  schools,  and  in  1870  was 
admitted  to  partnership  with  his  father  under  the  iirm  name  of  N.  R.  Allen  & 
Son.  About  ten  years  later,  by  the  admission  of  his  brother  Nathan,  the  style 
became  N.  R.  Allen  &  Sons,  which  it  retained  after  the  death  of  the  founder 
of  the  business  in  1890.  In  the  various  operations  of  the  industry  one  thou- 
sand persons  are  employed,  and  the  products  of  the  establishment  are  shipped 
to  all  parts  of  the  world. 

Charles  W.  Allen  was  married  on  April  4,  1878,  to  Miss  Ella  F.  French, 
daughter  of  Alvin  and  Nancy  (Stevens)  French,  the  former  of  whom  settled 
some  three  miles  from  Kenosha  as  early  as  1835.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Allen  are  the 
parents  of  three  children,  namely:  Charles  C,  who  married  Miss  Susan 
Swandale,  of  Greenville,  S.  C,  and  has  one  son,  Charles  W. ;  Robert  W. ;  and 
Gertrude  E.  The  family  resides  at  No.  431  Chicago  street.  Mr.  Allen  stands 
high  in  both  the  social  and  business  circles  of  Kenosha.  In  politics  he  is  a 
Democrat. 

Nathan  Allen,  brother  and  partner  of  Charles  W.,  was  born  in  Keno- 
sha, and  on  Feb.  17,  1892,  married  Miss  Ellen  Jebb,  of  Waukegan,  by  whom 
he  has  had  three  children,  Margaret  J.,  Francis  J.  and  Nathan  R. 

FRANK  KELLOGG  BULL,  who  fills  the  important  position  of  presi- 
dent of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Co.,  Racine,  Wis.,  is  by  virtue  of 
that  connection  alone  one  of  the  city's  most  prominent  and  influential  citi- 
zens. The  concern,  being  one  of  the  most  important  of  its  kind  in  the  world, 
confers  untold  benefits  upon  the  city  in  which  it  is  located;  and  the  heads 
are  responsible  in  more  than  a  business  sense.  His  father  has  been  a  resident 
of  Racine  for  almost  fifty  years  and  a  member  of  the  firm  for  over  forty  years, 
and  Frank  K.  Bull  has  been  identified  with  the  business  since  he  was  nineteen, 
ever  since  he  left  school. 

Mr.  Bull  was  born  ]\Iay  7,  1857,  at  Spring  Prairie,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis., 


28  COMMEMORATIVE   BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

son  of  Stephen  and  Ellen  C.  (Kellogg)  Bull,  who  in  that  year  came  to  Racine 
to  make  a  permanent  home  here.  The  family  is  of  New  England  origin,  our 
subject  being  of  "Mayflower''  descent  in  one  line.  DeGrove  and  Amanda  M. 
(Crosby)  Bull,  who  were  the  paternal  grandparents  of  Frank  K.,  were 
the  first  of  this  family  that  came  to  Wisconsin,  and  they  passed  the  remainder 
of  their  lives  as  farming  people  in  Raymond  township,  Racine  county,  both 
living-  to  advanced  age. 

Stephen  Bull  was  born  March  14,  1822,  in  Scipio,  Cayuga  Co.,  N.  Y., 
and  though  now  past  eighty-four  is  still  vigorous  in  mind  and  body.  How- 
ever, he  has  retired  from  active  business  pursuits.  Like  many  of  the  most 
successful  men  of  his  day  he  has  been  self-made,  having  had  few  opportun- 
ities in  his  youth.  He  received  his  education  in  the  subscription  schools  of 
his  boyhood,  and  worked  on  a  farm  until  he  was  eighteen,  beginning  farm 
work  when  he  was  only  ten.  Then  he  clerked  in  a  grocery  store  in  New  York 
City  for  a  time,  and  in  1845  came  to  Wisconsin,  at  that  time  locating  in  Ra- 
cine for  a  year.  He  next  went  to  Spring  Prairie,  Walworth  county,  where 
lie  conducted  a  general  store  for  about  ten  years,  until  his  return  to  Racine, 
in  1857,  wdien  he  went  to  work  for  his  brother-in-law,  J.  I.  Case,  with  whom 
he  entered  into  partnership  in  1863.  They  continued  together  until  Mr.  Case 
died,  after  which  Mr.  Bull  became  president  of  the  firm,  then  known  as  the 
J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Co.  He  held  the  position  until  1897,  since 
which  year  his  son  Frank  K.  has  been  the  head  of  that  immense  concern. 
During  all  of  these  years  he  has  been  one  of  the  most  important  figures  in  the 
business  life  of  Wisconsin.  Since  1872  he  has  been  a  stockholder  in  the  Man- 
ufacturers' National  Bank  of  Racine,  of  which  Mr.  Case  was  the  first  pres- 
ident, Mr.  M.  B.  Erskine  the  second,  and  Stephen  Bull  the  third.  Mr.  Bull 
resigned  Jan.  i,  1904. 

On  June  7,  1849,  Mr.  Bull  was  married  to  Miss  Ellen  C.  Kellogg,  who 
died  March  27,  1880,  the  mother  of  seven  children,  namely:  A  son  who  died 
when  three  months  old;  Ida  R.,  wife  of  H.  W.  Conger,  of  San  Francisco, 
Cal.;  Frank  K. ;  Jeanette,  wife  of  Richard  T.  Robinson,  of  Racine;  Lillian 
M.,  married  to  Frederick  Robinson;  Herbert,  who  died  wdien  twenty-three 
years  old;  and  Bessie  M.,  wife  of  A.  Arthur  Guilbert. 

Frank  K.  Bull  was  brought  to  Racine  when  three  months  old,  and  he  has 
resided  here  ever  since.  He  attended  the  public  schools  and  later  for  six  years 
was  a  student  in  Racine  College,  and  then  he  started  to  work  in  the  factory. 
He  was  under  the  immediate  supervision  of  Mr.  R.  H.  Baker,  who  entered 
the  firm  at  the  same  time  as  his  father,  and  under  him  worked  through  the 
clerical  and  mechanical  departments,  learning  the  business  from  beginning  to 
end.  In  1881,  the  year  after  the  organization  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing 
Machine  Company,  Mr.  Bull  succeeded  Mr.  Baker  as  secretary-treasurer  of 
the  company,  Mr.  Baker  retiring  on  account  of  illness.  He  continued  as  such 
for  over  fifteen  years,  until  1897,  in  wdiich  year  his  father  retired  from  tlie 
presidency.  Frank  K.  Bull  has  since  held  that  position,  Mr.  Frederick  Rob- 
inson being  vice-president,  Mr.  Richard  T.  Robinson  secretarv,  and  Mr. 
Charles  L.  Mcintosh  treasurer. 

The  institution  gives  employment  to  from  T,6oo  to  2,000  employes,  and 
the  product  finds  ready  sale  all  over  the  LTnited  States,  Canada,  Europe  and 


COxMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  29 

South  America.  The  great  growth  of  the  business  in  the  last  two  years  is 
clue  largely  to  the  inuividual  efforts  and  foresight  of  Mr.  Erank  K.  Bull. 
Though  he  commenced  his  business  career  with  unusual  opportunities,  he 
nevertheless  has  been  obliged  to  sustain  a  difficult  role,  for  the  responsibilities 
placed  upon  him  have  required  great  ability,  and  no  amount  of  prestige  would 
have  compensated  for  lack  of  energy  or  executive  force.  His  predecessors  in 
his  present  position  were  men  of  remarkable  strength,  and  to  maintain  their 
standards  and  continue  to  progress  within  reason  requires  a  breadth  of  judg- 
ment and  a  measure  of  farsighteil  enterprise  which  few  possess.  Mr.  Bull  has 
interested  himself  in  other  important  concerns,  being  president  of  the  Belle 
City  Manufacturing  Company  (of  which  he  was  one  of  the  incorpor- 
ators), a  director  of  the  Mihvaukee  Harvesting  Company  and  a  director  of 
the  Manufacturers'  National  Bank  of  Racine.  Throughout  his  business 
career  his  affairs  have  been  conducted  with  the  strictest  honesty  and  fairness, 
and  to-day  there  is  none  who  enjoys  the  confidence  and  resi)ect  of  his  fellow 
citizens  to  a  greater  extent. 

Mr.  Bull  was  married  Sept.  16,  1880,  in  Milwaukee,  to  Miss  H.  Belle 
Jones,  a  native  of  that  city,  daughter  of  Louis  Emery  Jones  and  w'ife  (whose 
maiden  name  was  Bliss).  To  this  union  two  children  have  been  born, 
Stephen  and  Jeanette.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bull  are  members  of  the  Episcopal 
Church,  and  he  was  one  of  the  originators,  and  for  some  time  a  member,  of 
the  surpliced  choir  at  St.  Luke's.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and  a  member 
of  the  Union  League  Club  of  New  York,  but  he  is  not  a  politician,  though  he 
takes  an  intelligent  interest  in  political  questions  and  party  issues.  He  also 
belongs  to  the  Milwaukee  Club,  the  Chicago  Athletic  Association  and  the 
Racine  Club. 

Mr.  Bull's  fine  residence  is  located  at  No.  1121  Main  street,  and  he  has 
a  beautiful  winter  home  at  Camden,  S.  C,  where  he  owns  the  Camden 
Water,  Ice  &  Light  Company. 

ANDREW  J.  PIERCE,  president  and  treasurer  of  the  Pierce  Eneine 
Company,  of  Racine,  Wis.,  has  the  distinction  of  having  manufactured  one 
of  the  first  automobiles  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin.  He  was  born  in  Rochester, 
N.  Y.,  Jan.  11,  i8s9,  son  of  Andrew  T-  and  Abigail  Pierce,  natives  of  New 
York. 

Jeremiah  Pierce,  his  grandfather,  was  a  native  of  Vermont,  and  ran  a  line 
of  packet  boats  on  the  Erie  Canal.  During  the  war  of  1812  he  was  an  officer, 
and  in  1849  he  went  to  California,  and  was  never  again  heard  from.  The 
father  of  our  subject  was  a  baker  of  Canandaigua  and  later  of  Rochester,  N. 
Y.,  wfhere  he  died  in  1865,  aged  thirty-eight  years.  He  married  Abigail 
Koonradth,  who  still  survives.  The  Koonradth  familv  was  of  Holland- 
Dutch  descent,  and  was  founded  in  this  countrv  on  Manhattan  Island,  later 
settling  in  the  Afohawk  Valley.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mr.  Pierce 
was  a  native  of  New  York  and  was  a  bridge  builder  by  trade,  building  all  of 
the  important  bridges  on  the  Rome  and  Watertown  Railroad,  and  many  on 
the  New  York  Central.  He  died  at  an  advanced  age.  Three  children  were 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pierce :  George  Lester,  of  Rochester,  N.  Y. ;  Andrew 
J.,  of  Racine;  and  Alfred  of  Racine,  Wisconsin. 


30  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Andrew  J.  Pierce,  our  subject,  was  reared  in  Rochester,  X.  Y..  and 
there  attended  the  public  schools.  After  graduating  from  the  high  school 
he  began  learning  the  machinist's  trade,  which  he  followed  as  a  journeyman 
about  eighteen  years.  In  1887  he  came  to  Racine,  and  went  to  work  for  the 
Racine  Hardware  Company.  In  1893  he  started  in  business  on  his  own  ac- 
count in  the  manufacture  of  gas  and  gasoline  engines,  marine  motors,  includ- 
ing launches  and  launch  engines ;  that  same  year  he  also  commenced  manu- 
facturing automobiles  and  automobile  machinery  on  a  small  scale.  The  busi- 
ness was  originally  started  at  the  corner  of  Racine  and  Sixteenth  streets.,  he 
purchasing  his  present  location,  Twenty-Second  and  Racine  streets,  in  the  fall 
of  1898.  Here  he  erected  three  buildings,  and  now  has  ten  buildiygs  and 
departments,  in  which  an  average  of  130  men  are  employed.  Nineteen  years 
manufacturing  gas  and  gasoline  engines,  and  with  more  than  8000  Pierce 
motors,  aggregating  over  50,000  horsei30wer,  doing  business  in  all  parts  of 
the  world,  bespeak  attention  for  the  company's  method  of  building,  which 
includes  all  that  is  modern  and  up  to  the  very  latest  and  best  practice.  Their 
present  shop  capacity  averages  3000  motors  a  year.  They  manufacture  almost 
every  part  of  their  car  from  the  raw  material,  having  their  own  foundry, 
blacksmith  and  machine  shops,  wood  and  upholstery  departments,  buying 
only  such  standard  parts  as  wheels,  tires,  springs,  roller  bearings,  chains  and 
a  few  forgings.  Their  product  is  a  strictly  high-grade,  up-to-date  and  reliable 
car. 

^Ir.  Pierce  was  married  ]\Iay  5,  1887,  to  Miss  Katherine  ]\Iatthewson, 
daughter  of  Andrew  J.  and  Rosella  (Place)  Matthewson,  natives  of  Vermont. 
Mr.  Pierce  is  an  -Odd  Fellow,  having  joined  that  order  when  twentv-one 
years  old.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Royal  Arcanum.  Politicallv  he  is  inde- 
pendent. He  lives  at  Xo.  1742  College  avenue,  where  he  built  a  fine  home 
in  1893. 

REV.  HENRY  DOUGLAS  ROBINSON,  D.  D..  who  has  held  the 
position  of  warden  of  Racine  College.  Racine,  Wis.,  since  1900,  is  a  native  of 
Massachusetts.  He  is  the  son  of  Alexander  Douglas  Robinson  and  Clara 
(Boate)  Robinson,  natives  of  Ireland. 

Dr.  Robinson  was  nine  years  old  when  he  came  to  Racine.  He  attended 
the  public  and  preparatory  schools.  He  graduated  in  the  Classical  course  of 
Racine  College  in  1884,  and  was  then  for  one  year  assistant  rector  of  the 
grammar  school  of  that  institution.  The  following  year  he  accepted  the  posi- 
tion of  instructor  in  mathematics  in  St.  Matthew's  Military  Academv,  San 
Mateo,  Cal.,  where  he  remained  until  1889.  In  that  vear  he  became  rector  of 
the  grammar  school  of  Racine  College,  which  position  he  held  until  1900,  when 
he  was  made  warden.  He  has  held  that  office  ever  since.  The  school  now  has 
an  average  attendance  of  between  one  hundred  and  sixty  and  one  hundred  and 
seventy  pupils. 

Dr.  Robinson  was  married  on  July  13.  1889.  to  Miss  Florence  Bruce, 
daughter  of  Frederick  and  Anna  Mead  Bruce.  Dr.  and  Airs.  Robinson  are 
members  of  the  Episcopal  Church,  and  he  is  rector  of  St.  John's  Collegiate 
Chapel. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  31 

TAJvIES  GILBERT  CHANDLER,  senior  member  of  the  well-known 
firm  "of  Chandler  &  Park,  architects,  of  Racine,  Wis.,  was  born  in  the  town  of 
Success,  New  Hampshire,  Aug.  4,  1856,  son  of  Milton  Walker  and  Sarah 
(Grover)  Chandler. 

Mr.  Chandler's  paternal  grandfather  was  of  English  descent  and  a  native 
of  New  Hampshire.  He  carried  on  farming  and  lumbering,  and  died  in  New 
Hampshire  aged  sixty-two  years.  His  wife,  Betsy  (Leary)  Chandler,  died 
aged  ninety-six  years.  Milton  Walker  Chandler,  our  subject's  father,  was 
born  June  26.  1825,  followed  his  father's  vocation  of  lumbering  in  early  man- 
hood, and  in  1861  located  in  Goodhue  county,  Minn.,  following  farming  until 
1888.  In  that  year  he  moved  to  Appleton,  Minn.,  where  he  lived  retired 
until  his  death.  Sept.  11.  1896,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years;  his  wife  was 
born  Nov.  10,  1822,  in  Bethel,  Maine,  and  died  in  Appleton,  IMinn.,  Dec.  25. 
1891.  They  were  members  of  the  Congregational  Church.  They  were  mar- 
ried Jan.  18,  1853,  and  had  four  children :  Harry,  of  Appleton,  Minn. ;  James 
G.,  of  Racine;  Frank  R.,  of  Dawson  City,  Alaska;  and  Leon  A.,  of  Almont, 
Michigan. 

James  G.  Chandler  was  five  years  okl  when  he  came  to  Minnesota  with 
his  parents,  and  there  grew  to  manhood  on  a  farm.  He  attended  the  district 
schools  and  high  school  and  learned  the  carpenter's  trade,  to  which  he  served 
a  three  years'  apprenticeship;  and  then  served  a  three  years'  apprenticeship 
to  architecture  in  Madison,  Wis.  He  located  in  Racine  in  1879  and  that  city 
has  been  his  home  ever  since.  Here  he  was  married  Aug.  19.  1885,  to  Miss 
Frances  Evans,  daughter  of  David  R.  Evans,  and  to  this  union  were  Ixirn 
four  children :  Edith.  Lucille.  Milton  and  David.  Mrs.  Chandler  is  a  member 
of  the  Presbyterian  Church;  she  was  born  in  Cambria,  Wis.,  Jan.  6,  i860,  of 
Welsh  parentage.  Her  father  was  born  in  Denbighshire.  Wales,  Dec.  23, 
1827;  came  to  America  in  1846,  and  located  in  Columbia  county.  Wis.;  he 
moved  to  Racine  in  1848.  By  trade  he  was  a  carpenter,  but  he  follpwed  a 
mercantile  business.  He  w-ent  to  California  in  1849,  returned  from  there,  and 
was  married  in  Racine  to  Miss  Frances  Howell  Feb.  5,  1859.  Mrs.  Evans 
was  born  in  Montgomeryshire,  Wales,  Feb.  2,  1836,  and  came  to  America  in 
1846,  living  in  Ohio  up  to  the  time  of  her  marriage.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Evans  had 
four  children:  Frances  (wife  of  James  G.  Chandler),  Emma  J.,  Howell 
Edwin,  and  Newton  David.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Evans  and  all  their  children  are 
alive  at  this  writing. 

Mr.  Chandler  has  designed  most  of  the  principal  buildings  in  Racine 
since  his  location  there,  and  at  this  writing  is  making  a  specialty  of  school 
buildings,  having  designed  many  throughout  this  and  neighboring  States. 
Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  His  residence,  at  No.  803  Lake  avenue,  he 
erected  in  1889.     He  also  owns  other  real  estate. 

BYRON  BOOTH  NORTHROP.  The  history  of  any  community,  like 
the  history  of  a  country,  is  best  shown  in  the  record  of  the  lives  of  its  people. 
Among  the  men  of  character  comprising  the  better  element  in  the  city  of 
Racine  there  are  none  perhaps  whose  daily  life  and  conversation  are  more 
worthy  of  mention  than  the  respected  gentleman  whose  name  heads  this  brief 


32  CO^niE^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

biographical  sketch.  He  may  well  be  called  a  pioneer  of  Racine  county,  hav- 
ing tirst  come  here  in  1842,  in  the  days  when  Vv'isconsin  was  still  a  Territory 
and  before  a  harbor  was  secured.  All  but  a  few  years  of  his  business  life 
have  been  spent  in  Racine,  where  for  over  forty-six  years  he  has  been  promi- 
nent in  financial  affairs,  especially  as  cashier  of  the  Manufacturers"  National 
Bank,  which  has  grown  into  the  largest  and  strongest  financial  institution 
in  Racine. 

Byron  Booth  Northrop  was  born  Oct.  2,  1830,  in  Gahvay,  Saratoga  Co., 
N.  Y.,  the  youngest  son  of  Dr.  Booth  Northrop.  The  father  was  a  skillful 
and  unusrvally  popular  physician  of  the  Allopathic  school,  and  so  devoted  to 
his  professional  duties  that  his  death,  which  occurred  in  Aledina,  N.  Y.,  at  the 
comparatively  early  age  of  forty-nine,  was  the  result  of  overwork.  Byron 
Booth  Northrop  was  quite  young  when  his  parents  moved  to  Canandaigua, 
Ontario  Co.,  N.  Y.,  and  thence  to  Medina,  and  he  was  only  six  years  old 
when  his  father  died.  He  received  an  excellent  foundation  for  his  literary 
education  at  Yates  Academy,  in  Orleans  county.  In  1842,  in  his  twelfth  year, 
he  came  to  Wisconsin  to  live  for  a  time  with  his  sister,  Mrs.  Hiland  S.  Hul- 
burd,  at  Rochester,  Racine  county,  and  for  a  year  or  so  attended  school  in 
that  village.  After  that  for  several  years  he  made  his  home  with  his  eldest 
brother.  Rev.  Henry  H.  Northrop,  at  Homer,  Mich.,  during-  which  time  he 
was  a  student  at  the  Wescott  Academy,  in  Homer,  Calhoun  Co..  Mich. 
Returning  to  Medina,  N.  Y.,  he  prepared  for  college  under  the  instruction  of 
Daniel  W.  Fish,  A.  M.,  a  scholar  and  educator  of  national  renown,  particu- 
larly as  the  author  of  Fish's  Arithmetics  and  the  reviser  of  Robinson's  Series 
of  Mathematics.  In  1847  ^^^-  Northrop  matriculated  at  the  Universitv  of 
Michigan,  in  Ann  Arbor,  taking  the  classical  course,  and  graduated  with  the 
degree  of  A.  B.  in  1855,  when  Henry  P.  Tappen.  LL.  D.,  was  president.  In 
1877,  under  the  presidency  of  James  B.  Angell,  LL.  D.,  the  degree  of  A.  M. 
was  conferred  upon  him.  Following  his  graduation  he  was  engaged  for  a 
few  years  in  work  that  gave  him  the  opportunity  to  use  the  knowledge  he 
had  been  acquiring  while  gaining  needed  business  experience,  being  employed 
by  the  publishing  house  of  A.  S.  Barnes  &  Co.,  of  New  York,  as  general  agent 
in  Michigan  and  Wisconsin  to  introduce  their  publications  properly  to  educa- 
tors and  professional  men  in  those  States. 

In  1859  he  came  to  Racine,  where  he  has  ever  since  remained.  In  that 
year  he  formed  a  partnership  with  his  second  brother,  George  C.  Northrop, 
establishing  the  bank  of  B.  B.  Northrop  &  Co.  This  institution  continued 
in  successful  business  until  March,  1871.  Upon  the  organization  of  the 
Manufacturers  National  Bank  it  was  merged  in  the  new  institution  of  which 
Mr.  Northrop  has  ever  since  been  cashier.  He  has  also  been  for  thirtv-five 
years  one  of  the  directors  of  the  bank,  and  its  sound  financial  policy  and  high 
standing  are  due  in  no  small  degree  to  liis  faithful  care  and  conservative 
though  progressive  methods.  His  energies  in  a  business  wav  have  been 
concentrated  chiefly  upon  the  affairs  of  the  bank. 

Though  without  political  ambition  Mr.  Northrop  has  occupied  a  number 
of  important  positions  in  the  public  service.  He  is  strictly  a  business  man, 
and  perhaps  for  that  very  reason  has  taken  a  patriotic  interest  in  the  proper 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  33 

administration  of  civic  affairs.  Thus  he  has  taken  an  active  part  in  the  direc- 
tion of  pubHc  educational  matters.  ,\t  the  charter  election  of  1878  he  was 
elected  school  commissioner  from  the  Second  ward,  and  upon  the  organization 
of  the  school  board  was  elected  president  of  the  board  of  education.  In  1887 
he  again  became  school  commissioner  from  the  Second  ward  by  appointment 
of  Mayor  D.  A.  Olin,  and  was  made  chairman  of  the  finance  committee  of  the 
school  board  by  President  J.  B.  Quarles.  In  1888  he  was  elected  to  the 
presidency  of  the  school  board,  and  subsequently  re-elected,  serving  four 
years  in  that  honorable  and  important  position. 

In  the  spring  of  1877  Mr.  Northrop  was  the  Republican  candidate  for 
mayor  of  Racine,  but  failed  of  an  election.  In  the  fall  of  the  same  year 
he  was  sent  as  a  delegate  to  the  State  convention  of  his  party  held  at  Madison 
and  was  given  a  place  on  the  committee  on  resolutions.  In  1885  he  was  elected 
an  alderman  from  the  Second  ward,  and  during  his  two  years'  connection 
with  the  city  council  was  honored  with  the  chairmanship  of  the  Finance  com- 
mittee (Hon.  Joseph  Miller,  the  mayor,  making  the  appointments)  and  also 
acted  on  the  three  most  important  special  committees  of  the  council — those 
on  Revision  of  the  City  Charter,  Lake  Shore  Protection  and  Water  Works. 

Mr.  Northrop  has  witnessed  marvelous  changes  in  the  city  since  his  first 
arrival  here,  in  1842.  At  that  time  the  harbor  was  not  deep  enough  to  permit 
the  entrance  of  large  steamers,  and  he  was  landed  from  a  small  lighter. 
When  he  came  again,  in  1859,  to  embark  upon  what  proved  to  be  a  highly, 
successful  business  career,  the  city  had  begun  to  expand,  but  all  the  remarka- 
ble development  which  has  placed  this  port  among  the  most  important  on  the 
Great  Lakes  has  taken  place  during  his  residence  here.  He  has  in  large  meas- 
ure aided  in  the  good  work,  and  is  considered  one  of  the  most  substantial  of 
the  old-established  business  men. 

On  Jan.  20,  1863,  Mr.  Northrop  was  married  to  Miss  Alice  Theresa 
Porter,  youngest  daughter  of  Allen  Porter  (now  deceased),  of  Hartford, 
Conn.  Three  children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  Allen  Booth  Northrop, 
May  Northrop  (now  Mrs.  Philip  M.  Wackerhagen)  and  George  Porter 
Northrop.  The  sons  are  conducting  the  W.  A.  Porter  Furniture  Company, 
a  business  founded  by  their  uncle,  William  Allen  Porter  (now  deceased). 

Mr.  Northrop  takes  much  interest  in  the  Masonic  fraternity,  having  been 
for  many  years  treasurer  of  Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  in  1905 
was  elected  treasurer  of  Racine  Commandery,  No.  7,  Knights  Templar. 

He  also  has  the  honor  of  being  a  member  of  the  Eastern  Star  ^.nd  the 
oldest  in  membership  of  Orient  Chapter,  No.  12,  Royal  Arch'  Masons, 
although  there  are  a  few  older  in  years.  He  has  long  been  an  earnest  worker 
in  the  First  Presbyterian  Church,  having  joined  in  1862,  upon  confession  of 
faith.  He  is  one  of  the  nine  elders  of  that  church,  and  served  several  vears  as 
Sunday-school  superintendent. 

Mr.  Northrop  has  lived  for  the  past  thirty-three  years  in  the  plain  sub- 
stantial brick  house  at  what  is  known  as  No.  845  Main  street,  southwest  cor- 
ner of  Ninth  and  Main.  It  has  a  large  lawn  in  front  and  a  large  garden  in 
the  rear,  the  lot  being  80x240  feet,  and  the  neighbors  all  agree  that  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Northrop  are  never  so  happy  as  when  their  grandchildren,  Alice  Nor- 


34         co:\i:\ie:\iorative  biographical  record. 

throp  Wackerhagen  and  Edward  Northrop  Wackerhagen,  are  having  a  hoH- 
day  frohc  or  a  game  of  ball  on  this  lawn. 

It  seems  not  inappropriate  to  add  that  it  is  a  rare  circumstance  for  the 
same  man  to  occupy  the  position  of  cashier  in  the  same  bank  for  the  long 
period  of  thirty-five  years.  This  gives  the  strongest  assurance  possible  that 
such  a  man  has  been  faithful  in  the  discharge  of  his  duties,  and  has  secured 
the  entire  confidence  of  his  associates  in  business.  The  Manufacturers' 
National  Bank  of  Racine,  of  which  Mr.  Northrop  is  cashier,  has  grown  from 
a  beginning  with  $100,000  in  1871  until  now  its  resources  exceed  $2,500,000 
in  1906,  and  a  dividend  of  10  per  cent,  per  annum  has  been  paid  each  year  to 
the  shareholders  upon  the  capital  stock  of  the  bank,  which  is  now  a  quarter 
of  a  million  dollars. 

FREDERICK  ROBINSON.  In  every  community,  great  or  small,  there 
are  found  men  who  by  reason  of  personal  attributes,  enterprising  spirit  and 
natural  aliility.  ha\-e  arisen  above  their  fellows  in  business,  social  and  public 
life.  Racine,  Wis.,  has  numerous  examples,  and  one  of  these  is  Frederick 
Robinson,  vice-president  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company.  Mr. 
Robinson  was  born  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  Nov.  15,  1862,  son  of  Frederick  and 
Ann  Maria  (Bertholf)  Robinson. 

Mr.  Robinson  was  reared  in  his  native  town,  where  he  attended  the 
public  schools,  and  later  Lake  Forest  Academy.  His  business,  life  started  in 
the  office  of  the  National  Vehicle  Company,  at  Racine,  as  office  man,  and  in 
1887  he  went  to  Denver,  where  he  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  architectural 
iron  work  for  several  years.  In  1896  he  returned  to  Racine  and  became  pur- 
chasing agent  for  the  J-  I-  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company.  In  1897  he 
■was  one  of  the  purchasers  of  the  entire  stock  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing 
Machine  Company.  Mr.  Frank  Bull  was  made  the  president ;  Mr.  Frederick 
Robinson,  vice-president:  ]\Ir.  Richard  T.  Robinson,  secretary,  and  Mr. 
Charles  Mcintosh,  treasurer.  The  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Companv  is 
one  of  the  largest  threshing  machine  manufacturing  companies  in  the  world, 
and  the  goods  find  sale  throughout  the  United  States,  Canada,  Europe  and 
South  America. 

Mr.  Robinson  was  married  in  1887  to  Miss  Lillian  j\l.  Bull,  daughter  of 
Stephen  and  Ellen  C.  (Kellogg)  Bull,  and  to  this  union  have  been  born  two 
children :  Stephen  Bull  and  Bessie.  Mr.  Robinson  is  a  man  extremely  do- 
mestic in  his  tastes,  devoting  much  of  his  time  to  his  family  and  to  his  home. 
He  is  a  liberal  patron  of  art,  having  probably  the  finest  collection  of  oi]  paint- 
ings in  this  part  of  the  State,  having  selected  a  number  of  them  with  .great 
care  in  his  travels  abroad.  His  home  at  No.  1012  Main  Street  also  contains 
many  interesting  curios  and  valuable  bits  of  art  collected  in  his  travels.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Robinson  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  ]\Ir.  Robinson  is 
a  trustee  of  Racine  College.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  but  is  too  much 
taken  up  with  Inisiness  to  get  into  politics. 

EDWARD  C.  THIERS,  secretary  and  treasurer  of  N.  R.  Allen's  Sons 
Co.,  which  was  incorporated  Aug.   i,   1905,  from  N.  R.  Allen's  Sons,  with 


COMME^NIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  35 

whuni  he  has  been  associated  since  1883,  affords  another  illustration  of  tlie 
fact  that  many  of  Kenosha's  most  useful  citizens  are  found  amon.e;-  her  native 
sons.  The  advantages  of  the  place  as  a  convenient  manufacturing  and  ship- 
ping center  have  attracted  outside  capital  to  a  degree  which  has  proved  of  im- 
mense benefit  to  the  city,  but  the  men  who  have  brought  their  means  here  to 
multiply  have  not  had  to  bring  talent  too.  They  have  found  efificient  workers 
awaiting  their  opportunity  and  ready  to  grasp  it  intelligently. 

The  Thiers  family  is  of  French  Huguenot  origin,  and  members  thereof 
were  settled  in  New  York  State  in  an  early  day.  Mr.  Thiers"  grandfather  was 
born  there  and  passed  his  life  in  farming.  He  and  his  wife  both  died  in  mid- 
dle life.  They  had  a  small  family,  of  whom  Catherine,  Mrs.  Van  Arsdale, 
died  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  and  was  buried  there. 

David  Thiers,  father  of  Edward  C,  was  a  native  of  New  York  State, 
and  was  reared  there  on  a  farm  in  Orange  county.  About  1850,  when  still  a 
young  man,  he  came  West,  first  locating  in  Kenosha  for  a  short  time.  Then 
he  removed  to  McHenry  county,  111.,  but  a  few  years  later  returned  to  Ken- 
osha, where  he  engaged  as  clerk  for  a  few  years,  until  he  started  in  business 
for  himself  as  a  flour  and  feed  merchant,  on  the  north  side  of  Market  Square. 
Some  years  afterward  he  removed  to  Main  street,  doing  business  in  the  John 
Riley  building  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1875,  when  he  was  aged 
fifty-five  years.  Mr.  Thiers  was  devoted  for  the  most  part  to  liis  business 
affairs,  but  he  took  interest  and  pride  in  the  public  welfare  of  his  adopted  city, 
and  he  served  as  school  commissioner  in  the  early  days.  His  wife,  Louisa  K. 
(Capron)  Thiers,  also  a  native  of  New  York  State,  survives  him,  making  her 
home  with  her  daughter  in  Milwaukee,  and  though  past  ninety  enjoys  good 
health  and  is  quite  active  for  one  of  her  years.  Five  children  were  born  to 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Thiers,  three  sons  and  two  daughters,  four  of  whom  survive : 
Herbert  M.,  of  Chicago;  Emma  W.,  wife  of  Charles  Quarles,  of  Milwaukee; 
Edward  C,  of  Kenosha;  and  Louis  M.,  of  Kenosha.  Both  parents  united 
with  the  Congregational  Church. 

The  Caprons,  Mr.  Thiers'  maternal  ancestors,  were  of  English  origin, 
and  the  family  in  America  is  descended  from  Banfield  Capron,  who  came  from 
England  in  the  seventeenth  century  and  located  in  one  of  the  New  England 
States.  Seth  Capron,  father  of  Mrs.  Louisa  K.  (Capron)  Thiers,  was  born 
in  Massachusetts,  and  was  a  soldier  in  the  Revolutionary  war,  enlisting  at 
Norton.  Mass.,  when  he  was  eighteen  years  old.  He  was  a  small  man,  and  at 
one  time  served  as  the  cockswain  of  Gen.  Washington's  barge.  After  the 
war  he  studied  medicine,  and  he  was  known  as  Dr.  Seth  Capron  up  to  the 
close  of  his  long  life.  He  lived  at  Whitesboro,  N.  Y.,  where  he  enjoyed  a 
large  practice  and  died  at  an  advanced  age.  Dr.  Capron  married  Eunice 
Mann,  who  was  born  in  1767.  and  their  family  consisted  of  four  sons  and  one 
daughter.  Mrs.  Capron  reached  the  age  of  about  eighty-seven  years,  after 
her  husband's  death  coming  to  Wisconsin  and  making  her  home  in  Kenosha, 
wliere  she  passed  away. 

Edward  C.  Thiers  was  born  in  Kenosha  April  17.  18^6.  and  received  his 
early  educational  training  in  its  public  and  high  schools,  later  havins:  the  ad- 
vantage of  three  years  of  study  at  the  Northwestern  Lmiversity,  at  Evanston, 


36  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

HI.  Returning  home  after  his  father's  death,  he  clerked  for  the  tirm  of  Slos- 
son  &  O'Brien  for  a  year  or  two,  and  then  commenced  the  study  of  law  with 
the  firm  of  J.  V.  &  (J.  Quarles.  with  whom  he  remained  seven  years.  Mean- 
time, in  1880,  he  was  admitted  to  the  Bar,  and  he  gave  his  attention  whoUy 
to  legal  practice  until  the  fall  of  1883,  when  he  took  his  present  position  with 
N.  R.  Allen's  Sons.  His  long  retention  in  their  service  is  the  best  testimonial 
of  his  worth. 

Mr.  Thiers  was  married,  May  16,  1885,  to  Miss  Mary  Nicoll,  whose  par- 
ents, John  and  Helen  (Nelson)  Nicoll,  were  born  in  Scotland.  This  union  has 
been  lalessed  with  one  daughter,  Helen,  who  is  at  present  a  junior  in  Vassar 
College.  Mrs.  Thiers  is  a  member  of  the  Congregational  Church,  which  Mr. 
Thiers  also  attends,  and  he  belongs  to  the  church  society.  Fraternally  he 
holds  membership  in  Kenosha  Lodge,  No.  47,  F.  &  A.  M.  The  question  of 
public  education  is  considered  by  him  one  of  the  most  vital  issues  which  con- 
front municipalities  in  these  modern  times,  and  he  shows  his  interest  in  his 
service  as  school  commissioner,  and  president  of  the  board  of  education ;  he 
is  also  secretary  of  the  board  of  directors  of  Gilbert  M.  Simmons  Lijjrary. 
In  politics  he  supports  the  Republican  party,  particularly  in  national  issues. 

GEORGE  YULE,  one  of  the  leading  business  men  of  Kenosha,  was 
born  Aug.  31,  1824,  in  Rathen,  near  Fraserburgh,  Aberdeenshire,  Scotland, 
son  of  Alexander  and  Margaret  (Leeds)  Yule. 

Alexander  Yule  will  be  remembered  by  many  of  the  old  residents  of 
Kenosha  county  as  one  of  the  early  settlers  in  Somers  township,  where  he 
was  a  large  landowner,  and  for  many  years  an  extensive  farmer.  Here 
he  established  a  family  whose  members  for  over  sixty  years  have  been  use- 
ful and  prominent  in  the  life  of  the  community,  diligent  in  attending  to 
their  own  affairs  and  active  in  the  promotion  and  support  of  worthy  public 
enterprises.  Several  members  of  the  Yule  family  are  now  prominent  in  com- 
mercial circles  in  Kenosha,  connected  with  the  Bain  Wagon  Company,  one 
of  the  important  industrial  concerns  of  the  city.  The  family  is  of  Scotch  line- 
age, and  Mr.  Yule's  ancestors  came  from  farming  stock  of  Scotland,  where 
his  parents  lived- and  died. 

Alexander  Yule  was  the  only  one  of  a  small  family  to  come  to  America. 
He  was  born  in  Scotland  about  1795  or  1796,  and  was  twice  marriejJ,  his 
first  wife  dying  in  Scotland  in  the  year  1835.  By  this  union  he  had  a 
family  of  eight  children,  namely :  William,  who  died  in  Somers  township, 
Kenosha  Co.,  Wis.,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six;  James,  who  died  at  the  age 
of  seventy-one,  in  Millburn,  III. ;  Alexander,  who  was  a  professor  in  Ireland, 
where  he  died  when  a  young  man ;  George,  of  Kenosha ;  Beatrice.  Mrs. 
George  Smith,  of  Evanston,  111. ;  John  T..  of  Kenosha,  and  Cutes  and  Marv, 
both  of  whom  died  in  infancy.  Mr.  Yule's  second  union,  also  contracted  in 
Scotland,  was  to  Miss  Jane  Watson,  and  to  this  marriage  were  also  born 
eight  children,  namely :  Mary,  now  the  widow  of  David  Heddle,  of  Somers 
township,  Kenosha  county;  Joseph,  of  California;  Henry,  of  Seattle.  Wash.; 
Anna,  of  Somers  township;  Thomas,  deceased;  Frank,  of  Somers  township; 
Robert,  of  Chicago,  and  Edward,  of  Sergeant  Bluff,  Iowa. 


y^L.-C^t/~y~<^  (      '  /  ^'X^t.,<U^ 


^ 


COMME^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  37 

About  1840  Mr.  Yule  brought  his  family  to  America,  coming  by  way  of 
Quebec,  and  settling  in  Kenosha  county,  Wis.,  near  Southport,  as  Kenosha 
was  then  known,  he  bought  257  acres  of  land  in  Somers  township,  which  he 
improved  and  occupied  for  a  number  of  years.  Here  he  reared  his  family 
and  when  the  children  were  grown  Mr.  Yule  sold  the  property  to  his  sons, 
George  and  William,  while  he  moved  to  a  small  farm  in  the  same  section, 
known  as  "Sunnyside,"  which  was  his  home  until  he  died,  in  1871,  aged  sev- 
enty-six. His  widow  lived  to  be  seventy-eight  years  old,  passing  away  in 
1896.    Mr.  Yule  was  a  Presbyterian  in  religious  faith. 

George  Yule,  son  of  Alexander  by  his  first  wife,  received  all  his  school- 
ing in  his  native  land,  being  sixteen  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  America 
with  his  father.  For  three  years  thereafter  he  worked  on  the  farm  with  his 
father,  when  nineteen  entering  the  employ  of  Henry  Mitchell,  a  wagonmaker 
of  Kenosha,  learning  the  trade  and  remaining  with  him  until  i8s2.  After 
the  factory  passed  in  that  year  into  the  hands  of  Edward  Bain.  Mr.  Yule 
became  superintendent,  and  occupied  that  responsible  position  for  thirty  years. 
In  1882.  when  the  company  was  incorporated,  Mr.  Yule  was  chosen  vice- 
president,  continuing  to  act  in  that  capacity  until  1900,  since  which  vear  he 
has  filled  the  office  of  president  of  the  corporation,  which  bears  the  title  of 
the  Bain  Wagon  Company.  \Vhen  Mr.  Yule  was  first  employed  in  the 
works  everything  was  done  in  the  place  by  hand,  and  his  first  job  was  sawing 
out  plow-beams.  At  that  time  not  more  than  ten  or  fifteen  new  wagons  a 
year  were  turned  out,  together  with  a  small  number  of  plows,  the  principal 
w'ork  being  repairing.  From  that  modest  beginning  the  business  has  grown 
to  large  proportions,  the  establishment  at  present  being  one  of  the  largest  of 
its  kind  in  this  section,  and  about  sixteen  thousand  wagons  are  manufactured 
annually,  employment  being  given  to  about  four  hundred  people.  The  market 
is  principally  in  the  West,  although  the  product  is  known  all  over  the  world. 

Personally  Mr.  Yule  deserves  all  the  prosperity  he  has  won.  His  policy 
has  always  been  that  of  hard  work,  and  the  results  in  his  case  justify  the 
means.  However,  he  has  been  fortunate  in  the  possession  of  good  health ;  and 
though  he  has  worked  one  stretch  of  twenty-five  years  without  a  dav's  vaca- 
tion he  is  unusually  active  for  a  man  past  eighty,  his  appearance  being  that  of 
a  man  at  least  fifteen  years  younger.  He  has  always  been  content  to  let  his 
work  speak  for  itself,  being  modest  and  unassuming  in  all  things. 

On  Jan.  i,  1848,  at  Kenosha,  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  George 
Yule  and  Miss  Catherine  Mitchell,  who  was  born  in  Fifeshire,  Scotland, 
daughter  of  William  Mitchell.  The  family  home  is  at  No.  ^12  Park  avenue. 
Six  children  were  born  of  this  union,  namely:  Maria,  who  died  in  childhood; 
Louise,  who  married  the  late  \\'i]liam  Hall;  Ada,  who  died  in  childhood; 
George  A.,  mentioned  below;  William  L.,  connected  with  the  Bain  Wagon 
Company,  wdio  married  Miss  Esther  Elliott,  and  has  one  son,  George  Gordon; 
and  Harvey,  who  died  young.  Mrs.  Catherine  Yule  is  a  member  of  the  Bap- 
tist Church,  but  her  husband  is  not  identified  with  any  religious  body.  Politi- 
cally Mr.  Yule  was  an  Abolitionist  before  the  war,  when  it  required  men  with 
courage  to  openly  advocate  such  principles,  and  he  was  one  of  six  men  in 
Kenosha  county  who  were  pelted  with  rotten  eggs  for  voting  that  ticket. 
Since  the  w-ar  he  has  been  a  Republican,  and  he  was  the  first  Republican  alder- 


38  COMMEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

man  in  Kemjsha  to  be  elected  ivum  the  First  ward.  However,  he  has  never 
sought  pubhc  position,  giving  his  services  wilhngly  to  the  advancement  of  the 
general  welfare  and  the  encouragement  of  public  utilities,  and  avoiding  the 
limitations  of  official  service.  No  man  in  Kenosha  realizes  more  keenly  that 
a  business  man  reaps  the  reward  of  his  activity  in  furthering  the  good  of  his 
community,  and  while  his  motives  are  not  selfish  he  has  displayed  his  good 
judgment  as  much  in  this  respect  as  in  the  direct  management  of  his  manu- 
facturing interests. 

Public-spirited  in  the  truest  sense  of  the  word,  Mr.  Yule  has  been  identi- 
fied with  the  growth  of  Kenosha  from  the  very  early  days,  and  has  helped 
financially  nearly  every  important  institution  in  the  city.  In  addition  to  his 
responsibilities  in  the  Bain  Wagon  Company  he  holds  the  position  of  vice-presi- 
dent of  the  First  National  Bank  and  also  of  the  North  Western  Loan  &  Trust' 
Company.  He  enjoys  a  commanding  position  in  both  social  and  business 
circles. 

George  A.  Yule,  son  of  George,  born  in  Kenosha  June  13,  1838,  is 
connected  with  the  Bain  Wagon  Company  in  the  capacity  of  superintendent 
and  is  also  president  of  the  Badger  Brass  Company — the  first  to  manufacture 
the  acetylene  bicycle  and  automobile  lamps.  George  A.  Yule  married  Miss 
Harriet  Head,  daughter  of  Orson  and  Mary  (Treadwell)  Head,  and  one  son 
has  been  born  to  their  union,  William  Head  Yule. 

JOHN  G.  MEACHEM,  M.  D.,  one  of  the  leading  physicians  of  Racine, 
Wis.,  resides  at  No.  745  College  avenue.  He  was  born  in  Genesee  countv,  N. 
Y.,  June  10,  1846,  son  of  Dr.  John  G.  and  Myraette  (Doolittle)  Meadiem, 
the  former  of  the  County  of  Somerset,  England,  and  the  latter  of  New  York 
State.    Our  subject  had  two  sisters,  both  of  whom  died  young. 

Rev.  Thomas  Meachem,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Dr.  Meachem,  was 
an  Episcopal  clergyman.  He  came  from  the  old  country  with  his  familv  of 
four  or  five  children,  and.  after  locating  in  New  York,  was  there  ordained  to 
the  ministry.  He  died  at  Wethersfield  Springs,  when  about  fifty-six  years  of 
age.  and  was  there  buried.  His  wife,  Elizabeth  Goldesbrough.  was  a  descend- 
ant of  a  very  fine  family  and  a  cousin  of  Admiral  Goldesbrough  of  the  British 
navy,  the  family  has  a  crest.  Mrs.  Meachem  survi\-ed  until  her  seventieth 
year.  They  had  seven  children,  one  of  whom  died  in  England ;  the  others 
came  to  .America  and  grew  to  maturity,  one  still  living.  William,  of  Racine. 

Reul)en  Doolittle,  Dr.  Meachem's  maternal  grandfather,  moved  from 
Washington  county,  N.  Y.,  and  took  up  land  in  the  Holland  Purchase,  settling 
at  a  point  which  was  afterward  known  as  Wethersfield  Springs.  He  came  with 
bis  two  brothers,  and  opened  up  a  blacksmith  shop,  clearing  their  land  mean- 
while. Thev  later  started  an  ashery  and  woolen  mill,  and  became  wealthv  for 
those  days.  Thither  they  brought  their  friends  and  started  a  village.  Reuben 
Doolittle  went  West  to  collect  bills  from  parties  who  owed  him  monev,  and 
while  on  a  trip  to  Illinois  contracted  malarial  fever,  from  which  he  died  in 
Waukegan.  There  being  no  burying  ground  there  at  that  time,  he  was  buried 
in  the  sand  on  the  beach,  but  his  body  was  removed  a  few  weeks  later  to  his 
home  in  Wethersfield  Springs,   where  he  was  buried.      His  wife  was  Sarah 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  39 

Rood,  of  Washington  county,  N.  Y.,  and  she  died  in  Racine  aged  eighty- 
seven  years.     They  had  six  children. 

Dr.  John  G.  Meachem,  father  of  our  subject,  was  a  physician  from  young- 
manhood.  Coming  to  America  with  his  parents  when  a  small  boy,  he  grew  to 
manhood  in  eastern  central  New  York,  and  studied  medicine  at  Geneva,  N. 
Y.,  and  at  Castleton,  \'t.  He  began  practice  in  Wethersfield  Springs, 
Wyoming  Co.,  N.  Y.,  and  th.en  removed  to  Linden,  Genesee  Co.,  N.  Y.,  and 
later  to  Warsaw,  Wyoming  county.  Coming  to  Wisconsin  in  the  fall  of  1862, 
he  settled  at  Racine,  where  he  practiced  until  his  death,  Feb.  i,  1896,  when  he 
was  aged  seventy-three  years,  lacking  a  few  days.  His  wife  still  survives,  and 
is  an  Episcopalian,  as  was  her  husband.  He  had  a  commission  in  the  New 
York  State  militia,  being  a  surgeon.  While  in  Racine,  during  the  Civil  war, 
he  was  surgeon  at  Camp  Utley,  and  later  became  mayor  of  the  city,  which 
position  he  held  for  three  consecutive  terms. 

Dr.  John  G.  Meachem  lived  in  New  Y'ork  State  until  sixteen  years  of  age, 
and  received  a  common  school  education  there.  He  attended  Warsaw 
Academy,  and  on  accompanying  his  parents  to  Wisconsin  attended  Rush 
Medical  College,  in  Chicago.  Graduating  therefrom  in  February,  1865,  he 
soon  afterward  took  special  courses  at  Bellevue  Hospital,  New  York  City, 
and  was  graduated  there  in  special  lines.  He  then  returned  to  Racine,  where 
he  has  practiced  his  profession  to  the  present  time. 

On  Dec.  20,  1870,  Dr.  Meachem  married  Miss  Eliza  Smith,  daughter  of 
Eldad  and  Harriet  (L'nderwood)  Smith,  and  two  children  have  been  born  to 
this  union,  John  G.  and  Elizabeth.  John  G.  is  a  physician,  being  a  graduate 
of  Racine  College  and  Rush  Medical  College,  Chicago,  and  of  the  University 
of  the  State  of  New  Yoi-k ;  he  has  his  headquarters  in  the  office  of  his  father. 
EHzabeth  died  at  the  age  of  six  and  one-half  years.  Dr.  John  G.  M_eachem, 
Sr.,  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  Church,  of  which  his  father 
was  warden  for  every  year  during  his  residence  here,  most  of  that  time  bein_g 
senior  warden.  The  Doctor  is  a  member  of  the  Wisconsin  State  Medical 
Society,  of  the  Academy  of  Sciences,  Arts  and  Letters  and  of  the  American 
Medical  Association.  Politically  he  is  independent.  He  has  his  home  and 
also  other  real  estate  interests  in  Racine. 

RICHARD  TAYLOR  ROBINSON,  who  has  been  prominently  identi- 
fied with  the  business  interests  of  Racine,  Wis.,  for  a  number  of  years,  first 
as  a  pharmacist,  and  now  as  secretary  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine 
Company,  was  liorn  Nov.  22.  1855,  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  son  of  Hon.  Frederick 
and  Ann  Maria  (Bertholf)  Robinson,  natives  of  Chyrch  Stretton,  Shrop- 
shire, England. 

He  was  reared  in  Kenosha,  where  he  attended  the  public  schools,  supple- 
menting this  with  a  literary  course  at  the  University  of  INIichigan  to  the  junior 
year,  then  taking  a  pharmaceutical  course  from  which  he  was  graduated  with 
the  class  of  1879.  In  September,  of  the  same  year,  he  located  in  Racine,  pur- 
chased a  stock  of  drugs,  and  carried  on  business  for  some  years,  adding  to  his 
stock  until  he  had  one  of  the  best  establishments  of  the  kind  in  the  country, 
and  also  laid  the  foundation  for  the  most  successful  drug  business  in  the  State, 
now  known  as  tlie  Kradwell  Drug  Company,  with  which  he  continued  until 


40  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

1895.  In  1895,  when  he  left  the  drug  business,  he  became  connected  with  the 
Commercial  Savings  Bank,  as  president.  In  1897.  in  company  with  Frank 
K.  Bull,  Frederick  Robinson  and  C.  L.  Mcintosh,  Mr.  Robinson  was  one  of 
the  purchasers  of  the  entire  stock  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  "Machine  Com- 
pany, of  which  company  he  has  since  been  the  secretary. 

On  Feb.  17,  1884,  in  Racine,  Mr.  Robinson  married  Jeanette  Bull, 
daughter  of  Stephen  and  Ellen  (Kellogg)  Bull,  and  to  this  union  two  children 
have  been  born:  Richard  T.,  Jr.,  and  Katharine.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Robinson  aje 
communicants  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  Politically  he  is  independent,  and 
has  never  interested  himself  largely  in  party  matters.  Mr.  Robinson  is  one  of 
the  prominent  business  men  of  Racine,  and  has  always  been  interested  in  the 
improvement  and  development  of  the  city.  His  steadfast  adherence  to  high 
principles  has  caused  him  to  be  esteemed  by  all  who  know  him. 

HON.  ADAM  APPLE,  who  died  at  North  Cape,  Norway  township,  on 
the  19th  of  April,  1905,  during  his  noteworthy  career  of  half  a  century  in 
Racine  countv  was  first  a  pioneer,  and  finally  an  opulent  farmer;  first  a  pub- 
lic official  of  the  township,  who  faithfully  and  ably  fulfilled  his  limited  duties, 
in  various  capacities  and  covering  long  periods  of  service,  and  finally  w-as  re- 
warded by  being  called  to  both  houses  of  the  State  Legislature,  in  which  for 
many  years  he  conscientiously  and  fully  met  all  the  requirements  of  the  more 
important  legislation  and  earned  an  enviable  name  as  one  of  the  leading  rep- 
resentatives of  the  great  agricultiu'al  interests  of  southeastern  Wisconsin. 

Mr.  Apple  was  born  in  Rhenish  Bavaria,  Germany,  Nov.  28,  1831,  son 
of  Adam  and  Barbara  (Beecher)  Apple.  His  parents  were  also  natives  of 
Germany,  and  their  four  other  sons  were  Jacob,  W^illiam.  Frederick  and  Louis, 
three  of  whom  died  in  the  Fatherland,  where  \A'ilIiam  is  still  living.  The  father 
was  born  in  Germany  in  1800,  served  in  the  regular  army,  and  for  many  years 
was  engaged  as  a  stone  and  brick  mason.  He  died  in  1862,  firm  in  the  faith  of 
the  Lutheran  Church,  of  which  both  he  and  his  wife  were  members. 

Adam  Apple,  who  after-ward  earned  such  a  fair  name  in  ^^'isconsin.  lived 
with  his  parents  in  Germany  lintil  he  was  seventeen  years  of  age,  acc|uiring  a 
common  school  education  in  his  native  locality.  Coming  to  America  he  settled 
in  Philadelphia,  becoming  an  apprentice  to  the  cabinetmaker's  trade.  At  the 
expiration  of  his  three  years"  term,  instead  of  applying  himself  to  that  vocation 
he  shipped  for  the  gold  fields  of  the  Pacific  coast,  reaching  his  destination  bv 
way  of  the  Isthmus  of  Panama.  Three  years  of  mining  in  southern  California 
fortunately  so  increased  his  possessions  that  he  returned  to  Philadelphia  with 
the  intention  of  investing  his  savings  in  the  East :  but  he  was  more  strongly 
drawn  to  the  great  West,  so  that  in  1855,  after  he  had  worked  at  his  trade  for 
a  time,  he  came  to  Wisconsin.  Locating  in  Norway  township,  he  purchased 
120  acres  of  land  in  Section  26.  which  he  first  improved  liefore  addins'  another 
forty  to  it.  Later  he  bought  180  acres  adjoining  the  first  farm  on  the  sou.th, 
which  he  also  lirought  to  a  high  state  of  cultivation  and  imnro\'ement.  Mr. 
Apple  resided  on  the  old  homestead  until  within  two  years  of  his  death,  when 
he  rented  his  farms  to  his  sons.  Charles  and  Harry,  he  and  his  wife  moving 
to  North  Cape,  where  he  passed  his  bst  da  vs. 

Mrs.  Adam  Apple  is  still  a  resident  of  North  Cajie.     Before  her  mar- 


xJlJUy^y^^  Zrlj' 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  41 

riage,  in  1856,  she  was  Dorothy  Eckel,  and  when  quite  youncr  was  brought 
by  her  parents  from  Germany  to  America.  By  her  vinion  with  Mr.  Apple  she 
became  the  mother  of  four  sons  and  four  daughters :  Ella,  wife  of  Charles 
Blakey,  of  Estherville,  Iowa ;  Adam,  Jr.,  who  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-eight 
years;  Josephine,  wife  of  D.  M.  Clump,  living  in  Monmouth,  Iowa;  Annie, 
unmarried,  a  teacher  of  Mitchellville,  Iowa;  Andrew  J.,  residing  in  Chicago; 
and  Charles  E.  and  Harry  and  Flora  (twins),  all  of  Norway  township.  As 
to  the  children  of  the  family  it  may  be  stated,  more  in  detail,  that  Mrs.  Blakey 
is  the  mother  of  five  children,  the  three  living  being  Leonard,  Addie  and  Doro- 
thy. Josephine  has  two  children,  Irene  and  Ruth.  Andrew  J.  married  Ollie 
Mae  Groshon,  who  was  born  in  Chicago,  daughter  of  Hugh  and  Charlotte 
(Hurley)  Groshon,  the  former  a  traveling  salesman  for  Carson,  Pirie,  Scott  & 
Co.,  for  fourteen  years  until  his  death  at  the  age  of  forty-eight,  the  latter  sur- 
viving and  living  with  her  daughter  (besides  Mrs.  Apple,  Mrs.  Groshon  has 
two  sons.  Dr.  A.  D.,  of  Kansas  City,  Mo. ;  and  Albert,  of  Chicago,  connected 
with  the  U.  S.  Rubber  Company).  Charles  E.  has  been  a  member  of  the  school 
board  of  Norway  township  for  the  past  four  terms  and  has  been  secretary  of 
the  Dover  &  Norway  Mutual  Fire  Insurance  Co.  for  eleven  years,  and  still 
holds  that  position ;  he  married  Josephine  Plucker,  and  they  have  one  son, 
Adam,  Jr.  (III).  Harry  married  Nellie  Smith,  a  native  of  Dover  township, 
and  they  have  one  son,  Harold  John.  Flora  is  single  and  lives  with  her  mother 
in  North  Cape,  occupying  the  residence  Mr.  Apple  built  shortly  before  his 
death. 

In  politics  Adam  Apple  was  a  life-long  Democrat,  and  it  is  a  remarkable 
testimony  to  his  sterling  honesty  and  sound  ability  that  he  should  have  made 
such  progress  in  a  public  career  while  residing  in  a  county  which  was  strongly 
Republican.  He  entered  upon  that  career  as  chairman  of  the  town  board  of 
supervisors,  retaining  the  position  for  eight  years.  His  abiding  interest  in  pop- 
ular education  was  shown  in  that  he  held  the  clerkship  of  the  school  board  for 
about  eighteen  years.  The  duties  of  these  positions  were  performed  with  such 
impartial  ability  that  he  was  decisively  elected  to  the  lower  house  of  the  Wis- 
consin State  Legislature  in  1882,  1883,  1885  and  1887.  His  record  there  was 
enthusiastically  endorsed  by  his  selection  as  a  candidate  for  the  State  Senate 
and  his  election,  in  1890,  by  which  he  overcame  a  normal  Republican  majority 
of  1.200.  Mr.  Apple  retained  the  State  senatorship  for  two  successive  terms, 
and  his  earnestness,  honesty,  impartially  and  broad  common  sense  as  to  the 
nature  of  his  duties  as  a  representative  of  his  entire  district — not  of  any  section, 
cr  clique — won  him  the  commendation  of  even  his  political  enemies ;  and  his 
conduct  in  public  life  was  but  a  reflex  of  his  private  character,  which  was  based 
upon  justice  and  broad  humanity.  He  was  a  prominent  member  of  the  I.  O.  O. 
F.  and  the  Masonic  fraternity,  to  which  latter  his  three  sons  also  belono-.  and 
his  funeral,  which  was  one  of  the  largest  ever  held  in  Racine  countv,  was  con- 
ducted by  the  Masons. 

Mrs.  Dorothy  Apple,  widow  of  Adam  Apple,  and  now  sixtv-nine  vears  of 
age.  was  born  in  Germany,  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Christina  (Damm)  Eckel. 
In  1844.  when  she  was  seven  years  old,  her  parents  sailed  for  the  United' 
States,  and  she  still  vividly  remembers  that  long  voyage  of  seven  weeks  be- 
fore they  approached  the  shores  of  New  York  harbor.     The  family  at  once 


42  CO^niE:\IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

located  in  Waukesha  cnunty,  Wis.,  where  the  father  and  mother  hoth  died  in 
old  age.  They  had  six  daughters  and  one  son,  the  following  four  still  sur- 
viving: Barbara,  wife  of  John  Pfluger,  of  Diamond  Blufif,  Minn.;  Margaret, 
now  Mrs.  George  W' agner,  of  Waukesha,  Wis. ;  Lucy,  who  married  John  Sour, 
of  Fort  Atkinson,  Wis. ;  and  Dorothy,  Mrs.  Adam  Apple. 

The  two  farms  of  340  acres  which  ex-Senator  Apple  owned  at  the  time 
of  his  death  are  now  in  the  possession  of  Charles  and  Harry,  who,  as  stated, 
had  rented  them  about  two  years  before  their  father's  decease.  Thev  are  both 
extensive  stock  raisers,  Charles  E.  being  especially  a  breeder  of  Shorthorn 
Durham  cattle.  They  are  men  of  industry  and  perseverance,  thoroughly  versed 
in  their  line  of  l)usiness.  possessed  of  marked  business  ability,  and  are  destined 
to  broaden  the  family  estate  and  perpetuate  the  honorable  name  of  their  father. 

William  Plucker,  of  Waterford,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Josephine  Apple,  the 
wife  of  Charles  E.  Apple,  married  Minnie  Alby.  The  paternal  grandfather 
was  an  early  settler  of  Racine  cnunty.  where  he  died  many  years  ago:  his 
widow  married  twice  afterward,  her  third  husband  being  still  alive,  but  she 
is  deceased.  The  maternal  grandparents,  John  and  Minnie  Alby,  are  both 
deceased. 

John  H.  and  Elizabeth  (Lewis)  Smith,  parents  of  Mrs.  Nellie  Apple, 
wife  of  Harry  Apple,  were  born  in  Dover  township  and  England,  respectivelv, 
the  mother  being  brought  when  an  infant-  to  America,  by  her  parents.  Their 
family  consisted  of  one  son  and  four  daughters:  Mary,  wife- of  George 
WHierry,  of  Racine:  Nellie,  Mrs.  Apple:  Lulu,  unmarried,  of  Dover  township: 
and  Alice  and  Boyd,  who  are  living  at  home.  The  paternal  grandfather.  W'il- 
liam  Smith,  was  a  native  of  England,  and  a  very  early  settler  of  Dover  town- 
ship, dying  there  when,  more  than  seventy  years  of  age.  His  wife,  Marv,  was 
about  sixty  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  her  death,  and  the  mother  of  eight 
daughters  and  three  sons.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Harry  Apple 
was  William  Lewis,  a  native  of  England,  and  a  pioneer  of  Dover  township. 
He  died  well  advanced  in  years,  and  his  wife  (Mary  Millard)  had  passed  the 
age  of  eighty  at  the  time  of  her  death.  They  were  the  parents  of  one  daughter 
and  four  sons,  William,  Elisha,  Philip,  Elizabeth  and  George. 

LINUS  H.  PARK,  of  the  Avell-known  firm  of  Chandler  &  Park,  archi- 
tects, Racine,  Wis.,  is  a  native  of  Illinois,  born  at  Tonica,  June  2,  1862,  son  of 
John  and  Martha  (Ide)  Park. 

The  great-grandfather,  Robert  Park,  of  Ballewater,  Ireland,  was  of 
Scotch  or  English  descent  and  was  a  teacher  of  mathematics.  He  came  to 
Philadelphia  in  1786.  His  wife,  Jane  Bailey  Park,  lived  to  be  108  vears  of 
age.  To  these  two  were  born  four  children,  the  second  of  whom  was  John 
Park,  the  grandfather  of  our  subject.  He  followed  the  business  of  tanning 
and  the  currier's  trade  in  connection  with  farming  in  Pennsylvania.  His  wife 
was  Mary  Lang,  the  daughter  of  James  Lang,  a  Presbyterian  minister  nf 
Scotch  descent,  and  a  relative  of  John  C.  Calhoun,  of  South  Carolina.  Her 
mother's  maiden  name  was  Helm.  To  them  were  born  nine  children,  the 
eighth  beins:  John  Park,  father  of  the  above  mentioned  Linus  Helm  Park. 

John  Park  was  born  in  1823  at  Marion  Center,  Pa.,  and  wns  renred  tn 
the  life  of  a  farmer,  but  afterward  learned  the  carpenter's  trade,  which  he  fnl- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  43 

lowed  in  conjunction  with  farming.  He  located  in  Illinois  in  1858,  settling" 
in  Tonica,  where  he  remained  until  1883,  in  that  year  going  to  Wheaton, 
111.,  where  he  lived  up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  while  he  was 
visiting  his  son,  Linus  H.,  in  Racine,  in  1903,  when  he  was  aged  seventy-nine 
years.  His  wife  Martha  (Ide),  a  native  of  New  York  State,  had  passed  away 
ten  years  previously,  in  her  sixty-eighth  year.  Her  parents,  Ebenezer  and 
Sarah  (Sherman)  Ide,  lived  to  an  advanced  age,  and  had  a  large  family.  Of  the 
children  of  John  and  Martha  Park,  Rufus  Lang  and  Linus  Helm  (twins)  are 
the  only  ones  living,  the  former  making  his  home  at  Muskegon,  Michigan. 

Linus  H.  Park  was  reared  in  the  vicinity  of  Tonica,  111.,  and  remained 
on  the  farm  until  twenty  years  of  age.  He  attended  the  public  schools  and  the 
high  school,  and  graduated  in  the  classical  course  at  Wheaton  College  in  1889, 
then  taking  up  architecture,  which  he  has  pursued  ever  since.  He  went  to" 
Chicago,  later  to  Kentucky  and  Tennessee,  and  in  1892  came  to  Racine,  work- 
ing with  Mr.  Chandler  for  two  or  three  years.  He  became  associated  with 
him  as  a  partner  in  1896,  this  connection  still  continuing.  They  have  erected 
many  of  the  public  buildings  of  Racine  and  surrounding  country,  among  them 
many  public  school  buildings  in  Wisconsin  and  other  States. 

Mr.  Park  was  married  Aug.  19,  1895,  to  Miss  Maud  Whipple,  daughter 
of  Prof.  Elliot  Whipple  and  Samantha  (Johnson)  Whipple,  of  Wheaton,  III., 
and  to  this  union  have  been  born  two  children,  Martha  Whipple  and  Elliot 
Whipple.  The  family  residence,  located  at  No.  1239  Wisconsin  street,  Racine, 
was  built  by  Mr.  Park  in  1899.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Park  are  members  of  the  First 
Presbyterian  Church  of  Racine,  in  which  he  is  an  elder.  Politically  he  is  inde- 
pendent, usually  voting  the  Prohibition  ticket. 

GEORGE  N.  FRATT,  a  prominent  and  esteemed  citizen  of  Racine, 
Wis.,  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  that  city,  was  born  in  Racine, 
Jan.  3,  1855,  son  of  Hon.  Nicholas  Diller  and  Elsie  (Duffies)  Fratt,  the 
former  of  New  York,  and  the  latter  of  Scotland.  Jonathan  Fratt,  grandfather 
of  George  N.,  migrated  from  New  York,  and  spent  the  rest  of  his  life  in  Ra- 
cine, dying  there  some  time  in  the  sixties,  well  advanced  in  years. 

Nicholas  Diller  Fratt  came  to  Racine  about  1842,  embarking  in  the  mar- 
ket business,  in  which  he  continued  for  some  time.  In  1855  he  removed  to  a 
farm  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township  whereon  he  remained  until  1893,  <it  the  end  of 
which  time  he  returned  to  Racine.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  both  the 
Racine  County  Bank  and  the  First  National  Bank,  the  former  being  merged 
into  the  First  National  Bank  in  1864.  Mr.  Fratt  was  for  some  time  prior  its 
president,  an  office  he  has  held  continuously  since  it  became  the  First  National. 
He  has  a  wide  knowledge  ,of  banking  and  finance,  and  his  foresip"ht  and  wis- 
dom have  been  of  inestimable  value  in  placing  the  institution  on  sound  finan- 
cial footing,  capable  of  withstanding  any  grave  and  startling  fluctuations  in 
the  money  market.  For  the  last  ten  years  Mr.  Fratt  has  lived  retired.  He 
married  Elsie  Duffies,  who  died  in  1890,  aged  about  sixty-three  years,  in  the 
faith  of  the  Universaiist  Church,  to  which  Mr.  Fratt  also  belonsrs.  He  was  a 
State  senator  in  the  early  sixties,  and  has  held  various  minor  offices.  He  was 
president  of  the  State  Agricultural  Society  for  many  years,  and  of  the  Racine 


44  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

County  Agricultural  Society,  antl  he  was  also  a  member  of  the  board  of  re- 
gents of  the  State  University. 

John  Duffies,  Mrs.  Fratt's  father,  was  a  native  of  Scotland,  and  on  com- 
ing to  America  first  settled  in  New  York  State,  locating  on  a  farm  in  the  town 
of  Dover,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  about  1841.  There  he  remained  until  a  short  time 
prior  to  his  death,  when  he  moved  into  the  village  of  Union  Grove,  where  he 
died  at  an  advanced  age.  He  held  various  offices  in  the  county,  and  at  one 
time  was  county  treasurer.  To  Nicholas  Diller  and  Elsie  Fratt  were  born  the 
following  children :  Mary,  widow  of  A.  J.  Webster,  of  Redlands.  Cal. ;  Alfred, 
who  died  aged  four  years ;  Frank,  who  died  aged  one  year ;  Gertrude,  who  be- 
came the  wife  of  W.  S.  Mellen,  and  died  in  1888,  leaving  two  children,  a 
daughter  and  a  son ;  George  N. ;  Clara,  wife  of  W.  T.  Griffith,  of  Racine ; 
Frederick  W..  a  civil  engineer  of  Oklahoma  City,  O.  T. :  and  Charles  D..  of 
Everett,  Washington. 

George  N.  Fratt  was  reared  in  Racine,  and  attended  the  public  and  high 
schools,  supplementing  the  education  there  received  with  one  year's  studv  at 
business  college.  On  Feb.  i,  1877,  he  went  into  the  First  National  Bank  as 
messenger  boy  and  assistant  bookkeeper,  and  since  June,  1892.  he  has  been 
cashier  of  the  bank. 

On  April  20.  1881,  Mr.  Fratt  was  married  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Daggett, 
daughter  of  Thomas  and  Mary  (Raymond)  Daggett,  and  to  this  union  have 
been  born  three  daughters :  Elsie,  Elizabeth  and  Gertrude.  Mr.  Fratt  and 
his  wife  are  members  of  the  Universalist  Church.  He  belongs  to  the  Knights 
of  Pythias,  the  Modern  Woodmen,  Royal  Arcanum,  Royal  League  and  Equit- 
able Fraternal  LTnion.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  He  was  president  of 
the  Racine  Business  Men's  Association ;  president  of  the  Southeastern  Wis- 
consin Good  Roads  Association,  and  vice-president  for  Wisconsin  of  the  Na- 
tional Good  Roads  Association;  from  1897  to  1899  he  was  head  banker  of  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America;  in  1904  and  1905  was  president  of  the  Wis- 
consin Bankers'  Association ;  and  has  been  vice-president  of  the  American 
Bankers'  Association  for  Wisconsin.  Believing  that  the  prosperity  and  pro- 
gress of  the  community  work  for  the  good  of  every  individual  there,  he  has 
always  taken  an  active  part  in  public  affairs,  and  is  found  among  the  leaders 
in  all  plans  for  improvement.  He  is  at  present  alderman  of  the  Second  ward, 
now  serving  his  second  term.  As  a  financier  he  has  inherited  from  his  father 
the  wonderful  acumen  that  has  contributed  so  much  to  the  good  of  the  institu- 
tion he  represents,  and  that  this  is  recognized  beyond  the  confines  of  his  own 
institution  is  best  attested  by  the  high  offices  he  has  Ixen  called  upon  to  fill  in 
the  various  associations  with  which  he  has  been  identified.  Mr.  Fratt's  beau- 
tiful residence,  which  he  built  in  1895,  '^  located  at  No.  1720  College  avenue. 

FREDERICK  HARBRIDGE.  president  nf  the  F.  Harbridge  Companv, 
No.  422  Main  street,  is  one  of  the  leading  citizens  of  Racine.  Wis.  Mr.  Harb- 
ridge's  birth  occurred  in  Cheshire.  England.  June  19.  1837,  and  he  is  a  son  of 
Joseph  and  Elizabeth  (Lightfoot)  Harbridge,  natives  of  England.  Of  the 
family  of  eleven  children  born  to  his  parents  Mr.  Harbridge  and  Miss  Hannah, 
of  Kingswnod.  Frodsham,  England,  are  the  onlv  living  members. 

Joseph  Harbridge  was  a  farmer,  and  died  in  England  in  1838.  aged  fifty- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  45 

five  years,  while  his  wife  survived  him  many  years,  and  died  at  the  ag:e  of 
seventy-seven.     They  were  members  of  the  Episcopal  Church. 

!•  rederick  Harbridge  was  reared  and  educated  in  England,  where  he 
studied  pharmacy.  He  became  a  druggist,  and  in  1864  came  to  America, 
stopping  in  Chicago  three  or  four  months,  w  hence  he  made  his  way  to  Racine, 
where  he  has  lived  ever  since.  On  locating  here  he  engaged  in  the  drug  and 
grocery  business,  in  which  he  has  been  very  successful.  He  married  Sept.  15, 
1868,  Miss  Mary  Douglas  McRitchie,  daughter  of  David  and  Margaret  (Mc- 
Inroy)  McRitchie.  His  wife  was  born  in  Dundee,  Forfarshire,  Scotland,  and 
to  this  union  four  children  have  been  born :  George  Frederick,  who  is  in  the 
drug  and  grocery  business  in  Racine;  Delamere  Forest,  M.  D.,  a  physician 
of  Philadelphia,  who  married  Miss  Cora  Brown,  of  that  city;  Stuart  Mc- 
Ritchie, who  married  Miss  Sylvia  Rowe,  and  is  in  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Racine;  and  Roy  Malcolm,  in  the  drug  and  grocery  business  in  Racine,  mar- 
ried to  Miss  Bertha  Louise  Spence. 

Religiously  ]\Ir.  Harbridge  is  an  Episcopalian,  while  his  wife  is  a  Pres- 
byterian. Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  Mr.  Harbridge's  fine  residence, 
which  he  built  in  1892,  is  situated  at  No.  mo  College  avenue. 

FRANK  L.  WELLS,  a  manufacturer  of  spring  bed  machinery  in  Ken- 
osha, is  one  of  the  wealthy  citizens  of  the  place,  a  position  he  has  attained 
solely  by  his  close  attention  to  business  and  the  exercise  of  the  sound  judgment 
which  marks  all  of  his  operations.  He  was  born  May  14,  1865.  in  Lake  county, 
111.,  where  his  parents  both  lived  in  early  life. 

Mr.  Wells  comes  of  English  ancestry  on  his  father's  side,  his  grandfather. 
John  Wells,  being  born  in  England.  He  came  from  Ohio  to  Lake  county 
in  1839,  and  died  there,  well  advanced  in  years.  He  married  Miss  Sarah  Net- 
tleship,  who  lived  to  be  ninety  years  old.  They  had  a  large  family  and  were 
well-to-do  people. 

William  Wells,  father  of  Frank  L.,  was  born  in  Ohio.  He  moved  to  Ilfi- 
nois  in  1841,  settled  in  Lake  county  and  there  married  Miss  Sophia  ^trock,  a 
native  of  the  State.  She  was  a  daughter  of  Joseph  and  Martha  (Smalley) 
Strock,  the  former  a  native  of  Germany  and  a  farmer.  The  parents  were  early 
settlers  in  Lake  county  and  there  reared  their  family,  which  was  a  small  one. 
Mr.  Strock  lived  to  a  good  old  age.  William  and  Sophia  W'ells  had  eleven 
children,  four  sons  and  seven  daughters,  of  whom  eight  are  living,  as  follows : 
Frank  L. ;  Cora,  widow  of  Walter  IMelick.  of  Ravenswood.  Chicago;  Lucy. 
Mrs.  William  Winigar;  Bertha,  wife  of  Richard  Hawkins:  Grace,  Mrs.  Frank 
Goodman;  Alonzo;  Jessie;  and  Eva — all  of  Kenosha  except  Mrs.  Melick. 
William  Wells  lived  .in  Illinois  until  1881.  but  since  that  time  he  has  made  his 
home  in  Kenosha,  where  he  is  retired  from  active  life.  He  and  his  wife  are 
both  Baptists  in  religious  faith. 

Frank  L.  Wells  grew  up  on  his  father's  farm  in  Lake  county  and  was 
educated  in  the  district  schools.  His  bent  toward  a  mechanical  line  of  work 
early  manifested  itself  and  when  he  was  but  sixteen  years  old  he  left  home  to 
go  to  Kenosha  and  there  learn  the  machinist's  trade.  He  has  been  ever  since 
engaged  along  that  general  line  of  business.    In  1893  he  commenced  manufac- 


46  COMMEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

turiiig  spring  bed  machinery  and  from  that  time  to  the  present  has  continued 
to  conduct  the  plant  himself,  usually  having  about  thirty  people  in  his  employ. 
Mr.  Wells  was  united  in  marriage,  June  4,  1889,  to  Miss  Emma  E.  Mes- 
sier, daughter  of  Mitchell  and  Mary  (Talham)  Messier.  Their  family  con- 
sists of  four  sons  and  three  daughters,  Walter,  Harold,  Francis  and  Joseph 
(twins),  Isabel,  Florence  and  Cora.  Mrs.  Wells  is  a  Catholic  in  her  faith.  Mr. 
Wells  is  an  active  politician,  always  working  for  the  improvement  of  municipal 
conditions,  and  is  now  alderman  from  the  Second  ward,  elected  on  the  Repub- 
lican ticket.  Socially  he  belongs  to  Kenosha  Lodge,  No.  47,  F.  &  A.  M.;  and 
to  the  Elks,  No.  750.  He  is  a  man  of  wealth,  a  part  of  it  being  invested  in  real 
estate,  in  Kenosha,  where  he  owns  several  houses,  which  he  rents,  in  addition 
to  his  own  residence  at  No.  616  Park  avenue,  built  in  1905.  Mr.  Wells  stands 
high  in  the  esteem  of  his  fellow  citizens  and  commands  the  confidence  of  his 
constituents. 

WILLIAM  HENRY  MILLER,  a  prominent  and  substantial  citizen  of 
Racine,  Wis.,  engaged  extensively  in  the  real  estate,  loan  and  insurance  busi- 
ness, is  a  native  of  that  city,  born  Nov.  2,  1847,  son  of  Moses  and  Frances 
(Durand)  Miller,  the  former  a  native  of  New  Jersey  and  the  latter  of  Cqn- 
necticut. 

Moses  Miller,  father  of  William  Henry,  came  to  Wisconsin  about  1844, 
and  here  he  carried  on  wholesale  merchandising  for  some  years  before  the  days 
of  railroads.  He  was  a  man  of  sterling  worth  and  great  influence  for  good, 
universally  loved  and  respected.  He  died  in  Racine  in  August,  1868,  aged 
fifty-three  years,  while  his  widow  still  survives.  She  is  a  member  of  the  Pres- 
byterian Church,  as  was  her  husband.  They  had  four  children,  of  whom  W'ill- 
iam  Henry  was  the  eldest. 

WMlliam  Henry  Miller  was  reared  in  Racine,  where  he  attended  the  ward 
and  high  schools.  In  1864,  during  the  Civil  war,  with  youthful  patriotic  en- 
thusiasm, he  enlisted  in  Company  F,  39th  Wis.  V.  I.,  which  regiment  was  soon 
ordered  South,  being  in  Memphis  at  the  time  of  Forrest's  raid  in  thait  city.  Mr. 
Miller  is  now  a  valued  comrade  of  Governor  Harvey  Post,  No.  17,  G.  A.  R. 
At  the  close  of  his  army  service  he  returned  to  Racine  and  continued  his  studies 
for  a  time.  In  1866  he  embarked  in  the  insurance,  real  estate  and  loan  busi- 
ness with  his  father.  In  1872  he  engaged  in  the  business  on  his  own  account, 
and  has  continued  in  the  same  line  to  the  present  time,  building  up  one  of  the 
most  honorable  and  profitable  agencies  in  this  city,  his  ofiice  being  now  in  his 
own  building.  No.  213  Sixth  street. 

On  Jan.  13,  1887,  Mr.  Miller  was  married  to  Jenny  R.  Hoy,  only  daughter 
of  Philo  Romayne  Hoy,  M.  D..  an  old  settler  of  Racine,  a  leading  physician 
and  surgeon  and  a  distinguished  naturalist,  and  to  this  union  have  been  born 
two  children,  \\^alton  Hoy  and  Romayne  Frances.  Mr.  Miller  and  his  family 
reside  at  his  beautiful  home,  situated  at  No.  900  Main  street,  which  he  built  in 
1900,  and  he  also  owns  considerable  other  business  and  residence  property 
in  Racine. 

WILLIAM  SMIEDING,  Sr.,  an  early  settler  of  Racine,  Wis.,  now  liv- 
ing retired,  is  one  of  that  citv's  hiehlv  esteemed  citizens.     He  was  born  No'w 


comme:morat]ve  biographical  record.  47 

II,  1 83 1,  in  Westphalia,  Germany,  son  of  August  and  Amelia  (Nix)  Smied- 
ing,  also  natives  of  Germany.  The  paternal  grandfather  was  a  brewer  and 
baker  of  Germany,  and  owned  a  small  estate.  He  and  his  wife  both  died  at  an 
advanced  age. 

August  Smieding  also  followed  brewing  and  baking.  Going  to  Holland, 
he  was  there  employed  as  a  clerk  in  a  mercantile  business.  He  served  as  a  sol- 
dier under  Napoleon  I,  in  181 5.  August  Smieding  died  in  1850,  aged  about 
fifty-six  years,  and  his  wife  passed  away  about  six  years  before.  They  had 
seven  children,  five  of  whom  are  still  living:  Henry  E.,  of  Racine;  William; 
Sophia,  wife  of  William  Mayer,  of  Lubbecke,  Westphalia,  Germany ;  Maria, 
widow  of  Gustav  Retry,  of  jNIinden,  Germany;  and  Rev.  Rudolph,  a  Lutheran 
minister  of  Kiel,  Germany. 

William  Smieding  grew  to  manhood  in  Germany,  and  received  his  edu- 
cation there.  When  fourteen  years  old  he  was  apprenticed  to  a  general  mer- 
chant for  five  years,  and  in  1853  he  came  to  America.  Residing  in  Cincinnati 
until  1855,  he  then  came  to  Racine,  and,  with  his  brother  Henry  E.,  engaged 
in  the  drug  business  until  1881,  when  they  sold  out.  Since  that  time  Mr. 
Smieding  has  lived  retired  at  his  home,  just  adjoining  the  limits,  across  from 
the  Horlick  Food  Company's  factory,  where  he  owns  thirty-five  acres  of  land. 

Mr.  Smieding  was  married  in  September,  1864,  to  ]\Iiss  Mary  Wustum, 
■daugliter  of  George  and  Mary  Wustum,  and  to  this  union  were  born  six  chil- 
dren :  Henry,  a  lawyer  of  Racine;  William,  Judge  of  the  INIunicipal  Court  of 
Racine :  Herman,  bookkeeper  for  the  Horlick  Food  Company,  who  married 
Jessie  Conroe;  George,  a  physician  of  Jefferson,  Wis.;  Frederick,  at  home; 
and  Marie,  of  Racine.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Smieding  are  among  the  oldest  settlers 
in  Racine,  and  ha\'e  watched  the  city's  population  grow  from  5.000  to  30,000 
inhabitants. 

CLARENCE  J.  RICHARDS,  who  was  for  a  number  of  years  an  eminent 
member  of  the  Racine  county  Bar,  is  now  living  retired  at  his  home,  No.  1003 
Lake  avenue,  Racine.  'Sir.  Richards  was  born  in  Racine,  Wis..  Sept.  18,  1861, 
son  of  James  and  Ann  (Langdon)  Richards,  natives  of  Wales  and  Ireland 
respectively. 

James  Richards,  father  of  Clarence  J.  Richards,  came  from  Wales  to 
America  as  a  boy,  and  grew  to  manhood  in  Racine.  Here  he  died  in  1875, 
aged  forty-eight  years,  while  his  widow  survived  him  until  1882,  when  she 
passed  away,  in  her  forty-third  year.  James  Richards  had,  in  his  boyhood; 
been  apprenticed  to  an  ironmonger,  and  later  worked  in  the  hardware  estab- 
lishments of  John  Conroe,  Edwin  Hunt  &  Sons  and  Raymond  &  Jones.  He- 
then  engaged  in  general  merchandising,  which  he  followed  up  to  the  time  of 
his  death.  He  and  his  wife  had  two  children,  Mary  Elizabeth  and  Clarence  J., 
the  former  of  whom  died  at  the  age  of  six  vears. 

Clarence  J.  Richards  was  reared  in  Racine  and  attended  the  public  schools 
and  McMynn's  Academy,  graduating  in  1879.  He  then  studied  law  in  the 
offices  of  John  T.  Fish  and  Quarles  &  Winslow,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar 
in  1882,  being  twenty-one  years  of  age.  He  worked  for  Quarles  &  Winslow  as 
clerk  until  May,  1882,  when  the  firm  of  Quarles, Spence  &  Richards  was  formed 
and  continued  until  1886,  when  Mr.  Richards  on  account  of  failing  health  made 


48  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

a  trip  to  California,  remaining  there  four  years.  He  then  returned  to  Racine^ 
and  since  that  time  has  lived  retired.  He  owns  a  beautiful  home  at  No.  1003 
Lake  avenue,  and  also  other  residence  and  business  property  in  the  city. 

On  Dec.  27,  1883,  Mr.  Richards  married  Miss  Mary  Louise  Baker,  daugh- 
ter of  Robert  H.  and  Emily  (Carswell)  Baker,  and  three  children  were  born 
to  this  union:  Juliet  Langdon.  Margaret  Carswell  and  Robert  Baker.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Richards  are  members  of  St.  Luke's  Episcopal  Church,  in  which  he 
is  vestryman.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  [Masons,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias'and  the  B.  P.  O.  E.     In  politics  he  is  a  stalwart  Republican. 

HON.  ELLSWORTH  BURNETT  BELDEN,  Circuit  Judge  of  Racine 
county.  W'is.,  is  one  of  the  distinguished  men  of  this  section,  one  who  is  a 
dominating  personality  in  business,  political  and  professional  life.  Judge 
Belden  was  born  May  18,  1866,  at  Rochester,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  son  of  Henry 
W.  and  Emily  F.  (Brown)  Belden,  and  grandson  of  Hon.  Philo  Belden,  de- 
ceased, ex-State  Senator  and  for  years  County  Judge  of  Racine  county. 

Henry  W.  Belden.  the  father,  was  born  Nov.  10,  1840,  and  was  reared 
in  Racine  county.  At  the  opening  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted,  becoming  a 
private  in  the  24th  Wis.  Y.  I.,  and  climbed,  through  promotions  for  gallantry, 
to  the  rank  of  captain  by  the  close  of  the  war.  After  the  cessation  of  hostili- 
ties, he  located  in  Milwaukee  and  established  later  a  book  and  stationery  store 
in  that  city,  but  for  some  years  has  lived  retired.  He  married  Emily  F. 
Brown,  a  daughter  of  Ezra  Brown  (whose  wife  was  a  Horton),  and  they 
had  these  children:  Judge  Ellsworth  B. ;  Gertrude,  wife  of  Byron  R.  Jones, 
of  Racine:  Ruby,  of  ^lilwaukee;  Charles  E.,  of  Spokane,  Wash.;  and  Rob- 
ert, who  died  aged  twenty-one  years.  The  father  of  ]\Irs.  Emily  F.  Belden, 
and  the  grandfather  of  our  subject,  was  a  native  of  \'erniont  and  settled  in 
Wisconsin  in  the  early  forties. 

Judge  Ellsworth  Burnett  Belden  was  reared  in  Racine  county,  and  grad- 
uated from  the  common  schools  into  the  Rochester  Seminary,  where  he  was 
graduated  in  1883,  and  entered  the  employ  of  his  grandfather.  Judge  Belden, 
in  the  County  Court  of  Racine  county.  Here  he  continued  until  the  fall  of 
1884,  at  which  time  he  entered  the  Law  Department  of  the  University  of 
W^isconsin,  at  Madison,  where  he  was  graduated  with  the  class  of  1886,  the 
youngest  graduate  to  whom  the  school  had  ever  presented  a  diploma. 

Being  still  under  age  and  therefore  not  eligible  to  practice,  according  to 
the  laws  of  his  State,  he  entered  the  office  of  the  Attorney-General  for  a  time, 
and  then  resumed  his  former  duties  in  the  County  Court,  shortly  afterward  en- 
tering upon  the  practice  of  his  profession. 

Judge  Belden  has  the  distinction  of  being  the  youngest  man  ever  elected 
to  the  office  of  County  Judge  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin.  He  was  elected 
County  Judge  in  April.  1889.  Judge  Philo  Belden  resigned  the  position  in 
September,  1889.  and  the  grandson,  who  had  been  already  elected  to  succeed 
him,  was  appointed  to  fill  the  vacancy,  and  he  held  his  first  term  of  court  ir, 
the  following  month,  and  Jan.  i,  1890,  he  entered  upon  his  own  elective  term. 
This  election  was  a  just  recognition  of  his  ability  and  sterling  traits  of  char- 
acter. This  popularity  never  waned  through  twelve  years  of  judicial  life,  dur- 
ing  which  period  he  came  nearer  and  nearer  to  the  ideal  of  his  fellow  citizens- 


G 


-il 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  49 

as  a  jurist,  and  in  1901  he  was  elected  Circuit  Judge,  assuming  the  duties  of 
that  responsible  office  in  January,  1902. 

Judge  Belden  is  a  product  of  those  best  forces  which  have  made  Wiscon- 
sin what  it  is  today.  He  is  energetic,  eager,  broad-minded  and  liberal,  one 
of  the  men  who  can  do  large  things  in  a  large  way.  Although  the  greater  part 
of  his  public  life  has  been  spent  on  the  Bench,  where  his  comprehensive  knowl- 
edge of  law  has  made  him  a  power,  his  name  is  known  and  his  influence  felt 
wherever  important  issues  of  a  public  nature  are  at  stake  or  the  welfare  of  his 
city  is  concerned. 

Judge  Belden  was  married,  June  26,  1900,  to  Hattie  M.  Raymond,  daugh- 
ter of  Hyland  and  Emily  (Foster)  Raymond,  and  to  this  union  two  sons  have 
been  born,  viz. :  Stanley  and  John.  Judge  Belden  and  wife  belong  to  St. 
Luke's  Episcopal  Church,  at  Racine,  in  which  he  is  a  vestryman.  Politically 
Judge  Belden  is  a  Republican,  but  has  independent  ideas  and  is  not  identified 
with  any  clique  or  faction.  Fraternally  he  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  18, 
A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Orient  Chapter,  No.  12,  R.  A.  M. ;  and  Racine  Commandery, 
No.  70.  He  belongs  also  to  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  Lodge  No.  32 ;  to  the  B. 
P.  O.  Elks;  to  the  Royal  Arcanum,  Council  No.  220;  Modem  Woodmen  of 
America,  Lakeside  Camp,  No.  379 ;  and  to  the  Chi  Psi  College  Fraternity.  He 
is  a  member  of  the  Racine  Business  Men's  Association,  a  vestryman  of  St. 
Luke's  Church,  a  trustee  of  Racine  College  and  St.  Luke's  Hospital  Associa- 
tion, and  president  of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association. 

Judge  Belden  and  family  have  a  beautiful  home  in  this  city,  one  of  re- 
fined and  cultured  influences.  Mrs.  Belden  is  a  charming  hostess,  being  highly 
accomplished  as  an  artist  and  as  a  musician. 

JOHN  FULLER  GOOLD,  president  of  the  Fiebrich,  Fox,  Hilker  Shoe 
Company,  of  Racine,  was  born  in  Carlton.  Orleans  Co.,  N.  Y.,  Nov.  i,  1821, 
son  of  Horace  Octavius  and  Lorinda  (Fuller)  Goold. 

Horace  O.  Goold  came  of  English  lineage,  descending  from  one  of  three 
brothers  who  crossed  the  ocean  and  settled  in  Connecticut.  His  father  was  a 
native  of  that  State,  but  nothing  further  is  known  of  him.  There  were  six  sons 
in  his  family.  Horace  O.  Goold  became  a  farmer  and  spent  most  of  his  life  in 
Orleans  county,  N.  Y.  He  belonged  to  the  old  Whig  party  before  the  war,  but 
after  the  formation  of  the  Republican  party  cast  his  vote  in  its  support.  He 
was  a  public  spirited  citizen,  and  served  efficiently  in  various  town  offices.  He 
died  at  Lyndonville,  at  the  age  of  sixty-five,  and  his  wife  survived  him  but  a 
week.  Both  were  members  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal  Church.  Mrs.  Goold 
was  born  in  Pennsylvania,  daughter  of  Capt.  John  and  Sally  Fuller.  Capt. 
Fuller  took  up  a  large  tract  of  land  in  Orleans  county,  N-.  Y..  and  for  the  rest 
of  his  life  was  engaged  in  farming.  He  had  five  sons,  who  all  settled  on  farms 
in  the  same  locality,  and  three  daughters.  One  son  of  this  family  lived  to  be 
over  ninety  years  of  age,  but  all  are  now  deceased.  Capt.  Fuller  gained  his 
title  by  service  in  the  war  of  1812.  His  death  was  caused  by  a  runaway.  The 
children  born  to  Horace  O.  and  Lorinda  (Fuller)  Goold  numbered  fourteen, 
of  whom  only  three  are  now  living,  viz. :  John  Fuller,  the  oldest ;  Horace  Dar- 
win, of  Linden,  N.  Y. ;  and  Olin  May.  of  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan. 

John  F.  Goold  passed  his  youth  in  Orleans  county,  attending  first  the  pub- 


50  COALAIE.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

lie  schools,  and  later  a  select  school  taught  by  Prof.  Hard,  who  is  thou,a;ht  to 
be  still  living,  although  over  ninety  years  of  age  now.  At  eighteen  Mr.  Goold 
gave  up  assisting  his  father  on  the  farm  and  began  clerking  in  a  store  at  the 
county  seat,  Albion.  He  was  next  engaged  in  an  establishment  which  carried 
on  a  dry  goods,  drug  and  tailoring  business  combined,  and  he  remained  w'ith 
this  concern  several  years.  In  1844  Mr.  Goold  went  west  to  Ohio,  and  spent 
several  years  in  Cleveland.  This  was  followed  by  a  period  in  a  country  store 
near  Cleveland,  and  then  he  went  into  the  mercantile  business  for  himself  in 
Ohio  City,  conducting  same  for  several  years,  after  which  he  moved  to  Chi- 
cago, and  was  in  charge  of  an  office  there  for  two  or  three  years.  Returning  to 
Cleveland  from  Chicago,  he  remained  there  until  1857,  the  year  he  settled  in 
Wisconsin. 

From  Mr.  Goold's  first  location  in  Wisconsin  to  the  present  time  he  has 
always  resided  in  or  near  Racine.  The  first  twelve  years,  from  1857  to  1869, 
he  was  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township,  engaged  in  farming  with  his  brother-in-law, 
Isaac  Taylor.  The  following  six  years  he  spent  in  Racine,  carrying  on  a  hard- 
ware business,  and  then  gave  his  attention  to  farming  again.  He  carried  on  a 
small  farm  north  of  the  city  for  three  years,  and  after  that  invested  in  farm 
lands  in  Kansas,  spending  two  summers  in  that  State,  putting  in  crops  of 
wheat,  but  at  the  end  of  that  time  he  sold  the  property  and  went  back  to  Ra- 
cine. Abandoning  agricultural  pursuits  from  this  time  forth,  Mr.  Goold  ac- 
cepted a  position  as  timekeeper  with  the  Mitchell  &  Lewis  Company,  and  has 
discharged  the  duties  of  that  place  continuously  since  that  time.  In  1898  he 
was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Kambach,  Fiebrich  Shoe  Company,  in  which 
lie  became  a  stockholder  and  w-as  chosen  president.  He  still  holds  that  i)nsiti(in 
although  the  organization  has  been  changed,  the  corporation  now  being  en- 
titled the  Fiebrich,  Fox,  Hilker  Company. 

Mr.  Goold's  wife  bore  the  maiden  name  of  Sylvia  jMartin,  and  their  wed- 
ding took  place  April  21,  1847.  They  became  the  parents  of  five  children  :  (  i ) 
Adeline,  died  when  seven  years  old.  (2)  Alfred  Wright  is  a  trimmer  in  the 
employ  of  the  Mitchell  &  Lewis  Company.  He  is  a  fine  scholar  and  a  particu- 
larly good  penman,  and  his  educational  acquirements  are  the  more  noteworthy 
as  they  have  been  gained  in  spite  of  the  fact  that  he  is  a  mute.  He  is  married 
to  Miss  Ada  Rutherford,  also  a  mute,  a  graduate  of  the  Delavan  Mute  School. 
(3)  Emer  Cornelia  married  Frank  L.  Mitchell,  of  the  Mitchell  &  Lewis  Com- 
pany, and  they  have  two  daughters.  Alabel  Martin  and  Olive  A.  (4)  Ida  Adelia 
married  Charles  Clark,  who  died,  leaving  her  with  two  sons,  Alfred  Charles 
and  Loren  Clark.  (5)  Harry  Martin  is  an  engraver  in  Indianapolis.  Bv  his 
wife,  Helen  (Grayson)  Goold,  he  has  had  two  children,  but  the  only  one  living 
is  a  daughter  named  Sylvia.  Mrs.  Sylvia  M.  Goold,  who  was  a  daughter  of 
Abner  and  Lucy  (Buckingham)  Martin,  passed  away  in  Racine,  in  1883,  aged 
fifty-nine  years.  A  member  of  the  Methodist  Church,  as  is  her  husband  also, 
she  exemplified  in  her  life  all  the  beauties  and  virtues  of  the  Christian  life,  and 
was  deeply  loved  for  her  admirable  character.  Mr.  Goold  is  prominent  in 
church  work,  acting  as  trustee  and  treasurer  for  many  years,  besides  holding 
the  office  of  class-leader.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  but  he  has  never  sought 
official  position  since  he  served  as  town  clerk  of  Mt.  Pleasant  townshi|i  during 


COi\IME.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  51 

the  Civil  war.    He  enjovs  the  sincere  respect  of  his  fellow  citizens.   Mr.  Guold 
resides  at  No.  917  College  avenue. 

WALTER  S.  GOODLAND,  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Racine  Daily 
Times — a  man  whose  talent  and  taste  for  journalism  exceed  even  his  marked 
ability  in  the  legal  profession — was  born  in  Sharon,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis.,  Dec. 
22,  1862,  of  good  English  parentage. 

William  Goodland,  his  grandfather,  was  a  lifelong  resident  of  Taunton, 
Somersetshire,  England,  where  for  many  years  he  was  engaged  in  the  coal  ijusi- 
ness.  He  died  when  over  four  score  years  old  while  his  wife,  Abigail  Rebecca, 
attained  a  still  greater  age.    They  were  the  parents  of  a  large  family. 

John  Goodland,  father  of  Walter  S.,  was  born  in  Taunton,  Somersetshire, 
England,  Aug.  10,  1831,  and  there  remained  until  he  was  eighteen,  in  1849 
coming  to  America.  Five  years  later  he  settled  in  Wisconsin,  and  this  State 
has  been  his  home  ever  since  with  the  exception  of  a  few  years  he  passed  in 
Chicago.  He  has  takn  a  prominent  part  in  public  affairs  and  is  well  known 
throughout  central  Wisconsin.  Offices  of  trust  and  responsibility  in  the  gift  of 
the  people  have  been  showered  upon  him,  and  he  is  now  serving  as  judge  of  the 
Tenth  Judicial  District  of  the  State,  each  year  adding  to  his  already  very  high 
reputation  as  a  jurist.  He  married  Caroline  M.  Clark,  who  was  born  in  New 
York  State,  where  her  father,  an  Englishman  by  birth,  settled  on  his  coming 
to  America;  Mr.  Clark  was  a  mason  contractor  in  Rochester,  that  State,  but 
later  moved  to  Muskegon.  Mich.,  where  he  died  in  advanced  age.  Mrs.  Good- 
land  died  Oct.  26,  1893,  the  mother  of  nine  children,  as  follows :  William,  de- 
ceased; Abigail,  of  Appleton,  Wis.;  Mary,  who  married  J.  H.  Woehler,  of 
Oshkosh,  Wis. ;  Edward,  deceased ;  Fayette,  deceased ;  Walter  S. ;  Emma,  who 
died  in  childhood;  Edith,  who  married  F.  D.  Bartlett,  of  Milwaukee;  John, 
of  Appleton. 

Walter  S.  Goodland,  sixth  child  and  third  son  in  the  fam'ily  born  to  his  par- 
ents, was  but  three  years  of  age  when  his  parents  removed  to  Chicago,  and 
later  accompanied  them  on  their  removal  to  Appleton,  Wis.,  where  he  com- 
pleted his  public  school  education,  graduating  from  the  high  school.  He  also 
spent  one  year  in  Lawrence  University,  at  that  place.  For  five  years  after  he  left 
the  schoolroom  as  a  pupil,  he  was  engaged  in  teaching.  Under  his  father's  guid- 
ance he  began  the  study  of  law,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  by  Judge  George 
H.  Meyers,  at  Appleton,  March  9,  1886.  His  law  studies  were  interesting,  but 
he  found  journalism  so  congenial  to  his  tastes,  that  shortly  after  his  location  in 
Wakefield,  Wis.,  in  March,  1887,  he  established  the  Wakefield  Bulletin,  which 
he  continued  to  publish  for  about  a  year.  He  then  moved  to  Ironwood,  in 
March,  1888,  there  founding  the  Ironwood  Times,  which  met  with  popular 
favor,  and  he  continued  in  active  work  connected  with  its  publication  until  May, 
1895.  The  preceding  November  he  had,  however,  resumed  his  practice  of  law, 
opening  an  office  in  Ironwood.  On  March  30,  1895,  President  Cleveland  ap- 
pointed him  postmaster  at  Ironwood,  and  this  office  he  efficiently  filled  for 
three  years.  Moving  to  Oshkosh  he  lived  there  but  a  short  time,  when  he  went 
to  Beloit.  there  for  one  year  to  publish  the  Daily  News.  In  March,  1899,  Mr. 
Goodland  located  in  Racine,  and  in  partnership  with  Mr.  V.  W.  Lothrop,  pur- 
chased the  Racine  Dail\  Times.     This  firm  continued  until  1902,  when  Mr. 


52  CO:\IMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Goodland  purchased  his  partner's  interest  and  has  since  conducted  the  paper 
alune.  in  connection  he  dues  a  large  job  prniting  business,  and  the  class  of 
work  turned  out  will  compare  favorably  with  that  done  by  much  larger  con- 
cerns.    Politically  the  paper  is  inuepencient,  and  it  has  a  wide  patronage. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Goodland  is  a  Mason,  belonging  to  Ironwood  Lodge,  F. 
&  A.  M.,  and  he  is  also  a  member  of  Racine  Lodge,  H.  P.  O.  E.  In  religious 
faith  he  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  Mr.  Goodland  wields  a  wide 
influence  through  the  editorial  columns  of  his  paper,  and  this  influence  is  always 
on  the  side  of  the  public  good  as  he  sees  it.  His  honor  and  integrity  of  char- 
acter are  so  well  known  that  his  opinions  have  great  weight. 

PETER  TIEDEMANN,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Racine,  Wis.,  en- 
gaged in  the  insurance,  real  estate  and  loan  business,  is  serving  as  notary  pub- 
lic and  superintendent  of  the  poor.  He  resides  at  No.  6i8  High  street.  He  was 
born  in  Hanover,  Germany,  near  Harburg,  Nov.  lo,  1839,  son  of  Peter  and 
Andeheidt  (Suer)  Tiedemann,  natives  of  Hanover,  Germany. 

Both  the  paternal  and  maternal  grandfathers  of  our  subject  were  laboring 
men  and  natives  of  Germany,  as  was  also  Peter,  our  subject's  father,  who  died 
in  Germany  in  1888,  aged  seventy-nine  years.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1882, 
aged  sixty-nine  years,  in  the  faith  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  of  which  her  hus- 
band was  also  a  member.  They  had  a  family  of  six  children,  three  of  whom 
are  deceased ;  the  others  are  Claus,  of  Atmer  de  Ziel,  Germany ;  Peter,  of  Ra- 
cine; and  Anna,  the  wife  of  Henry  Stooke,  of  Hanover,  Germany. 

Peter  Tiedemann  attended  the  common  schools  of  his  native  country,  and 
at  the  age  of  thriteen  years  went  on  shipboard,  making  a  trip  to  Brazil.  He 
followed  the  sea  until  thirty  years  of  age,  spending  several  years  on  the  coast 
of  China,  and  in  the  East  Indies.  Mr.  Tiedemann  has  sailed  twice  around  the 
world,  and  speaks  several  languages,  including  Himalayan,  Spanish,  German, 
Scandinavian  and' English.  In  1869  he  ran  away  from  the  passenger  ship  on 
which  he  was  serving,  and  was  married,  coming  to  America.  He  landed  at 
New  York,  from  where  he  came  directly  to  Wisconsin.  For  a  time  he  sailed 
the  Lakes,  and  in  1871  went  to  Chicago,  engaging  in  the  grocery  business. 
There  he  remained  about  twelve  years,  after  which  he  came  to  Racine,  locating 
permanently;  he  put  up  a  double  store,  and  has  been  conducting  a  grocery 
store,  saloon  and  hall  for  eleven  years. 

In  November,  1869,  Mr.  Tiedemann  married  Miss  Emma  Friederica 
Bauer,  born  on  the  Island  of  Ragan,  daughter  of  Frederick  and  Friederica 
(Reich)  Bauer.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Tiedemann,  although  not  members,  attend  the 
Lutheran  Churcli,  and  contribute  to  its  support.  Fie  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge, 
I.  O.  O.  F. ;  and  is  president  of  the  German  Maennerverein.  Politicallv  a  Dem- 
ocrat, he  was  alderman  of  the  Seventh  ward  for  twelve  years.  He  was  a  can- 
didate for  mayor  on  the  Democratic  ticket  of  1905,  and,  while  Racine  is 
strongly  Republican,  he  was  beaten  by  but  300  votes.  This  honor  was  forcefl 
on  Mr.  Tiedemann.  he  having  not  been  in  the  convention.  In  1905  he  was 
elected,  by  the  council,  superintendent  of  the  poor,  and  this  position  he  has  since 
held  with  great  credit  to  himself,  and  to  the  entire  satisfaction  of  all  concerned. 
He  is  very  highly  esteemed  in  Racine. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  53 

CHARLES  THEODORE  SCHWEITZER,  vice-president  of  The  J. 
Miller  Shoe  Co.,  of  Racine,  Wis.,  was  born  March  4,  1S42,  in  Prussia,  Ger- 
many, a  son  of  Thomas  and  Petroneha  Schweitzer. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Schweitzer  were  both  born  in  Prussia,  near  Coloo^ne, 
as  were  their  parents  who  died  there.  The  father  was  a  charcoal  manufacturer 
in  Germany,  dealt  also  in  tan  bark  and  lumber,  and  made  some  of  the  first  rail- 
road ties  ever  put  down  in  constructive  work  in  Prussia.  In  1846  he  came  to 
America  and  located  six  miles  south  of  Milwaukee,  where  be  bought  a  small 
farm  on  which  he  lived  two  yeai's.  In  1848  he  came  to  Racine,  after  which 
he  followed  various  pursuits,  dealing  considerably  in  real  estate,  and  remained 
here  until  his  death,  May  16,  1889,  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years  and  six 
months.  His  wife  died  Nov.  20,  1880,  aged  seventy-two  years.  Both  were 
members  of  the  Catholic  Church.  Before  coming  to  America  he  had  served 
his  three  years  in  the  regular  army  as  is  required  of  German  young  men. 

Charles  T.  Schweitzer  was  four  years  of  age  when  his  parents  brought 
him  to  America.  Since  1848  his  home  has  been  in  Racine  and  he  is  thus 
entitled  to  the  distinction  of  being  one  of  the  old  settlers.  He  attended  the 
parochial  schools  and  lived  at  home  until  he  reached  maturity.  Then  he 
learned  the  cooper's  trade  with  his  father,  continuing  with  him  until  1867, 
when  he  became  a  clerk  in  the  shoe  factory  of  Joseph  Miller.  He  remained 
in  that  capacity  until  1872,  when  Mr.  Miller  disposed  of  his  retail  business 
and  engaged  exclusively  in  manufacturing  for  the  wholesale  trade.  It  was 
then  that  Mr.  Schweitzer  became  associated  with  him.  Ever  since  the  in- 
corporation of  The  J.  Miller  Shoe  Co.,  which  is  one  of  Racine's  large  indus- 
tries, he  has  been  vice-president  of  the  concern. 

On  May  3,  1864,  Mr.  Schweitzer  was  married  to  Miss  Clara  Miller, 
daughter  of  Reiner  and  Elizabeth  (Yunker)  Miller.  The  children  born  to 
this  union,  all  natives  of  Racine,  are  as  follows :  William  J.  is  engaged  in 
the  insurance  business  at  Racine ;  he  married  Mary  Luxem.  Elizabeth  M. 
died  aged  twelve  years.  John  W.  is  a  prominent  business  man  of  Racine, 
and  president  of  the  Modern  Skirt  Co. ;  he  married  Ida  Anderson,  and  thev 
have  three  children,  Marion,  Clara  and  Elizabeth.  Gertrude  married  Frank 
Becker  and  they  reside  in  Racine  and  have  three  children,  Clara,  Josephine, 
and  William.  Josephine  married  Charles  Salbreiter,  of  Racine,  and  thev 
have  one  child,  Clara.  George  W.  is  one  of  the  proprietors  of  the  White  Star 
Laundry.  Frank  is  head  cutter  for  the  Modern  Skirt  Co. :  he  married  Ella 
Fitzgerald,  and  they  have  one  child,  Gertrude.  Frederick  W.  is  also  a  cut- 
ter with  the  Modern  Skirt  Co.  Elizabeth  died  aged  six  months.  Edward 
H.  is  a  pharmacist,  as  also  is  Charles  G.  Clara  lives  at  home.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Schweitzer  have  reared  a  family  in  which  they  are  able  to  take  a  great  deal 
of  comfort,  the  survivors  all  being  well  established  and  thoroughly  respected 
members  of  society.  The  beautiful  family  home  where  peace  and  plenty 
reign,  is  situated  at  No.  1419  Superior  street,  Racine.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Schweitzer  are  members  of  the  Catholic  Church,  and  he  is  a  liberal  sup- 
porter of  its  many  benevolent  enternrises. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Schweitzer  were  natives  of  Germany,  and  they 
came  to  America  in  1847,  with  five  children,  locating  with  the  earlv  settlers 
at  Racine.    Mr.  Miller  owned  a  small  tract  which  is  now  in  the  heart  of  the 


54 


CO^niEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 


city,  having  been  turned  into  city  lots  years  ago.  The  father  of  Mrs.  Schweitzer 
died  in  1S84,  aged  eighty-three  years,  and  two  years  later  his  wife  died,  aged 
seventy-six  years.  Both  were  worthy  members  of  the  Catholic  Church.  He 
had  been  a  soldier  in  the  German  army.  Of  their  seven  children,  the  sur- 
vivors are :  ]\Iargaret  is  the  widow  of  William  Piel ;  Clara  is  the  wife  of  Mr. 
Schweitzer ;  and  Rev.  \V.  G.  is  a  Catholic  priest  at  Waukesha,  Wis.  Joseph, 
deceased  Dec.  29,  1905,  was  president  of  The  J.  Miller  Shoe  Company,  of 
Racine.  The  paternal  grandparents  lived  and  died  in  Germany.  The  mater- 
nal grandfather  was  a  miller  in  Germany  and  at  his  death  left  one  son  and  one 
daughter.  He  had  married  a  Mrs.  Bauer,  who  had  two  daughters  and  one 
son.  Much  of  the  early  family  history  has  been  lost,  but  a  close  examination 
would  reveal  the  fact  that  for  generations  back  may  be  found  honest,  upright, 
industrious,  Christian  people. 

JACOB  INIOHR,  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  ^lohr-Jones  Hardware 
Company,  at  Racine,  Wis.,  was  born  Aug.  15,  1850,  in  one  of  the  Rhenish 
provinces,  in  Prussia,  a  son  of  Frederick  and  Kathrina  (Deitrich)  Mohr, 
both  of  whom  were  born  in  Germany.  Mr.  Mohr  is  at  the  head  of  one  of 
the  largest  establishments  of  the  kind  in  the  county,  carrying  the  most  com- 
plete lines  of  hardware,  stoves  and  woodenware  and  doing  a  large  portion  of 
the  general  tinsmithing  and  furnace  work.  Between  twenty-five  and  fifty 
hands  are  continuously  employed. 

Continuing  the  personal  sketch  of  Jacob  Mohr.  it  may  be  said  that  of  the 
eleven  children  born  to  Frederick  Mohr  and  his  wife  six  were  sons  and  five 
daughters,  the  survivors  being  but  two  sons,  Charles  and  Jacob,  both  resi- 
dents of  Racine.  The  father,  who  was  a  miller,  died  in  Germany  in  i860, 
aged  sixty-two  years;  the  mother  passed  away  in  1853,  aged  forty-eight 
years.    They  were  both  worthy  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church. 

Jacob  Mohr  was  but  nine  years  old  when  he  became  an  orphan,  and  he 
Avas  taken  to  the  home  of  a  maternal  uncle,  with  whom  he  li\-ed  until  about 
thirteen  years  old,  in  the  meantime  attending  school.  He  was  then  appren- 
ticed to  the  tinner's  trade,  at  which  he  worked  until  he  was  nineteen  vears 
old,  when  he  emigrated  to  America.  In  1869  he  settled  at  Racine,  where  he 
began  working  in  the  tin-shop  and  hardware  store  of  E.  R.  Cooley,  and  con- 
tinued thus  until  the  death  of  the  proprietor.  In  1877  he  commenced  busi- 
ness for  himself  in  partnership  with  William  Griffith,  the  firm  name  being 
Griffith  &  Mohr  until  1887,  when  Mr.  Mohr  bought  his  partner's  intertest  and 
continued  the  business  alone  for  eleven  years.  He  then  formed  a  stock  co'.n- 
pany  under  the  name  of  the  Mohr- Jones  Hardware  Company,  of  which  he  is 
president  and  general  manager,  J.  W.  Jones  being  secretary  and  treasurer. 

On  Dec.  12,  1875,  ^'I''-  Mohr  was  united  in  marriage  to  ^Nliss  Louisa 
Halter,  daughter  of  Louis  and  Katherine  (Gonselman)  Halter.  Thev  have 
three  daughters,  viz. ;  Millie  K.,  Leona  and  Luelia.  IMiss  ]\Iillie  is  a  Kinde."- 
garten  teacher  in  the  Winslow  school,  Racine.  Leona  married  B.  W.  Chad- 
wick,  and  they  reside  at  Des  Moines,  Iowa,  and  have  one  son.  \\'illiam  Jacob. 
Luelia  is  still  a  student  in  the  high  school.  Mr.  Mohr  is  a  member  of  the 
Episcopal  Church.     Fraternally  he  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  92.  A.  F. 


CO^IMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  55 

&  A.  M.,  and  also  to  the  Royal  Arcanum  ami  the  Modern  Woodmen.     Polit- 
ically he  has  always  been  a  Republican. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  :\Iohr  were  natives  of  Alsace-Lorraine,  and  came  to 
America  sixty  years  ago,  settling  first  in  the  southern  portion  of  the  city  of 
^Milwaukee.  Thence  they  removed  to  Caledonia  township,  Racine  county, 
and  engaged  in  farming,  although  the  father  was  a  skilled  cabinetmaker.  He 
died  Christmas  Day,  1904.  aged  eighty-three  years,  and  the  mother  died  at  the 
age  of  fifty-seven.  They  had  nine  children,  all  of  whom  survive,  namely: 
Kate,  wife  of  Charles  J.  Mohr;  Frank,  of  Mankato,  Minn.;  Louisa,  Mrs. 
Jacob  Mohr;  Henry,  of  Mt.  Pleasant  township;  William,  of  Milwaukee 
County ;  August,  who  is  on  the  home  farm ;  Albert,  also  on  the  homestead ; 
Carrie,  wife  of  John  Broschell,  of  Dexter,  Minn.;  and  Bertha,  wife  of  Henry 
Swartz.  of  Union  Grove,  Wisconsin. 

^lYRON  A.  BAKER,  attorney-at-law,  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  one  of  the 
pioneers  in  the  profession  in  this  section  and  a  prominent  citizen,  was  born 
Aug.  26.  1837.  at  Owasco.  Cayuga  Co..  N.  Y.,  son  of  Elisha  and  Adeline 
(Bailey)  Baker,  natives  of  New  York.  Three  of  their  five  children  still  sur- 
vive, viz. :  Myron  A.,  of  Kenosha;  Frances  A.,  widow  of  Frank  B.  Dunning, 
of  Englewood.  Chicago;  and  Warren  E..  of  North  Chicago. 

After  completing  his  education,  Elisha  Baker  was  employed  in  a  bank 
at  Owasco,  prior  to  coming  to  Wisconsin,  in  1839.  He  settled  in  Kenosha 
county,  purchasing  a  farm  of  160  acres  in  Paris  township,  to  which  he  sub- 
sequently added  until  he  had  some  318  acres.  A  portion  of  this  he  sold,  but 
improved  the  rest  and  resided  here  until  his  death  in  June,  1856.  He  was 
survived  by  his  widow  until  1889,  her  age  being  seventy-two  years.  In  his 
early  years  he  was  a  captain  in  the  New  York  State  militia,  the  organization 
being  known  as  the  "Silver  Grays."  In  Paris  township  he  took  a  prominent 
stand  in  public  affairs,  was  town  clerk  and  for  a  number  of  years  was  chair- 
man of  the  town  board.  Both  he  and  his  wife  in  their  earlier  religious  con- 
nections were  in  sympathy  with  the  Baptists,  but  in  later  years  both  accepted 
the  simple  creed  of  the  Unitarians.  The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mr.  Baker 
was  a  Revolutionary  soldier  and  died  in  New  York.  His  wife  joined  her 
children  in  the  West  and  died  there.  On 'the  maternal  side  Mr.  Baker  conies 
also  of  Revolutionary  stock,  his  grandfather  Bailey  having  served  in  the 
Patriot  army.  He  married  Abigail  Price  who  survived  him  and  came  to 
Wisconsin  and  died  in  Kenosha  county,  aged  sixty-five  years,  the  mother  of 
four  children. 

Myron  A.  Baker  was  one  year  did  when  his  parents  brought  him  to 
Kenosha  county.  He  was  reared  on  a  farm  and  was  educated  in  the  common 
and  high  schools  of  Kenosha,  subsequently  taking  a  special  course  in  the 
State  University  at  ]Madison.  He  then  entered  upon  the  reading  of  law.  in 
the  meantime  devoting  his  winters  to  teaching,  but  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil 
war  interrupted  his  studies  and  turned  his  thoughts  and  ambitions  into  an  en- 
tirely different  channel. 

Immediately  after  Fort  Sumter  was  fired  ujion  Mr.  Baker  enlisted  for  ser- 
^■ice  in  defense  of  the  flag  of  his  country,  and  has  a  just  claim  of  being  the 
first  enlisted  man  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  an  honor  which  will  be  preserved 
as  a  precious  heritage  by  his  children.     On  that  historical  day,  in  company 


56  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

with  Levi  Howland,  Mr.  Bakei'  started  out  on  horseback  with  the  object  of 
ai'ousing  the  loyal  citizens  of  the  vicinity,  and  through  his  individual  efforts 
and  shining"  example,  he  induced  many  of  his  neighbors  and  schoolmates  to 
enter  the  ranks.  On  account  of  a  defect  in  one  eye,  Mr.  Baker  experienced  no 
little  amount  of  difficulty  in  getting  accepted,  but  his  determination  was  so 
strong  that  he  even  made  a  trip  to  a  celebrated  oculist  at  Chicago  and  had  an 
artificial  eye  inserted.  In  the  hurry  and  excitement  of  the  time  he  managed  to 
pass  the  surgeon  examiner  without  discovery,  and  was  sworn  into  the  service. 
He  still  had  to  pass  another  examination,  and  there  the  disabilitv  was  dis- 
covered, but  on  account  of  his  evident  patriotism  and  the  courage  wdiich  he  had 
already  displayed  his  case  was  made  an  exception  and  the  Government  gained 
a  zealous  defender. 

iVIr.  Baker  served  for  three  months  as  a  private  in  Company  G.,  ist  Wis. 
\^.  I.,  and  received  a  gunshot  wound  in  the  battle  of  Falling  Waters,  which 
sent  him  home.  He  remained  in  Wisconsin,  prevented  from  re-entering  the 
service  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  May,  1862.  For  the  past  forty- four 
years  he  has  been  a  practitioner  here,  and  stands  not  only  as  one  of  the  oldest 
but  as  one  of  the  most  eminent  members  of  his  profession  in  Kenosha  county. 
Almost  since  his  admission  to  the  Bar  he  has  been  Circuit  Court  Commis- 
sioner, and  for  twelve  years  was  district  attorney.  In  politics  he  has  always 
been  identified  with  the  Republican  party. 

Mr.  Baker  was  married  July  2,  1868,  to  Miss  Rachel  F.  Burgess,  daugh- 
ter of  Daniel  C.  and  Sylvia  A.  Burgess,  and  the  following  children  have  been 
born  to  them:  (i)  Myron  E..  who  died  in  1901,  was  a  member  of  the  fac- 
ulty of  the  State  University  at  Salem.  Oregon ;  he  married  Dora  Mavnard, 
and  is  survived  by  one  daughter,  Dorothea.  (2)  Norman  L.  is  a  well  known 
attorney-at-law.  (3)  Robert  V..  also  a  lawyer,  now  district  attornev  for 
Kenosha  county,  married  Ada  Bright,  and  they  have  two  sons,  Robert  V.  and 
Ransom  B.  (4)  Leone  A.  is  a  talented  teacher  of  piano  and  violin.  (5) 
Adeline  R.  is  the  wife  of  Daniel  Goodwnn,  of  Kenosha.  (6)  Ethel  D.  is  a 
teacher  in  the  State  Normal  School  at  Frostburg,  Md.  (7)  Portia  E.  is  a 
student  at  Kemper  Hall  Female  Seminary.  Both  IMr.  Baker  and  wife  are 
members  of  the  Unitarian  Society  of  Kenosha.  They  have  a  beautiful  home 
at  No.  459  Durkee  avenue,  and  several  of  the  sons  reside  with  them. 

Mr.  Baker  was  made  a  Mason  in  1859,  and  belongs  to  Kenosha  Lodge, 
No.  47.  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  to  Kenosha  Chapter,  No.  3,  R.  A.  M. ;  and  to  Racine 
Commandery,  No.  7,  K.  T.  He  is  also  a  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias, 
and  the  Odd  Fellows. 

HON.  FREDERICK  ROBINSON  figured  conspicuously  in  the  business 
and  public  life  of  Kenosha  for  a  period  of  over  forty-five  years.  For  manv 
years  he  was  engaged  in  the  drug  business  there,  but  in  later  years  devoted 
much  time  to  his  other  interests,  being  one  of  the  three  owners  of  the  Whitaker 
Engine  &  Machine  Company,  which  interest  he  sold  some  little  time  before  his 
death,  in  1893,  As  vice-president  of  the  First  National  Bank  he  also  gave 
much  attention  to  that  institution,  holding  the  position  until  his  death,  besides 
being  president  of  the  M.  H.  Pettit  Malting  Company  of  Kenoshn.  His  con- 
nection with  public  affairs  was  likewise  intimate,  and  of  far-reaching  benefit 


«1 


I 


^1 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  57 

in  the  State,  as  well  as  in  his  home  community.  He  was  a  man  of  many  in- 
terests, and  fully  capable  of  looking  after  them.  When  he  came  to  Kenosha  it 
was  a  straggling  village,  and  his  own  fortunes  were  about  in  the  same  condi- 
tion. But  he  improved  them  by  industry  and  well-directed  energy,  and  in 
the  meantime  did  as  much  for  his  adopted  home.  He  developed  with  the  town, 
and,  indeed,  it  might  be  more  properly  said,  with  the  State,  rising  by  his  own 
efforts  from  humble  circumstances  to  a  position  of  wealth  and  influence.  His 
high  standing  was  as  much  the  result  of  his  efforts  to  benefit  others  as  a  tribute 
to  his  personal  achievements,  and  no  man  of  his  day  was  more  respected.  A 
mere  mention  of  the  enterprises  and  movements  with  which  he  was  connected 
would  serve  to  illustrate  the  versatility  of  the  man  and  the  wideness  of  his  in- 
terests. 

Mr.  Robinson  was  born  March  11,  1824,  in  Church  Stretton,  Shropshire, 
England,  and  was  the  youngest  in  a  family  of  nine  children.  His  father  dying 
when  he  was  only  two  years  old,  he  was  obliged  to  make  his  own  way  in  the 
world  and  accept  life's  responsibilities  at  an  unusually  early  age,  and  undoubt- 
edly his  youthful  experience  in  overcoming  obstacles  in  the  road  to  success 
made  his  later  struggles  less  difficult.  He  received  his  education  in  private 
schools  corresponding  to  the  academies  in  this  country,  and  when  about  fifteen 
was  apprenticed  to  a  druggist,  serving  five  years.  His  employer  having  been 
to  the  United  States,  young  Robinson  learned  something  about  the  country 
from  him,  and  in  1845,  with  a  companion,  he  crossed  the  Atlantic  on  an  old 
sailing  vessel  which  landed  him  in  New  York  after  a  passage  of  forty  days. 
In  that  city  he  obtained  a  position  as  clerk  for  M.  Ward,  Close  &  Co.,  whole- 
sale druggists.  In  1846  he  journeyed  west  to  Chicago,  where  he  clerked  a 
short  time  for  Sidney  Sawyer.  Mr.  Sawyer,  establishing  a  drug  store  in 
Kenosha  (then  known  as  Southport),  sent  Mr.  Robinson  to  take  charge  of  it, 
and  in  1847  the  latter  purchased  the  drug  store  of  Mr.  Burnham  at  Southport. 

Mr.  Robinson  served  his  community  in  many  capacities,  besides  helping 
to  build  it  up  commercially.  He  served  several  terms  as  alderman,  was  a  mem- 
ber of  the  county  board  of  supervisors,  was  mayor  of  Kenosha  for  five  years, 
and  twice  represented  his  district  in  the  State  Legislature,  in  1872-73  and  1876- 
"]■],  being  the  first  Democrat  elected  to  that  incumbency  for  over  twenty  years. 
From  1850  to  i860  and  in  1872  he  served  as  chief  engineer  of  the  Kenosha  fire 
department.  Throughout  his  ptiblic  service  he  showed  himself  a  public- 
spirited  and  progressive  official,  and  was  liberal  with  his  means  as  well  as  his 
influence  in  supporting  worthy  movements.  He  took  a  particularly  active  part 
in  promoting  the  excellence  of  the  schools  of  his  city.  As  a  druggist  he  was 
an  enthusiastic  supporter  of  every  movement  calculated  to  raise  professional 
standards,  was  a  member  of  the  Wisconsin  State  Board  of  Pharmacv  from  its 
organization,  and  was  president  of  same  for  some  years,  and  had  the  honor  of 
originating  the  Pharmacy  Act  of  1882.  He  took  the  leading  part  in  adding 
the  Department  of  Pharmacy  to  the  State  University,  going  before  the  Board 
of  Regents  to  urge  its  necessity.  Being  known  as  a  man  of  liberal  and  progres- 
sive ideas  his  opinion  and  judgment  carried  weight  whenever  expressed.  Fra- 
ternally Mr.  Robinson  was  a  Knight  Templar  Mason  and  a  member  of  the  Odd 
Fellows,  and  he  always  took  great  interest  in  the  meetings  of  the  Old  Settlers' 
Society  of  Kenosha  County,  of  which  he  was  at  one  time  the  presiding  officer. 


58  CO^BIEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Mr.  Robinson's  death  occurred  April  ii,  1893,  when  he  was  sixty-nine  years 
old.  He  was  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church,  to  which  his  widow  also  be- 
longs, and  served  a  number  of  years  as  vestryman. 

Mr.  Robinson  was  married,  in  Green  Bay,  \Vis.,  Oct.  3,  1852,  to  Miss 
Ann  M.  Bertholf,  who,  with  seven  children  still  living,  survives  him.  The  chil- 
dren are:  Alma  E.,  widow  of  O.  M.  Pettit,  of  Kenosha;  Richard  T.,  secretarv 
of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company,  of  Racine;  Ida  A.,  Emma  E. 
and  M.  Louise,  who  are  living  with  their  mother  at  the  old  home;  Frederick, 
vice-president  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company  of  Racine ;  and 
Henry  B.,  president  of  the  Merchants  &  Savings  Bank  at  Kenosha. 

JOSEPH  F.  DAVIDSON,  president  of  the  American  Skein  &  Fonndry 
Co.,  Twenty-third  and  Racine  streets,  Racine,  Wis.,  and  vice-presidejit  of 
the  North  American  Lead  Co.,  of  Fredericktown,  Mo.,  was  born  Feb.  18, 
1857,  in  Columbus,  Ohio,  son  of  George  W.  and  Barbara  (Martin)  Davidson, 
natives  of  Ohio. 

George  W.  Davidson,  Sr.,  the  grandfather  of  Joseph  F.  Davidson,  was 
a  native  of  Scotland.  He  came  from  Edinburgh,  and  settled  in  Virginia. 
whence  he  removed  to  Columbus,  Ohio,  where  he  died  aged  seventy-six  years. 
He  was  a  farmer  and  a  civil  engineer,  and  helped  to  survey  the  village  of 
Franklinton,  which  was  afterwards  named  Columbus.  His  wife,  Sarah  Ann 
Mann,  died  aged  seventy-six  years,  leaving  a  family  of  ten  children,  all  of 
whom  lived  to  an  advanced  age.  Mr.  Davidson  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of 
1 81 2,  and  was  in  the  employ  of  the  Government  as  a  surveyor.  Andrew 
Martin,  the  maternal  grandfatlier  of  our  subject,  was  born  in  Germany,  made 
his  residence  in  Baden  Baden,  and  was  a  captain  in  the  German  armv.  He 
came  to  America  about  1835,  and  located  first  in  Virginia,  later  removing  to 
Columbus,  Ohio,  wdiere  he  was  in  the  employ  of  a  rolling  mill  companv.  He 
and  his  wife  Barbara  lived  to  an  advanced  age,  and  at  death  left  four  children. 

George  W.  Davidson,  father  of  Joseph  F.,  had  charge  of  the  motor 
power  department  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad,  at  Columbus,  Ohio,  and  held 
that  position  for  many  years.  He  was  commissioned  during  the  Civil  war  as 
an  inspector,  to  keep  up  Government  repairs  to  rolling  stock.  He  died  in 
Columbus.  His  wife  passed  away  about  1859.  Both  were  Protestants.  They 
had  children  as  follows :  John,  deceased ;  George  W.-,  of  Chicago ;  Joseph 
F.,  of  Racine;  Charles  M.,  of  Columbus,  O. :  and  William  C,  also  of  Colum- 
bus, Ohio. 

Joseph  F.  Davidson  was  reared  in  Columbus.  Ohio.  He  attended  the 
public  schools  and  then  the  High  school,  and  then  began  learning  the  ma- 
chinist's and  coppersmith's  trade,  afterward  learning  the  boilermaker's  busi- 
ness in  the  shops  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Co.,  at  Columbus,  and  fol- 
lowed that  trade  as  a  journeyman  for  a  number  of  years.  About  1879  he 
began  making  investments  in  small  businesses,  and  in  1890  engaged  in  busi- 
ness on  his  own  account,  in  the  manufacture  of  wagon  skeins,  and  in  foundrv 
and  machine  shop  work.  In  February.  1004.  he  came  to  Racine  and  took 
the  presidency  of  the  American  Skein  &  Foundry  Co..  whose  general  offices 
are  located  at  No.  1209-12 13  Chicago  Stock  Exchange  Building.  Chicago. 
111.     He  still  retains  his  interest  in  the  Columbus  institution,  the  two  estab- 


COMME^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  59 

lisliments  belonging  to  the  same  company.  In  the  Racine  plant  one  hundred 
and  twenty-five  and  more  men  are  employed  the  year  round,  and  are  kei^t 
busy  filling  orders.  Mr.  Davidson  located  in  Racine  June  i,  1904,  and  resides 
at  No.  1033  Lake  avenue.  He  is  vice-president  of  the  North  American  Lead 
Company,  is  interested  in  the  Adding  Typewriter  Company,  and  has  other 
investments  and  interests  in  Columbus,  Ohio. 

On  Sept.  25,  1879,  Mr.  Davidson  married  Miss  Louisa  J.  Peift'er,  daugh- 
ter of  John  and  Olive  (Pope)  Peiffer,  and  to  this  union  three  children  have 
been  born:  William  L.,  Florence  E.,  and  Joseph  F.  J.  Of  these  William  L. 
died  in  infancy.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Davidson  are  members  of  the  Episcopal 
Church.  He  is  a  32nd  degree  Scottish  Rite  ISIason,  belonging  to  York  Lodge, 
No.  334,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Ohio  Chapter,  R.  A.  M. ;  Mount  Vernon  Commandery, 
No.  I ,  K.  T. ;  and  the  Scioto  Consistory,  all  of  Columbus.  He  also  belongs 
to  Aladdin  Temple,  Ancient  Arabic  Order,  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine,  of 
Columbus. 

JACKSON  I.  CASE  (deceased)  was  born  Oct.  23,  1865,  the  only  son 
of  Jerome  I.  Case,  whose  sketch  will  be  found  on  another  page  of  this  work. 

The  late  Jackson  I.  Case  was  given  exceptional  educational  advantages 
and  entered  manhood  well  equipped  in  every  way  to  meet  the  emergencies 
and  to  take  part  in  the  struggles  of  life.  After  completing  the  public  school 
course  he  attended  Racine  Academy,  later  the  Michigan  Military  Academy, 
and  still  later  the  Massachusetts  Institute  of  Technology  at  Boston.  In  1883 
he  entered  into  business  as  bookkeeper  for  the  Fish  Brothers  Wagon  Com- 
pany, and  remained  in  their  employ  for  almost  two  years.  For  a  number  of 
years  afterward  he  served  as  secretary  to  his  father,  who  was  one  of  the  most 
prominent  manufacturers  and  leading  citizens  of  Racine. 

It  was  but  a  just  recognition  of  his  sterling  character  and  business  in- 
tegrity that  in  1891  Mr.  Case  was  offered  the  nomination  for  mayor  of 
Racine.  His  political  opponent  was  Adolph  Weber,  who  was  up  for  re- 
election, having  previously  been  elected  by  a  majority  of  726  votes.  It  seemed 
a  little  hazardous  for  one  who  was  little  more  than  a  boy  to  make  the  race 
against  a  man  of  Mr.  Weber's  standing,  but  the  final  count  showed  that  he 
was  elected  by  a  majority  of  286  votes,  thus  changing  the  results  of  the 
previous  year  by  over  one  thousand  votes.  He  bore  the  distinction  of  being 
the  youngest  man  who  ever  held  the  position  in  Racine,  and  was,  at  that  time, 
said  to  be  the  youngest  mayor  in  the  United  States.  He  proved  capable,  and 
little  opposition  was  found  during  his  administration. 

Mr.  Case  was  interested  in  many  important  enterprises.  He  was  presi- 
dent and  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Plow  Works, 
treasurer  and  director  of  .the  Racine  Hotel  Company,  a  director  of  the  ].  I. 
Case  Threshing  ]\Iachine  Company,  and  also  of  the  Manufacturers'  National 
Bank.  He  was  also  interested  in  raising  and  training  turf  stock,  and  owned 
a  number  of  notably  fast  horses,  among  these  being:  "Echora,"  with  a  record 
of  2:2314,  dam  of  "Direct,"  at  that  time  the  fastest  pacer  in  the  world,  with 
a  record  of  2  :o6.  Mr.  Case  served  several  terms  as  secretary  of  the  Wis- 
consin Association  of  Trotting  Horse  Breeders,  and  was  also  vice-president 
and  a  member  of  the  executive  board  of  the  Northwestern  Association  of 


6o  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Trotting  Horse  Breeders.  In  1889  he  served  as  president  of  the  Wisconsin 
Industrial  Association.  He  was  widely  and  favorably  known  all  over  the 
country. 

On  March  25.  1886,  ^Mr.  Case  was  married  to  Miss  Henrietta  Roy,  and 
four  children  were  born  to  them:  Jerome  I.,  Jr.,  (named  for  his  grand- 
father),  Roy,  Harry  and  Percival.    ]\Ir.  Case  died  Jan.  8.  1903. 

JUDGE  MAX  W.  HECK,  Judge  of  the  County  Court,  Racine  county. 
Wis.,  and  a  highly  esteemed  resident  of  the  city  of  Racine,  was  born  in  Chi- 
cago, 111..  June  9,  1869,  son  of  Jacob  and  \^ictoria  (Schlund)  Heck,  natives  of 
Germany. 

The  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  a  soldier  in  the  German  army,  and 
came  to  America  about  1840.  His  wife  died  on  the  trip  across  the  ocean,  and 
he  survived  but  a  year  after,  leaving  at  his  death  a  family  of  ten  children. 

Jacob  Heck,  the  father  of  the  Judge,  came  to  America  in  1851,  first  lo- 
cating at  Racine,  Wis.,  where  he  lived  with  his  bi'other  for  several  years.  He 
then  went  to  Chicago,  111.,  where  he  learned  the  machinist's  trade,  and,  return- 
ing to  Racine,  engaged  in  a  grocery  business,  in  which  he  continued  until  his 
death.  April  12,  1885,  at  the  age  of  forty-two  years.  His  widow,  Victoria 
(Schlund)  Heck,  still  survives  him.  Both  were  Lutherans.  Mr.  Heck  was  al- 
derman of  the  First  ward  at  the  time  of  his  death.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jacob  Heck 
had  these  children :  Jacob  Philip,  of  Memphis.  Tenn. ;  Frank  Fidel,  of  Engle- 
wood,  Chicago;  Judge  Max  W.,  of  Racine:  Charlotte,  wife  of  Emil  Bartz,  of 
Chicago ;  Victor,  of  Racine :  Miss  Minnie,  also  of  Racine :  and  one  that  died  in 
infancy.  Mrs.  Heck  was  a  daughter  of  Anthony  Schlund.  a  native  of  Ger- 
many, who  on  coming  to  the  United  States,  settled  in  Illinois.  In  1855  he  re- 
moved to  New  Jersey,  and  died  at  Newark,  that  State,  about  1882,  when  up- 
wards of  eighty  years  of  age.  Mr.  Schlund  had  been  a  soldier  in  the  German 
army.  He  had  eight  sons,  each  one  of  whom  was  in  the  army  during  the 
Civil  war. 

Judge  Max  W.  Heck  was  brought  to  Racine  when  one  year  old,  and  here 
attended  the  public  and  parochial  schools.  He  later  attended  the  academical 
school,  and  subsequently  supplemented  this  with  a  law  course  at  the  University 
of  Wisconsin  from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1892,  being  admitted  to  the 
Bar  in  June  of  that  year.  He  at  once  began  practice  in  Racine,  of  which  city 
he  was  city  attorney  from  1898  to  iQOi.  In  1901  he  was  elected  Judge  of  the 
County  Court,  and  this  office  he  still  fills,  being  re-elected  in  1905.  Judge  Heck 
was  married  April  29,  1896.  to  Miss  Luella  M.  Pritchard.  daughter  of  Hugh 
and  ^Margaret  (Owen)  Pritchard.  and  to  this  union  one  daughter.  Margery 
Maxine,  has  been  born. 

Mrs.  Heck  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  Judge  Heck  is  a  thirtv- 
second  degree  Mason,  and  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M.; 
Orient  Chapter,  No.  12.  R.  A.  M.;  Racine  Commanderv.  No.  7,  K.  T. :  Wis- 
consin Consistory,  Ancient  and  Accepted  Scottish  Rite  Masons :  and  to  Tripoli 
Temole,  Nobles  of  the  Mvstic  Shrine.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Knights  of 
Pythias  fraternity,  Racine  Lodge.  No.  7,2.  and  is  past  presiding  officer  of  that 
lodsfe.  He  is  a  member  of  Ben  Hur  and  the  Imnroved  Order  of  Red  Men, 
and  of  the  U^nited  Order  of  Foresters,  in  which  last  he  has  filled  all  of  the 


'11^;/'^^' 


1V< 


■^ 


COMME-MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  6r 

chairs  in  the  local,  Grand  and  Supreme  lodges,  including  that  of  Supreme 
Chief  Ranger.  He  also  belongs  to  the  Deutscher  ^laennerverein  of  Racine, 
being  one  of  the  charter  members.  Judge  Heck  is  a  prominent  member  of 
the  Business  Men's  Association  of  Racine. 

FRANK  E.  STEVENS,  M.  D.  The  medical  profession,  as  represented 
in  Kenosha  county,  includes  many  hne  physicians  and  surgeons,  but  none 
who  are  more  devoted  to  their  calling  or  more  justly  deserve  their  success, 
than  Dr.  Frank  E.  Stevens.  He  is  a  native  of  the  county,  born  in  Pleasant 
Prairie  township,  July  ii,  1851,  a  son  of  Alanson  H.  and  Mary  (Tibbets) 
Stevens. 

The  Stevens  family  is  of  English  descent  and  came  to  Wisconsin  from 
the  State  of  New  York,  where  they  had  previously  been  established.  The 
great-grandfather  of  the  Doctor  was  one  of  those  who  helped  to  forge  the 
chain  put  across  the  Hudson  river  to  keep  the  British  from  going  up.  His  son 
Gideon  was  a  farmer  in  New  York  and  a  justice  of  the  peace.  He  married 
and  had  a  large  family,  and  his  seven  sons  were  all  long-lived,  reaching  an 
average  age  of  sixty-eight  years.  Gideon  Stevens  died  when  sixty-five,  and 
his  wife  when  eighty-three  years  old. 

Alanson  H.  Stevens  was  born  in  1809  and  grew  up  on  a  farm,  but 
learned  the  tanner's  trade.  After  migrating  to  Wisconsin  in  1842  he  turned 
his  attention  to  farming  again,  and  settling  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township  he 
worked  for  other  farmers  awhile  and  then  finally  bought  160  acres  to  operate 
for  himself.  He  lived  there  for  a  number  of  years,  but  in  time  sold  that  place 
and  moved  into  Bristol  township,  where  he  bought  eighty  acres,  from  which 
the  village  of  Bristol  was  afterward  laid  out.  The  rest  of  his  life  was  .spent 
there,  and  he  died  in  1896. 

Mr.  Stevens  married  Miss  Mary  Tibbets,  also  born  in  New  York  State, 
though  her  parents  were  born  in  Pennsylvania  and  died  there.  They  were 
farming  people.  Mrs.  Stevens  was  one  of  five  children,  three  sons  and  two 
daughters.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stevens  lived  in  Schoharie  county,  near  Gilboa, 
until  after  their  two  oldest  children  were  born.  To  them  were  born  four 
sons  and  three  daughters,  but  only  three  are  now  living,  viz. :  Martha,  widow 
of  Philander  Buck,  of  Sheboygan,  Wis. ;  Sarah  E.,  Mrs.  William  Gibbs.  of 
Stockton,  Cal. ;  and  Dr.  Frank  E.  The  parents  were  both  members  of  the 
Methodist  Church  and  Mr.  Stevens  was  a  trustee  or  steward  nearly  all  his 
life.  He  was  a  hard-working  man,  honest  and  upright,  and  was  .much  re- 
spected among  the  early  settlers  with  whom  he  had  cast  in  his  lot.  His 
brothers  were  all  men  of  the  same  character. 

Dr.  Frank  E.  Stevens  spent  his  boyhood  on  his  father's  farm  and  gained 
his  early  education  in  the  district  schools.  Afterward  he  attended  the  Osh- 
kosh  Normal  School,  and  was  a  member  of  the  first  class  graduated  from  that 
institution.  Thus  prepared,  he  naturally  entered  upon  the  teacher's  profes- 
sion, and  was  so  engaged  for  three  years.  He  then  entered  the  medical  de- 
partment of  the  Northwestern  University  in  Chicago,  and  was  graduated  in 
1879.  having  the  honor  of  being  valedictorian  of  his  class.  Dr.  Stevens  be- 
gan practicing  in  the  following  year  in  Union  Grove,  and  in  1884  removed 
to  Bristol  where  he  has  had  his  ofifice  ever  since  and  has  built  up  a  large 
practice. 


62  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

On  Jan.  i,  1880,  Dr.  Stevens  was  married  to  Aliss  Ida  N.,  daughter  of 
Benjamin  F.  and  Lucy  (Oakes)  Murphy.  Mrs.  Stevens  is  a  sister  of  N.  O. 
Murphy,  governor  of  Arizona  for  five  years,  and  also  of  F.  M.  Murphy, 
president  of  the  S.  F.  &  P.  Railroad  system  in  Arizona.  Dr.  and  Mrs.  Stevens 
have  had  four  children,  as  follows:  Alice  M.,  who  married  E.  C.  Smith,  of 
Evansville,  Wis.,  now  residing  in  Prescott,  Ariz.,  and  who  has  two  daughters, 
Dorothy  Ethel  and  Frances  Stevens;  Mary  E.,  now  at  home,  who  taught  for 
a  while  at  Brass  Ball,  Wis.,  and  also  in  the  Bristol  graded  school ;  and  two 
children  who  died  in  infancy.  Dr.  Stevens  and  his  wife  belong  to  the  Metho- 
dist Church  and  are  active  in  its  work,  the  Doctor  having  been  chairman  of 
the  board  of  trustees  for  a  number  of  years. 

Dr.  Stevens  keeps  himself  well  posted  on  current  medical  thought  and  is 
in  close  touch  with  his  brother  physicians,  for  he  is  a  member  of  the  County 
and  State  Medical  Societies  and  the  American  Medical  Association.  Besides 
being  examining  physician  for  the  old-line  companies  he  holds  a  similar  posi- 
tion in  Bristol  Camp,  Modern  Woodmen,  in  which  order  he  holds  member- 
ship; he  is  also  a  member  of  Washburn  Lodge,  No.  145,  F.  &  A.  M.  Politi- 
cally Dr.  Stevens  is  a  Republican. 

FREDERICK  H.  HAUMERSEX,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Ra- 
cine, has  resided  in  America  for  nearly  the  whole  of  his  active  career,  but 
his  earlier  life  was  spent  in  his  native  Germany,  where  he  was  born  in  West- 
phalia, Nov.  21,  1841,  son  of  Adolph  and  Hannah  (Groenemier)  Haumersen. 

Adolph  Haumersen  was  born  in  Germany  in  1801,  and  was  one  of  five  or 
six  children  born  to  his  parents,  his  father  dying  in  Germany  well  advanced  in 
years.  Adolph  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  never  left  his  native  land. 
He  married  Hannah  Groenemier,  daughter  of  Carl  Groenemier,  of  Germanv. 
Her  parents  lived  to  a  good  old  age  and  had  several  sons  and  daughters.  To 
Adolph  Haumersen  and  his  wife  were  born  three  sons  and  three  daughters, 
of  whom  only  the  following  are  now  living:  Henry,  of  Westphalia,  Ger- 
many; Henrietta,  wife  of  Carl  W'ellner,  of  Westphalia,  Germany;  William  F., 
of  Ft.  Atkinson,  Wis.;  and  Frederick  H.  The  father  died  in  1869  and  the 
mother  in  1 870.    Both  belonged  to  the  Lutheran  Church. 

Frederick  H.  Haumersen  was  brought  up  in  Germany  and  was  given  the 
good  education  which  the  public  schools  there  offer  to  all  German  youths. 
He  learned  the  brick  making  business  in  the  Fatherland  and  followed  it  there 
for  a  few  years,  but  in  the  spring  of  1867,  immediately  after  his  marriage,  he 
sailed  for  America,  and  has  remained  in  this  country  ever  since.  He  first 
located  in  Milwaukee,  but  after  a  brief  stay  of  but  two  months  in  that  citv, 
he  came  to  Racine,  started  a  brick  yard,  and  has  been  engaged  in  the  manu- 
facture of  bricks  there  from  that  time  to  the  present.  Altogether  he  has  been 
in  the  business  forty-five  years.  His  present  plant  employs  about  sixteen  per- 
sons, and  manufactures  a  million  and  a  half  bricks  annually.  Mr.  Haumersen 
is  thoroughly  posted  in  all  the  details  of  his  business,  is  a  good  financier,  and 
is  possessed  of  much  executive  ability,  so  that  he  has  been  eminently  success- 
ful in  his  operations,  and  ranks  among  the  prosperous  men  of  Racine. 

On  March  10,  1867,  in  Germany,  Frederick  H.  Haumersen  took  to  him- 
self as  his  wife.  Miss  Henrietta  He'brock,  daughter  of  Frederick  and  Fred- 


COI\IMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  63 

ericka  Hebrock.  Nine  children  ha\e  been  born  to  them,  five  of  whom  are 
deceased,  (i)  Frederick  is  a  grocer  in  Racine,  in  which  business  his  father 
also  has  an  interest.  He  married  Miss  Lydia  Kopplin  and  has  two  sons,  Alvin 
and  Wilfred.  (2)  Ernest  died  at  the  age  of  twenty-five.  (3)  John  is  a 
partner  of  his  father  in  the  brick  industry.  His  wife  was  a  Miss  Carrie 
Stauss  and  they  have  three  children,  Irene,  Henry  and  Milton.  (4)  Charles 
is  also  in  partnership  with  his  father  in  the  brick  business.  He  married  (first) 
IMiss  Julia  Wittenweiler,  now  deceased,  by  whom  he  had  one  son,  Charlie. 
He  married  (second)  Miss  Anna  Remer.  To  this  union  also,  one  son  was 
born,  Willis.  (5)  George,  a  resident  of  Chicago,  is  assistant  superintendent  in 
a  wood  finishing  factory.  He  married  i\Iiss  Hattie  Stoeller,  and  has  one 
daughter,  Edith.  (6)  William  died  when  five  years  old.  (7)  Henry  died  at 
the  age  of  twenty-four.  (8)  Nettie  died  when  four  and  a  half  years  old. 
(9)  Mary  died  wdien  three  years  old.  The  family  home  is  at  No.  1423  North 
Main  street,  a  residence  which  Mr.  Haumersen  erected  in  1903.  He  and  his 
wife  are  both  members  of  the  German  Evangelical  Association,  and  prom- 
inent in  the  work  of  that  society.  Politically  Mr.  Haumersen  is  a  Republican 
but  is  little  concerned  in  municipal  affairs. 

Mrs.  Haumersen's  parents  were  born  in  Germany  and  her  mother  died 
there  in  185 1.  In  the  fall  of  1867  her  father  came  to  America  and  lived  in 
Racine  until  his  death  in  1873,  when  sixty-eight  years  of  age.  They  had  a 
family  of  six  children,  of  whom  only  two  daughters  now  remain,  Hannah, 
residing  in  Germany,  the  widow  of  Henry  \\'isman ;  and  Henrietta,  Mrs. 
Haumersen. 

HENRY  H.  HYDE,  secretary  and  manager  of  the  Racine  Gaslight 
Company,  of  Racine,  Wis.,  is  an  experienced  man  in  his  special  line,  having- 
a  thorough  understanding  of  the  practical  side  of  the  business  as  well  as  being 
capable  of  assisting  in  the  management  of  large  enterprises  like  the  above. 

Mr.  Hyde  was  born  Oct.  2,  1865,  at  Cleveland.  O.,  a  son  of  Gustavus 
A.  and  Elizabeth  R.  (Fusselman)  Hyde,  the  former  a  native  of  Massa- 
chusetts and  the  latter  of  Ohio.  Of  the  five  children  born  to  them,  four  sons 
and  one  daughter,  the  survivors  are:  Florence,  wife  of  Marcus  W. 
Levkowicz.  of  Alameda,  Cal. ;  Henry  H.,  of  Racine,  and  Eugene  A.,  of  Cleve- 
land. 

Gustavus  A.  Hyde  was  a  civil  engineer  for  a  number  of  years,  but  he 
is  now  a  gas  engineer  at  Cleveland,  where  he  has  lived  for  over  a  half  cen- 
tury. His  wife  died  Sept.  30,  1903.  aged  seventy-nine  years.  She  was  a 
devoted  member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  to  which  religious'  body  her  husl)and 
also  belongs.  The  father  of  Gustavus  A.  Hyde  was  born  in  Massachusetts, 
where  he  lived  and  died.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  our  subject,  Peter  P. 
Fusselman,  was  a  native  of  Ohio,  was  a  carpenter  by  trade,  and  died  at  Fre- 
mont, Ohio,  aged  seventy-five  years. 

Until  he  was  eighteen  years  old  Henry  H.  Hyde  lived  at  Cleveland,  at- 
tending the  common  and  high  schools,  and  then  learned  the  gas  business 
with  his  older  brother.  Gustavus  A..  Jr..  who  died  at  Saginaw.  Mich.,  where 
Henry  H.  Hyde  lived  for  four  years.  He  then  spent  two  years  in  charge  of 
the  gas  works  at  Michigan  City.  Ind.,  returning  to  Cleveland,  where  he  was 
employed  for  two  years  with  the  Cleveland  Gaslight  and  Coke  Companv. 
During  this  time  he  had  charge  of  the  construction  of  their  No.  2  works.     He 


64  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

then  went  back  to  Saginaw  to  take  charge  of  the  East  Saginaw  Gas  Company 
there,  and  remained  until  June,  1899,  when  he  came  to  Racine  and  took  charge 
of  the  Racine  Gashght  Company,  becoming  secretary  and  general  manager. 
Mr.  Hyde  is  a  self-made  man,  his  success  being  the  result  of  his  persevering 
energy.  In  these  days  of  fierce  competition,  those  who  advance  beyond  their 
fellows  in  any  line  of  endeavor,  must  possess  notable  characteristics. 

On  Sept.  28,  1892,  Mr.  Hyde  was  married  to  Miss  Estelle  L.  Smith, 
daughter  of  Thomas  A.  and  Gertrude  Smith,  and  they  have  two  young  daugh- 
ters, Dorothy  G.  and  Helen  H.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  tlyde  are  members  of  the 
Episcopal  Church. 

JOHN  M.  KEHLOR,  a  prominent  resident  of  Kenosha,  where  he  is  en- 
gaged in  the  real  estate  business  and  as  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  Kenosha 
Realty  Company  (real  estate,  loans  and  insurance),  is  one  of  the  younger  busi- 
ness men  of  the  city,  but  has  already  made  for  himself  an  influential  place 
among  the  substantial  citizens  of  the  place.  His  success  is  due  largely  to  the 
sterling  qualities  of  mind  and  character  for  which  he  is  partly  indebted,  per- 
haps, to  the  Scottish  ancestry  from  which  he  comes. 

The  original  form  of  the  name  in  Scotland  was  MacKehlor.  The  fam- 
ily has  been  represented  in  America  only  through  two  generations,  as  James 
MacKehlor,  the  grandfather  of  John  M.,  never  left  Scotland,  but  passed  his 
life  there  engaged  as  a  manufacturer  of  shawls.  He  died  in  middle  life.  His 
wife  was  Miss  Elizabeth  Brodie  and  she  became  the  mother  of  three  sons  and 
two  daughters. 

John  Christie  MacKehlor,  son  of  James,  was  born  in  Scotland,  Jan.  20, 
1839.  He  came  to  America  in  early  manhood  and  settled  first  at  Milwaukee, 
then  going  to  Elkhorn.  Wis.,  where  he  went  into  the  grain  business,  but  after- 
ward moved  to  St.  Louis.  In  1873  he  returned  to  Wisconsin  and  located  in 
Kenosha,  where  he  continued  in  active  financial  operations  until  his  death. 
Besides  holding  the  office  of  president  of  the  M.  H.  Pettit  Malting  Company, 
he  retained  an  interest  in  a  flouring  mill  in  St.  Louis.  Mr.  MacKehlor  died 
while  a  comparatively  young  man,  being  only  forty-six  years  old  at  the  time 
death  claimed  him,  June  i,  1885.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Isabella 
Remer,  was  born  in  New  York  State  in  1844,  passing  away  May  16,  1888. 
Both  were  Episcopalians.  Their  seven  children  were  as  follows:  Bertha,  wife 
of  L.  W.  Stebbins,  of  Chicago;  John  M.,  of  Kenosha;  James  Remer,  of  Chi- 
cago ;  Stephen  Eugene,  of  Chicago ;  D.  Howard,  of  St.  Louis :  and  two 
daughters,  who  died  in  infancy. 

On  the  Remer  side,  John  M.  Kehlor  is  connected  with  the  Riggs  familv, 
of  Revolutionary  ancestry,  and  his  claim  to  membership  with  the  Sons  of  the 
American  Revolution  rests  on  his  descent  from  Joseph  Riggs,  Jr..  of  Connec- 
ticut. The  following,  taken  from  the  Records  of  the  State  of  Connecticut, 
for  January.  1779,  Vol.  I,  p.  173,  gives  the  line  of  descent. 

(I)  Joseph  Riggs,  Jr.,  was  a  lieutenant  in  the  4th  Company,  2d  Regi- 
metit,  nf  Connecticut  troops,  and  fought  in  the  Revolution.  He  married 
Rachel  Chatfield. 

(II)  Hannah  Riggs  married  Josiah  Whitney. 

dll)      Hannah  Riggs  Whitney  married  Abram  Remer. 

(IV)      Stephen  Henry  Remer  was  the  maternal  grandfather  of  John  M. 


l-— <.Aw"  ,-^K-' 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRArHICAL    RECORD.  65 

Keillor.  He  was  born  in  New  York  State  ami  there  married  Miss  Adeline 
Tibbies.  They  came  to  Wisconsin  in  the  forties,  settling  at  Elkhorn,  where 
Stephen  Remer  died  in  middle  life.  His  wife  lived  to  be  seventy.  They  had 
two  children:    Isabella,  Mrs.  Kehlor;  and  Clarence  E.,  of  Kenosha. 

John  M.  Kehlor  was  born  in  Elkhorn,  Wis.,  March  9,  1867,  and  was  six 
years  old  when  his  parents  moved  to  St.  Louis.  Only  one  year  was  spent  in 
that  city,  as  the  family  settled  in  Kenosha  in  1873,  ^^^d  there  the  boy  attended 
the  public  schools,  completing  the  course  ofYered,  and  graduating  from  high 
school,  after  which  he  entered  Racine  College.  In  1883  he  went  to  St.  Louis 
to  work  in  a  new  flouring-mill  which  his  father  had  just  built  there,  and  he 
remained  in  that  position  till  the  property  was  sold  after  his  father's  death. 
For  a  short  time  after  that  he  worked  in  a  grain  elevator  belonging  to  his  uncle, 
James  B.  M.  Kehlor,  of  St.  Louis,  and  then  went  to  Memphis,  Tenn.,  to  rep- 
resent the  firm  of  Kehlor  Brothers,  flour  manufacturers.  From  here  he  again 
returned  to  St.  Louis  and  went  into  the  grain  commission  business  under  the 
style  of  Kehlor  &  Samuels.  This  partnership  continued  until  1890,  when  Mr. 
Kehlor  withdrew  and  went  into  the  mining  business  in  Joplin,  Mo.  He  re- 
mained there  only  two  years,  and  then  came  north  to  Kenosha,  where,  after 
several  years  on  the  Chicago  Board  of  Trade,  he  established  himself  in  the  real 
estate  and  insurance  business.  He  has  been  very  generally  successful  in  his 
operations,  and  is  one  of  Kenosha's  substantial  men. 

On  Jan.  g,  1889,  John  M.  Kehlor  was  joined  in  wedlock  to  Miss  Francesca 
Reese  Haven,  daughter  of  Julius  and  Ellen  (Spear)  Haven,  of  Chicago,  and 
later  of  Kenosha,  the  former  of  whom  was  a  paymaster  in  the  army.  To  this 
union  three  children  have  been  torn,  James  Malcolm,  Hugh  Spear  and  Ken- 
neth Haven.  Mr.  Kehlor  and  his  wife  both  belong  to  the  Episcopal 
Church.  They  reside  in  a  beautiful  home,  just  completed,  on  the  lake 
shore,  one  of  the  finest  in  the  county.  Mr.  Kehlor  is  very  prominent  in  fra- 
ternal circles,  being  especially  active  in  the  Order  of  Elks,  belonging  to  Keno- 
sha Lodge,  No.  750;  he  w^as  exalted  ruler  two  terms,  besides  being,  in  1903, 
the  district  deputy  grand  exalted  ruler  for  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  and  is  at 
the  present  time  a  member  of  the  Auditing  Committee  of  the  Grand  Lodge. 
Mr.  Kehlor  is  a  thirty-second-degree  Mason,  and  is  af^liated  with  Kenosha 
Lodge,  No.  47.  F.  &  A.  M.;  Racine  Commandery,  No.  7,  Knights  Templar; 
and  the  Mystic  Shrine.     Politically  he  is  a  Republican. 

JOHN  T.  WENTWORTH,  an  attorney-at-law  of  Racine,  Wis.,  is 
well  and  favorably  known  to  the  people  of  that  city.  He  was  born  at  Sara- 
toga Springs,  N.  Y.,  Jan.  13,  1855,  son  of  John  T.  and  Frances  (McDonnell) 
Wentworth,  natives  of  New  York  State. 

John  Wentworth,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject,  spent  his  life 
in  Greenfield,  N.  Y.,  where  he  died  in  middle  life. 

Tohn  T.  Wentworth.  son  of  John  and  father  of  our  subject,  was  a  law- 
yer o"f  Saratoga,  N.  Y..  and  located  in  Chicago  in  1S57.  There  he  practiced 
for  several  years,  and  in  i860  removed  to  Lake  Geneva,  remaining  there  until 
1869.  In  this  vear  Mr.  \Ventworth  removed  to  Elkhorn,  where  he  remained 
until   1877,  when  he  located  in  Racine,  and  there  spent  the  remainder  of  his 


66  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

life,  dying  when  about  seventy-six  years  of  age.  He  \vas  circuit  judge  for 
nine  years,  and  prior  to  that  had  been  clerk  of  the  court  of  Walworth  county, 
and  had  also  served  as  district  attorney.  He  was  prominent  in  Masonic  cir- 
cles. He  married  Frances  McDonnell,  daughter  of  Thomas  McDonnell,  and 
thev  had  these  children;  Jnhn  T.,  of  Racine;  McDonnell,  deceased;  Mary 
E.,  of  Chicago;  and  Jane  R.,  the  wife  of  J.  Pinto,  of  Brussels.  Belgium. 
Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  XV'entworth  were  Presbyterians.  Thomas  McDonnell, 
father  of  Mrs.  Wentworth,  was  a  native  of  irelantl,  of  Scotch  ancestry,  who 
came  from  Porto  Ferry,  in  the  northeast  part  of  Ireland,  to  America,  and  first 
landed  in  New  York  City,  whence  he  went  to  Charleston,  S.  C,  later  return- 
ing to  New  York,  and  settling  in  Syracuse.  He  finally  located  at  Saratoga 
Springs,  where  the  remainder  of  his  life  was  spent,  dying  there  at  an  ad- 
vanced age. 

John  T.  Wentworth,  our  subject,  spent  his  boyhood  days  at  Lake  Geneva, 
Wis.,  attended  the  public  schools  there,  and  was  graduated  from  the  high 
school  in  1873,  later  entering  Yale  College,  from  which  he  was  graduated  in 
1879.  He  had  been  admitted  to  the  Bar  the  year  previous,  and  came  to  Racine 
in  1880,  since  which  time  he  has  practiced  law  here.  Mr.  Wentworth  and  his 
mother  reside  at  No.  170J  College  avenue. 

WTLLIAM  W.  DINGEE,  mechanical  engineer  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Thresh- 
ing Machine  Company,  Racine,  Wis.,  is  a  native  of  Philadelphia.  Pa.,  born 
Jan.  5,  1 83 1,  son  of  Dr.  Obediah  and  Hannah  (Welch)  Dingee,  also  natives 
of  Pennsylvania.  The  Dingees  are  of  Huguenot  descent.  The  grand- 
father of  our  subject,  Jacob  Dingee,  was  a  farmer.  He  and  his  wife,  Eliza- 
beth, both  lived  to  advanced  age. 

Dr.  Obediah  Dingee,  who  was  a  physician,  practiced  all  of  his  active  life 
in  Pennsylvania.  He  died  in  Lancaster  count}',  that  State,  in  1849,  'i^  fi's 
fiftieth  year,  while  his  wife  survived  him  until  1884,  being  eighty-four  years 
old  at  the  time  of  her  demise.  She  and  her  husband  were  Quakers.  They  had 
three  children :  Charles,  a  rose  man  of  West  Grove,  Pa. ;  Dr.  Richartl,  who 
is  deceased;  and  William  W. 

William  W.  Dingee  was  reared  in  Pennsylvania.  He  served  an  appren- 
ticeship in  Baltimore  to  the  machinist's  trade,  and  in  1852  established  the  ma- 
chinist business  in  York,  Pa.,  which  is  now  carried  on  by  A.  B.  Farquhar, 
remaining  there  until  1863,  in  which  year  the  establishment  was  burned  out. 
Mr.  Farquhar  was  Mr.  Dingee's  apprentice,  and  during  the  last  two  years  of 
Mr.  Dingee's  stay  they  were  in  partnership.  In  1863  Mr.  Dingee  came  to  Ra- 
cine, ^^'is.,  and  established  what  was  known  as  the  Geiser  Threshing  Machine 
Company.  A  few  years  later  he  removed  to  Oshkosh.  where  he  was  engaged 
with  the  Sawyer  Manufacturing  Company,  of  which  the  late  Senator  Saw- 
yer was  president.  In  1878  the  Case  Company  bought  out  the  Sawyer  Com- 
pany, and  Mr.  Dingee  has  been  with  this  company  ever  since,  in  Racine.  He 
is  of  an  inventive  turn  of  mind,  and  has  taken  out  perhaps  one  hundred  pat- 
ents. For  the  past  few  years  he  has  traveled  extensively,  visiting  prominent 
points  in  all  parts  of  the  United  States  and  Europe  in  the  interests  of  the 
company. 

On  Oct.  28,   1855,  Mr.  Dingee  was  married  to  INIiss  }>Iartha  Parker  at 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  67 

the  home  of  Rev.  Theodore  Pa.ker,  her  uncle,  in  Boston,  Mass.  Mrs.  Dingee 
was  born  in  Lexington,  Mass.,  June  13,  1831,  daughter  of  Isaac  and  Martha 
M.  (Miller)  Parker,  and  a  great-granddaughter  of  Capt.  John  Parker,  of 
Revolutionary  fame.  Two  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dingee : 
Gertrude  Parker,  a  Latin  teacher  in  the  Hyde  Park  high  school,  Chicago;  and 
Theodore,  who  died  aged  seven  years.    Mrs.  Dingee  is  a  L'nitarian. 

Politically  Mr.  Dingee  is  a  Republican,  and  he  was  at  the  convention 
which  nominated  Fremont  for  President,  since  which  time  he  has  voted  the 
Republican  ticket  regularly.  He  owns  and  occupies  a  beautiful  home  at  No. 
1 1 24  Main  street.  Mr.  Dingee  was  an  early  member  of  the  American  Society 
of  Mechanical  Engineers. 

The  founder  of  the  Parker  family  in  America  was  Thomas  Parker,  of 
Lynn,  Mass.,  who  settled  here  in  1637.  Capt.  John  Parker,  Mrs.  Dingee's 
great-grandfather,  died  at  the  battle  of  Bunker  Hill,  in  1775,  having  been  in 
command  of  the  company  of  sixty  men  who  went  out  to  meet  the  British 
force  of  eight  hundred  at  Lexington.  This  was  the  first  battle  of  the  Revo- 
lutionary war.  His  son,  John  Parker,  was  a  farmer  and  pump  maker.  He 
married  Hannah  Stearns,  and  they  reared  a  family  of  eleven  children,  the 
youngest  of  whom  was  the  Rev.  Theodore  Parker,  of  the  28th  Congrega- 
tional Society  of  Boston,  who  died  in  Florence,  Italy,  in  i860,  and  whose 
grave  in  the  Protestant  cemetery  there  is  still  visited  by  many  tourists  from 
all  parts  of  the  world.  His  birthplace  at  Lexington  is  marked  by  a  granite 
monument  on  the  old  Parker  farm.  Isaac  Parker,  Mrs.  Dingee's  father,  was 
a  farmer  at  Lexington,  Mass.,  carrying  on  operations  on  a  farm  which  had 
been  in  the  family  since  171 2,  and  which  is  now  owned  by  Mrs.  Dingee's 
brother,  Charles.  There  Isaac  Parker  died  in  1872,  aged  seventy-five  years, 
his  wife  surviving  him  until  1897,  when  she  passed  away,  lacking  a  few  weeks 
of  being  ninety-six  years  old.  She  and  her  husband  had  eight  children,  five 
sons  and  three  daughters,  and  of  this  family.  Mrs.  Dingee  and  Charles,  who 
was  a  soldier  of  the  Civil  war,  being  in  a  Massachusetts  regiment,  are  the 
only  living  members. 

Mrs.  Dingee  is  a  Daughter  of  the  American  Revolution ;  is  an  advocate 
of  Woman  Suffrage,  and  edited  the  Wisconsin  Citiccn.  a  Woman  SufTragist 
paper,  for  seven  years  gratuitously.  She  and  her  husband  are  very  highly 
esteemed  throughout  the  city. 

PATRICK  H.  CONNOLLY,  city  engineer  and  a  member  of  the  lioard 
of  public  works,  ex-officio,  of  Racine,  \\'is.,  was  torn  in  Rochester,  N.  Y., 
April  24.  1863,  son  of  Patrick  and  Eliza  (Beaumont)  Connelly,  the  former  a 
native  of  County  Westmeath.  Ireland,  and  the  latter  of  Centerville,  Mich. 
The  father  of  Patrick  H.  was  a  wagonmaker,  emigrating  to  America  many 
years  ago  and  settling  in  Rochester,  N.  Y.  There  he  resided  until  1864,  when 
he  removed  to  Racine,  which  has  since  been  his  home.  He  at  first  engaged  in 
the  setting  up  of  threshing  machines  in  the  shops  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Company, 
afterward  being  employed  by  Bull  &  Wooster,  at  the  Bain  \Vagon  Works 
(Kenosha),  and  finally  at  the  Fish  Brothers'  Wagon  Works,  where  he  has 
remained  for  the  past  forty  years.  Mrs.  Eliza  (Beaumont)  Connolly  died 
Nov.  22,  1878,  aged  forty  years,  both  she  and  her  husband  being  attendants 


68  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

of  the  Catholic  Church.  The  following  children  were  born  to  ]\lr.  and  Mrs. 
Connolly;  William  E.,  of  Allegheny,  I'a. ;  John  E..  of  Racine;  Patrick  H. ; 
Frank,  of  Racine;  James,  of  Allegheny,  Pa.,  and  Mary  Veronica,  of  Racine. 

Patrick  H.  Connolly  was  but  one  year  old  when  brought  to  Racine  by 
his  parents.  There  he  grew  to  manhood,  and  he  has  made  that  city  his  home 
most  of  his  life.  He  attended  the  public  and  high  schools,  graduating  from 
the  latter  in  1881,  and  was  a  student  in  the  civil  engineering  department  of 
the  State  University,  completing  his  course  in  1885.  Since  that  year  he  has 
been  engaged  in  professional  work.  Since  1899  he  has  served  as  city  engineer, 
having  previously  been  village  engineer  of  Riverside  for  a  period  of  seven 
years.     In  politics  he  is  independent. 

On  May  28,  1891,  Patrick  H.  Connolly  married  Miss  Catherine  A.  Hass, 
daughter  of  George  A.  and  Sarah  x\.  (Houpt)  Hass,  and  to  them  have  been 
born  the  following:  George  H.,  on  Aug.  5,  1892;  Frances  E.,  Nov.  13, 
1893;  Henry,  March  20,  1896,  and  Robert,  April  21,  1899.  Mr.  Connolly 
lives  in  a  pleasant  home,  at  No.  1310  Wisconsin  street,  where  the  many  friends 
of  himself  and  wife  are  always  welcome. 

CHARLES  B.  McCANNA  was  born  April  21,  1851,  in  Jefferson  county, 
N.  Y.,  and  was  reared  in  his  native  State  on  a  farm.  He  attended  the  dis- 
trict schools  and  the  high  scliool,  graduating  from  the  latter,  after  which  he 
taught  school  for  five  or  six  winters.  His  early  training  however,  had  been 
along  agricultural  lines,  and  he  found  his  business  instincts  developing  best  in 
that  direction.  He  engaged  in  dairying  and  cheesemaking  in  Jefferson  county, 
also  running-  a  cheese  factory  there  for  two  years,  but  he  finally  decided  to  try 
his  fortunes  in  the  West.  In  the  spring  of  1876  he  migrated  to  Wisconsin,  and 
after  spending  two  months  at  Fond  du  Lac  located  in  Allen's  Grove,  Walworth 
county,  where  he  purchased  a  cheese  factory  in  company  with  T.  P.  Davis. 
They  continued  together  for  two  years,  after  which  Mr.  McCanna  located  in 
Rochester,  Racine  county,  where  he  remained  a  year,  removing  thence  to 
Springfield,  Wis.,  where  he  married.  He  resided  there  for  several  years,  in 
1887  removing  to  Burlington,  where  he  has  since  been  established.  Here  he 
opened  a  large  cheese  factory  and  creamery,  also  becoming  interested  in  a  num- 
ber of  the  leading  factories  in  the  surrounding  country.  In  1893  he -associated 
himself  w'ith  R.  G.  Fraser  of  Glasgow,  Scotland,  and  the  firm  name  is  known 
as  INIcCanna  &  Fraser  Company,  a  corporation  which  is  still  in  existence,  and 
is  at  the  present  time  running  the  old  business  which  was  organized  by  C.  B. 
McCanna  &  Co.,  consisting  of  some  twelve  or  fifteen  creameries  in  the  sur- 
rourding  country  -which  they  are  operating.  They  are  also  purchasing  the 
butter  from  several  more  independent  creameries,  marketing  their  product  in 
Philadelphia.  Pennsylvania,  where  the  company  has  its  own  store  at  No.  40 
South  Water  street,  and  distributes  its  own  butter  to  the  choice  trade  of  that 
city.  * 

In  1898  he.  in  company  with  R.  G.  Fraser  and  others,  organized  the  Wis- 
consin Condensed  Milk  Company,  which  concern  is  still  running  and  doing 
an  immense  business.  They  also  have  a  branch  office  at  Pecatonica.  III.,  and 
their  output  ranges  from  ten  to  twelve  cars  of  condensed  milk  per  week.  Mr. 
McCanna  is  president  of  l)oth  con-ipanies.  arifl  his  son.  Charier  Rov.  is  secre- 


I 


4./d,  "/IV^c 


OL^t^t^-t^ 


COMME.MORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  69 

tary.  The  two  companies  employ  from  100  to  125  people,  and  occnpy  the 
original  and  another  plant  built  in  1901-OJ. 

In  September,  1879,  Mr.  McCanna  was  married  to  Pauline  Cheeseman, 
a  native  of  Racine  county,  daughter  of  Edward  and  Eliza  (Johnson)  Cheese- 
man,  originally  of  England,  who  were  pioneer  settlers  in  Racine  county.  One 
son  has  been  born  to  Mr.  and  ]Mrs.  McCanna,  Charles  Roy. 

The  family  belongs  to  the  Catholic  Church,  and  Mr.  ]\IcCanna  affiliates 
with  the  Knights  of  Columbus.  He  is  independent  of  political  connection,  pre- 
ferring to  support  the  men  and  measures  he  favors  most  without  party  bias. 
He  is  president  of  the  Burlington  school  board,  and  vice  president  of  the  Bank 
of  Burlington. 

Mr.  McCanna  is  an  influential  citizen  of  Burlington  and  one  of  the  most 
prominent  business  men  in  this  section  of  Racine,  in  addition  to  the  interests 
previously  mentioned  being  president  of  the  Burlington  Land  and  Improve- 
ment Association  and  president  and  treasurer  of  the  Burlington  Brass  Works. 
He  is  a  man  of  ability  and  acumen,  honest  and  upright  in  every  dealing,  and 
though  strict  in  all  his  transactions  is  respected  and  liked  where\'er  known. 

HORACE  T.  SANDERS  (deceased).  The  city  of  Racine  had  in 
Horace  T.  Sanders  a  whole-hearted  patriot  and  a  man  whose  devotion  to  the 
interests  of  his  State  and  country  probably  hastened  the  end  of  a  noble  and 
notable  life.  He  was  born  at  Sheldon,  Genesee  Co.,  N.  Y..  Mav  i,  1820,  and 
died  Oct.  6,  1865. 

Ichabod  and  Sallie  (Turner)  Sanders,  his  parents,  were  natives  of  New 
York  and  they  had  three  children,  all  of  whom  have  passed  from  the  scene 
of  life.  The  early  records  of  the  family  were  not  preserved,  hence  it  is  im- 
possible to  trace  the  source  whence  came  the  noble  qualities  which  Horace 
T.  Sanders  possessed,  or  to  draw  a  lesson  from  the  early  surroundings  which 
so  evidently  shaped  his  career. 

Mr.  Sanders  received  his  collegiate  training  at  Lockport,  N.  Y.  He 
iDecame  a  member  of  the  legal  profession,  and  in  ]\Iay.  1842,  settled  in 
Racine,  Wis.,  soon  afterward  being  elected  district  attorney  for  the  county, 
a  position  he  filled  for  many  years  under  both  Territorial  and  State  govern- 
ments. In  1847  he  was  elected  a  member  of  the  Constitutional  Convention 
and  served  in  that  body  as  chairman  of  the  committee  on  General  Provisions, 
which  embraced  the  consideration  and  perpetuation  of  many  of  the  most  im- 
portant articles  in  the  new  Constitution ;  be  was  one  of  the  signers  of  the  Con- 
stitution, which  he  drafted.  He  took  a  prominent  part  in  the  general  debates 
and  proceedings,  and  because  of  his  legal  training,  education  and  intelligence, 
was  able  to  render  very  useful  and  valuable  services.  He  served  as  a  member 
of  the  Assembly  from  Racine  in  1853  ^"<:1  *°o'^  ^"  important  i^art  in  the  pro- 
of that  body.  During  the  impeachment  trial  of  Judge  Levi  Hubbell,  he  was 
chairman  of  the  committee  of  managers.  In  1862  he  was  appointed  colonel 
of  the  19th  Wisconsin  Infantry  and  was  assigned  for  service  to  the  i8th 
Army  Corps.  Among  other  duties  to  which  he  was  called  during  the  several 
following  years  were  those  pertaining  to  the  rank  of  brigadier-general  and 
of  provost  judge  of  the  city  of  Norfolk,  Va.  The  fatigues  and  hardships  of 
several  campaigns  on  the  field,  with  consequent  exposure,  proved  too  much 


70  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

for  his  physical  constitution  and  his  death  came  as  the  result.  He  lived  long 
enough,  however,  to  witness  the  final  triumph  of  the  Union  cause  which  was 
so  dear  to  his  heart. 

Mr.  Sanders  was  married  March  4,  1848.  to  Miss  Eunice  Wentworth, 
daughter  of  Ebenezer  and  Catherine  (Walrath)  Wentworth — a  most  nappy 
marriage.  They  became  the  parents  of  eight  children,  one  son  and  seven 
daughters,  viz. :  Horace  Turner,  Martha,  jeanie,  Ella  W.,  Margaret,  Sarah 
Fredrika,  Catherine  and  Eunice  W.  The  only  son,  Horace,  died  in  his 
seventh  year.  Martha  died  in  her  ninth  year.  Jeanie  is  unmarried.  Ella  W. 
married  John  Edwin  Pyatt,  and  they  have  one  son,  Horace  Sanders ;  they 
reside  in  Oak  Park,  Chicago.  Margaret  and  Fredrika  died  in  girlhood. 
Catherine  married  Rev.  W.  A.  Masker,  an  Episcopal  clergyman.  Eunice  W. 
married  Richard  Bernard  Hughes  and  had  two  daughters,  Eunice  \V.  and 
Dorothea  W. 

Mrs.  Sanders  is  a  descendant  of  Elder  William  Wentworth,  of  York- 
shire, England,  and  her  parents  were  natives  of  New  York  State  and  were  of 
English  and  i!)utch  descent,  the  founders  of  the  Wentworth  family  having 
come  to  America  from  England.  The  father  was  an  architect  and  house- 
builder,  and  came  to  Wisconsin  in  1842,  settling  with  his  family  at  Raymond 
Center,  where  he  bought  a  farm  which  he  subsecjuently  sold  and  in  1862 
moveil  to  Minnesota.  He  settled  at  Northfield.  Rice  county,  and  died  there 
the  following  year,  aged  eighty-three  years  and  eleven  months.  He  was  a 
soldier  in  the  war  of  1812.  The  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wentworth  were 
ten  in  number,  two  sons  and  eight  daughters,  Mrs.  Sanders  being  one  of  the 
survivors.  The  maternal  grandparents  of  Mrs.  Sanders  were  Jacob  H.  and 
Margaret  (Webb)  Walrath,  who  lived  and  died  in  New  York.  The  grand- 
father Walrath  was  a  Revolutionary  soldier. 

Col.  Sanders  belonged  to  a  very  important  period  of  time  in  the  history 
of  Wfs'consin  and  his  place  is  with  her  distinguished  sons.  In  his  profession 
he  was  a  man  of  marked  ability.  In  every  circle  he  was  the  center.  His  per- 
sonality was  that  of  a  cultivated,  affable  gentleman,  whose  friends  and  ad- 
mirers were  legion.  His  widow,  Mrs.  Eunice  (Wentworth)  Sanders,  is  still 
li\ing  in  Racine,  remarkably  active  in  body  and  mind  for  one  of  lier  years. 

CHRISTOPHER  C.  GITTINGS,  of  the  well-known  law  firm  of  Pal- 
mer &  Gittings,  Racine,  Wis.,  is  a  prominent  member  of  the  Racine  Bar. 
He  was  born  in  Caledonia,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  Oct.  29,  1862,  son  of  William 
and  Elizabeth  (Gittings)  Gittings,  natives  of  Montgomeryshire,  Wales.  The 
paternal  grandfather  came  from  Wales  with  his  son  William,  and  spent  the 
remainder  of  his  life  on  the  farm,  upon  which  he  died,  aged  eighty-nine  years. 
His  children  were :  William,  the  father  of  Christopher  C. ;  Margaret,  Mrs. 
Price,  deceased:  and  Jane,  the  wife  of  Ellis  Gittings.  The  maternal  grand- 
father of  our  subject,  Thomas  Gittings,  was  a  farmer  of  Wales,  where  he 
died. 

William  Gittings,  our  subject's  father,  has  always  been  a  farmer,  but  is 
now  living  retired.  He  came  from  Wales  in  1840,  settling  in  New  York  State, 
and  lived  at  Utica  and  in  that  vicinity  for  fifteen  years.  In  11^55  he  came  to 
Racine  county.  Wis.,  and  purchased  a  farm  of  140  acres  in  Caledonia  town- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  71 

ship,  which  she  stiH  owns.  Several  years  ago  he  and  his  wife  moved  to  Ra- 
cine, where  she  died  in  1903,  aged  seventy-four  years,  in  the  faith  of  the  Con- 
gregational Church,  to  which  Mr.  Gittings  also  belongs.  He  has  held  various 
township  offices.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Gittings  had  children  as  follows : 
Kate,  the  wife  of  John  Pugh,  of  Racine;  William  G.,  manager  of  the  Gold 
Medal  Camp  Furniture  Company,  of  Racine ;  Mary,  deceased,  who  was  the 
wife  of  Charles  E.  Kittinger;  Christopher  C,  of  Racine;  Miss  Elizabeth,  of 
Racine;  Ward  R.,  of  Racine;  and  John  T.,  an  attorney  at  Union  Grove,  Wis., 
secretary  of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society. 

Christopher  C.  Gittings  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm  in  Caledonia 
township  and  attended  the  district  schools,  graduating  from  McMiini's  Acad- 
emy in  1881.  Some  years  later  he  attended  Racine  College,  and  during  that 
time  studied  law  in  the  offices  of  Fuller  &  Fuller,  being  admitted  to  the  Bar 
in  1889.  The  same  year  he  commenced  practice  in  his  present  office.  Henry 
T.  Fuller,  the  senior,  died  July  12,  1889,  and  some  time  later  Mr.  Gittings, 
Percival  S.  Fuller  (son  of  Henry  T.)  and  Colin  H.  Fyffe  formed  a  partner- 
ship and  practiced  for  a  time,  Mr.  Gittings  having  charge  of  the  Racine 
office,  while  Mr.  Fuller  and  Mr.  Fyi^e  ran  the  Chicago  office.  This  partnership 
continued  one  year,  when  Mr.  Fuller  withdrew  his  interest  in  the  Racine  of- 
fice and  confined  his  practice  to  Chicago.  Mr.  Gittings  and  W^alter  C.  Palmer 
then  formed  the  partnership  which  still  continues,  under  the  firm  name  of 
Palmer  &  Gittings. 

On  May  16,  1901,  ■Mr.  Gittings  married  Miss  Laura  A.  Jones,  daughter  of 
Capt.  John  W.  and  Jane  Jones.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Gittings  are  members  of  the 
Park  Avenue  Congregational  Church,  of  which  he  is  treasurer  and  deacon. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  has 
been  a  member  of  Lodge  No.  32,  Knights  of  Pythias,  for  many  years.  Po- 
litically he  is  a  Republican.  He  has  held  numerous  offices,  having  been  city 
attorney  for  five  years,  on  the  State  Central  Committee  for  many  years,  a 
delegate  to  several  State  conventions,  is  chairman  of  the  Republican  County 
Central  Committee,  treasurer  of  the  Republican  State  Central  Committee, 
and  at  present  postmaster  of  Racine.  Mr.  Gittings  resides  at  No.  1303  Main 
street,  where  he  owns  a  fine  home,  also  being  the  owner  of  a  nice  residence 
property  on  Asylum  avenue,  and  three  acres  of  ground.  He  is  president  of 
the  Gold  Medal  Camp  Furniture  Company,  in  which  he  owns  a  half-interest, 
and  is  interested  in  farm  lands  in  Racine  county  and  South  Dakota. 

ALBERT  L.  FLEGEL.  a  practical  architect  and  author  of  several 
works  on  architecture,  who  resides  at  No.  613  Wisconsin  street,  Racine,  was 
bom  on  Grand  Island,  New  York,  Sept.  13,  1864,  son  of  Frederick  and  Alice 
C.  (Neef)  Flegel. 

Frederick  Flegel  was  born  in  Erie,  Pa.,  while  his  wife  was  a  native 
of  Buffalo,  N.  Y.  Their  union  was  blessed  with  seven  children,  namely : 
Albert  L.,  of  Racine;  Harry  D.,  of  Racine;  Nellie,  who  married  R.  W.  Lang- 
don,  of  Pardeeville,  Wis. ;  Eugene,  who  lived  but  three  months ;  and  Chaun- 
cey  R.,  Benjamin,  and  Frederick,  all  of  Racine.  Mr.  Flej-el  came  to  Colum- 
bia county.  Wis.,  about  1876,  and  remained  there  for  ten  years,  after  which 
he  went  to  the  northern  part  of  the  State  for  five  years,  and  in  1891  located 


y2  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGR.VrHICAL    RECORD. 

permanently  in  Racine,  w  here  he  still  resides.     He  is  a  contractor  and  builder 
by  occupation. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Albert  L.  Flegel  lived  to  a  godd  old  age, 
and  was 'the  father  of  a  large  family.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mr. 
Flegel  was  born  in  Switzerland,  was  a  farmer  and  speculator  in  land,  and  lived 
to  the  age  of  seventy-eight,  while  his  wife  was  ninety-nine  years  old  when 
she  died.    They  had  thirteen  children. 

Albert  L.  Flegel  lived  in  Tonawanda,  N.  Y.,  until  he  was  eleven  years 
old,  and  attended  school  there.  From  that  time  he  has  resided  almost  en- 
tirely in  Wisconsin,  growing  to  manhood  in  Columbia  county.  He  worked  at 
carpentry  under  his  father  for  three  and  a  half  years,  and  then  began  contract- 
ing. After  ten  years  in  that  line,  he  took  up  architectural  work,  beginning  in 
Chicago,  but  in  1888  he  located  in  Racine.  In  addition  to  the  practical  side  of 
the  business,  he  has  also  established  a  mail  order  office  and  has  orders  from  all 
sections.  Mr.  Flegel  has  written  seven  books  on  architecture,  along  such  lines 
as  "Flegel's  Modern  Homes,"  and  is  likewise  the  founder  and  proprietor  of  a 
magazine  entitled  "The  Modern  Home  Builder,"  which  has  a  good  circulation. 
Mr.  Flegel's  office  is  located  at  No.  220  Fifth  street. 

The  marriage  of  Mr.  Flegel  to  Miss  Sarah  A.  ]\IcKinley,  daughter  of 
John  and  V.  V.  McKinley,  was  celebrated  in  1889.  Both  are  members  of  the 
Universalist  Church,  attending  the  Good  Shepherd's.  Mr.  Flegel  takes  no 
active  part  in  politics,  but  votes  the  Republican  ticket.  Sociallv  he  belongs  to 
Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M. 

JOSEPH  DULLER  (deceased)  accomplished  as  much  as  anv  one  man 
in  the  industrial  and  municipal  development  of  Racine,  Wis.,  and  stood  i^er- 
sonally  for  all  that  was  honorable,  public-spirited  and  charitable.  As  a  Ger- 
man-American citizen  he  was  an  honor  to  his  Fatherland  and  to  his  adopted 
country,  such  as  he  representing  an  element  in  the  national  life  which  is  at  the 
foundation  of  its  greatness.  From  early  youth  until  his  death  in  his  seventy- 
fourth  year  he  was  virtually  a  resident  of  the  city  of  Racine,  and  during  that 
long  period  of  nearly  sixty  years  he  continued  steadily  to  weave  his  personality 
into  the  confidence  and  admiration  of  the  community.  His  friends  and  fellow 
citizens  not  only  rewarded  him  with  an  unbounded  faith  in  his  ability  and  in- 
tegrity, but  with  manifestations  of  their  loyalty  in  such  forms  as  the  mayoralty 
and  the  aldermanship. 

Mr.  Miller  was  born  in  Niederzer,  Rhenish  Prussia,  Aug.  8,  1832.  a  son 
of  Reiner  and  Elizabeth  (Gramlich)  Miller.  Until  he  was  fifteen  years  of  age 
he  was  educated  in  the  thorough  manner  of  the  average  German  boy.  On 
Sept.  27,  1847,  however,  his  father  decided  to  leave  the  old  country  and  search 
for  better  labor  conditions  and  opportunities  for  his  growing  family,  in  the  land 
across  the  ocean,  arriving  in  New  York  City  the  latter  part  of  October  on  the 
sailing  vessel  "Shakespeare."  On  the  .-^rd  of  November  he  left  BufYalo  on  the 
steamer  "Saratoga"  and  arrived  in  Milwaukee  on  the  nth  of  the  month.  Ac- 
quaintances had  already  established  themselves  at  Racine,  the  prosoerous  little 
town  in  the  woods  of  Wisconsin,  and  thither  he  traveled  with  wife  and  five 
children.  There  thev  located,  and  both  i-iarents  lived  in  the  city  to  an  advanced 
age.     Their  children  were:     Joseph,  of  Racine;  Margaret,  wife  of  \Mlliam 


/^^^^^^^--^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  73 

Peil,  of  Milwaukee;  Henry  J.;  Constantine,  who  met  death  by  drowning-  in 
1855,  in  the  Mississippi  river;  Clara,  wife  of  C.  T.  Schweitzer,  vice-president 
of  The  J.  Miller  Company;  and  Rev.  William  G.,  a  priest  of  the  Catholic 
Church  now  stationed  at  Waukesha,  Wisconsin. 

Joseph  Miller  was  a  well-grown,  fairly  educated  youth  of  fifteen  years 
when  his  parents  brought  him  to  Racine  in  November,  1847.  In  the  succeed- 
ing spring  he  entered  into  an  apprenticeship  with  McDonald  &  Roby,  shoe- 
makers, afterward  working  as  journeyman  and  foreman,  and  in  the  fall  of 
1857,  purchased  the  business  of  his  former  employers.  In  the  purchase  of  the 
original  stock  he  not  only  used  all  of  his  savings,  but  was  obliged  to  draw  upon 
his  credit,  which  even  at  that  early  day  was  considerable.  Within  a  few  years 
he  had  so  expanded  the  business  that  it  rec^uired  commodious  quarters,  and  he 
was  an  acknowledged  leader  in  the  boot  and  shoe  trade  of  the  city.  Pros- 
perity rewarded  his  industry,  his  fair  dealing  and  his  ability,  and  fortune,  also, 
was  with  him  until  Jan.  5,  1866,  when,  in  a  few  hours,  a  disastrous  fire  swept 
away  all  his  possessions. 

A  very  short  time  was  given  by  Mr.  Miller  to  mourn  over  his  misfor- 
tune. He  had  mastered  the  shoe  business,  both  in  the  manufacturing  and  dis- 
tributing lines,  and  he  soon  resumed  operations,  although  on  a  very  small  scale. 
In  1870  he  admitted  one  of  his  former  clerks,  A.  G.  Peil,  into  partnership,  and 
they  continued  together  until  1872,  when  Mr.  Miller  sold  the  store  to  Mr.  Peil 
for  the  purpose  of  devoting  himself  solely  to  the  manufacturing  business,  feel- 
ing confident  that  he  could  successfully  engage  in  that  specialty  by  carefully 
pushing-  excellent  goods  at  a  fair  rate  of  profit.  In  1875  he  admitted  into  part- 
nership Charles  T.  Schweitzer,  his  former  foreman,  and  Rush  S.  Adams,  once 
his  bookkeeper,  and  in  that  year  the  title  of  J.  Miller  &  Co.  was  adopted. 

The  new  company  made  no  phenomenal  leap  into  public  favor ;  in  fact  the 
growth  was  at  first  slow,  but  following  out  the  founder's  ideas,  the  superior 
Cjuality  and  finish  of  the  goods  served  as  their  greatest  advertisement,  and  by 
1875  the  annual  output  had  increased  to  $500,000.  In  the  year  named  with  an 
idea  of  securing  better  conditions,  Mr.  Miller  and  his  associates  located  in 
Dubuque,  Iowa,  but  the  removal  was  no  sooner  realized  by  the  capitalists  of 
Racine  than  they  agreed  that  he  was  too  valuable  a  man  to  permit  another  city 
to  enjoy  the  benefits  his  business  would  bring  to  it.  Hence  they  offered  a  build- 
ing and  grounds  for  his  factory  at  the  corner  of  Fourth  street  and  Lake  ave- 
nue if  he  would  return  and  Mr.  Miller,  seeing  in  this  not  only  a  friendly  inter- 
est but  a  good  business  proposition,  accepted,  with  the  proviso  that  he  should 
later  be  permitted  to  purchase  the  property.  This  condition  was  accepted  and, 
several  years  later,  carried  out  by  Mr.  Miller  to  the  letter.  The  return  to  Ra- 
cine was  both  a  tribute  to  his  business  and  personal  valuers  a  large  factor  in 
the  prosperity  and  standing  of  the  city,  and  a  change  which  seemed  to  favor 
his  individual  interests,  since  he  had  discovered  that,  as  Dubuque  was  not  a 
manufacturing  center,  it  was  tlifhcult  to  secure  and  retain  the  skdled  labor 
which  he  required. 

The  business  continued  to  be  conducted  with  an  ever-increasmg  growth, 
at  the  corner  of  Lake  avenue  and  Fourth  street,  until  it  became  necessary  to 
erect  a  larger  factorv  for  its  accommodations,  at  the  corner  of  Third  street  and 
Lake  avenue.     In  1882,  during  the  great  fire  which  so  nearly  destroyed  the 


74  COM  MELIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

entire  business  portion  of  Racine,  his  plant  was  again  swept  away.  Emerging 
from  the  ordeal  a  heavy  loser,  but  unthsmayed,  lie  immediately  commenced 
the  erection  of  a  larger  and  more  modern  manufactory,  which  was  a  portion  of 
the  great  establishment  in  which  the  departments  of  "The  J.  Miller  Company" 
were  conducted  at  the  time  of  the  founder's  death. 

At  this  time  (  1882)  the  firm  of  J.  IMiller  &  Co.  was  incorporated  under 
the  name  of  The  J.  Miller  Company,  with  the  following  officers  and  stock- 
holders:  Jos.  iNIiller,  president;  C.  T.  Schweitzer,  vice-president:  Frank  J. 
Miller,  treasurer:  Henry  C.  ]Miller.  superintendent;  and  George  W.  Miller, 
secretary,  with  Joseph  F.  Miller,  bookkeeper. 

Mr.  Miller's  life  of  constant  and  strenuous  labor,  the  burdens  of  which 
were  undoubtedly  increased  by  the  anxieties  incident  to  at  least  two  calamities 
in  his  business  career,  at  length  undermined  a  naturally  vigorous  constitution, 
so  that  for  about  a  year  before  his  death,  Dec.  29,  1905,  he  was  a  suiTerer  from 
heart  disease.  At  the  time  of  his  decease  The  J.  Miller  Company  furnished  em- 
ployment to  375  hands,  and  the  money  disbursed  to  them  finds  its  way  into  the 
various  avenues  of  business  carried  on  in  Racine.  It  is  one  of  the  most  impor- 
tant industries  of  Racine  and  has  been  developed  mainly  through  the  business 
capacity  and  personal  force  of  the  deceased :  but  fair  credit  must  also  be  given 
his  associates,  wdio  are  men  of  keen  business  perceptions  and  honorable  meth- 
ods. Mr.  Miller  was  interested  in  a  number  of  other  successful  enterprises  as 
president  of  the  Racine  Knitting  Company,  the  Turner  Stove  Company,  the 
Belle  City  Railway  Company,  and  the  Racine  Nail  and  Tack  Co. ;  director  of 
the  Chicago  Rubber  Clothing  Company,  the  Racine  Hotel  Company,  and  the 
Cappon  Bertsch  Leather  Company,  of  Holland,  Mich.  At  one  time  he  was  also 
president  of  the  Racine  Business  Men's  Association,  a  director  of  the  Manu- 
facturers' National  Bank  and  a  stockholder  in  the  First  National. 

In  public  life  Mr.  Miller  served  the  city  a  number  of  times  on  its  edu- 
cational boards,  was  an  alderman  of  the  Third  ward,  and  in  1888  was  mayor 
of  the  city.  It  was  during  his  administration  of  municipal  afifairs  that  the 
water  works  system  was  projected.  He  was  one  of  the  greatest  promoters  of 
public  interests  and  industries  in  Racine,  being  particularly  prominent  in  the 
Business  Men's  Association,  an  organization  effected  for  the  purpose  of  ad- 
vancing the  welfare  of  the  city  in  every  particular.  On  account  of  failing 
health  he  was  finally  oljliged  to  withdraw  from  all  active  participation  in  busi- 
ness and  live  in  comparative  retirement  at  his  beautiful  home.  No.  iioo  Main 
street.  Racine,  where  he  passed  away,  sincerely  and  universally  mourned. 

Mr.  Miller  was  married  Oct.  26,  1854,  at  Racine,  to  Miss  Theresa  Bauer, 
who  was  born  in  Germany.  Dec.  15.  1831.  and  they  have  had  six  children,  five 
sons  and  one  daughter,  namely:  William,  deceased;  Elizabeth,  deceased; 
Frank  J. ;  Henry  C. ;  George  W..  and  Joseph  F.,  all  connected  with  the  J.  Mil- 
ler Company. 

Frank  J.  Miller  is  treasurer  of  The  J.  Aliller  Company,  as  well  as  a  direc- 
tor (if  the  Manufacturers'  Bank.  He  was  treasurer  of  the  Belle  City  Street 
Railway  Company,  until  it  was  sold  to  the  Milwaukee  Company.  He  has 
serx-ed  terms  as  school  commissioner,  and  has  always  taken  a  lively  interest 
in  educational  matters.     Formerly  he  was  president  of  the  Business  Men'.s 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  75 

Association.  His  marriage  took  place  Aug.  3.  1888,  to  Miss  Minnie  B.  Whit- 
ford,  daughter  of  C.  P.  and  Ellen  (Sommers)  Whitford. 

Henry  C.  Miller  is  superintendent  of  the  factory  of  The  J.  ]\Iiller  Com- 
pany. For  two  terms  he  served  as  alderman  of  the  Second  ward.  He  married 
Miss  Cozie  Clarke,  daughter  of  John  J.  and  Margaret  (Harter)  Clarke,  of 
Waukesha,  and  they  have  two  children,  Clarke  and  Noel. 

George  W^  Miller  is  secretary  of  The  J.  Miller  Company.  He  is  also  a 
prominent  and  useful  citizen,  and  has  served  as  school  commissioner  for  three 
terms.  He  married  Josephine  Thomas,  daughter  of  Peter  and  Mary 
(Scheuer)  Thomas,  of  Racine,  and  they  have  three  children,  Joseph,  Grover 
and  Bernard. 

Joseph  F.  Miller  is  bookkeeper  for  The  J.  Miller  Company.  He  married 
Miss  Catherine  Reichert,  daughter  (.)f  Nicholas  and  Catherine  (Becker) 
Reichert. 

Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  Miller  were  members  of  the  St.  Rose  Catholic 
Church  of  Racine,  to  which  the  widow  is  still  devoutly  attached.  The  de- 
ceased was  not  only  an  earnest  and  liberal  supporter  of  the  church  but  a  warm 
and  useful  friend  to  hospital  work,  and  his  entire  life  ofifers  a  notable  example 
of  worldly  success  based  on  morality  and  enlightened  by  charity  and  benevo- 
lence. His  capable  sons  were  so  reared  that  they  can  handle  large  affairs  with 
marked  success,  a  fact  which  no  doubt  was  a  source  of  deep  pleasure  to  their 
venerable  father  during  his  last  days,  as  was  the  added  realizatiiin  that  tliey 
were  following  his  example  in  the  higher  life. 

GEORGE  H.  RIPLEY,  M.  D.,  a  successful  physician  and  surgeon  of 
Kenosha,  was  born  in  Fond  du  Lac  county,  W'is.,  in  the  town  of  Oakfield, 
October  22,  i860,  son  of  Charles  T.  and  Lucy  A.  (Holton)  Ripley,  both  of 
whom  were  of  New  England  ancestry. 

The  paternal  grandparents  were  Allen  and  Laura  Ripley,  natives  of  Ver- 
mont, and  they  were  the  parents  of  two  sons  and  one  daughter,  all  now  de- 
ceased. 

On  the  maternal  side  Dr.  Ripley  traces  his  descent  through  the  Holton 
family  to 

(I)  W'illiam  Holton.  born  in  England  in  161 1,  who  came  to  America 
in  1634,  settling  in  Massachusetts,  and  died  Aug.  12,  1691.  His  wife  Mary 
died  Nov.  16.  1691. 

(II)  John  Holton.  the  date  of  whose  birth  is  not  given,  died  April  16, 
1712.     He  married  Abigail,  who  was  living  in  1718. 

(III)  William  Holton,  born  in  1679,  died  Nov.  13,  1755.  He  married 
Dec.  5,  1706,  Abigail  Edwards. 

(IV)  Samuel  Holton,  born  in  1710,  died  April  11,  1767.  He  married 
Joanna  Morton,  who  died  Dec.  8,  1796,  aged  eighty-two. 

(V)  Samuel  Holton  (2).  born  in  1743.  died  Jan.  7,  1801.  He  mar- 
ried May  19,  1770,  Sarah  Alexander,  who  died  July  28,  183 1,  aged  eighty- 
two. 

(VI)  Samuel  Holton.  born  in  :VIassachusetts  in  1770.  died  Dec.  i, 
1851.  He  married  June  22.  1809,  Polly  Stratton,  who  died  Sept.  12,  i860, 
aged  seventy-nine. 

iWl)'    Lucy   A.   Holton,  born   in   Northfield,   :\Iass.,   in    1820,   married 


76  COMMEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Charles  T.  Ripley  and  became  the  mother  of  Dr.  George  H.  Ripley.  She  is 
directly  connected  with  the  family  from  which  D.  L.  Moody  descended. 

Charles  T.  Ripley  was  born  in  Bennington,  Vt.  in  1816.  He  went  West 
to  ^^'isconsin  in  the  early  days  and  settled  in  Fond  du  Lac,  where  he  worked 
is  a  daguerreotypist.  His  death  occurred  in  Oakfield,  Oct.  20,  i85i,  and  his 
wife  lived  till  1887.  Both  were  Congregationalists.  Their  three  sons 
are:  Charles  S.,  of  Aurora,  S.  Dak.;  Frederick  W.,  of  Oakfield;  and  Dr. 
George  H.,  of  Kenosha. 

George  H.  Ripley  grew  up  on  his  father's  farm  and  remained  there  till 
he  was  of  age.  His  early  education  was  acquired  in  the  district  schools, 
while  later  he  attended  Lawrence  L^niversity,  at  Appleton,  Wis.  In  1889  he 
entered  Hahnemann  Medical  College,  in  Chicago,  from  which  he  was  gradu- 
ated in  1 89 1.  At  first  he  practiced  in  Chicago,  but  soon  decided  upon  Kenosha 
as  offering  a  better  field,  and  has  ever  since  been  established  in  that  city  as  a 
physician  and  surgeon.  He  has  built  up  a  good  practice  and  is  enthusiastic  in 
his  profession.  He  keeps  himself  thoroughly  up-to-date  on  all  medical 
methods  and  theories,  and  is  in  close  touch  with  others  of  the  medical  fra- 
ternity through  his  membership  in  the  Kenosha  County  Medical  Society,  the 
Wisconsin  State  Homoeopathic  Society  and  the  American  Institute  of  HomcE- 
opathy.  The  Doctor  resides  at  No.  661  Prairie  avenue,  where  he  built  a  home 
in  1901. 

Dr.  Ripley  was  united  in  marriage,  Dec.  8,  1886,  to  Miss  Florence  M. 
Fellows,  daughter  of  Henry  and  Matilda  (Stannard)  Fellows.  Mrs.  Ripley 
is  a  member  of  the  M.  E.  Church. 

Henry  Fellows,  father  of  Mrs.  Ripley,  was  born  in  St.  Lawrence,  X.  Y., 
son  of  James  and  Mary  (Marks)  Fellows,  and  married  iMatilda  Stannard,  of 
Cattaraugus,  N.  Y.,  daughter  of  Hiram  P.  and  Dorothea  (DeLapp)  Stan- 
nard, and  granddaughter  of  Sidney  DeLapp,  who  came  to  this  country  w-ith 
LaFayette,  and  for  his  services  in  the  Revolution  was  awarded  a  grant  of  land 
in  Cattaraugus  county,  N.  Y.  Henry  Fellows  was  a  farmer.  In  an  early 
day  he  came  from  New  York  State  to  Wisconsin,  settling  in  Bristol,  Kenosha 
county,  where  he  and  his  wife  ended  their  days. 

CHARLES  A.  WUSTUM,  stockman  and  prominent  citizen  of  Racine, 
Wis,  was  born  there  Nov.  21,  1849,  ^  son  of  Hon.  George  and  }ilaria  (Utner) 
Wustum,  natives  of  Bavaria,  Germany. 

Sebastian  Wustum,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Charles  A.  Wustum, 
was  a  native  of  Bavaria,  Germany,  and  was  a  landlord  and  butcher  there. 
After  his  wife  died  he  came  to  America  and  settled  at  Racine,  where  he  died 
aged  eighty-four  years.  His  only  son  by  his  first  marriage  was  George  Wus- 
tum, father  of  Charles  A.  By  a  second  marriage  he  had  two  children,  Fred- 
erick and  Christian. 

Mr.  Wustum's  maternal  grandfather  was  a  native  of  Germany,  who 
also  came  to  America,  and  located  at  Brooklyn,  N.  Y.  Still  later  he  came  to 
Wisconsin,  and  made  his  home  part  of  the  time  with  his  daughter  here  and 
part  with  a  daughter  at  Galena,  III,  where  he  died  aged  eighty-eight  years. 
His  wife  died  young.     They  had  three  children.     He  was  a  man  of  great 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  -jy 

scholarship,  spoke  a  number  of  languages,  and  was  engaged  in  teaching  for 
many  years. 

George  W'ustum  came  to  America  and  settled  in  New  York  City,  where 
he  followed  his  trade  of  butcher.  There  he  married  and  in  1841  he  came  to 
Racine  and  engaged  in  a  butchering  business,  and  was  established  for  many 
years,  standing  in  the  same  relation  to  the  Racine  of  his  time  as  that  occupied 
by  the  Case  Company  of  to-day.  He  was  considered  a  public  benefactor  here, 
as  he  certainly  was  a  man  of  importance.  He  raised  the  first  military  com- 
pany in  the  Territory,  and  built  a  military  hall  on  Main  street  which  stood 
for  many  years.  In  1855  he  was  elected  mayor  of  Racine,  was  a  member  of 
the  city  council  for  many  years,  and  at  one  time  was  elected  to  the  Legisla- 
ture. He  received  a  commission  from  Gov.  William  A.  Barstow  of  the  Ter- 
ritory as  paymaster-general  of  the  militia  of  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  with  the 
rank  of  lieutenant-colonel,  on  April  i,  1854.  On  May  22,  1852,  he  was  com- 
missioned major  of  the  Separate  Battalion  of  the  city  of  Racine,  by  Gov. 
Leonard  J.  Farwell.  His  first  commission  was  given  by  Gov.  Nelson  Dewey, 
of  Wisconsin,  as  captain  of  a  volunteer  company  of  infantry,  on  Sept.  3,  1850. 
and  by  the  same  governor,  on  Oct.  2,  1851,  he  was  commissioned  brigade  in- 
spector of  the  2nd  Brigade  of  the  ist  Division  of  the  militia  of  Wisconsin, 
with  the  rank  of  major  of  cavalry.  When  real  war  came  upon  the  country  he 
was  not  backward.  In  1862  he  raised  a  company  of  102  men  for  the  Civil 
war  and  was  commissioned  captain  of  that  company,  serving  in  the  war  until 
failing  health  compelled  his  resignation.  He  held  many  offices  of  trust  and 
was  continually  honored  as  long  as  he  lived.  One  of  the  newspapers  of  Racine 
in  announcing  his  death,  said  that  he  had  a  "grander  and  nobler  record  than 
gold."  He  died  April  14,  1892,  aged  seventy-seven  years.  His  wife  had  passed 
away  previously,  dying  Oct.  2^,  1884,  aged  sixty-seven  years.  Both  were  mem- 
bers of  the  Lutheran  Church.  They  reared  four  sons  and  one  daughter,  viz. : 
John  G..  now  deceased;  Sebastian,  of  Racine;  Mary  B.,  wife  of  William 
Smieding,  of  Racine;  Charles  A.,  of  Racine;  and  George,  Jr.,  deceased.  Mr. 
Wustum  belonged  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  K  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  to  Orient 
Chapter,  No.  12,  R.  A.  M.  Politically  he  was  a  Democrat.  He  w-as  a  man 
whose  efforts  in  securing  pensions  for  the  soldiers  made  him  much  beloved 
by  them. 

Charles  A.  ^^'ustum  was  reared  until  the  age  of  fifteen  years  in  Racine, 
and  he  attended  the  common  schools  and  the  Dan  Howard  Commercial  Col- 
lege, and  then  entered  the  Chicago  University,  wdiere  he  continued  three  years. 
His  first  business  connection  was  with  his  brother  Sebastian,  and  they  operated 
a  market  at  the  corner  of  i8th  street  and  W'aljash  avenue,  in  Chicago,  until 
Februarv,  1878.  Thev  then  bought  the  "Home  Stake"  gold  mine,  in  the  Black 
Hills,  at  Lead,  S.  Dak.,  which  they  sold  in  the  second  year  to  George  Hearst 
of  San  Francisco,  father  of  the  'present  Congressman  and  newspaper  pub- 
lisher. On  disposing  of  their  mine.  Sebastian  returned  to  Chicago  and  later 
to  Racine,  but  Charles  A.  did  not  close  out  his  interest  in  mining  property._  as 
he  afterward  owned  and  worked  the  "Pacacho"  gold  mine,  at  Central  City. 
S.  Dak.,  which  he  later  sold  and  then,  in  1881.  went  to  Montana  and  turned 
his  attention  to  lumber  and  stock  interests.  Montana  was  yet  a  Territory  and 
Charles  A.  Wustum  built  the  first  frame  house  at  Bilhngs,  which  is  now  the 


78       .       COMMEAIORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

■  county-seat  of  Yellowstone  county.  He  ser\-ed  four  years  as  postmaster  at 
Billings  under  President  Cleveland  and  was  one  of  the  dominant  men  of  that 
locality.  While  living  at  Billings  he  erected  a  number  of  handsome,  sub- 
stantial buildings  and  owned  the  finest  home  there,  and  he  was  the  founder 
of  the  Montana  Lumber  Company  and  chairman  of  the  executive  committee 
that  was  instrumental  in  the  creation  of  Yellowstone  county.  He  was  the 
godfather  of  the  county,  giving  it  its  name.  He  owned  a  large  horse  and  cat- 
tle ranch  of  some  three  thousand  acres  there,  and  held  his  in.terests  until  1901, 
when  he  sold  out.  His  father  and  younger  brother,  George,  Jr.,  had  died,  and 
his  father  left  him  a  farm  in  the  west  end  of  his  estate.  Charles  A.  accepted 
the  west  end  farm,  and  bought  another  on  the  east  end,  and  combined  three 
farms  comprising  325  acres  just  at  the  edge  of  Racine,  on  which  he  has  built 
an  elegant  home.  He  owns  city  property  in  addition  to  his  interests  mentioned, 
and  he  has  stock  in  various  enterprises. 

Mr.  Wustum  was  married  I'^eb.  i,  1879,  to  Miss  Jennie  Electa  Stewart, 
daughter  of  Alexander  and  Martha  (Dunlap)  Stewart.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wus- 
tum are  members  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  He  belongs  to  Lodge  No.  52, 
B.  P.  O.  E. ;  to  Racine  Lodge.  No.  18,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Orient  Chapter,  No.  12, 
R.  A.  M.;  Racine  Commandery,  No.  7,  K.  T.,  and  is  a  32nd  degree  Scottish 
Rite  Mason.  He  belongs  to  Milwaukee  Valley  Consistory,  Nobles  of  the 
Mystic  Shrine,  and  he  and  his  wife  are  also  members  of  the  Eastern  Star. 
Politically  he  is  a  Democrat. 

The  late  Alexander  Stewart,  father  of  Mrs.  Wustum.  was  born  in  Scot- 
land, and  her  mother  was  a  native  of  Germany.  They  both  came  to  America, 
married,  and  resided  at  several  points,  first  in  Illinois,  and  later  at  Adel,  Iowa, 
where  Mrs.  Wustum  was  born.  There  Mrs.  Stewart  died  Feb.  12,  1861,  aged 
forty-seven  years.  The  father  lived  with  his  different  daughters  until  his  death, 
Nov.  23,  1901.  when  he  was  aged  eighty-nine  years.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Stewart 
had  eleven  children,  seven  of  whom  grew  to  maturity,  and  four  now  sur- 
vive, of  which  i\Irs.  Wustum  was  the  youngest.  Mr.  Stewart  was  a 
stockman  and  large  landowner.  His  father  was  a  native  of  Glasgow  and 
a  shipowner  in  his  native  land.  He  came  to  America  and  settled  in  Missouri, 
where  he  died  and  was  interred,  living  to  the  advanced  age  of  ninety-four 
years.  He  left  a  large  family,  a  number  of  them  teing  now  prominent  resi- 
dents of  the  various  Western  States.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mrs. 
\\'ustum  was  born  in  Germany,  and  also  lived  until  well  advanced  in  years. 
The  Wustum  family  and  all  its  connections  are  people  of  prominence  and 
standing,  representatives  of  the  best  American  life  grafted  on  to  the  sturdy 
stock  of  Germany  and  Scotland. 

JAMES  CAPE,  Jr.,  Chief  of  the  Fire  Department  of  Racine,  W^is..  an 
office  he  has  filled  since  June  i,  1900,  is  a  native  of  New  York  City,  where  he 
was  born  Jan.  3,  1855.  son  of  James  and  Elizabeth  (Jones)  Cape,  natives  of 
Bristol,  England,  who  came  to  America  when  young  people. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  James  Cape,  Jr.,  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade 
and  lived  at  Langford,  England,  where  he  died  in  1849.  His  widow  surviN'ed 
him  some  fourteen  years.  Both  were  members  of  the  Church  of  England. 
James  Cape  was  a  shoemaker  liy  trade  in  his  native  country.     He  came  to 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  79 

America  in  1854,  locating  in  New  York  City,  where  he  remained  three  years. 
He  then  removed  to  Racine,  Wis.,  where  for  the  past  twenty-three  years  he  has 
engaged  in  general  contracting,  having  his  sons,  Charles  and  Albert,  associated 
in  business  with  him,  under  the  tirm  name  of  James  Cape  &  Sons.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  James  Cape  had  these  children:  James,  Jr. ;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  Clar- 
ence Williams,  proprietor  of  the  "Grand  Hotel,"  Oklahoma  City,  Okla. ; 
Charles,  a  contractor  of  Racine;  Albert,  also  a  contractor  of  .Racine;  and 
Benjamin,  captain  of  the  Hook  &  Ladder  Company,  Racine  Fire  Department. 

James  Cape,  Jr.,  was  brought  to  Racine  when  two  years  of  age,  and  his 
entire  life  has  been  spent  here.  After  attending  the  public  schools  he  learned 
the  shoemaker's  trade  under  his  father,  and  followed  that  occupation  until  June 
I,  1900.  He  has  been  connected  with  the  Racine  Fire  Department  for  twenty- 
eight  years,  being  in  the  call  departinent  up  to  1900.  He  first  served  as  truck- 
man, from  which  he  was  promoted  to  captain,  this  being  in  1882.  He  then 
served  as  assistant  fire  marshal  for  five  years,  and  when  Chief  Abessor  re- 
signed June  I,  1900,  the  Civil  Service  Commission  appointed  Mr.  Cape  fire 
marshal,  or  chief  of  the  fire  department,  an  office  he  still  retains.  The  Fire 
Department  of  Racine  consists  of  six  companies,  five  engine  houses  and  three 
fire  steamers.  No.  5  Engine  House  is  headquarters.  There  are  thirty  men  in 
the  department,  five  hose  carriages  and  one  hook  and  ladder  truck,  and  there 
are  twelve  head  of  horses. 

Chief  Cape  was  married  June  22,  1882.  to  ^liss  Jennie  Eagan,  of  \\'au- 
kesha,  daughter  of  John  and  Elizabeth  (McGuire)  Eagan,  and  ten  children 
have  been  born  to  this  union:  Henry  J.,  Elizabeth,  Carrie.  \\'inifred,  James, 
Loretta.  Marie.  Lulu.  Clarence  and  Charles.  Mrs.  Cape  is  a  member  of  the 
Catholic  Church,  but  her  husband  is  not  connected  with  any  particular  church. 
Politically  he  is  a  Democrat.  His  fine  residence  is  situated  at  No.  472  Water 
street.  Chief  Cape  is  vice-president  of  the  Mechanics'  Building  Association, 
and  is  a  popular  member  of  the  Newhall  Club. 

ANDREW  HILDEBRAND.  superintendent  of  the  Uihlein  Brothers' 
stock  farm,  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township.  Kenosha  county,  was  born  in  Mil- 
waukee. Wis.,  Dec.  8.  1856.  son  of  Frederick  and  Sophia  (Bergh)  Hilde- 
brand. 

The  father  of  Mr.  Hildebrand  was  born  in  Hanover.  Germany,  and  the 
mother  in  Christiania,  Norway.  They  had  five  children,  as  follows :  George, 
deceased:  Christian,  of  Milwaukee:  Frederick;  Andrew  of  Pleasant  Prairie 
township ;  and  Annie,  wife  of  Andrew  Osen,  of  Oconomowoc.  Wis.  For  some 
years  Frederick  Hildebrand  filled  the  position  of  bridge-tender  in  Milwaukee, 
but  later  embarked  in  the  dairy  business  in  Lake  township,  which  he  continued 
for  eighteen  years.  He  had  come  to  America  in  1844.  and  had  settled  immedi- 
ately in  Milwaukee.  He  died  aged  sixtv-three  years,  and  his  wife  passed  away 
at  the  same  age.  They  were  worthy  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  During 
the  Civil  war,  Mr.  Hildebrand  was  drafted  into  the  army,  but  his  son  George 
went  as  a  substitute,  and  was  rejected  on  account  of  rheumatism. 

Andrew  Hildebrand  was  reared  in  Milwaukee,  and  attended  the  public 
schools  of  that  city,  and  also  took  a  commercial  course  in  the  Spencer  Business 
College.    For  a  number  of  vears  he  was  associated  with  his  brother  Frederick 


8o  CO^niE^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

in  a  general  contracting  bnsiness,  and  almost  all  his  life  he  has  been  interested 
in  horses.  For  some  fifteen  or  twenty  years  he  followed  farming  at  intervals, 
owning,  with  his  brother,  what  was  known  as  the  Joe  Arnold  farm,  and  he 
still  owns  a  farm  of  eighty  acres  in  the  town  of  Oconomowoc.  Since  1902  he 
has  been  superintendent  of  Uihlein  Brothers'  stock  farm,  which  contains  more 
than  one  thousand  acres  of  land  and  he  has  under  his  care  over  four  hundred 
standard-bred  trotting  horses.  One  of  these,  "Electrification,"  a  black  stallion, 
sixteen  years  old,  who  had  not  had  harness  on  for  six  years,  was  placed  on 
the  track  by  Mr.  Hildebrand,  and  he  made  a  trotting  record  of  2  :i9>^.  Mr. 
Hildebrand"  is  a  very  good  judge  of  horseflesh,  and  he  has  made  a  great 
success  as  a  trainer. 

On  Nov.  9,  1882,  'Sir.  Hildebrand  was  united  in  marriage  to  I\Iiss  Annie 
Nelson,  daughter  of  Nels  and  Harriet  (Austin)  Nelson,  and  they  have  had 
four  sons  and  three  daughters :  Raymond,  Dean,  Gordon,  Douglass.  Irma, 
Bessie  and  Blanche.  Both  Bessie  and  Blanche  are  deceased,  the  first  dying 
aged  ten  years,  and  the  latter  when  a  babe  of  twelve  months. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Hildebrand  were  natives  of  Norway,  where  their 
parents  were  born.  They  came  to  America  and  were  among  the  very  early 
settlers  of  Waukesha  county,  Wis.,  where  the  father  died  May  5,  1884,  aged 
sixty-three  years,  and  the  mother  in  1879,  aged  fifty- four  years.  They  had 
six  children,  namely :  Charles,  of  Grand  Forks,  N.  Dak. ;  Mary,  wife  of 
Christ  Peterson.'  of  Clarence,  Iowa :  Annie,  wife  of  Mr.  Hildebrand ;  Andrew, 
of  Milwaukee ;  Hattie,  wife  of  Thomas  De  Baney,  of  Shermerville,  111. ;  and 
Sophia,  who  died  aged  nineteen  years.  Mrs.  Hildebrand's  paternal  grand- 
father was  Nels  Nelson.  ■    ■ 

Politically  Mr.  Hildebrand  is  a  stanch  Republican,  and  he  is  serving  as 
deputy  sheriff  tmder  Sheriff  Vietch.  He  filled  this  office  under  two  other 
officials.  Sheriffs  King  and  Blair,  for  four  years  in  Waukesha  county.  He 
belongs  to  the  order  of  ]\Iodern  Woodmen  of  America.  For  a  number  of 
years  he  has  been  a  member  of  the  South  Baptist  Church  of  Milwaukee. 

STEPHEN  HURLBUT  SAGE  (deceased)  had  the  distinction  of  being 
the  oldest  continuous  resident  of  Racine,  Wis.,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death, 
June  28,  1905,  resided  at  No.  938  Superior  street,  that  city.  For  many  years 
he  was  an  insurance  agent.  He  was  born  in  Berkshire  county,  Mass.,  near 
Sandisfield,  Aug.  i,  1818.  the  son  of  Joel  and  Bethia  (Hurlbut)  Sage,  the 
former  a  native  of  Connecticut  and  the  latter  of  Vermont.  They  had  two 
sons,   Stephen  H.  and  Sidney  A.,  both  deceased. 

Great-grandfather  Samuel  Sage  and  his  sons  were  Revolutionary  sol- 
diers. The  Sage  family  in  America  descended  from  David  Sage,  a  native 
of  Wales,  born  in  1639,  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Middletown,  Conn.,  where 
he  located  in  1652. 

Enos  Sage,  the  paternal  grandfather,  was  born  in  Massachusetts,  and 
was  a  farmer  by  occupation.  He  spent  his  entire  life  at  Coldbrook,  where 
he  died  at  an  advanced  age.  He  was  twice  married,  his  first  wife,  wdiose 
maiden  name  was  Chamberlain,  being  mother  of  our  subject's  father.  Enos 
Sage  had  a  family  of  fifteen  children. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  Ste]>hen  H.  Sage  was  Samuel  Hurlbut,  who 


WP^ 


'^^f^' 


T 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  8i 

married  Jerusha  Higgins.  He  was  a  native  of  Vermont,  where  he  died,  and 
was  also  a  soldier  in  the  Revolutionary  war.  His  wife  survived  him  a  num- 
ber of  years,  being  ninety  years  of  age  at  her  death. 

Joel  Sage,  the  father  of  Stephen  H.,  was  a  farmer  by  occupation,  ana 
operated  a  sawmill  during  his  young  manhood.  He  later  became  a  merchant 
at  Sandistield,  but  failed  in  business  in  183 1.  After  this  misfortune  he  be- 
gan looking  for  a  location  and  removed  to  Hoosick  Falls,  where  he  remained 
perhaps  a  year.  In  the  summer  of  1834  he  removed  West,  to  Ashtabula  county, 
Ohio,  where  he  spent  the  following  winter,  and  then  filled  a  little  leather 
valise  and  started  for  Chicago,  where  an  old  acquaintance  of  his,  a  law-yer 
from  his  native  town,  was  making  his  home.  While  in  this  law-yer's  ofifice 
Capt.  Strong  of  Racine  came  in  and  they  were  introduced,  Capt.  Strong  be- 
ing informed  that  Mr.  Sage  was  looking  for  a  location.  The  Captain  called 
his  attention  to  Root  river,  where  he  had  a  claim,  and  offered  to  let  Mr.  Sage 
ride  his  pony  down,  to  look  the  country  over,  which  offer  was  gladly  accepted. 
No  lands  were  yet  surveyed  in  that  district.  Mr.  Sage  looked  around  for 
a  day  or  two  and  then  rode  to  Milwaukee,  but  as  he  did  not  like  the  locality 
(as  there  was  too  much  water  there)  he  came  to  Racine,  where  he  took  charge 
of  the  log  cabin  of  Capt.  Knapp,  and  commenced  work  there.  Soon  after  he 
purchased  a  claim  of  107  acres  of  land  on  the  present  site  of  Racine,  for 
which  he  gave  a  barrel  of  pork  and  ten  dollars  in  money.  He  improved  the 
land,  and  continued  to  reside  there,  but  had  to  fight  for  the  claim  against 
others,  a  claim  committee  finally  awarding  the  land  to  him.  There  were 
many  "floats"  located  in  those  days,  fraudulent  claims  under  a  supposed  law, 
and  in  1837  Judge  Butterfield  of  Chicago  went  to  Washington,  D.  C,  and 
discovered  that  these  "floats"  were  fraudulent  and  the  law  permitting  them 
was  declared  void.  Mr.  Sage  then  gave  Judge  Butterfield  one-quarter  of 
his  land,  the  undivided  interest.  The  locality  was  known  as  Sagetown,  and 
Mr.  Sage  remained  until  his  death.  Up  to  that  time  the  land  ofifice  was  lo- 
cated at  Green  Bay,  but  in  1838  it  was  removed  to  Milwaukee  and  Mr.  Joel 
Sage  secured  permanently  a  pre-emption  claim.  He  died  in  1840,  aged  fifty- 
eight  years.  His  wife  survived  him  until  1868,  and  was  eighty-two  years 
old  at  the  time  of  her  death.  Religiously  they  were  Congregationalists.  Mr. 
Sage  was  appointed  a  Territorial  judge  by  the  government  and  acted  as  a 
justice  of  the  peace  for  a  number  of  years,  being  the  first  justice  in  Racine 
county.  Kenosha  county  was  at  that  time  attached  as  a  part  of  Racine 
county.  Mr.  Sage  performed  the  marriage  ceremony  of  James  Kinzie,  one 
of  the  very  first  settlers  of  Chicago,  who  settled  there  wdien  k  w-as  known  as 
Fort  Dearborn. 

Stephen  H.  Sage  was  reared  in  Massachusetts  until  seventeen  or  eighteen 
years  of  age,  receiving  his  schooling  there.  He  attended  Ballard's  Seminary, 
at  Bennington,  Vt.,  and  in  February,  1836,  came  to  Racine,  Wis.,  stopping 
on  the  way  at  Perrysburg,  Ohio,  to  get  his  father's  trunk.  He  hired  a  man 
to  bring  him  in  a  lumber  wagon,  but  on  the  second'  day  the  man  backed  out 
and  Mr.  Sage  made  the  journey  from  near  Elyria,  Ohio,-  to  Michigan  City, 
Ind.,  by  stage.  While  there  he  w-as  happily  surprised  to  meet  his  brother  Sid- 
ney, who  had  come  from  Hoosick  Falls  by  team.  His  brother  took  the 
stage  to  Chicago,  whence  the  rest  came  to  Racine  in  a  light  wagon.     Arriving 


82  COMME^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

at  Racine  ^Ir.  Sage  went  to  work  for  his  father  and  for  a  time  was  his  cook, 
his  mother  not  having  arrived  from  Ohio.  A  hght  snow  had  fallen  the  night 
before  his  arrival,  and  his  father  introduced  him  to  the  log  cabin  where  they 
were  to  li\"e,  and  to  a  bed  upon  which  to  sleep,  made  of  slips  of  bark  upon 
which  was  a  bundle  of  hay,  without  bed-clothing.  Their  meals  were  very  plain 
and  frugal  and  they  lived  in  this  humble  way  for  several  months,  until  the 
arrival  of  the  father's  household  goods,  when  their  style  of  living  was  greatly 
improved.  The  following  August  our  subject's  mother  arrived,  which  re- 
lieved him  of  cooking. 

Mr.  Sage  stayed  with  his  father  until  twenty-one  years  old,  and  then 
went  into  partnership  with  another  man  and  purchased  a  stock  of  goods. 
But  he  soon  afterward  embarked  in  the  insurance  business,  and  while  on  a 
trip  to  Walworth  county,  without  his  knowledge,  was  elected  city  treasurer 
of  Racine,  which  office  he  held  six  or  seven  years.  He  then  went  into  the 
grain  business  in  partnership  with  R.  M.  Norton  and  L.  R.  Hurlbut,  this 
firm  also  engaging  in  buying  pork,  which  line  he  followed  for  two  years.  He 
then  went  on  the  street,  buying  wheat  for  warehousemen,  later  engaging  in 
the  real  estate  and  life  insurance  business,  which  he  followed  for  many  years. 

On  Feb.  28,  1855,  Mr.  Sage  married  Miss  Helen  M.  Carpenter,  daugh- 
ter of  Eleazer  and  Fannie  (Kinney)  Carpenter,  and  two  daughters  were  born 
to  this  union,  Fannie  B.  and  Emma  M.  Fannie  B.  married  Vincent  S.  Stone 
(deceased),  who  was  a  noted  lawyer  at  Fargo,  and  they  iiad  a  daughter,  who 
died  in  infancy.  Both  daughters  now  reside  at  home.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Sage, 
like  their  daughters,  were  members  of  the  Congregational  Church,  and  Mr. 
Sage  was  one  of  the  church  trustees  until  his  death.  Politically  he  was  a  Re- 
publican, and  served  as  county  superx'isor  and  city  assessor  for  a  number  of 
terms.     His  wife  passed  away  Nov.  20,  1904,  at  the  age  of  seventy-one  years. 

Stephen  H.  Sage  was  the  oldest  continuous  resident  of  Racine  at  the 
time  of  his  death,  having  lived  there  a  period  of  sixty-eight  years.  He  was 
well  known  throughout  the  county,  was  extremely  popular,  and  as  he  en- 
joyed a  well-earned  reputation  for  honesty  and  integrity,  he  was  universally 
respected.  He  possessed  ability  and  a  keen  mind,  had  a  remarkably  retentive 
memory,  was  a  fine  conversationalist,  and  all  in  all  was  a  fascinating  enter- 
tainer, retaining  these  attractive  traits  of  character  until  the  day  of  his  death, 
whereby  Racine  county  lost  one  of  its  leading  and  progressive  citizens. 

Sidney  A.  S-\ge,  ]\Ir.  Sage's  brother,  came  to  Racine  at  the  same  time 
as  did  our  subject,  and  died  in  1869.  He  was  in  the  mercantile  business  for 
many  years,  and  was  a  member  of  the  city  council.  In  1850  he  and  S.  E. 
Hurlbut  built  a  mill,  which  they  operated  for  a  number  of  years.  This 
was  before  the  days  of  railroads,  and  because  of  poor  shipping  facilities  they 
gave  this  business  up.  Sidney  A.  Sage  owned  considerable  real  estate.  At 
the  time  of  his  death  he  left  a  wife  (his  second)  and  one  son  and  four  daugh- 
ters. His  first  wife  was  Susan  Whitney,  of  Boston,  and  his  second  Harriet 
Foster. 

GEORGE  SPILLUM,  the  pioneer  merchant  of  North  Cape,  Norway 
township,  and  still  proprietor  of  one  of  the  leading  general  merchandise  estab- 
lishments in  his  section  of  Racine  county,  is  a  public-spirited  and  prominent 


COALMEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RFXORU.  83 

citizen  of  that  region.  He  \\-as  burn  in  Norway,  Feb.  2,  1840,  his  birthplace 
being  Namsos,  and  his  father,  Ole  J.  Spillum,  was  a  native  of  the  same  locaHty. 
The  latter  married  Gunhild  Anderson,  who  was  also  born  in  Norway,  and 
tive  children  w^ere  born  to  their  union,  those  besides  George  being:  Joha'nn  O., 
who  is  living  in  Norway  on  the  father's  farm ;  Mathias,  who  died  in  Racine 
county ;  Josefa,  wife  of  Ole  Ladel,  of  Lyon  County,  Minn.;  and  Ellen  Alartha, 
w-ho  lives  in  Norway,  the  wife  of  Johann  A.  Solum.  The  father  died  in  1847,' 
when  a  young  man,  George  being  then  but  seven  years  of  age.  He  was  a 
farmer  and  a  blacksmith  by  occupation.  He  was  a  Lutheran  in  religion,  as 
was  also  his  wife.  J\Irs.  Ole  Spillum  afterward  became  the  wife  of  Ole  Ander- 
son, antl  died  in  Norway  at  the  age  of  seventy-eight,  the  mother  of  two  chil- 
dren by  her  second  marriage.  One  of  the  children  is  deceased,  the  other  re- 
sides in  the  old  country. 

Jonas  Spillum,  the  paternal  grandfather,  was  a  farmer,  and  died  in  Nor- 
way, his  fatherland,  at  an  old  age.  His  wife  also  lived  beyond  the  average. 
She  was  the  mother  of  a  small  family,  all  of  the  children  being  now  deceased. 
The  maternal  grandfather  of  George  Spillum  was  Andreas  Solum,  a  Norwegian 
farmer  who,  with  his  wife,  Gunhild  Pedersen,  died  in  the  country  of  his  birth; 
the  life  of  each  spanned  its  fourscore  years. 

The  early  life  of  George  Spillum  was  divided  between  the  fields  and  for- 
ests of  Norway  and  the  schools  of  his  neighborhood.  He  thus  reached  the  age 
of  eighteen — a  hardy,  intelligent,  well-educated  and  ambitious  young  man. 
Desiring  a  broader  field  for  his  activities  than  could  be  found  at  home,  in  1858 
he  embarked  for  America,  reaching  Racine,  Wis.,  on  the  9th  of  August  of  that 
year.  Although  relatives  had  preceded  him  to  that  city,  the  day  after  his  ar- 
rival he  located  at  North  Cape,  and  has  virtually  made  that  place  his  home  ever 
since.  For  three  years  he  worked  as  a  farm  laborer  in  the  locality,  spending  his 
winters  in  the  sawmills  and  lumbering  camps  of  Michigan.  On  account  of  sick- 
ness he  then  engaged  as  a  clerk  in  a  Milwaukee  store  for  a  short  time,  and  for 
a  year  bought  and  sold  cattle.  In  company  with  his  brother-in-law  he  then 
rented  a  large  farm  In  Raymond  township,  after  which  he  became  a  permanent 
resident  of  North  Cape,  being  first  employed  as  a  salesman  in  the  store  of  Knut 
Adland. 

In  1869,  after  disposing  of  his  interest  in  the  farm  enterprise,  Mr.  Spillum 
began  to  build  his  store  m  North  Cape,  which,  wdien  completed  in  the  fall  of 
that  year,  was  opened  to  the  public  as  the  first  general  merchandise  establish- 
ment in  that  place.  With  the  exception  of  a  short  period,  when  his  son  Oscar 
managed  the  business,  Mr.  Spillum  has  conducted  the  store  ever  since.  He  car- 
ries a  varied  and  complete  stock  of  goods  valued  at  $6,000,  and  by  his  good 
judgment  of  the  public  wants,  his  shrewd  buying  and  fair  and  courteous  meth- 
ods of  selling,  has  founded  a  business  which  takes  rank  with  the  best  of  its  kind 
'n  this  section  of  the  country.  Besides  his  mercantile  establishment  he  owns 
and  conducts  a  fine  farm  of  160  acres  at  W^ind  Lake,  and  he  is  ranked  among 
the  wealthy  and  broad-minded  business  men  of  the  community. 

George  Spillum  cast  his  first  Presidential  vote  for  Abraham  Lincoln,  and 
has  since  Ijeen  such  a  vigorous  and  effective  supporter  of  the  Republican  party 
that  his  fellow-citizens  have  evinced  their  appreciation  of  his  services  in  no 
uncertain  manner.     He  has  served  as  township  commissioner  for  more  than 


84  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

twenty  years ;  was  clerk  of  Norway  township  for  two  years,  and  supervisor  and 
postmaster  of  North  Cape  for  thret  years.  He  is  identified  fraternally  with  the 
Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  is  in  all  respects  as  popular  as  he  is  busi- 
ness-like, financially  successful  and  highly  honored. 

On  May  21,  1870,  Mr.  Spillum  was  joined  in  marriage  with  Betsy  Emen- 
son,  a  native  of  Norway  and  daughter  of  Aadne  Emenson  and  Hage  T.  (Tove- 
sen)  Emenson.  Mrs.  Betsy  Spillum  emigrated  to  America  with  her  parents 
during  her  childhood,  the  family  settling  in  Norway  township,  where  both 
father  and  mother  died.  The  orphan  girl  was  then  adopted  by  Herman  Nelson, 
in  whose  home  she  remained  until  her  marriage.  Her  death  occurred  in  April 
1873,  at  the  age  of  twenty-three  years,  and  she  was  the  mother  of  two  children, 
Oscar  A.  and  Betsy  M.  The  son  secured  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of 
North  Cape,  Rochester  Seminary  and  the  Business  College  of  Racine,  assisted 
his  father  in  his  business,  and  is  now  a  bookkeeper  in  a  store  at  Rugby,  N. 
Dak.;  he  married  Lillie  Isaacs,  and  has  six  children,  Irving  G.,  Stanley,  Earl, 
Gladys,  LeRoy  and  Glen.    Betsy  M.  Spillum,  the  daughter,  died  in  infancy. 

For  his  second  wife  Mr.  Spillum  married  Anna  Christina  Setterlun.  on 
Feb.  26,  1889.  His  wife  is  a  native  of  Sweden  and  a  daughter  of  Gustav  and 
Mary  (Steppenson)  Setterlun.  Four  children  have  been  born  to  them,  viz.: 
Ellen  Magdalene,  Gertrude  Matilda.  Arthur  Gerhart  and  Clara  Josephine.  Both 
husband  and  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  and,  with  their  chil- 
dren, form  a  happy  domestic  circle.  Mr.  Spillum  is  an  ideal  family  man.  and 
since  he  settled  in  Racine  county,  forty-eight  years  ago — especially  since  the 
commencement  of  his  married  life  in  1870 — has  made  few  journeys  outside  its 
limits.  The  most  noteworthy  and  enjoyable  was  in  1889.  when  he  spent  from 
May  to  August  revisiting  his  old  home  in  Norway  and  the  scenes  of  his  child- 
hood and  youthful  days. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Anna  Spillum  are  natives  of  Sweden.  The  father 
is  a  cabinetmaker,  which  trade  he  has  followed  both  in  his  native  land  and  in 
this  country,  they  having  emigrated  to  the  United  States  in  1869.  After  living 
in  Racine  seven  years  they  located  in  1876  in  Norway  township,  where  Mr. 
Setterlun  engaged  in  various  occupations.  They  now  reside  in  Norway  town- 
ship, about  two  miles  north  of  North  Cape.  Their  five  children  are  as  follows : 
Anna,  Mrs.  George  Spillum;  Mary,  w-ife  of  Abraham  Ebert,  of  Norway  town- 
ship; G.  Adolph,  a  resident  of  Shaw,  Ore.;  Frank,  a  blacksmith  at  Unior, 
Church,  and  Sarah  (Mrs.  Frank  Fohr),  also  of  that  place. 

MARTIN  MATHIAS  SECOR.  president  of  the  M.  M.  Secor  Trunk 
Company  of  Racine,  Wis.,  manufacturers  of  trunks  and  traveling  bags,  is  one 
of  the  most  highly  esteemed  residents  of  that  city.  He  was  born  twelve  Ger- 
man miles  from  Prague,  in  the  town  of  Strakonitz,  Austria,  Feb.  4.  1841, 
son  of  Mathias  and  Josephine  (Beider)  Secor,  also  natives  of  Austria. 

Mathias  Secor  and  his  w'ife  and  family  came  to  America  in  1851,  being 
six  weeks  and  six  days  on  the  ocean  in  a  sailing  vessel.  They  located  in  Ra- 
cine in  the  latter  part  of  February,  having  made  the  journey  from  New  York 
by  rail  to  Buffalo,  down  the  lake  to  Detroit,  bv  rail  to  Chicago,  and  to  Racint; 
by  side-wheel  steamer.  After  locating  here  Mr.  Secor  purchased  a  farm  of  fif- 
teen acres,  which  he  cleared  and  improved,  and  later  added  twenty  acres  to  this. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  85 

the  latter  land  being  in  Caledonia  township.  He  sold  out  about  1880  and  re- 
moved to  Racine,  where  he  remained  until  his  death,  in  1886,  at  the  age  of 
nearly  eighty  years.  His  wife  died  two  years  later,  aged  seventy-six  years. 
Both,  originally,  were  Roman  Catholics,  but  he  later  became  a  Free  Thinker. 
For  sixteen  years  Mathias  Secor  had  been  a  soldier  in  the  Austrian  army,  be- 
longing to  the  Grenadiers,  the  famous  regiment  of  large  men,  all  picked  for 
their  ability,  bravery  and  strength.  In  his  native  country  he  was  a  stone- 
mason, and  manufactured  old-fashioned  bake-ovens,  an  occupation  he  followed 
to  some  extent  in  this  country,  having  built  a  number  of  small  ovens  in  and 
around  Caledonia  township.  Both  he  and  his  wife  were  buried  in  the  public 
cemetery  at  Racine.  They  had  six  children,  five  of  whom  are  now  living: 
Martin  M. ;  Mary,  the  widow  of  Joseph  Cole,  of  near  Racine;  Theressa,  Mrs. 
Dolmento,  of  Milwaukee;  Josie,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  George  Mut- 
ter, of  Racine ;  Barbara,  Mrs.  Kucera,  of  Chicago ;  and  Peter,  who  lives  in  Ra- 
cine. 

Martin  M.  Secor  was  but  ten  years  of  age  when  he  came  to  America.  He 
lived  on  the  farm  with  his  parents  until  fourteen  years  old,  and  then  started 
out  to  work  for  himself,  and,  although  he  ran  away  from  home,  he  saved  his 
money  and  bought  an  ox,  which  he  gave  to  his  father.  This  ox  Mr.  Secor 
broke,  as  he  did  also  an  ox  owned  by  his  father,  thus  making  a  good  team.  He 
started  by  working  in  a  German  family,  earning  for  his  labors  a  wagon  and 
steer,  which  he  gave  to  his  father.  After  working  on  a  farm  for  two  years  he 
came  to  Racine  and  worked  in  a  grocery  store  for  eight  dollars  per  month,  his 
board  and  washing,  and  there  he  continued  for  one  year.  In  1857  he  went  to 
Darien,  \\'is.,  and  learned  the  harnessmaker's  trade,  which  he  followed  two 
years,  at  the  end  of  this  time  returning  to  Racine,  working  one  winter  as  a 
journeyman.  In  the  spring  of  1861  he  went  West  and  remained  until  fall, 
when  he  again  returned  to  Racine  and  opened  a  shop  of  his  own.  He  had 
saved  up  eighty  dollars  and  owned  a  good  kit  of  tools,  borrowing  $100,  for 
which  he  paid  10%  interest  for  ten  years.  In  1862  he  also  began  the  manu- 
facture of  trunks  in  his  home  kitchen,  his  wife  using  the  part  not  wanted  by 
Mr.  Secor  for  cooking.  Mr.  Secor  first  employed  two  apprentices  and  one 
"jour,"  soon  after  employing  others.  The  kitchen  soon  became  too  small,  so 
Mr.  Secor  rented  the  old  Weed's  Hall,  that  being  on  the  site  of  the  present 
City  Hall.  Mr.  Secor  continued  work  in  his  kitchen  and  in  the  hall  for  two 
years,  and  then  purchased  three  buildings,  known  as  the  Durand  buildings, 
which  had  been  used  for  railroad  structures,  the  Racine  Bank  being  in  the 
center  building.  One  was  used  partly  as  a  hardware  store,  and  partly  as  a 
wholesale  liquor  establishment.  The  center  building  Mr.  Secor  sold  to  his 
father-in-law,  and  the  corner  one  to  his  brother-in-law,  Frank  Bowman.  The 
other  he  kept  and  later  traded  for  his  present  beautiful  home.  During  the  time 
he  occupied  this  building  Mr.  Secor  purchased  several  lots  on  Lake  avenue, 
formerly  called  Chatham  street,  where  he  erected  a  frame  building  with  40 
free  frontage,  three  stories  high.  Mr.  Secor  has  since  erected  several  brick 
and  frame  buildings,  with  400  feet  frontage,  extending  to  the  lake,  and  all  used 
for  manufacturing  purposes.  He  also  owns  another  lot  of  175  feet  frontasre 
by  114  feet  depth,  upon  which  he  has  erected  a  warehouse  three  stories  high, 
with  two  elevators.    He  is  the  oldest  living  manufacturer  of  trunks  and  travel- 


86  CO^niE^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

ing  bags  in  the  United  States  that  was  in  business  in  1861,  for  after  forty-six 
years  in  the  business  he  tinds  he  is  the  only  one  left  of  all  his  old  associates  and 
competitors.  'Mr.  Secor  owns  much  other  city  property  besides  his  plant, 
among  which  may  be  mentioned  the  M.  M.  Secor  block,  the  only  tire-proof 
building  in  the  city,  and  next  to  it  another  fine  building;  adjoining  the  last 
named  is  the  New  Office  building,  which  is  in  turn  adjoined  by  the  Belle  City 
Furniture  Company  building,  which  is  fitted  with  prism  lights  through  the 
sidewalk.  ]\Ir.  Secor  being  the  first  to  introduce  that  kind  of  lighting  in  Ra- 
cine. In  the  M.  M.  Secor  block  may  be  found  bathrooms  for  furnishing  Turk- 
ish, Russian,  Carlsbad  and  numerous  other  baths. 

'Sir.  Secor  was  married  Feb.  4,  1862,  to  Miss  Fanine  Hagek,  daughter  of 
Frank  and  Frances  Hagek,  and  nine  children  were  born  to  this  union :  Louis- 
ana,  who  died  in  early  childhood ;  Louisa,  who  married  F.  ^V.  Gromm,  now  of 
Denver,  Colo.,  and  has  four  sons,  Willie  Secor,  Charlie,  Frank  and  Ralph; 
Emily  and  Lillie,  twins,  who  died  within  a  few  days  of  each  other,  when  two 
years  old:  Mattie,  who  married  Frank  Posta,  of  Chicago,  and  has  one  son, 
Jerald;  Frank,  deceased;  Frank  (2),  deceased;  Emily  (2),  who  married  F. 
W.  Perkins,  vice-president  and  superintendent  of  the  Webster  Manufacturing 
Company,  of  Chicago;  and  Miss  Frankie,  who  is  teaching  in  the  public  schools. 

Mr.  Secor  is  a  Free  Thinker  in  religion.  Politically  he  is  independent, 
voting  rather  for  the  man  than  for  the  party.  He  was  twice  elected  mayor 
of  Racine,  first  in  1884,  and  again  in  1888,  and  was  nominated  three  different 
times,  but  refused  to  accept  the  honor.  Mr.  Secor  is  one  of  the  prominent  citi- 
zens of  Racine — wealthy  and  self-made,  and  what  is  better  still,  has  accom- 
plished as  much  as  any  one  man  for  the  material  advancement  of  the  city.  His 
beautiful  home  place  covers  an  entire  block,  and  his  great  love  of  flowers  is 
shown  in  his  magnificent  conservatory  and  large  hothouse,  and  in  the  gar- 
dens, fruit  trees  and  water  fountain,  the  last  named,  an  attractive  feature  of  his 
grounds,  being  in  front  of  his  residence.  He  is  also  a  great  lover  of  birds  and 
animals,  numbering  among  his  pets  a  half  dozen  deer,  two  bears  and  several 
parrots.  Mr.  Secor,  in  fact,  may  be  said  to  love  all  nature,  as  he  is  friendly  to- 
ward men.  The  natural  result  is  that  he  is  very  popular.  He  is  a  fluent  con- 
versationalist. 

BENJAMIN  O.  STURGES.  The  origin  of  the  family  name  is  clouded 
in  uncertainty,  the  first  known  of  it  in  this  country  being  that  it  was  borne  by 
two  brothers  who  settled  in  Connecticut  in  the  early  part  of  the  eighteenth  cen- 
tury. Strong  Sturges,  a  native  of  Connecticut,  went  from  that  State  to  New- 
York  City,  where  he  later  held  the  position  of  Collector  of  the  Port,  and  in  the 
discharge  of  his  duties  contracted  cholera,  being  the  first  victim  of  that  disease 
to  die  in  this  country  during  the  epidemic  of  1837. 

George  W.  Sturges,  son  of  Strong,  was  born  in  New  York  in  1808  auft 
ran  away  to  sea  when  sixteen  years  of  age.  After  sailing  several  years  on  both 
the  Atlantic  and  Pacific  he  gave  it  up.  and  returning  to  New  York  entered  com- 
mercial life,  being  connected  with  one  of  the  banks  of  that  city.  He  there  mar- 
ried Sarah  Barnard,  and  two  children  were  born  to  them,  William,  now  de- 
ceased, and  Annie,  widow  of  John  H.  Hedley.  Mrs.  Sturges  died  in  New 
York  Citv,  and  later  George  W.  Sturges  removed  to  Walworth  county.  Wis., 


CO^^OIEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  87 

where  he  settled  on  a  farm.  He  spent  his  last  years  in  Lake  Geneva.  Dnring 
the  war  of  the  Rebellion  Mr.  Sturges  was  State  Agent  for  Wisconsin  and 
Minnesota,  looking  after  the  soldiers  in  the  hospitals  along  the  Mississippi 
river,  transferring  them,  sending  them  home,  etc.  George  W.  Sturges  married 
Miss  Ann  M.  Humphrey,  one  of  the  family  born  to  Hiram  H.  and  Ann  (Blod- 
gett)  Humphrey.  Mr.  Humphrey  was  born  in  Ohio,  of  an  old  English  family, 
and  lived  to  be  eighty-eight  years  old ;  his  wife  died  when  eighty-seven.  The 
children  born  to  George  W.  ahd  Ann  Sturges  were  seven  in  number,  as  fol- 
lows:  George  H.,  of  Chicago;  Sarah  B.,  Mrs.  John  B.  Simmons,  of  Racine; 
Walter  I.,  of  Omaha,  Neb.;  Charles  S.,  of  Arkansas;  Arthur  E.,  of  Chicago; 
Mary  E.,  Mrs.  L.  H.  Taggart,  of  Lake  Geneva,  Wis.;  and  Benjamin  O.,  of 
Kenosha.  George  W.  Sturges  died  in  1885,  but  his  widow  survived  until  Jan. 
I,  1897.     She  was  a  native  of  Ohio,  born  in  1830. 

Benjamin  O.  Sturges  was  born  in  Lake  Geneva,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis., 
Nov.  27,  1867.  and  received  his  earlier  education  there  in  the  public  schools. 
He  was  graduated  from  the  high  school  in  1887,  and  after  a  few  years  spent 
in  commercial  life  entered  the  law  school  of  the  Wisconsin  State  University, 
and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  1898.  He  has  since  been  practicing  his  pro- 
fession in  Kenosha.  In  the  spring  of  1903  he  was  elected  to  the  office  o£ 
justice  of  the  peace  and  is  still  discharging  the  duties  of  that  office  in  connec- 
tion with  his  law  business.  While  residing  in  Lake  Geneva  he  was  city  clerk 
for  two  terms,  his  political  affiliations  being  always  with  the  Republican  party. 
Mr.  Sturges  is  a  member  of  Lake  Geneva  Lodge,  No.  96,  K.  P.,  and  of  Keno- 
sha Lodge,  No.  750,  B.  P.  O.  E.  He  is  unmarried,  and  resides  at  No.  211 
Market  street. 

ROBERT  ]MUTTER,  ex-sheriff  of  Racine  county.  Wis.,  who  makes  his 
residence  in  the  city  of  Racine,  is  a  native  of  that  county,  born  in  Dover,  Dec. 
20,  1873.  son  of  John  and  Mary  (Tait)  Mutter,  natives  of  Scotland  and  New 
York  State  respectively. 

William  Mutter,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject,  was  a  native  of 
Scotland,  where  he  followed  farming  as  an  occupation.  His  son,  John,  came 
with  his  parents  to  America  when  a  child  three  years  old.  They  first  settled  in 
Canada,  and  John  came  to  Wisconsin  some  time  in  the  sixties,'  settling  in  Ra- 
cine, where  he  followed  milling.  A  few  years  later  he  purchased  a  farm  of  260 
acres  in  Dover  township,  which  he  improved,  and  upon  which  the  remauider  of 
his  life  was  spent.  He  was  killed  by  a  bull  in  his  fifty-ninth  year.  His  wife 
had  passed  away  the  January  before,  aged  forty-nine  years.  They  were  mem- 
bers of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  They  had  seven  children,  five  of  whom  are 
now  living:  Marv,  the  wife  of  William  Caven.  of  Escanaba,  Mich.;  John  G.. 
of  Burlington.  Wis.;  James  W.,  of  Dover  township,  on  the  old  homestead; 
Robert,  of  Racine;  and  Jennie  I.,  the  wife  of  Edward  :Mealy,  of  Burlington, 
■Wisconsin. 

Robert  Mutter  was  raised  on  his  father's  farm,  and  attended  the  district 
schools.  He  left  home  at  an  early  age  and  went  to  Burlington,  Wis.,  where  he 
worked  in  a  hotel  for  his  brother,'  later  becoming  interested  in  the  business.  On 
account  of  failing  health  he  was  compelled  to  give  up  active  work  for  some 
time,  but  in  iSge'^became  deputy  sheriff  under  Sheriff  John  C.  Wagner  for  two 


88  COAniEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

years.  He  was  then  appointed  under  sheriff  under  Edward  A.  Rein,  holding 
the  office  two  years,  and  was  re-appointed  under  WiHiam  Baumann,  Jr.  In 
1902  Air.  Mutter  was  elected  sheriff",  and  took  up  the  duties  of  that  office  in 
January,  1903.     Since  his  retirement  he  has  operated  a  hotel  and  saloon. 

Air.  Alutter  was  married  Oct.  3,  1900,  to  Miss  Isabelle  Bradshaw,  of  Bur- 
lington, \\'is.,  daughter  of  George  Bradshaw,  and  granddaughter  of  \Villian-i 
Bradshaw.  William  Bradshaw  was  born  of  Scotch  parents,  and,  on  coming  to 
America,  first  settled  in  \'ermont,  from  which  State  he  removed  to  W^isconsin 
at  a  very  early  day.  He  died  in  Racine  county  at  upwards  of  seventy  years  of 
age,  leaving  a  widow,  Nancy,  and  seven  children.  George  Bradshaw  came  to 
Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  when  a  small  boy,  having  been  born  in  Vermont.  Here  he 
grew  to  manhood,  and  followed  painting.  He  died  in  January.  1901,  aged 
fifty-six  years,  while  his  widow  still  survives  him.  George  Bradshaw  was  a 
soldier  in  the  Civil  war,  belonging,  as  a  private,  to  the  ist  \\'is.  V.  I.  He  served 
something  like  two  years,  when  he  was  wounded  and  honorably  discharged  on 
account  of  disability.  Mrs.  Bradshaw  was  born  in  County  Roscommon,  Ire- 
land, daughter  of  Dominick  Feeney.  a  native  of  Ireland,  who  came  to  this 
country  and  settled  in  Racine  county,  where  he  lived  retired.  He  had  been  a 
farmer  in  Ireland,  and  had  been  very  successful  in  his  operations.  He  and  his 
wife,  whose  maiden  name  had  been  Nellie  Tigh,  died  at  an  old  age,  she  being 
killed  in  Chicago,  during  the  World's  Fair.  They  had  twelve  children.  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  George  Bradshaw  were  the  parents  of  five  children,  only  two  of 
whom  are  still  living :    Mrs.  Mutter  and  Miss  Carrie. 

Mr.  Alutter  is  a  member  of  Burlington  Lodge,  No.  28,  F.  &  A.  AI. ;  Ori- 
ental Chapter.  No.  12,  Royal  Arch  Masons;  and  Racine  Commandery.  No.  7, 
Knights  Templar.  He  also  belongs  to  Council  No.  5,  and  has  a  membership 
!in  the  Eastern  Star,  as  has  his  wife.  Mr.  Mutter  is  a  member  of  the  Uni- 
formed Rank  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  and  is  connected  with  the  Benevo- 
lent and  Protective  Order  of  Elks  No.  252,  of  Racine.  Politically  Sheriff  Alut- 
ter  is  a  stanch  Republican,  and  takes  an  active  interest  in  the  success  of  that 
narty  in  this  section.     He  owns  a  farm  of  sixty  acres  in  Yorkville. 

JOHN  L.  STEVENS,  now  living  retired  at  No.  366  Prairie  avenue. 
Kenosha,  enjoys  with  his  sister.  Airs.  Benjamin  T.  Hatch,  the  distinction  of 
representing  one  of  the  first  pioneer  families  of  Kenosha  county,  and  they  are 
the  oldest  continuous  residents  of  Kenosha  county. 

Air.  Stevens  is  descended  on  both  sides  from  Revolutionary  A'ermont 
stock.  His  father's  father.  Isaac  Stevens,  was  a  native  of  that  State,  of  Engli,-h 
lineage,  and  was  a  farmer  by  occupation.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  Revolution. 
He  married  four  times,  and  had  three  sons  and  two  dnughters. 

Daniel  Stevens,  father  of  John  L.,  and  his  wife,  Eunice  Bnrlow,  were 
both  horn  in  Vermont.  Her  parents  were  Abner  and  Eunice  (French)  Barlow, 
the  latter  of  whom  was  of  French  descent,  while  the  former  was  a  Vermont 
fanner  and  a  Revolutionary  soldier  for  seven  years,  two  of  them  spent  n-i  a 
prison  in  Quebec.  They  went  to  Kenosha  county  in  the  early  dnvs  of  1835. 
when  it  was  a  part  of  Racine  county,  but  died  soon  after  their  arrival.  They 
had  four  sons  and  four  daughters.  Daniel  Stevens  was  a  farmer  who  left 
Vermont  for  New  York  and  from  there  went  on  to  \\'isconsin  in   1835.   He 


COMMEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  89 

took  up  his  claim  of  640  acres  on  July  4,  1835,  and  camped  that  da)-  on  Wash- 
ington Island.  He  was  the  very  first  settler  there,  with  only  two  houses  be- 
tween his  claim  and  Chicago.  After  locating  his  claim,  he  went  hack  East, 
while  in  the  fall  his  son  Orrin,  then  at  Joliet,  111.,  went  up  there  and  built  a 
log  cabin  which  was  ready  for  them  to  occupy  together  when  the  father  re- 
turned with  the  family  in  the  winter.  Daniel  Stevens  improved  his  farm  and 
spent  the  rest  of  his  life  there,  dying  at  the  age  of  sixty-eight,  in  1856.  In  the 
war  of  1 81 2  he  was  called  out  by  the  government  and  served  in  the  army  for 
a  time,  but  was  never  in  active  battle.  Mrs.  Stevens  died  two  years  after  her 
husband,  aged  seventy-two.  Both  were  Wesleyan  Methodists.  She  was  in 
every  sense  a  helpmate  in  their  pioneer  life,  and  lived  long  enough  to  see  some 
of  the  fruits  of  their  industry  and  perseverance.  Thev  had  five  children,  three 
sons  and  two  daughters,  of  whom  only  John  L.  and  Eliza,  widow  of  Benjamin 
T.  Hatch,  are  now  living.  The  others  were :  Orrin ;  Almeda,  who  married 
George  Arnold ;  and  Walter. 

John  Levant  Stevens  was  born  in  Chautauqua  county,  N.  Y.,  March  3, 
1 81 4,  and  grew  up  in  that  State,  on  a  farm,  where  he  helped  to  clear  up  150 
acres  of  timberland  before  he  came  West.  He  received  only  such  an  education 
as  the  old-fashioned  subscription  schools  of  that  day  afforded.  He  went  to 
Wisconsin  with  the  rest  of  the  family  in  1835,  his  brother  Orrin  having  gone 
to  Illinois  five  years  earlier.  John  L.  had  also  made  a  visit  to  Fort  Dearborn  in 
1832,  but  returned  to  the  East  almost  immediately. 

The  country  began  to  fill  up  very  slowly  at  first,  the  real  migration  com- 
mencing in  the  fall  of  1836,  while  in  the  following  year  there  was  a  rtish  of 
people  looking  for  locations.  The  land  was  rapidly  improved  and  a  great  deal 
of  wheat  planted,  so  much  that  wdien,  in  1841,  a  million  bushels  were  raised, 
there  were  no  transportation  facilities  for  it.  The  vessels  then  were  not 
adapted  to  carrying  wheat,  but  suitable  ones  were  soon  provided,  the  first 
steamer  on  Lake  Michigan  to  stop  there  being  the  "Madison." 

The  first  claim  taken  up  by  John  L.  Stevens  was  one  of  160  acres  in  Sec- 
tion 15,  in  the  town  of  Pleasant  Prairie.  Later  he  accumulated  300  acres,  all 
of  which  he  improved,  although  to  meet  the  conditions  for  taking  up  a  claim  a 
man  was  obliged  to  break  no  more  than  ten  acres  of  ground,  in  atldition  to 
building  some  kind  of  a  house  and  residing  there  a  stipulated  time.  Mr. 
Stevens  was  always  a  farmer,  but  made  his  home  most  of  the  time  about  a  mile 
from  his  property,  where,  in  1836,  on  first  coming  to  Wisconsin,  he  had  es- 
tablished a  blacksmith's  shop,  conducting  it  for  some  years.  His  entire  resi- 
dence in  Kenosha  county  covers  a  period  of  seventy  years.  In  addition  to 
his  farm  he  owns  a  good  home  in  Kenosha  together  with  other  city  property, 
and  has  accumulated  a  considerable  fortune.  Mr.  Stevens  was  originally  a 
Democrat,  casting  his  first  presidential  vote  for  Jackson,  but  since  the  organ- 
ization of  the  Republican  party  he  has  steadily  adhered  to  it. 

On  April  8.  1840,  John  L.  Stevens  married  Miss  Isabella  Derbyshire 
daughter  of  Christopher  and  Emily  (Stickney)  Derbyshire.  Six  children 
were  born  to  them,  Svlmenia,  Walter,  Orrin.  Henry  (i),  Henrv  (2)  and 
John  Levant,  the  last  alone  being  now  alive.  He  married  Miss  Edith  Bissell. 
They  have  no  children  of  their  own.  but  ha\-e  an  adopted  daughter,  whom  they 


90  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

named  Isabella.  Mrs.  Isabella  Stevens  departed  this  life  Jan.  8,  1886,  aged 
seventy-five,  a  devout  believer  in  the  Congregational  faith. 

Although  Mr.  Stevens  is  past  ninety  years  old,  he  is  quite  active  and  re- 
tains his  memory  to  a  remarkable  degree.  He  recalls  readily  and  accurately 
many  interesting  events  of  the  early  days,  relating  them  with  great  detail,  and 
dwells  with  special  pleasure  upon  the  honesty  and  integrity  of  the  sturdy  pio- 
neers. Once  when  he  was  ten  years  old  he  was  left  upon  the  farm  to  watch 
the  crows,  but  he  ran  away,  going  to  Westfield,  N.  Y.,  to  see  Gen.  LaFayette. 
He  saw  the  noted  Frenchman,  shook  hands  with  him,  and  then  hastened  back 
to  his  home  one  mile  distant.  One  incident  which  he  recalls  with  much  en- 
thusiasm is  a  Fourth  of  July  celebration  gotten  up  by  the  scattered  settlers  in 
1836.  Although  every  one  came,  from  a  wide  extent  of  territory,  they  could 
muster  only  sixty  in  all.  However,  they  were  all  good  Americans  and  made 
enthusiastic  preparations,  in  spite  of  the  fact  that  they  were  much  hampered  by 
lack  of  provisions.  Everything  possible  was  done  to  promote  the  jollity  of  the 
occasion  and  one  feature,  contributed  by  Mr.  Stevens,  was  a  wagon  fashioned 
out  of  two  carts  and  drawn  by  twenty-one  yoke  of  oxen. 

Orrin  Stevens,  eldest  brother  of  John  L.,  went  out  with  his  young  wife  to 
Fort  Dearborn  in  1830,  and  lived  there  until  1835.  Their  oldest  child  was  born 
during  this  period.  His  wife  was  a  Miss  Sophia  Derbyshire,  a  sister  of  Mrs. 
John  L.  Stevens,  and  they  had  four  children,  namely:  William;  Emily,  wife 
of  H.  S.  Towne;  Duane;  and  Isabella,  widow  of  Frank  Leach.  Orrin  Stevens 
served  as  a  soldier  during  the  Black  Hawk  war,  and  later  was  elected  to  the 
Wisconsin  Legislature,  dying  before  the  expiration  of  his  term. 

HENRY  G.  POWLES  (deceased)  was  one  of  the  prominent  residents  of 
Union  Grove  and  an  honored  veteran  of  the  Civil  war.  Probably  no  citizen  of 
Racine  county  took  a  more  active  part  and  participated  in  more  of  the  import- 
ant battles  of  the  Rebellion  than  he,  for  from  the  time  of  the  first  call  for  troops 
until  the  South  laid  down  its  arms  he  was  found  at  the  front  valiantly  defend- 
ing the  Union.  Praise  may  be  heaped  upon  praise,  yet  the  debt  of  gratitude  due 
the  brave  boys  in  blue  can  never  be  repaid. 

Mr.  Powles,  who  so  long  fought  for  this  country's  preservation,  was  born 
lin  Wales  in  1844,  and  of  that  land  his  parents,  William  G.  and  Ann  (Ed- 
Avards)  Powles.  were  also  natives.  His  paternal  grandfather,  John  Powles, 
also  a  native  of  Wales,  came  to  this  country  in  1843,  ^"^^  took  up  160  acres 
of  Government  land  in  Paris  township,  Kenosha  county.  He  afterward  sold 
that  farm  and  went  into  the  milling  and  real  estate  business  at  Racine,  owning 
a  gristmill  and  waterpower  there.  He  died  there  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years, 
while  his  wife,  Mary  Edwards,  also  lived  to  an  advanced  age.  William  G. 
Powles,  father  of  Henry  G.,  was  a  brick  and  stone  mason,  and  a  stone-cutter. 
With  his  wife  and  seven  children  he  sailed  from  Liverpool,  England,  for  New 
York,  arriving  at  his  destination  after  a  voyage  of  seven  weeks,  during  which 
time  the  vessel  came  in  contact  with  a  large  iceberg.  The  travelers  at  once 
continued  their  way  to  Kenosha,  Wis.,  and  settled  upon  a  farm  nine  miles  west 
of  that  place,  but  Mr.  Powles  was  not  long  permitted  to  enjoy  his  new  home. 
\\niilc  working  in  the  hayfield  he  received  a  sunstroke  from  which  he  died, 
leaving  a  widow  with  seven  small  children  to  support.     It  was  an  arduous  task. 


COMINIE.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  91 

the  care  of  so  many  little  ones,  but  her  duty  was  faithfully  performed.  She 
made  her  home  in  Union  Grove  until  her  death,  which  occurred  in  1886,  and 
the  parents  now  lie  side  by  side  in  the  Union  Grove  cemetery.  Her  father, 
James  Edwards,  was  also  a  native  of  Wales.  He  died  in  his  native  country, 
as  did  also  his  wife,  and  they  left  a  large  family. 

The  eldest  of  the  nine  children  born  to  William  G.  and  Ann  Powles,  John, 
is  now  deceased.  Mary  A.  became  the  wife  of  John  Bixby  (who  was  accident- 
ally killed),  and  afterward  married  Aaron  Brick;  she  resides  in  Union  Grove. 
Sarah  married  for  her  first  husband  Henry  Colon,  and  is  now  the  wife  of  Irvin 
Connell,  a  carpenter  and  joiner  of  Yorkville  township.  Elizabeth  is  the  wife  of 
George  Price,  a  successful  farmer  of  Kenosha  county.  William  G.  is  a  jus- 
tice of  the  peace  in  Union  Grove.  Henry  G.  is  deceased.  Charles  resides  in 
Evansville,  Rock  county.  James  also  lives  in  Evansville,  Rock  county,  and 
Peter  died  in  Wales. 

.V  ]K)or  boy  left  fatherless  at  an  early  age,  Henry  G.  Powles  had  to  start 
out  in  life  for  himself  when  only  ten  years  old,  and  to  farm  work  he  devoted  his 
energies  until  sixteen  years  old,  when  he  entered  the  service  of  his  adopted  coun- 
try, on  April  18,  1861,  as  a  member  of  Company  F,  2d  Wis.  V.  I.,  under  Capt. 
William  Strong  and  Col.  Coon.  The  company  was  organized  at  Racine,  and  at 
Madison  joined  the  regiment,  which  was  ordered  to  Washington,  D.  C,  and 
assigned  to  the  Army  of  the  Potomac,  then  in  charge  of  Gen.  McDowell,  while 
Gen.  Sherman  was  brigade  commander.  After  a  month  spent  in  Camp  Peck 
the  troops  were  ordered  to  be  ready  for  battle.  They  had  previously  l)een  un- 
der fire  at  Blackburn's  Ford,  on  the  i8th  of  July,  and  on  Sunday,  the  21st, 
took  part  in  the  battle  of  Manassas  Junction,  the  2d  Wisconsin  Infantry  reach- 
ing the  scene  of  action  about  sunrise  and  being  in  the  thickest  of  the  fight  until 
the  retreat,  at  four  o'clock  in  the  evening.  Mr.  Powles  received  a  slight  gun- 
shot wound  in  the  left  knee  during  the  charge  of  the  Black  Horse  Cavalry,  a 
Confederate  command,  and  was  kept  from  duty  for  two  weeks.  Next  came  the 
battle  of  Cedar  Mountain,  but  the  Union  troops  sustained  little  loss,  as  the 
Rebels  fired  high  and  the  balls  flew  over  them.  On  the  28th  of  August,  1862, 
in  the  terrible  battle  of  Gainesville,  the  2d  lost  heavily,  117  being  killed  and 
254  wounded  in  three-quarters  of  an  hour.  Its  duty  with  the  remainder  of  the 
brigade  was  to  hold  Gen.  Jackson's  division  in  check.  In  this  engagement  Mr. 
Powles  was  taken  prisoner,  but  was  soon  paroled.  The  following  day  the 
second  battle  of  Bull  Run  began,  and  Mr.  Powles  received  a  l)ad  wnund 
in  the  left  side.  He  was  leaning  up  against  a  low  stone  wall  when  a  Rebel 
ofticer  sprang  in  front  of  him,  whipped  out  his  revolver  and,  with  an  oath,  aimed 
for  the  heart,  but  the  ball  struck  one  of  his  ribs  and  glanced  into  the  muscles  of 
his  stomach,  where  it  remained  until  his  death. 

The  army  was  ordered  to  follow  Gen.  Lee,  who  was  then  making  a  raid  in 
Maryland,  and  the  engagement  at  South  Mountain,  and  the  bloody  battle  of 
Antietam,  were  there  fought.  It  was  here  tlint  the  2d,  6th  and  "th  ^^■isconsin 
regiments  were  christened  the  "Iron  Brigade"  by  Gen.  George  B.  McClellan, 
who  saw  their  charge  across  the  flats  and  up  a  hill  to  the  enemy's  batteries, 
which,  with  all  the  supplies,  they  took  by  storm.  They  made  their  way  to  the 
place  amidst  a  rain  of  lead,  but  as  evening  was  falling  the  dusk  somcwlnt 


92  CO^BIEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

mitigated  their  danger.    The  batteries  captured  and  the  3d  Virginia  Regiment 
were  part  of  Gen.  Longstreet's  army. 

The  Union  troops  now  marched  back  to  Alexandria  and  Behes  Plaines  and 
the  command  passed  out  of  the  hands  of  Gen.  McClehan  to  Gen.  Burnside.  The 
latter  planned  the  battle  of  Fredericksburg,  which  occurred  Dec.  13,  1862,  ana 
was  a  total  loss.     Mr.  Powles'  regiment  made  the  first  charge,  and  captured 
sixty-four  Rebels,  but  victory  favored  the  Confederates  that  day.     Gen.  Burn- 
side  withdrew  his  forces  and  the  next  engagement  into  which  he  led  the  troops 
was  known  as  the  Mud  March.    The  rain  came  down  in  torrents.    They  started 
with  the  entire  artillei^y  and  supplies,  but  at  the  end  of  the  march  not  more  than 
half  a  dozen  cannon  had  reached  Fredericksburg,  and  many  of  the  boys  had 
dropped  out  of  the  ranks.     About  this  time  Gen.  Hooker  took  charge  of  the 
Army  of  the  Potomac  and  Col.  Fairchilds,  of  the  2d  Wisconsin,  was  on  his  staff. 
He  led  the  troops  into  the  battle  of  Chancellorsville.  May  3.  1863.     The  result 
was  indecisive,  but  Gen.  Lee  remarked  that  if  "Fighting  Joe"  Hooker  had  been 
allowed  to  let  his  5th  Corps  still  advance  on  his  rear,  he  (Lee)  would  have 
been  compelled  to  retreat  into  Richmond.     It  was  at  the  battle  of  Chancellors- 
ville that  the  brave  Gen.  Stonewall  Jackson  was  killed  by  a  mistaken  volley 
from  his  own  troops.     Gen.  Hooker  retreated  to  Rappahannock,  and  for  ten    _ 
days  prevented  Lee  from  crossing  the  river.    It  was  Lee's  object  to  cross  farth- 
er down  and  make  his  way  through  Maryland  to  Pennsylvania.     The  Rebels 
cut  up  railroad  iron  into  pieces  about  eighteen  inches  long  and  used  it  as  shot. 
These  made  a  terrible  screech,  and  it  was  some  time  before  the  Union  troops 
found  out  what  it  was.     At  length  the  scene  of  battle  was  changed  to  the 
North,  and  the  battle  of  Gettysburg  was  fought.     Mr.  Powles'  brigade  was 
the  first  to  open  fire  at  sunrise  on  July  i.  1863.    About  three  o'clock  in  the  after- 
noon his  head  was  cut  open  by  a  piece  of  shell  and  for  thirty-seven  days  he 
lay  unconscious.     For  four  days  he  lay  on  the  battlefield  without  water  or 
food,  and  was  then  carried  to  the  old  tavern  and  laid  upon  the  porch  for  dead. 
but  a  movement  in  his  foot  attracted  the  attention  of  a  nurse,  some  rude  ser- 
vices were  rendered  him,  and  he  was  then  sent  to  a  hospital  in  Harrisburg, 
Pa.,  where  he  lay  for  four  months.     There  Dr.  Wood,  of  Allegheny  City,  Pa., 
performed  an  operation,  placing  a  three-inch  piece  of  silver  in  his  skull.     A 
piece  of  his  skull  had  been  pressed  down  upon  his  brain,  which  caused  his  long 
unconsciousness,  and  when  it  was  removed  he  at  once  recovered  his  senses. 
When  he  came  to  he  saw  sitting  near  him  Thomas  Lyons,  one  of  his  comrades, 
and  Mr.  Powles  asked,  "Tom,  is  the  battle  over?"     Lyons  immediately  an- 
swered, "Good  God,  Hank,  the  battle  has  been  over  a  month,  and  Lee  is  in 
Richmond,  with  our  troops  close  at  his  heels."       When  he  was  partially  con- 
valescent, Mr.  Powles  was  told  he  might  be  discharged,  but  replied  :    'T  volun- 
teered to  serve  through  the  war  and  propose  to  remain  until  it  is  over." 

He  reioined  the  regiment  at  Culpeper  Court  House,  and  on  veteranizing, 
Feb.  14,  1864.  received  a  thirtv  davs'  furlough,  and  returned  home.  He  took 
part  in  the  battle  of  the  Wilderness,  from  the  5th  to  the  9th  of  ]May,  one  of  the 
most  both-  contested  engagements  of  the  war.  On  the  7th  his  gun  was  lym? 
in  the  fork  of  a  tree,  when  a  Rebel  yelled  out  "surrender."  Mr.  Powles'  reply 
was  to  fire.  He  then  dropped  his  emi  and  ran,  and  in  the  race  a  minie  ball  rut 
the  hair  from  his  head,  from  the  forehead  to  the  apex  of  his  cranium.     The 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  93 

Rebel,  however,  was  killed.  At  the  battle  of  Spottsylvania,  May  10,  1864,  a 
mime  ball  pierced  Mr.  Powles"  riglit  lung,  breaking-  his  shoulder  blade  in  four 
pieces.  He  was  taken  to  Campbell  Hospital  in  the  District  of  Columbia  where 
he  was  confined  until  July  10,  1864,  when  he  was  granted  a  sixty  days'  fur- 
lough to  regain  his  health.  ■  He  then  returned,  and  after  serving  three  months 
as  a  nurse  in  the  Campbell  Hospital  was  placed  in  the  2d  Invalid  Corps  at 
Washington,  D.  C,  as  provost  guard,  where  he  remained  until  the  war  ended. 
He  was  on  duty  as  sergeant  of  the  guard  at  Ford's  Opera  House  when  Lin- 
coln was  assassinated  and  saw  Booth  as  he  jumped  on  the  stage  and  shouted 
"Sic  semper  tyraiinis."  He  witnessed  the  Grand  Review  in  \\  ashington,  and 
on  the  15th  of  July,  1865,  a  scarred  but  honored  veteran,  was  discharged  from 
the  service. 

After  his  return  home  Mr.  Powles  secured  a  position  as  fireman  on  the 
Racine  &  Mississippi  railroad,  and  after  serving  in  that  capacity  for  a  year  and 
a  half  worked  in  a  gas-fitting  establishment  in  Chicago  for  eight  months.  About 
this  time  he  was  united  in  marriage,  June  17,  1867,  with  Miss  Martha  M. 
Whitcher,  who  was  born  in  Wisconsin  Nov.  i,  1845.  daughter  of  John  Charles 
and  Sarah  Ann  (Holden)  Whitcher,  natives  of  England.  Two  children  were 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Powles  :  Frank  Sherman  and  Charles  Alexander.  Frank 
S.  Powles  travels  for  Swift  &  Co.,  the  large  Chicago  packers;  he  married 
Elizabeth  Bolton  Hayes,  and  they  have  five  children.  Claron  Daniel.  Harry 
Denton,  Harold  Abram,  Dorothy  Elizabeth  and  Frances  Martha.  Charles 
Alexander  Powles  is  a  butcher  in  Antioch,  111.;  he  married  Erma  \^anPatton, 
and  they  have  two  sons.  Laurel  Dewey  and  Frank  Dotton. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Powles  were  natives  of  London.  England,  and  were 
there  married.  On  coming  to  America  they  were  among  the  early  pioneer  set- 
tlers of  Yorkville  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  the  county  at  that  time  being 
infested  with  Indians,  and  wolves  and  wild  game  of  all  kinds  were  abundant. 
Mr.  Whitcher  purchased  government  land  at  $1.25  per  acre,  and  here  reared 
his  family.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Whitcher  had  two  children  born  to  them  in  their 
native  country ;  Sarah,  who  died  in  England,  when  two  years  old ;  and  Char- 
lotte, who  came  with  her  parents  to  the  United  States  and  married  Adam  Hun- 
ter, now  being  a  resident  of  Yorkville  township.  Four  children  were  born  to 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wliitcher  in  this  country,  namely;  Elizabeth,  deceased;  Mar- 
tha M.,  widow  of  Henry  G.  Powles;  Thomas  James,  who  resides  on  the  old 
homestead  in  Yorkville  township,  and  Charles  Holden,  who  lives  near  Bristol, 
in  Kenosha  county,  and  who  was  sherift'  of  that  county  for  two  years.  John 
Charles  Whitcher,  the  father,  was  a  coachman  in  England,  but  after  coming  to 
this  country  he  always  followed  farming.  He  lived  upon  the  farm  on  which 
he  settled  for  forty  years  or  more,  after  which  he  and  his  wife  removed  to 
LTnion  Grove,  where  she  died  in  1890,  aged  eighty-one  years.  After  the  death 
of  his  wife  Mr.  Whitcher  went  to  live  with  his  daughter.  Mrs.  Powles.  with 
w-hom  he  died  in  1891,  aged  seventy-nine  years. 

Henry  G.  Powles  cast  his  first  Presidential  vote  for  Abraham  Lincoln.  He 
was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  G.  A.  R.  post  of  Union  Grove,  and  was  an 
ofificer  of  the  day  for  many  years.  He  had  the  good-will  and  esteem  of  all  who 
knew  him,  his  upright  life  having  won  him  universal  confidence.  He  died  at 
his  home  in  the  village  of  LTnion  Grove,  about  eight  o'clock  on  Tuesday  morn- 
ing, Oct.   II.  1904.  and  although  his  death  was  expected  the  announcement 


94  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

cast  a  pang  of  sorrow  throughout  the  village  and  southern  part  of  the  county. 
He  had  been  a  great  sufferer  from  the  close  of  the  war  until  his  death.  Air. 
Powles  was  quite  a  genius  in  the  use  of  the  scroll  saw,  and  left  many  relics  of 
his  handiwork  which  will  be  greatly  cherished  by  his  descendants. 

CHARLES  D.  AIcXEIL,  carpenter  and  builder  in  Pleasant  Prairie  town- 
ship, Kenosha  county,  was  born  in  Jeft'erson  county,  X.  Y.,  June  3,  1839,  son 
of  William  and  Sarah  (Lyon)  McNeil. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  McNeil  were  natives  of  New  \  ork,  but  the  paternal 
grandfather  was  bom  in  Scotland  and  reared  three  sons,  Benjamin,  William 
and  James.  The  children  of  William  and  Sarah  McNeil  were  four  sons  and 
two  daughters,  namely:  Rosalie,  wife  of  Robert  Tait,  of  Racine;  Charles  D., 
of  Pleasant  Prairie  township;  George,  also  of  that  township;  William,  de- 
ceased ;  Frank,  of  Bristol  township ;  and  Addie,  who  lives  with  her  brother 
Frank.  William  McNeil,  the  father,  was  reared  a  farmer,  and  he  came  from 
New  York  to  Wisconsin  in  1845,  settling  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township  where 
he  bought  eighty  acres  of  land  and  improved  it,  and  on  it  he  reared  his  family 
in  comfort.  He  died  here  in  1870,  aged  sixty-six  years,  survived  by  his  wife 
a  number  of  years.  They  were  most  worthy  people,  respected  by  all  who  knew 
them. 

Charles  D.  McNeil  was  six  years  old  when  his  parents  came  to  Kenoshai 
county,  and  he  grew  to  manhood  on  his  father's  farm  in  Pleasant  Prairie  town- 
ship, and  was  educated  in  the  district  schools.  He  remained  at  home  until  his 
majority,  and  then  went  to  work  at  the  carpenter  trade  which  he  has  followed 
ever  since  with  the  exception  of  three  years,  during  which  he  was  foreman  on 
the  old  Truesdale  farm  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township. 

Air.  McNeil  was  married  Feb.  22,  1866,  to  Miss  Laverne  A.  Taylor, 
daughter  of  Parsons  and  Mary  A.  (Higgins)  Taylor,  and  a  family  of  eleven 
children  has  been  born  to  this  union,  five  sons  and  six  daughters:  (i)  Alice 
married  O.  G.  Bush,  and  they  live  in  Marathon  county.  Wis. ;  they  have  chil- 
dren:  Duane,  Harold,  Raymond,  Archie,  Laverne  and  Irene.  (2)  Delia  mar- 
ried William  Hollenbeck,  and  at  death  left  these  children :  Nettie,  Jessie  and 
Isabel.  (3)  George  lives  at  Mount  Vernon,  Washington,  where  he  is  a  fisher- 
man. He  married  Edith  Gage.  (4)  Jessie  married  Charles  Johnson,  and  they 
live  in  Racine.  Their  children  are:  Harold  and  Beulah.  {5)  Chauncy  is  a 
teamster  and  lives  in  Kenosha.  He  married  Gertrude  Lewis,  and  they  have  two 
children.  Earl  and  Esther  Laverne.  (6)  Mary  married  Henry  Gunderson,  of 
Pleasant  Prairie  township  and  they  have  one  son.  Glen.  (7)  Lulu  married 
Harry  Cummings,  of  Kenosha,  and  they  have  one  daughter,  Evelyn.  (8) 
Florence  married  Harry  Bain,  and  they  live  in  Racine.  (9)  Jay  is  employed 
in  the  powder  mill  at  Pleasant  Prairie.  He  married  Lulu  Eby  anfl  they  have 
one  son,  Everett.     (10)  Frank  lives  at  home  as  does  (11)  Raymond. 

Politically  Mr.  MclNeil  is  a  stanch  Republican.  In  1864  he  enlisted  for 
service  in  the  Civil  war,  in  Company  C.  39th  Wis.  \^.  I.,  and  served  f()ur 
months,  returning  to  his  home  without  injury. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  McNeil  was  a  farmer  and  reared  six 
children.  Her  maternal  grandfather  was  Fitch  Higgins,  who  came  to  Wis- 
consin from  Connecticut,  and  settled  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township,  where  he 


COMME.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  95 

Avas  one  of  the  earliest  pioneers.  He  took  up  go\-ernnieut  land  Iwo  miles  from 
Southport,  on  which  he  lived  until  his  death  when  over  ninety  years  of  age. 
He  and  his  first  wife,  the  grandmother  of  Mrs.  McNeil,  were  the  parents  of 
one  son  and  four  daughters,  namely :  W-illiam ;  Emeline,  who  married  Rollin 
Tuttle;  Mary  Ann,  the  mother  of  Mrs.  McNeil;  and  Eliza,  who  married 
Hezekiah  Richards ;  the  youngest  and  the  only  survivor  being  Amanda,  who 
became  the  wife  of  Adrian  Foster.  The  second  wife  of  Mr.  Higgins  was 
Lucinda  Miller  and  they  had  tw^o  children,  viz. :  Charles,  a  resident  of  Pleas- 
ant Prairie,  and  Frederick,  who  lives  in  Chicago. 

Parsons  Taylor,  the  father  of  Mrs.  McNeil,  was  born  in  New  York,  and 
married  Mary  A.  Higgins,  a  native  of  Vermont.  They  came  to  Pleasant 
Prairie  township  with  the  early  pioneers,  and  saw  many  hardships  incident  to 
life  here  in  those  days.  The  father  bought  eighty  acres  of  land  which  he  later 
sold  and  bought  200  acres  at  Pleasant  Prairie  Station.  This  he  also  sold  and 
bought  a  farm  near  Marengo,  111.,  later  removing  to  the  vicinity  of  Fort  Dodge, 
la.,  where  he  died.  His  widow  survived  him  until  the  spring  of  1903,  when 
she  was  in  her  seventy-ninth  year.  They  had  eight  children,  namely :  Ellen, 
deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  George  Poor;  Edgar  Taylor,  deceased  ;  Laverne, 
wife  of  Mr.  McNeil;  Oscar,  of  Pleasant  Prairie  township:  Fitch,  of  Wheaton, 
111. ;  Dellazon,  deceased ;  Ida,  wife  of  James  McDonald,  of  Rockford.  111. ;  and 
Evelyn,  wdio  died  aged  twelve  years. 

JOHN  J.  ENGLISH,  a  leading  business  man  of  Kenosha,  Wis.,  engaged 
in  the  hardware  line,  was  born  in  that  city  June  8,  1855.  He  is  a  son  of 
Patrick  and  Elizabeth  (Murray)  English,  the  former  a  nati\-e  of  Ireland,  the 
latter  of  Scotland.  The  paternal  grandfather  of  John  J.  English,  a  native  of 
Ireland,  came  to  America  and  settled  in  Kenosha,  where  he  died  at  an  advanced 
age,  as  did  also  his  wife.  They  had  a  family  of  fi\-e  children  of  whom  Patrick 
was  the  father  of  our  subject. 

Patrick  English,  on  coming  to  America,  settled  in  Southport  (now  Keno- 
sha) Wis.,  where  he  carried  on  a  butcher  business  for  many  years.  He  died  in 
1883,  aged  si.xty-three  years.  At  an  early  date  in  the  history  of  Kenosha  he  w^as 
an  alderman  of  the  city.  His  widow^  survived  until  August,  1903,  being  in  her 
seventy-ninth  year  at  the  time  of  her  death.  Both  were  Catholics.  They  were 
the  parents  of  fourteen  children,  eleven  of  whom  are  still  living:  William; 
Edward ;  Thomas ;  Robert ;  John  ;  Charles ;  Ann,  the  widow  of  William  Mc- 
Dermott;  Lizzie;  ]\Iary,  the  widow  of  Michael  Burns:  Angeline,  the  wife  of 
Harry  Kupfer ;  and  Catherine,  the  wife  of  Thomas  O'Neil.  Mrs.  Patrick  Eng- 
lish was  a  daughter  of  William  and  Ann  (Riley)  Murray,  natives  of  Scotland, 
who  came  to  America  and  for  a  number  of  years  lived  in  Kenosha  county, 
Avhere  they  both  died. 

John  J.  English  has  spent  his  entire  life  in  Kenosha.  After  attending  the 
public  and  parochial  schools  he  began  clerking  in  the  hardware  business,  and 
in  1892  formed  a  partnership  with  G.  V.  Redeker.  in  that  business,  under  the 
firm  name  of  Redeker  &  English.  This  firm  continued  until  1902.  when  -Mr. 
Fnglish  purchased  his  partner's  interest,  and  he  has  since  continued  the  business 
alone.  On  April  24.  t888,  Mr.  Ensrlish  and  Miss  .\nnie  Moeller.  daughter  of 
\\'illiam  and  ^lary  (Reiman)  [Nloeller,  were  united  in  marriage,  and  two  chil- 


96  CO:\OIE?.IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

dren  have  beeif  born  to  this  union,  Beatrice  and  Beulah.  The  family  reside  at 
Mo.  353  Fark  street,  where  Mr.  tinglisli  built  a  pleasant  home  in  1902.  Mr. 
and  ivirs.  Enghsh  are  members  of  st.  James  Catholic  Church,  traternally 
Air.  English  is  connected  with  the  Canadian  foresters.  Politically  he  is  a  Dem- 
ocrat. 

The  grandfather  of  Mrs.  English  was  a  native  of  Hilldrup,  Westphalia, 
Prussia,  and  on  coming  to  America  settled  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  where  he  and  his 
wife  died  at  an  advanced  age.  They  had  a  family  of  nine  children,  of  whom 
William  Moeller  was  the  father  of  Airs.  English.  He  was  born  in  Westphalia, 
and  on  coming  to  America  settled  in  Southport  (now  Kenosha),  where  he 
followed  his  trade  of  brewer.  At  an  early  period  in  the  history  of  Kenosha  he 
was  marshal  of  the  city.     He  died  in  1886,  at  the  age  of  fifty-eight  years. 

Mr.  Moeller  married  Mary  Reiman,  who  was  born  at  Neunkirchen, 
Kriegsdown,  Trier,  Prussia,  daughter  of  Bernard  Reiman  and  Lena  Barlinger, 
natives  of  Prussia  who  came  to  America  and  lived  in  Kenosha  county  for  a 
number  of  years,  both  dying  here;  they  were  Catholics  in  religious  faith.  Will- 
iam and  Mary  (Reiman)  Moeller  were  the  parents  of  twelve  children,  the 
mother  and  eleven  children  surviving  the  father.  Nine  of  this  family  are  still 
living :  Elizabeth,  wife  of  John  Schoetler ;  Mary,  wife  of  George  Gill ;  Rose, 
wife  of  James  Gorman ;  Annie,  born  in  Kenosha  March  1 1.  1863,  wife  of  John 
J.  English ;  William,  unmarried ;  Kate,  wife  of  Edward  Dolan ;  Caroline,  who 
is  unmarried;  Josephine,  wife  of  Eli  Dresden;  and  John,  who  is  married. 

GEORGE  D.  HEAD,  who  was  until  his  death  senior  member  of  the  iirm 
of  Head  &  Grant,  proprietors  of  the  Kenosha  Lumber  Company,  of  Kenosha, 
Wis.,  was  born  in  Paris,  Oneida  Co.,  N.  Y.,  June  22,  1830,  son  of  Ralph 
and  Eliza  (Doolittle)  Head,  natives  of  New  York. 

Jonathan  Head,  the  grandfather  of  George  D.,  was  probably  a  native 
of  Rhode  Island.  He  was  a  carpenter  by  trade,  and  also  followed  agricultural 
operations,  and  was  an  early  settler  of  New  York  State.  He  died  in  the  town 
of  Paris,  N.  Y.,  being  nearly  ninety  years  of  age.  His  wife,  Hepsabeth  Liv- 
ermore,  also  attained  an  advanced,  age. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  George  D.  Head  was  Uri  Doolittle,  a  native 
of  Connecticut.  A  mason  by  trade,  he  was  the  builder  of  Hamilton  College, 
and  he  also  operated  a  farm  upon  which  he  lived  in  Paris  township,  in  New 
York.  He  served  in  the  Revolutionary  war,  and  attained  an  advanced  age, 
as  did  also  his  wife.     He  belonged  to  the  Masonic  fraternity. 

Ralph  H^ad  was  a  wagonmaker  in  Paris.  N.  Y.,  and  there  died  aged  for- 
ty-six years.  Two  years  after  his  death  his  wife  came  West,  and,  settling  in 
Kenosha,  lived  witii  her  son  George  D.,  until  her  death  at  the  age  of  sixty- 
one  years.  Both  she  and  her  husband  were  Episcopalians.  He  was  a  stanch 
Andrew  Jackson  Democrat  and  was  quite  a  politician.  Of  his  six  children 
but  one  is  now  living,  Mary  E.,  wife  of  R.  E.  Sutherland,  of  Kenosha. 

George  D.  Head  was  reared  in  Oneida  county,  N.  Y.,  where  he  remained 
until  sixteen  years  of  age.  In  1846  he  came  to  Southport,  and  lived  here 
ever  afterward.  His  schooling  was  obtained  in  New  York  State,  and  his 
entry  in  the  business  world  was  as  a  clerk  for  his  uncle,  Daniel  Head,  at  An- 
tioch.  Lake  Co.,  111.     On  locating  in  Southport  he  became  clerk  in  the  old 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  97 

"Runals  House"  for  Head,  Campbell  &  Head.  In  1854  he  started  in  business 
for  himself  in  a  general  store,  continuing  in  that  business  until  1S60,  when 
he  was  burned  out  in  a  fire  which  destroyed  both  sides  of  the  street,  he  being 
located  at  the  corner  of  Main  and  Pearl  streets.  Not  having  carried  any 
insurance,  Mr.  Head's  loss  was  a  total  one,  but,  nothing  daunted,  he  started 
in  the  lumber  business.  Soon  after  this  he  started  pressing  hay,  and  also  a 
wagon  works  with  R.  E.  Sutherland  (his  brother-in-law),  which  ventures, 
proving  profitable,  gave  him  a  new  start.  Although  starting  without  capital, 
he  soon  established  a  reputation  for  square  dealing,  and  built  up  a  good 
credit  and  a  large  business.  He  continued  hay  pressing  for  a  few  years,  in 
connection  with  wagon  making,  after  which  time  he  devoted  his  time  and 
attention  almost  exclusively  to  the  lumber  business.  For  the  last  eleven 
years  of  his  life  he  was  associated  with  E.  L.  Grant. 

Mr.  Head  died  May  19,  1906,  after  a  long  illness,  and  was  laid  to  rest 
in  the  family  plot  in  the  city  cemetery.  The  following  appeared  in  a  local 
paper  the  day  of  the  funeral : 

"The  death  of  George  D.  Head  marks  the  passing  of  one  of  the  best 
known  men  in  this  part  of  Wisconsin.  He  w'as  a  man  universally  known  and 
universally  loved  and  the  announcement  of  his  deatii  will  cause  the  tear  of 
sorrow  to  fall  in  many  homes  in  the  city.     *     *     *     * 

"Few  men  in  Kenosha  enjoyed  such  a  personal  popularity  as  George  D. 
Head.  He  was  a  man  without  enemies  in  the  broadest  sense  of  the  word. 
He  took  a  kindly  interest  in  the  affairs  of  those  he  chose  to  call  his  friends, 
and  to  these  people  his  death  must  come  as  a  personal  sorrow.  Mr.  Head  was 
distinctly  a  man  of  the  home,  and  those  who  knew-  him  at  his  fireside  will  feel 
his  loss  most  keenly." 

On  Nov.  I,  1858,  Mr.  Head  married  Miss  Eliza  ]\I.  Sexton,  daughter  of 
Aaron  and  Maria  (Runals)  Sexton,  and  to  this  union  were  born  eight  chil- 
dren: Kittie  D.,  Eugene  Ralph,  Bertha,  Daniel  O..  Ida  Belle,  Frederick  S.. 
and  two  who  died  in  early  childhood.  Kittie  D.  married  E.  S.  Wilson,  of 
Oshkosh,  Wis.,  and  has  four  children,  George  H..  Ralph,  Morris  and  Joseph. 
Eugene  R.  is  in  the  printing  and  publishing  business,"  continuing  the  paper 
established  in  Kenosha  (or  Southport) — the  Telegraph  Courier — and  also 
operates  in  real  estate;  he  married  Mildred  Lewis,  and  they  have  three  chil- 
dren, Clarence,  Bertha  and  Robert.  Bertha,  the  third  child,  was  drowned 
in  Lake  Michigan  when  twenty  years  of  age.  Daniel  O.,  who  engaged  in 
the  lumber  business  with  his  father,  married  Lottie  A.  Chalfant.  and  they 
have  four  children,  George  D.,  Randolph,  Daniel  Orin  and  Beatrice.  Ida 
Belle  married  Frank  Pearson,  and  they  reside  in  Chicago,  III.  Frederick  S. 
is  in  the  employ  of  a  lumber  company  of  Goldfield.  Neb. ;  he  married  Ruth 
Hurd.  and  they  have  two  children,  Charles  and  Elizabeth. 

George  D.  Head  was  an  Episcopalian,  as  is  also  his  widow.  He  was 
a  Republican,  and  closely  connected  with  local  political  affairs  for  half  a  cen- 
tury. In  the  early  days  he  served  as  city  treasurer  of  the  city,  for  one  term, 
was  alderman  of  the  First  ward,  and  later  held  the  same  position  in  the  Fourth 
ward.     Mr.  Head  lived  at  No.  404  Park  street  from  1854  until  his  death. 


98         co:m:me^iorative  biographical  record. 

REV.  STEPHEN  DEAN  TRANT,  who  is  well  known  throughout 
Wisconsin  for  the  great  and  good  work  he  has  accomplished  as  a  minister  of 
the  Gospel,  is  pastor  of  St.  Patrick's  Roman  Catholic  Church  of  Racine,  and 
dean  of  the  Racine  District  of  the  Catholic  Church.  His  birth  occurred  in 
Southport  (now  Kenosha),  Wis.,  Dec.  26,  1844,  and  he  is  a  son  of  William 
and  Anastasia  (Scannell)  Trant,  natives  of  the  south  of  Ireland. 

Thomas  Trant,  the  grandfather  of  Dean  Trant,  was  born  in  Ireland,  and 
there  died.  He  and  his  wife,  whose  maiden  name  had  been  Bridget  Hussey, 
had  one  son  and  two  daughters.  This  son,  William,  married  in  Canada,  Nov. 
28,  1838,  Anastasia  Scannell,  daughter  of  William  Scannell,  a  merchant  of 
Ireland,  where  he  died.  Mrs.  Trant's  mother  was  Ellen  Kent,  who  passed 
away  in  Milwaukee.  After  marriage,  in  1842,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Trant 
left  Canada  and  came  to  Wisconsin,  locating  in  Southport,  where,  until  Mrs. 
Trant's  death,  in  1850,  of  cholera,  they  conducted  an  old-fashioned  tavern, 
known  as  the  "Lake  House."  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Trant  had  four  children,  two  sons 
and  two  daughters,  namely :  Rev.  Stephen,  William  Joseph  and  Maria, 
twins,  and  Ellen.  The  last  named  died  of  cholera  at  the  time  of  the  death  of 
her  mother.  William  Joseph  was  a  machinist  by  trade  and  resided  in  Mil- 
waukee for  nearly  fifty  years,  dying  there,  a  bachelor,  March  27,  1905,  while 
Maria  is  the  widow  of  Christopher  Garvey,  and  resides  at  Prairie  du  Chien, 
Wis.  William  Trant  continued  to  reside  in  Kenosha  up  to  the  time  of  his 
death.  May  24,  1854,  when  about  fifty-four  years  of  age.  He  had  been  a 
bookkeeper  in  his  native  country,  and  was  a  man  of  fine  education  and  excel- 
lent reputation. 

Father  Stephen  Trant  was  reared  in  Kenosha,  where  he  remained,  at- 
tending the  public  schools,  until  1856,  in  which  year  he  went  to  live  with  an 
aunt  in  ^Milwaukee,  both  his  mother  and  father  having  died.  He  attended  the 
Christian  Brothers'  School  at  old  St.  Peter's  Church  and  afterward  St.  Aloy- 
sius'  Academy,  conducted  by  the  Jesuit  Fathers.  At  the  latter  institution  he 
remained  until  February.  1861,  and  then  entered  St.  Francis'  Seminary  at 
Milwaukee  to  study  for  the  priesthood,  being  ordained  Dec.  19,  1868.  His 
first  assignment  was  to  Highland,  Wis.,  where  he  remained  twelve  years, 
whence  he  became  pastor  of  St.  Joseph's  Church  at  Fond  du  Lac,  Wis.,  and 
remained  at  this  charge  fi\-e  years.  On  Feb.  10,  1886,  Father  Trant  came  to 
Racine,  becoming  pastor  of  St.  Patrick's  Chvirch,  where  he  still  remains,  be- 
loved by  a  large  congregation.  Since  taking  charge  of  the  pastorate  consid- 
erable improvements  have  been  made,  but  the  Father's  modesty  makes  it  im- 
possible for  the  writer  to  enumerate  these.  In  connection  with  the  Church  is 
a  graded  school,  conducted  by  the  Sisters  of  St.  Dominic.  This  school  has 
grown  rapidly  from  a  small  one  organized  by  two  sisters  to  a  school  of  con- 
siderable size.  In  the  year  1887  Father  Trant  was  made  dean  of  the  Racine 
District. 

Father  Trant's  father,  William  Trant,  acquired  valuable  property  in 
Kenosha,  and  as  a  man  of  progressive  ideas  and  public  spirit  gave  liberally  to 
the  support  of  those  enterprises  which  he  believed  would  have  a  beneficial 
effect  upon  the  community.  He  was  zealous  in  the  cause  of  the  Roman  Cath- 
olic Church,  and  donated  the  site  of  the  house  of  worship  in  Kenosha,  with  the 
one  condition  that  the  congregation  should  erect  thereon  a  brick  stnicture. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  99 

This  was  done,  the  old  St.  Mark's  church  being  built,  which  has  been  replaced 
by  the  present  St.  James"  church.  William  Trant  and  his  wife  were  highly 
respected  and  greatly  esteemed  among  the  neighbors,  who,  in  their  deaths, 
sustained  the  loss  of  charitable  friends  and  true  Christian  people. 

Father  Trant's  congregation  embraces  something  over  two  hundred  fam- 
ilies, and  by  all  he  is  esteemed  and  beloved.  Full  of  charity  and  thought  for 
others,  he  has  hosts  of  friends  throughout  the  State,  while  his  sound  judg- 
ment and  sterling  character  have  won  for  him  a  place  in  the  front  rank  of  men 
of  refinement  and  education. 

St.  Patrick's  Church  Society.  The  pioneer  settlers  of  the  Roman 
Catholic  faith  in  Racine  and  Kenosha  counties  had  their  spiritual  wants  at- 
tended to  by  Rev.  Thomas  Morrissy,  who  came  to  the  Territory  about  1840. 
There  was  not  then,  nor  for  some  years  afterward,  any  Catholic  Church  in 
these  two  counties.  Upon  the  arrival  of  Father  Morrissy;  wdiich  was  at 
somewhat  irregular  periods,  it  was  customary  to  notify  the  few  Catholics  in  the 
vicinity  to  meet  at  a  certain  house,  where  mass  and  instructions  were  held, 
and  the  necessary  sacraments  dispensed.  One  of  the  stations  of  his  very 
extensive  circuit  w-as  at  Racine. 

Near  the  close  of  1841  Rev.  Martin  Kundig  came  to  the  Territory  from 
Detroit,  Mich.,  and  made  his  headquarters  in  Milwaukee.  He  also  made 
frequent  visits  to  Racine  and  Kenosha  counties,  gathered  the  faithful  to- 
gether, said  mass,  instructed  the  people,  and  baptized  the  children.  In  time, 
the  number  of  Catholics  increasing  in  Racine,  property  was  purchased  on 
Fifth  street,  near  where  the  "Commercial  Hotel"  now  stands,  and  an  unpre- 
tentious frame  building  erected  thereon.  This  was  the  first  Catholic  Church 
in  Racine,  and  was  called  St.  Luke's.  In  less  than  two  years  this  church  was 
found  to  be  too  small  to  accommodate  the  rapidly  increasing  number  of  Cath- 
olic worshippers,  and  steps  were  taken  to  build  a  larger  edifice.  A  Mr.  Riordan 
gave  the  society  a  quit  claim  deed  for  two  lots  on  the  southwest  corner  of 
Eighth  street  and  Lake  avenue,  upon  what  was  then  the  school  section.  In 
1845  a  church  building  sufficiently  large  to  accommodate  the  Catholics  of  all 
nationalities  was  erected  on  this  site.  Services  were  then  discontinued  at  the 
old  St.  Luke's  Church  and  the  property  sold. 

In  September,  1846,  by  the  appointment  of  the  Right  Rev.  John  Martin 
Henni.  who,  two  years  previously,  was  made  Bishop  of  Milwaukee,  Rev. 
Francis  Prendergast  w^as  sent  to  Racine  as  the  first  resident  pastor  of  the 
church,  which  was  called  St.  Ignatius.  Father  Prendergast  remained  in 
charge  only  about  one  year  and  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  P.  J.  Fander.  wlio 
remained  two  years.  In  August,  1849,  Rev.  Charles  Shroudenbach- 
took  pastoral  charge,  and  remained  about  three  years.  In  November,  1851. 
Rev.  John  W.  Norris.  D.  D.,  was  appointed  pastor,  which  position  he  held 
one  year,  when  he  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  :Martin  Kundig,  V.  G.,  in  August, 
1852.  During  his  pastorate,  which  lasted  about  two  years,  the  German  Cath- 
olics saw  that  they  were  numerically  strong  enough  to  build  a  church  of  their 
own  and  support  a  priest  of  their  own  nationality.  Tlie  English  speaking 
Catholics  indemnified  their  brethren  for  the  money  interests  they  had  held  in 
St.  Ignatius  Church  when  the  Germans  proceeded  to  build  a  church  on  the 


lOO  CO^IMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

corner  of  College  avenue  and  Eighth  street.  Father  Kundig  became  the  pas- 
tor of  the  new  St.  Mary's  Church  and  Rev.  T.  A.  Smith  succeeded  him  as 
pastor  of  the  Church  of  St.  Ignatius  in  June.  1855.  Though  additions  had 
twice  been  build  to  St.  Ignatius  Church,  and  notwithstanding  that  the  Ger- 
mans now  had  a  church  of  their  own,  it  was  soon  apparent  that  the  old  church 
was  entirely  too  small  to  afiford  ruum  for  the  English  speaking  Catholics.  In 
canvassing  the  opinions  of  the  congregation  on  the  subject  of  a  new  church, 
it  became  manifested  that  by  far  the  greater  number  of  the  communicants 
resided  on  the  north  side  of  the  river,  and  as  a  consequence  voted  to  have  the 
new  church  in  question  erected  on  the  north  side.  Under  the  management 
of  Father  Smith,  property  was  secured  on  St.  Clair  street,  and  the  present 
St.  Patrick's  Church  completed  in  1856.  The  pastors  of  St.  Patrick's  Church 
also  officiated  at  St.  Ignatius  Church,  on  the  south  side,  every  Sunday  up  to 
May  12,  1862,  when  services  were  discontinued.  From  this  time  until  1885 
the  English  speaking  Catholics  of  Racine  worshipped  at  St.  Patrick's.  At 
this  time  the  necessity  of  having  another  English  speaking  church  in  the  city, 
and  located  on  the  south  side,  became  apparent.  The  result  was  the  building 
of  St.  Rose's  Church,  at  the  corner  of  Eleventh  and  Grand  avenue. 

In  September,  1859,  Father  Smith  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  G.  H.  Bren- 
nan,  who  remained  in  charge  until  Jan.  14,  1861,  when  he  was  followed  by 
Rev.  M.  W.  Gibson,  who,  in  turn,  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  George  W. 
Matthews,  on  the  14th  of  May,  1863.  Under  the  administration  of  Father 
Matthews,  which  continued  for  twenty-three  years,  more  church  property  was 
secured,  a  brick  parsonage  built,  a  commodious  schoolhouse  and  church  hall 
were  erected,  all  church  indebtedness  paid,  and  many  improvements  made. 
Father  Matthews  died  while  acting  as  pastor  of  the  church,  Jan.  27,  1886, 
highly  esteemed  by  all  classes. 

The  present  pastor.  Rev.  Stephen  Trant,  was  appointed  to  the  charge  of 
St.  Patrick's  Church  after  the  death  of  Father  Matthews.  St.  Patrick's  con- 
gregation has  an  excellent  parochial  school,  a  fine  pastoral  residence,  which 
has  been  considerably  remodeled  and  improved  under  the  present  management, 
and  a  beautiful  church  property.  The  temporal  or  business  affairs  of  the 
society  are  managed  by  a  committee  elected  by  the  congregation,  and  whose 
duty  it  is  to  confer  with  the  pastor  on  matters  of  a  purely  secular  nature.  The 
affairs  of  St.  Patrick's  Church  now,  as  in  the  past,  are  conducted  without  the 
least  friction. 

DAVID  PAYXTER  WIGLEY  is  one  of  the  most  successful,  substan- 
tial and  enterprising  business  men  of  Racine.  It  is  dubious,  indeed,  whether 
there  has  ever  been,  in  the  history  of  the  business  men  of  Racine,  such  a  re- 
markably successful  career  as  that  of  Mr.  Wigley  during  the  twelve  years  he 
has  been  actively  engaged  in  business  there.  From  the  position  of  a  poor  me- 
chanic during  the  panic  of  1893.  he  overcame  the  keen  competition  of  well- 
established  business  firms  in  the  flour  and  feed  line  at  that  time,  which  is  the 
most  difficult  obstacle  that  every  man  beginning  in  the  business  world  has  to 
contend  with,  and  by  steps  forward  in  steady  and  rapid  succession  he  quickly 
arose  to  the  point  where  he  was  and  is  referred  to  as  one  of  Racine's  proud 
products  of  substantial  financial  worth  as  well  as  a  dealer  of  high  and  good 
repute. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  loi 

]\Ir.  \\'igley  was  burn  in  Rhus  Goch,  Staylittle,  Trefeghvys,  Montgoniery- 
shire,  North  Wales,  Nuv.  25,  1856.  His  boyhoud  days  were  spent  in  a  humble 
farming  community,  and  being  dissatisfied  witli  the  prospects  of  advancement 
and  financial  betterment  there  he  decided  to  try  his  fortune  in  the  United  States. 
He  came  here  in  the  month  of  March,  1881,  and  soon  secured  employment  on 
the  farm  of  David  Jones,  about  five  miles  west  of  the  city,  in  the  town  of  Mt. 
Pleasant,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.  Here  he  remained  for  one  year  and  during  the 
winter  months  availed  himself  of  a  short  schooling  in  district  school  No.  10. 
The  following  year  he  removed  to  the  city  and  for  a  period  of  eleven  years  was 
engaged  in  the  wood  department  shops  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing'  Machine 
Company. 

On  Aug.  31.  1892,  Mr.  Wigley  was  united  in  marriage  with  ]Miss  Jane 
Jones,  of  Venedocia,  Ohio,  and  soon  after  purchased  a  home  at  No.  712  Villa 
street.  Mrs.  Wigley  was  born  at  Brynunty,  Llanbrynmair,  Montgomeryshire, 
North  Wales,  and  with  her  parents  came  to  this  country  and  settled  near  Vene- 
docia, Ohio,  in  the  year  1884.  Mrs.  Wigley  was  given  a  warm  welcome  into 
Racine  society.  She  is  a  most  highly  esteemed  lady,  possessing  a  charming  and 
most  amiable  disposition,  and  her  ability  and  energy  and  co-operation  were 
equal  factors  in  the  success  of  her  husband  in  every  way. 

During  the  panic  of  1893,  as  referred  to  before,  Mr.  Wigley  accepted  a 
position  as  city  solicitor  and  salesman  with  the  Star  Mills.  During  his  few 
months'  services  with  this  company  he  grasped  the  idea  of  a  future  livelihood 
and  soon  he  started  as  a  small  dealer  in  the  flour  and  feed  business,  on  his  own 
responsibility.  Working  and  hustling  at  all  hours,  and  by  strict  attention  to 
business,  he  soon  became  prominent  in  his  line  and  by  conservative  thriftiness 
was  able  to  cope  with  the  competition  in  the  market.  • 

In  1895  li^  purchased  one  of  the  oldest  flour  and  feed  establishments  in 
the  city,  that  of  Kent  &  Smith,  on  College  avenue.  Here  he  forged  ahead  with 
a  much  more  rapid  pace,  and  five  years  later  purchased  the  old  Turner  Hall 
site,  one  of  the  most  valuable  real  estate  sites  in  the  heart  of  the  city.  He  re- 
modeled the  structure  at  a  large  expense,  transforming  the  ground  floor  into 
one  of  the  most  modern  stores,  and  improving  the  hall  above,  which  to-day  is 
known  as  Wigley's  Hall — a  commodious  place  of  gathering  for  lodges  and  var- 
ious societies. 

Mr.  Wigley  In'  this  time  had  built  up  not  only  a  retail  but  one  of  the  largest 
wholesale  trades  in  Racine,  and  it  became  necessary  for  him  to  secure  ware- 
rooms  near  railroad  accommodations.  He  purchased  a  valuable  site  at  Mead 
and  Eighth  streets,  near  the  Chicago  &  Northwestern  Railroad  Company's 
tracks,  where  he  erected  a  substantial  two-story  depositary.  Within  the  past 
very  few  years  his  business  has  increased  much  more  rapidly,  and  to  such  an 
extent  that  he  has  been  obliged  to  again  seek  larger  and  better  facilities  f(^r  the 
care  of  his  trade.  In  1905  he  purchased,  on  the  river  front,  at  Wisconsin  and 
Third  streets,  the  Emerson  Mills,  which  were  then  owned  by  the  trust,  the 
American  Linseed  Oil  Company,  a  large  formidable  six-story  brick  structure, 
with  thousands  of  square  feet  of  floor  space.  He  has  completely  remodeled  the 
interior  and  equipped  the  same  with  the  most  modern  grinding  machinery  and 
devices  for  the  rapid  handling  of  all  cereal  products.  He  is  proprietor  of  the 
only  elevator  in  this  part  of  the  State,  and  is  now  engaged  in  not  only  supply- 
ing all  local  trade  l)Ut  in  exporting  in  trainlnad  quantities. 


I02  CO.MMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

i\Ir.  W'igley  is  not  only  a  successful  business  man  but  is  equally  prominent 
in  tbe  best  social  circles  of  tbe  city.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wigley  are  among  the 
leading  members  of  the  Welsh  Presbyterian  Church,  and  he  is  also  an  honorary 
member  of  the  Kymric  Club,  as  well  as  a  member  of  the  Royal  League,  Modern 
Woodmen,  St.  David's  Society  and  the  Royal  Arcanum. 

JOHN  FOX  WELL  (deceased)  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Racine 
county,  with  which  he  was  identified  for  over  forty  years.  He  was  born  in 
Cornwall,  England,  son  of  William  Foxwell. 

William  Foxwell  was  born  in  England,  and  died  in  that  country,  where 
he  and  his  father,  John  Foxwell,  were  country  gentlemen  owning  good  estates. 
William  Foxwell  was  the  recipient  of  a  medal  from  the  Royal  Society  of  Eng- 
land for  saving  the  crew  of  the  troop  ship  "Royal  George,"  which  was  wrecked 
of¥  the  coast  of  Cornwall  when  returning  from  India.  He  died  when  about 
&eventy-five  years  old,  and  was  survived  by  his  wife,  Ann  (Harris)  Foxwell, 
a  daughter  of  John  Harris,  a  farmer,  who  died  in  England.  After  her  hus- 
band's death  Mrs.  Foxwell  came  to  America  with  her  family,  although  she  was 
then  sixty-three  years  of  age,  and  she  lived  in  Yorkville  township,  Racine  Co., 
Wis.,  until  her  death,  which  occurred  when  she  was  in  her  eightieth  year. 

John  Foxwell  came  from  England  to  America  in  1840,  and  located  in 
Racine  county.  Wis.  He  took  up  land  from  the  government  at  $1.25  per  acre, 
buying  what  is  now  known  as  the  Thomas  Shephard  farm,  but  in  less  than  a 
year  he  sold  out  and  moved  to  Caledonia  township,  buying  a  farm  there.  After 
some  fifteen  years'  residence  there  he  returned  in  March,  1856,  to  Yorkville 
township,  where  he  purchased  a  large  farm  on  which  he  lived  until  the  day  of 
his  death.  ]Mr.  Foxwell  was  a  man  of  more  than  ordinary'  mental  attainments, 
and,  having  received  a  liberal  education  in  his  native  land,  became  a  valuable 
acquisition  in  this  new  community.  With  a  musical  and  artistic  temperament, 
and  deep  religious  convictions,  he  was  a  power  among  his  neighbors  for  good, 
and  was  one  of  the  founders  and  a  lifelong  supporter  of  the  church  and  society 
at  Yorkville,  his  best  endeavors  being  freely  given  as  a  lay-preacher,  as  long  as 
he  was  able  to  build  it  up.  Politically,  before  and  during  the  Civil  war,  Mr. 
Foxwell  was  an  Abolitionist,  and  when  that  question  was  settled  espoused  the 
cause  of  the  Prohibition  party.  He  was  without  political  ambition,  but  never 
indifYerent  to  the  welfare  of  the  State.  He  died  at  his  home  March  20.  1882, 
at  the  age  of  seventy-five  years. 

John  Foxwell  chose  for  his  wife  Miss  Lucy  P.  Briggs,  daughter  of  Ansel 
and  Susanna  (Alton)  Briggs,  born  in  Zanesville.  Ohio,  Aug.  30,  1820.  They 
were  married  Sept.  13,  1841.  and  Mrs.  Foxwell  is  still  living  in  their  old  home. 
They  were  the  parents  of  twelve  children,  namely  :  William,  of  Lincoln.  Neb. : 
Susan  j\I.,  deceased,  wife  of  John  F.  Movie:  Avis,  wife  of  Wells  M.  Cook,  of 
DesMoines,  Iowa;  Lvdia,  wife  of  Jerome  McLaughlin,  of  Hartford,  Mich.; 
Marv  Ann,  wife  of  Thomas  F.  Movie,  of  Waterford.  Wis. ;  Philander,  de- 
ceased; Tohn.  of  Wapello,  Iowa:  Alark.  of  Manitoba;  Geore-^.  of  Waterford; 
Lucv,  wife  of  George  Richards,  of  Waukesha:  and  Paul  and  Elsie,  who  did  not 
outlive  infancy. 

Mrs.  Lucv  P.  Foxwell  is  in  the  seventh  generation  from  the  first  of  the 
Briggs  familv  to  come  to  America.     There  were  three  brothers  who  came  to 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  103 

Massachusetts  early  in  the  sixteen  hundreds,  possibly  among  the  Pilgrims.  Her 
paternal  grandfather,  Zedock  Briggs,  a  native  of  Massachusetts,  and  a  farmer 
by  occupation,  bore  arms  in  the  Revolution.  He  married  Miss  Harriet  Pal- 
meter,  and  both  lived  to  a  good  old  age,  her  death  occurring  only  six  weeks 
prior  to  his.  They  had  five  daughters  and  seven  sons.  Their  son  Ansel,  father 
of  Mrs.  Foxwell,  was  born  in  Massachusetts,  and  grew  up  and  married  there, 
but  in  1814  went  with  his  wife  to  Ohio.  He  settled  first  on  a  farm  on  the 
Muskingum  river,  but  afterward  moved  to  Medina  county,  and  finally,  in  1837, 
went  to  Wisconsin,  settling  in  Caledonia  township,  Racine  county,  where  he 
remained  about  thirteen  years.  Then  he  again  sought  a  new  home  further 
west,  finally  locating  in  Iowa,  in  Illyria  township,  Fayette  county,  where  he 
and  his  wife  died.  They  were  buried  in  the  cemetery  at  Lima.  At  the  time  of 
his  death.  May  8,  1855,  Mr.  Briggs  was  sixty-five  years  old,  and  his  wife, 
Susanna  {  Alton)  Briggs,  died  June  10,  1853,  3-g^<i  fifty-eight  years.  They  had 
ten  sons  and  two  daughters,  ten  of  whom  grew  to  maturity. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Foxwell,  Amasa  Alton,  came  to  this 
countrv  as  a  Hessian  soldier,  fought  against  the  Colonists,  was  wounded,  and 
was  taken  prisoner  at  the  battle  of  Saratoga.  On  parole,  becoming  better  ac- 
quainted with  the  object  of  the  Colonists,  he  espoused  their  cause,  and  renounc- 
ing his  allegiance  to  King  and  Country  became  an  American  citizen.  When 
the  strife  was  over  he  lived  and  died  as  a  farmer  in  Massachusetts.  He  was 
twice  married,  first  to  Miss  Rachel  Blood  and  second  to  Miss  Philena  Rice.  By 
the  two  marriages  he  became  the  father  of  six  children,  all  daughters. 

Mrs.  Lucy  P.  Foxwell  made  the  journey  from  Ohio  to  Wisconsin  with 
her  father's  family  in  1837,  and  she  well  remembers  the  trip,  which  was  made 
by  wagon.  A  resident  of  Wisconsin  for  sixty-nine  years,  she  has  seen  the  coun- 
try develop  from  a  wilderness,  and  can  recall  Racine  when  there  were  only 
four  houses  on  the  east  side  of  Main  street.  One  of  the  interesting  characters  in 
this  sketch,  she  still  lives  at  the  age  of  eighty-six,  in  her  own  home,  and  in  the 
full  possession  of  all  her  faculties.  Her  reminiscences  of  the  early  settlement  of 
Racine  county  are  highly  prized  by  her  children,  grandchildren  and  great- 
grandchildren, by  all  of  whom  she  is  duly  honored  and  loved  and  whose  great 
pleasure  it  is  to  gather  annually  at  her  home  and  celebrate  her  birthday. 

JUDGE  WTLLIA:\I  SMIEDING,  Jr..  Judge  of  the  ^lunicipal  Court  for 
Racine  County.  Wis.,  has  held  that  position  since  January,  1902.  Judge 
Smieding's  birth  occurred  Sept.  9,  1868,  in  Racine,  and  he  is  a  son  of  William 
and  Mary  ( Wustum)  Smieding,  the  former  a  native  of  Prussia,  Germany,  and 
the  latter  of  Racine,  Wisconsin. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  a  native  of  Germany,  where 
he  died,  as  did  also  his  wife.  George  Wustum,  the  maternal  grandfather  of  the 
Judge,  was  a  native  of  Bavaria,  Germany,  and  came  to  Racine  during  the  early 
settlement  of  that  city.  He  was  a  butcher  by  trade,  and  conducted  a  shop  in 
the  city  for  some  years.  He  was  mayor  of  Racine  for  a  number  of  years.  Mr. 
Wustum  died  in  Racine,  aged  seventy  years,  and  his  wife,  Barbara,  also  lived 
to  a  ripe  old  age. 

William  Smieding,  the  Judge's  father,  came  to  America  in  1853,  settling 
first  in  Cincinnati,  later  at  St.  Louis,  and  coming  to  Racine  about  18^5.  In 
partnership  with  .-n  elder  brother,  Henry  E..  he  estnlilished  a  drug  business  at 


I04  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

the  corner  of  Third  and  Main  strets,  and  there  he  continued  to  do  business  for 
twenty-four  or  twenty-five  years,  when  the  business  was  sold.  Since  tliat  time 
Mr.  Smieding  has  made  his  home  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township,  where  he  owns  a 
small  farm.  Both  he  and  his  wife  are  Protestants.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William 
Smieding  have  had  these  children  born  to  them:  Henry  G.,  of  Racine;  Judge 
William:  Miss  Marie;  Herman,  of  Racine;  George,  a  physician  of  Jefferson 
county.  Wis. ;  and  Fred,  of  Racine. 

William  Smieding,  Jr.,  was  reared  in  Racine,  where  he  attended  the  public 
and  high  schools,  from  the  latter  of  which  he  was  graduated  in  1887,  in  which 
year  he  entered  the  Wisconsin  University,  at  Madison,  graduating  therefrom  in 
letters  in  1891  and  from  the  law  department  in  1893.  He  was  admitted  to  the 
Bar  in  June  of  the  same  year,  and  at  once  began  practice  in  Racine.  In  April. 
1901,  he  was  elected  Judge  of  the  Municipal  Court  of  Racine  and  assumed  the 
duties  of  the  office  Jan.  i,  1902,  and  was  re-elected  for  a  second  term  in  April, 
1905.  This  office  he  still  holds.  Judge  Smieding  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge, 
No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M. :  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  32,  Knights  of  Pythias;  to  the  Ete. 
and  to  the  Maccabees. 

HON.  ALEXANDER  BAILEY,  who  has  been  a  resident  of  the  village 
of  Salem,  Wis.,  for  nearly  fifty  years,  is  now  one  of  the  most  prominent  and 
influential  citizens  of  that  village.  He  was  born  in  the  town  of  Lorraine, 
Jefferson  Co.,  N.  Y.,  June  26,  1824.  son  of  George  and  Olive  (Kasson)  Bai- 
ley, the  former  a  native  of  Rhode  Island  and  the  latter  of  Montgomery 
county,  New  York. 

The  paternal  grandfather,  George  Bailey,  and  his  wife,  Nancy  Briggs, 
belonged  to  prominent  stock  of  Massachusetts,  and  were  of  English  descent. 
They  had  a  family  of  seven  children.  The  founders  of  the  Kasson  family  in 
this  country  were  Adam  and  Jane  (Hall)  Kasson.  members  of  the  Presbyte- 
rian Church  of  Voluntown  at  its  incorporation  in  October,  1723.  Their 
son,  Robert  Kasson.  born  in  1741.  was  the  grandfather  of  our  subject,  and 
married  Jennie  Gaston.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  French  and  Revolutionary 
wars,  but  being  opposed  to  the  acceptance  of  French  aid  in  the  latter  struggle, 
because  they  were  Roman  Catholics,  he  finally  left  the  service,  for  which  he 
was  court-martialed,  but  afterward  reprieved.  He  was  a  wheelwright  by 
occupation,  and  made  his  home  in  Broadalbin,  Fulton  Co..  N.  Y.,  where  he 
died  Sept.  25,   1826,  aged  eighty-five  years. 

George  Bailey,  the  father  of  Hon.  Alexander,  spent  his  life  at  Lorraine, 
Jefferson  Co.,  N.  Y.,  where  he  died  in  May,  1838,  aged  fifty-four  years,  nine 
months.  He  belonged  to  the  Minute  Men  at  Sackett's  Harbor,  and  in  the 
battle  saw  General  Gray,  commander  of  the  British  troops,  shot.  His  wife 
survived  him,  passin?  away  in  May,  1876,  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven  years. 
They  had  seven  children,  as  follows :  Marvel,  who  resided  in  Watertown, 
Jefferson  Co.,  N.  Y. ;  Clark,  who  was  a  farmer  of  the  Empire  State;  Harvey, 
who  died  in  Adams,  where  he  followed  harnessmaking;  Jane,  wife  of  Levi 
Lamson.  deceased  in  18^9;  George,  who  was  a  farmer  of  Webster  county, 
Nebr. ;  Henrv,  who  resided  in  Adams,  N.  Y..  and  Alexander.  All  of  these 
children,  with  the  exception  of  Alexander,  are  now  deceased. 

Alexander  Bailev.  the    vouneest    of    the    familv,    attended    the    district 


Cl^cjl^,  X^«?t-<-^<6^ 


CO^niE^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  105 

scliools  until  thirteen  years  of  age,  and  completed  his  education  in  Adams 
Seminary.  He  taught'  his  first  school  the  winter  he  was  seventeen  years  of 
age  and  "followed  that  profession  for  two  years,  when,  in  1843,  he  came  to  the 
West  to  try  his  fortune  on  its  broad  prairies.  By  canal  and  lake  he  journeyed 
westward,  landing  in  October,  1843,  in  Milwaukee,  where  he  left  his  wife, 
while  he  started  on  foot  to  seek  a  location.  He  walked  all  the  way  to 
Kenosha  county,  and  purchased  160  acres  of  land  on  Section  33,  Brighton 
township,  paying  for  it  at  the  Government  price  of  $1.25  per  acre.  On  the 
claim  a  small  frame  cabin  had  been  built,  10x10  feet,  and  for  four  months 
this  was  the  home  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bailey.  They  lived  in  true  pioneer  style, 
and  experienced  many  of  the  privations  and  hardships  incident  to  life  on  the 
frontier.  For  fourteen  consecutive  winters  he  engaged  in  teaching  school, 
while  in  the  summer  season  his  energies  were  devoted  to  the  cultivation  and 
improvement  of  his  land,  which  in  course  of  time  yielded  him  abundant 
harvests. 

In  1856  :\Ir.  Bailey  removed  to  what  is  now  the  village  of  Salem,  and 
purchased  145  acres  of  land  on  Sections  10  and  11,  Salem  township,  putting 
up  the  first  building  in  the  village  and  renting  same  out  to  Schuyler  Benson, 
who  conducted  a  store  in  the  building  for  a  number  of  years.  Mr.  Bailey  con- 
tinued to  operate  the  farm  until  1859.  He  then  accepted  the  position  of  sta- 
tion agent  at  Salem,  with  the  Chicago  &  Northwestern  Railroad  Company, 
and  served  as  such  until  1889,  or  for  thirty  long  years,  a  fact  which  illustrates 
his  faithfulness  and  the  trust  reposed  in  him  by  the  company.  Much  of  this 
time  he  held  the  office  of  postmaster,  to  which  he  was  appointed  in  i860.  No 
other  filled  the  position  until  the  election  of  Grover  Cleveland,  in  1884,  when, 
on  account  of  his  political  views,  he  was  superseded  by  a  Democrat.  Other 
official  positions  he  has  also  held,  having  served  as  assessor  in  1850-51;  in 
1858  as  superintendent  of  schools  in  Salem  township;  from  1862  to  1869  as 
town  treasurer;  and  in  1870  was  elected  to  the  State  Legislature,  where  he 
served  with  distinction.  He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Old  Settlers' 
Club  of  Salem  township. 

Mr.  Bailey  is  now  living  retired  after  many  years  of  faithful  labor. 
He  has  a  wide  acquaintance  throughout  his  community  and  is  held  in  high 
esteem  for  his  sterling  worth  and  integrity.  His  public  and  private  life  are 
alike  above  reproach,  and  he  well  deserves  representation  in  this  volume. 

On  July  16,  1843,  just  before  coming  West,  Mr.  Bailey  married  Miss 
Betsey  L.  Haws,  daughter  of  Ebenezer  and  Lucinda  (Potter)  Haws,  and 
seven  children  were  born  to  this  union,  Ellen  Jane,  Frances  A.,  Eugene. 
George,  Lamont  and  Lillie  (twins)  and  Rosa.  Of  these,  (i)  Ellen  Jane 
married  Andrew  Booth,  and  they  live  in  Trevor,  Wis.  They  have  four 
daughters  living,  Mabel,  Carrie.  Gertrude  and  Nina.  Mabel  married  Henry 
Lubeno,  and  they  have  three  children,  Harry,  Mildred  and  Vera.  Carrie 
married  Ellery  Patterson,  of  Glendive.  Mont.,  and  they  have  three  children, 
Myron,  Eugene  and  Helen.  Nina  married  George  Swan,  and  they  live  in 
Topeka,  Kans.,  and  have  two  children,  Donald  and  Dorothy.  (2)  Frances 
A.  married  Jerome  Palmatier,  who  was  a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war  and  died  in 
May,  1874. "  They  had  two  children  :  Myron,  who  died  at  the  age  of  twenty- 
six  years,  married  Lovina  Riley,  and  had  one  child,  Lora ;  Luanah,  who  mar- 


io6  CO^vIMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

ried  George  Patrick,  has  two  children,  Byron  and  Mihon.  (3)  Eugene  mar- 
ried Avis  Smith,  and  for  his  second  wife  Carrie  Davison  (now  deceased),  by 
whom  he  had  four  children,  Bessie  (who  married  Llewellyn  Lloyd),  Eugenia, 
Alexander  and  Ivlarjnrie.  He  married  for  his  third  wife,  Inastelle  Gauch, 
and  they  have  two  children,  Annie  Frances  and  George.  (4)  George  is 
deceased.  He  was  twice  married,  his  first  wife  being  Elizabeth  Oberlander, 
and  the  second  Nellie  Bowman.  They  had  one  child,  Christine,  who  died  in 
infancy.  (5)  Lament  died  in  infancy.  (6)  Lillie  married  Adelbert  Corn- 
well,  and  they  live  in  Bristol,  and  have  four  children :  Ralph,  who  married 
Margaret  Bishop,  and  has  two  children,  Marie  and  Hele:i ;  Ina.  who  married 
Edwin  Thom,  and  has  two  children,  Lillian  and  Marion,  twins ;  Clarence, 
and  Kenneth.  (7)  Rosa,  the  youngest  child  of  Alexander  Bailey,  married 
Robert  Tait  and  they  had  one  child,  Harold,  who  died  at  the  age  of  nine 
years.  They  live  in  Milwaukee.  The  mother  of  the  foregoing  children  was 
called  to  her  final  rest  Aug.  ij.  1891,  and  her  remains  were  interred  in  the 
Liberty  cemetery,  in  Salem  township. 

Hon.  Mr.  Bailey,  although  in  his  eighty-second  year,  reads  and  writes 
without  glasses.  He  stands  erect  and  walks  rapidly,  and  with  a  firm  step. 
He  carries  with  him  an  inexhaustible  fund  of  humor,  is  a  good  conversation- 
alist, and  possesses  a  remarkable  memory.  He  is  one  of  the  oldest  settlers  in 
Kenosha  county. 

SAMUEL  REYNOLDS,  who  has  been  a  resident  of  Kenosha  for  sixty- 
two  years,  is  one  of  the  most  highly  respected  citizens  of  that  place.  He  ie- 
sides  at  No.  473  Durkee  avenue.  He  was  born  in  Llanidloes,  Montgomery- 
shire, Wales,  March  22,  1834,  son  of  Owen  and  Margaret  (Owens)  Reynolds, 
natives  of  Wales.  His  grandparents  on  toth  the  maternal  and  paternal  sides 
were  natives  of  Wales,  where  their  lives  were  spent  and  where  they  died.  John 
and  Ann  Reynolds,  the  paternal  grandparents,  were  natives  of  Wales,  and  both 
died  there  in  old  age.  Their  family  consisted  of  three  sons  and  three  daughters, 
all  of  whom  came  to  America  and  died  here.  John  Reynolds  was  an  under- 
taker by  calling. 

Owen  Reynolds  was  a  blacksmith.  He  came  to  America  with  his  family 
in  1842,  locating  near  L^tica,  N.  Y.,  where  he  followed  his  trade  of  blacksmith 
until  1844,  when  he  and  part  of  his  family  came  west  to  Kenosha  county.  Wis., 
the  rest  coming  in  1845.  They  settled  five  miles  west  of  Southport.  now  Ken- 
osha, Mr.  Reynolds  buying  a  farm  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township  where  he  fol- 
lowed farming  and  blacksmithing.  He  served  his  fellow-citizens  in  various 
minor  offices.  He  died  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township  in  1861.  aged  sixty-one 
years.  Owen  Reynolds  married  Margaret  Owens,  daughter  of  John  Owens, 
an  Episcopalian  minister,  who  died  in  Wales  about  1839.  He  was  twice  mar- 
ried, and  Margaret  was  the  eldest  of  the  children  born  to  his  first  union.  Mrs. 
Reynolds  passed  away  in  1857,  at  the  age  of  about  fifty-seven.  She  was  an  in- 
telligent and  well-educated  woman,  and  both  she  and  her  husband  were  Meth- 
odists, and  very  devout  Christians.  Mr.  Reynolds  was  a  Sunday-school  super- 
intendent for  about  fifteen  years  in  his  native  country.  ^Ir.  and  IMrs.  Rey- 
nolds had  ten  children,  two  of  whom  died  in  Wales.  The  other  eight,  four 
sons  and  four  daughters,  grew  to  maturity,  and  came  to  the  LTnited  States, 
all  becoming  well  settled  in  life.    Samuel  is  now  the  onlv  survivor. 


COMME^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  107 

Samuel  Reynolds  was  but  eight  years  old  when  he  came  to  America,  and 
from  the  age  of  ten  years  has  called  Southport  or  Kenosha  his  home.  When 
twelve  years  of  age  he  commenced  work  with  his  brother  John,  at  blacksmith- 
ing,  working  with  him  four  years,  and  then  for  two  years  lived  in  the  country, 
working  on  the  farm  in  the  summer  seasons,  while  he  attended  the  schools  dur- 
ing the  winters.  When  eighteen  years  of  age  he  left  Kenosha  county  and  went 
to  De  Pere,  Wis.,  remaining  there  nine  months  in  the  employ  of  Jackson  & 
Bone,  blacksmiths.  Mr.  Reynolds  then  went  to  Pensaukee,  Wis.,  and  helped 
iron  a  vessel  there,  the  "Fannie  Gardner."  He  left  there  on  that  vessel  in 
October,  1853.  and  came  to  Kenosha,  entering  the  employ  of  Edward  Bain, 
with  whom  he  has  ever  since  been  employed. 

Mr.  Reynolds  was  married  Jan.  31,  1856,  to  Miss  Jennie  Tymeson,  daugh- 
ter of  John  Tymeson,  and  to  this  union  was  born  one  son,  Chester  J.,  who  is 
buyer  for  the  Studebakers  in  South  Bend,  Ind. ;  he  married  Lizzie  Bradford,  of 
Bennin.gton.  Vt..  and  has  two  sons,  Bradford  and  Chester.  Mrs.  Jennie  Rey- 
nolds died  in  1871,  aged  about  thirty-three  years,  in  the  faith  of  the  Congre- 
gational Church.  On  Feb.  i,  1875,  Mr.  Reynolds  married  Kate  Bissell.  daugh- 
ter of  Leonard  and  Emily  Bissell,  and  one  daughter  was  born  to  this  union, 
Julia  Camilla.  Mrs.  Reynolds  is  an  Episcopalian,  while  her  husband  has  been 
connected  with  the  Methodist  or  Congregational  churches.  He  was  a  leader 
in  Congregational  and  Methodist  church  choirs  for  thirty  years,  and  was  a 
Sunday-school  superintendent  for  many  years.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican, 
and  he  ser\'ed  as  alderman  of  the  First  ward  for  two  years.  Mr.  Reynolds 
has  lived  long  and  been  permitted  to  see  many  changes  in  Kenosha,  doing  his 
share  to  advance  the  interests  of  the  city  during  his  long  residence  here.  He  is 
very  well  known  and  highly  respected. 

Mrs.  Ann  (Reynolds)  Lane,  one  of  the  daughters  of  Owen  and  ^Mar^aret 
(Owens)  Reynolds,  was  born  July  11,  1825,  in  Montgomeryshire,  Wales, 
where  she  lived  until  the  age  of  seventeen  years,  in  1842  accompanying  her  par- 
ents to  America.  They  crossed  the  ocean  in  the  old  sailing  vessel  "Sheridan," 
Capt.  Depester,  the  voyage  consuming  six  weeks.  Coming  west  with  the  fam- 
ily she  was  married  in  1845  ^  James  Brooks  Lane,  who  was  born  in  Jeffer- 
son county,  N.  Y.,  Feb.  14.  1823,  son  of  Abraham  and  Selecta  (Bennett) 
Lane,  and  died  the  day  before  Thanksgiving  Day,  1889.  Ten  children  were 
born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lane,  namely :  Owen  Henry,  Margaret  Selecta.  James 
Franklin,  Allsup  Brooks  (deceased),  Ferris  Leonard,  Edwin  Myron,  Anna 
Maria,  Hollis  Whitney  (deceased),  Charles  Ozro  and  Jane  Elizabeth.  Of  these 
Owen  Henry,  Margaret  Selecta  and  Anna  Maria  died  in  infancy. 

When  Mrs.  Ann  (Reynolds)  Lane  departed  this  life,  on  April  6.  1906.  at 
the  age  of  eighty-one  years,  she  had  been  a  resident  of  Kenosha  county  for 
sixty-one  years,  a  long  time  in  which  to  watch  the  growth  and  development  of  a 
country.  She  saw  the  wilderness  converted  into  fertile  fields  and  a  great  city 
grow  upon  the  spot  where  once  roamed  the  wild  creatures  of  the  forest. 

Mrs.  Jane  (Reynolds)  Selway.  another  daughter  of  Owen  and  Margaret 
(Owens)  Reynolds,  died  July  7,  1890.  She  was  a  sincere  Christian  woman, 
greatly  beloved  by  all  who  knew  her.  and  nt  the  time  of  her  death  the  follow- 
ing memoir  appeared  in  the  Montana  "Christian  Advocate"  of  Jnlv  tCi.  1800. 

"Mrs.  Tane  fReynolds)  Selway  was  born  in  Wales.  Aug.  18.  1839.  and 
died  at  .\lhion,  Mich..  July  7,  1890.     She  was  brought  to  America  at  the  age 


ip8  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

of  three  years  by  her  parents,  who  settled  in  Wisconsin,  Xov.  25,  1858.  She 
was  married  to  John  R.  Selway.  who  with  seven  children  mourn  the  loss  of 
a  faithful  wife  and  devoted  mother.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Selway  came  to  Montana 
in  1866,  and  settled  in  Beaver  Head  Valley,  near  the  present  site  of  Dillon. 
A  year  ago  she  went  to  Albion,  Mich.,  where  three  of  her  children  were  to 
attend  school.  Her  disease  was  cancer  of  the  stomach.  Her  husband,  who  was 
with  her  at  the  time  of  her  death,  brought  her  remains  to  Dillon  for  interment. 
Funeral  services  were  held  in  the  M.  E.  Church  of  which  she  was  an  active 
member  for  a  number  of  years.  The  church  was  beautifully  decorated  with 
flowers  placed  there  by  members  of  the  church  societies  to  which  she  belonged, 
Rev.  G.  D.  King,  of  Twin  Bridges,  Rev.  Pritchard  (Baptist),  of  Dillon,  and 
the  pastor  assisting  him  in  the  services.  Hers  was  an  unusually  varied  and  ac- 
tive life,  potent  in  its  results  and  influence  for  good.  'She  being  dead  yet  speak- 
eth.'  In  her  last  letter  she  wrote :  T  did  want  to  see  Montana  before  I  go,  but 
it  is  all  right.'  "Tis  Him  that  strengtheneth  me.  I  am  perfectly  surprised  to 
find  that  death  is  so  completely  robbed  of  all  stings  when  I  am  so  unworthy. 
No  plea  but  the  blood  of  Jesus — I  will  close,  still  waiting  and  trusting.' 

"Thanks  be  to  God  who  giveth  us  the  \'ictorv  through  our  Lord  J(;sus 
Christ." 

Richard  A.  Reynolds  was  one  of  the  sons  of  Owen  and  Margaret 
(Owens)  Reynolds.  He  went  to  Montana,  where  he  died  in  January,  1904. 
The  following  sketch  of  his  life,  taken  from  "Progressive  Men  of  Montana," 
appeared  in  the  Dillon  Montana  Tribune  of  Jan.  29,  1904. 

"One  of  the  sterling  pioneers  and  progressive  stock  growers  of  Montana 
is  Richard  A.  Reynolds,  whose  identification  with  the  great  Northewst  had  its 
inception  in  the  days  when  the  war  of  the  Rebellion  was  in  progress.  During 
that  memorable  period  he  rendered  valiant  service  as  a  soldier  in  this  section  of 
the  LInion,  whither  his  regiment  came  to  assist  in  quelling  the  insubordination 
of  the  Indians,  and  lived  up  to  the  full  tension  of  pioneer  life.  He  has  con- 
tributed his  quota  toward  the  development  of  ISIontana.  has  ever  been  loyal  to 
her  best  interests,  and  enjoys  the  consideration  and  confidence  of  the  citizens 
of  Beaverhead  county,  his  fine  home  ranch  property  being  located  two  miles 
south  of  the  attractive  little  city  of  Dillon,  his  post  office  address.  Though  of 
foreign  birth  Mr.  Reynolds  has  practically  passed  his  entire  life  in  the  L'nited 
States,  his  parents  having  become  residents  the  year  of  his  birth,  which  occur- 
red in  Montgomeryshire,  Wales,  May  13,  1842,  the  youngest  of  ten  children 
born  to  Owen  and  Margaret  (Owens)  Reynolds,  representatives  of  stanch  old 
Welsh  lineage.  On  arriving  in  America  in  1842  they  located  in  Utica,  N.  Y.. 
where  the  father  engaged  at  his  trade  of  blacksmith  for  a  period  of  two  years. 
In  1844  he  removed  with  his  family  to  Kenosha.  Wis.,  settling  in  Pleasant 
Prairie  township,  Kenosha  county,  where  he  purchased  a  farm  and  devoten 
his  attention  to  agricultural  pursuits  until  his  death  in  1859.  his  wife  having 
passed  away  two  years  previously. 

"Richard  A.  Reynolds,  the  immediate  subject  of  this  re\iew.  early  began  to 
contribute  his  labor  toward  the  cultivation  of  the  farm,  l)Ut  securing  that  edu- 
cational discipline  afforded  in  the  public  schools,  which  he  attended  during  the 
M'inter  months.  He  was  but  fifteen  years  of  age  at  the  time  of  his  mother's 
death,  and  soon  afterward  assumed  the  personal  responsibilities  of  life,  leaving 


COMME.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  109 

home  and  securing  work  un  farms  in  that  locahty.  In  1859  he  found  employ- 
ment in  the  great  himber  woods  of  Wisconsin,  and  was  thus  engaged  when  the 
integrity  of  the  Union  was  menaced  by  armed  rebeUion.  In  1861  he  vohtn- 
teered  for  service  in  the  Union  army,  but  was  rejected  and  continued  to  work 
in  the  lumbering  districts  until  1863,  when  the  Indian  uprisings  in  the  North- 
west resulted  in  a  call  for  volunteers  to  suppress  the  same.  Mr.  Reynolds  ac- 
cordingly enlisted  in  the  30th  Wisconsin  Volunteer  Infantry,  becoming  a 
member  of  Company  I,  the  entire  regiment  being  made  up  of  lumber- 
men. Their  familiarity  with  Indian  character  and  methods  made  them  par- 
ticularly efficient  soldiers  for  service  against  the  Indians  and  the  regiment  was 
assigned  to  the  command  of  Gen.  Sully  and  came  to  Montana,  the  Sioux, 
Blackfeet  and  Assinniboines  being  quite  troublesome.  The  regiment  remained 
in  service  until  the  close  of  the  war  of  the  Rebellion,  being  mustered  out  in 
Louisville,  Ky.,  in  1865,  having  participated  in  many  fierce  conflicts  with  the 
red  men. 

"After  his  discharge  Mr.  Reynolds  returned  to  northwestern  Wisconsin, 
where  he  remained  until  May,  1866,  when  he  secured  a  wagon  and  four  yoke 
of  oxen  and,  as  a  member  of  a  party  of  twelve,  again  set  forth  for  Montana. 
Leaving  Wisconsin  on  May  26,  1866,  they  arrived  in  the  Indian  countrv  and 
joined  a  freighting  outfit,  with  which  they  continued  the  journey.  In  the  Black 
Hills  the  company  was  corralled  by  Indians,  and  while  the  latter  were  making 
ready  to  engage  in  battle  with  the  emigrants  Mr.  Reynolds  recognized  the  chief 
as  one  who  had  been  accorded  government  protection,  through  the  interposi- 
tion of  his  old  regiment,  the  Thirtieth  Wisconsin.  He  motioned  to  the  chief 
to  come  out  for  a  talk,  and  after  a  short  conference  he  returned  to  his  band  and 
soon  withdrew  them  without  molesting  the  emigrants,  not  wishing  to  be  re- 
ported to  the  government  authorities.  After  presenting  the  Indians  tobacco, 
a  token  of  friendship,  the  train  moved  on.  While  en  route  they  passed  many 
points  showing  unmistakable  evidences  that  the  Indians  had  killerl  members 
of  preceding  trains  and  burned  their  wagons.  After  crossing  the  Big  Horn 
river  the  party  were  again  corralled  by  Indians,  but  after  exchanging  a  few 
shots  they  were  again  permitted  to  continue  their  journey,  making  the  trip  hy 
way  of  Lander's  Cutof¥. 

"Mr.  Reynolds  arrived  in  what  is  now  Beaverhead  county  on  Nov.  10, 
1866,  and  took  up  a  tract  of  land  on  Blacktail  Deer  Creek,  the  nucleus  of  his 
present  fine  ranch  property.  He  here  turned  his  attention  to  agriculture  but 
his  success  for  the  first  three  years  was  of  a  decidedly  negative  quality,  his  crops 
proving  a  failure  each  successive  year.  In  1866  he  paid  from  four  to  six  cents 
a  pound  in  gold  dust  for  seed,  but  the  entire  crop  was  destroyed  by  grasshop- 
pers. In  1868  he  gave  up  his  farming  operations  and  engaged  in  mining  until 
the  spring  of  the  following  year.  Early  that  spring  he  and  John  Bishop  went 
to  Oregon  and  brought  through  to  Montana  1,400  head  of  range  sheep  for 
breeding  purposes,  the  first  band  of  stock  sheep  introduced  into  Montana  for 
woolgrowing  purposes.  From  that  time  Mr.  Reynolds  has  been  prominently 
connected  with  the  sheep  industry  and  has  prospered  along  this  line.  ^Ir.  Rey- 
nolds now  controls  2,780  acres  of  fine  grazing  land  in  Beaverhead  county,  and 
in  addition  to  the  sheep  industry  he  gives  much  attention  to  the  raising  of  high 
grade  draft  and  driving  horses  and  shorthorn  cattle.  His  ranch  is  equipped 
with  the  best  modern  improvements,  including  a  commodious  and  attracti\-e 


no  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

residence.  He  is  knuwn  as  up.e  (jf  the  suLsUintial  an.l  enterprising  stoci^nicn 
of  the  State,  and  his  course  has  been  such  as  tu  wni  the  conhdence  and  estee.ii 
of  the  community  in  which  lie  has  made  his  home  since  tlie  early  pioneer  days — 
more  than  a  third  of  a  century. 

"His  pohtical  support  is  given  to  the  Republican  party,  but  he  has  never 
sought  nor  desired  the  honors  or  emoluments  of  public  office  other  than  serv- 
ing as  county  commissioner  and  local  offices  though  his  interest  in  all  that  per- 
tains to  the  welfare  of  the  county  and  State  is  definite  and  unflagging. 

"In  1871  was  solemnized  the  marriage  of  Mr.  Reynolds  to  Mrs.  Jennie 
Johnson,  a  sister  of  Philip  H.  Poindexter,  one  of  the  leading  farmers  and  stock- 
raisers  of  Beaverhead  county.  Mrs.  Reynolds'  death  occurred  in  1884,  and  on 
Jan.  26,  1887,  our  subject  consummated  a  second  marriage,  being  then  united 
to  Miss  Delia  Thompson,  who  was  born  in   Wisconsin." 

THOMAS  P.  GRIFFITHS,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Union  Grove, 
was  born  in  England,  near  Kington,  Herefordshire,  Jan.  2^.  1852,  son  of  John 
and  Harriet  (Price)  Griffiths. 

The  paternal  grandfather,  William  Griffiths,  was  a  native  of  Radnorshire, 
Wales,  and  was  a  stonemason  by  trade.  He  married  Aliss  Mary  Ann  Evans, 
had  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  and  lived  to  the  age  of  seventy-six.  The 
mother's  father  was  John  Price,  born  in  Shropshire,  England.  He  was  at  one 
time  an  innkeeper.    He  lived  to  middle  life  and  left  a  family  of  twelve  children. 

John  Griffiths  was  born  in  Radnorshire,  Wales,  about  1828.  He  married 
Miss  Harriet  Price,  an  English  girl,  and  spent  most  of  his  active  life  in  Eng- 
land. For  many  years  he  worked  as  a  stonemason  near  Kington,  and  later 
became  a  contractor.  At  present  he  resides  near  Leominster,  in  Herefordshire. 
He  and  his  wife  both  belonged  to  the  Congregational  Church.  Mrs.  Griffiths, 
wdio  passed  from  this  world  in  i8go,  aged  sixty-one,  was  the  mother  of  nine 
children,  namely :  Fannie  Jane,  wife  of  Isaiah  Watkins,  of  Nurton  Court, 
England ;  Thomas  P. ;  Mary,  unmarried,  of  Ravenswood.  111. ;  James,  of  King- 
ton, England;  Jesse,  of  Hereford,  England:  Minnie,  Mrs.  Lewis,  of  Caermar- 
thenshire.  Wales;  Matilda  H.,  widow  of  Thomas  Chandler,  of  Kington;  and 
one  daughter  and  one  son  that  died. 

Thomas  P.  Griffiths  lived  in  England  until  he  was  ten  years  old,  and  then 
spent  the  next  twenty  years  just  across  the  border  in  Radnorshire,  Wales.  He 
learned  the  trade  of  a  stonemason  from  his  father,  and  followed  it  there  until 
1882.  when  he  left  the  old  world  for  America.  He  stopped  first  at  Cleveland, 
Ohio,  until  the  following  spring,  and  then  went  farther  west  to  Wisconsin, 
where  he  settled  in  Union  Grove.  A\'hile  he  has  worked  three  seasons  at  Ra- 
cine, as  a  stone-cutter,  his  home  has  always  been  in  the  former  town.  He  has 
been  steadily  engaged  in  business  as  a  maker  of  marble,  granite  and  stone 
monuments,  rnd  has  been  very  successful  financially,  as  he  is  an  expert  in  his 
line.  Mr.  Griiifiths  has  a  good  reputation  as  a  citizen,  and  has  served  as  one  of 
the  village  trustees  of  L^nion  Grove.  His  views  are  those  of  the  Prohibition 
party.  Socially  he  belongs  to  I'uritv  Lodge,  No.  39.  I.  O.  O.  F.,  to  the  M.  W. 
A.,  and  is  also  a  Master  Mason. 

On  Oct.  2.  1873,  Mr.  Griffiths  was  united  in  marriage  to  Miss  Fannie 
Bound,  and  thev  have  beconie  the  parents  of  five  chiUlren.  namely ;  Thomas 


CO^OIE^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  in 

Wilfred,  who  married  ^Nliss  Barbara  Bosnia,  and  is  in  his  father's  employ; 
Elizaljeth  Mary,  who  died  in  infancy;  Bernard  J.,  who  is  employed  by  his 
father;  Ernest  Cecil;  and  Ethel  Mary.  The  family  are  all  members  of  the 
Congregational  Church,  and  Mr.  Griffiths  is  a  clerk  of  the  Church.  He  has 
l)een  a  member  of  the  choir  for  sixteen  years,  and  his  son  Thomas  and  his  wife 
are  also  members  of  the  choir. 

Mrs.  Fannie  B.  Griffiths  is  a  daughter  of  John  and  Martha  (Edwards) 
Bound,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Radnorshire  and  the  latter  in  Here- 
fordshire. The  father  was  a  carpenter  and  builder,  and  died  in  1869,  aged 
fifty-six  years.  The  mother  passed  away  in  1872.  aged  sixty.  They  had  four 
children:  Mrs.  Griffiths;  Mrs.  Thomas  Davis,  of  Union  Grove;  John,  of 
Llandrindod  Wells;  and  Thomas,  of  Liverpool.  Mrs.  Griffiths'  maternal 
grandfather  was  Evan  Edwards,  of  England.  He  was  a  carpenter  and  builder 
as  was  also  one  of  his  sons,  and  he  lived  to  be  about  eighty  years  old. 

ELIAS  S.  \"OORHEES,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Burlington,  Wis., 
is  senior  member  of  the  iirni  of  Voorhees  &  Fiske,  who  conduct  a  sorghum 
works,  planing-mill,  sawmill,  etc.  He  was  born  Jan.  13,  1840,  in  New  Bruns- 
wick, N.  J.,  son  of  Garrett  L.  and  Harriet  Ann  (VanArsdale)  Voorhees,  na- 
tives of  New  Jersey.  The  mother  died  when  Elias  w'as  but  eighteen  months 
old,  and  the  father  going  to  California  a  year  or  two  later  Mr.  Voorhees  has 
never  seen  him  since.  Mr.  Voorhees  had  two  sisters :  Lucretia  Ann,  w^idow  of 
John  Sillsacks,  of  New  Brunswick,  N.  J.,  and  Jane,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
fourteen  years. 

Elias  S.  Voorhees,  after  the  death  of  his  mother,  lived  with  his  grand- 
mother Martin,  for  four  or  five  years,  and  grew  to  manhood  at  Elizabeth,  N. 
J.,  where  he  received  a  limited  education.  When  seventeen  years  of  age  he 
began  learning  the  carpenter's  trade,  and  has  followed  carpentering  and  build- 
ing ever  since.  He  came  to  Burlington  in  1863,  and  since  that  time  has  made 
his  home  here,  building  most  of  the  fine  residences  of  Burlington.  For  the  past 
thirty  years  he  has  been  in  the  sorghum  mill  business,  and  for  twenty-five  years 
has  operated  a  planing-mill  in  connection  with  his  carpentering  and  building. 
For  twenty-three  years  he  and  F.  H.  Nims  were  associated  together.  Mr. 
Ninis  lived  here  nearly  sixty  years,  coming  here  with  his  father  when  he  was 
ten  years  old,  and  died  here  in  January,  1905.  The  partnership  had  been  dis- 
solved ten  years  prior  to  this,  after  which  Mr.  Voorhees  ran  the  business  alone 
until  1 901,  when  he  became  associated  with  George  ^\^  Fiske,  under  the  firm 
style  of  Voorhees  &  Fiske. 

On  Oct.  23,  1862,  Mr.  Voorhees  married  Miss  Mary  A.  Faittoute,  daugh- 
ter of  James  and  Henrietta  (Crane)  Faittoute,  and  two  children  have  been 
born  to  this  union :  Clarence  and  Jessie  May.  Clarence  is  weighmaster  in  a 
coal  mine,  in  Keota,  Mo.  Jessie  May  married  Morrel  D.  Cadwell,  and  they 
live  in  Toledo,  Ohio,  and  have  two  children,  Morrel  and  Lenore.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Voorhees  are  members  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  Fraternally  he  is  con- 
nected with  Burlington  Lodge,  No.  11,  I.  O.  O.  F.  In  his  political  sympathies 
he  is  a  Proliibitionist.  He  was  superx'isor,  and  served  on  the  board  of  alder- 
men for  seven  years. 

James  and  Henrietta  Faittoute,  Mrs.  Voorhees'  parents,  were  natives  of 


112  CO:\niEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

New  Jersey.  They  had  two  children  :  Alary  Adelaide  and  James  Edward, 
both  now  residents  of  Burlington.  x\Ir.  and  Airs,  haittoute  came  to  Burling- 
ton with  the  Voorhees  family  in  1863,  and  here  spent  the  balance  of  their  lives. 
The  mother  died  here  in  Jfebruary,  1903,  aged  eighty-nine  years,  while  the 
father  survived  until  April,  1904,  and  was  ninety-three  years  old  at  the  time 
of  his  death.  By  trade  he  was  a  brick  and  stone  mason.  He  was  the  son  of 
Edward  Faittoute,  a  native  of  Union,  N.  J.,  who  died  there  aged  se\'enty-five 
years.  His  wife,  Abigail  Faittoute,  was  born  during  iier  parents"  hurried  flight 
from  the  English  during  the  Revolutionary  war,  they  being  in  a  sleigh  going 
from  Union  to  the  mountains.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Jilrs.  \'oorhees, 
Thomas  Crane,  was  a  native  of  New  Jersey.  He  was  a  carpenter  by  trade,  and 
followed  his  occupation  at  Elizabeth,  N.  J.,  where  he  died  well  ad\anced  in 
years.     He  served  as  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  181 2. 

PETER  BERING  NELSON,  mayor  of  Racine,  Wis.,  is  a  prominent  at- 
torney as  well  as  a  leading  citizen,  and  has  been  identified  with  the  interests 
of  Racine  since  reaching  his  maturity.  He  was  born  in  Schleswig,  Germany, 
April  16,  1869,  the  only  child  of  Hans  P.  and  Christina  (Jorgensen)  Nelson, 
natives  of  Denmark.  Hans  P.  Nelson  was  a  carpenter  in  his  young  manhood. 
Coming  to  the  United  States  in  1870,  he  located  first  in  Union  Grove.  Racine 
Co.,  Wis.,  whence  he  removed  in  1878  to  Racine.  He  was  elected  county  treas- 
urer in  1902,  an  office  he  still  holds,  and  also  served  for  a  time  as  alderman  of 
the  Fifth  ward. 

Peter  Bering  Nelson  has  been  a  resident  of  Racine  since  the  time  he  was 
one  year  old.  He  attended  the  public  schools,  and  graduated  from  the  high 
school  in  1887.  He  then  entered  the  law  school  of  the  University  at  Madison, 
from  which  he  was  duly  graduated,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  1890,  at 
once  beginning  the  practice  of  his  profession  in  Racine,  where  he  has  continued 
to  the  present  time.  In  1892  he  was  appointed  Danish  vice-consul  for  Wis- 
consin, was  elected  district  attorney  in  1894  and  re-elected  in  1896,  and  in 
1903  was  elected  mayor,  still  filling  that  highest  municipal  office.  In  1905  he 
was  elected  president  of  the  Wisconsin  League  of  Municipalities.  Politically 
he  is  a  Repul:)Iican. 

On  Aug.  26,  1 89 1,  Mr.  Nelson  married  Miss  Rose  O.  Johnson,  of  Ra- 
cine, daughter  of  Ole  P.  and  Lena  (Carlson)  Johnson, of  Denmark,  and  to  this 
union  has  been  born  one  daughter,  Constance  R.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Nelson  are 
members  of  the  Danish  Lutheran  Church.  Thev  reside  in  their  beautiful  home 
at  No.  1822  Washington  avenue,  which  Mr.  Nelson  built  in  1894.  He  belongs 
to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  92,  F.  &  A.  M.,  to  the  Dania  Society,  the  Knights  of 
Pythias,  the  B.  P.  O.  E.,  and  the  Danish  Brotherhood. 

Mr.  Nelson  is  president  of  the  Racine  Refrigerator  &  Fixture  Company, 
vice-president  of  the  Racine  Shoe  Manufacturing  Company,  director  of  the 
Racine  Commercial  &  Savings  Bank  and  the  Racine  Malleable  &  Wrought 
Iron  Company,  and  is  identified  with  other  business  interests  of  the  city.  He 
has  made  rapid  strides  as  a  public  man,  and  is  recognized  as  one  of  the  prom- 
inent and  able  lawyers  of  the  city,  the  style  of  the  firm  with  which  he  is  asso- 
ciated being  Cooper.  Simmons,  Nelson  &  Walker,  who  occupy  one  of  the  finest 
suites  of  law  offices  in  the  city  and  have  a  large  practice.     Mr.  Cooper,  of  the 


.  i 


J<^^y^..^^i>L^*L^^-^/t^^^'C^r^<^_ 


r- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  113 

firm,  is  the  present  Congressman  representing  this  district,  while  ]\Iessrs. 
Simmons  and  Walker  are  prominent  lawyers  of  Racine.  Mayor  Nelson  has 
a  large  acquaintance  and  a  host  of  warm  friends,  as  his  large  and  rapidly 
increasing  business,  and  the  fact  of  his  being  elected  mayor,  attest. 

MATHIAS  HUCK.  While  Kenosha  has  many  old  settlers  still  resi- 
dent there  wdiose  arrival  antedates  that  of  ^Nlathias  Huck  by  several  years, 
at  least,  his  is  the  distinction  of  being  established  continuously  in  business 
longer  than  any  other  merchant  in  the  city,  as  the  boot  and  shoe  store  which 
he  is  still  conducting  was  opened  in  1858.  Mr.  Huck"s  time  of  residence, 
however,  dates  back  some  years  earlier,  and  he  has  witnessed  the  whole  de- 
velopment of  Kenosha,  from  a  little  village  to  its  present  flourishing  estate. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Huck  were  natives  of  Alsace-Lorraine,  near  Stras- 
burg,  of  German  descent.  Mathias  Huck,  the  father,  was  a  farmer  and  black- 
smith there.  His  father,  by  occupation  a  blacksmith,  lived  to  be  very  old,  as 
did  his  wife  also.  They  had  five  sons  and  four  daughters.  Mathias  the  elder 
was  twice  married,  his  wife  being  Miss  Barbara  Geyer,  who  died  in  1839, 
leaving  six  children.  Two  daughters  died,  and  the  four  sons  wdio  still  survive, 
are:  Philip,  of  Alsace;  Mathias  (2);  Xavier,  of  Racine;  and  Anthony,  of 
Alsace.  The  second  wife  was  Miss  Catherine  Zimmerman,  who  became  the 
mother  of  five  sons  and  one  daughter,  none  of  whom  came  to  America.  The 
father  passed  away  at  his  old  home  in  Alsace,  when  eighty-three  years  of  age. 

The  maternal  grandparents  of  ]Mathias  Huck  (2)  were  Xavier  and  Bar- 
bara (  Smith)  Geyer.  farming  people  of  Alsace,  where  the  former  died,  an  old 
man.  They  had  two  sons-  and  two  daughters  of  their  own,  and  also  brought 
up  their  grandson  Mathias,  whose  mother  died  when  he  was  eight  years  old. 

Born  March  4.  1831,  Mathias  Huck  remained  in  his  native  Alsace  with 
the  Geyers  until  he  was  eighteen,  attending  the  public  school,  where  he  learned 
both  French  and  German.  He  gave  the  most  attention,  however,  to  the  latter, 
as  was  natural  with  his  German  parentage.  The  country  then  was  under  the 
French  government  as  it  had  been  for  200  years,  but  it  has  now  passed  to  Ger- 
many. In  1849  the  youth  came  to  America,  and  located  first  in  Buffalo  and 
then  in  Batavia,  N.  Y.  He  learned  shoemaking  before  he  left  Alsace,  having 
begun  when  he  was  only  twelve  years  old,  and  this  was  his  occupation  in  Amer- 
ica also,  except  for  a  brief  period  spent  on  a  farm.  In  1852  he  went  by  canal  to 
Pittsburg,  Pa.,  where  he  stayed  one  month  working  at  his  trade,  and  then  for  a 
like  period  he  was  in  Zanesville,  Ohio,  whence  by  way  of  the  lakes  he  went 
to  Kenosha,  and  for  six  years  after  his  arrival  worked  at  his  trade.  At  the  end 
of  that  time,  in  1858,  he  opened  his  own  boot  and  shoe  store,  and  has  con- 
ductefl  it  ever  since.  He  has  always  had  a  large  patronage,  and  has  accumu- 
lated a  large  property,  being  one  of  the  well-to-do  men  of  Kenosha. 

On  May  11,  1854,  Mr.  Huck  was  married  to  Miss  Mary  Anna  Tetard, 
daughter  of  George  Tetard.  There  were  nine  children  born  to  this  union, 
viz.:  (i)  Josephine,  who  married  W'illiam  Hammond,  lives  in  Canon  City. 
Colo.,  and  has  three  children.  Albert,  Paul  and  Katie;  (2)  George  J.,  employed 
by  the  Simmons  ^lanufacturing  Company,  married  Miss  Maggie  Berry  and 
has  four  children,  Eugene,  Mabel.  A'iola  and  Alvina;  (3)  Mathias  P.  lives  in 
San  Francisco,  Cal. ;  (4)  Oscar  P..  a  manufacturer  of  show-cases  in  Ouincy. 
111.,   married    Miss   Edith    Bierga    and   has   five   children,    Richard    antl    Paul 


114  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

(twins),  Margaret,  Marsellis  and  Ralph;  (5)  Frances  married  M.  P.  Schmitz, 
a  clothing  merchant  of  Kenosha,  to  whom  she  has  borne  two  sons,  Arthur  and 
Earl;  (6)  Albert  married  Julia  Harrington  and  has  two  children,  Ethel  and 
Clarence;  (7)  Eugene  married  Miss  Maggie  Smith;  (8)  Ida  is  Mrs.  Charles 
Johnson,  of  Kenosha;  and  (9)  Laura  is  Mrs.  Walter  Johnson.  Mrs.  Mary  A. 
Huck  passed  away  Jan.  7,  1899,  aged  sixty-one,  a  Catholic,  as  is  also  her  hus- 
band. She  was  born  in  New  Jersey,  but  her  parents  were  natives  of  Alsace- 
Lorraine.  They  were  among  the  first  settlers  in  Kenosha,  where  the  father  fol- 
lowed his  trade  of  cabinetmaking.  There  were  six  children,  of  whom  tliose 
now  living  are:  George;  Elizabeth,  Mrs.  John  Piel;  and  Josephine,  Mrs. 
Anthony  Piel. 

Mathias  Huck  has  usually  been  identified  with  the  Democratic  party,  but 
in  local  issues  he  generallv  votes  for  the  Ijest  man.  He  has  been  somewhat 
prominent  in  municipal  politics  and  was  alderman  from  the  2d  ward,  which 
since  the  readjustment  of  the  city  has  lieen  the  7th  ward.  He  was  also  a  mem- 
ber of  the  school  board.  In  church  affairs  he  is  actively  interested  still,  and  was 
formerly  president  of  St.  George's  Society,  and  for  ten  years  a  trustee  of  the 
church.  He  resides  in  his  old  home  at  No.  377  Orange  street,  which  he  built 
in  1856,  and  in  which  all  his  children  were  born. 

JOHN  F.  MOYLE  was  for  many  years  widely  known  through  Racine 
county  as  an  architect  and  builder,  but  since  1897  he  has  given  almost  his  en- 
tire attention  to  the  Yorkville  and  Mount  Pleasant  Farmers  Mutual  Insurance 
Company,  of  which  he  is  secretary.  He  is  of  Cornish  descent  on  both  sides,  was 
himself  born  in  Cornwall,  England,  June  23,  1841,  and  is  the  son  of  Thomas 
and  Susan  fFoxwell)   Movie. 

For  several  generations  the  male  members  of  the  INIovle  family  have  Ijeen 
veterinary  surgeons,  having  given  ten  to  that  profession.  The  paternal  grand- 
father, John  Moyle,  followed  that  occupation  all  his  life  in  Cornwall.  He  died 
there  when  seventy    years  of  age.  the  father  of  a  large  familv,  of  whom 

Thomas  Moyle,  father  of  John  F.,  adopted  his  father's  profession.  He 
emigrated  from  his  native  land  to  America,  landing  at  Southport  (now  Keno- 
sha), Wis.,  whither  he  had  come  by  way  of  the  Great  Lakes,  in  May,  1842. 
Proceeding  to  Yorkville  township,  he  settled  there  and  bought  three  acres  of 
land  where  the  village  of  Yorkville  now  stands,  and  put  up  the  first  frame  house 
in  that  section  of  the  country.  Later  he  bought  more  land,  until  he  owned  200 
acres  in  Yorkville  and  Raymond  townships.  His  children  were  all  brought  up 
to  a  thorough  knowledge  of  farming,  and  really  carried  on  the  work  of  the 
place,  though  the  father  supervised  everything  while  giving  his  main  attention 
to  his  profession.  In  those  early  days  a  physician  was  rarely  found  on  the  fron- 
tier, and  for  some  time  Mr.  Moyle  acted  also  as  a  family  doctor.  He  was  pub- 
lic-spirited and  a  man  of  good  education,  so  that  he  naturally  became  one  of  the 
leading  and  influential  men  of  the  region,  and  was  often  called  upon  to  admin- 
ister the  estates  of  deceased  friends.  He  also  held  various  public  offices,  such 
as  assessor,  clerk  and  treasurer,  doing  much  to  promote  the  best  interests  of 
the  township.  He  died  on  the  old  homestead  Nov.  23,  1868.  when  fifty-six 
years  old.  His  wife  was  Susan  Fnxwell,  who  survived  him  until  Jan.  10.  1876. 
when  she  passed  away  aged  sixty-nine  years.     Butli  were  Methodists  in  their 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  115 

religious  belief,  and  charter  members  of  the  church  at  Vorkville,  of  which  Mr. 
Moyle  was  for  years  a  lay-preacher.  They  were  the  parents  of  four  children, 
namely:  John  F. ;  Mary,  deceased  wife  of  Thomas  Price,  of  Chicago;  William, 
a  Methodist  minister  of  the  Wisconsin  Conference;  and  Thomas  F.,  a  veteri- 
nary surgeon  of  Waterford,  Wisconsin. 

Mrs.  Susan  (Foxwell)  Moyle,  wife  of  Thomas  Moyle,  was  the  daughter 
of  William  and  Ann  (Harris)  Foxwell.  The  father,  a  native  of  Cornwall,  was 
a  great  student  and  a  country  gentleman,  the  owner  of  quite  an  estate.  He 
died  at  about  the  age  of  si.xty,  and  his  widow  came  to  America,  where  she  died 
in  her  eightieth  year,  in  the  home  of  her  son-in-law,  Thomas  Moyle. 

John  F.  Moyle,  whose  sixty-five  years  have  been  passed  entirely  in  Ynrk- 
ville  save  the  earliest  period  in  his  childhood,  is  one  of  the  oldest  continuous 
residents  af  Racine  county.  He  was  educated  in  the  district  schools  and  also 
studied  music,  having  much  natural  talent  in  that  line.  For  a  number  of  years 
he  taught  singing  schools,  and  has  always  been  fond  of  music  in  any  form. 
Until  he  was  nineteen  he  worked  on  his  father's  farm,  and  then  decided  to  be- 
come a  carpenter  and  builder.  He  followed  that  trade  with  unusual  success 
for  thirty-seven  years,  but  for  the  last  nine  practically  his  whole  attention  has 
been  er  rossed  by  his  duties  in  township  offices,  and  as  secretary  of  the  York- 
ville  &  Mount  Pleasant  Farmers  Mutual  Insurance  Company,  of  which  Mr. 
Moyle  has  made  an  efficient  secretary. 

Mr.  Moyle  early  in  his  career  adopted  the  principles  of  the  Prohibition 
party.  He  has  always  been  rather  active  in  local  affairs,  as  he  is  both  inter- 
ested in  political  issues  and  an.xious  to  further  the  welfare  of  the  section  in 
which  he  lives.  Both  his  ability  and  integrity  of  purpose  are  appreciated  by  his 
fellowmen,  and  lie  has  held  various  offices  of  trust  and  responsibility  in  his 
township. 

On  June  23,  1864,  Mr.  Moyle  was  married  to  Susan  M.  Foxwell,  daughter 
of  John  and  Lucy  P.  Foxwell  and  to  them  were  born  ten  children,  two  of  whom 
died  in  their  infancy,  and  two  before  they  had  reached  maturity.  Of  the  re- 
maining six,  three  have  been  successful  school  teachers  and  well  known  in  edu- 
cational circles,  and  the  oldest  son,  Walter,  proprietor  of  the  Wisconsin  Nur- 
series, is  well  known  throughout  the  State  as  a  prominent  horticulturist.  Mrs. 
Moyle  died  on  April  13,  1904,  in  the  sixty-first  year  of  her  age. 

CHARLES  HENRY  LEE,  a  prominent  member  of  the  Racine  County 
Bar,  and  engaged  in  business  as  a  dealer  in  investment  securities  in  the  city  of 
Racine,  is  a  native  of  that  city,  born  Aug.  22,  1847.  He  is  the  only  living  child 
of  his  parents,  Alanson  Henry  and  Permelia  ( Gaylord )  Lee,  the  former  a  na- 
tive of  Connecticut  and  the  latter  of  New  York. 

Brewster  Lee.  the  grandfather,  was  a  native  of  Connecticut,  and  was  de- 
scended, it  is  said,  from  a  family  of  Lees,  who  settled  in  New  Hampshire  m 
1670.  Brewster  Lee  died  aged  eighty  years.  He  was  a  farmer  in  young  man- 
hood, and  served  in  the  Connecticut  State  Militia.  He  and  his  wife,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Downer,  had  five  children. 

Alanson  Henry  Lee  was  reared  in  Connecticut,  where  he  remained  until 
perhaps  twenty  years  of  age.  He  then  removed  to  New  York,  whence  he  came, 
in  1840  to  Racine,  Wis.,  being  the  pioneer  general  merchant  when  the  country 


ii6        comme:\iorative  biographical  record. 

trade  reached  over  a  radius  of  fifty  or  sixty  miles,  and  when  there  was  no  pier 
or  harbor  at  that  place.  He  died  m  1861,  aged  fifty-one  years.  His  first  wife 
passed  away  in  1853,  aged  thirty-six.  She  was  a  Methodist,  and  Wr.  Lee  at- 
tended the  same  church.  He  married  about  1856  his  first  wife's  sister,  Sarah 
M.  Gaylord,  an  Episcopalian  by  faith. 

Charles  Henry  Lee  was  reared  in  Racine,  where  he  attended  the  public 
and  high  schools.  After  graduating  from  the  latter  he  engaged  in  clerical 
work,  studied  law  in  Racine,  and  then  entered  the  Albany  Law  School,  Albany, 
N.  v..  being  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  1869.  He  became  managing  clerk  for  Ful- 
ler &  Dwyer,  the  leading  law  firm  of  Racine,  remaining  with  them  two  years, 
at  the  end  of  which  time  he  formed  a  partnership  with  John  T.  Fish,  the  firm 
laeing  known  as  Fish  &  Lee,  which  connection  continued  until  abovit  1878.  Mr. 
Lee  then  engaged  with  J.  I.  Case  &  Co.,  afterward  incorporated  as  the  J.  I. 
Case  Threshing  Machine  Company,  being  with  this  firm  until  1897,  part  of  the 
time  as  treasurer  and  all  of  the  time  as  attorney.  In  1897  he  went  to  Europe 
in  the  interests  of  this  company,  visiting  Belgium,  Austria,  Hungary,  Rou- 
mania  and  Russia,  where  the  company  had  previously  established  trade.  Since 
returning  from  this  trip  IMr.  Lee  has  lived  retired,  but  still  looks  after  trust- 
estates. 

Mr.  Lee  was  married,  Aug.  25,  1881,  to  Miss  Emily  A.  Kelley,  daughter 
of  James  H.  and  Emily  C.  Kelley.  Mrs.  Lee  is  a  member  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  which  her  husband  also  attends.  Politically  he  is  a  Democrat,  but  dur- 
ing the  elections  of  1896  and  1900  he  cast  hjs  vote  for  President  McKinley. 
In  1873-74  Mr.  Lee  was  district  attorney  of  Racine  county,  and  at  present  is 
United  States  referee  in  bankruptcy  for  the  counties  of  Racine,  Kenosha  and 
Walworth.  Mr.  Lee's  fine  residence  is  situated  at  No.  1202  Main  street.  He 
is  treasurer  of  the  Taylor  Orphan  Asylum,  a  position  he  has  held,  as  well  as 
being  a  member  of  the  board,  for  twenty-one  years.  He  has  been  president  of 
the  Racine  Public  Library  since  its  organization  in  1896.  He  is  also  president 
of  the  Chicago  Rubber  Clothing'  Company,  and  was  for  some  years  a  director 
in  the  Manufacturers  National  Bank  of  Racine. 

HON.  WALTER  L.  DEXTER,  formerly  sheriff  of  Kenosha  county. 
Wis.,  is  a  highly  esteemed  citizen  and  extensive  farmer  of  Pleasant  Prairie 
township,  residing  in  Section  34,  and  has  2093/2  acres  of  well  improved  land. 
He  was  born  on  this  farm  Dec.  19,  1842,  a  son  of  John  Jackson  and  Sarah 
(Love joy)  Dexter. 

The  paternal  grandfather.  John  Dexter,  was  Ixirn  in  Connecticut  and 
moved  from  there  to  Herkimer  county,  N.  Y.,  then  to  Chautauqua  county, 
same  State,  and  from  tliere  in  1837  to  Wisconsin,  where  he  took  up  thirteen 
tracts  of  land  of  eighty  acres  each.  He  died  in  January,  1862,  in  the  house  in 
Pleasant  Prairie  township  where  Walter  L.  Dexter  now  lives,  aged  eighty 
years.  He  married  Sophia  Winsor,  who  lived  to  be  ninety  years  old.  He 
took  part  in  the  war  of  1812,  and  his  father  Samuel  Dexter,  who  was  born  in 
Connecticut  in  1758,  was  a  Revolutionary  soldier  in  the  4th  Connecticut  Regi- 
ment under  Col.  John  Durkin.  Samuel  Dexter  was  a  farmer  for  many  years 
in  Herkimer  county,  N.  Y.  He  married  Candace  Winsor,  and  died  in  1831, 
aged  seventy-three  years. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  117 

John  JacksDii  Dexter  was  born  in  1816  in  Chautauqua  county,  X.  \'.,  and 
his  wife  was  a  native  of  Fredonia,  N.  Y.  Her  father,  Abijah  Lovejoy,  was 
born  in  Vermont,  and  was  one  of  the  earhest  pioneers  of  Lake  county,  111. 
He  reared  four  sons  and  three  daughters.  John  J.  Dexter  owned  a  mill  prop- 
erty in  JamCyStown,  N.  Y.,  and  the  village  of  Dexterville,  near  there,  was 
named  in  his  honor.  He  came  to  \Visconsin  in  1837  and  with  his  father  was  an 
early  settler  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township.  He  died  here  Jan.  i,  1845,  ^t  the 
early  age  of  twenty-nine  years.  Walter  L.  was  his  only  child.  His  wife  sur- 
vived until  1877,  after  his  death  marrying  J.  C.  Dowse,  by  whom  she  had  one 
son,   Byron  C.   Dowse,  a  well-known  citizen. 

Walter  L.  Dexter  has  passed  all  his  life  on  his  present  farm  with  the  ex- 
ception of  the  two  years  during  which  he  served  as  sherifif  of  Kenosha  county. 
His  education  was  obtained  in  the  district  schools  and  at  Kenosha.  At  the 
death  of  his  grandfather,  he  received  673^  acres  of  his  present  property,  and 
his  father  left  him  211  acres,  of  which  the  grandfather,  as  guardian,  sold  131 
acres.  Later  the  son  bought  eighty  acres  more  of  the  estate.  This  is  all  well- 
tilled,  valuable  land,  being  a  fine  property.  Although  public  responsibilities 
have  claimed  a  share  of  Mr.  Dexter's  attention,  his  main  interest  has  always 
been  in  the  line  of  agriculture.  The  fine  improvements  on  his  property  add 
to  its  value  as  well  as  to  its  attractiveness. 

Mr.  Dexter  was  married  June  15,  i860,  to  Catherine  Johnson,  daughter 
of  Charles  and  Bridget  (Skivinton)  Johnson,  and  they  had  six  children:  Will- 
iam Henry.  Charles  Jackson,  Jennie  S.,  Mary  L.,  Walter  S.  and  Flora  B. 
The  eldest  son  who  is  in  the  butter  and  cream  business  in  Chicago,  was  mar- 
ried to  Marianna  Whyte  Sept.  26,  1894,  and  they  have  three  sons:  Howard 
William,  born  July  26,  1895;  Walter  Earl,  born  Feb.  20,  1898,  and  Robert 
Whyte,  born  April  29.  1902.  Charles  J.  lives  at  home,  as  do  also  Jennie  S., 
Walter  S.,  and  Flora  B.  Mary  L.  married  E.  C.  Dewey,  of  Kenosha,  and  they 
have  two'  children,  Perdita  Irene  and  Persis  Vivian.  The  beloved  mother  of 
this  family  died  Oct.  2,  1899,  aged  fifty-seven  years.  She  was  a  devoted 
Christian. 

Mr.  Dexter  is  an  active  and  influential  meml^er  of  the  Democratic  party 
and  in  the  fall  of  1882  he  was  elected  sheriff  of  Kenosha  county,  servhig  one 
term.  Prior  to  this,  in  1877,  he  was  elected  to  the  Wisconsin  State  Assembly, 
and  served  with  credit.  He  has  filled  many  of  the  local  offices,  serving  through 
several  terms  as  chairman  of  the  board  of  supervisors,  and  for  three  years  was 
town  treasurer.  In  all  these  public  positions  Mr.  Dexter  has  borne  himself 
well,  giving  his  attention  to  his  duties  with  a  fidelity  not  always  displayed.  He 
is  a  much  esteemed  citizen,  and  is  a  popular  member  of  Kenosha  Lodge.  No. 
47,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America. 

The  parents  of  the  late  Mrs.  Dexter  were  born  in  Ireland  and  came  to 
America  in  1847,  coming  to  Kenosha  county  and  settling  in  Pleasant  Prairie 
township.  The  father  died  in  1888,  when  about  eighty  years  of  age;  the  mother 
died  in  1892.  The  family  consisted  of  three  sons  and  four  daughters,  all  of 
whom  have  passed  away. 

H.  GENE  DARDIS.  a  prominent  and  influential  business  man  of  Bur- 
lington, Wis.,  is  president  of  the  Home  Lumber  Company.     Mr.  Dardis  was 


Ti8  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

born  Jan.   i.   1855,  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  and  he  is  a  son  of  James  and  Anna 
(Powderly)  Dardis,  natives  of  Dubhn,  Ireland. 

James  M.  Dardis.  the  paternal  grandfather,  a  linen  weaver,  died  in  Ire- 
land, aged  about  ninety  years.  He  had  seven  daughters  and  one  son.  Hugh 
Powderly,  our  subject's  maternal  grandfather,  was  also  a  native  of  Ireland, 
where  he  died,  ha\-ing  reached  the  remarkable  age  of  one  hundred  years.  His 
wife,  Ann  (Leonard)  Powderly,  bore  him  three  daughters  and  four  sons. 

James  Dardis  was  a  horse  jockey  in  his  native  country.  He  came  to  Amer- 
ica in  1853,  locating  in  New  York,  and  in  the  following  year  settled  in  Keno- 
.sha.  Wis.  In  1855  he  purchased  a  farm  in  the  town  of  Dover,  Racine  county, 
where  he  remained  until  1866,  in  which  year  he  moved  back  to  Kenosha  coun- 
ty, settling  in  the  town  of  Brighton,  following  farming  in  that  township  for 
twenty-three  years.  From  there  he  removed  to  near  Delavan,  and  there  spent 
a  numiier  of  years.  His  death  occurred  while  he  was  living  with  his  daughter, 
Mrs.  Thayer,  at  Corliss,  in  January,  1905,  aged  eighty-four  years.  His  wife 
passed  away  in  January,  1882,  aged  about  fifty-eight  years.  Ten  children 
were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dardis :  Maria,  wife  of  J.  O.  Esmond,  of  Union 
Grove;  Anna,  wife  of  Isaac  Bowers  of  Delavan,  Wis.;  Eugene  and  James, 
twins,  the  latter  of  whom  resides  at  Corliss ;  Susie,  wife  of  George  Thayer,  of 
Corliss;  Henry,  who  died  Dec.  14,  1895;  William,  of  Clinton  Junction,  W^is. ; 
Miss  Ella,  of  Janesville;  Lydia,  the  wife  of  J.  E.  Hennessey  of  Janesville;  and 
Ben  L..  of  Rockford,  Illinois. 

H.  Gene  Dardis  was  reared  in  Racine  and  Kenosha  counties,  and,  with  the 
exception  of  ten  years  spent  in  Antioch,  111.,  has  spent  his  whole  life  in  those 
counties.  He  attended  the  district  schools,  and  when  sixteen  years  of  age 
started  to  learn  the  carpenter  and  wheelwright's  trades,  which  he  continued 
to  follow  for  the  next  sixteen  years.  He  then  became  manager  of  the  Wilbur 
Lumber  Company,  at  Antioch,  111.,  and  was  with  this  company  six  years,  at 
the  end  of  which  time  they  sold  out.  Mr.  Dardis  then  located  in  Burlington, 
\V\s.,  and  managed  a  yard  there  for  five  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he 
embarked  in  a  business  of  his  own,  establishing  the  Home  Lumber  Company, 
of  which  he  is  president,  and  his  son,  Donald  W.,  is  treasurer. 

On  Feb.  14,  1879,  Mr.  Dardis  married  Miss  Anna  Smith,  daughter  of 
William  and  Marv  (Welch)  Smith,  and  four  children  were  born  to  this  union; 
Donald  W..  Elsie  C,  Mary  L.,  and  Howard,  the  last  named  dying  in  infancy. 
The  family  home  on  Chandlers  boulevard,  was  erected  by  Mr.  Dardis  in  189S. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Dardis  are  members  of  the  Plymouth  Congregational  Church, 
of  which  he  is  a  trustee.  He  belongs  to  Burlington  Lodge,  No.  128,  F.  &  A. 
M..  and  to  the  Odd  Fellows  fraternity.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and 
while  at  Antioch  served  as  school  clerk  and  on  the  building  committee  which 
erected  a  new  school  house  there.  He  was  also  a  member  of  the  school  board 
of  Burlington,  and  a  member  of  the  committee  which  erected  the  Burlington 
high  school  building. 

MORTIMER  EUGENE  W^\LKER,  of  Racine,  Wis.,  a  member  of  the 
well-known  law  firm  of  Simmons,  Nelson  &  W^alker,  was  torn  in  the  town  of 
Mt.  Pleasant,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  June  25.  T872.  son  of  Robert  TM.  and  Minerva 
(Secor)  Walker,  natives  of  Vermont  and  New  York,  respectively. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  119 

Nelson  A.  Walker,  the  grandfather  of  Mortimer  Eugene,  was  a  native 
of  Vermont,  and  was  an  early  settler  of  Racine  county,  having  made  the  jour- 
ney from  his  native  State  on  foot.  He  at  one  time  owned  a  farm  on  the  pres- 
ent site  of  Racine,  which  was  known  as  "Sagetown,"  and  there  he  lived  for 
many  years.  Two  or  three  years  prior  to  his  death  he  went  to  Chicago,  where 
he  died  at  an  advanced  age.  His  wife,  Lucinda  (Taggart)  Walker,  died  aged 
about  sixty-five  years,  leaving  four  children. 

Robert  M.  Walker  came  to  Wisconsin  with  his  parents  when  a  child,  and 
grew  to  manhood  in  the  vicinity  of  Racine,  remaining  at  home  until  after  his 
marriage.  Since  that  time  he  has  followed  farming  on  his  own  account,  own- 
ing an  excellent  farm  of  120  acres,  three-quarters  of  a  mile  west  of  the  city 
limits.  Mr.  Walker  served  in  the  Civil  war.  being  a  private  of  Company  K, 
8th  Wis.  V.  I.,  known  as  the  "Old  Abe"  regiment.  After  the  war  he  resumed 
farming,  and  held  various  township  offices.  He  married  Minerva  Secor, 
daughter  of  Gurdon  Secor,  a  native  of  New  York.  Gurdon  Secor"s  mother  was 
of  Holland-Dutch  and  his  father  of  French  descent.  Gurdon  Secor  was  a 
merchant  in  the  East  and  came  West  at  an  early  day.  settling  in  Mt.  Pleasant 
township,  where  he  improved  a  farm  and  reared  his  family  of  eight  children. 
He  and  his  wife,  Jane  Stuart,  lived  to  an  advanced  age.  To  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Robert  M.  Walker  were  born  children  as  follows:  Nelson  A.,  of  I\It.  Pleasant 
township;  Mortimer  E.,  and  Mabel  E. 

Mortimer  E.  Walker  has  spent  his  entire  life  in  Racine.  He  was  brought 
up  on  his  father's  farm,  and  received  his  education  in  the  district,  private  and 
Racine  College  grammar  schools.  He  then  entered  the  law  department  of  the 
University  of  Wisconsin,  at  Madison,  graduating  in  1895,  and  was  admitted 
to  the  Bar  in  the  same  year.  He  began  practice  in  Racine,  entering  the  offices 
of  Cooper  &  Nelson,  and  later  becoming  a  partner  of  the  firm  of  Cooper,  Sim- 
mons, Nelson  &  Walker,  one  of  the  leading  law  firms  of  Racine. 

Mr.  Walker  was  married  July  24,  1900,  to  Miss  Florence  Bull,  daughter 
of  Wakely  T.  and  Caroline  (Curtis)  Bull,  and  to  this  union  a  daughter,  Jane 
Stuart,  has  been  born.     Mrs.  Walker  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church. 

Fraternally  ^Ir.  Walker  is  connected  with  Racine  Lodge.  No.  18,  F.  & 
A.  M.,  and  No.  252.  B.  P.  O.  Elks,  Racine.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and 
was  elected  city  attorney  in  1902,  an  office  he  held  four  terms.  ^Ir.  Walker's 
residence  is  situated  at  No.  1228  Main  street. 

LOUIS  EDWARD  KALTENBACH,  D.  D.  S.,  is  the  son  of  the  late 
Celestine  Kaltenbach.  of  Grant  county.  Wis.,  who  was  a  pioneer  resident  and  a 
descendant  of  the  distinguished  Von  Kaltenbach  family  of  Baden-Baden. 

The  father  of  the  subject  of  our  sketch  settled  in  1833  in  Potosi,  Wis., 
where  he  engaged  in  the  general  merchandise  business.  He  was  appointed 
postmaster  under  the  ^'an  Buren  administration  and  served  continuously  until 
the  time  of  his  death,  with  the  exception  of  ten  years.  He  was,  when  he  passed 
away,  the  oldest  postmaster  in  time  of  service  in  the  history  of  the  L'nited 
States.  He  was  closely  identified  with  the  early  history  of  that  section  of  coun- 
try in  which  he  lived,  his  oldest  daughter  being  the  first  white  child  born  in 
Grant  county.  Dr.  Kaltenbach's  mother  was  educated  in  England  and  was  a 
near  relative  of  Anton  Seidl,  the  famous  musical  director  of  New  York. 


I20  CO^LMEMORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Dr.  Kaltenhach  is  well  educated,  being  a  graduate  of  tlie  luwa  State  Uni- 
versity. He  applied  himself  earnestly  and  assiduously  to  the  acquisition  of  the 
knowledge  necessary  to  tit  himself  for  his  career  as  a  practitioner,  and  shortly 
after  his  advent  into  the  professional  ranks  became  generally  recognized  as  a 
leading  dentist,  which  position  he  has  easily  maintained  throughout  his  active 
career.  In  1891  he  opened  an  office  in  Kenosha,  where  his  large  acquaintance 
and  professional  skill  soon  won  for  him  a  large  and  lucrative  practice.  He  is  a 
man  of  studious  habits,  of  great  mechanical  ability,  broad  culture  and  superior 
manipulative  skill,  all  of  which  combine  to  make  him  a  practitioner  of  pre- 
eminent ability. 

On  July  2,  1901,  he  married  !\Iiss  Burnet  Golden,  daughter  of  Mrs.  Car- 
rie Golden.  ]\Irs.  Kaltenbach's  parents  came  originally  from  Virginia  and  are 
closely  related  to  the  Paynes  and  Swansons  of  that  State.  They  moved  to  Mis- 
souri shortly  after  the  Civil  war. 

The  Doctor  is  a  member  of  the  State  Dental  Society,  of  the  Knights  of 
Columbus,  and  of  the  B.  P.  O.  E.  He  owns  a  fine  residence  at  Xo.  617  Prairie 
avenue. 

FRANK  WASHBURX  STARBUCK,  editor  of  the  Jonnial  and  presi- 
dent of  The  Journal  Printing  Company,  was  born  in  Cincinnati,  Ohio,  Nov. 
8,  1845.  His  father,  Calvin  \\'.  Starbuck.  was  a  prominent  newspaper  man  in 
that  city  and  was  the  o\\;ner  of  the  Cincinnati  Times,  which  exercised  consid- 
erable influence  during  the  Civil  war. 

Coming  to  Racine  in  search  of  health,  in  the  year  1873.  Frank  W.  Star- 
buck  became  interested  in  the  Journal,  at  that  time  edited  and  owned  by  Col. 
\\''.  L.  Utley  and  his  son  Hamilton,  and  on  the  ist  of  January,  1874,  purchased 
a  half  interest  of  the  Colonel.  A  year  later  he  bought  the  other  half  from  Ham- 
ilton Utley,  who  remained  with  the  Journal  for  quite  a  period,  or  until  gold 
was  discovered  in  the  Black  Hills,  when  Mr.  Utley  with  a  number  of  associ- 
ates left  for  the  northern  fields.  After  the  departure  of  Hamilton  Utley  Mr. 
Starbuck  assumed  the  editorial  pen  and  has  wielded  it  ever  since,  with  but  an 
interregnum  of  a  few  months  in  the  year  1895. 

In  1875  Mr.  Starbuck  was  united  in  marriage  to  ]\Iiss  Mattie  Raxmrmd. 
daughter  of  Seneca  Raymond  and  a  native  of  Racine.  He  has  four  living  chil- 
dren, viz. :  Helen,  Marguerite,  Genevieve  and  Frank.  Helen,  the  eldest,  is  a 
daughter  by  his  former  marriage,  to  Miss  Carrie  Golden,  of  Cincinnati. 

The  Journal  has  continuously  been  Republican  in  politics,  but  has  ever 
retained  the  right  to  discuss  public  matters  of  interest  in  national.  State  or  mu- 
nicipal affairs,  from  an  unprejudiced  standpoint.  The  paper  has  been  very 
successful  and  influential  under  Mr.  Starbuck's  direction,  and  has  kept  pace 
with  the  growth  of  the  city,  from  the  first  installment  of  steam  power,  in  1874, 
to  the  present  time. 

The  Daily  Journal  made  its  first  appearance  on  Jan.  3,  1881,  a  modest 
four-page,  si.x-column  paper — its  headquarters  being  above  the  Manufacturers 
National  Bank.  The  Daily  was  a  success  from  the  start,  and  a  demand  for 
more  room  soon  made  necessary  a  removal  to  old  Belle  City  Hall :  again,  in 
1891,  the  present  building  at  No.  328  Main  street  was  purchased,  and  refitted 
for  a  modern  newspaper  printing  plant. 


^/^m^^vJ^C 


COMMEMORATIVE    J3IOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  121 

In  1894  the  daily  was  made  an  eight-page  paper,  and,  with  the  installa- 
tion of  a  perfecting  press,  linotype  machines  and  other  additions  to  the  ecjuip- 
ment,  with  continuous  expansion  of  the  editorial  department  (including  a  leased 
wire  and  Associated  Press  reports),  the  Journal  to-day  enjoys  the  distinction  of 
being  one  of  the  best  edited  and  printed  papers  in  Wisconsin.  Arrangements 
are  now  being  made  for  the  installation  of  a  new  double-deck  press,  capable  of 
printing  20,000  eight-page  or  10,000  sixteen-page  papers  per  hour.  In  the 
mechanical  departments  of  the  office  the  periods  of  lay  service  are  notable,  a 
number  having  been  employed  from  ten  to  fifteen  years.  The  job  department 
of  the  Journal  has  an  equipment  modern  in  every  respect. 

In  1886  the  Journal  was  incorporated,  its  present  officials  being:  E.  W. 
Starbuck,  president;  William  Horlick,  vice-president;  Frank  R.  Starbuck, 
secretary,  and  E.  A.  Tostevin,  treasurer.  Its  five  directors  are  the  four  named, 
with  the  addition  of  David  Griswold,  the  city  editor.  It  is  proper  to  say  here 
that  the  treasurer,  Mr.  Tostevin,  has  been  connected  with  the  Journal  continu- 
ously since  1887,  and  Mr.  Grisw'old,  since  December,  1880.  Eor  the  past  six 
years  Frank  R.  Starbuck  has  most  efficiently  served  as  its  managing  editor. 

GEORGE  F.  WALLMANN,  a  prominent  business  man  of  Waterford, 
Wis.,  was  born  in  that  village  Dec.  2,  i860,  son  of  Frederick  C.  and  Dorothea 
M.  (Koehnke)  Wallmann,  natives  of  Germany,  from  the  Province  of  Meck- 
lenburg. 

Frederick  C.  Wallmann  received  his  education  in  his  native  country,  and 
there  learned  cabinetmaking.  He  came  to  America  in  August,  1854,  and  located 
at  once  in  Waterford,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  where  he  was  one  of  the  first  mer- 
chants, and  where  he  followed  his  trade  at  the  same  time,  doing  carpentering 
and  undertaking,  and  manufacturing  furniture.  He  also  traveled  considerably, 
selling  his  goods  on  the  road.  But  he  gave  this  up  because  the  conduct  of  his 
business  requireil  his  constant  personal  supervision,  for  he  had  twelve  men  eui- 
ployed.  Thus  he  continued  until  January,  1884,  at  which  time  he  removed  to 
Clinton  Junction,  being  in  business  at  the  latter  place  for  two  years.  He  then 
removed  to  Mukwonago,  where  he  now  lives  retired.  When  Mr.  Wallmann 
arrived  in  Waterford  he  had  a  cash  capital  of  thirty-four  cents,  so  that  he 
could  hardly  be  accused  of  having  been  favored  by  fortune  in  his  early  life. 
He  and  his  w-ife  were  originally  Lutherans,  but  now  adhere  to  the  Methodist 
faith,  Mr.  Wallmann  being  the  prime  factor  in  establishing  the  German  Meth- 
odist Church  in  Wtiterford.  He  is  a  member  of  Masonic  Lodge  Xo.  96,  of 
Waterford. 

•Mr.  and  Mrs.  Frederick  C.  W^allmann  were  married  in  Milwaukee,  .\pril 
5,  1857,  having  made  the  trip  to  that  then  villege  in  an  ox-cart,  the  journey 
taking  several  days  to  accomplish.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wallmann  had  four  chil- 
dren:  Augusta  A.,  who  died  when  two  years  old:  George  F. ;  Dora  E.,  the 
widow  of  N.  Lotz,  of  Mukw'onago,  Wis. ;  and  Karl  J.,  of  Milwaukee. 

George  F.  Wallmann  attended  the  public  schools  of  Waterford,  and  when 
fourteen  years  of  age  entered  his  father's  store.  On  Jan.  i,  1884,  he  became 
his  father's  successor  in  the  business,  and  he  has  continued  therein  to  the  pres- 
ent time,  having  been  eminently  successful.  He  carries  on  undertaking,  and 
has  a  large  stock  of  up-to-date  house  furnishings,  stoves  and  furnaces,  and  his 


122  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

reputation  for  business  honest)-  and  integrity  has  won  him  many  customers. 
He  has  been  intelligent  as  well  as  industrious  in  the  prosecution  of  liis  work,  and 
has  spared  no  pains  to  fit  himself  for  the  up-to-date  conduct  of  his  business. 
In  September,  1884.  he  graduated  from  Prof.  Clark's  School  of  Embalming, 
being  the  first  graduated  embalmer  in  Racine  county,  and  this  incident  is  typi- 
cal of  the  man  in  all  he  attempts.  For  four  and  a  half  years  he  carried  on  a 
furniture  and  undertaking  business  at  IMukwonago,  but  sold  it  on  Jan.  i,  1906. 
On  Sept.  II,  1883,  Mr.  Wallmann  married  Miss  Caroline  J-  Trost,  daugh- 
ter of  John  and  Marie  (Weidniann)  Trost,  and  two  daughters  have  been  b<:)rn 
to  this  union :  Esther  Augusta,  who  married  John  F.  Steinke,  and  Cora  Irene, 
who  is  attending  the  high  school.  ;\Ir.  and  ]\Irs.  Wallmann  are  members  of  the 
English  M.  E.  Church.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Rochester  Lodge, 
No.  18,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  and  W'aterford  Camp.  Xo.  3112,  Modern  Woodmen  of 
America.    Politically  he  is  independent. 

Erdnian  Trost,  Mrs.  Wallmann's  grandfather,  was  born  in  1801  in  Noss- 
endorf,  bei  Gremmen,  Germany.  He  married  Dorathea  Segerd,  who  was  born 
in  1809  in  Langfeld,  bei  Gremmen.  and  they  had  four  children,  Mary,  Gustuf, 
Fredrick  and  John,  the  last  named  being  now  the  only  one  of  the  family  liv- 
ing. John  Trost  married  Marie  Weidniann,  daughter  of  John  and  Sophia 
(Glove)  Weidniann,  both  natives  of  Clabno,  bei  Gremmen,  Germany,  who  had 
four  children,  John,  Gustif,  ^larie  (^Irs.  Trost)  and  Karl.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Trost  had  children  as  follows:  Herman  W'.,  born  in  Kessgin  Feb.  24,  1864, 
who  now  lives  in  W^aterford;  Caroline  J.,  born  in  Grischow  Alay  26,  1866, 
now  Mrs.  W'allmann;  William  C,  born  in  Grischow  January  4,  1869.  a  mer- 
chant and  undertaker  of  Mukwonago,  Wis.;  Karl  L.,  born  in  Randow  Jan. 
7.  1872,  now  of  Milwaukee;  and  A.  Henry,  born  Jan.  12.  1874,  in  East  Troy, 
Wis.,  at  present  a  stenographer  in  Chicago. 

JAMES  MUTTER,  a  member  of  the  board  of  public  works  of  Racine, 
Wis.,  is  one  of  the  esteemed  residents  of  that  city.  He  was  born  in  the  County 
of  Huntingdon,  Canada,  in  what  is  now  the  town  of  Franklin  (formerly  James- 
town), Nov.  21,  1841,  son  of  William  andMary  (Denham)  Mutter,  natives 
of  Perthshire,  Scotland. 

William  Mutter  died  in  1870.  aged  si.xty-seven  years,  while  his  wife  sur- 
vived until  1905,  being  then  near  her  i02d  birthday.  We  quote  from  an  arti- 
cle which  appeared  Oct.  3,  1904,  in  the  Racine  Daily  Journal,  in  regard  to  this 
remarkable  old  lady : 

"Mrs.  Mutter,  mother  of  James  T^Iutter,  of  the  board  of  public  works,  and 
widow  of  the  late  William  Mutter,  to-day  celebrated  her  loist  birthday,  at  her 
home.  1 410  Libertv  street,  in  a  very  quiet  manner,  .\lthough  having  reached 
that  remarkable  age,  Mrs.  Mutter  probablv  has  few  equals  in  the  State,  or  for 
that  matter  in  the  L'nited  States. 

"She  was  born  in  Scotland,  Oct.  3,  1803.  In  the  year  1837  she  removed 
to  Huntingdon  County,  Canada,  where  her  husband  cleared  away  timber  and 
cultivated  a  farm,  making  a  success  of  it  and  is  said  to  have  been  the  first  white 
man  who  ever  made  farming  pay  in  that  section.  It  was  in  the  year  1866  that 
she  and  her  husband  came  to  Racine  county  and  took  up  their  residence  in  the 
town  of  Yorkville.  where  the  husband  died  some  years  ago.     There  were  nine 


CO^I^IEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  123 

children,  of  whom  five  are  living.  Mrs.  Mutter  has  always  been  a  great  Bible 
student,  and  it  is  said  that  her  equal  does  not  live  in  Wisconsin  for  quotations 
from  that  Holy  Book.  As  a  Methodist  recently  said,  'She  knows  more  about 
the  Bible  than'any  minister  living."  She  can  tell  about  incidents  of  eighty  or 
ninety  years  ago,  and  tells  interesting  stories  about  the  battle  of  Waterloo. 

"Her  eyesight  has  been  failing  of  late  years  and  her  hearing  is  impaired 
but  her  memory  and  other  faculties  are  unimpaired.  There  are  no  indications 
of  childishness,  and  she  goes  to  and  from  the  table  and  can  converse  intelli- 
gentlv  upon  most  subjects.  She  is  tlie  grandmother  of  Sheriff  Robert  Mutter." 
On  Jan.  23,  1905,  a  few  months  after  the  above  was  written,  the  venerable 
lady  died.  The  five  children  of  William  and  Mary  Mutter  now  living  are : 
Annie,  wife  of  D.  W.  Davis,  of  Chateaugay,  N.  Y. ;  Margaret,  the  wife  of  Wil- 
liam Stuart,  of  Yorkville,  Racine  Co.,  Wis. ;  Mary,  the  wife  of  W.  H.  Lang- 
ley,  of  Franksville,  Racine  county;  James;  and  Agnes,  the  wife  of  Thomas 
Graham,  of  Decorah,  Iowa.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Mutter  were  both  Presbyterians. 
He  was  a  soldier  in  Canada  during  the  French  Rebellion,  and  served  three 
years,  but  did  no  fighting. 

James  Mutter  grew  to  manhood  in  Canada,  where  he  was  reared  on  his 
father's  farm.  He  attended  the  district  schools,  and  lived  at  home  with  his 
parents  until  past  fourteen  years  of  age,  when  he  started  to  work,  finding  em- 
ployment at  various  occupations  until  he  was  of  age.  In  1863  he  located  in 
Racine  and  ran  stationary  engines  for  a  number  of  years,  having  acquired  a 
knowledge  of  that  business  while  on  the  lakes  in  Canada.  He  then  for  a  time 
ran  a  planing-mill  in  Racine,  which  he  sold  out  to  go  to  California  in  1870, 
there  doing  carpenter  work.  The  same  fall  he  returned  to  Racine  and  pur- 
chased a  farm  in  Yorkville,  which  he  worked  for  five  years.  He  then  returned 
to  Racine  and  worked  for  the  Winship  Manufacturing  Company  for  three 
years,  after  which  he  went  into  business  on  his  own  account,  manufacturing 
tanks  and  selling  windwills,  pumps,  etc.,  in  partnership  with  J.  H.  Hodges,  as 
a  member  of  the  firm  of  Hodges  &  Mutter.  This  partnership  continued  for 
three  years,  at  the  end  of  which  time  Mr.  ISIutter  sold  his  interest  to  Mr. 
Hodges  and  went  to  work  for  the  Fish  Brothers  Wagon  Company,  being  in 
their  employ  ten  or  eleven  years.  In  1892  he  was  appointed  a  member  of  the 
board  of  public  works  and  served  four  years.  He  then  did  general  contract- 
ing for  a  period  of  six  years,  and  in  1902  was  again  appointed  a  member  of  the 
board,  an  office  he  still  holds. 

On  Nov.  3,  1864,  Mr.  Mutter  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Tostevin,.  daughter 
of  Matthew  Tostevin.  Mrs.  Mutter  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church. 
Fraternally  Mr.  Mutter  is  connected  with  Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M. 
Politically  he  is  a  stanch  Republican.  He  owns  a  good  home  at  No.  1410  Lib- 
erty street,  which  he  built  in  1881. 

JAMES  H.  GR.\Y.  a  hardware  dealer  of  Bristol,  Kenosha  county,  is  one 
of  the  old  settlers,  as  he  has  li\'ed  in  the  conntv  since  he  was  three  years  old. 
He  was  born  at  Gilboa,  Schoharie  Co.,  N.  Y..  May  2.  1845,  ^  s^"  "'*'  ^^  iHiam 
and  Catherine  (Gray)  Gray. 

\A^illiam  Gray  was  a  native  of  Irelanrl  and  his  wife  of  Scotland.  After 
coming  to  America  he  lived  for  some  time  in  New  York  State,  but  in  1848  took 


124  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

his  family  West  to  Wisconsin  and  located  in  Paris  township,  Kenosha  county, 
where  he  hought  eighty  acres.  Pie  added  an  equal  amount  thereto  and  culti- 
vated the  whole  farm,  making  his  permanent  residence  thereon.  He  and  his 
wife  both  died  on  the  homestead,  he  in  November,  1883,  aged  sixty-five,  and 
she  in  1887,  aged  seventy-five.  In  religious  belief  he  was  an  Episcopalian,  and 
h:s  wife  was  a  Presbyterian.  They  had  three  sons  and  one  daughter,  Susan 
Gray  ( of  Bristol)  and  James  H.  being  the  only  ones  living. 

James  H.  Gray  grew  up  on  his  father's  farm  and  received  his  education 
in  the  district  schools.  He  remained  at  home  until  during  the  Civil  war,  when 
he  enlisted.  Jan.  i,  1864,  in  Company  E,  ist  W.  V.  I.,  and  served  till  the  end  of 
the  war.  in  June,  1865.  He  was  in  the  battles  of  Resaca,  Kenesaw  Mountain  and 
Dallas,  and  also  took  part  in  numerous  skirmishes.  After  the  struggle  was 
over  he  went  home  and  began  farming  again.  He  bought  an  interest  in  his 
father's  place,  but  later  rented  it  to  the  latter  and  spent  four  years  in  North 
Dakota,  where  he  ran  a  livery  "stable  at  Lisbon,  the  county  seat  of  Ransom 
county.  After  his  father  died  Mr.  Gray  returned  to  Wisconsin,  bought  out  the 
other  heirs  of  the  old  homestead,  which  he  conducted  himself  till  1894,  when  he 
rented  it.  Five  years  later  he  sold  that  place,  but  he  still  owned  farm  property, 
as  he  has  160  acres  near  Grand  Rapids,  W'is.  When  Mr.  Gray  left  his  old 
home  in  1894  he  established  himself  in  the  village  of  Bristol  as  a  hardware 
dealer  and  is  still  engaged  in  the  successful  management  of  that  business. 

I\Ir.  Gray  was  married  in  October,  1896,  to  the  widow  of  iiis  brother  Alex- 
ander, whose  maiden  name  was  Maria  Nelson.  By  her  first  marriage  Mrs. 
Gray  had  four  children,  Herbert  C,  Elsie  M.,  Blanche  C.  and  Lois,  while  by 
her  second  union  there  have  been  three,  Edith,  Allen  and  Vernon.  Mrs.  Gray 
is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Church.  Her  husband  is  a  Mason,  belonging 
to  Washburn  Lodge,  No.  145,  F.  &  A.  M.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  Mr. 
Gray  is  a  good  business  man  and  a  good  citizen,  standing  high  in  the  esteem 
of  his  fellows. 

DARIUS  J.  MOREY,  of  the  firm  of  D.  J.  Morey  &  Sons,  real  estate, 
loans  and  insurance,  at  Racine,  Wis.,  stands  very  high  in  the  business  world  of 
that  city.  He  is  a  native  of  New  York,  born  in  St.  LawTence  county,  at  Mor- 
ristown.  March  3,  1843,  son  of  John  T.  and  Catherine  (Styles)  Morey. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mr.  Morey,  for  whom  he  is  named,  was  Dar- 
ius J.  Morey,  a  native  of  Vermont.  He  was  a  carpenter  and  builder,  and  also, 
a  designer  or  architect.  In  1846  he  came  to  Wisconsin,  and  he  died  at  Racine 
in  1 85 1,  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years.  He  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812. 
He  married  Marian  Fowler,  a  relative  of  Dr.  Fowler,  the  great  phrenologist, 
and  she  died  aged  fifty-four  years,  the  mother  of  five  daughters  and  two  sons. 
Tracing  the  family  farther  back,  we  find  that  two  brothers  of  the  name  of 
Morey  came  from  England  in  1626  and  settled  in  Massachusetts,  where  the 
spelling  of  the  name  became  different  in  the  two  branches,  one  orthography 
being  Mowry  and  the  other  Morey. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mr.  Morey,  John  Styles,  was  born  in  Eng- 
land, was  a  sergeant  in  the  British  army,  and  fought  at  Waterloo.  After  com- 
ing to  America  he  continued  to  be  a  military  man  and  served  his  adopted  coun- 
try with  distinction  in  the  war  of  181 2.     Coming  to  Morristown,  N.  Y.,  by 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  125 

way  of  Montreal,  Canada,  he  died  in  Morristown.  at  the  unusal  age  of  105 
years.  By  trade  he  was  a  shoemaker.  He  married  Catherine  McDonald,  who 
lived  to  the  age  of  ninety-eight  years,  her  death  resulting  from  an  accident. 
They  had  ten  children. 

John  T.  Morey,  father  of  Darius  J.,  was  a  native  of  New  York,  married 
there  and  reared  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  the  two  survivors  of  this  fam- 
ily being  John  T.  and  Darius  J.,  both  of  Racine.  By  trade  John  T.  Morey  was  a 
carpenter  and  house-builder.  He  came  to  Wisconsin  in  the  spring  of  1846, 
lantling  first  at  Milwaukee,  but  soon  came  to  Racine,  where  he  followed  his 
trade  for  some  years  and  then  went  to  Southport,  where  he  lived  for  a  time, 
returning  subsequently  to  Racine.  From  there  he  removed  to  the  Indian  Land 
in  Waupaca  county,  with  the  intention  of  engaging  in  farming,  in  the  hope 
that  such  occupation  would  restore  him  to  health,  but  the  hopes  of  his  family 
were  not  realized,  and  he  died  in  December,  1856.  His  wife  survived  him  un- 
til August,  1862,  dying  aged  thirty-eight  years.  Both  were  Methodists  in  re- 
ligion. 

Darius  J.  Morey  was  three  years  old  when  he  came  to  Wisconsin  with  his 
parents  and  he  lived  at  Racine  until  1851,  when  he  accompanied  them  on  their 
removal  north.  His  school  advantages  were  limited,  as  his  opportunities  in  the 
northern  part  of  the  State  were  few  on  account  of  unsettled  conditions  and  the 
sickness  of  his  father.  He  was  fourteen  years  old  before  he  had  much  chance 
to  attend  even  the  winter  sessions,  and  the  summers  were  given  over  to  hard 
work  on  the  farm.  His  father  was  a  man  of  deep  religious  feelings  and  was 
careful  to  instruct  his  children  in  the  Bible. 

In  1861  Darius  J.  Morey  returned  to  Racine  and  took  one  winter's  in- 
stniction  in  the  high  school,  having  previously,  through  earnest  efforts  and 
self-denial,  secured  a  certificate  to  teach.  He  was  still  prevented,  however, 
from  entering  into  the  life  he  desired,  as  immediate  necessities  made  him  con- 
tinue at  the  carpenter's  bench  and  on  the  farm.  The  death  of  his  mother  threw 
the  whole  burden  of  the  support  of  the  family  on  him,  and  for  several  years 
his  responsibilities  were  heavy. 

On  Aug.  22,  1863,  Mr.  Morey  enlisted  in  the  Union  army,  becoming  a 
pri\ate  in  Company  C,  ist  Wisconsin  Heavy  Artillery,  in  which  he  served  with 
fidelity  until  the  close  of  the  war,  participating  in  many  of  its  most  serious 
battles,  including  Lookout  Mountain  and  Missionary  Ridge.  After  ,his  hon- 
oralile  discharge  he  returned  to  Racine,  and  in  order  to  fit  himself  for  a  com- 
mercial career  attended  a  business  college  and  became  an  accountant,  follow- 
ing this  line  for  a  space  of  twenty-three  years,  almost  all  of  the  time  with  the 
Fish  Brothers  Wagon  Company.  He  then  bought  an  interest  in  the  concern, 
but  lost  his  investment  through  a  decision  of  the  Supreme  court.  He  then  be- 
came a  salesman  for  the  Racine  Wagon  &  Carriage 'Company,  and  still  later 
for  the  Fish  Brothers  Wagon  Company,  and  a  second  time  bought  an  interest 
in  the  business,  which  was  operated  under  new  management. 

Mr.  Morey  was  elected  a  justice  of  the  peace,  having  previously,  with  his 
other  studies,  gained  a  fair  knowledge  of  law,  and  he  served  in  that  office  for 
four  years,  in  the  meantime  perfecting  himself  in  real  estate,  loan,  investment 
and  insurance  law.  At  the  close  of  his  term  he  engaged  in  the  business  men- 
tioned.   In  1900  he  associated  his  son  Wallace  S.  with  him,  and  in  1903  he  ad- 


126  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

mitted  his  other  son,  F.  Arthur,  to  partnership,  the  firm  style  being  now  D.  J. 
Morey  &  Sons.  They  handle  a  large  share  of  that  kind  of  business  in  Racine, 
and  throughout  the  State,  Mr.  Morey  and  his  sons  being  thorough,  wide- 
awake, practical  men  of  business. 

On  Dec.  17,  1868,  Mr.  Morey  was  married  to  Miss  Viola  S.  Packard, 
daughter  of  Roswell  and  Susan  (Bird)  Packard,  and  they  have  three  children, 
viz. :  F.  Arthur,  Edith  V.  and  Wallace  S.  The  daughter  is  a  popular  Kinder- 
garten teacher.  The  eldest  son  married  Alice  E.  Stephens,  and  they  have  two 
children,  Marjorie  J.  and  Donald  J.  Our  subject  and  his  wife  are  valued  mem- 
bers of  the  First  Congregational  Church  of  Racine,  of  which  he  is  a  trustee. 
For  six  years  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  Racine  board  of  education,  and  for 
one  year  was  its  president. 

Mr.  Morey  is  a  member  of  Gov.  Harvey  Post,  G.  A.  R.  For  many  years 
he  has  been  connected  with  the  Masonic  fraternity,  and  has  served  in  a  numljer 
of  the  higher  branches  of  the  order  in  otftcial  positions.  His  membership  is 
with  Belle  City  Lodge,  No.  92,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Orient  Chapter,  No.  12,  R.  A. 
M. ;  and  Racine  Commandery,  K.  T.,  No.  7.  He  was  master  of  the  blue  lodge 
five  years,  high  priest  of  the  chapter  three  years,  prelate  of  the  commandery  two 
years  and  generalissimo  one  year.  Politically  he  is  identified  with  the  Repub- 
hcan  party. 

Mr.  Morey  enjoys  the  solid  comforts  of  a  substantial  home  located  at  No. 
943  Superior  street,  Racine,  which  place  he  erected  in  1883.  He  is  liberal  and 
loves  his  friends,  but  is  strong  in  his  likes  and  dislikes.  He  is  very  temperate, 
using  neither  tobacco  nor  strong  drink.  In  a  marked  degree  Mr.  Morey  is 
one  of  the  self-made  men  of  our  day.  Considering  the  conditions,  obstacles, 
and  disadvantages  under  which  he  has  faced  the  battle  of  life — the  poverty  and 
privations  he  and  his  father's  family  endured  during  his  childhood  and  early 
manhood — with  the  most  meagre  facilities  for  acquiring  an  education,  bur- 
dened with  the  cares  and  responsibilities  of  maintaining  the  family  left  by  the 
death  of  his  father  and  mother — he  is  entitled  to  great  credit  for  his  courage 
and  faithfulness,  and  for  his  burning  desire  to  make  the  most  of  his  meager 
advantages. 

MICHAEL  NISEN,  a  successful  manufacturer  of  LTnion  Grove,  is  a 
native  of  Wisconsin,  but  of  German  ancestry  in  both  paternal  and  maternal 
lines.  He  was  born  in  Paris  township,  Kenosha  county.  Aug.  2,  1853,  son  of 
Herbert  and  Catherine  (Daubin)  Nisen,  both  natives  of  Germany. 

Herbert  Nisen  was  left  an  orphan  in  early  boyhood,  and  as  he  came  to 
America  before  he  was  grown,  all  trace  of  the  family  is  lost.  He  was  a  shoe- 
maker by  trade,  and  after  coming  to  America,  in  1845,  settled  in  Southport, 
now  Kenosha.  Wis.,  where  he  followed  his  trade  for  some  years  and  then  en- 
gaged in  business  until  he  moved  to  Brighton  township,  in  1864.  There  he  was 
occupied  in  farming,  owning  160  acres  of  land.  He  married  Miss  Catherine 
Daubin.  and  to  them  were  born  four  children,  viz. :  William ;  Margaret,  de- 
ceased wife  of  Michael  Daubin ;  Michael ;  and  Herbert,  of  Racine.  The  father 
died  in  1875.  but  the  mother  lived  till  Nov.  9.  1900.  when  she  passed  away, 
aged  seventy-seven  years.    Both  were  members  of  the  Catholic  Church. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  Michael  Nisen  was  Tohn  Daubin,  who  came 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOC7RAPHICAL    RECORD.  12/ 

from  Germany  to  America  aljout  1846  and  settled  in  Southport  with  his  son 
Michael.  In  the  old  country  he  had  charge  of  a  vineyard  and  made  wine.  He 
Hved  to  an  advanced  age,  and  was  survived  by  his  two  sons  and  two  daughters. 

Michael  Nisen  was  reared  in  Kenosha  from  the  age  of  three  months  until 
he  was  nearly  eleven,  and  attended  the  public  schools  there.  After  the  family 
moved  to  Brighton  he  continued  in  school  till  he  was  seventeen,  ami  then 
learned  the  blacksmith's  trade,  following  it  for  twenty-two  years.  In  1893  he 
gave  this  up  and  entered  upon  his  present  business,  the  manufacture  of  drain 
tile.  He  has  been  prosperous,  enlarging  his  plant  until  he  now  turns  out  three- 
quarters  of  a  million  tiles  a  year. 

Mr.  Nisen's  marriage  took  place  Oct.  13,  1881,  when  he  was  united  to 
Miss  Sarah  Barrows,  daughter  of  Alvin  and  Esther  (Bunce)  Barrows.  To  them 
three  children  have  been  born.  Earl  M.,  Roy  H.  and  Leo  F.  Mrs.  Nisen  is  a 
member  of  the  Congregational  Church.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Michael  Nisen  are 
interested  in  fraternal  matters,  and  she  belongs  to  the  Royal  Neighbors,  while 
he  is  a  member  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  Politically  he  is  inde- 
pendent. They  own  a  beautiful  home,  erected  in  1894,  on  which  Mr.  Nisen 
himself  did  the  work  and  proved  himself  thereby  a  skilled  carpenter  as  well  as 
efficient  business  man. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Nisen,  Alvin  and  Esther  Barrows,  were  both  born  in 
New  York  State.  Of  their  eleven  children,  seven  are  now  living,  namely : 
Emma,  wife  of  Samuel  Bohanan,  of  Kenosha;  Ella,  Mrs.  James  Motley,  of 
Union  Grove;  Eva,  Mrs.  Alfred  Sumpter,  of  Dover  township;  Elmer,  of  York- 
ville  township;  Jennie,  Mrs.  Chester  Hulett,  of  Yorkville  township;  Sarah, 
Mrs.  Nisen ;  and  Alvin,  of  Kenosha.  Mr.  Barrows  was  a  carpenter  in  early 
life,  but  later  took  to  farming.  He  came  to  Wisconsin  while  quite  young,  grew 
up  there  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township,  and  after  his  marriage  moved  to  a  farm  in 
Yorkville  township.  In  1865  he  left  this  place  for  another  farm  in  the  village 
of  Union  Grove  and  there  reared  his  family.  He  was  twice  married.  Mrs. 
Esther  Barrows  died  at  the  age  of  forty-two,  and  some  time  after  he  took  for 
his  second  wife  a  widow,  Mrs.  Clara  (Moe)  Conner,  who  survives  him  and 
resides  in  Union  Grove. 

The  paternal  grandfather,  Lapreliett  Barrows,  was  also  twice  married 
and  was  the  father  of  a  large  family,  all  by  his  first  wife,  Mary  Jackson.  For 
his  second  wife  he  married  her  sister,  Eliza  Jackson.  He  was  an  early  settler 
in  Kenosha  county,  and  owned  three  farms  in  Somers  township.  He  lived  to  a 
good  old  age.  Mrs.  Nisen's  maternal  grandfather  was  Abraham  Bunce,  a  na- 
tive of  Pennsylvania,  of  German  descent.  He  came  West  in  the  early  days, 
and  settled  on  a  farm  near  Union  Grove,  where  he  died  when  about  eighty- 
seven  years  old.    He  and  his  wife  had  three  daughters  and  one  son. 

BERNARD  BREHM,  of  the  firm  of  B.  Brehm  &  Sons,  horse  dealers  of 
Burlington,  Wis.,  and  proprietors  of  the  largest  sales  stables  in  Racine  county, 
is  also  engaged  in  the  draying  and  coal  and  w-ood  business.  He  was  born  in 
Baden,  Germany,  May  9,  1845,  son  of  Frank  and  Agnes  (Ehenberg)  Brehm, 
natives  of  Germany. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Bernard  Brehm,  Jacob  Brehm,  a  wea\er. 
died  in  Germany,  as  did  also  his  wife.     On  the  maternal  side,  the  grandfather 


128  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPFIICAL    RECORD. 

was  Christian  Ehenberg,  who  was  a  baker  and  farmer.  He  died  in  Germany 
aged  eighty-five  years,  while  his  wife,  France  Sauer,  died  aged  seventy-five 
years.  Erank  Brehm  was  a  weaver  in  his  native  country,  and  came  to  America 
in  1854.  He  followed  various  occupations,  and  died  at  the  liome  of  his  son, 
Bernard,  in  1893,  aged  eighty-three  years,  his  wife  having  passed  away  eight 
years  previously,  aged  seventy-two.  Both  were  members  of  the  Catholic 
Church.  Air.  and  Mrs.  Frank  Brehm  had  three  children :  Jacob,  of  Burling- 
ton; Anna,  the  wife  of  M.  Beffel,  of  Racine;  and  Bernard,  of  Burlington. 

Bernard  Brehm  was  but  nine  years  old  when  he  came  to  America  with  his 
parents.  He  received  his  first  schooling  in  Germany  and  attended  the  public 
and  parochial  schools  of  Burlington.  When  thirteen  years  of  age.  he  began 
shoemaking.  working  at  that  occupation  about  ten  years,  when,  on  account  of 
failing  health,  he  was  obliged  to  give  it  up.  In  1S68  he  engaged  in  the  draying 
business,  in  which  he  has  continued  ever  since,  and  at  the  same  time  began  buy- 
ing and  selling  horses. 

On  Jan.  21,  1868,  Mr.  Brehm  married  Miss  Margaret  Griebel,  daughter 
of  Frank  N.  and  Theresa  (Bauman)  Griebel,  and  to  this  union  have  been  born 
twelve  children,  namely :  Anna^  married  Anton  Zwiebel  of  Burlington,  and 
has  seven  children — Rosella,  Herbert.  Arthur,  Albert,  Loraine,  Elmer  and 
Verona ;  William  F.,  who  is  in  partnership  with  his  father,  married  Emma 
Johnson,  and  they  have  four  children — George.  Frederick.  Florence  and  Helen; 
Albert,  who  is  also  in  partnership  with  his  father,  married  Catherine  Lehr- 
mann,  and  has  one  child.  Herald:  Emma;  Theresa;  Joseph;  Frank;  Laura; 
Lewis:  Eda,  was  drowned  aged  seven  years;  and  two  died  in  infancy. 

Air.  and  Mrs.  Brehm  and  family  are  members  of  the  Catholic  Church. 
He  belongs  to  the  St.  Eustacius  Society  and  was  one  of  the  original  members, 
holding  several  offices  in  the  same,  as  have  also  his  sons,  William  F.  and  Albert. 
He  also  belongs  to  the  Sacred  Heart  Society,  which  he  joined  Isefore  his 
marriage,  and  to  the  Teutonic  Society.  Politically  he  is  an  independent  Demo- 
crat, but  cast  his  vote  twice  for  AIcKinley,  and  also  for  Roosevelt.  He  and  his 
sons  are  agents  of  the  Standard  Oil  Company,  Mr.  Brehm  having  served  as 
such  for  the  past  twenty  years.  He  is  a  stockholder  and  vice  president  of  the 
Burlington  Blanket  Company,  and  has  many  other  business  interests  in  the  city. 

JOHN  P.  PEARCE  (deceased)  was  for  twenty-five  years  curator  of 
Racine  College,  and  its  stanch  and  invaluable  supporter  and  advocate  when  its 
future  was  insecure,  as  well  as  during  its  later  period  of  prosperity.  He  was 
born  in  Hounslow,  County  of  Middlesex,  England,  Nov.  19,  1846,  son  of  John 
Pearce,  also  a  native  of  that  country.  The  father  learned  the  manufacture  of 
gunpowder  in  all  its  branches,  and  after  emigrating  to  America  acted  for  sev- 
eral years  as  superintendent  of  the  Hazzard  Powder  Company,  at  Canton, 
Conn.,  having  some  interest  in  the  company.  There,  in  1858.  he  was  killed 
by  an  explosion,  his  wife  having  died  three  years  before.  They  were  the  par- 
ents of  four  children  (all  deceased),  and  were  memliers  of  the  Episcopal 
Church. 

John  P.  Pearce  was  but  an  infant  when  his  parents  Iirought  him  to  Amer- 
ica, and  after  his  father's  death  be  located  at  Enfield,  Conn.,  where  he  attenclefl 
the  public  schools,  and  later  the  Suffield  Literary  Institute.     He  was  then  a 


-^-O'-r'X.^CJ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  129 

pupil  at  tlie  W'esleyan  Academy,  spent  a  year  in  Eastman's  Business  College, 
and  pursued  the  regular  course  at  the  Cheshire  Military  School,  preparing  for 
Trinity  College  at  Hartford,  Conn.  After  leaving  the  military  school  he 
learned  the  duties  of  the  different  junction  and  station  agents  of  the  then 
Hartford,  Providence  &  Fishkill  (now  the  New  York  &  New  England)  rail- 
road. He  became  chief  clerk  and  afterward  was  promoted  to  the  position  of 
paymaster  of  the  entire  system,  which  he  held  until  he  became  secretary  and 
treasurer  of  the  St.  Paul  (Minn.)  Lumber  Company.  He  relinquished  that 
position  in  1875,  ^""J-  selling  out  his  interests,  joined'  with  certain  New  York 
and  Maine  parties,  and  through  the  counsel  of  Benjamin  Butler  gained  the 
right  of  sluicing  logs  over  the  Holyoke  dam,  to  their  great  manufacturing  plant 
at  Hartford,  where  they  supplied  spruce  lumber  for  wholesale  dealers.  A  few 
years  later  Mr.  Pearce  severed  his  connection  with  the  firm,  and  in  1880  located 
in  Racine.  Wis.,  becoming  curator  of  Racine  College,  an  office  which  he  filled 
until  his  resignation  shortly  before  his  death,  on  Oct.  3,  1905. 

Mr.  Pearce  had  resigned  his  position  because  of  needed  rest,  as  he  had 
not  enjoyed  a  vacation  for  many  years,  and  was  considering  the  feasibility  of 
entering  again  into  business.  At  the  time  of  his  death  his  wife  was  in  Ta- 
coma.  Wash.,  visiting  her  sister,  and  Mr.  Pearce  was  stopping  at  the  "Hotel 
Racine."  He  was  found  dead,  and  partly  dressed,  on  the  floor  of  his  room, 
on  the  morning  of  the  date  named,  valvular  heart  disease  being  pronounced  the 
cause  of  his  death. 

As  stated,  Mr.  Pearce  had  been  curator  of  Racine  College  since  1880;  he 
was  also  secretary  of  its  board  of  trustees  for  five  years,  and  altogether  the 
value  of  his  labors  in  behalf  of  the  institution  cannot  be  overestimated.  He 
lived  to  be  of  material  assistance  in  bringing  the  college  through  several  crit- 
ical periods  to  such  a  substantial  condition  that  it  had  an  attendance  of  about 
170  pupils,  with  large,  finely  equipped  buildings.  Personally  he  owned  valu- 
able mining  interests  in  the  Black  Hills,  British  Columbia  (Lardeau  Valley) 
and  San  Juan,  and  was  president  of  the  Dunton  Gold  JMining  Syndicate  which 
had  been  organized  with  a  capital  of  $100,000.  He  also  owned  considerable 
business  and  residence  property  in  Racine. 

In  1874  John  P.  Pearce  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Hart  Ely,  daughter  of 
Alfred  and  Mary  (Bull)  Ely,  the  former  a  native  of  Connecticut  and  the  latter 
of  Massachusetts.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Pearce  were  the  parents  of  one  daughter, 
Elizabeth  Brewster,  the  wife  of  First  Lieutenant  Edwin  Bruce  Flovd,  now  re- 
siding in  Dixon,  Illinois. 

Notwithstanding  his  energy,  pertinacity  and  executive  ability  ]Mr.  Pearce 
was  a  quiet  man,  of  pleasing  and  naturally  retiring  manners.  He  was  a  strong 
member  and  active  worker  in  the  Episcopal  Church,  ideal  in  his  domestic  re- 
lations and  absolutely  honorable  in  all  his  dealings.  His  death  was  a  heavy 
blow  both  to  the  college  and  the  city. 

WILLIAM  J.  HARVEY,  president  of  the  Harvey  Spring  Company,  No. 
1700  Phillips  avenue,  Racine,  Wis.,  is  one  of  that  city's  progressive  and  enter- 
prising business  men.  Mr.  Harvey's  birth  occurred  June  11,  1846,  in  Leeds, 
Yorkshire,  England,  son  of  Thomas  and  Jane  (Payne)  Harvey,  the  former  a 
native  of  Guernsey,  and  the  latter  of  Jersey. 


I30        com:\iemorative  biographical  record. 

John  Harvey,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject,  was  a  native  of 
England,  having  been  born  in  Cornwah,  where  he  hved  until  a  few  years  after 
his  marriage,  when  he  removed  to  Guernsey,  where  he  died  at  the  age  of 
forty-five  years.  His  wife,  Elizabeth  (Guille)  Harvey,  lived  to  the  remarkable 
age  of  ninety-nine  years,  five  months;  she  came  of  a  family  whose  memt)ers 
were  noted  for  their  longevity,  one  daughter  reaching  the  extreme  age  of  one 
hundred  and  eleven  years,  dying  April  4,  1903,  while  another  passed  away  at 
the  age  of  ninety  years,  and  still  another  was  eighty-nine  at  the  time  of  her 
death.  The  maternal  grandfather  was  Francis  Payne,  a  native  of  Jersey.  A 
justice  of  the  peace,  he  .was  known  as  Judge  Payne,  and  he  died  in  Jersey  at  an 
old  age.  He  and  his  wife,  who  was  a  Miss  Journeaux  were  the  parents  of 
thirteen  children. 

Thomas  Harvey  was  a  merchant  of  Leeds,  and  came  to  the  United  States 
in  1849,  locating  in  Racine,  where  he  engaged  in  the  planing-mill  business  for 
some  years.  Some  years  prior  to  his  death  he  retired  from  active  work,  and 
lived  so  until  his  death  in  1876,  in  his  seventy-third  year,  his  wife  having  passed 
away  in  i860  aged  fifty-one  years.  Both  were  members  of  the  Church  of  Eng- 
land. He  was  a  member  of  the  Guernsey  militia.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Harvey  had 
four  children:  Elizabeth,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  James  Bennett,  of 
Portland,  Ore.:  Thomas  F.,  deceased:  Edward  G.,  of  Reiniblic,  ^^'ash. :  and 
William  J.,  of  Racine. 

William  J.  Harvey  was  but  three  years  old  when  brought  to  America  by 
his  parents,  who  made  the  trip  on  the  sailing  vessel  "The  New  World,"  the 
trip  taking  six  weeks  to  accomplish.  Mr.  Harvey  has  been  a  resident  of  Ra- 
cine Co.,  Wis.,  ever  since.  He  grew  to  manhood  in  the  village  of  Thompson- 
ville,  where  he  attended  the  public  schools,  and  later  Racine  College.  He 
started  out  in  life  on  his  own  account  by  keeping  a  general  store  at  Thompson- 
ville,  where  he  remained  in  business  twelve  years.  The  next  twelve  years  were 
spent  in  farming,  and  he  then  started  to  manufacture  bolster  springs  for 
wagons,  which  business  has  since  developed  into  the  manufacture  of  all  kinds 
of  high-grade  vehicle  springs.  A  large  factory  is  situated  at  No.  1700  Phillips 
avenue,  where  forty  persons  are  employed,  and  the  business,  which  was  started 
by  Mr.  Harvey  doing  all  the  work  himself,  is  constantly  increasing. 

In  1 87 1  Mr.  Harvey  and  Miss  Catherine  Schickel  were  united  in  mar- 
riage, she  being  the  daughter  of  Joseph  Schickel,  and  to  this  union  have  been 
born  eight  children :  Jane,  who  died  aged  about  three  years :  William,  who 
has  an  interest  in  his  father's  business  and  is  secretary  and  treasurer,  and  who 
married  Jane  Briggs;  Richard,  a  lawyer  of  Racine;  Edward,  superintendent 
of  the  spring  manufactory;  Miss  Harriet,  a  teacher;  Elizabeth;  Harold:  and 
Ruth.  William,  Richard,  Edward,  Harriet  and  Elizabeth  are  graduates  of  the 
Lfniversity  of  Wisconsin. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Harvey  are  members  of  the  First  M.  E.  Church  of  Racine; 
politically  he  is  a  Republican.  He  has  been  a  member  of  the  board  of  educa- 
tion for  twelve  years,  and  while  in  the  country  was  clerk  of  the  school  board. 
He  is  a  director  of  the  First  National  Bank.  ^Ir.  Harvey  makes  his  home  at 
No.  1806  Washington  avenue,  where  he  has  built  a  fine  home,  and  he  also  owns 
other  property  in  Racine. 

A  few  facts  concerning  Mrs.  Margaret  Ann  Neve,  the  aunt  of  our  sub- 
ject, will  no  doubt  be  of  general  interest  to  the  public  and  to  her  descendants 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  131 

and  relatives  in  particnlar.  She  was  born  in  Guernsey  Island,  England,  May 
18,  1792,  and  died  on  Saturday,  April  4,  1903,  lacking  only  forty-three  days 
of  being  one  hundred  and  eleven  years  old.  She  had  enjoyed  the  remarkable 
experience  of  living  in  three  centuries.  When  Mrs.  Neve  was  born  Turner 
had  not  begun  to  paint,  nor  Walter  Scott  to  write.  Since  then  what  generations 
of  poets,  painters,  musicians,  statesmen,  scientists  have  been  born  and  died! 
With  the  advent  of  science  the  world  has  altered.  Steam  and  electricity  have 
spread  a  network  over  the  earth  and  knit  its  uttermost  parts  together.'  Mrs. 
Neve's  father  and  motlier  were  married  at  the  early  age  of  nineteen  years,  on 
Dec.  20,  1790.  They  resided  at  LePollet,  Guernsey,  where  Margaret  Ann 
their  eldest  daughter  was  born  and  passed  the  morning  of  her  life.  Her  father 
died  Dec.  4,  1820,  and  she  continued  to  reside  with  her  widowed  mother  until 
Jan.  18,  1823,  when  she  was  married  at  the  Town  Church  by  the  Rev.  F.  D. 
Durand,  from  Rouge  Huis,  to  Mr.  John  Neve,  of  Tenterden,  County  Kent. 
After  a  quarter  of  a  century  of  married  life,  Mrs.  Neve,  in  1849,  became  a 
widow,  and  returned  to  Rouge  Huis  to  reside  with  her  mother  and  sister. 

JAMES  G.  BALDWIN,  who  died  March  13,  1906,  was  a  resident  of 
Racine  for  fifty-seven  years,  and  was  well  known  there.  He  was  born  May  26. 
1830,  in  the  town  of  North  East,  fifteen  miles  from  Erie,  Pa.,  a  son  ©f  Mark 
and  Sophronia   (Waugh)    Baldwin. 

Mr.  Baldwin's  paternal  grandfather  died  before  James  G.  Baldwin  was 
born,  and  nothing  is  now  known  of  his  history.  He  had  three  sons,  two  of 
whom  were  seafaring  men  who  commanded  vessels  sailing  between  Liverpool, 
London,  Glasgow  and  New  York.  The  third  son,  Mark  Baldwin,  a  native  of 
Connecticut,  spent  most  of  his  active  business  life  in  North  East,  Pa.,  where 
he  conducted  a  mercantile  concern.  He  held  the  office  of  county' judge  there 
for  thirty  years,  and  also  served  as  justice  of  the  peace.  Late  in  life  he  moved 
to  White  Plains,  N.  Y.,  where  he  died  in  1856,  at  the  age  of  sixty  years.  He 
married  Miss  Sophronia  Waugh,  who  was  also  born  in  Connecticut,  in  the  year 
1800.  Her  father  was  a  life-long  farmer  there,  but  during  the  Revolution  left 
his  home  to  fight  for  the  Colonies,  being  with  Gen.  Washington  all  through  the 
war.  He  was  the  father  of  four  daughters  and  one  son,  all  now  deceased. 
Mrs.  Baldwin  passed  her  last  years  in  Racine  and  died  there  in  1900,  being 
interred  in  the  cemetery  of  that  city.  Both  she  and  her  husband  were  Presby- 
terians in  their  religious  faith,  and  were  active  workers  in  the  Church,  Mr. 
Baldwin  serving  as  deacon  for  many  years.  To  Mark  and  Sophronia  Baldwin 
were  born  five  sons  and  two  daughters,  of  whom  James  G.  was  the  last  sur- 
vivor. 

James  G.  Baldwin  spent  his  boyhood  in  Erie  county,  Pa.,  living  most  of 
the  time  in  the  town  of  North  East,  where  he  attended  the  public  schools. 
From  there  he  was  sent  to  college  in  Covington,  Ky.,  and  then  began  to  make 
his  own  way  in  the  world.  He  tried  various  occupations  before  .going  West  in 
1847.  He  located  in  Racine  and  remained  there  to  the  close  of  his  life,  a  per- 
iod of  fifty-nine  years.  After  two  or  three  years  spent  in  other  work  lie  took 
a  position  on  the  Racine,  Mississippi  &  Western  LTnion  Railroad,  now  the  St. 
Paul  line.  Beginning  as  switchman,  he  worked  up  to  the  place  of  station 
agent,  and  held  that  office  for  a  long  time,  with  intervals  when  he  was  ordered 


132  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

out  as  a  special  conductor.  Aljout  1867  he  left  the  railroad,  and  took  a  place 
as  shipping  clerk  in  the  J.  I.  Case  Plow  Works,  remaining  in  that  capacity 
with  the  company  until  he  retired  from  active  work. 

On  Sept.  22,  1853,  occurred  the  marriage  of  James  G.  Baldwin  and  ISIiss 
Sarah  E.  Gidney,  daughter  of  Isaac  and  Sarah  (Purdy)  Gidney.  Four  chil- 
dren were  bom  to  them,  Sarah,  James,  Cora  and  Carrie,  the  last  two  being 
twins.  None  are  now  liv.ing.  Cora  married  William  C.  Dow,  of  Racine,  to 
whom  she  bore  one  son,  DeWilton  B.  Mrs.  Sarah  E.  Baldwin  resides  in  Ra- 
cine. Her  parents  were  natives  of  Orange  county,  N.  Y.  She  was  one  of  a 
family  of  seven  children,  of  whom  the  following  are  living  besides  herself : 
Mary,  widow  of  Richard  Downing,  of  Yonkers,  X.  Y. ;  Jacob  Gidney,  of  Xew- 
burgh,  N.  Y. ;  Fannie,  Mrs.  Robert  Snyder,  of  St.  Andrew,  Orange  Co.,  N.  Y. ; 
Lovina,  widow  of  Abraham  Snyder,  of  St.  Andrew ;  and  Phoebe,  Mrs.  ^Miller, 
of  Orange  county.  New  York. 

James  G.  Baldwin  had  always  been  a  patriotic  and  public-spirited  citizen, 
and  served  as  justice  of  the  peace  for  one  term.  For  many  years  a  strong  Re- 
publican, he  was  of  late  independent,  voting  for  the  best  man  in  every  case. 
He  was  a  member  of  no  church,  but  attended  the  Presbyterian,  to  which  his 
wife  belongs.  Throughout  his  long  residence  in  Racine  he  gained  for  himself 
a  secure  place  in  the  respect  and  esteem  of  the  community. 

CAPT.  THEODORE  LANE,  a  retired  lake  captain,  now  makes  his  resi- 
dence in  Racine.  Wis.,  living  at  1239  North  Michigan  street.  Captain  Lane  is 
the  third  earliest  settler  of  this  city  now  living,  and  was  born  in  Dearlxirn- 
ville,  Mich.,  Sept.  3,  1835,  son  of  Samuel  and  Julia  Ann  (Piatt)  Lane,  natives 
of  New  York  State. 

Hankinson  Lane,  the  grandfather  of  our  subject,  was  also  a  native  of  New 
York  State,  of  Mohawk-Dutch  descent.  He  followed  farming  and  inn-keep- 
ing, and  at  one  time  was  a  slave  owner,  but  freed  his  slaves  before  his  death. 
He  had  a  family  of  eighteen  children,  twelve  boys  and  six  girls. 

Samuel  Lane  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade,  and  went  to  Michigan  in  1833. 
where  he  pre-empted  400  acres  of  land  near  Dearbornville,  upon  which  he  lived 
two  years.  He  left  this  land  at  this  time  on  account  of  the  climate  not  agree- 
ing with  his  health,  and  driving  around  Lake  Michigan,  came  to  Racine,  Wis., 
where  he  lived  until  1862,  when  he  returned  to  Michigan,  settling  in  South 
Haven,  where  his  son  Samuel  was  located.  There  he  died  in  1865,  aged  sixty- 
seven  years,  his  wife  having  passed  away  in  1850,  aged  thirty-nine  years.  She 
was  an  ardent  Methodist,  while  he  was  inclined  to  the  Universalist  faith.  Mrs. 
Lane's  father  was  a  native  of  Connecticut,  of  Scotch  descent,  and  was  a  shoe- 
maker by  trade.  From  his  nati\e  State  he  removed  to  New  York,  where  he 
died  at  an  advanced  age.  Samuel  Lane  carried  the  stakes  at  the  time  DeWitt 
Clinton  surveyed  the  Erie  Canal.  Of  his  ten  children  but  two  are  now  living : 
Capt.  Theodore;  and  Samuel,  of  Lake  Harbor,  Michigan. 

Captain  Theodore  Lane  was  only  nine  months  old  when  his  parents 
brought  him  to  Racine,  and  there  are  only  two  other  persons  now  living  in  the 
city  who  were  earlier  residents  there  than  he,  they  being  Stephen  Sage  and  I\Irs. 
Hulett.  When  a  boy  he  attended  the  schools  and  helped  his  father  at  shoe- 
making.     He  began  sailing  the  lakes  when  fourteen  years  old,  and.  with  the 


CO:\IMEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  133 

exception  of  the  time  lie  spent  in  the  army,  followed  the  lakes  continually  until 
1894.  His  first  trip  was  made  in  1849,  o''^  f^^  schooner  "Pilot,"  from  Mani- 
towoc to  Racine,  Captain  William  Hoag  being  his  captain.  He  continued  sail- 
ing' until  1855,  and  in  August  of  that  year  was  given  command  of  the  schooner 
"Pacific,"  owned  by  Thomas  Richmond.  The  vessel  carried  5,500  bushels  of 
grain,  and  Captain  Lane  was  the  youngest  captain  to  have  taken  a  load  of 
grain  from  Chicago  to  Buffalo,  being  less  than  twenty  years  old  at  the  time. 
At  the  outbreak  of  the  Civil  war  he  enlisted  in  Company  A,  22d  Wis.  V.  1., 
Col.  Utley,  and  served  from  August.  1862,  until  May,  1864,  when  he  was 
seriouslv  wounded,  at  the  battle  of  Resaca,  losing  his  left  eye.  He  has  the 
bullet,  which  was  taken  out  in  nine  pieces.  A  comrade,  Frank  Underbill, 
picked  up  the  Captain's  eye,  and  threw  it  at  a  Confederate  soldier.  Capt.  Lane 
was  mustered  out  in  1864,  being  honorably  discharged  at  Jefferson  Barracks, 
Mo.  Among  the  important  battles  in  which  Captain  Lane  participated  were: 
Lookout  Mountain,  Chickamauga,  Stone  River  and  Buzzard's  Roost.  He 
served  under  Generals  Hooker  and  Butterfield,  the  latter  being  his  division 
commander.  The  last  person  to  whom  he  spoke  before  he  was  wounded  was 
Colonel  John  Coburn,  who  was  commanding  the  brigade  at  the  time,  whose 
home  is  now  in  Indianapolis,  and  wdio  afterward  was  brevetted  brigadier  gen- 
eral. During  one  engagement  he  was  captured  and  suffered  confinement  in 
Libby  Prison.  After  returning  from  the  war.  Captain  Lane  took  up  sailing, 
and  continued,  as  before  stated,  until  1894. 

Captain  Lane  was  married  Jan.  9,  1854,  to  Miss  Caroline  ]\Ielissa  Blish. 
daughter  of  Harvey  and  Phoebe  (Worden)  Blish,  and  six  children  have  been 
born  to  this  union  :  One  daughter  who  died  in  infancy ;  Ella  Celia,  who  married 
Charles  Colviji,  has  three  children,  Theodore,  Bryon.  and  Leafy,  and  lives  in 
Wonewoc,  Wis. ;  Edwin  Curtis,  a  resident  of  Racine,  who  was  at  one  time  a 
vessel  captain,  but  is  now  teaming,  and  who  married  Sarah  Roberts,  by  whom 
he  has  had  six  children,  Edwin.  Harry  Oliver,  Sadie,  Franklin,  Ella  and  Clar- 
ence :  Theodore  ^larcus,  foreman  of  the  Stowell  Manufacturing  Company,  of 
South  Milwaukee,  who  married  Ella  Lonsford,  and  has  two  children,  Caroline 
Margaret  and  Vernon ;  Samuel  Oliver,  deceased,  who  married  Geneva  Rosen- 
baum,  and  had  one  daughter,  Celia  Eliza;  and  Julia,  who  died  aged  nine 
months. 

Mrs.  Lane  was  born  in  St.  Lawrence  Co.,  N.  Y.,  Jan.  16,  1837.  and  mar- 
ried the  Captain  when  not  quite  seventeen  years  of  age.  She  and  her  hus- 
band have  lived  together  for  over  fifty  years,  and  they  are  among  Racine's  most 
highly  esteemed  citizens.  Mrs.  Lane's  father,  Harvey  Blish,  was  born  in  Ver- 
mont, and  his  wife  in  St.  Lawrence  Co.,  N.  Y.  They  had  a  family  of  ten  chil- 
dren, and  of  these  Harvey,  of  Racine,  and  Mrs.  Lane  are  the  only  ones  living. 
In  young  manhood  Harvey  Blish  worked  in  a  paper  mill,  but  after  his  marriage 
went  to  farming.  He  came  to  Wisconsin  in  1842,  and  located  in  Racine,  later 
removing  to  Wonewoc,  Juneau  county,  where  he  died  in  1861,  aged  over  sixty- 
three  years.  His  wife  survived  him  until  1896,  when  she  died  at  the  ripe  old 
age  of  ninety-four.  In  their  religious  faith  they  were  Presbyterians.  Airs. 
Lane's  grandfather  was  a  soldier  of  the  War  of  1812. 

Captain  and  Mrs.  Lane  are  Methodists.  Politically  the  Captain  is  a  Re- 
publican, and  he  cast  his  first  presidential  vote  for  John  C.  Fremont,  and  the 


134  COMAIEMORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

next  for  Abraham  Lincoln,  since  which  time  he  has  voted  the  Repubhcan  ticket. 
He  belongs  to  Governor  Harvey  Post,  Xo.  17,  G.  A.  R.,  and  his  reminiscences 
of  army  days  are  interesting  and  instructive. 

HIRAM  JOSEPH  SMITH,  postmaster  of  Racine.  Wis.,  and  one  of  that 
city's  successful  business  men,  is  engaged  extensively  in  the  jewelry  and  music 
business.  He  was  born  Feb.  6,  1846,  in  Boonville,  X.  Y.,  son  of  Paxson  and 
Mabel  (Peacock)  Smith,  natives  of  Pennsylvania  and  Xew  York  respectively. 

Jonas  Smith,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject,  was  a  native  of 
Pennsylvania,  and  was  of  Quaker  stock.  He  was  a  blacksmith  by  trade,  and 
came  West  to  Sheboygan  county.  Wis.,  in  1846,  where  he  followed  farming. 
His  wife.  Deborah  ( Smith)  Smith,  lived  to  an  advanced  age.  and  at  her  death 
left  a  large  family  of  children.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Hiram  J.  Smith, 
Joseph  Peacock,  was  a  native  of  England,  and  settled  at  Lowville.  X\  Y..  about 
1800.  He  was  a  farmer  by  occupation  and  died  in  middle  life,  leaving  thirteen 
children. 

Paxson  Smith  was  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  woolen  goods  in  Low- 
ville. and  came  west  in  1848.  locating  in  Sheboygan  county.  Wis.,  where  he 
followed  fanning.  From  there  he  remo\ed  to  Fond  du  Lac,  where  he  again 
engaged  in  the  woolen  business,  and  continued  therein  until  1861.  In  October 
of  that  year  he  enlisted  in  Company  A,  i8th  Wis.  Y.  I.,  and  died  June  18.  1862, 
at  Corinth.  Miss.,  of  disease  contracted  during  service.  He  participated  in  all 
of  the  battles  of  his  regiment  up  to  that  time,  including  Shiloh.  At  the  time 
of  his  death  Mr.  Smith  was  fort3'-seven  years  old.  His  widow  survived  him 
until  February.  1899,  being  seventy-nine  years  old  at  the  time  of  her  death. 
Both  she  and  her  husband  were  Quakers.  They  had  these  children :  William 
Edgar,  who  died  at  Xorway.  ^lich. ;  Hiram  J. :  Abi,  the  wife  of  E.  D.  Coxe, 
of  Chicago;  Albert  Eugene,  of  ^Milwaukee;  Judson  H..  of  Minneapolis.  Minn. ; 
and  Charles  Henry,  who  died  at  Sterling.  111.,  aged  twenty-one  years. 

Hiram  Joseph  Smith  was  but  a  boy  when  his  parents  moved  to  Fond  du 
Lac.  where  he  was  reared  and  where  he  attended  the  public  schools.  He  learned 
the  printer's  trade  which  he  followed  for  three  years,  worked  on  the  Fond  du 
Lac  CoiiimonzLcaltli  for  two  years,  and  then  on  the  Milwaukee  Sentinel  for 
nearly  a  year.  In  May.  1864.  he  enlisted  in  Company  I.  39th  Wis.  V.  L,  and 
served  the  term  of  his  enlistment,  being  discharged  in  September.  1864.  His 
regiment  was  one  of  those  that  resisted  Forrest's  raid  on  ■Memphis.  Tenn.  After 
his  discharge  he  again  engaged  in  work  on  the  Fond  du  Lac  Conunonwcalih, 
until  March.  1865.  when  he  came  to  Racine  as  as  employe  of  the  American 
Express  Company,  remaining  with  that  company  until  1872.  when,  with  John 
Elkins.  he  engaged  in  the  jewelni-  and  music  business,  in  which  he  still  con- 
tinues. 

On  Dec.  28.  1870.  Mr.  Smith  married  Miss  Xancy  Maria  Elkins.  daughter 
of  John  and  Maria  (Putnam)  Elkins.  early  settlers  of  Wisconsin,  who  located 
in  Kenosha  in  1842  or  1843.  Mrs.  Smith  died  Feb.  2.  1901.  in  the  faith  of  the 
Episcopal  Church.  On  Oct.  6.  1904.  Mr.  Smith  married  (second)  Flora 
Buchan  Packard,  daughter  of  Edwin  and  Mary  (Rennie)  Buchan,  of  Union 
Grove,  Wis.  Mr.  Smith  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge.  Xo.  18.  A.  F.  &-  A.  M..  and 
Racine  Lodge,  X'o.  32.  Knights  of  Pythias;  he  also  belongs  to  Governor  Har- 


COM^IEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  135 

vey  Post  Xo.  17,  G.  A.  R.  He  has  been  treasurer  of  the  Business  ]\Ien's  Asso- 
ciation since  its  organization,  and  is  a  member  of  the  Heyer  Whist  Club.  Mr. 
Smith  has  a  number  of  business  interests  and  is  a  director  of  the  Commercial 
Bank. 

Politically.  Mr.  Smith  is  a  Republican,  and  served  as  postmaster  under 
President  Harrison,  and  was  again  appointed  by  President  Roosevelt.  In  the 
Racine  postofhce  there  are  twenty-four  carriers  and  twenty-six  clerks.  Mr. 
Smith  has  been  a  member  of  the  school  board  for  some  time,  and  has  been  its 
president.  His  residence  is  located  at  No.  610  Main  street.  Mr.  Smith  was 
at  one  time  a  member  of  the  Republican  State  Central  Committee  and  has  been 
a  delegate  to  a  number  of  State  and  Congressional  Conventions.  He  has  been 
prominent  in  Grand  Army  circles  since  the  war,  and  a  delegate  to  State  and 
National  Encampments.  He  was  Senior  Vice  Commander  of  the  Department 
of  Wisconsin,  and  a  member  of  the  Executive  Committee  of  the  National  Coun- 
cil of  Administration  of  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Republic. 

Mr.  Smith  has  been  greatly  interested  in  the  improvement  of  Racine,  and 
was  one  of  the  principal  promoters  of  the  building  of  the  hotel  "Racine,"  of 
which  he  is  one  of  the  owners.  He  has  always  been  active  in  promoting  busi- 
ness, educational  and  religious  interests  in  his  home  city,  and  is  justly  con- 
sidered one  of  Wisconsin's  representative  men. 

EDWARD  DE^^■ITT  PERKINS,  a  prominent  man  of  Burlington,  was 
born  in  that  city  Feb.  5,  1853.  son  of  Pliny  yi.  and  Ellen  A.  (Conkey)  Perkins. 

Ephraim  Perkins,  the  paternal  grandfather,  was  born  July  5,  1773.  at 
Becket,  Mass.,  and  Lucy  (Merrick)  Perkins,  his  wife,  was  born  at  Windham, 
Mass.,  April  6,  1774.  Their  children  were:  Origin,  born  Feb.  25,  1801 ; 
Edwin,  born  April  6.  1803:  Lucy,  born  at  Mansfield,  Mass.,  May  3.  1805; 
Mary,  born  at  Trenton.  Oneida  Co.,  N.  Y..  Sept.  27.  1806;  Emily,  born  at 
Trenton,  Sept.  7,  1808:  Ephraim,  born  at  Trenton,  May  5,  1810:  and  Pliny 
M.  (father  of  our  subject),  born  at  Trenton,  Jan.  21,  18 12.  Ephraim  Per- 
kins, the  father  of  this  family,  came  to  Burlington,  Wis.,  in  1840,  and  pur- 
chased government  land,  upon  which  he  engaged  in  farming  and  milling,  there 
.spending  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He  died  in  Burlington  in  1851,  aged 
seventy-eight  years.  His  wife  survived  him  six  months,  and  was  seventy- 
seven  years  old  at  the  time  of  her  death.  The  Perkins  family  dates  its  history 
in  this' country  back  to  the  days  of  the  Pilgrim  Fathers,  in  the  seventeenth  cen- 
tury, and  the  coat  of  arms  is  still  in  the  family. 

Pliny  M.  Perkins  was  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Burlington,  where  he 
owned  considerable  property — twelve  hundred  acres  or  more.  He  also  owned, 
at  one  time,  the  flour  and  woolen  mills  here,  and  here  he  died  April  21,  1881. 
aged  sixty-nine  years.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Colorado  Springs,  when 
seventy-three  years  old.  He  was  a  Unitarian,  while  she  was  a  member  of  the 
Congregational  Church.  Mr.  Perkins  was  president  of  the  first  bank  of  Burl- 
ington, called  the  State  Bank  of  Burlington,  and  was  really  the  founder  of 
the  town.  He  came  here  first  in  1837.  made  his  claim  here  in  1838.  and  in  1839 
built  a  dam  across  the  White  river,  using  the  power  there  for  running  his 
mills.  He  first  built  an  oil-mill  and  then  a  saw-mill,  from  which  came  the  lum- 
ber to  erect  his  residence.     While  the  sawmill  was  in  course  of  construction  he 


136  CO^niElMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

also  erected  a  tlnur  and  grist  mill,  the  first  Iniilt  in  Racine  county,  and  the  first 
cargo  of  flour  shipped  from  Wisconsin  was  sent  from  Southport  (now  Keno- 
sha) to  Buffalo. 

Pliny  ^[.  Perkins  married  Ellen  A.  Conkey,  like  himself  a  native  of 
Oneida  county,  X.  Y..  and  they  had  a  family  of  ten  children,  namely:  Emily 
Hollister,  wife  of  Andrew  Lawton,  of  Colorado  Springs,  Colo. ;  James  Pliny, 
deceased;  Edward  DeWitt;  Origin  Lucius,  deceased;  Mary  Chaplin,  deceased, 
who  was  married  to  Fred.  Wells ;  Elmer  Ellsworth,  deceased ;  Frank  Augus- 
tus, of  Colorado  Springs,  Colo. ;  Lucius  Conkey,  also  of  Colorado  Springs, 
Colo. :  and  Orin  Ephraim  and  Charles  Townsend,  both  deceased. 

Lucius  McConkey,  the  maternal  grandfather  of  Edward  D.  Perkins,  was 
born  in  Sudbury.  \'t.,  March  17,  1795.  He  was  an  early  settler  in  Burlington, 
Wis.,  and  died  here  in  1866.  aged  seventy-one  years.  His  wife,  Phoebe  Town- 
send,  who  was  born  in  Herford,  W'ashington  Co.,  N.  Y.,  Aug.  26,  1799,  was 
married  to  him  Dec.  19,  1819.  The  "Mc"  was  left  off  the  name  by  grand- 
father McConkey,  since  which  time  the  line  has  been  known  as  Conkey.  He  was 
a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812.  While  in  the  East  he  followed  farming,  but  on 
coming  West  spent  the  rest  of  his  life  retired.  He  and  his  wife  had  six  chil- 
dren :  James,  of  Minneapolis,  Minn. ;  Elizabeth,  wife  of  Ephraim  Perkins, 
of  Sheldon,  Iowa :  DeW' itt.  of  ]\Iinneapolis ;  Ellen  A.,  deceased,  mother  of  our 
subject;  Clara  L.,  wife  of  J.  L.  W^ebb.  of  Burlington;  and  Miss  Martha,  of 
Burlington. 

Edward  DeWitt  Perkins  attended  the  public  schools  and  later  Beloit 
College,  spending  two  years  at  the  latter  institution,  after  which  he  went  to 
Ripon  College,  fmm  which  he  was  sent  home  when  taken  sick  with  typhoid 
fever,  an  attack  which  lasted  four  months.  After  his  recovery  Mr.  Perkins 
w'orked  for  his  father  in  the  mills  for  ten  years,  and  then  went  out  on  the  road 
as  a  commercial  traveler,  continuing  at  that  twelve  years.  Since  that  time  he 
has  had  his  home  in  Burlington,  looking  after  his  property  interests.  He  owns 
a  farm  of  forty-three  acres  at  the  edge  of  the  town,  other  farm  land,  and  a  fine 
home  in  Burlington.  However,  he  spends  most  of  his  time  in  the  Colorado 
gold  fields,  looking  after  his  mining  interests. 

On  March  5,  1875,  Air.  Perkins  married  Miss  Caroline  M.  Benson,  the 
estimable  daughter  of  Elliott  C.  and  Elizabeth  (Baggs)  Benson,  who  are  fully 
mentioned  elsewhere.  Four  children  have  been  born  to  this  union,  Lucile, 
Edna,  Bessie  and  Mary.  Lucile  married  Edwin  Caldwell,  of  Burlington ;  Edna 
married  John  McCarthy,  of  Burlington,  and  they  have  one  daughter,  Kathryn ; 
Miss  Bessie  is  a  graduate  of  the  high  school,  class  of  1905;  and  Miss  Mary  is 
attending  high  school.  Mrs.  Perkins  is  a  member  of  the  Congregational 
Church,  where  Mr.  Perkins  also  attends.     Politically  he  is  a  Republican. 

MICHAEL  HIGGINS,  Jr.,  a  manufacturer  of  wagon  and  carriage 
springs  and  axles,  and  largely  interested  in  other  important  industries  of  Ra- 
cine, is  a  prominent,  progressive  and  public-spirited  resident  who  has  advanced 
to  the  front  by  sheer  force  of  personal  determination  and  ability.  He  was  born 
in  Oswego,  X.  Y.,  June  28.  1855,  son  of  Michael  and  Bridget  (Malone)  Hig- 
gins,  natives  of  Ireland,  the  former  of  Cork  and  the  latter  of  County  Limerick. 
The  paternal  great-grandfather,  Patrick  Higgins,  remained  in  his  native  land. 


f  r 


(^nojif  (jV/^j^cMyi  //^ 


C0M]\IE:\I0RATI\'E    biographical    record.  137 

but  the  grandfather — also  named  Patrick — emigrated  to  America  in  1S40 
and  settled  at  Little  Falls,  Herkimer  Co.,  N.  Y.  Two  years  later  he  was  killed 
by  being  struck  by  the  falling  branch  of  a  tree.  His  wife,  formerly  Nancy 
Condon,  survived  him  until  1866,  when  she  died  at  an  advanced  age,  the 
mother  of  the  following  children :  James ;  Patrick ;  Joanna,  who  married 
Michael  Lannan ;  Michael ;  Mary,  who  died  in  infancy ;  and  Elizabeth,  wife  of 
Martin  Geany,  who  resides  in  Ireland. 

Michael  Higgins,  the  father,  was  born  in  Young  Grove,  County  Cork, 
Ireland,  in  February,  1834,  and  was  brought  to  America  by  his  parents  when 
six  years  of  age.  Fie  remained  with  the  family  at  Little  Falls,  N.  Y.,  for  about 
two  years,  and  resided  in  the  State  of  New  York  for  a  period  of  twenty-one 
years.  In  1856  he  located  in  Chicago,  but  he  returned  to  the  East  in  1857 
and  about  six  years  later  became  a  resident  of  Canada,  where  he  remained  for 
thirteen  years.  Afterward  he  removed  to  Missouri,  and  engaged  in  farming 
until  1889.  that  year  marking  the  date  of  his  settlement  in  Racine. 

Michael  Higgins,  Sr.,  married  Bridget  Malone,  who  died  Dec.  7,  1897, 
aged  sixty-three  years.  She  was  a  davighter  of  Cornelius  and  Nancy  (Cliffe) 
Malone,  who  emigrated  to  America  many  years  ago,  settling  near  Kingston, 
Ontario,  wdiere  Mr.  Malone  died  at  an  advanced  age.  His  wife  lived  to  be 
upward  of  ninety  years  old.  Mrs.  Higgins  was  a  member  of  the  Catholic 
Church,  to  which  her  husband  also  belongs.  They  had  these  children  :  Michael, 
Jr. ;  Mary,  the  wife  of  Judge  Daniel  Murphy,  of  Mexico,  Mo. ;  John,  of  Manila, 
Philippine  Islands,  in  the  United  States  government  employ;  Elizabeth,  the 
wife  of  Timothy  Connolly,  of  Racine;  and  Agnes,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife 
of  James  Welsh. 

Michael  Higgins,  Jr.,  was  five  or  six  years  old  when  his  parents  removed 
to  Gananoque,  Canada,  near  Kingston,  and  at  that  place  he  grew  to  manhood, 
attending  the  common  schools  there.  For  several  years  he  was  employed  on 
the  steamers  running  on  the  St.  Lawrence  river  and  the  Great  Lakes,  and  then 
was  employed  at  a  spring  factory  in  Gananoque.  From  there  he  removed  to 
Kalamazoo.  Mich.,  where  for  five  years  he  was  employed  in  spring  factories, 
and  then  went  to  Bridgeport,  Conn.,  where  he  followed  the  same  occupation 
for  four  years.  In  1885  he  came  to  Racine  and  engaged  in  spring  manufactur- 
ing on  his  own  account,  in  a  small  way.  His  business  has  grown  so  that  he 
now  employs  150  men,  and  the  factory  is  320x180  feet  in  dimensions.  Mr. 
Higgins  is  vice-president  of  the  Commercial  Savings  Bank;  vice-president  of 
the  Racine  Malleable  &  Wrought  Iron  Company,  which  employs  between  four 
hundred  and  five  hundred  men;  president  of  the  Racine  General  Manufacturing 
Company,  jobbers,  and  a  director  of  the  Racine  Shoe  Company. 

Mr.  Higgins  was  married  Jan.  5.  1879,  in  Kalamazoo,  Mich.,  to  Miss 
Mary  Fitzgibbon.  daughter  of  David  and  Catherine  (Sullivan)  Fitzgibbon. 
natives  of  Ireland,  the  former  of  Limerick  and  the  latter  of  County  Cork. 
David  Fitzgibbon  was  a  railroad  man.  and.  on  coming  to  America,  met,  in 
Buffalo,  N.  Y.,  Miss  Sullivan,  and  there  they  were  married.  For  some  time 
they  were  located  at  various  points  in  Michigan,  and  lived  for  some  time  in 
Kalamazoo.  He  died  in  1895,  aged  seventy-six  years,  and  his  wife  in  March. 
1904,  in  her  eightv-second  year.  They  had  three  children :  David,  of  Grand 
Rapids,  Mich. ;  John ;  and  l^Iary,  Mrs.  Higgins. 


138  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Six  children  have  been  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  ^^lichael  Higgiiis,  Jr., 
namely:  James,  George,  Agnes,  Joseph,  Frank,  and  Leo  (who  died  Nov.  24, 
1904).  Of  this  family,  James  is  superintendent  of  his  father's  plant;  George 
is  employed  in  the  axle  plant.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Higgins  are  members  of  the  Cath- 
olic Church,  belonging  to  the  St.  Rose  congregation.  He  is  fraternally  con- 
nected with  the  Knights  of  Columbus,  the  Elks,  the  Catholic  Order  of  For- 
esters and  the  Royal  League.  Mr.  Higgins  has  been  very  prominent  in  political 
matters.  He  was  the  Democratic  alderman  from  the  Sixth  ward  in  1889, 
serving  two  years;  in  1899  was  elected  mayor,  and  was  re-elected  in  1901, 
serving  altogether  four  years;  and  was  president  of  the  park  board  in  1905-05. 
Mr.  Higgins's  home,  at  No.  1900  Washington  avenue,  was  erected  by  him  in 
1893.    His  father  resides  at  No.  1229  Eleventh  street. 

JOSHUA  PIERCE  (deceased),  who  for  many  years  was  one  of  the 
most  highly  esteemed  citizens  of  Mt.  Pleasant  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  was 
born  in  Steuben  county,  N.  Y.,  Sept.  15,  1814,  son  of  Seth  and  Anna 
(Cushion)  Pierce,  natives  of  Massachusetts.  He  had  two  brothers  and  two 
sisters:  Nathaniel,  William,  Alice  and  Anna.  Seth  Pierce  removed  into  New 
York  State  and  settled  in  Steuben  county  at  an  early  date,  and  there  died  well 
advanced  in  years.  He  was  land  agent  for  the  Government,  and  sold  nearly 
all  the  land  around  Woodhull  and  at  Painted  Post. 

Joshua  Pierce  came  to  Racine,  Wis.,  in  1840,  and  purchased  160  acres 
of  land,  after  which  he  returned  to  New  York,  where  he  was  married,  again 
coming  to  Racine  county  in  1841.  The  land  was  purchased  for  him  by  Daniel 
Slosson.  who  made  the  trip  to  Milwaukee,  paying  $200  for  the  tract.  This 
land  Mr.  Pierce  improved,  added  eighty  acres  thereto,  and  in  1860-1861  built 
thereon  a  large  and  beautiful  home,  which  is  still  in  a  good  state  of  preserva- 
tion. Later  he  sold  some  of  the  land,  at  the  time  of  his  death  owning  but  184 
acres.  He  was  married  April  15,  1841,  to  Miss  Catherine  Hadden,  whose 
mother,  a  Bedoe,  was  three  times  married;  first  to  Mr.  Hadden.  second  to  Mr. 
Sarles  and  third  to  Mr.  Lonsberry.  By  Mr.  Hadden  she  had  two  sons  and 
three  daughters,  viz.:  Catherine  (Mrs.  Pierce),  Elizabeth,  Abigal,  Gilbert 
and  John.  By  Mr.  Sarles  there  was  one  daughter.  Mary  Ann.  Eight  child- 
ren were  born  to  the  union  of  Joshua  and  Catherine  (Hadden)  Pierce,  namely  : 
Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  Josiah  Coyell,  of  Branchport,  N.  Y. ;  Phoebe,  who  died 
Sept.  29,  1890,  aged  about  forty-four  years;  Anna,  the  wife  of  Charles  Selden, 
of  Aurora,  111.;  Joshua,  who  died  aged  about  thirty-three  years;  William,  who 
lives  on  the  old  home  place;  Fannie,  the  wife  of  Aaron  Wood,  of  Galesburg. 
111. ;  Lafayette,  of  Bethany,  near  Linculn,  Xeb. ;  and  Rose,  the  wife  of  Robert 
Briggs,  of  Monroe,  Michigan. 

Joshua  Pierce  was  a  thrifty  farmer,  and  had  one  of  the  finest  residences 
and  farms  in  Racine  county.  At  an  early  day  he  helped  to  lay  out  nearly  all  of 
the  roads  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township  and  was  road  commissioner  for  many  years. 
He  died  on  the  farm  on  which  he  had  settled  Dec.  20.  1904,  aged  ninety  years, 
three  months,  five  days.  His  wife  passed  away  Feb.  27,  1884,  in  her  sixty- 
fourth  year.  She  was  a  member  of  the  Old  Settlers"  Society  and  of  the  Pres- 
byterian Church  at  the  time  of  her  death,  though  she  was  formerly  connected 
with   the  Congregational  Church,  and   was  a  good   Christian  wnmaji.   whose 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  T39 

exemplary  life  was  well  worthy  of  emulation.  She  had  been  a  resident  of  the 
county  for  forty-three  years,  and  saw  the  unsettled  wild  lands  of  Wisconsin 
developed  to  civilized  conditions.  Mr.  Rierce  was  also  a  member  of  the  old 
Settlers'  Society,  and  at  the  time  of  his  death  had  been  a  resident  of  the  county 
for  sixty-four  years.  He  was  one  of  the  best  known  men  among  the  pio- 
neers and  early  settlers  of  the  county.  Politically  he  was  a  Republican,  and 
held  various  minor  offices,  but  he  would  not  permit  politics  to  disturb  his  busi- 
ness. He  w^as  of  a  retiring  disposition  and  not  disposed  to  push  himself  for- 
ward, was  honorable  and  upright  in  all  of  his  dealings,  and  was  highly  re- 
garded for  his  integrity  of  character. 

At  his  death  Mr.  Pierce  left  a  family  of  six  children.  The  son  William 
owns  eighty  acres  of  the  old  home  farm  and  the  residence,  and  has  the  settling 
of  the  estate.  The  children  have  all  been  well  provided  for,  their  father  having 
thoughtfully  and  w  isely  made  his  arrangements  before  his  death  for  the  settling 
of  the  estate  in  a  satisfactory  manner. 

ELMER  E.  GITTINS,  senior  member  of  the  firm  of  Gittins  &  Burgess, 
attorneys-at-law  of  Racine,  Wis.,  is  a  native  of  Racine  county,  where  he  was 
born  Aug.  31,  1869,  son  of  Ellis  .  and  Jane  (Gittins)  Gittins,  natives  of 
Wales. 

Ellis  Gittins  came  to  America  some  time  in  the  early  forties,  locating  in 
Utica,  N.  v.,  where  he  engaged  in  farming  for  some  years  and  then  came 
to  Racine  county,  purchasing  a  farm  of  140  acres  in  Caledonia  township, 
where  the  remainder  of  his  life  was  spent.  He  died  aged  sixty-three  years, 
while  his  widow  still  survives  him  and  resides  in  Racine.  She  is  a  Methodist 
in  religious  faith,  to  which  church  Mr.  Gittins  also  belonged.  They  had 
these  children :  Nellie,  the  wife  of  Richard  Williams,  of  Chicago ;  John  and 
Miss  Sarah,  of  Racine;  William,  of  Chicago,  and  Ellis  J.  and  Elmer  E.,  of 
Racine. 

Elmer  E.  Gittins  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm  in  Caledonia  township, 
and  first  attended  the  district  schools,  and  graduated  from  the  Racine  High 
school  in  1889.  He  then  entered  the  University  of  Wisconsin,  at  Madison, 
graduating  in  1895,  after  which  he  entered  the  law  school  of  the  university, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1897,  being  aflmitted  to  the  Bar  the  same 
year.  He  began  practice  in  Racine,  where  he  has  since  continued.  In  1898 
Mr.  Gittins  formed  a  partnership  with  Mr.  E.  R.  Burgess,  the  firm  being 
known  as  Gittins  &  Burgess.  In  1902  Mr.  Gittins  was  elected  district  attor- 
ney, the  duties  of  which  office  lie  took  up  in  January,  1903.  Politically  Mr. 
Gittins  is  a  Republican.  Fraternally  he  l)elongs  to  Lodge  No.  18,  F.  &  A. 
M..  and  is  also  a  member  of  the  Kymric  Club  and  the  Racine  Business  ]\Ien's 
Club.     Mr.  Gittins  resides  at  No.   1405  College  avenue,  with  his  mother. 

JOHN  RAMSDEN  is  one  of  the  old-established  fanners  of  Brighton 
township.  Kenosha  county,  where  he  is  held  in  high  esteem  by  his  fellows, 
among  whom  he  has  lived  and  worked  for  so  many  vears.  He  was  born  in 
Yorkshire.  England,  about  sixty  miles  from  Liverpool,  May  19,  1834,  a  son 
of  Simeon  and  Abigail  Ramsden.  The  Ramsdens  are  an  old  Yorkshire 
faniilv  and  there  the  grandfather,  Jonathan,  and  his  wife  both  died,  when 


140  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

advanced  in  years,  the  former  reaching  the  age  of  eighty-three.  Their  family 
consisted  of  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  The  maternal  grandfather  also 
Hved  in  Yorkshire,  but  beyond  the  fact  that  he  died  in  his  nati\e  land  nothing 
is  now  known  of  his  history. 

Simeon  Ramsden  was  born  in  Yorkshire  in  1795.  He  was  a  hand  weaver 
in  England,  but  after  coming  to  America  followed  various  callings,  eventually 
settling  down  to  farming.  He  arrived  in  Racine  May  25,  1842,  and  two  years 
later  bought  property  in  Dover  township — forty  acres  of  government  land. 
He  brought  up  his  family  there,  but  later  in  life  sold  that  place  and  bought 
eighty  acres  in  Brighton  township.  After  three  years  he  sold  the  second 
farm  also,  and  moving  into  Union  Grove  bought  a  lot  on  which  he  built  a 
home  and  lived  for  many  years.  At  the  time  of  his  death,  March  20,  1876,  he 
was  at  the  home  of  his  son  John,  in  Brighton  township.  Mr.  Ramsden  was 
within  twenty  days  of  his  eighty-first  birthday  when  his  demise  occurred. 

Simeon  Ramsden  w-as  twice  married.  His  first  wife  was  Mary  Fernley, 
by  wdiom  he  had  a  son  Jonathan,  now  living  in  the  village  of  Trempealeau, 
Wis.,  over  eighty-three  years  of  age.  For  his  second  wife  he  married  Mrs. 
Abigail  Smith,  a  widow  with  one  daughter,  Elizabeth.  This  daughter  came 
to  America  from  England  and  died  in  Racine;  she  was  the  wife  of  William 
Drinkwater.  To  the  union  of  Simeon  and  Abigail  Ramsden  came  four  chil- 
dren, of  whom  tW'O  are  now  living,  John  and  Ella,  Mrs.  L.  A.  Brush,  residing 
near  Albany,  Oregon.     The  parents  w-ere  Methodists  in  their  religions  belief. 

John  Ramsden  was  eight  years  old  w-hen  he  came  with  his  father  and 
mother  to  America,  and  he  grew  ta  manhood  in  Racine  and  Kenosha  counties. 
He  was  early  accustomed  to  farm  work,  and  for  a  while  w'orked  out  by  the 
month,  but  later  took  up  carpentering,  and  in  time  had  a  gang  of  seven  or 
eight  men  under  him.  He  liought  the  farm  where  he  now  lives  Dec.  17,  1870, 
and  moved  on  to  it  in  1872.  It  consists  of  160  acres  and  has  been  finely 
improved. 

On  Oct.  II.  186.S,  Mr.  Ramsden  married  Miss  Frances  Mary  Murdock, 
daughter  of  Archibald  and  Frances  (McKlasky)  Murdock.  They  have  two 
children,  Edward  S.  and  Sarah  M.,  both  at  home.  Both  parents  belong  to 
the  Union  Grove  Congregational  Church.  Politically  Mr.  Ramsden  is  a  life- 
long Republican  and  for  twenty-nine  vears  was  treasurer  of  the  joint  school 
district  No.  9,  resigning  in  fa\-or  of  his  son,  who  now  holds  the  office. 

CHARLES  G.  FOLTZ,  one  of  the  most  substantial  citizens  and  success- 
ful business  men  of  Burlington,  is  a  member  of  the  firm  of  C.  G.  Foltz  &  Son, 
dealers  in  dry  goods,  clothing,  carpets,  etc.  He  was  born  in  West  Winfield, 
Herkimer  Co.,  N.  Y..  Sept.  9,  1837.  son  of  Rev.  Benjamin  and  Jane  (Har- 
wood)  Foltz,  natives  of  New-  York,  and  is  of  German  descent  on  his  father's 
side  and  American  on  his  mother's. 

Re\'.  Benjamin  Foltz  came  West  in  1849.  ^^^l  settled  in  Emerald  Grove, 
Rock  Co.,  Wis.,  for  a  time,  later  removing  to  Allen's  Grove,  Walworth  county, 
and  from  there  to  Burlington,  Racine  county,  in  1854.  In  1858  he  removed  to 
Rockford,  111.,  where  he  died  Sept.  i.S.  1886.  aged  seventy-two  years.  His 
first  wife,  the  mother  of  Charles  G.  Foltz,  died  Oct.  9.  1851.  aged  about  thirty- 
eight  years,  and  he  married  (second)  Louise  J.  Judson.  wdio  still  survives  him. 


<^^-^v^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRArillCAL    RECORD.  141 

and  makes  her  home  in  Ruckford,  111.  His  chiklren  Ijv  his  first  marriage  were: 
Charles  G. ;  Benjamin  H.,  deceased;  William  \V.,  retired,  of  Chicago.  Ilk; 
Miss  Asenath  E.,  of  Chicago,  111. ;  Miss  Mary  S.,  of  Rockford,  111. ;  and  Harriet 
T.,  deceased,  who  married  Orlando  Maklem.  To  the  second  marriage  were 
born :  Judson  J.,  in  the  real  estate  and  mining  business  in  Tacoma,  Wash. : 
Edward  E.,  a  shoe  merchant  at  Delavan,  Wis. ;  Irving  E.,  formerly  teller  of 
the  People's  Bank,  at  Rockford,  Ilk,  now  retired;  and  Louise  L.,  Airs.  Lester 
Halstead,  of  Rockford,  Illinois. 

Charles  G.  Foltz  was  reared  in  New  York  State.  He  was  one  of  the  early 
settlers  of  Racine  county,  and  is  the  oldest  surviving  dry  goods  merchant  in 
the  county,  having  carried  on  the  merchandise  business  in  Burlington  since 
November,  1857.  On  Nov.  6,  1861,  he  married  Miss  Mary  A.  Chandler, 
daughter  of  Joshua  and  Louise  (Durgin)  Chandler,  and  three  children  were 
born  to  this  union:  Charles  Oliver,  Alice  B.  and  Ernest  H.  (i)  Charles  Oliver 
Foltz,  who  resides  in  Chicago,  is  interested  in  copper  mines  in  Arizona.  He 
married  Miss  Mary  Reedy,  and  they  had  three  children,  Alice,  Helen  and  Cath- 
erine. The  wife  and  two  eldest  children  lost  their  lives  in  the  Iroquois  Theatre 
holocaust.  (2)  Alice  B.  Foltz  married  Dr.  George  Y.  Wilson,  a  dentist,  and 
they  live  in  Colorado  Springs,  Colo.  (3)  Ernest  H.  Foltz  married  Miss  Kath- 
erine  Ransom.  He  was  reared  in  Burlington,  where  he  has  spent  his  entire 
life,  graduated  from  the  high  school  in  1888,  and  then  became  associated  with 
his  father  as  clerk  in  the  dry  goods  and  clothing  business,  which  he  continued 
until  189^,  when  he  became  associated  as  a  partner,  the  firm  name  becoming 
C.  G.  Foftz  &  Son. 

The  business  now  conducted  by  C.  G.  Foltz  &  Son  was  established  in  1857 
and  is  one  of  the  leading  industrial  establishments  of  Burlington.  It  is  the 
oldest  business  house  there,  and  the  straightforward  way  in  which  the  father 
and  son  do  business  has  won  the  confidence  of  the  public.  They  occupy  a  com- 
modious two-story  and  basement  building  on  Chestnut  street,  39x100  feet  in 
dimensions ;  the  building  is  lighted  throughout  by  electricity,  is  heated  bv  steam, 
and  provided  with  all  modern  conveniences. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Charles  G.  Foltz  and  family  are  members  of  the  Congrega- 
tional Church,  of  which  Mr.  Foltz  is  a  charter  member  and  deacon,  and  at 
present  the  oldest  living  member.  He  has  also  been  church  clerk  for  more  than 
forty  years.  For  many  years  he  gave  efficient  service  on  the  school  board,  as 
trustee,  and  during  the  building  of  the  high  school  edifice  served  as  treasurer. 

HENRY  F.  JORDAN,  who  is  engaged  in  the  real-estate  and  insurance 
business  in  Kenosha,  has  been  a  resident  of  that  city  since  1896,  previous  to 
which  he  was  engaged  in  farming  in  the  town  of  Somers,  this  county.  Practi- 
cally all  his  life  has  been  passed  in  Kenosha  county,  as  he  was  only  in  his  sixth 
year  when  brought  hither  by  his  parents,  and  he  not  only  ranks  among  the 
oldest,  but  also  among  the  most  intelligent  and  progressive,  citizens  of  this 
section. 

Mr.  Jordan  is  a  native  of  England,  born  Sept.  7,  1836,  in  Rochdale,  Lan- 
cashire. His  grandparents,  Henry  and  Ann  (Potts)  Jordan,  were  both  na- 
tives of  England  and  passed  their  entire  lives  in  that  country.  He  died  in  mid- 
dle life,  from  injuries  received  while  trying  to  stop  a  runaw^ay  horse,  and  she 


142  COMMEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

lived  til  be  over  eighty-seven  years  old.     Henry  Jordan  was  an  excise  officer 
in  the  employ  of  the  British  government. 

Thomas  Jordan,  the  only  child  of  Henry  and  Ann  (  Potts)  Jordan,  was 
born  and  reared  in  England.  He  became  a  first-class  cabinetmaker,  and  had 
an  establishment  in  Rochdale  for  some  time  before  coming  to  America,  in 
1842.  Continuing  westward,  he  arrived  in  Southpoit  (as  Kenosha  was  then 
known).  Wis.,  May  29th  of  that  year,  and  purchasing  a  farm  of  ninety  acres  in 
what  was  then  the  town  of  Pike,  Racine  county  (now  the  town  of  Somers, 
Kenosha  county),  made  his  home  thereon  for  over  thirty  years.  In  1879  he 
moved  into  Kenosha,  where  he  passed  the  rest  of  his  days  in  retirement,  dying 
there  in  Mav.  1893.  in  his  eighty-third  year.  Mr.  Jordan  was  an  active  man 
and  awake  to  the  needs  of  the  community  in  which  he  had  settled,  and  he  served 
faithfully  in  positions  of  public  trust,  acting  as  supervisor  of  the  town  of 
Somers.  and  for  twenty-five  years  as  school  district  treasurer. 

Thomas  Jordan  married  Mary  Schofield,  like  himself  a  native  of  Eng- 
land, and  a  daughter  of  John  Schofield,  who  was  born  in  England  and  passed 
all  his  life  there,  dying  at  the  age  of  forty-six  years.  Mr.  Schofield  was  a  busy 
man,  owning  a  mill,  and  also  acting  as  excise  officer  and  surveyor.  His  wife's 
maiden  name  w'as  Whitehead,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  one  son  and  four 
daughters,  all  now  deceased.  Mrs.  Jordan  did  not  long  survive  her  husband, 
dying  in  November,  1893,  in  her  eighty-fourth  year,  as  the  result  of  a  fall  she 
sustained  while  visiting  the  \\'orld's  Fair,  in  Chicago.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Jordan 
were  Methodists  in  religious  belief.  They  had  seven  children,  five  sons  and  two 
daughters,  namely :  Henry  F.,  of  Kenosha :  Ann  J.,  wife  of  Edward  Cheetham, 
of  Chicago;  Miss  Maria  J.;  John  S.,  of  Seattle,  Wash.;  Thomas  W.,  of  Sioux 
City,  Iowa;  George  P.,  who  now  owns  and  resides  upon  the  old  homestead 
farm  in  the  town  of  Somers ;  and  Frank  L.,  who  was  drowned  at  Racine  in 
1872,  in  his  twenty-first  year. 

Henry  F.  Jordan  was  in  his  sixth  vear  when  he  came  with  his  parents  to 
America.  He  distinctly  remembers  landing  at  Southport.  as  there  was  no  har- 
bor there  at  the  time,  and  the  passengers  were  transferred  from  the  vessel  to 
a  lighter,  from  which  they  walked  to  shore  on  a  plank  bridge.  Southport  then 
contained  only  ten  or  fifteen  houses,  and  gave  little  promise  of  becoming  the 
important  lake  port  it  now  is.  Mr.  Jordan  grew  to  manhood  in  the  town  of 
Somers,  which  was  then  the  town  of  Pike,  Racine  county,  the  county  being  sub- 
sequently divided  and  Kenosha  (formerly  Southport)  becoming  the  seat  of 
Kenosha  county.  He  received  his  education  in  the  old-fashioned  subscription 
schools  and  the  district  schools  in  vogue  in  his  boyhood,  and  was  thoroughly 
trained  to  agricultural  work  under  the  tuition  of  his  father,  remaining  at  home 
until  he  reached  maturity.  \\'hen  ready  to  commence  farming  on  his  own 
account  he  purchased  a  place  of  106  acres  adjoining  his  father's  farm,  and  sub- 
sequently added  forty  acres  thereto.  He  lived  on  this  farm,  carrying  on  agri- 
cultural pursuits  very  successfully,  until  the  year  1896,  when  he  rented  it  and 
moved  into  Kenosha,  taking  up  his  residence  in  the  beautiful  home  which  he 
had  built  that  year,  at  Xo.  425  Fremont  avenue,  and  which  he  still  owns  and 
occupies.  Mr.  Jordan  has  been  in  the  real-estate  and  insurance  business  for 
about  thirty  years  all  told,  having  taken  it  up  long-  before  he  gave  up  agricul- 
ture, and  since  locating  in  Kenosha  he  has  devoted  all  his  time  to  that  line. 

The  excellent  judgment  and  executive  ability  which  Mr.  Jordan  displayed 


COMMEMORATI\-E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  143 

in  the  management  uf  his  own  affairs,  and  his  unquestionetl  puljhc  spirit,  made 
liim  tlie  choice  of  his  fellow  citizens  for  various  offices,  the  duties  of  which 
he  has  discharged  with  the  fidelity  for  which  lie  is  noted.  He  was  treasurer  of 
the  town  of  Somers  for  one  year,  was  district  clerk  and  district  treasurer  of  the 
town  for  a  number  of  years,  and  has  given  seven  years'  service  as  super\isor, 
part  of  the  time  in  the  town  of  Somers  and  the  rest  in  the  Third  ward  of  Keno- 
sha. He  has  been  chairman  of  the  county  board  of  supervisors  for  the  past 
three  years.  Mr.  Jordan  has  been  as  much  of  a  success  in  public  aft'airs  as  in 
his  personal  undertakings,  and  he  is  regarded  as  a  useful  citizen  in  both  com- 
munities with  which  he  has  been  identified.  He  is  a  Republican  in  politics. 
Fraternally  he  is  a  member  of  Kenosha  Lodge,  No.  47,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. 

Mr.  Jordan  was  united  in  marriage,  May  29,  1869,  to  Miss  Lavinia  Golds- 
worthy,  daughter  of  Stephen  S.  and  Lavinia  (Eustis)  Goldsworthy,  and  they 
have  had  one  daughter,  Edith  E.,  who  lives  with  her  parents.  Mrs.  Jordan's 
parents  were  natives  of  England,  born  in  Cornwall,  and  coming  to  America 
settled  on  a  farm  in  the  town  of  Paris,  Kenosha  county,  where  they  lived  until 
about  1889.  They  then  moved  into  L'nion  Grove  to  spend  their  declining  years, 
Mr.  Goldsworthy  dying  there  at  the  age  of  seventy-seven,  and  Mrs.  Golds- 
worthy  ,  who  survived  him  three  years,  at  the  age  of  seventy-six.  Their  fam- 
ily consisted  of  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  of  whom  John  E.  died  some  years 
ago.  The  others  all  survive,  namely :  Lavinia,  Mrs.  Jordan :  Stephen,  of  Sev- 
ery,  Kans. ;  William,  of  Monroe,  Wis.;  Hilary,  of  Laiion  Grove:  and  Henry, 
who  lives  in  Racine. 

HEXRY  LYTLE,  of  the  firm  of  Henry  Lytle  &  Sons,  dealers  in  hard- 
ware, agricultural  implements,  hard  and  soft  coal,  flour  and  feed,  at  Somers 
Station,  Somers  township,  Kenosha  Co.,  Wis.,  was  born  June  5,  1S44,  at 
Spring  Prairie,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis.,  son  of  Adams  and  Maria  (Carswell) 
Lytle.' 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Henry  Lytle,  was  Andrew  Lytle,  who  was 
l:orn  in  Ireland  and  came  to  America  in  youth,  settling  first  in  Pennsylvania, 
hut  later  moving  to  New  York.  He  came  West  with  the  early  pioneers  into 
Yorkville  township,  Racine  county,  and  died  at  Ives  Grove  at  the  age  of 
ninety-two  years.  He  was  a  Revolutionary  soldier,  but  turned  his  sword  into 
a  pruning  hook  and  became  a  farmer.  His  wife  1)ore  the  name  of  Eliza  and 
they  both  lived  to  old  age,  rearing  a  large  family  of  children. 

Adams  Lytle,  the  father  of  Henry,  was  born  Dec.  10.  1792,  in  New 
York,  where  his  wife  was  born  April  19,  1802.  They  were  married  Nov.  21, 
1822,  and  they  had  ten  children,  as  follows:  Jane,  deceased,  wife  of  W.  P. 
Goff,  died  in  Kansas:  John  went  to  California  in  1850,  but  has  been  lost 
sight  nf  by  the  family:  Margaret.  deceased,  was  the  wife  of 
Daniel  Bull,  brother  of  Stephen  Bull,  of  Racine:  Mary,  widow  of  Daniel 
Clark,  is  a  resident  of  New  York:  Eliza  died  in  infancy:  Andrew  is  in  Eldo- 
rado, Kan. :  Nathaniel  died  at  Somers  Station :  Lydia  is  the  widow  of  David 
Secnr.  of  near  Waterford,  Racine  county:  Adams.  Jr..  who  was  a  soldier  in 
the  Civil  war.  a  member  of  Company  H.  22nd  Wis.  \'.  I.,  died  in  the  service; 
and  Henry. 

Adams  Lytle  came  to  Wisconsin  in  1838  and  always  followed  farming. 
With  his  wife  he  settled  in  Spring  Prairie  township,  \\'alworth  county,  but  a 


144  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

few  years  later  moved  to  Racine  county,  where  he  bought  a  farm  of  eighty 
acres  in  Yorkville  township.  Prior  to  his  decease  he  moved  to  2\It.  Pleasant 
township  and  died  there  in  i860,  aged  sixty-eight  years.  His  widow  sur- 
vived until  1888,  dying  aged  eighty-six  years.  She  was  a  consistent  member 
of  the  Presbyterian  church.  Adams  Lytle  was  a  survivor  of  the  Mexican 
war  and  he  was  a  man  of  prominence  in  Yorkville  township,  of  which  he 
was  treasurer  at  one  time. 

Henry  Lytle  was  reared  a  farmer  boy  and  obtained  his  education  in  the 
district  schools.  When  seventeen  years  old  he  went  to  Racine  and  worked 
in  the  butcher  shop  of  Daniel  Bull  until  Aug.  11,  1862,  when  he  enlisted  in 
Company  H,  22nd  Wis.  V.  I.  He  was  mustered  out  as  a  corporal,  his  pro- 
motions being  the  reward  of  personal  bravery.  He  served  with  fidelity 
until  the  close  of  the  war,  suffering  from  but  one  wound  which  he  received 
at  Dallas  Woods,  although  he  participated  in  the  following  battles  and  cam- 
paigns :  Resaca :  Peach  Tree  Creek ;  Dallas  Woods ;  Golgotha ;  New  Hope 
Church ;  Kenesaw  Mountain ;  all  the  Atlanta  campaign,  which  included  the 
siege  and  taking  of  Atlanta ;  then  on  to  Washington,  where  his  regiment 
made  a  good  showing  at  the  grand  review  which  was  witnessed  by  thousands 
of  admiring  citizens. 

After  the  war  Mr.  Lytle  returned  home  and  farmed  in  Mt.  Pleasant 
township  until  1886,  and  then  moved  into  Somers  township,  where  he  con- 
tinued to  farm  for  the  next  five  years.  In  1891  he  quit  the  farm  and  bought 
out  the  general  business  of  Allen  Williams  at  Somers  Station,  which  he  still 
conducts,  having  associated  with  him  in  the  business,  his  sons,  George  H. 
and  Adams  L.,  both  capable  young  business  men. 

On  Tan.  10,  1867,  Mr.  Lytle  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Amanda 
Ann  McHuron,  daughter  of  David  L.  and  Catherine  McHuron,  early  settlers 
in  Paris  township,  and  afterward  residents  of  Mt.  Pleasant  township.  Racine 
county.  The  father  died  there  aged  eighty-two  years,  but  the  mother  still 
survives.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Lytle  have  had  eight  children,  four  sons  and  four 
daughters,  the  first-born  dying  in  infancy,  the  others  being:  George  H..  of 
Green  Bay.  Wis.,  where  he  is  superintendent  of  the  electric  light  plant,  mar- 
ried Annie  Johnson  and  they  have  two  children,  Berenice  and  George  W. 
Catherine  married  John  Haigh.  and  they  live  in  Somers  township,  and  have 
two  daughters,  Mildred  L.  and  Edith.  Edith  A.  died  at  the  age  of  nineteen 
years.  William  N.  is  of  Gallatin  county,  Mont.  Clarence  A.,  Adams  L., 
and  Mary  J.  live  at  home. 

Mrs.  Lytle  is  a  Baptist  in  religious  belief,  but  as  there  is  no  Baptist 
Church  at  this  place,  she  and  her  husband  attend  and  liberally  contribute  to 
the  support  of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican  and 
he  has  been  elected  by  his  party  as  town  treasurer  both  of  Yorkville  and 
]Mount  Pleasant  townships  in  times  past.  He  belongs  to  Harvey  Post.  G.  A. 
R.,  at  Racine,  and  is  prominent  in  the  Order  of  Woodmen  of  America.  He 
fills  the  office  of  president  of  the  Woodmen  Hall  Association,  and  for  sev- 
eral years  was  consul  of  the  camp. 

CLARENCE  E.  REMER.  The  malting  industry  is  one  that  of  late 
years  has  assumed  large  proportions  and  has  meant  wealth  for  numbers  of 
men.     One  of  those  who  have  been  conspicuously  successful  in  the  business  is 


^■'--'^'^^;-^C^,^^^.C./_^'^r— 


C0MME:.I0RATIVE    biographical    record.  145 

Clarence  E.  Reiner,  president  and  treasurer  of  the  AI.  H.  Pettit  ^Malting  Com- 
pany, of  Kenosha.  He  is  a  native  of  New  York  State,  born  in  Cayuga  county 
Jan.  26,  1850,  son  of  Stephen  Henry  and  Adehne  (Tibbies)  Remer. 

The  Remer  family  is  of  French  descent,  and  was  founded  in  America  in 
an  early  day,  the  first  ancestor  in  this  country  coming  from  the  river  Rhine. 
Mr.  Remer's  grandfather,  Abram  Remer,  was  a  native  of  Carlisle,  Pa.,  born 
June  7,  1783,  and  was  a  shoe  manufacturer.  He  served  as  a  musician  in  the 
war  of  1812.  He  died  March  6,  1866.  He  married  Hannah  Riggs  Whitney, 
who  was  a  native  of  Derby,  Conn.,  born  June  20,  1785,  niece  of  Stephen  Whit- 
ney, of  New  York.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Remer  both  lived  to  a  good  old  age.  They 
had  a  large  family,  four  sons  and  five  daughters. 

Stephen  Henry  Remer,  father  of  Clarence  E.,  was  born  in  Connecticut  in 
1817.  He  was  engaged  in  business  as  a  grocer  most  of  his  life,  and  after  1854 
was  located  in  Elkhorn,  Wis.,  where  he  was  living  at  the  time  of  his  death, 
Dec.  16,  i860.  He  married  Miss  Adeline  Tibbies,  who  was  born  in  New  York 
in  1826,  daughter  of  Solomon  and  Malinda  (Bennedict)  Tibbies.  Mr.  Tibbies 
died  in  Montezuma,  N.  Y.,  in  1840,  and  the  mother  afterward  settled  in  Janes- 
ville.  Wis.,  where  she  died  Sept.  4,  1867,  aged  sixty-nine  years;  she  was  the 
mother  of  a  large  family.  Only  two  children  were  born  to  Stephen  H.  Remer 
and  his  wife,  viz.:  Isabella  (deceased  wife  of  John  C.  M.  Kehlor)  and  Clar- 
ence E.  Mrs.  Remer  survived  her  husband  till  1893,  dying  in  Kenosha.  Both 
belonged  to  the  Episcopal  Church. 

Clarence  E.  Remer  was  brought  up  in  Elkhorn,  residing  there  from  1854 
till  1880.  He  received  his  education  in  the  public  schools  of  that  town  and 
then  went  to  work  for  Mr.  John  C.  M.  Kehlor,  in  the  grain  business.  In  1871 
he  bought  Mr.  Kehlor  out  and  conducted  affairs  himself  until  1880.  He  then 
rented  his  elevator  and  went  to  Chicago,  with  the  purpose  of  looking  up  a 
wholesale  flour  business,  but  about  that  time  a  flattering  offer  was  made  him 
by  M.  H.  Pettit  &  Company  and  he  went  to  Kenosha  to  take  a  position  with 
that  firm.  Five  years  later  the  concern  was  reorganized  as  a  stock  company, 
under  the  style  of  the  M.  H.  Pettit  Malting  Company,  and  Mr.  Remer  was 
made  secretary  and  treasurer.  He  discharged  the  duties  of  that  position  with 
great  efficiency  till  Sept.  15.  1902,  when  he  was  elected  president  and  treasurer, 
and  is  still  filling  those  combined  offices.  The  company  employs  about  twenty- 
five  persons  and  ships  its  products  to  the  EaSt,  West  and  South,  doing  a  speci- 
allv  large  business  in  Mexico.  The  malt  is  favorably  known  all  through  those 
sections,  having  a  good  reputation  for  its  quality,  and  some  half  million  bush- 
els are  sold  per  annum. 

On  April  25,  1883,  Mv.  Remer  was  united  in  matrimony  to  Miss  Jessie 
E.  Large,  of  Kenosha,  and  they  make  their  home  at  No.  463  South  Congress 
street.  Thev  are  both  members  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  Mr.  Remer  is  a 
member  of  the  Societv  of  the  Sons  of  the  American  Revolution  by  virtue  of 
his  descent  from  Lieut.  Joseph  Riggs,  of  the  Connecticut  troops.  He  is  a 
thirtv-second-degree  Mason,  and  a  charter  member  of  Kenosha  Lodge,  No. 
750.  B.  P.  O.  Elks.  On  political  issues  Mr.  Remer  is  a  stanch  Republican.  He 
is  aman  of  honorable  standing  and  influence  in  the  circles  in  which  he  moves, 
his  integrity  and  reliability  being  unquestioned. 


146        co:mmemorative  biographical  record. 

lOHX  A.  KILLEEX,  editor  and  proprietor  of  the  Kenosha  Union, 
Avas  born  in  Quebec,  Canada,  Jan.  22,  1845.  He  is  a  son  of  Thomas  and 
jMary  (Ball)  Killeen.  who  emigrated  to  Canada  in  the  thirties.  At  the  age 
•of  fifteen  years  the  subject  of  this  sketch  entered  the  office  of  the  Picton  (On- 
tario) Times,  where  he  remained  for  six  years.  The  next  four  years  were 
spent  in  the  government  printing  service,  between  Quebec  and  Ottawa.  In 
1869  he  came  to  the  United  States,  locating  in  New  York  City,  where  he  re- 
mained until  1875,  ■when  he  came  to  Kenosha  and  purchased  the  Kenosha 
Union,  which  had  been  established  in  1866  by  I.  W.  Webster  and  George 
Hutchinson.  Since  purchased  by  Mr.  Killeen  the  size  of  the  sheet  has  been 
twice  enlarged,  and  in  1877  he  put  in  a  fine  steam  press,  the  first  in  Kenosha. 

I\Ir.  Killeen  was  married  in  Ottawa,  Canada,  April  6,  1869,  to  Aliss 
Sarah  Cullen,  native  of  that  country. 

WILTSIE  STEWART  HAVEN  is  one  of  the  wealthy  farmers  ot 
Brighton  township,  Kenosha  county,  where  he  has  resided  for  over  twenty 
years.  The  earlier  part  of  his  life  was  passed  in  Oswego  county,  N.  Y., 
where  he  was  born  Nov.  2.  1856,  a  son  of  Myron  and  Caroline  (W'iltsie) 
Haven. 

The  branch  of  the  Haven  family  to  which  Wiltsie  S.  Haven  belongs 
was  founded  in  America  by  Richard  Haven,  an  Englishman  by  birth,  who 
settled  in  Connecticut  some  time  in  the  seventeenth  century.  Mr.  Haven's 
grandfather,  Zenas,  was  born  in  Connecticut,  but  moved  to  Oswego  county, 
N.  Y.,  and  there  died  at  the  age  of  sixty.  He  married  Amanda  Lewis,  who 
reached  the  unusual  age  of  ninety-two  years,  and  they  had  three  sons  and  two 
daughters. 

Myron  Haven  was  born  after  his  father  settled  in  New  York  and  became 
in  his  turn  a  farmer  in  Oswego  county,  although  he  had  earlier  learned  the 
trade  of  a  cooper.  He  and  his  wife  still  live  at  their  old  home  there,  the  for- 
mer now  over  seventy-five  years  of  age.  He  has  been  quite  a  prominent  man 
locally  and  has  held  various  town  offices,  while  religiously  he  is  a  Baptist, 
like  his  wife.  They  had  children  as  follows :  \'ictor.  now  of  Granada. 
Colo.;  Coley,  of  Chicago;  Wiltsie  S. ;  and  Elma.  Airs.  W.  H.  Polland,  of 
Oswego  Falls  Station,  New  York. 

The  maternal  grandparents  of  W'iltsie  S.  Haven  were  Martin  and  Phal- 
lic (Coley)  W'iltsie.  The  former  was  born  near  Sclienectady,  and  was  a 
farmer  by  occupation.  He  and  his  wife  had  a  large  family  and  lived  to  a 
good  old  age. 

W'iltsie  S.  Haven  lived  on  a  farm  in  Oswego  county  till  he  was  eleven 
years  old,  but  after  that  was  in  Fulton,  N.  Y.,  where  he  attended  the  public 
•schools.  After  finishing  his  studies  he  learned  the  cooper's  trade  and  worked 
at  it  for  some  years,  after  which  he  tried  boating  on  the  Erie  canal.  He 
spent  several  years  thus  and  next  took  up  farming,  at  first  in  the  East,  but 
after  1883  in  Wisconsin,  where  he  settled  on  the  farm  in  Section  14,  Brighton 
township,  on  which  he  still  lives.  It  is  a  fine  tract  of  200  acres,  which  in  1890 
became  Mr.  Haven's  own  property,  inherited  from  an  aunt,  Mrs.  Ann  W. 
Evans.  Mrs.  Evans  was  a  daughter  of  Martin  W'iltsie  and  the  widow  of 
John  W.  Evans.     She  had  come  to  Wisconsin  from  New  York  in   1844.  and 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  147 

settled  on  the  farm  which  was  her  himie  fur  the  rest  of  her  Hfe.  Eor  many 
years  she  was  the  postmistress  for  Brighton,  having  the  office  in  her  home. 
Besides  his  farming  interests  Mr.  Haven  is  a  business  man,  and  for  five  years 
was  connected  with  the  Brighton  Mutual  Fire  Insurance  Company,  one  year 
as  its  treasurer  and  for  the  rest  of  the  time  as  president. 

Mr.  Haven  was  united  in  marriage,  Oct.  20,  1880,  to  Cora,  daughter  of 
James  and  Nancy  (Brownell)  Baker,  but  their  married  life  was  brief,  as  Mrs. 
Haven  died  Aug.  12,  1882,  aged  twenty-one.  She  left  one  son,  Louis,  now  a 
resident  of  Syracuse,  N.  Y.  On  Dec.  31,  1884,  occurred  Mr.  Haven's  second 
union,  when  Miss  Maria  Harry  became  his  wife.  To  them  have  been  born 
three  sons,  John,  Ross  and  Stewart.  Mr.  Haven  and  his  wife  v.re  both  mem- 
bers of  the  Eastern  Star  Lodge  in  Union  Grove,  while  he  belongs  also 
to  the  M.  W.  A. ;  the  R.  A.  M.,  Kenosha  Chapter  No.  3,  and  Union  Grove 
Lodge  No.  288,  F.  and  A.  M.  Politically  a  Democrat,  he  is. active  in  local 
afifairs,  was  chairman  of  the  town  board  one  term,  and  is  now  serving  his 
tenth  year  as  clerk  of  school  district  No.  3. 

Mrs.  Maria  (Harry)  Haven,  daughter  of  James  and  Susan  (Staff) 
Harry,  is  of  English  descent  on  both  sides.  Her  paternal  grandparents  were 
James  and  Tomizene  Harry,  the  former  born  in  England.  z\fter  he  came  to 
America  he  lived  for  about  three  years  in  Southport  (nowr  Kenosha)  and 
then  moved  into  Brighton  township,  where  he  spent  the  rest  of  his  life  on  a 
farm,  dying  at  the  age  of  sixty.  His  wife  lived  to  be  eighty-nine.  She  bore 
him  three  children,  while  by  a  previous  marriage,  to  Thomas  Dale,  she  had  had 
two.  The  maternal  grandparents,  William  Staff  and  his  wife,  were  also  very 
long-lived.  They  had  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  William  Staff,  who  was 
a  toll-gate  keeper,  was  born  in  Lincolnshire  and  died  there. 

James  Harry,  father  of  Mrs.  Haven,  was  born  in  Cornwall  in  1834.  He 
came  to  Southport  with  a  colony  when  he  was  a  boy  of  some  ten  or  eleven 
years,  and  as  he  grew  older  became  a  sailor  on  the  lakes,  following  that  call- 
ing for  thirty-five  years.  He  died  in  June,  1904,  and  his  wife  in  1872,  aged 
forty.     They  were  members  of  the  Methodist  Church. 

F.  H.  NIMS  (deceased)  was  born  near  Erie,  Pa.,  Aug.  29,  1829.  In 
1833  his  parents  removed  to  Michigan,  and  in  the  autumn  of  the  same  year 
went  to  Chicago,  where  only  a  few  log  cabins  marked  the  site  of  the  present 
populous  city.  They  afterward  removed  to  Kenosha,  W'is.,  where  the  father 
purchased  a  claim  of  eighty  acres,  between  the  city  and  the  Northwestern 
depot,  afterward  selling  it  for  a  span  of  horses. 

On  Jan.  10,  1837,  the  Nims  family  located  on  the  present  site  of  Bur- 
lington, Wis.,  on  the  east  side  of  the  Fox  river.  The  ground  was  covered 
with  two  feet  of  snow,  and  the  only  house  in  the  locality  was  a  log  cabin, 
12x14,  with  a  mud  and  stick  chimney  and  a  shock  roof,  and  as  the  latter  did 
not  completely  cover  the  building  an  Indian  blanket  was  thrown  over  the 
aperture.  The  floor  was  of  dirt,  except  a  small  portion  which  had  been  cov- 
ered w'ith  shocks.  Mr.  Nims's  father  passed  away  in  1882.  at  the  advanced 
age  of  ninety-eight  years,  and  his  mother  in  1878.  aged  seventy-five. 

F.  H.  Nims  experienced  all  the  hardships  and  privations  of  pioneer  life. 
His  education  was  necessarily  limited,  but  he  was  ambitious  to  learn,  and  be- 


148  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

came  a  teacher  at  fourteen  years  of  age.  Shortly  afterward  he  went  to 
Waterford,  and  worked  in  the  woolen  mdls  there  for  a  few  months,  return- 
ing to  Burlington  at  the  end  of  this  time  to  work  in  tne  woolen  mills  here. 
He  remained  m  the  mills  until  twenty-four  years  old,  and  then  spent  one  year 
in  New  York,  as  a  contractor  in  a  woolen  mill,  and  at  the  age  of  twenty-five 
years  began  to  learn  the  trade  of  carpenter  and  joiner,  which  he  followed  con- 
tinuously until  a  few  years  before  his  deatli.  He  was  associated  m  business 
with  E.  S.  Voorhees  for  twenty-three  years. 

On  Oct.  6,  1855,  Mr.  Nims  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Mary 
Meadows,  and  to  this  union  four  children  were  born,  three  of  whom  are  still 
living,  viz.:  Eugene  L.,  of  Chicago;  Mrs.  George  K.  Dean,  of  Milwaukee; 
and  Mrs.  F.  H.  McAdow,  of  Chicago.  Mrs.  Nims  died  in  1876,  and  on 
March  28,  1878,  Mr.  Nims  married  (second)  Mrs.  Julia  L.  (Spoor)  Thomp- 
son, who  died  Sept.  4,  1891. 

Mr.  Nims  served  as  one  of  the  delegates  to  Madison,  and  aided  in  the 
organization  of  the  Republican  party  in  Wisconsin.  He  was  a  deacon  of 
Plymouth  Congregational  Church  in  Burlington,  having  been  a  charter  mem- 
ber when  the  society  was  founded,  in  1858,  and  always  one  of  its  faithful 
members.  For  sixty-seven  years  Mr.  Nims  was  identified  with  the  progress 
and  growth  of  Burlington.  He  had  the  confidence  and  respect  of  all  who 
knew  him,  and  was  a  good  citizen  in  every  way.  He  died  on  Tuesday,  Jan. 
10,  1905.  at  the  home  of  his  daughter,  Mrs.  George  K.  Dean,  No.  3210  Chest- 
nut street.  Milwaukee,  with  whom  he  had  made  his  home  the  last  year  of  his 
life.  The  remains  were  brought  to  Burlington  and  buried  in  the  town  ceme- 
tery. 

JAMES  C.  DOWSE,  who  is  ne.xt  to  the  oldest  settler  in  Kenosha 
county.  Wis.,  now  living,  and  a  highly  respected  resident  of  Section  34, 
Pleasant  Prairie  township,  was  born  in  Lincolnshire,  England,  Oct.  26,  1815. 
His  parents  were  James  and  Martha  (Pinder)  Dowse. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Dowse,  like  their  ancestors,  were  natives  of  England. 
They  had  five  sons  and  one  daughter,  all  of  whom  have  passed  away  with  the 
exception  of  our  veneral^le  subject.  His  father  was  a  butcher  and  cattle 
dealer,  and  owned  a  small  farm  in  Lincolnshire,  where  he  died  aged  seventy 
years.    His  wife  passed  away  at  about  the  same  age. 

James  C.  Dowse  was  reared  in  England,  where  he  lived  until  twenty- 
two  years  of  age,  and  then  emigrated  to  America.  He  arrived  in  New  York 
in  1837,  and  walked  all  the  distance  to  Wisconsin.  He  became  acquainted 
with  rivermen  and  worked  on  a  flat-boat  on  the  Mississippi  river  and  also 
on  a  canal  near  Yazoo,  but  in  1838  he  went  back  to  England  and  was  present 
at  the  great  spectacle  of  the  coronation  of  the  late  beloved  Queen  Victoria. 
In  the  same  year  he  returned  to  America  with  his  brother  John,  and  came 
again  to  Wisconsin.  They  bouglit  a  farm  of  240  acres,  in  Pleasant  Prairie 
township,  of  which  James  C.  Dowse  owns  180  acres  at  present,  upon  wdiich 
he  resides.  His  brother  John  died  soon  after  settling  in  Kenosha  county. 
Our  venerable  subject  has  lived  here  for  the  past  sixty-eight  years  and.  with 
one  exception,  is  the  oldest  continuous  resident  of  Kenosha  county. 

Mr.  Dowse  was  married  (first)  at  Gurnee,  111.,  to  Miss  Abigail  Lovejoy, 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  149 

and  they  had  diree  sons  and  one  daughter:  WiUiam  C,  of  Pleasant  Prairie 
township;  James  E.,  who  died  in  the  Union  army  during  the  Civil  war; 
Ernest  P.  of  Chicago;  and  Mary,  who  died  in  early  childhood.  William  C. 
married  Mary  Ann  Oliver,  and  they  had  ten  children,  those  living  being: 
James  C,  Abigail  (wife  of  William  Dowse),  Alice,  Clara  and  Daisy.  Ern- 
est P.  married  Julia  Lovejoy  and  their  surviving  children  are  Byron  C, 
Ralph,  Clarence  and  Paul. 

Mr.  Dowse  was  married  (second)  in  1848,  to  Mrs.  Sarah  Dexter, 
widow  of  Jackson  Dexter,  and  a  sister  of  his  first  wife.  There  was  one  son 
born  to  this  union,  Byron  C.  Mrs.  Dowse  died  Dec.  23.  1877,  aged  about 
sixty-one  years.  She  was  a  consistent  member  of  the  Baptist  Church.  Mr. 
Dowse  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  His  parents  and  his  grand- 
parents, John  and  Alice  (Doubleday)  Dowse,  all  belonged  to  the  Church  of 
England.  In  his  political  sentiment  Mr.  Dowse  is  a  Republican,  and  he  has 
served  a  number  of  terms  as  township  supervisor. 

Byron  C.  Dowse  was  born  and  reared  on  his  father's  farm,  and 
he  is  the  oldest  continuous  resident  of  Pleasant  Prairie  township  who  has 
lived  where  he  was  born,  his  birth  having  taken  place  Jan.  16,  1849.  He 
was  educated  in  the  district  schools  and  grew  up  to  be  a  practical  farmer. 
After  his  father  retired  he  took  possession  of  the  home  place  and  has  another 
farm  of  eighty  acres  in  the  township,  the  total  aggregate  being  260  acres. 
It  is  all  valuable  land,  and  under  Mr.  Dowse's  capable  management  is  one 
of  the  most  productive  properties  in  the  county. 

Byron  C.  Dowse  was  married  March  11,  1873,  to  Miss  IsaWla  B. 
Stewart,  daughter  of  John  and  Jeannette  (Ogston)  Stewart,  and  six  chil- 
dren were  born  to  them:  Ernest  R.,  John  C,  Carlton  A.,  Walter  S.,  Milton 
and  Richard.  The  only  one  yet  married  was  Ernest  R.,  who  died  at  the  age 
of  twenty-six  years,  leaving  a  widow,  formerly  Miss  Sarah  Lovejoy. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Byron  C.  Dowse  were  born  in  Scotland.  They 
came  to  America  in  1842  and  settled  in  Benton  township,  Lake  Co..  111., 
where  the  father  followed  farming  during  his  active  life,  and  died  on  his 
property  when  over  eighty  years  old.  His  wife  had  died  some  years  previ- 
ously. They  were  highly  respected  residents  of  the  community  in  which  they 
lived. 

Like  his  aged  father,  Mr.  Dowse  is  identified  with  the  Republican  party, 
and  he  has  served  in  township  offices,  having  been  on  numerous  occasions 
elected  supervisor  and  served  as  chairman  of  the  board.  Both  he  and  his 
father  have  seen  wonderful  changes  in  this  section  of  fair  Wisconsin  during 
their  residence  here,  and  both  have  done  their  full  share  in  the  educational 
and  material  development  of  this  part  of  Kenosha  county. 

FRED  PFISTER,  chief  of  police  of  Racine,  Wis.,  is  one  of  the  most 
popular  and  respected  citizens  of  that  city,  where  he  has  resided  since  1889. 
He  was  born  in  the  sister  State  of  Illinois,  in  the  city  of  Chicago.  April  27, 
1861,  one  of  the  most  memorable  years  in  our  country's  history.  His  parents, 
Philip  and  Emma  E.  Pfister,  were  born  in  Germany,  and  both  came  to  Amer- 
ica in  \outh  and  were  reared  to  maturity  in  Chicago,  where  they  were  mar- 
ried.    I'or  some  years  the  father  kept  a  boarding-house  in  Chicago.     He  died 


ISO  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

in  1865,  when  his  son  I'"red  was  small,  and  Airs.  Pfister  subseqnently  mar- 
ried (second)  Herman  Rudolph.  They  continued  to  live  in  Chicago  for 
some  years  and  then  removed  to  Germany,  accompanied  by  one  child,  Emma. 
Since  that  time  our  subject  has  lost  trace  of  his  mother  and  sister. 

Until  he  was  fourteen  years  old  Fred  Pfister  li\ed  in  Chicago,  obtain- 
ing an  excellent  education  in  the  public  schools.  In  1875  he  came  to  Wis- 
consin and  went  to  work  on  a  farm  in  Paris  township,  Kenosha  county,  mak- 
ing arrangements  by  which  he  could  work  by  the  month  and  also  attend 
school  during  the  winter  seasons.  On  the  farm  he  learned  to  make  butter 
and  cheese,  and  later  he  followed  that  business  for  three  years,  and  for  a  num- 
ber of  years  he  worked  Avith  a  threshing  machine  through  the  fall.  In  1889 
Mr.  Pfister  came  to  Racine  and  entered  into  the  employ  of  the  J.  I.  Case 
Threshing  Machine  Company,  remaining  there  two  years  and  then  accepting 
a  position  with  the  Badger  Electric  Light  Company,  when  they  were  putting 
the  new  line  in  Racine.  Later  he  worked  as  a  steam-fitter  for  a  New  York 
firm  and  assisted  in  putting  in  some  of  the  largest  plants  in  the  city. 

In  1892  Mr.  Pfister  was  appointed  a  special  policeman,  served  a  year, 
and  was  then  admitted  to  the  regular  force.  Then  he  resumed  work  as  a 
steamfitter  until  1895,  when  he  was  appointed  deputy  sheriff  under  Sheriff' 
Pugh,  serving  also  under  Sheriff'  Wagner.  He  then  to<3k  the  civil  service 
examination  and  w-as  again  appointed  on  the  police  force.  When  the  Span- 
ish-American war  broke  out  he  enlisted,  entering  Company  F,  ist  Wis.  V.  I., 
and  accompanied  his  regiment  to  Florida,  where  the  7th  Army  Corps  was 
stationed  at  that  time.  There  the  ist  Regiment  was  held  ready  for  em- 
barkation but  their  services  were  not  required,  peace  having  been  declared 
before  they  were  called  on  to  prove  their  gallantry. 

After  his  return  to  Racine,  Mr.  Pfister  was  engaged  in  the  manufacture 
of  soda  waer  until  1900,  when  he  was  appointed  chief  of  police,  succeeding  to 
the  position  over  twenty-eight  competitors.  Politically  Chief  Pfister  is  a 
Republican,  but  in  his  official  life  he  knows  no  party  distinction.  He  is  a 
prominent  member  of  the  Knights  of  Pythias,  of  the  Uniform  Rank,  and  his 
Comrades  in  the  order,  in  recognition  of  the  personal  esteem  which  they  hold 
for  him  and  also  for  the  confidence  they  repose  in  his  fidelity  as  an  official, 
have  presented  him  a  beautiful  gold  badge  embossed  with  the  coat  of 
arms  of  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  which  he  is  proud  to  wear.  He  belongs  also 
to  the  Masons,  being  a  member  of  Lodge  No.  18.  Racine,  A.  F.  &  A.  M. ; 
has  membership  in  Lodge  No.  252,  B.  P.  O.  Elks;  is  a  member  of  the 
Deutschen  Maennerverein  of  Racine  and  of  the  Bancroft  Spanish-American 
Post  of  Volunteers  of  Racine.  He  belongs  to  the  International  Association  of 
Chiefs  of  Police,  a  notable  organization. 

Chief  Pfister  has  l^een  a  resident  of  Kenosha  and  Racine  counties  for 
the  past  thirty  years  and  is  well  known  over  their  whole  extent.  He  stands 
very  high  in  public  esteem,  both  as  a  man  and  as  an  official. 

GOUTY  GUNDERSOX,  at  the  time  of  his  death.  March  16,  190.^. 
had  been  a  continuous  resident  of  Racine  county  for  sixty-three  years,  and 
was  one  of  the  most  prosperous  farmers  and  esteemed  citizens  of  Norway 
township,  owning  a  fine  homestead  of  220  acres,  in  Section  29.     He  was  a  na- 


C0MME:^I0RATIVE    biographical    record.  151 

tive  of  Xorway.  where  he  was  born  May  17,  1833,  a  son  of  Gmuler  Goute- 
son  and  Carohne  (Knutson)  Gouteson.  Their  three  children  who  reached 
maturity  were:  Gouty;  Swain,  who  Hves  in  Mihvaukee;  and  Margaret,  who 
is  the  wife  of  Christian  Benzene,  of  Norway  township. 

The  father,  who  was  a  farmer,  came  to  America  in  1837,  settled  for  a 
short  time  in  Illinois,  and  in  1842  purchased  about  two  hundred  acres  in 
Norway  township,  Racine  county,  where  he  passed  the  remainder  of  his  life. 
He  improved  the  land,  erected  buildings,  and  fashioned  the  entire  tract  into 
a  comfortable  homestead,  upon  which  he  reared  his  children  in  the  old-fash- 
ioned ways  of  industry,  economy  and  general  thrift.  At  one  time  he  was 
assessor  of  Norway  township.  He  died  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years,  Iiis 
wife  passing  away  some  eight  years  before. 

Gouty  Gunderson  was  four  years  of  age  when  his  parents  brought  him 
to  America,  and  nine  years  old  when  the  family  settled  in  Racine  county. 
From  tliat  time  until  his  death,  at  the  age  of  nearly  seventy-two  years,  Nor- 
way township  was  his  home.  As  a  farmer's  boy  he  lived  at  home  until  he 
had  reached  early  manhood,  wdien  his  father  presented  him  ninety  acres  of 
good  land  as  a  basis  for  an  independent  livelihood.  He  not  only  cultivated 
this  with  profitable  results,  but  added  to  it,  until  he  had  accumulated  and  im- 
proved 220  acres,  making  him  one  of  the  most  extensive  and  prosperous  land- 
owners in  the  township. 

On  May  26,  1855,  Mr.  Gunderson  married  :\Iiss  Betsy  ^^lathias,  daugh- 
ter of  Mathias  Knutson  and  Ellen  (Oleson)  Knutson.  Nine  children  were 
born  to  this  union.  Carrie.  Ellen,  Martin,  Mary  Ann.  Helena.  Edmund,  ^Mag- 
gie.  Oscar  and  Linnie.  Carrie,  who  is  unmarried,  lives  at  home.  Ellen  is 
the  wife  of  Bartholomew  Thronson,  of  Racine,  and  the  mother  of  Edjia  and 
Clarence.  Mary  Ann  married  .\lbert  Larson,  and  both  are  deceased.  Hel- 
ena, the  wife  of  Edward  Rolfson,  lives  near  Astoria.  S.  Dak.,  and  their  six 
children  are  Irene.  Mollie,  Lulu,  Roy,  Myrtle  and  Chester.  Edmund,  un- 
married, is  a  farmer  in  Norway  township,  and  his  sister  Maggie  is  his  house- 
keeper; the  latter  is  the  widow  of  Johnnie  Johnson,  and  has  one  child.  Hazel. 
Oscar  and  Linnie  remain  on  the  family  homestead. 

The  death  of  Gouty  Gunderson  occurred  March  16.  1905,  so  that  he  was 
within  two  months  of  being  seventy-two  years  of  age.  His  widow,  who  sur- 
vives, was  born  in  Norway  Oct.  2.  1835.  came  to  America  about  1846.  and 
was  married  in  Norway  township  in  1855.  She  is  a  Lutheran,  as  was  her 
husband,  and  proved  a  faithful  helpmate  to  her  prosperous  domestic  partner. 
Mr.  Gunderson  was  not  only  successful  financially,  but  served  as  supervisor 
and  treasurer  of  the  town  of  Norway,  and  was  honored  with  other  marks 
of  public  confidence  and  esteem. 

^Irs.  Gunderson's  parents  were  alsi^  nati\-es  of  Norway,  in  1846  coming 
to  America  with  their  children,  and  :\Ir.  Knutson's  father  and  mother,  and 
settling  in  Norway  township.  There  Mr.  Knutson  located  on  a  farm  of  120 
acres,  upon  which  he  passed  the  balance  of  his  life,  dying  about  1885.  His 
wife  survived  until  jSIay  29.  1904.  or  until  she  had  nearly  reached  the  ven- 
erable age  of  ninetv-three  years.  They  were  the  pareuts  of  six  children,  as 
follows:"  Betsy,  wife  of  Gouty  Gunderson;  Kate.  IMrs.  Hans  Elderson,  of 
Norway  township :  Maggie,  deceased,  wdio  was  the  wife  of  Jacob  Anderson ; 


152  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Kiiut  Mathias,  deceased ;  Annie,  who  married  Reuljen  Wait,  and  who  resides 
near  W'oonsocket,   S.   Dak.,  and  John,  deceased. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Gunderson  was  Knut  Bendick,  who 
in  1846  came  to  America  with  his  wife,  Maggie,  settHng  in  Norway  town- 
ship: there  he  died,  his  wife  passing  her  last  days  in  Portage  county,  Wis., 
and  dying  at  the  age  of  eighty  years.  She  was  the  mother  of  three  children. 
Ole  Oleson.  the  maternal  grandfather,  and  his  wife  Betsy,  died  in  Norway, 
and  they  were  the  parents  of  three  children. 

THOMAS  JEFFERSON  EMERSON,  one  of  Racine's  highly  esteemed 
retired  citizens,  who  makes  his  home  at  No.  842  Main  street,  has  been  a  resi- 
dent of  this  city  for  many  years,  during  which  time  he  has  championed  every 
movement  designed  to  promote  the  general  welfare,  has  supported  every  enter- 
prise for  the  public  good,  and  has  materially  aided  in  the  advancement  of  all 
social,  educational  and  moral  interests.  He  was  born  in  Booth  Bay, 
Maine,  Feb.  20,  1815.  son  of  William  and  Rhoda  (Brown)  Emerson,  the 
former  a  native  of  Salem,  Mass.,  and  the  latter  of  Booth  Bay,  Maine. 

The  founder  of  the  family  in  this  country  was  Thoams  Emerson  of  Ips- 
wich, Mass.,  who  came  to  this  country  from  England  in  1636.  The  Emer- 
sons  in  America  of  this  branch  were  scholars,  and  many  of  them  noted  for 
their  learning. 

Edward  Emerson,  the  grandfather  of  Thomas  Jefferson  Emerson,  was 
a  native  of  Massachusetts  and  a  brother  of  the  grandfather  of  Ralph  Waldo' 
Emerson.  Another  brother,  Joseph,  was  a  minister,  and  one  of  the  early  grad- 
uates of  Harvard  University.  Edward  Emerson  was  a  Revolutionary  sol- 
dier and  colonel  of  a  regiment  which  he  helped  to  raise.  After  the  Revolu- 
tion he  removed  to  Maine,  where  he  accumulated  considerable  property,  and 
at  his  death  left  several  good  farms  to  his  children.  He  died  when  upwards  of 
sixty  years  of  age,  and  was  buried  in  Booth  Bay,  Maine.  His  wife,  whose 
maiden  name  was  Thompson,  was  of  Scotch  descent,  and  lived  to  be  upwards 
of  ninety  years  of  age. 

\\'illiam  Emerson  was  an  elder  in  the  Baptist  Church,  and  was  twice  elect- 
ed to  the  Legislature  of  Maine.  At  one  time  he  was  proposed  as  a  candidate 
for  the  United  States  Senate.  In  his  later  years  he  removed  to  Newcastle, 
Maine,  where  he  died  in  1850,  aged  seventy-three  years.  His  wife  survived 
him  one  year,  and  was  seventy-five  years  old  at  the  time  of  her  demise.  The 
boys  of  this  family  took  to  the  sea,  making  many  long  voyages,  and  Samuel 
traveled  to  the  West  Indies,  and  was  afterwards  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812. 
Of  the  ten  children  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Emerson,  our  subject  is  the  only  living 
child.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  our  subject,  John  Brown,  was  a  sea- 
captain,  who  married  in  the  West  Indies,  and  died  in  middle  life. 

Thomas  Jefiferson  Emerson  was  reared  in  Booth  Bay,  Maine,  and  re- 
mained on  the  farm  until  eighteen  or  nineteen  years  of  age.  He  then  starteid 
to  learn  the  carpenter's  trade  and  architecture.  Longing  for  a  1:)etter  educa- 
tion, as  soon  as  he  had  served  his  apprenticeship,  he  attended  a  seminary  for 
two  years,  and  then  entered  Bowdoin  College.  One  year  later  he  took  up  the 
study  of  law  with  John  S.  Abbott,  of  Puritan  stock,  and  regarded  as  one  of  the 
foremost  lawyers  of  Maine,  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  under  Superior  Judge 


COAIMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  153 

\\'estnn  in  1840.  He  then  gratified  a  desire  to  visit  the  West.  He  subsequently 
went  to  Chicago,  111.,  whence  he  traveled  down  the  Mississippi,  and  met 
Stephen  A.  Douglas  and  a  Mr.  Parker  near  Peoria,  but  did  not  find  an  agree- 
able place  to  locate.  Douglas  advised  to  him  to  go  to  Springfield,  but  as 
business  was  still  unsettled  from  the  panic  of  1837.  things  did  not  suit  Mr. 
Emerson  there,  and  he  was  consequently  advised  to  locate  in  Wisconsin.  He 
visited  ^Mineral  Point,  but  a  lawyer  by  the  name  of  Dunn  advised  him  to  go 
to  a  place  called  Snake  Hollow.  This  Mr.  Emerson  did,  and  there  opened  an 
office.  The  village  was  soon  afterward  organized,  and  the  name  changed  to 
Potosi  by  Mr.  Emerson.  He  was  elected  president  of  the  village  board,  and 
was  largely  instrumental  in  starting  various  business  enterprises  in  the  town. 
There  he  remained  three  years,  and  during  his  residence  there  was  married. 
His  wife,  however,  did  not  like  the  village,  and  Mr.  Emerson  consequentlv  vis- 
ited Milwaukee  and  Racine,  finally  concluding  to  locate  in  the  latter  place.  Here 
he  was  cordially  received  by  a  lawyer  named  Marshal  Strong,  to  whom  Mr. 
Emerson  had  letters.  His  first  client  in  Racine  was  a  man  from  the  East.' 
whom  he  met  at  the  hotel  at  which  he  was  stopping.  After  opening  his  office 
Mr.  Emerson  was  elected  a  justice  of  the  peace.  He  practiced  law  for  twelve 
years,  becoming  very  successful. 

By  this  time  Mr.  Emerson  had  accumulated  $30,000,  and  he  purchased 
7,000  acres  of  land,  just  above  Green  Bay,  before  it  had  been  surveved.  For 
this  land  Mr.  Emerson  paid  $2.50  per  acre,  and  he  later  sold  it  at  enough  of 
an  advance  to  cover  its  cost  and  the  amount  of  the  taxes  and  improvements.  On 
account  of  this  purchase  Mr.  Emerson  had  discontinued  the  practice  of  law, 
and  was  appointed  Internal  Revenue  Collector,  a  position  he  held  four  years, 
this  being  during  Lincoln's  administration.  He  later  erected  an  oil  mill  and 
built  up  a  large  business.  Since  that  time  ;\Ir.  Emerson  has  lived  retired  and 
looked  after  his  property  interests  here. 

On  May  20,  1843,  Mr.  Emerson  married  Miss  Eliza  Woodman,  daughter 
of  Joshua  and  Sallie  (Smith)  Woodman,  and  to  this  union  have  been  born 
these  children:  (i)  Helen  Edith  died  aged  twenty-six.  (2)  William  T..  born 
July  23.  1848,  died  Aug.  29,  1897.  He  had  grown  to  manhood  in  Racme,  had 
attended  the  public  schools  and  had  finished  the  freshman  year  at  the  Racine 
College  in  1867,  at  which  time  he  entered  the  sophomore  class  of  the  Univer- 
sity of  Michigan,  taking  the  literary  and  scientific  course,  from  which  he  was 
graduated  in  1870.  Having  shown  great  proficiency  in  engineering,  he  was 
selected  by  the  Government  to  assist  in  the  coast  survey  of  the  Great  Lakes, 
and  such  was  his  success,  that  the  department  made  strong  efiforts  to  retain  hi's 
services.  He  declined,  however,  to  remain  in  the  Government's  employ,  but 
determined  to  follow  a  professioon,  and  consequently,  in  1871,  took  up  the 
study  of  law  and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  1873.  The  active  practice  of  law 
not  proving  quite  to  his  taste,  he  was  persuaded  by  his  father  to  assist  him  in 
the  management  of  the  Emerson  Linseed  Oil  Company.  This  position  he  con- 
tinued to  hold  until  his  death.  As  a  man  of  unquestionable  probity  and  sound 
judgment,  he  ranked  high,  and  success  in  those  enterprises  to  which  he  gave 
his  thought  and  personal  attention  seemed  assured  from  the  start.  (3)  Charles 
\\  .,  lives  at  home,  and  during  the  life  of  his  father's  oil  business  was  made 


154  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

treasurer,  a  position  he  held  for  twenty-five  years.  He  married  INIiss  Lucy 
Knight. 

The  founder  of  the  Woodman  family  in  America  came  from  England  in 
1632,  settling  in  New  Hampshire.  Mrs.  Emerson's  grandfather,  on  the  pa- 
ternal side,  was  Joshua  Woodman,  native  of  New  Hampshire,  and  a  large 
farmer  of  that  State.  During  the  Revolution  he  was  captain  of  a  company 
which  he  had  raised.  He  married  Lois  Woodman,  and  died  aged  about  eighty 
years.  Joshua  Woodman,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Emerson,  was  also  a  farmer  of 
New  Hampshire,  and  he  and  his  wife  had  these  children:  Daniel  S.,  a  physi-, 
cian ;  Joshua,  a  merchant ;  Dana,  a  farmer  and  business  man ;  Sarah  and 
Lois,  both  deceased;  Susan,  also  deceased  (Mrs.  Nath.  Hart)  ;  and  Mrs.  Emer- 
son. Mrs.  Emerson  was  born-  Eeb.  14,  1810,  and  is  now  past  her  ninety-fifth 
year.  Although  having  attained  this  great  age  Mrs.  Emerson  attends  to  her 
needlework  and  other  household  duties  as  one  many  years  younger.  She  is  a 
lady  of  brilliant  attainments,  is  highly  educated  and  is  a  Latin,  Greek,  Italian, 
French  and  Spanish  scholar.  She  is  a  graduate  of  the  New  Hampton  Semi- 
nary, and  at  one  time  conducted  a  seminary  at  Parson  Field,  where  she  had 
classes  in  Spanish,  Italian  and  French. 

Mrs.  Emerson  is  a  Daughter  of  the  American  Revolution.  Mr.  Emerson 
has  always  been  a  constant  attendant  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  and  was  a 
trustee  for  forty  years.  He  is  a  man  of  estimable  character  and  pleasing  per- 
sonalitv,  and  has  many  friends  thniughout  the  county. 

HIRAM  NEWMAN,  a  very  highly  esteemed  citizen  of  Mt.  Pleasant 
township,  Racine  county,  is  now  engaged  in  cultivating  the  soil  in  Section  12. 
He  was  born  in  Greene  county,  N.  Y.,  near  Coxsackie,  Sept.  9,  1831,  son  of 
Shubel  and  Affa  (Losie)  Newman,  natives  of  that  county,  and  is  the  only 
one  living  of  their  three  children. 

The  Newmans  were  originally  of  Connecticut  stock.  The  paternal 
grandfather  of  our  subject,  Aaron  Newman,  was  a  native  of  Greene  county, 
N.  Y.,  and  lived  in  the  village  of  Greenville,  where  he  followed  farming,  and 
died  at  an  advanced  age.  His  wife,  whose  maiden  name  was  Thorn,  bore) 
him  a  large  family. 

On  the  maternal  side  our  subject  is  a  grandson  of  Hiram  Losie,  also  a 
farmer  of  Greene  county.  N.  Y.  He  died  in  middle  age,  while  his  wife,  who 
bore  the  maiden  name  of  Affa  Deo,  and  was  of  French  descent,  lived  some 
years  after.     They  also  had  a  large  family. 

Shubel  Newman  followed  farming  in  New  York  State  nearlv  all  of  his 
life.  He  came  West  and  located  in  Chicago,  living  with  a  daughter  there 
initil  his  death,  in  1876,  wdien  sixty-eight  years  of  age:  his  first  wife  passed 
away  in  1840,  when  thirty  years  old.  Both  were  Baptists.  His  second  wife 
was  Ann  Losie,  sister  of  his  first,  and  of  the  three  children  born  to  the  second 
union  only  one  is  now  living,  Fidelia,  the  wife  of  Wallice  Jennings,  who 
makes  her  residence  in  Brooklyn,  New  York. 

Hiram  Newman  was  reared  in  Greene  county  on  his  father's  farm,  and 
attended  the  district  schools  and  Green's  Academy.  He  then  taught  school 
for  six  or  seven  years,  spending  four  years  thus  in  Nev.-  York,  one  year  in 
Ohio,  and  three  terms  in  Wisconsin.     He  came  to  the  latter  State  in   iS^v 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  155 

settling  in  the  western  part  of  Alt.  Pleasant  township,  taught  school  for  two 
winters,  and  then  went  to  farming,  purchasing  a  tract  of  forty  acres,  upon 
which  he  operated  for  six  years.  This  land  he  then  sold  and  purchased  160 
acres,  the  farm  upon  which  he  now  resides,  having  continued  to  live  on  this 
place  for  about  forty-five  years.  It  is  located  about  four  miles  from  the  post 
office  and  is  one  of  the  fine  farms  of  the  township,  being  well  improved  with 
substantial,  modern  farm  buildings,  and  well  supplied  with  modern  ma- 
chinery. 

In  March,  1857,  ^^^'-  Newman  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Gordon,  daugh- 
ter of  Roswell  and  Katie  (Stuart)  Gordon,  and  three  children  were  born  to 
this  union:  Ella  married  Robert  E.  Jones,  and  now  resides  in  Milwaukee; 
Miss  Emma,  who  lives  at  home,  has  followed  teaching  for  several  years ; 
Herbert,  who  is  now  deceased,  married  Mary  Perkins,  a  teacher,  of  Bur- 
lington, Wis. ;  Herbert  Newman  also  taught  for  some  years.  Mrs.  Elizabeth 
(Gordon)  Newman  died  in  1863,  aged  thirty-six  years.  She  was  a  Baptist. 
Mr.  Newman  was  married  (second)  in  January,  1864,  to  Miss  Hattie 
Ouackenbush,  daughter  of  Frederick  and  Nancy  (Dorn)  Quackenbush,  the 
former  of  whom  came  from  New  York  State  while  Wisconsin  was  a  terri- 
tory and  Southport  (now  Kenosha)  a  small  village.  There  were  no  rail- 
roads, the  trip  being  made  by  canal  and  the  Great  Lakes,  and  the  Ouacken- 
bushes  settled  in  Kenosha  county.  Both  Mr.  and  Mrs.  QuackenbusJi  died 
when  comparatively  young,  he  when  fifty-one  and  she  when  forty-three. 
leaving  four  small  children.  Hattie,  who  was  the  oldest  daughter,  taught 
school  for  a  number  of  years  before  her  marriage  to  Mr.  Newman.  One 
daughter  was  born  to  this  marriage,  Marie,  who  married  Rev.  Clyde  Magee, 
a  Congregational  minister,  and  lives  at  Clinton  Junction.  She  is  a  graduate 
of  Racine  High  School  and  also  of  the  Northwestern  School  of  Oratory, 
and  Rev.  Mr.  Magee  is  a  graduate  of  Ann  Arbor  University  and  of  Chicago 
University. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Newman  are  members  of  the  Baptist  Church,  in  whicli 
he  is  serving  as  deacon.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and  for  two  years 
was  chairman  of  the  town  of  Mt.  Pleasant,  also  serving  a  number  of  years  as 
supervisor.     In  the  early  days  he  served  the  town  as  superintendent. 

THOMAS  HAY,  a  prominent  contractor  and  builder  of  Racine.  Wis., 
residing  at  No.  13 14  Thurston  avenue,  was  born  in  Raymond  township.  Ra- 
cine county.  May  3.  1864.  son  of  John  and  Hannah  Bottomley  Brown 
Hay.  natives  of  England. 

Andrew  Hay.  the  paternal  grandfather,  was  a  native  of  Alnwick. 
Northumberland,  England,  where  he  died.  The  maternal  grandfather  was 
Edwin  Bottomley,  a  native  of  Yorkshire,  England,  who  came  from  that 
country  to  America  in  1842,  and  settled  in  the  town  of  Rochester.  Racine 
Co.,  Wis.,  engaging  in  farming.  He  died  there  Nov.  17.  1850.  aged  forty- 
one  years.  His  wife  was  Martha  (Jessup)  Bottomley.  and  they  had  a  fam- 
ily of  .seven  children,  as  follows:  Thomas.  Cecelia.  Ruth,  Selina,  Arminal, 
Mary  and  Hannah. 

John  Hay.  father  of  Thomas,  came  to  America  in  1843,  when  a  ynung 
man.  and  settled  in  the  town  of  RaynKmd.  where  he  purchased  a  farm  of  163 


156  'COMMEMORATR^E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

acres,  which  he  improved.  His  children  were  all  born  and  reared  there.  He 
died  Aug.  31.  1870.  on  tliis  farm,  aged  forty-six  years  and  five  months, 
while  his  wife  passed  away  Oct.  4.  1893.  aged  sixty-five  years.  Both  were 
originally  Bible  Christians,  and  later  Alethodists.  Of  their  ten  children,  six 
are  now  living :  Martha,  the  wife  of  William  Gooder,  of  Pleasant  Green, 
Kans. :  Jane,  the  wife  of  George  Ball,  of  Yorkville  township;  Margaret,  the 
wife  of  Mark  Foxwell,  of  Racine;  Thomas,  our  subject;  Henry  D.,  of  York- 
ville township ;  and  Alfred  E.,  of  St.  Ignace,  Mich.  Of  the  others,  Andrew 
died  May  i.  1894,  and  Edwin  in  October,  1899.  The  mother  of  this  family 
was  twice  married,  her  first  husband,  Mr.  Brown,  dying  of  typhoid  fever 
shortly  after  their  marriage. 

Thomas  Hay  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm  in  Raymond  township, 
and  lived  at  home  until  seventeen  years  of  age,  when  he  went  to  learn  the 
carpenter's  trade,  which  he  has  followed  ever  since.  For  the  past  fourteen 
years  he  has  done  contracting  and  building,  and  has  been  very  successful  in 
his  chosen  work.  He  came  to  Racine  in  1887.  and  here  he  has  since  resided. 
On  Dec.  25,  1889,  Mr.  Hay  was  married  to  Miss  Edith  G.  Skewes,  daughter 
of  Hannibal  and  Eliza  (Phillips)  Skewes,  and  four  children  have  been  born 
to  this  union :  Warren  Skewes,  Harrold  Phillips,  Cyril  Bottomley  and 
Thomas  Tamblyn.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hay  are  members  of  the  First  M.  E. 
Church,  of  which  he  is  a  steward.     Politically  he  is  a  Republican. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Hay  were  natives  of  England,  and,  on  coming  to 
America  at  an  early  day,  settled  in  Yorkville,  Racine  Co..  \\'is.,  where  Mr. 
Skewes  engaged  in  farming  and  school  teaching.  He  still  lives  in  that  town- 
ship, while  his  wife  died  in  1903,  aged  sixty-three  years.  He  was  town  chair- 
man for  many  years.  Both  he  and  his  wife  joined  the  Methodist  Church, 
and  he  was  a  local  preacher.  They  had  two  daughters  and  three  sons : 
Edith  G..  the  wife  of  our  subject,  Edward,  Manly  T.,  Clinton  H.  and  Lil- 
lian A. 

JASON  LOTHROP,  a  real  estate  dealer  of  Kenosha,  who  has  been  a  res- 
ident of  the  locality  for  over  sixty  years,  is  probably  the  oldest  man  in  busi- 
ness in  the  city,  for  although  he  is  over  eighty-six  years  of  age  he  is  still  active 
in  the  real  estate  line  and  often  does  surveving.  He  was  born  in  Newport, 
Herkimer  Co.,  N.  Y..  Jan.  13,  1820,  son  of  Jason  and  Susan  (Judkins) 
Lothrop. 

Jason  Lothrop,  the  elder,  was  the  son  of  John  Lothrop,  a  Vermont  farmer, 
who  moved  to  Massachusetts,  where  the  son  was  born  in  1794.  His  mother 
was  a  native  of  Wales.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Lothrop  had  a  family  of  nine  sons 
and  four  daughters.  Jason  Lothrop  taught  school  in  New  Hampshire  in  his 
young  manhood,  but  afterward  became  a  Baptist  preacher,  and  followed  that 
vocation  until  a  few  years  before  his  death,  when  his  health  failed.  He  married 
Miss  Susan  Judkins.  born  in  Danbury,  N.  H.,  daughter  of  Obediah  Judkins, 
also  of  New  Hampshire,  who  was  a  descendant  in  the  seventh  generation  from 
John  Rogers,  the  English  martyr.  Susan  Judkins  was  one  of  three  children, 
two  daughters  and  one  son.  To  the  union  of  Jason  and  Susan  J.  Lothrop  were 
born  three  children:  Jason;  Susan  H..  Mrs.  Burr,  of  Kenosha;  and  Lucien, 
deceased. 


S^U>^-?n^  ^^pt^Piyi^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  157 

In  1835  Jason  Lothrop,  Sr.,  who  had  heen  residing  in  New  York  State 
for  some  years,  jomed  the  stream  of  pioneers  pouring  westward,  and  reaching 
Wisconsin  settled  on  the  present  location  of  Kenosha,  Aug.  15,  1835.  He  was 
accompanied  by  all  of  his  family,  except  the  elder  son.  At  that  date  there  were 
but  three  log  huts  in  the  vicinity,  known  then  as  Pike  River.  Mr.  Lothrop 
staked  off  a  claim  and  built  a  cabin  where  the  foundry  now  stands,  but  after 
a  year  there  he  moved  onto  a  farm  a  little  less  than  a  mile  distant.  After  some 
time  he  left  this  location  too,  and  took  a  farm  lying  along  the  Illinois  line.  His 
last  years  were  spent  in  the  town  of  Kenosha,  where  he  died  in  1870,  his  wire 
following  him  to  the  grave  two  years  later.  Mr.  Lothrop  at  one  time  filled  the 
office  of  county  surveyor. 

Jason  Lothrop,  son  of  Jason,  spent  most  of  his  boyhood  in  Oswego,  N.  Y., 
where  he  went  to  the  public  schools  until  lie  was  twelve  years  old,  and  after- 
ward he  attended  a  night  school.  In  the  latter  he  obtained  his  first  knowledge  of 
surveying.  When  his  father  went  West  he  remained  behind  until  1843,  m 
that  year  joining  the  family  in  Kenosha,  or  Southport,  as  it  was  then  called, 
where  he  did  contracting.  He  was  concerned  in  many  of  the  early  enterprises 
in  that  region,  built  the  first  side-wheel  dredge  on  the  Wisconsin  river,  as  w'ell 
as  the  first  crane  dredge  on  Lake  Michigan,  and  surveyed  the  first  lots  in 
Muskegon,  Mich.  Surveying  was  one  of  his  chief  occupations  for  many  years, 
and  one  which  he  has  never  entirely  given  up.  Another  work  of  which  he  had 
charge  was  the  building  of  a  lock  in  the  Fox  river,  at  Fort  Winnebago,  and 
to  his  other  interests  he  added  the  management  for  a  number  of  years  of  a 
furniture  store  in  Kenosha.  Throughout  his  life  he  has  displayed  a  tireless 
energy,  honesty  in  business  matters,  careful  foresight,  and  resourcefulness  of 
mind,  which  have  made  him  one  of  the  most  honored  and  respected  citizens  of 
Kenosha,  and  have  also  enabled  him  to  acquire  a  competence  which  more  than 
secures  his  comfort  in  his  old  age. 

In  1842  occurred  the  union  of  Jason  Lothrop  and  Miss  Jane  Burnside. 
Their  married  life  covered  a  period  of  forty-three  years,  Mrs.  Lothrop  dying 
in  1885.  She  was  an  Episcopalian  in  religious  belief.  The  issue  of  this  mar- 
riage was  three  sons  and  three  daughters,  namely :  Donna  Maria,  James- 
Eustace,  Jason,  Jr.,  Ida,  Charles  S.  and  Susie.  The  eldest  son,  James  Eustace 
Lothrop,  took  up  his  father's  business  of  building  dredges,  and  was  for  a  long 
time  employed  by  the  government.  He  died  Jan.  30,  1891.  leaving  a  wife, 
wliose  maiden  name  was  Martha  Cora  Patterson,  and  three  children :  Maud, 
who  married  George  Duvall,  a  general  merchant  of  Kewaunee.  Wis.,  and  has 
two  children,  Gladys  and  Clarence;  Frank,  traveling  passenger  agent  for  the 
Southern  Pacific  Railroad  Company,  with  residence  at  Los  Angeles.  Cal. :  and 
Lotta  C.  who  married  James  Millar,  prominent  in  the  real  estate,  insurance 
and  loan  business,  and  has  two  children,  Marjorie  and  David.  Mrs.  Martha 
Cora  Lothrop  resides  with  her  daughter,  Mrs.  Millar.  Jason  Lothrop,  Jr., 
was  for  many  years  a  sub-marine  blaster,  and  was  killed  while  at  work 
through  the  carelessness  of  a  helper;  he  married  Miss  Ada  Parsons.  Charles 
S.  Lothrop  is  a  conductor  on  the  St.  Paul  railroad,  and  holds  the  office  of 
vice-president  in  the  Conductors'  and  Engineers'  Association;  he  married  a 
Mrs.  Mills.  Susie  was  a  teacher  in  the  public  schools  of  Kenosha  in  1877 
and  1878.  and  died  Sept.   19,   1878,  one  month  before  completing  her  nine- 


158  CO:\niEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

teenth  year.  'Sir.  Luthrui)  has  recently  arranged  tu  have  a  pipe  organ  placed  in 
Henry  AI.  Simmons  Memorial  Church  of  Kenosha  as  a  memorial  of  this 
daughter.     The  other  two  children  died  in  infancy. 

Mr.  Lothrop's  political  ideas  have  been  subject  to  de\elopment.  In  liis 
early  days  he  was  a  Whig;  afterward  he  was  a  Free  Soiler,  but  since  the  or- 
ganization of  the  Republican  party  he  has  adhered  to  its  principles.  Early  in 
the  forties  he  was  made  county  surveyor,  and  with  the  exception  of  two 
terms  filled  that  ofifice  continuously  up  to  a  few  years  ago.  Mr.  Lothrop  has 
seen  Kenosha  develop  almost  from  its  very  beginning,  and  has  always  had 
great  faith  in  its  future.  He  is  considered  one  of  the  best  authorities  living 
on  the  early  history  of  Kenosha  county,  for  his  accurate  memory  still  remains 
unimpaired.  An  instance  of  his  natural  power  in  this  line  is  the  fact  that 
while  Mr.  Lothrop  was  but  six  years  old  when  he  began  the  study  of  Hebrew 
and  Greek,  and  never  continued  those  branches  in  his  maturer  years,  he  has 
still  a  considerable  vocabulary  in  toth  languages.  He  is  still  an  active,  ener- 
getic man  in  spite  of  his  years.     He  has  four  great-grandchildren. 

Mrs.  Susan  H.  (Lothrop)  Burr,  a  sister  of  Jason  Lothrop,  is  an  older 
pioneer  even  than  her  brother  in  point  of  residence,  for  she  preceded  him  to 
Kenosha  county  by  eight  years,  being  about  eleven  years  of  age  when  her 
father  moved  there  in  1835.  Seven  years  later  she  returned  to  Oswego,  N. 
Y.,  her  old  home,  where  she  remained  until  after  her  marriage,  Sept.  20,  i860, 
to  David  B.  Burr.  They  settled  in  Oneida  county,  X.  Y.,  where  Mr.  Burr 
died  seven  years  afterward,  leaving  three  children,  namely :  Edwin  B.  and 
William  G.,  who  have  a  large  plumbing  establishment  in  Kenosha ;  and  Rob- 
ert H.,  a  dealer  in  commutation  railroad  tickets,  now  residing  in  Pasadena, 
Cal.  The  last  named  married  Miss  Eva  Thomas,  and  has  four  children, 
Florence,  Jessie.  Frank  and  Irene.  After  the  death  of  her  husband  Mrs.  Burr 
remained  in  the  East  for  some  time,  in  1886  returning  permanently  to  Ke- 
nosha. 

Mrs.  Burr  wields  a  facile  pen,  and  a  few  years  ago  prepared  a  paper 
which  she  read  before  the  Ladies'  Society  of  the  Baptist  Church  of  Kenosha, 
on  reminiscences  of  pioneer  life  in  Kenosha  county,  which  proved  her  rare 
ability  as  a  writer.  She  recently  celebrated  her  eightieth  birthday,  but  is  still 
cjuite  vigorous  for  one  of  her  age,  although  she  had  the  misfortune  to  have 
one  of  her  arms  dislocated  some  time  ago,  and  has  lost  the  use  of  it  as  it  was 
never  properly  set.  But  her  mind  is  clear,  her  memory  good,  and  she  is  a 
woman  of  fine  conversational  powers,  being  a  great  reader  and  possessing  an 
unusually  large  vocabulary.  Her  recollections  of  the  trials  and  hardships  of 
the  pioneer  days  of  the  county  would  make  an  interesting  chapter,  portray- 
ing as  well  the  joys  and  pleasures  and  strong  friendships  of  those  early  times, 
while  she  has  a  charm  of  manner  in  relating  these  things  that  captivates  the 
listener. 

FRANCIS  COX.  Among  the  prominent  and  influential  citizens  of  Ra- 
cine county,  Wis.,  may  be  mentioned  Francis  Cox,  who  is  carrying  on  agri- 
cultural operations  in  Section  15,  Dover  township.  His  birth  occurred  in 
Dover  township.  May  11,  1846,  and  he  is  a  son  of  Francis  and  Rose  (Xolan) 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  159 

Cox,  natives  of  Ireland,  the  former  of  County  Fermanagh,  and  the  latter  of 
County  Tyrone. 

Francis  Cox"s  paternal  grandfather  was  also  a  native  of  Ireland,  where 
he  died  at  an  advanced  age.  His  wife  was  Margaret  Higgins.  The  maternal 
grandfather  died  in  his  native  country,  Ireland,  in  his  youth.  He  and  his  wife 
had  five  children,  all  of  whom  are  now  deceased. 

Francis  Cox,  the  father  of  our  subject,  was  a  farmer  in  his  native  coun- 
try, and  on  coming  to  America  first  settled  in  New  Jersey,  whence  he  re- 
moved in  1841  to  Wisconsin,  locating  in  Dover  township,  where  he  pur- 
chased a  farm  of  eighty  acres,  and  added  to  this  tract  from  time  to  time  until 
he  at  length  owned  360  acres.  The  homestead  was  situated  in  Section  15, 
and  here  Mr.  Cox  lived  until  his  death,  in  May,  1865,  aged  fifty-six  years. 
His  widow  survived  him  until  May,  1874,  passing  away  when  sixty-three 
years  old.  Both  were  members  of  the  Catholic  Church.  They  had  six  children : 
James,  deceased:  Ellen,  the  wife  of  Philip  McManus,  of  Dover  township; 
John  H.,  of  Dover  township;  Margaret,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of 
Charles  McManus,  of  Dover  township;  Ann  Jane,  of  Racine;  and  Francis. 

Francis  Cox  received  his  education  in  the  district  schools  of  Dover  town- 
ship, where  he  has  passed  his  whole  life.  After  his  fathers  death  he  operated 
the  home  farm,  and  now  owns  the  original  homestead,  consisting-  of  160 
acres,  having  divided  160  acres  between  his  sons  James  Stephen  and  Francis 
W.  In  1868  Mr.  Cox  married  Miss  Julia  McManus,  daughter  of  Hugh  and 
Ann  (Welch)  McManus,  and  ten  children  were  born  to  this  union:  James 
Stephen,  Francis  W.,  Hugh,  Philip  John,  Charles  Thomas,  Mary  Ann,  X^elia 
Jane,  Catherine  Ellen,  Peter  Edward  and  Eugene  Oswald.  James  Stephen 
married  Mary  L.  Gorman,  and  they  have  two  children,  Verna  Marv,  and 
Leta  Catherine.  Francis  W.  married  Margaret  E.  Quirk;  Hugh  was  killed 
by  the  cars  in  1902,  when  twenty-eight  years  old.  Philip  John  was  in  the 
laundry  business  in  Chicago  for  some  time,  and  also  followed  school  teach- 
ing. Charles  Thomas,  a  telegraph  operator  at  Zenda,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis., 
married  Florence  Earl.  Mary  Ann  is  at  home.  Celia  Jane  died  aged  eight 
years.  Catherine  Ellen  and  Peter  Edward  are  at  home.  Eugene  Oswald 
died  when  aljout  four    years  of  age. 

Mrs.  Cox  died  June  i,  1897,  aged  forty-eight  years.  She  was  a  faith- 
ful member  of  the  Catholic  Church,  to  which  Mr.  Cox  also  adheres.  Po- 
litically he  is  a  Democrat,  and  he  was  township  chairman  several  years,  town- 
ship assessor  four  years,  and  clerk  for  some  time.  He  is  president  of  the 
Dover  and  Norway  Mutual  Fire  Insurance  Company. 

HIRAM  RITTER,  one  of  the  substantial  business  men  and  representa- 
tive citizens  of  Racine,  Wis.,  carries  on  an  extensive  merchant  tailoring  busi- 
ness at  No.  322  Main  street.  He  was  born  in  Nodtfelden,  Germany,  Ivlay  22, 
1833.  son  of  Dietrich  and  Katherine   (Fricke)   Ritter,  natives  of  Germany. 

Dietrich  Ritter  was  a  tailor  and  and  musician,  and  his  death  occurred  in 
Germany  in  1846,  when  he  was  aged  fifty-two  years.  He  was  a  soldier  in 
the  regular  army.  He  and  his  wife  were  of  the  Lutheran  faith.  Thev  had 
three  sons  and  three  daughters,  and  of  these  children  those  who  are  living 


i6o  COMME^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

are:  William,  of  r^linnesota ;  Katrina,  wife  of  John  Miller,  of  Minnesota; 
and  Hiram. 

Hiram  Ritter  resided  in  Germany  until  his  nineteenth  year.  There  he 
attended  the  schools  and  when  twelve  years  old  began  to  learn  the  tailoring 
trade.  In  1852  he  came  to  America,  settling  in  Galveston,  Texas,  where  he 
remained  for  nearly  a  year,  then  coming  to  Racine,  Wis.,  where  he  has  lived 
ever  since,  and  where  he  has  been  very  successful  in  business.  In  1863  he 
opened  a  shop,  in  partnership  with  John  Peil  and  Charles  Schmeiser,  the  firm 
name  being  Ritter,  Peil  &  Schmeiser,  and  as  such  it  continued  until  1874, 
when  Messrs.  Ritter  and  Schmeiser  bought  out  Mr.  Peil's  interest,  and  con- 
tinued together  until  1888,  in  which  year  Mr.  Ritter  bought  out  Mr. 
Schmeiser.  He  continued  the  business  alone  until  1894,  when  he  admitted 
his  son.  Jerome,  as  a  partner,  and  the  firm  has  since  been  Ritter  &  Son. 

In  1864  Mr.  Ritter  married  Miss  Fredricka  Wilhelmsen,  daughter  of 
Conrad  and  Charlotte  (Schrager)  Wilhelmsen,  of  An  Hargen,  Hanover. 
Four  children  were  born  to  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ritter,  as  follows :  Matilda,  at 
home ;  William,  deceased,  who  married  Callie  Cable,  and  had  one  child, 
Florence;  Louise,  a  stenographer  of  Chicago,  and  Jerome,  with  his  father  in 
the  tailoring  business,  and  married  to  Amelia  Keiser.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Ritter 
and  their  family  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  Mr.  Ritter  belonged 
to  the  Wisconsin  State  militia  in  the  early  days,  and  was  a  musician  under 
Captain  Wustum.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  In  1862  he  enlisted  in  the 
Civil  war,  but  was  rejected  because  he  was  not  considered  strong  enough 
to  undergo  the  hardships  of  the  service.  Mr.  Ritter  resides  in  his  residence 
at  No.  1 1 1 5  Grand  avenue. 

ELMER  ALEXANDER  MAXWELL,  a  prominent  farmer  of  Somers 
township,  Kenosha  county,  Wis.,  residing  on  a  large  estate  located  in  Sections 
33  and  34,  was  born  June  6.  1865.  in  that  township,  the  only  child  of  Hon. 
\\' alter  S.  and  Anna  A.  (Robinson)  Maxwell. 

Alexander  Maxwell,  father  of  W'alter  S.  Maxwell,  was  born  Jan.  24, 
1809.  in  Washington  county,  N.  Y.,  a  son  of  Walter  Maxwell,  who  was  born 
in  Scotland  and  was  a  very  early  pioneer  in  Washington  county.  He  mar- 
ried Jean  Alexander,  a  native  of  Glasgow,  Scotland,  who  accompanied  her 
father,  Robert  Alexander,  to  New  York  when  she  was  but  ten  years  old.  There 
Alexander  Maxwell  was  born  and  lived,  after  his  marriage  purchasing  the 
interest  of  the  other  heirs  and  succeeding  to  the  ownership  of  the  homestead. 
There  were  six  sons  and  four  daughters  in  the  family  of  Alexander 
Maxwell.  Walter  S.  being  the  third  child.  Five  of  the  sons  were 
stanch  Republicans.  Robert  A.  being  the  only  one  to  embrace  the  doctrines  of 
the  Democratic  party.  He  resides  at  Batavia.  N.  Y..  and  in  1895  was  elected 
fourth  assistant  postmaster-general. 

Hon.  Walter  S.  Maxwell  was  born  Sept.  12.  1836,  in  Washington 
county.  N.  Y.,  and  ahvays  followed  agricultural  life.  His  boyhood  was  spent 
on  his  father's  farm,  and  his  education  was  liberal  for  his  time,  including  a 
period  of  attendance  at  the  State  Normal  School,  after  which  he  engaged  for 
a  time  in  teaching.  He  came  to  Wisconsin  unmarried,  in  1850.  and  worked 
for  several  years  by  the  month,  providently  saving  his  wages  until  he  was  able 


^  /M^  --^^ 


(5.  ?f.  AC^-^L^u.^^ 


COAOIEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  i6i 

to  buy  land,  to  which  he  added  until  he  owned  310  acres  in  Somers  township, 
Kenosha  county.  He  died  at  Superior,  Wis.,  Aug.  17,  1S95,  when  past 
fifty-eight  years  of  age.  He  was  a  consistent  maiiber  of  the  Congregational 
Church.  Dvu'ing  the  many  years  which  Mr.  Maxwell  passed  in  Kenosha 
county  he  gained  the  respect  and  esteem  of  a  large  number  of  his  fellow- 
citizens.  After  coming  to  this  state  besides  farming,  he  devoted  himself  to 
operating  a  stone  cjuarry  for  some  years,  at  Superior,  Wis.,  owned  by  the 
Arcadian  Stone  Company,  of  which  he  was  manager  as  well  as  treasurer. 
He  became  a  very  prominent  factor  in  political  life,  and  at  various  times  filled 
offices  of  great  responsibility.  In  i860  he  cast  his  first  vote  for  President  for 
Abraham  Lincoln  and  continued  to  affiliate  with  the  Republican  party  until 
his  decease.  For  ten  consecutive  years  he  served  as  supervisor  of  the  town 
board  of  Somers  township,  was  elected  its  chairman  one  year,  and  for  one 
year  was  chairman  of  the  county  board.  In  1877  he  was  elected  to  the  State 
Legislature,  and  so  completely  did  he  perform  the  duties  of  that  office  that 
in  1 88 1  he  was  re-elected,  and  again  w-as  honored  in  1883.  Durnig  this  period 
he  served  as  chairman  of  the  Educational  Committee  and  was  a  member  of 
many  other  important  committees.  In  1884  Mr.  Maxwell  was  elected  to  the 
State  Senate,  where  he  served  for  four  years  with  credit  to  himself  and  to  his 
district,  earning  the  commendation  of  his  contemporaries  of  his  own  and  the 
opposite  party  on  account  of  the  honesty  of  his  public  actions.  In  every  emer- 
gency of  both  public  and  private  life  his  friends  and  his  fellow-citizens  knew 
just  where  to  find  him,  and  the  attachments  both  of  a  public  and  a  personal 
nature  were  many  and  close. 

Mr.  Maxwell  was  thrice  married,  first  to  Anna  A.  Robinson,  of  Easton, 
Washington  Co.,  N.  Y.,  who  died  in  1874.  She  was  a  member  of  the  Con- 
gregational Church.  Mr.  Maxw-ell's  second  marriage  was  to  Anna  A.  Green- 
baum,  a  native -of  Connecticut,  who  lived  but  two  years  afterward;  his  third 
wife  was  Cornelia  McLean,  of  W^ashington  county,  New  York. 

Elmer  Alexander  Maxwell  has  spent  his  life  mainly  on  the  home  farm 
in  Section  34,  Somers  township.  His  education  was  secured  in  the  district 
schools,  in  the  Kenosha  high  school  and  also  in  a  commercial  college  at  Osh- 
kosh.  He  was  married  Nov.  22,  1893,  to  Miss  Fannie  Caborn,  daughter  of 
Richard  and  Mary  (Carter)  Caborn,  and  they  have  had  five  children,  viz.: 
Elsie,  Walter,  Levergne,  Jean,  and  one  that  died  in  infancy. 

Richard  Caborn,  father  of  Mrs.  Maxwell,  was  born  in  England,  and  came 
to  America  with  his  father  when  a  boy  of  twelve  years,  growing  to  manhood 
in  Racine  county,  where  he  married.  He  was  a  soldier  during  the  Civil  war 
and  died  at  the  Soldiers'  Home  in  Milwaukee.  His  wife  died  in  1892,  aged 
fifty-six  years.  They  had  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  namely :  William. 
of  Colorado ;  Martha  Ann,  wife  of  Frank  Pounder,  of  Delavan.  Wis. :  Le- 
vergne, of  Ipswich,  S.  Dak.;  Charles,  of  the  above  place;  Fannie,  wife  of 
Mr.  Maxw^ell,  and  Roy,  of  Assiniboia,  Canada.  John  Caborn.  the  paternal 
grandfather  of  Mrs.  Maxwell,  was  one  of  the  earliest  settlers  in  Racine 
county  and  died  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township  in  old  age.  He  was  twice  married. 
Her  maternal  grandfather  was  Mason  Carter,  a  native  of  New  York,  a  farmer 
by  occupation.    He  came  to  W^isconsin  in  its  early  days  of  settlement  and  died 


i62  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

at  Darien,  Wis.,  when  over  eighty  years  of  age.     He  married  Ehza  AlcLean, 
\viio  also  H\'Cil  to  advanced  age. 

Pohtically  Mr.  Maxwell  is  a  Repnl)lic;in,  hnt  he  has  not  been  willing  to 
accept  political  honors,  choosing  rather  to  gi\e  his  attention  to  the  further  de- 
velopment of  his  fine  farm,  one  of  the  best  in  the  township.  He  is,  howexer, 
a  good  citizen,  and  is  always  to  be  counted  on  to  forward  progressive  niove- 
inents  looking  to  the  general  welfare  of  the  neighborhood.  Fraternally  he 
belongs  to  the  order  of  Modern  \\'oodmen  of  America.  Mrs.  Maxwell  is  a 
member  of  the  Baptist  Church,  to  which  Air.  Maxwell  liberally  contributes. 

HENRY  C.  \VILLL\MS,  who  was  born  in  Yorkville  township,  Racine 
•county,  Sept.  i,  1848,  is  one  of  the  pioneers  of  the  region  and  has  perhaps  a 
wider  personal  acquaintance  throughout  that  section  than  any  other  one  man, 
"while  his  genial  disposition  has  won  him  everywhere  a  popularity  most  flat- 
tering. His  public  spirit  has  added  to  this  and  made  his  position  yet  more 
assured,  for  his  fellow-citizens  have  been  quick  to  perceive  and  realize  how 
many  enterprises  looking  toward  the  general  prosperity  have  been  promoted 
by  Mr.  Williams,  the  several  public  positions  he  has  filled  having  all  been 
used  as  opportunities  to  further  the  improx'ement  and  development  of  the 
region. 

Air.  Williams  is  the  son  of  John  and  Elizalieth  (Ivy)  Williams,  and  on 
toth  sides  is  of  English  descent.  The  paternal  grandfather,  Henry  Williams, 
a  farmer,  died  in  the  old  country,  when  advanced  in  years.  The  maternal 
grandfather  lived  on  a  farm  in  Cornwall,  where  he  raised  his  family,  and 
where  he  died  in  old  age :  the  maiden  name  of  his  wife  was  Burrall.  Several 
of  their  sons  were  seafaring  men,  and  two  of  their  grandsons  were  officers 
in  the  British  navy. 

John  ^^"illiams  was  a  farmer  and  stock  raiser  and  came  to  Wisconsin  in 
1842.  He  settled  first  in  Southport,  now  Kenosha,  but  about  1842  moved 
into  Yorkville  township,  Racine  county,  where  he  took  up  eighty  acres  of 
Government  land,  adding  to  it  until  he  owned  295  acres.  He  brought  up  his 
family  there  and  made  it  his  home  until  his  death,  in  1878,  at  the  age  of 
.seventy-three  years.  His  wife  died  in  1873,  aged  sixty-three.  Both  were 
members  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  Four  children  composed  their  family. 
viz.:  Elizabeth,  deceased  wife  of  Thomas  Jones;  Thomas  I.,  of  Chicago; 
Eliza,  who  died  at  the  age  of  twentv-two  vears;  and  Henrv  C.  of  Union 
Croxe. 

Henry  C.  ^^'illiams  was  raised  in  Yorkville  township,  on  his  father's 
farm,  now  his  own  property,  and  was  educated  in  the  district  schools.  He 
also  has  another  farm  in  Yorkville  township,  at  present  owning  205  acres. 
He  lived  on  the  old  place  till  1884,  when  he  built  on  the  second  farm  a  hand- 
some residence  and  other  buildings,  and  now  has  one  of  the  finest  improved 
farms  in  the  township.  In  1894  he  rented  his  farm,  moved  into  the  village 
of  Union  Grove  and  establi.shed  his  present  mercantile  business.  He  had 
been  employed  in  the  same  line  for  other  people  in  his  younger  days  and  bad 
thus  acquired  an  experience  which  was  of  much  help  in  his  later  venture,  and 
which  laid  the  foundation  for  his  success.  He  does  a  large  business  in  agri- 
cultural implements  and  seeds. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  163 

Mr.  Williams,  who  is  a  strong  Democrat,  has  been  actively  connected 
with  politics  since  early  manhood,  his  first  office  being  that  of  justice  of  the 
peace,  for  whicii  he  was  chosen  at  the  age  of  twenty-two.  He  served  as 
supervisor  of  the  town  of  Yorkville  for  eleven  years  and  has  been  a  village 
trustee  for  Union  Grove  for  five  years.  He  was  one  of  the  county  board 
of  supervisors  for  three  years  and  tor  the  past  eight  years  has  held  the  oftice 
of  jury  commissioner,  a  record  that  abundantly  testifies  to  the  confidence  in 
him  felt  by  his  fellow  townsmen.  He  has  also  been  prominently  identified 
w  ith  many  of  the  business  enterprises  of  the  town  in  which  he  resides,  being 
a  stockholder  in  the  State  Bank  of  Union  Grove,  in  the  Union  Grove  Land 
and  Improvement  Company  and  in  the  Union  Grove  and  North  Cape  Tele- 
phone Company.  Mr.  Williams  has  in  the  truest  sense  grown  up  with  the 
country  and  has  both  aided  in  its  development  and  shared  in  the  attendant 
prosperity.     He  is  an  active  member  of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society. 

Mr.  Williams  has  been  twice  married.  His  first  union,  which  occurred 
Nov.  28,  1 87 1,  was  to  Miss  Adelia  M.  Lawrence,  daughter  of  Juda  Al.  and 
Janet  (Thompson)  Lawrence.  Six  children  were  born  to  that  union,  \iz. : 
Janet  Elizabeth,  a  milliner  in  Union  Grove;  Rock  Oscar,  who  died  when  four 
years  old ;  Maud  Alma,  a  school  teacher  at  Ives  Grove ;  and  three  that  died 
in  infancy.  Mrs.  Adelia  M.  Williams  died  in  1888,  aged  thirty-eight  years. 
She  was  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Church.  Her  parents  were  natives  of 
New  York  State,  the  father  born  of  English  parents  and  the  mother  of  Scotch. 
They  had  twelve  children.  Her  paternal  grandfather  was  named  Joseph 
Lawrence. 

Mr.  Williams'  second  marriage  took  place  June  12,  1895,  to  Mrs.  Naomi 
F.  Phillips,  widow  of  James  Phillips,  and  daughter  of  Oscar  J.  Stilhvell  and 
Hester  Ann  (Werner)  Stilhvell.  The  Stillwells  were  natives  of  New  York 
State,  who  were  very  early  settlers  in  Wisconsin,  and  now  live  in  Sparta,  \\'is. 
He  was  a  soldier  in  the  Civil  war.  Mrs.  Williams  is  a  member  of  the  'SI.  E. 
Church,  but  her  husband  is  not  identified  with  any  denomination. 

CHRISTIAN  ANDREWSON,  postmaster  at  North  Cape.  Wis.,  and 
one  of  the  enterprising  merchants  of  Norway  township,  Racine  county,  is  a 
native  of  Norway,  born  near  Gjovik  Aug.  2,  1858,  son  of  Andrew  Johansen 
and  Tonetta  Christianson.  natives  of  that  country.  The  father  was  a  shoe- 
maker of  near  Gjovik,  where  he  still  resides,  as  does  the  mother.  They  are 
members  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  and  the  parents  of  the  following  chiklren: 
John,  of  Forest  City,  Iowa ;  Carrie,  the  w'idow  of  Olans  Andreson,  of  Chris- 
tiania.  Norway;  Christian,  of  North  Cape,  Wis.,  Olianna,  wife  of  Jacob 
Sveum,  of  Norway;  Augnetta,  wife  of  Lars  Norby,  of  Gjovik,  Norway; 
and  Adolph,  of  North  Cape,  Wisconsin. 

Christian  Andrewson  lived  in  Norway  until  twenty-two  years  of  age 
and  there  received  a  common  school  education.  At  the  age  of  sixteen  years 
he  began  learning  the  shoemaker's  trade,  which  he  followed  until  1895.  He 
came  to  America  in  1880.  and  settled  at  North  Cape,  where  he  began  work- 
ing at  his  trade,  but  in  189.S  he  established  the  general  merchandise  business 
in  North  Cape  which  he  still  continues.  For  some  years  lie  also  sold  boots 
and    shoes    in    connection    with    manufacturing    them,    and    likewise    did    an 


1 64  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

extensive   carriage   business.      Ele  has   been   postmaster   at   North   Cape   for 
seven  years. 

On  Sept.  12,  1885,  Mr.  Andrewson  married  Miss  Bessie  Anderson, 
daughter  of  Anders  Johnson,  a  native  of  Sweden,  and  his  wife  Carrie.  Eour 
chikh-en  were  born  to  this  union :  Clara,  who  died  at  the  age  of  fourteen 
years,  ten  months ;  Alfred ;  Amanda  Christina,  and  Bessie  Amelia.  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Andrewson  are  members  of  the  Norwegian  Lutheran  Church,  and  he 
has  been  church  trustee  for  the  past  nine  years,  and  is  superintendent  of  the 
Sunday  School.  He  belongs  to  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  and  the 
L'nited  Order  of  Foresters.     Politically  he  is  a  Repulilican. 

WALTER  B.  BIRD,  of  Dover  tov.-nship.  Racine  Co..  Wis.,  whose  fine 
farms  are  located  in  Sections  2  and  13,  was  born  on  his  present  homestead 
Dec.  18,  1856,  son  of  William  and  Catherine  (Brice)  Bird,  the  former  of 
whom  was  licjrn  near  Montreal,  Canada,  and  the  latter  in  Glasgow.  Scotland. 

James  Bird,  the  grandfather  of  Walter  B.,  was  a  native  of  Scotland. 
He  and  his  wife  had  two  sons  and  three  daughters.  On  the  maternal  side  !Mr. 
Bird's  grandfather,  John  Brice,  was  a  native  of  Scotland,  where  he  died. 
After  his  death  Mrs.  Brice  came  to  America  and  settled  in  Dover  township, 
w'here,  after  a  residence  of  over  fifty  years,  she  died,  aged  ninety-nine  years 
and  nine  months.  She  and  her  husband  had  four  children,  and  Mr.  Brice 
had  two  children  by  a  former  marriage. 

Both  W^illiam  Bird  and  his  wife  were  early  settlers  in  Dover  township, 
and  Mr.  Bird  on  arriving  here  worked  several  years  at  carpentering  and 
farming.  In  1852  he  went  to  California,  via  the  Isthmus,  and  abouti854, 
returning  to  Dover  township,  purchased  120  acres  of  land,  to  which  he  added 
160  acres  near  Beaumont,  where  he  made  his  home.  He  died  there  Jan.  14, 
1905,  aged  eighty-two  years.  His  wife  had  passed  away  Feb.  3,  1900,  aged 
eighty  years,  in  the  faith  of  the  old  Scotch  Presbyterian  Church.  Mr.  Bird  was 
drafted  in  the  Civil  war,  but  managed  to  get  a  substitute.  Two  children  were 
born  to  them,  Walter  B.  and  William  J.  The  latter,  born  July  6,  1859.  died 
at  Fisher's  Landing,  Minn.,  aged  twenty-three  years. 

Walter  B.  Bird  grew  to  manhood  on  the  farm  which  his  father  settled 
in  Section  2,  Dover  township.  He  attended  the  district  school  and  remained 
at  home  until  April,  1903,  when  he  removed  to  his  farm  in  Section  13,  which 
contains  200  acres.  Here  he  remained  until  April  13,  1906,  when  he  returned 
to  his  old  homestead,  and  at  the  present  time  is  operating  both  farms,  which 
comprise  480  acres,  all  under  cultivation.  He  raises  and  also  deals  in  cat- 
tle, at  present  having  about  ninety  head  of  fine-bred  beef  cattle. 

On  April  15,  1903,  Mr.  Bird  married  Miss  Margaret  Ann  McCourt 
daughter  of  James  and  Margaret  Ann  (Whalen)  McCourt,  and  one  son 
has  been  born  to  this  union,  James  William.  Mrs.  Bird  is  a  member  of  the 
Catholic  Church.  Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  the  ^Masons,  and  politi- 
cally he  is  a  Republican. 

James  McCourt,  father  of  Mrs.  Bird,  was  liorn  in  Canada,  and  his  wife, 
Margaret  Ann  Whalen,  in  Long  Island,  N.  Y.,  whence  her  parents  in  an 
early  day  came  to  Racine  county,  and  engaged  in  farming  in  Dover  township. 
There  they  lived  on  Section  28,  with  three  of  their  children.     Mr.  and  Mrs. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  165 

McCourt  had  a  family  of  eight  suns  and  th.ree  daughters:  Margaret  Ann, 
Mrs.  Bird;  Frank;  Mary  Susannah  Ahce,  wife  of  John  Morrow;  James  Ar- 
thur; Gilbert  McCauley,  deceased;  John  Michael;  William  Albert;  Edward 
Eugene;  Catherine  Elizabeth;  Charles  Leonard;  and  George  Rupert.  James 
McCourt,  the  father,  has  served  as  town  assessor  and  town  treasurer.  Mrs. 
Bird's  paternal  grandfather,  Frank  McCourt,  came  from  Canada  to  Wis- 
consin among  the  pioneers,  and  died  soon  afterward  in  middle  life.  His  wife 
w-as  Susannah  McCauley,  and  they  had  seven  children. 

Patrick  Whalen,  Mrs.  Bird's  maternal  grandfather,  was  a  native  of  Ire- 
land. He  came  to  America  and  lived  in  the  East  a  number  of  years,  but 
about  1855,  with  his  wife  Bridget  (Hickey)  and  four  children,  came  to  Wis- 
consin and  settled  in  Dover  township.  He  purchased  a  farm  and  died  there, 
aged  about  eighty  years. 

CHARLES  McMANUS.  an  honored  and  well-known  retired  farmer  of 
Dover  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  followed  the  pursuits  of  an  agricultur- 
ist from  boyhood  until  1905.  He  is  now  the  possessor  of  a  line  120-acre 
tract  situated  on  Section  13,  Dover  township.  Mr.  McManus  was  born  near 
Montreal,  Canada,  Dec.  16.  1833,  son  of  Flugh  and  Ann  (Welch)  McManus, 
natives  of  Ireland,  the  former  of  County  Cavan  and  the  latter  from  Kil- 
kenny. 

Charles  McManus,  grandfather  of  Charles,  was  a  native  of  County 
Cavan,  where  he  died  in  middle  life.  He  and  his  wife  lived  to  advanced  age. 
They  had  three  sons  and  three  daughters.  Two  of  the  sons,  James  and  Philip, 
died  in  Albany,  New  York. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  Kerron  Welch,  a  native 
of  County  Kilkenny,  Ireland,  who  died  in  his  native  country.  He  followed 
farming  all  of  his  life.  His  wife  was  a  Miss  Fogarty.  and  she  also  died  in 
Ireland.  They  had  a  large  family,  of  whom  one  daughter  and  several  sons 
came  to  America.  Some  settled  in  Chicago,  several  in  Missouri,  and  one 
son  located  in  Dover  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  when  the  State  was  a  Ter- 
ritory, and  when  Dover  township  was  known  as  Yorkville  township,  taking 
up  Government  land.  He  married  Ellen  Dolan,  and  both  lived  to  a  good  old 
age;  they  had  no  children.  He  was  formerly  married  in  Canada,  and  had  two 
children  by  that  marriage,  both  of  whom  died. 

Hugh  McManus,  the  father  of  Charles,  was  a  miller  by  occupation.  He 
was  among  the  pioneers  of  Dover  township,  taking  up  Government  land  to 
which  he  added  until  he  was  the  owner  of  400  acres.  The  old  homestead 
was  situated  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Section  14,  and  there  he  resided  until 
his  death,  in  1885,  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  His  wife  had  passed  away 
in  1878,  aged  about  sixty-seven  years.  Both  were  members  of  the  Catholic 
Church.  Mr.  McManus  held  various  public  offices  when  Wisconsin  was  still 
a  Territorv.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Hugh  McManus  had  children  as  follows : 
Charles;  Philip,  of  Dover  township;  James,  deceased;  John,  of  Dover  town- 
ship; Mary  A.,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  Thomas  Power;  Catherine, 
deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  John  Cox ;  and  Julia,  deceased,  who  was  tlie 
wife  of  Frank  Cox. 

Charles  McManus  was  but  ten  years  old  when  he  came  with  his  parents 


i66  COMMEINIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

from  Oswego,  N.  Y.,  to  Wisconsin,  and  he  has  lived  in  Dover  township  evei 
snice,  with  the  exception  of  three  years  spent  in  St.  Louis  county.  He  is  one 
of  the  very  oldest  settlers  of  Dover  township,  where  he  attended  the  district 
schools,  and  remained  at  home  until  reaching  manhood.  His  father  gave  him 
a  start  in  life,  and  he  began  farming  on  an  eighty-acre  tract  in  Section  13,  to 
which  he  has  since  added  forty  more  acres.  In  February,  1867,  Mr.  Mc- 
Manus  married  Miss  Margaret  Cox,  daughter  of  Francis  and  Rose  (Nolan; 
Cox.  and  eleven  children  were  born  to  this  union,  five  of  whom  are  now 
living:  Hugh  F.,  who  died  when  about  fifteen  years  old;  Mary  A.,  who  lives 
at  home;  Catherine,  who  died  in  infancy;  Margaret,  who  also  died  young; 
Rose,  who  lives  at  home;  Charlotte,  who  married  Henry  BefTel,  and  lives  in 
Milwaukee;  Julia,  who  died  in  early  childhood;  Charles  and  Frank,  operat- 
ing the  homestead ;  and  John  and  Edmund,  deceased.  Mrs.  Margaret  Mc- 
Manus  died  May  28,  1902,  aged  sixty  years.  She  was  a  member  ni  the 
Catholic  Church,  to  which  faith  Mr.  McManus  also  adheres.  Politically  he 
is  a  Democrat,  and  served  as  town  clerk  and  school  clerk  for  several  terms. 
Francis  Cox,  father  of  Mrs.  McManus,  was  bom  in  County  Fermanagh, 
Ireland,  in  1809,  and  coming  to  America  settled  first  in  New  Jersey.  In 
1836  he  was  married,  in  New  York,  to  Rose  Nolan,  of  I'ermanagh, 
and  they  came  in  1842  to  Wisconsin,  landing  in  Milwaukee  in  May  of  that 
year.  They  took  up  eighty  acres  of  Government  land  in  Dover  township, 
and  remained  in  Milwaukee  until  September,  when  the  family  located  at  the 
new  home.  From  time  to  time  more  land  was  added  to  the  farm  until  it  com- 
prised 360  acres.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Cox  had  six  children  :  James,  Ellen.  John, 
Margaret,  Ann  Jane  and  Francis.  Of  these,  James  married,  Feb.  13,  1S62, 
in  Dover  township,  Bridget  Lavin,  daughter  of  Martin  Lavin,  of  Dover,  and 
they  had  eight  children.  Ellen  married  Philip  McManus.  Margaret  married 
Charles  McManus.  Ann  Jane  resides  in  Racine.  John  married  in  Water- 
ford,  in  November,  1864,  Catherine  McManus,  and  had  four  chililren. 
Francis  married,  Nov.  15,  1869,  Julia  McManus,  of  Dover  township,  and  has 
se\-en  children.     All  are  members  of  the  Catholic  Church. 

EDWIN  BUCHAN,  a  highly  esteemed  resident  and  large  land-owner 
row  residing  in  Union  Grove,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  owns  a  240-acre  tract  of 
land  in  Section  14,  Dover  township,  where  he  was  born  Dec.  16,  1844.  sou 
of  Edward  and  Jane  ( Tillie )  Buchan,  the  former  of  whom  was  born  in  Ball- 
inridge.  Scotland,  in   1812. 

Edward  Buchan,  his  paternal  grandfather,  was  a  native  of  Scotland, 
and  a  farmer  by  occupation.  His  wife's  maiden  name  was  Brown,  and  they 
had  a  good-sized  family  of  children,  one  of  whom,  Andrew,  was  a  soldier. 

The  maternal  grandfather  was  also  a  native  of  Scotland,  born  in  Edin- 
burgh. He  and  his  wife  came  to  America  just  before  the  war  of  1812,  and 
settled  in  Rochester,  N.  Y.,  where  their  daughter  Jane  was  born.  While  the 
daughter  was  still  a  baby  they  went  back  to  the  old  country,  and  there  lived 
the  residue  of  their  lives. 

Edward  and  Jane  (Tillie)  Buchan  were  married  May  15,  1834.  bv  the 
Rev.  Thomas  Adams  Peebles,  and  came  immediately  to  the  United  States. 
Thev   lived   at    Rochester   for   some  time,    :Mr.   Buchan   carrying  on   milling. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  167 

and  in  1839  they  came  to  Chicago,  111.,  by  way  of  the  Great  Lakes.  They 
lived  for  some  tune  at  Joliet,  HI.,  whence  in  1840  they  came  to  Racine  county 
by  ox-team,  and  settling  in  Dover  township  purchased  eighty  acres  of  Gov- 
ernment land  at  $1.25  per  acre.  This  land  Mr.  Buchan  improved  and  added 
120  acres  more  to  it,  and  here  he  lived  the  remainder  of  his  life,  dying  on  the 
old  home  farm  Oct.  10,  1856,  aged  forty-four  years.  His  widow  survived  until 
February,  1898,  when  she  passed  away  in  her  eighty-sixth  year.  Mr.  and- 
Mrs.  Buchan  had  children  as  follows :  Andrew ;  William,  deceased ;  Oliver, 
of  South  Chicago ;  Mary  Jane,  wife  of  George  Bremner,  of  Milwaukee,  Wis. ; 
Edwin;  Dr.  Alfred  L.,  who  died  in  February,  1905;  Caroline,  widow  ot 
Henry  W.  Wright,  of  Merrill,  Wis.;  Dr.  Samuel  C,  of  Racine:  Thomar* 
George,  of  Union  Grove,  Wis. ;  and  two  children  who  died  in  infanc}'.  Ed- 
ward Buchan  and  his  wife  are  buried  in  the  Dover  and  Yorkville  cemetery. 
They  were  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church  in  which  he  was  an  elder. 
Mr.  Buchan  was  a  justice  of  the  peace  for  many  years. 

Edwin  Buchan  spent  his  entire  time  on  the  farm  which  his  father  owned 
until  Nov.  8,  1905,  when  he  retired  and  moved  to  Union  Grove.  He  was 
educated  in  the  district  schools,  and  has  spent  his  life  in  farming.  He  added 
to  the  home  farm,  and  then  sold  part  of  it,  and  now  owns  the  old  home  and 
240  acres  of  finely  improved  land.  On  Nov.  18,  1869,  he  married  Miss 
Mary  S.  Rennie,  daughter  of  Alexander  and  Mary  (Campbell)  Rennie,  and 
five  children  were  born  to  this  union:  Frajik  E..  Flora  D.,  Jennie  F.,  Mary 
C.  and  Tillie  May.  ( i )  Frank  E.  married  Carrie  I.  Hoyt,  of  Rochester  town- 
ship. (2)  Flora  D.  married  Dr.  Judson  C.  Packard,  a  dentist  of  Racine,  and 
after  his  death  she  married  (second)  Hiram  J.  Smith,  the  present  postmaster 
of  Racine,  and  a  prominent  business  man  of  that  city.  (3)  Jennie  F.  died 
when  two  and  one-half  years  old.  (4)  Mary  C.  who  died  July  11,  1896.  in 
her  twentieth  year,  was  bom  Sept.  18.  1876.  She  was  a  fine  musician,  per- 
forming with  equal  skill  upon  the  violin  or  piano.  She  was  a  loving  and 
dutiful  daughter,  of  a  very  happy  and  cheerful  disposition,  and  her  death  was 
greatly  mourned.  (5)  Tillie  INIay  married  James  Howe  Kelley,  of  Racine, 
Nov.  g,  1899. 

Air.  and  Mrs.  Edwin  Buchan  are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church, 
of  Dover  township,  in  which  he  has  served  as  elder  for  some  years.  Frater- 
nally he  is  connected  with  Corinthian  Lodge,  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  is  also  a  mem- 
ber of  George  B.  Lincoln  Post,  G.  A.  R.,  of  LInion  Grove,  being  quartermas- 
ter of  the  post.  Politicallv  he  is  a  Republican,  and  he  has  been  a  member 
of  the  board  of  supervisors  for  three  years  and  clerk  and  treasurer  of  the 
school  board  for  many  years.  Mr.  Buchan  enlisted  in  Company  G,  i ^T,d  HI. 
V.  I.,  and  served  until  the  close  of  the  war,  being  discharged  Sept.  18,  1865. 

The  grandparents  of  Mrs.  Buchan  were  all  natives  of  Scotland,  as  were 
her  father  and  mother,  who  were  born  in  Ayrshire. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rennie  came  to  America  and  located  in  Yorkville  tow!i- 
ship,  Racine  county,  among  the  early  settlers,  anrl  engaged  in  farming,  own- 
ing about  four  hundred  acres.  There  Mr.  Rennie  died  aged  about  seventy- 
five  years,  while  the  mother  passed  away  in  1874.  They  had  eight  children: 
John,  deceased;  Miss  Martha,  of  Union  Grove:  Robert,  who  was  n  soldier 
in  the  Civil  war  and  died  at  Chattanooga ;  Alexander,  of  LTnion  Grove :  Mary 


i68        cg:m^iemorative  biographical  record. 

S.,  the  wife  of  Edwin  Buchan;  Erank,  wlio  died  in  St.  Louis;  Hugh,  who  was 
a  salesman  for  Eield  &  Leiter  of  Chicago  foi"  fourteen  3-ears,  and  is  now  a 
merchant  in  the  Indian  Territory ;  and  Thomas  James,  of  Union  Grove. 

ALBERT  E.  BUCKMASTER.  The  legal  profession  in  Kenosha  is 
peculiarly  fortunate  in  being  represented  by  able  and  upright  men.  Among 
those  who  deserve  especial  mention  is  Albert  E.  Buckmaster,  whose  fine  record 
adds  lustre  to  his  profession,  while  his  public  spirit  and  progress  make  him  a 
most  useful  citizen.  He  was  born  in  Fayette.  Lafayette  county,  this  State, 
Sept.  6,  1863,  son  of  Benjamin  E.  and  Alsada  (Cook)  Buckmaster.  The 
family  name  originated  in  Scotland,  where  it  was  found  on  a  castle  as  early 
as  1314. 

Albert  E.  Buckmaster  grew  to  manhood  on  the  farm  in  Lafayette  coun- 
ty. He  attended  the  district  schools,  and  later  the  Darlington  high  school, 
from  which  he  was  graduated  in  1881.  For  four  or  five  years  he  engaged  in 
teaching  and  then  entered  the  State  University  at  Madison,  graduating  in  the 
class  of  1889,  in  the  English  Classical  course.  He  then  accepted  the  principal- 
ship  of  the  schools  of  West  Salem,  and  remained  in  that  position  three  years. 
Long  before  this  he  had  determined  to  enter  the  legal  profession,  and  when 
he  left  West  Salem  it  was  to  enter  itpon  his  professional  studies  in  the  Univer- 
sity of  Wisconsin.  He  attained  high  rank  in  his  law  class  work,  and  was  the 
first  president  of  the  Columbian  Law  Society.  He  was  admitted  to  the  Bar 
in  1894,  and  at  once  opened  his  office  in  Kenosha,  where  he  has  since  been 
actively  engaged  in  practice.  It  was  not  long  before  he  demonstrated  his 
ability  in  his  chosen  calling,  and  he  won  the  regard  of  the  older  practitioners 
by  his  conscientious  work.  For  five  terms  he  ser\-ed  most  acceptably  as 
district  attorney.  In  niatters  outside  of  his  profession,  too,  he  has  taken  an 
active  part,  and  is  found  at  the  front  in  all  movements  for  the  public  good. 
He  has  been  a  member  of  the  Soldiers'  Relief  Commission  for  several  vears, 
and  is  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  Y.  M.  C.  A.  He  is  also  a 
member  of  the  directorate  of  the  Masonic  Temple,  and  treasiu"er  of  the 
board. 

On  Dec.  22,  1891.  Mr.  Buckmaster  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss 
Nellie  Stalker,  daughter  of  Dr.  H.  J.  and  Ellen  M.  (iNIacNeill)  Stalker,  of 
Mauston,  Wis.  Three  sons  have  come  to  this  union:  Ben,  Dean  and  Bruce. 
Mr.  and  INIrs.  Buckmaster  are  members  of  the  Congregational  Church. 

Fraternally  he  belongs  to  Kenosha  Lodge,  No.  47.  F.  &  A.  ^I..  and  R. 
A.  M.  Chapter  No.  3.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  The  family  liome  is 
at  Xn.  463  Exchange  street. 

THOMAS  LLOYD  WILLIAMS,  a  prominent  Welsh  resident  of  Ra- 
cine. Wis.,  now  living  retired,  was  for  many  years  connected  with  the  political 
and  business  interests  of  this  city.  He  was  born  in  Dyffryn,  Merionethshire, 
North  Wales,  in  December,  1830,  son  of  Capt.  Evan  and  Catherine  (Lloyd") 
Williams. 

Cadwallader  Williams,  the  grandfather  of  Thomas  L..  was  a  farmer. 
He  was  a  native  of  Wales,  and  lived  to  an  advanced  age;  his  wife's  name  was 
Barbara.      His  grandmother  on  his  maternal  side  attained  her  eightv-cighth 


COAIAIE.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  169 

year,  while  his  g-reat-grandmother  attained  the  great  age  of  ninety-nine  years. 
Cadwallader  Wilhams  was  the  son  of  VVihiam  Ap  Robert  and  the  grandson  of 
Robert  Evans.  Evan  Wilhams,  father  of  Thomas  L.,  was  a  sea  captain,  and 
his  sons  and  a  brother  were  of  the  same  occupation.  He  made  a  number  of 
trips  to  America,  but  retained  his  home  in  Wales,  where  he  died  in  1849,  aged 
fifty-eight  years.  His  wife  passed  away  in  1838,  at  the  age  of  thirty-nine. 
They  were  Welsh  Presbyterians. 

Thomas  Lloyd  Williams  is  the  only  living  member  of  his  father's  family 
of  seven  children.  He  remained  in  Wales  until  his  nineteenth  year  and  re- 
ceived a  common  school  education  there,  after  which  he  was  apprenticed  to 
learn  the  draper's  trade,  which  he  followed  at  Carnarvon  and  Liverpool. 
Emigrating  to  America  in  1850,  he  located  in  Racine  and  engaged  in  general 
merchandising  for  twenty  years,  after  which  he  worked  in  the  woolen  mills 
for  about  twelve  years.  He  then  served  as  city  assessor  for  three  years,  and 
as  supervisor  in  the  Second  ward  for  four  years,  since  which  time  he  has 
lived  retired. 

In  1868  Mr.  Williams  married  Mrs.  Catherine  Owen,  of  Wales,  daugh- 
ter of  John  and  Jane  (Williams)  Lloyd,  the  former  being  a  carpenter  and 
farmer  who  settled  in  Racine  in  1842.  To  this  union  one  daughter,  Barbara, 
has  been  born.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Williams  are  members  of  the  Welsh  Presby- 
terian Church.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  Since  his  residence  in  Racine 
Mr.  Williams  has  made  three  trips  to  Wales,  to  visit  his  old  home,  where  he 
has  many  relatives.  Mr.  Williams  is  by  long  residence  and  business  career 
regarded  as  a  prominent  and  representative  man  of  Racine.  He- is  a  gentle- 
man of  high  character,  genial  and  aiTable,  and  is  a  recognized  leader  among 
the  Welsh  people  of  the  city.  He  wields  a  trenchant  pen  and  does  consider- 
able writing  for  the  Drych,  a  Welsh  paper  published  in  Utica,  N.  Y.  As  to 
his  connection  with  the  Welsh  Presbyterian  Church,  it  may  be  stated,  more 
in  detail,  that  he  has  served  it  as  a  Sunday-school  teacher  for  the  past  fifty 
years,  has  been  secretary  and  trustee  of  the  church  for  many  years,  and  one 
of  its  most  active  workers.  Striking  proofs  that  he  has  the  entire  confidence 
of  the  community  are  the  facts  that  he  has  settled  as  many  estates  as  any  man 
in  the  county,  and  that  he  is  so  frequently  called  upon  for  personal  advice  in 
the  settlement  of  complications  of  every  nature.  His  absolute  integrity,  his 
impartiality,  liis  patience  and  good  judgmetn,  and  his  active  mind  and  body, 
have  all  conspired  to  give  him  this  enviable  standing,  besides  marking  him 
as  one  of  the  most  popular  men  in  Racine  county. 

BENJA:MIN  FRANKLIN  HEWITT  (deceased),  for  many  years  a 
prominent  farmer  of  Section  4,  Rochester  township,  Racine  county,  was  born 
in  Vermont,  Aug.  22,  1833.  son  of  Mrs.  Hannah  (Freelove)  Hewitt.  His 
father  left  home  when  a  young  man,  and  came  West  prospecting  for  a  home. 
leaving  his  wife  and  son  in  the  East.  He  was  never  heard  of  afterward,  and 
it  is  supposed  that  he  was  killed  bv  the  Indians.  His  w-idow  married  (sec- 
ond) Josiah  Hill,  and  they  came  West  about  1844,  settling  in  Racine  county. 
There  were  four  children  to  the  second  union :  Evander,  of  Rochester ; 
Phoebe,  the  wife  of  George  Marsh,  of  Eugene  City,  Ore. :  Helen,  deceased. 


lyo  CO^niEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

who  was  the  wife  of  Henry  Loveland;  and  Annie,  the  wife  of  Letour  Love- 
land,  of  Kansas. 

Mr.  Freelove,  the  maternal  grandfather  of  Benjamin  F.  Hewitt,  came 
West  among  the  early  settlers  of  Racine  connty,  lived  in  Rochester  township, 
and  there  died  at  an  old  age.  He  followed  farming  all  of  his  life.  Mr.  Free- 
love's  first  wife  was  Sibelia  (Hart)  Freelove,  who  died  in  Rochester  town- 
ship, and  they  had  three  children,  two  of  whom  died  young;  the  other,  Har- 
•  ley,  now  lives  at  Oconomowoc,  Wis.  Mr.  Freelove's  second  wife  was  a  Mrs. 
Fitzsinger. 

Benjamin  Franklin  Hewitt  left  Vermont  when  a  small  child,  and  for  a 
time  lived  in  Pennsylvania,  first  at  Titusville  and  then  at  Alleghenyville, 
receiving  his  early  schooling  at  the  latter  place.  When  about  nineteen  years 
of  age  he  came  to  Wisconsin,  and  lived  in  the  village  of  Rochester  for  many 
years,  after  which  he  spent  five  years  on  his  father-in-law's  farm.  He  then 
purchased  ii6  acres  of  land  in  Section  4,  Rochester  township,  to  which  he 
later  added  twenty  acres,  and  here  he  continued  until  his  death,  having  made 
his  farm  one  of  the  finest  in  the  township. 

On  Jan.  i,  1861,  Mr.  Hewitt  married  Miss  Louisa  Maria  Gates,  daugh- 
ter of  William  and  Mirandy  (FowJer)  Gates,  and  six  children  were  born 
to  this  union :  Nellie,  who  married  Joseph  Cheesman.  of  Burlington  town- 
ship; William,  who  died  single  in  1903,  aged  thirty-two  years;  Frank,  who 
married  Jessemine  Potter,  now  deceased,  and  has  one  son,  Harrison  Potter; 
Louisa,  who  died  when  fourteen  years  of  age,  Abbie,  who  married  Benjamin 
Franklin  Schaub,  and  lives  west  of  Honey  Creek,  with  one  daughter,  Louisa 
Viola :  and  Celinda,  who  married  Roy  Vaughan  and  lives  with  Mrs.  Hewitt. 

Mrs.  Hewitt  was  born  in  the  village  of  Rochester,  Feb.  15,  1844.  Her 
parents,  natives  of  Vermont,  came  West  to  Illinois  among  the  early  pioneers, 
and  settled  at  Plainfield,  where  William  Gates  worked  at  millwrighting.  In 
about  1840  the  family  came  to  Racine  county,  and  settled  in  the  village  of 
Rochester.  Mr.  Gates  was  born  in  Ryegate,  Vt.,  in  181 5,  of  Scotch  parent- 
age. When  he  was  nineteen  years  of  age  his  father  died,  leaving  a  family  of 
four  boys  and  four  girls,  of  whom  William  was  the  eldest.  Early  in  life  he  was 
bound  out  to  the  carpenter's  trade,  and  his  natural  capacity  and  tireless  energy 
soon  brought  him  to  the  front  as  a  carpenter  and  millwright,  and  he  was  en- 
abled to  help  his  widowed  mother,  and  to  educate  and  rear  his  younger 
l>rothers  and  sisters.  In  1838  he  started  West,  and  found  employment  at 
Plainfield,  111.,  boarding  in  the  familv  of  Deacon  Benjamin  Fowler,  formerly 
of  Woodbury,  Vt.  On  Jan.  i,  1840.  he  married  Miranda,  the  third  daugh- 
ter of  the  Deacon,  and  in  the  fore  part  of  February  the  young  couple  left 
Plainfield  with  an  ox-team,  reaching  Rochester  on  the  fifteenth  of  the  month. 
They  occupied  the  old  log  tavern  located  where  West  Water  street  now  runs, 
and  in  1842  Mr.  Gates  erected  the  brick  block  east  of  Albrecht's  shop.  The 
same  year  he  built  the  "Barry  Hotel"  for  Jacob  Myers,  and  soon  afterwards 
bought  a  part  interest  in  the  sawmill  located  on  ^luskego  Creek.  In  1848  he 
purchased  the  farm  upon  wdiich  he  died.  About  1850  Mr.  Gates  joined 
Friendship  Lodge,  No.  18.  I.  O.  O.  F.,  and  held  nearly  every  ofiice  in  the 
lodge.  He  had  been  treasurer  of  his  school  district  for  many  years,  and  was 
one  of  the  trustees  and  soliciting  agents  for  the  Farmers'  Insurance  Company 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  171 

for  sixteen  years.  He  was  also  assessor  for  his  town  for  thirty-one  years, 
and  was  again  elected  a  few  days  before  his  death.  Nearly  every  year  his 
election  was  unanimous.  He  built  many  flouring  mills  throughout  the  State, 
and  twice  built  the  mill  at  Burlington.  He  also  constructed  the  first  separa- 
tor ever  made  in  the  Northwest,  it  being  built  in  the  house  located  where  the 
Grace  Church  now  stands,  for  J.  I.  Case,  who  operated  it  for  several  years. 
Mr.  William  Gates  died  in  April,  1892,  aged  seventy-seven  years,  his  widow 
surviving  until  Jan.  8,  1904,  when  she  passed  away,  being  past  eighty-one 
years  at  the  time  of  her  demise.  They  were  the  parents  of  two  children : 
John,  who  died  when  fourteen  years  of  age:  and  Mrs.  Benjamin  Franklin 
Hewitt. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  Airs.  Hewitt  was  Benjamin  Fowler,  a  na- 
tive of  Vermont,  and  one  of  the  first  settlers  of  Rochester  township,  Racine 
county.  His  wife,  Nora  Hayes,  was  also  a  native  of  Vermont,  and  they- 
had  a  family  of  sixteen  children,  thirteen  of  whom  grew  to  maturity,  and  four 
of  whom  are  still  living :  William,  of  Dakota ;  Benjamin,  of  Honey  Creek, 
Wis.;  Laura  A.,  widow  of  Henry  Ashley,  a  soldier  of  the  Civil  war;  ahd 
Abigail,  wife  of  William  Campbell,  of  Houghton,  Mich.  Grandfather  Fow- 
ler was  a  soldier  of  the  war  of  1812. 

BARTHOLOMEW  C.  THRONSON,  whose  business  is  located  at  Nos. 
309.  311  and  313  Main  street,  Racine,  Wis.,  is  engaged  at  the  furniture  and 
undertaking  business,  his  being  the  oldest  established  firm  of  the  kind  in  tlie 
city.  Its  capable  proprietor  commenced  his  career  as  an  undertaker  in  1875, 
and  is  a  practical  business  man  as  well  as  one  scientifically  trained  in  his  pro- 
fession, being  a  graduate  of  various  schools  of  embalming  (Cincinnati, 
1883.  etc.). 

Mr.  Thronson  was  born  in  Porsgrund,  Norway,  July  3,  i860,  son  of 
Charles  and  Kersten  Thronson,  also  natives  of  that  country.  Charles  Thron- 
son was  a  sailor  and  captain  of  an  ocean  vessel  for  many  years.  He  located 
in  Racine,  W^is.,  about  1867,  and  engaged  in  the  painter's  trade  until  two 
years  before  his  death,  which  occurred  Feb.  20.  1904,  when  he  was  aged 
eighty-two  years.  His  widow  still  survives  him,  being  eighty-one  years  old. 
Mrs.  Thronson  is  a  Methodist,  as  was  also  her  husband.  They  had  seven 
children,  five  of  whom  are  now  living :  Louis,  of  Burlington.  Iowa ;  Chris- 
tian and  Bartholomew  C,  of  Racine;  Dietrich,  of  Dixon,  III;  and  Caroline, 
wife  of  C.  Johnson,  of  Racine. 

Bartholomew  C.  Thronson  was  but  seven  years  old  when  he  was  brought 
by  his  parents  to  Racine,  where  he  grew  to  manhood,  receiving  his  education 
in  its  public  schools.  He  then  began  clerking  in  a  furniture  store,  continuing 
at  this  occupation  for  eighteen  or  nineteen  years.  Later  he  established  a  busi- 
ness of  his  own,  the  company  being  known  as  the  Hansen-Thronson  Furni- 
ture Co.,  of  which  Mr.  Thronson  was  president  and  manager  until  1903, 
when  he  purchased  his  partner's  interest.  jNIr.  Thronson  does  a  large  retail 
business,  supplying  complete  outfits  of  household  furnishing  goods,  and  occu- 
pying four  floors  and  basement. 

r^Ir.  Thronson  was  married  Sept.  29.  1881,  to  Miss  Ellen  Gunderson, 
who  is  the  daughter  of  Goutv  and  Betsy  Gunderson,  and  to  this  union  were 


172  COMMEMORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

born  four  children:  Edna  J.,  Clarence  J.,  Florence  and  Arthur,  the  last  two 
dying-  in  early  childhood.  Mr.  Thronson  is  a  32d  degree  Mason,  Consistory 
of  JMihvaukee,  and  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  i8,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  Racine 
Commandery,  No.  7,  and  Tripoli  Temple;  Racine  Lodge,  No.  32,  Knights  of 
Pythias :  the  Racine  Lodge  of  Odd  Fellows ;  the  Fraternal  Aid  Association  of 
Racine;  and  the  Royal  League.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  Mr.  Thron- 
son's  beautiful  home,  situated  at  No.  1428  College  avenue,  was  erected  by 
him  in  1892. 

Mr.  Thronson  is  one  of  Racine's  wide-awake,  enterprising  and  public- 
spirited  citizens.  He  carries  a  large  stock  of  up-to-date  goods,  and  his  store 
room  is  one  of  the  handsomest  in  the  city.  His  large  and  ever-increasing 
business  attests  both  to  his  personal  popularity,  and  to  the  popularity  of  his 
trading  emporium.  Mr.  Thronson  has  been  a  resident  of  Racine  for  thirty- 
eight  years,  and  he  is  one  of  the  best  known  business  men  of  the  city. 

JOHN  STOTT  BLAKEY,  of  Union  Grove.  Racine  county,  is  one  who 
by  the  exercise  of  the  various  talents  with  which  he  has  been  gifted  by  na- 
ture has  achieved  a  position  of  unusual  prominence  not  only  in  his  immediate 
locality,  but  through  the  surrounding  counties.  He  is  most  versatile  in  his 
powers  and  is  known  equally  well  as  a  business  man,  public  ofificial  and  ora- 
tor, while  for  many  years  he  has  also  found  much  time  for  church  work,  and 
for  activity  along  fraternal  lines.  Wisconsin  proudly  claims  him  as  one  of 
her  sons,  for  he  was  born  in  Racine  county,  within  a  mile  and  a  half  of  his 
present  residence  in  Union  Grove,  Sept.  2^.  1846,  son  of  Thomas  and  Mary 
(Stott)  Blakey. 

John  and  ]\Iary  Blakey,  the  paternal  grandparents,  were  1x)th  of  Eng- 
land. John  Blakey  was  a  butcher  by  trade  and  lived  to  a  good  old  age  in 
his  native  land.  He  had  three  sons  and  five  daughters.  On  the  maternal 
side  the  grandparents  were  also  English.  John  Stott  was  interested  in  woolen 
mills.  He  lived  to  1)e  ninetv,  and  his  wife  was  nearly  as  old  when  she  died. 
They  reared  a  large  family. 

Thomas  Blakey,  father  of  John  S.,  was.  like  his  wife.  ^Mary.  a  native 
of  Lancashire.  A  shoemaker  by  trade,  he  supported  himself  in  that  way  for  a 
number  of  years.  He  came  to  America  in  1844,  spent  one  year  in  Lowell, 
Mass..  and  then  moved  West  to  Southport.  now  Kenosha,  Wis.,  remaining 
there  only  a  short  time.  From  there  he  went  to  Yorkville,  Racine  county, 
and  after  working  for  a  long  time  as  a  shoemaker,  finally  bought  eighty  acres 
of  land,  and  engaged  in  farming.  Later  he  added  eighty  acres  more.  He 
and  his  wife  were  Methodists,  and  Mr.  Blakey  acted  as  a  local  preacher.  Mrs. 
Blakey  died  Jan.  28.  1878.  aged  sixty-two.  and  after  this  loss  Mr.  Blakey 
went  to  Leadville.  Colo.,  where  a  son  was  living.  There  he  was  married  again, 
to  ^Irs.  Rebecca  J.  Hussey.  and  they  moved  to  Spirit  Lake,  Iowa,  where  he 
passed  away  May  18,  1887,  aged  seventy  years.  His  widow  returned  to 
Leadville.  His  children,  all  by  the  first  marriage,  were :  Emma,  deceased 
wife  of  Eugene  Rice;  Harriet,  widow  of  John  Smith,  and  now  living  in 
Dover.  Racine  county;  John  S..  of  Union  Grove;  Austin,  who  is  engaged  in 
silver  mining  in  Leadville,  Colo. :  Jane,  wife  of  S.  G.  Goldsworthy,  of  York- 


COM.ME^^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 


173 


ville;  Darius,  of  Spirit  Lake,  Iowa;  Alvin,  a  real  estate  dealer  in  Cliicago; 
and  Charles,  a  retired  farmer  in  Estherville,  Iowa. 

John  S.  Blakey  has  always  lived  in  Racine  county.  Brought  up  on  his 
father's  farm,  he  acquired  his  education  in  the  district  schools,  after  which 
he  went  to  Milwaukee  and  completed  the  course  offiered  in  Spencer's  Com- 
mercial College.  At  the  age  of  seventeen  he  went  to  Rochester  to  learn  the 
milling  business,  and  has  been  largely  engaged  in  it  ever  since,  although  he 
has  also  dealt  extensively  in  grain,  wool  and  live  stock.  He  started  in  busi- 
ness for  himself  at  Union  Grove  in  1875,  but  afterward  went  back  to  Roch- 
ester, and  was  in  the  milling  business  there  for  two  years,  the  firm  being  Rus- 
sell &  Blakey.  He  then  returned  to  Union  Grove  and  has  been  in  business 
there  ever  since.  In  1899  he  and  Mr.  Charles  Carpenter,  of  Racine,  estab- 
lished a  private  bank  in  Union  Grove,  wdiich  two  years  later  they  sold  out  to 
O.  P.  Graham.  In  1903  the  State  Legislature  passed  a  law  forbidding  any 
private  banks  in  Wisconsin,  so  the  business  was  re-organized  with  Mr.  John 
S.  Blakey  as  president  and  Mr.  O.  P.  Graham  as  cashier.  It  has  since  been 
known  as  the  State  Bank  of  Union  Grove,  organized  with  a  capital  stock  of 
$10,000.  Mr.  Blakey  has  always  been  recognized  as  a  man  of  good  business 
sagacity. 

Mr.  Blakey  has  found  time  for  participation  in  many  matters  entirely 
outside  of  his  own  personal  business.  When  only  thirty  years  of  age  he  was 
made  an  honorary  member  of  the  Old  Settlers'  Society,  of  Racine  county, 
and  from  1876  to  1902  he  served  as  its  vice-president.  Since  the  latter  year 
he  has  been  president,  and  fills  the  position  with  great  efficiency.  On  the  or- 
ganization of  the  village  of  Union  Grove,  in  1892,  he  was  elected  president 
of  the  board,  and  has  been  regularly  re-elected  for  the  fourteen  succeeding 
years.  In  church  work  he  has  also  been  prominent,  and  for  twenty  years  was 
clerk  of  the  Congregational  Church,  to  which  he  belongs.  For  a  like  term 
of  years  he  was  superintendent  of  the  Sunday-school,  but  finally  resigned. 
Lodge  work  has  likewise  claimed  considerable  of  his  attention,  as  he  is  a  mem- 
ber of  Purity  Lodge,  No.  39,  I.  O.  O.  F. ;  of  Grove  Camp,  No.  370.  Modern 
Woodmen  of  America,  and  of  the  Rebekahs  of  Racine,  to  which  his  wife 
also  belongs. 

While  a  strong  Republican  ]\Ir.  Blakey  claims  he  is  no  politician,  but  his 
friends  have  worked  hard  to  thrust  a  political  career  upon  him.  Always 
ready  to  do  his  part  as  a  good  citizen,  Mr.  Blakey  had.  previous  to  becoming 
president  of  the  village  board,  served  as  a  member  of  the  school  board,  and 
as  town  clerk.  When  McKinley  was  a  candidate  for  the  presidency  of  the 
United  States  Mr.  Blakey  took  the  stump  and  made  a  number  of  speeches  in 
both  Racine  and  Kenosha  counties.  He  received  many  encomiums  from  the 
press  throughout  both  connties  for  his  clear,  logical  reasoning,  and  was  recog- 
nized as  an  orator  of  no  mean  ability,  being  greeted  with  large  audiences 
wherever  he  spoke.  He  was  at  one  time  a  strong  candidate  for  nomination  for 
the  State  Senate,  but  he  expressed  to  his  friends  the  feeling  that  he  was  not 
entitled  to  the  office  and  said  that  he  did  not  want  it.  However,  they  insisted 
on  his  allowing  his  name  to  be  used  as  a  candidate  and  balloted  a  number  of 
times,  but  he  was  persistent  in  saying  that  he  did  not  desire  the  honor,  and 
finally  withdrew  his  name  as  a  candidate  before  the  nominating  convention. 


174  CO:\I^IEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

He  was  chosen  a  delegate  to  the  ^^'isconsin  State  Com-ention  in  1904.  In 
local  affairs  he  shows  a  keen  interest  and  is  solicitous  for  g-ood  government, 
and  of  the  welfare  of  the  community  in  which  he  resides.  Mr.  Blakey  is  a 
man  of  progressive  ideas,  public-spirited  and  enterprising,  and  is  one  of  the 
best  known  men  in  Racine  county. 

On  May  13,  1876,  Mr.  Blakey  married  3iliss  Mary  Belle  Brush,  daughter 
of  Charles  and  Permila  (Alcott)  Brush.  They  had  one  son,  Halbert  Brush, 
who  was  graduated  from  the  Union  Grove  high  school,  and  afterward  from 
Chicago  University  and  the  Rush  Medical  College,  and  who  is  now  practicing 
his  profession  in  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin.  Dr.  Blakey  is  quite  a  musician,  is 
a 'fine  pianist,  and  composed  the  music  for  the  University  Comic  Opera  pre- 
sented under  the  auspices  of  the  "Black  Friars"  of  the  University  of  Chicago, 
which  was  rendered  in  Mandell  Hall,  Chicago,  in  May,  1904.  He  comes 
naturally  by  his  talent,  as  Mrs.  Blakey  is  also  gifted  musically.  She  possesses 
a  clear,  sweet,  soprano  voice,  and  has  taken  vocal  training  under  Madame 
Barnette,  of  Chicago,  and  in  the  Luening  Conservatory  of  Music  hi  Milwau- 
kee, and  has  sung  in  a  number  of  cities.  She  has  also  sung  in  the  choir  of 
the  Congregational  Church  of  Union  Grove  for  many  years  and  has  done 
considerable  singing  in  political  campaigns  and  in  concerts,  in  all  of  which 
she  has  given  excellent  evidence  of  her  training  as  a  vocalist,  and  has  won 
the  highest  praise  from  both  the  public  and  the  press.  Both  she  and  her  hus- 
band well  merit  the  high  regard  in  which  the_\'  are  held  by  their  many  friends 
and  acquaintances. 

Mrs.  Blakey"s  parents.  Charles  and  Permila  (Alcott)  Brush,  were  na- 
tives of  Lorain  county,  Ohio.  Of  their  three  sons  and  two  daughters,  three 
are  now  living,  namely:  Leonard  .\.,  of  Portland,  Ore.;  Mary  B.,  ]Mrs. 
Blakey:  and  Charles  B.,  living  on  the  old  homestead  in  Lorain  county,  a  mile 
and  a  half  from  Elyria,  Ohio.  Two  of  the  sons,  Leonard  A.  and  Eldon, 
were  soldiers  in  the  Civil  war.  The  latter  died  in  Los  Angeles,  Cal.,  in  1904. 
Charles  Brush  was  a  farmer  and  stock  raiser.  He  died  of  typhoid  fever  in 
1858,  aged  forty-two  years,  and  his  wife  died  a  year  later  of  the  measles, 
aged  thirty-six  years.  Both  were  Methodists  in  religious  belief.  The  pa- 
ternal grandparents  of  Mrs.  Blakey  were  Benjamin  and  Elizabeth  Brush :  he 
died  well  advanced  in  years,  and  she  died  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven ;  they 
were  the  parents  of  a  large  family.  The  paternal  great-grandfather  of  Mrs. 
Blakey  was  from  Connecticut,  and  took  part  in  the  Revolutionary  war. 

DANIEL  McBETH,  a  farmer,  who  is  meeting  with  success  in  the  pur- 
suit of  his  chosen  calling  in  Section  17,  Yorkville  township.  Racine  county,  is 
one  of  the  old  settlers  of  the  region,  and  a  man  whose  integrity  of  life  and 
noble  character  have  made  him  widely  respected  and  held  in  affectionate  re- 
gard. He  has  lived  in  Wisconsin  since  he  was  seven  years  old,  but  was  born 
in  Wyoming  county,  N.  Y.,  between  Buffalo  and  Rochester,  July  21,  1838, 
son  of  Alexander  and  Elizabeth  (Morris)  McBeth.  He  comes  of  Scotch  and 
Irish  ancestry.  The  paternal  grandfather  was  the  first  of  the  McBeth  family 
to  leave  Scotland.  He  and  his  wife,  who  was  Christie  Smith,  settled  in  the 
State  of  New  York,  reared  a  large  family,  and  both  lived  to  advanced  old 
age. 


COM.MEMORATiVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  175 

Alexander  iNlcBeth  was  burn  in  rcrthshire,  Scotland,  in  17S7,  anil  came 
to  America  with  his  parents  when  a  child.  He  became  a  carpenter  by  trade, 
and  while  living  in  Xew  York  was  engaged  in  work  on  the  Erie  canal  at 
Lockport.  In  184S  he  joined  the  pioneers  who  were  seeking  to  better  their 
fortunes  in  Wisconsin,  and  located  first  in  Walworth  county,  near  Delavan, 
but  after  three  years  removed  to  Racine  county.  He  bought  120  acres  in 
Yorkville  township,  and  made  his  home  there  until  his  death,  June  16,  i860, 
when  he  was  over  seventy  years  of  age.  He  took  an  active  interest  in  the 
growth  and  development  of  the  country  and  served  in  a  number  of  township 
offices.  He  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Morris,  who  was  born  in  County  Tyrone, 
Ireland,  about  1807,  daughter  of  John  and  Elizabeth  (McLaughlin)  Morris, 
of  County  Tyrone,  and  whose  other  children  consisted  of  two  sons  and  one 
daughter.  Mrs.  McBeth  died  April  6,  1887.  They  were  the  parents  of  four 
sons  and  three  daughters,  but  only  two  are  still  living,  Daniel  and  Susan,  the 
latter  for  many  years  a  successful  teacher  in  Racine  county.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
McBeth  were  both  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  the  former 
officiated  as  a  deacon  in  it. 

Daniel  McBeth  attended  school  at  first  in  New  York,  and  later  in  Ijoth 
Walworth  county  and  Yorkville  township.  Growing  up  on  his  father's  farm 
from  the  age  of  seven,  when  the  family  moved  to  Wisconsin,  he  has  lived 
on  the  homestead  ever  since,  as  after  his  father's  death  he  bought  out  the 
other  heirs.  The  place  at  present,  however,  includes  only  eighty  acres.  He 
has  been  a  life-long  farmer  there,  and  has  Ijeen  quite  successful.  A  resident 
of  Racine  county  for  fifty-eight  years,  he  has  seen  the  country  develop  from 
a  wilderness,  and  he  is  well  known  throughout  the  county.  For  twelve  years 
he  served  as  township  assessor,  elected  on  the  Republican  ticket.  Although 
not  a  church  member  Mr.  McBeth  attends  the  Presbyterian  Church,  and  lias 
lived  according  to  the  strictest  principles  of  integrity  and  uprightness,  so  that 
he  has  won  the  universal  esteem  of  the  many  who  know  him.  Intelligent  as 
he  is  tlirifty,  he  stands  as  a  noble  example  in  the  community.  He  and  his  sis- 
ter. Miss  Susan,  live  together  at  the  old  homestead,  and  they  are  counted 
among  the  worthy  citizens  of  Racine  county,  whose  lives  ha-ve  been  a  bless- 
ing to  those  with  whom  they  have  come  in  contact. 

JOHN  ARNOLD,  superintendent  of  the  Racine  Woolen  Mills,  is  one 
of  the  most  prominent  and  influential  men  of  that  city.  He  was  born  July 
19,  1865,  in  the  North  of  Ireland,  son  of  Robert  and  Elizabeth  (Lindsay) 
Arnold,  natives  of  Scotland. 

Robert  Arnold,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  John  Arnold,  was  a  native 
of  Scotland,  where  he  died  in  middle  life,  his  death  occurring  in  the  mines. 
His  wife.  Margaret  (Gray)  Arnold,  lived  to  be  nearly  ninety  years  of  age, 
and  they  had  three  sons  and  one  daughter.  On  the  maternal  side,  our  sub- 
ject's grandfather  was  John  Lindsay,  also  a  native  of  Scotland,  who  died  in 
middle  life.  His  wife  was  Letitia  (Gray)  Lindsay,  and  she  lived  to  be  nine- 
ty-two years  old,  being  active  up  to  the  dav  nf  her  death.  Mr.  and  ]\Irs. 
Lindsay  had  one  son  and  one  daughter. 

Robert  .Arnold,  father  of  John,  was  a  miner  near  Paislev,  Scotland,  and 
afterward  mo\-ed  to  Newtownards,  County  Down,  in  the  North  of  Ireland, 


176        comme:morative  biographical  record. 

where  he  and  his  wife  still  reside,  he  now  living  retired.  They  had  twelve 
children,  eight  of  whom  are  now  living :  Robert,  of  County  Down ;  John,  our 
subject;  James,  of  Belfast,  Ireland;  Alexander,  of  Glasgow,  Scotland;  Isaac, 
of  Winnipeg,  Canada;  Joseph,  of  Racine;  William,  also  of  Racine;  and  ]\Iiss 
Minnie,  of  Newtownards,  County  Down,  Ireland. 

John  Arnold  was  reared  and  educated  in  Glasgow,  Scotland,  and  is  a  grad- 
uate of  the  Textile  School  of  Guilds,  London.  Immediately  after  graduation 
he  entered  the  woolen  mills,  serving  an  apprenticeship  of  five  years.  Later  he 
became  manager  of  R.  W.  Miller  &  Co.'s  mills,  and  was,  after  several  years, 
engaged  in  Glasgow  by  the  George  W'.  Ennis  Mfg.  Co.,  of  Philadelphia,  as 
manager  of  their  interests  there.  After  a  short  period  he  went  to  Saleni, 
Va.,  to  take  the  superintendency  of  the  Holstein  Woolen  Mills,  resigning  this 
to  become  superintendent  of  the  Racine  Woolen  Mills,  in  1901,  and  this  posi- 
tion he  has  held  ever  since. 

On  July  4,  1900,  Mr.  Arnold  married  Miss  Margaret  Stuart  Jones, 
daughter  of  George  and  Elizabeth  (Gregger)  Jones.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Arnold 
are  members  of  the  Presbyterian  Church.  He  is  a  past  master  Mason,  being 
past  master  of  the  Lodge  at  Newtownards,  Ireland,  and  is  also  a  Royal  Arch 
Mason.  He  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  252,  B.  P.  O.  E.  Politically  he  is 
a  Republican. 

George  Jones,  Mrs.  Arnold's  father,  was  a  native  of  North  Carolina,  and 
his  wife  of  Virginia.  They  had  four  children :  Margaret,  Mrs.  Arnold ; 
Minnie,  the  wife  of  Henry  Jones  of  W^ytheville,  Va. ;  John  and  Joseph,  of  the 
same  place.  George  Jones  has  always  been  a  farmer,  and  now  resides  in 
Wytheville.  His  wife  died  in  1880,  aged  thirty-one  years,  in  the  faith  of  the 
Lutheran  Church ;  he  is  a  Methodist.  Mrs.  Arnold's  paternal  grandfather 
was  also  named  George  Jones.  He  was  a  native  of  Eastern  Virginia,  and 
removing  to  North  Carolina,  located  near  Mountairy,  Surry  county.  He 
later  returned  to  Wytheville,  Va.,  and  there  died  aged  eighty-two  years.  His 
wife  was  Sarah  Poor  Jones,  and  she  also  lived  to  be  eighty-two  years  old,  and 
bore  her  husband  seven  children.  The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Arnold, 
William  Gregger,  born  near  Wytheville.  Va.,  is  still  living,  at  the  age  of 
eighty-four  years.  Mrs.  Gregger,  his  wife,  who  was  Mary  Hoback  before 
marriag'e,  died  aged  seventy-six  years.  She  had  been  formerly  married 
to  Levi  Kincer,  by  whom  she  had  one  child,  and  bv  her  union  with  Mr.  Greg- 
ger she  had  five  children. 

FREDERICK  FISHER.  The  family  to  which  Frederick  Fisher,  re- 
tired farmer  of  Kenosha,  belongs,  is  of  German  descent,  but  has  been  repre- 
sented in  the  LTnited  States  for  nearly  sixty  years,  there  being  three  genera- 
tions now  living  in  the  city  of  Kenosha.  Frederick  Fisher  was  born  in  Prus- 
sia, Germany,  Sept.  20,  1823,  son  of  Rudolph  and  Katherine  (Hulsker) 
Fischer,  both  natives  of  that  same  country. 

Rudolph  Fischer  lived  near  Lenan,  am  Techlenbourg.  was  a  carpenter 
by  trade,  and  died  while  still  a  young  man.  He  and  his  wife  had  two  daugh- 
ters and  a  son,  viz. :  Katherine,  deceased ;  Frederick ;  and  Sophia,  who  mar- 
ried a  Mendolph,  came  to    America    and    settled    in    Illinois.      After    ^Ir. 


n  yoCLc^^c.^.^^     Q^    a/^ yC^t^yjlit^ 


COMAIE^IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  177 

Fischer's  death  his  widuw  married  Edward  Hunsze  and  had  two  sons,  Ed- 
ward and  Rudolph,  both  now  deceased. 

Frederick  tisher  was  left  an  orphan  when  very  young  and  was  brought 
up  by  an  uncle,  of  the  same  name  as  himself,  who  lived  near  Dissen,  Hanover. 
He  attended  the  public  schools  when  it  was  possible,  but  had  few  opportuni- 
ties for  receiving  an  education.  When  fourteen  he  began  to  work  out  on  a  farm 
and  continued  to  do  so  till  he  was  twenty-four  years  old.  In  that  year,  1847, 
he  applied  to  the  government  officer  for  a  leave  of  absence  to  come  to  the 
United  States.  It  was  given  for  six  months  only,  but  Mr.  Fisher  accepted  it, 
thinking  that  he  would  jje  beyond  any  need  for  such  a  document  by  that  time. 
He  took  passage  on  a  sailing  vessel  and  after  six  weeks  landed  in  New  York, 
in  NovemJjer,  his  entire  property  amounting  to  two  Prussian  dollars  (a  dol- 
lar and  a  quarter  in  our  money).  He  proceeded  to  Buffalo  and  secured  work 
in  the  timber  regions,  where  he  received  his  board  and  six  dollars  a  month. 

Regardless  of  his  want  of  means  and  with  full  faith  in  the  future  Mr. 
Fisher  was  united  in  marriage,  on  the  nth  of  the  following  January,  to  Miss 
Mary  Francesca  Schneider,  daughter  of  Frederick  Schneider,  a  native  of 
Hanover,  Germany.  They  were  married  in  Eden,  Erie  Co.,  N.  Y.,  and  soon 
went  to  Wisconsin,  landing  at  Southport,  July  4,  1848,  with  four  dollars  on 
which  to  start  their  new  life.  On  the  day  after  his  arrival  Mr.  Fisher  secured 
work  from  a  farmer  named  Cady  and  remained  with  him  two  months.  At 
the  end  of  that  time  he  rented  a  piece  of  land  in  the  town  of  Somers  and  he 
and  his  wife  began  keeping  house  in  a  log  cabin.  They  were  industrious  and 
frugal,  and  enough  money  was  saved  to  purchase  a  tract  of  twelve  acres,  on 
which  Mr.  Fisher  built  himself  a  log  house.  When  his  first  little  place  was 
entirely  paid  for,  he  bought  five  acres  more,  and  later  twenty-three  more.  He 
then  had  a  good  farm  of  forty  acres,  with  a  frame  house  on  it,  where  he  lived 
for  many  years  and  brought  up  his  family.  In  1883  he  traded  his  farm  and 
moving  into  Kenosha  has  resided  there  ever  since.  His  present  home  was 
built  in  1 89 1,  and  he  owns  two  other  good  houses  adjoining  it. 

Mrs.  Mary  F.  Fisher  shared  her  husband's  life  for  only  a  few  years, 
passing  away  Aug.  20,  1853  aged  thirty-two  years.  She  was  a  member  of 
the  Lutheran  Church.  She  left  three  children,  namely:  William  F.,  of 
Kenosha;  Mary,  deceased  wife  of  Fred  Stemm ;  and  Louisa,  who  married 
Matthias  Pitz,  of  Kenosha,  and  has  three  children,  Rosalie,  Frederick  and 
Anthony.  On  Oct.  19,  1853,  Mr.  Fisher  married  a  second  time,  his  bride 
being  Miss  Eva  Barbara  Englehardt,  daughter  of  George  and  Margaret 
(Schneider)  Englehardt.  She  was  born  in  Germany,  Aug.  25,  1825,  and  lost 
her  mother  when  only  eight  or  nine  years  old.  The  father  died  a  few  years 
after  she  came  to  x-Xmerica,  which  was  the  same  year  as  her  marriage,  1853. 
Both  ^Ir.  and  Mrs.  Fisher  are  Lutherans.  Their  married  life  has  covered  a 
period  of  fifty-two  years,  and  they  celebrated  their  Golden  Wedding  in  1903. 

Frederick  Fisher  cast  his  first  Presidential  vote  for  John  C.  Fremont, 
and  ever  since  has  usually  voted  the  Republican  ticket.  With  a  true  Ger- 
man's love  of  his  fatherland,  he  is  also  a  strong  believer  in  the  ideas  and  in- 
stitutions of  his  adopted  country,  and  is  a  man  thoroughly  well  informed  on 
political  questions.  Although  he  and  his  wife  are  well  advanced  in  years, 
being  respectively  eighty-two  and  eighty,  both  are  still  strong  and  well-pre- 
served, alike  in  bodv  and  mind. 


178  CO^IMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

\\'iLLiAM  E.  Fisher  was  born  in  Somers  township,  Kenosha  county, 
Dec.  1.  1848,  a  son  of  Erederick  Fisher  by  his  first  marriage.  He  grew  up 
on  the  farm  and  attended  the  district  schools  till  he  was  seventeen.  .\t  that 
age  he  left  home  and  became  a  clerk  in  a  general  store  in  Racine,  where  he 
stayed  two  years.  The  next  eleven  years  he  spent  in  Kenosha,  in  the  em- 
ploy of  Seth  Doane.  and  then  went  to  Chicago,  for  a  year,  where  he  worked 
for  Marshall  Field  &  Company.  On  returning  to  Kenosha,  in  1879,  he  went 
into  business  with  others  under  the  firm  name  of  Fisher.  Lentz  &  Company, 
dealing  in  dry  goods  and  groceries,  but  after  three  years  in  partnership  they 
dissolved  the  firm  and  Mr.  Fisher  assumed  entire  control  of  the  dry  goods 
portion,  which  he  has  conducted  ever  since.  He  is  one  of  the  leading  mer- 
chants of  the  city  in  his  line,  employs  twenty  clerks,  and  has  made  a  great 
success  of  the  work.  From  the  very  beginning  he  has  had  a  constantly  in- 
creasing trade,  which  indicates  the  popularity  of  his  establishment.  En- 
tirely self-made,  he  is  a  wide-awake,  enterprising  business  man.  with  a  record 
of  which  he  may  well  be  proud. 

Mr.  Fisher  was  united  in  matrimony,  Oct.  21,  1873,  to  Miss  Rosalie 
Muntzenberger,  daughter  of  Conrad  and  Elizabeth  (Rahke)  Muntzenberger. 
Two  sons  have  been  born  to  them,  as  follows :  William  C,  who  is  interested 
in  a  sheep  ranch  in  Wyoming:  and  Arthur  F.,  employed  in  his  father's  store. 
Mrs.  Fisher  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  The  family  reside  at  No. 
364  Market  street,  property  owned  by  Mr.  Fisher.  He  is  a  Republican  in 
his  political  views,  but  not  active  in  party  work.  Socially  he  belongs  to  Ke- 
nosha Lodge,  No.  47,  F.  &  A.  M.,  to  the  Royal  Arcanum  and  the  Elks. 

The  Muntzenberger  family,  to  which  Mrs.  Fisher  belongs,  is  also  of 
German  descent.  Her  father,  Conrad  Muntzenberger.  was  born  in  Mainz  in 
1812.  He  was  a  brewer,  and  after  coming  to  America  in  1841  was  engaged 
in  that  line  in  Cincinnati  first,  but  in  1847  went  to  Kenosha  and  ran  a  brew- 
ery there  for  a  number  of  years.  He  was  a  man  who  took  an  interest  in  pub- 
lic aff^airs  and  served  on  the  Kenosha  school  board.  Before  leaving  Ger- 
many he  had  served  his  required  time  in  the  army  and  had  been  sent  to  Al- 
giers. He  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Rahke,  who  was  born  in  \\'orms,  and  a 
family  of  six  sons  and  three  daughters  was  born  to  them.  The  only  ones  now 
living  are:  Adolph,  of  Chicago:  Pauline.  Mrs.  Pierre  Funck,  of  Chicago; 
and  Rosalie,  Mr.  Fisher.  Mr.  Muntzenberger  died  in  1899  in  Kenosha, 
where  his  widow  is  still  living. 

The  paternal  grandparents  of  Mrs.  Fisher  were  Conrad  and  Rosalie 
(Schad)  Muntzenberger,  the  former  of  whom  died  in  Germanv  in  old  age. 
Their  three  sons  and  one  daughter  are  all  deceased.  The  maternal  grand- 
father was  George  Rahke,  a  son  of  George  Sigmund  Rahke.  Although  a  tailor 
by  trade,  he  for  a  time  served  in  the  army  in  France.  In  1839  he  came  to 
the  L'nited  States  and  established  a  tailoring  concern  in  Cincinnati,  where  he 
died  when  sixty-three  years  old.  He  married  Miss  Anna  Weaver,  daughter 
of  Jacob  Weaver,  and  the  wife  died  some  years  before  her  husband,  aged 
forty-six.  Six  children  were  born  to  them,  but  only  two  are  still  living, 
namely,  Elizabeth,  Mrs.  ^Muntzenberger,  and  Pauliiia.  Mrs.  Jacob  Henpel,  of 
Cincinnati. 

HENRY  REESMANN,  a  highly  respected  and  well-to-do  farmer 
whose  valuable  property  is  located  in  Sections  14  and   13,  Rochester  town- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  179 

ship,  is  a  native  uf  the  Province  of  Westphaha,  Germany,  where  he  was  born 
Aug.  12,  1828.  He  is  the  son  of  Joseph  and  Mary  (Funemin)  Reesmann, 
who  were  both  natives  of  that  country  and  the  parents  of  six  children,  three 
sons  and  three  daughters,  of  whom  besides  Henry,  the  first-born,  there  are 
surviving:  Gertrude,  the  wife  of  Anton  Biederfeldt;  Frank,  a  resident  of 
Burlington,  Wis. ;  and  Anna,  now  Mrs.  Henry  Hornemin,  of  Seneca,  Kansas. 
Joseph  Reesmann,  the  father,  was  a  farmer  of  Germany,  where  his  wife 
was  also  born.  In  1857,  with  their  five  children,  they  emigrated  to  America, 
settling  first  in  Dover  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  where  they  lived  with  their- 
sons  Henry  and  Frank.  The  latter  sold  his  property  interests  to  Theodore 
and  removed  to  California,  the  father  residing  with  the  two  sons  who  re- 
mained in  Wisconsin  for  the  remainder  of  his  life.  He  died  about  1877.  aged 
eighty-three  years,  his  wife  preceding  him  in  1869,  at  the  age  of  seventy. 
Both  were  members  of  the  Catholic  Church.  The  paternal  grandparents  re- 
mained in  Germany,  where  they  died  at  an  advanced  age,  the  parents  of  three 
sons  and  two  daughters.  The  maternal  grandparents  were  of  yeoman  stock. 
were  long-lived,  died  in  Germany,  and,  as  far  as  is  known,  had  three  daugh- 
ters and  one  son. 

Henry  Reesmann  received  a  healthful  training  upon  his  father's  farm 
in  Germany,  and  a  fair  education  in  the  schools  of  Bork.  He  decided  to  in\'es- 
tigate  the  advantages  of  America  at  first  hand,  so  in  1856  he  took  a  flying 
trip  to  the  New  World,  and  was  so  well  pleased  with  what  he  saw  that  Jie 
returned  to  Germany  the  following  year,  and  was  accompanied  to  America 
the  second  time  by  his  father  and  mother  and  four  more  of  their  children^ 
The  family  reached  Racine  July  4,  1857,  and  a  few  days  later  he  and  his 
brother  Frank  bought  a  farm  of  200  acres  in  Dover  township.  There  they 
resided  for  eight  years,  and  when  Frank  removed  to  California  Henry  and  his 
brother  Theodore  rented  a  farm  in  Burlington  township,  near  Brown's  Lake, 
operating  the  two  properties  jointly.  Henry  lived  upon  the  latter  tract  for 
five  years,  when  the  two  brothers  purchased  184  acres  by  government  survey. 
located  in  Rochester  township,  and  this  farm  has  been  the  homestead  of 
Henry  Reesmann  for  the  past  thirty-seven  years. 

On  May  11,  1857,  Mr.  Reesmann  married  Mary  Anna  Huser,  daughter 
of  Bernhard  and  Elizabeth  ( Wittenbrink)  Huser.  Five  sons  and  five  daugh- 
ters were  born  to  this  union,  of  whom  four  survive — Anna,  Henry,  Bernhard 
and  Charles.  Anna  married  August  Kleinvehn,  and  with  her  husband  lives 
in  Norway  township,  the  mother  of  one  son  and  five  daughters — John.  Mary. 
Clara.  Josephine,  Emma  and  Rosa.  Henry,  who  married  Mamie  Hetterman. 
is  a  farmer  of  Burlington  township,  and  is  the  father  of  Celia.  Leo.  Arthur 
and  Florence.  Bernhard  is  an  agriculturist  in  Rochester  township;  his  wife 
was  formerly  Miss  Rosa  Schwering.  and  they  are  the  parents  of  three  chil- 
dren— Frances.  Herbert  and  Edward.  Charles  is  unmarried  and  lives  at 
home.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Reesmann  and  family  are  members  of  the  Catholic 
Church.  Like  many  of  his  countrymen  Mr.  Reesmann  first  served  as  a  sol- 
dier in  the  regular  army,  joined  the  rebellion  of  1848,  and  when  he  became  a 
citizen  of  the  Lhiited  States  entered  the  political  ranks  of  the  Democracy. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Reesmann  were  born  in  Germanv,  and  her  father,  a 
farmer,   died  in  the  Fatherland,  at  the  early  age  of  thirty-nine  years,  her 


i8o  CO^niEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

mother  surviving  liini  until  she  was  sixty-six  years  old.  They  were  the  par- 
ents of  two  sons  and  seven  daughters,  of  whom  Mrs.  Reesmann  (born  in  No- 
vember, 1832),  WiUiam  and  Henry  (who  both  live  in  Germany)  are  the 
only  survivors.  Both  her  paternal  and  maternal  grandfathers  died  in  Ger- 
many, the  name  of  the  latter  being  Bernhard  Wittenbrink,  and  his  vocation 
that  of  a  farmer.  Mr.  Wittenbrink  died  at  an  advanced  age,  while  his  wife 
passed  away  in  middle  life,  the  mother  of  two  daughters  and  one  son. 

GUSTAVUS  A.  BEECHER,  one  of  the  representative  farmers  of  Do- 
ver township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  having  a  fine  farm  of  334  acres  in  Section 
36,  was  born  in  Germany,  near  the  Rhine,  Nov.  27,  1845.  His  parents,  John 
C.  and  Rebecca  (Lenz)  Beecher,  were  both  natives  of  Germany,  and  the  pa- 
ternal grandfather  died  in  that  country ;  he  was  a  farmer.  The  grandmother 
came  with  her  son  John  C.  to  America,  and  died  in  Brighton  township, 
Kenosha  Co.,  Wis.,  aged  seventy-six  years.  The  maternal  grandfather  of 
our  subject,  who  was  also  a  farmer,  served  in  the  army  in  his  native  country. 
He  and  his  wife  had  a  family  of  six  children. 

John  C.  Beecher,  the  father  of  Gustavus  A.,  was  the  only  child  of  his 
parents.  He  was  a  forester  in  Germany,  and  a  soldier  for  seven  years.  In 
1846  he  came  to  America,  and  located  in  Brighton  township,  Kenosha  Co., 
Wis.,  where  he  purchased  120  acres  of  land,  which  he  improved  and  upon 
which  he  lived  for  fifteen  years.  He  then  removed  to  Kansasville,  where  he 
was  station  agent  and  postmaster  for  twenty-five  years.  He  then  took  a  trip 
to  Germany,  remaining  one  year,  and  returning  home  in  1883.  He  died  aged 
seventy-three  years,  while  his  wife  passed  away  in  1887,  being  eighty-two 
years  old  at  the  time  of  her  death.  Both  were  Lutherans.  They  had  six  chil- 
dren, three  of  whom  are  now  living :  Emily,  the  wife  of  Julius  Gregorius,  of 
Sterling,  111. ;  Mary,  the  widow  of  Charles  Seirich,  of  Racine;  and  Gustavus  A. 

Gustavus  A.  Beecher  was  something  over  a  year  old  when  brought  to 
America  by  his  father.  He  was  reared  in  Brighton  township  and  in  Kansas- 
ville, attending  the  district  schools,  and  remained  at  home  tintil  twenty-two 
years  of  age,  at  which  time  he  was  married.  His  father  had  purchased  forty 
acres  of  land  in  Dover  tow'nship  in  Gustavus'  name,  when  he  was  sixteen 
years  old,  and  on  this  he  started  after  marriage.  He  afterward  sold  this  tract 
and  purchased  177  acres  on  the  west  side  of  Eagle  Lake,  where  he  !ive<l 
twenty-two  years.  Mr.  Beecher  then  purchased  liis  present  place  of  334 
acres,  and  here  he  has  since  resided. 

On  Jan.  i,  1867,  Mr.  Gustavus  Beecher  married  Miss  Mary  Ann  Sump- 
ter.  daughter  of  John  and  Mary  Ann  (Cheeseman)  Sumpter,  and  to  this 
union  eleven  children  have  been  born :  Edwin,  Rose,  Laura,  Belle,  George, 
Stella,  Frank,  Roy,  Ray,  Byrl  and  Ross.  Stella  married  Leslie  Johnson,  ot 
Springfield,  and  has  three  sons,  Lyle,  Harold  and  Ernest :  Edwin  lives  at 
home:  Rose  married  Fred  Blackburn,  of  Dover  township,  and  has  two  chil- 
dren, Grace  and  Gertrude:  Laura  married  Edward  Stephens,  and  they  live 
in  Eagle  Grove,  Iowa,  and  have  four  children,  Edna,  George,  Ethel  and  Ray- 
mond :  Belle  married  Silas  B.  Fish,  and  they  live  in  Walworth  county,  and 

have  three  children,  Florence,  John  and :  George,  Frank,  Roy,  Ray 

and  Miss  Byrl  are  at  home;   Ross  is  a  barber  in   Racine.     Mr.  and  Mrs. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  181 

Beecher  attend  the  Union  Gro\e  Cungregational  Church.     Political!}'  he  is  a 
Republican,  and  for  eighteen  years  he  served  as  clerk  of  District  No.  6. 

John  Sumpter,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Beecher,  died  in  Eng- 
land, as  did  his  wife,  Sarah,  and  also  Mrs.  Beecher's  maternal  grandparents, 
John  and  Betsey  Cheseman.  Mrs.  Beecher's  parents  were  natives  of  England, 
and  came  to  America  in  1850,  settling  in  Dover  township,  Racine  county, 
where  Mr.  Sumpter  carried  on  farming.  He  died  in  the  fall  of  1904,  aged 
eighty-six  years,  his  wife  passing  away  in  1899,  in  Alabama,  aged  seventy- 
seven  years.  They  had  a  family  of  twelve  children,  six  of  whom  are  now 
living:  Mary  Ann,  wife  of  our  subject;  John,  of  near  Riceville,  Iowa;  Fan- 
nie, wife  of  John  Murgatroyd,  of  Wood  county,  Wis. ;  George,  of  Citronelle, 
Ala.;  Alexander,  of  Union  Grove,  Wis.,  and  Alfred,  of  Union  Grove. 

HERBERT  O.  BAYLEY,  a  leading  agriculturist  of  Waterford  town- 
ship, Racine  county,  owning  land  in  Sections  8  and  9,  was  born  in  Windsor, 
Vt.,  Aug.  14,  1840,  son  of  Aretas  and  Mary  L.  (Leavens)  Bayley,  natives  of 
the  Green  Mountain  State. 

The  Bayley  family  has  been  in  America  from  Colonial  times,  John  Bayley, 
Jr.,  and  his  father,  John,  coming  from  England  in  1635  and  settling  in  New- 
bury, Mass.  The  latter  was  a  weaver  by  trade,  and  was  one  of  the  first  of 
this  name  to  emigrate  to  America,  coming  from  Chippenham,  about  seventy 
miles  due  west  from  London.  John  Bayley,  Jr.,  married  Eleanor  Emery. 
Their  son.  Rev.  James  Bayley,  married  Mary  Carr.  Their  son,  James  Bay- 
ley,  was  born  in  the  village  of  Salem  (now  Danvers),  Mass.,  and  married 
Elizabeth  Ruggles,  daughter  of  Capt.  Samuel  Ruggles,  of  Roxbury.  They 
had  a  son,  Samuel  Bayley,  who  was  born  Feb.  i,  1705,  at  Roxbury,  Mass.. 
and  married  Anna  Richardson. 

Joshua  Bayley,  son  of  Samuel  and  Anna  (Richardson)  Bayley,  was  the 
great-grandfather  of  Herbert  O.  Bayley.  He  was  born  March  17,  1735,  in 
Roxbury.  Mass.,  and  was  twice  married,  first  to  Mercy  Davis,  second  to  Mrs. 
Sylvia  Annis.  He  had  seventeen  children,  and  over  a  hundred  grandchildren, 
several  of  whom  died  young. 

James  Bayley,  grandfather  of  Herliert  O.  Bayley,  was  the  tenth  child  of 
Joshua  Bailey,  was  born  in  Marlboro,  Mass.,  and  removed  to  Vermont  when 
quite  young.  He  was  a  farmer  by  occupation.  Coming  to  Wisconsin  in  1850, 
he  settled  at  Sheboygan  Falls,  where  he  died  in  the  fall  of  1861,  at  the  age 
of  eighty-two  years.  His  wife.  Hannah  (Chapin).  died  the  following  spring, 
when  seventy-seven  years  old.  They  had  seven  children,  five  of  whom  lived 
to  maturity:  Calvin,  who  died  when  nearly  ninety-four  years  of  age;  Aretas. 
who  died  when  past  ninety-two  years ;  Royal,  who  was  past  ninety  years  of 
age  at  his  death;  Huldah.  who  was  the  wife  of  Darius  Leavens,  and  who 
died  in  Colorado  aged  about  eighty-three  years;  and  Miss  Sarah,  who  is  still 
living  at  the  age  of  eighty-two  years.  There  were  seventeen  grandchildren, 
twelve  of  whom  are  now  living. 

Aretas  Bayley,  father  of  Herbert  O.,  came  to  \\''isconsin  in  1842,  and  pur- 
chased 160  acres  of  land  in  Waterford  township,  Racine  county,  to  which  he 
later  added  forty  acres,  improving  all.  He  married  Mary  L.  Leavens,  daugh- 
ter of  Charles  Leavens,  a  native  of  Vermont,  and  a  farmer  by  occupation,  who 
lived  in  West  Windsor,  Vt..  and  died  in  the  town  of  Reading  at  an  advanced 


i82  COMI\IE}.IORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

age.  His  wife,  Polly  (Wardner)  Leavens,  died  aged  about  sixty-seven  years 
in  Reading.  They  had  four  children,  three  of  whom  grew  to  maturity,  viz. : 
Paulina,  who  was  the  wife  of  John  Adams;  Mary  L.,  the  mother  of  Mr. 
Bayley;  and  Charles.  Aretas  tJayley  died  Dec.  30,  1903,  aged  ninety-two 
years,  his  wife  passing  away  Sept.  30,  1867,  when  fifty-six  years  of  age. 
They  were  Universalisls  in  religion.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Bayley  had  two  children: 
Paulina,  the  widow  of  Durlin  B.  Selleck;  and  Herbert  O.,  our  subject. 

Herbert  O.  Bayley  has  lived  in  Waterford  township  since  he  was  two 
years  old,  attended  the  district  schools,  and  lived  at  home  until  he  reached 
maturity.  His  first  purchase  of  land  was  a  tract  of  105  acres  in  the  township, 
and  he  now  owns  a  farm  of  310  acres,  his  father's  old  homestead  being  in- 
cluded in  this  property.  Politically  Mr.  Bayley  is  a  Republican,  but  he  takes 
little  or  no  interest  in  local  matters  beyond  that  which  any  good  citizen  feels. 

On  Dec.  20,  1863.  Mr.  Bayley  married  Miss  Emma  Putnam,  daughter  of 
Prucius  and  Emeline  (Hazleton)  Putnam,  and  one  son  was  born  to  this  union, 
Emery  H. ;  he  married  Katherine  Covell,  by  whom  he  has  two  children, 
Emery  Covell  and  Anna  Paulina,  and  they  live  in  Lake  City,  Minn.,  where 
he  is  a  practicing  physician.  Mrs.  Emma  Bayley  tlied  Dec.  5,  1865,  aged 
twenty-one  years. 

On  Jan.  11,  1877,  Mr.  Bayley  married  (second)  Miss  Edna  V.  Miller, 
daughter  of  Philetus  and  Amanda  (Barber)  Miller,  and  one  child  has  been 
born  to  this  union,  Aretas  O.,  who  is  attending  the  Burlington  high  school. 

Mrs.  Edna  \'.  Bayley's  paternal  grandfather,  Jonathan  Miller,  was  a 
native  of  Massachusetts,  and  died  aged  fifty-two  years.  He  married  Permelia 
Lee.  whose  father,  John  Lee,  came  from  England  l>efore  the  Revolution  and 
settled  in  Blandford.  Mass.,  where  Mrs.  Miller  was  born.  She  sur\-ived  her 
husband,  dying  when  eighty-four  years  of  age.  They  had  a  family  of  ten 
children,  two  of  whom  survive:  Charles,  of  Walworth  county,  W'is.,  and 
Melissa,  the  wife  of  a  Mr.  Barton,  of  Califorqia.  On  the  maternal  side,  Mrs. 
Bayley  is  descended  from  John  Barber,  a  native  of  New  York  State,  who 
died  when  quite  young.  His  wife  bore  him  five  children,  all  of  whom  are 
now  deceased. 

Philteus  Miller,  father  of  Mrs.  Herbert  O.  Bayley.  was  a  farmer  at  West 
Walworth,  N.  Y.,  where  he  made  his  permanent  home.  He  held  several  town 
of^ces,  being  chairman  of  the  board  of  supervisors  of  West  Walworth  for 
twelve  years.  He  died  May  25,  1885,  aged  seventy-four  years,  and  his  wife 
died  Nov.  24,  1870,  aged  fifty-seven.  They  were  members  of  the  Baptist 
Church.  They  were  the  parents  of  eight  children  :  Helen,  who  married 
Horace  Lee;  Caroline,  Mrs.  Joel  White;  Adeline,  who  married  (first) 
Charles  Foote,  and  (second)  George  Rood;  Charles,  who  served  nearlv  three 
years  in  the  Civil  war,  when  he  died  of  sickness,  and  is  buried  at  Arlington 
Heights;  Annette,  widow  of  Sanford  Gould,  living  near  Pittsburg,  Pa.; 
Amanda,  who  died  in  infancy:  George,  and  Edna  V.,  Mrs.  Bayley.  Mrs. 
Baylev  and  Mrs.  Gould  are  the  onlv  survivors. 

WILLIAM  C.  DOW.  In  these  days  of  specialization  and  keenest  com- 
petition, it  is  rather  an  unusual  spectacle  to  see  a  man.  successfully  engaged 
in  one  line  of  business  for  manv  vears.  suddenlv  forsake  that  occupation   for 


C0MME:M0RATIVE    biographical    record.  183 

ail  entirely  different  enterprise,  and  to  achieve  success  in  the  new  \enture 
argues  both  adaptabihty  and  power.  This  assumption  holds  good  in  the  case 
of  William  C.  Dow,  now  proprietor  of  a  livery  and  boarding  stable  in  Racine, 
but  formerly  a  machinist.  Mr.  Dow  is  a  native  of  Wisconsin,  born  in  White- 
water, Sept.  3,  i860,  son  of  Thomas  Jefferson  and  Ruth  (Burgess)  Dow. 

The  paternal  grandfather,  Thomas  Jefferson  Dow,  Sr.,  was  an  early 
settler  in  Illinois,  near  Tampico  and  Prophetstown,  and  died  in  the  latter  town 
well  advanced  in  years.  He  married  Miss  Susan  Gray,  of  a  Massachusetts 
family  which  dates  back  to  1700.     They  reared  a  large  family. 

Thomas  Jefferson  Dow,  Jr.,  was  a  native  of  the  State  of  New  York,  as 
was  also  his  wife,  Ruth  (Burgess)  Dow.  He  was  but  a  small  boy,  however, 
when  his  father  moved  to  Tampico,  and  he  remained  there  until  he  was  about 
seventeen  years  of  age.  He  then  went  to  Whitewater,  Wis.,  remaining  there 
until  1849,  when  he  started  overland  to  California,  with  one  of  the  wagon 
trains  that  made  the  journey  to  the  gold  fields.  After  about  two  years  at  the 
coast,  Mr.  Day  embarked  on  a  vessel  bound  for  Nicaragua,  and  returned  by 
way  of  New  Orleans  and  the  Mississippi  to  his  home  in  \Vhitewater.  After 
his  return  he  married  a  Miss  Pratt,  but  she  lived  only  six  weeks  after  their 
marriage.  Mr.  Dow  continued  to  live  at  Whitewater  until  1862.  and  he  car- 
ried on  blacksmithing  and  wagonmaking  in  a  shop  which  he  had  built  him- 
self. From  Whitewater  he  went  to  Kenosha  for  two  years,  and  then  moved 
to  Racine,  and  there  died  in  1887  of  apoplexy,  at  the  age  of  fifty-seven  years. 

In  1857  Mr.  Dow  married  (second)  Miss  Ruth  B.  Burgess.  She  sur- 
vived her  husband  and  died  in  November,  1893.  Four  children  were  born 
to  them,  namely :  Carrie,  deceased  wife  of  William  LeRay,  of  Racine ; 
William  C,  of  Racine;  Albert  W..  of  Bridgeport,  Conn.;  and  Walter  L.,  of 
Racine.  Mrs.  Dow  was  born  in  the  Mohawk  Valley,  N.  Y.,  but  when  she 
was  only  a  year  old  her  parents  came  west  to  Southport,  now?  Kenosha,  mak- 
ing the  trip  with  an  ox  team.  Her  father  started  a  sawmill  there,  but  died 
not  long  after  his  arrival,  when  only  in  middle  life.  He  left  a  large  family. 
His  widow,  who  was  his  second  wife,  had  herself  been  previously  married, 
and  was  a  Mrs.  Allen  when  Mr.  Burgess  married  her.  She  survived  himi 
many  years,  dying  at  the  age  of  eighty-seven. 

William  C.  Dow  was  four  years  old  when  his  parents  settled  in  Racine, 
and  it  has  been  his  home  ever  since.  He  attended  the  public  schools,  taking 
a  complete  course  and  was  graduated  from  the  Racine  high  school  in  1879. 
After  finishing  his  studies  he  learned  the  trade  of  a  machinist,  and  going 
into  the  J.  I.  Case  Plow  Works  became  foreman.  For  twenty-four  years  he 
was  thus  employed,  but  at  the  end  of  that  period  he  decided  to  drop  that  occu- 
pation, and  to  go  into  business  for  himself  as  proprietor  of  a  livery  stable. 
The  change  became  an  accomplished  fact  in  the  spring  of  1904.  and  Mr.  Dow 
has  since  been  the  proprietor  of  a  livery  and  lioarding  stable  located  at  No. 
701  Wisconsin  street,  conducting  a  first-class  establishment  and  doing  a  flour- 
ishing business. 

Mr.  Dow  has  been  twice  married.  By  his  first  marriage,  June  20.  1883. 
he  was  united  to  Miss  Cora  E.  Baldwin,  daughter  of  James  G.  and  Sarah 
(Gidnev)  Baldwin.  Mrs.  Do\v  died  in  April.  1894,  at  the  age  of  thirty-two 
years,  leaving  one  son  named  De  Wilton.     She  w-as  a  member  of  the  Presby- 


i84  CO:\LME.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

terian  Church.  On  July  29,  1896,  Air.  Dow  was  married  to  Aliss  Emma 
Grenier,  daughter  of  Achille  and  Ellen  (Bloom)  Grenier,  by  whom  he  has 
had  two  children,  namely:  William  Clayton,  born  June  25,  1899;  and 
Ernestine  Lucile,  born  March  8,  1901.  The  family  home  is  at  No.  624  Cen- 
ter street,  where  Mr.  Dow  built  the  residence  in  1891.  Politically  he  is  an 
adherent  of  the  Republican  party. 

RE\'.  THEODORE  JACOBS,  pastor  of  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate 
Conception,  Burlington,  Wis.,  was  l3orn  in  the  town  of  Somers,  Kenosha  Co., 
Wis.,  July  14.  1848.  son  of  Matthias  and  Mary  Eva  (Meyer)  Jacobs,  natives 
of  Prussia,  Germany,  who  lived  in  Pelm.  near  Treves. 

Hubert  Jacobs,  paternal  grandfather  of  Father  Jacobs,  was  born  in 
France,  of  German  parentage.  He  was  a  tanner  and  miller,  and  followed  these 
occupations  near  Pelm.  Hubert  Jacobs  married  Josephine  Roller,  who  was 
born  in  Germany,  and  seven  children  were  born  to  this  union,  one  of  this  fam- 
ily, Alatthias  Jacobs,  being  the  father  of  our  subject. 

Matthias  Jacobs  was  a  tanner  by  occupation,  having  learned  that  trade 
in  his  native  country,  and  on  coming  to  America,  in  1846,  he  followed  that 
work  in  Chicago  for  ten  dollars  per  month.  In  the  spring  of  1847  he  came  to 
Racine  and  worked  in  a  tannery,  receiving  fifteen  dollars  per  month,  and  in 
the  same  year  purchased  a  farm  of  forty  acres  in  Somers  township.  In  that 
year  Mr.  Jacobs  married.  He  took  his  wife  to  the  farm  on  the  old  plank  road, 
and  there  settled  down  to  agricultural  operations.  He  added  forty-eight 
acres  to  his  original  farm,  which  he  sold  in  1855  to  go  to  Kenosha,  where  he 
conducted  a  tavern  for  several  years  on  Market  street.  This  he  sold  to  pur- 
chase a  number  of  lots  on  the  north  side,  and  he  spent  the  last  years  of  his 
life  dealing  in  real  estate.  He  died  June  15,  1889.  aged  seventy-one  years, 
while  his  wife  survived  until  July  14,  1895,  passing  away  in  her  seventieth 
year.     Both  were  faithful,  devout  members  of  the  Catholic  Church. 

Theodore  Meyer,  the  father  of  Mrs.  Jacobs,  came  to  America  in  1843 
and  settling  in  Kenosha  county,  W'^is.,  purchased  land  on  the  plank  road  in 
Somers  township,  Hving  there  a  number  of  years.  He  then  removed  to  Ke- 
nosha where  he  spent  his  last  years,  passing  away  at  the  age  of  eighty-two ; 
his  wife  died  aged  sixty-eight  years.  For  ten  years  Theodore  r^Ieyer  was  a 
soldier  in  the  Napoleonic  wars,  and  during  his  travels  with  the  armies  leaned 
to  speak  Italian,  French  and  Spanish,  although  in  young  manhood  he  could 
only  speak  the  tongue  of  his  native  country. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Matthias  Jacobs  had  eleven  children :  Rev.  Theodore ; 
Susan,  the  wife  of  Frank  Sandt.  of  Kenosha:  Dr.  John  M.,  of  Chicago;  Lena, 
the  wife  of  Casper  Wagner  of  Chicago ;  Peter,  of  Kenosha ;  Joseph,  a  travel 
ing  man;  ]Mary.  the  wife  of  Jacob  Turnes,  an  attorney  of  Chicago;  Martin, 
of  Julian.  Cal. ;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  Henry  Slacks,  of  Kenosha;  and  two 
who  died  in  infancy. 

Rev.  Theodore  Jacobs  was  seven  or  eight  years  oUl  when  his  parents 
left  the  farm  and  moved  into  Kenosha.  There  he  grew  to  manhood.  He 
followed  farming  for  a  time,  and  then  turned  his  attention  to  railroading,  on 
the  section,  after  which  he  took  a  position  as  bookkeeper  with  Jacob  Gottfred- 
son,  who  was  at  that  time  the  leading  merchant  of  Kenosha.     Father  Jacobs 


Jim 


I  311 


,  ::? 


J 


4 


C0-MME:\IC)RAT1\'E    biographical    record.  185 

had  attended  the  pubhc  and  parochial  schools,  and  when  a  little  more  than 
twenty-one  years  old  entered  St.  Francis  Seminary,  at  Milwaukee,  to  study 
for  the  priesthood.  This  was  in  1870,  and  he  was  ordained  in  1878,  his  first 
pastoral  charge  being  at  Paris,  Kenosha  county.  There  he  remained  two 
years,  being  then  transferred  to  Sinsinawa  Mound,  Grant  county,  where  he 
built  a  new  church,  remaining  there  from  1880  until  1890.  Father  Jacobs 
came  to  Burlington  May  6,  1890,  and  became  the  pastor  of  the  Church  of 
the  Immaculate  Conception,  being  the  successor  of  the  Rev.  Father  M.  Wis- 
bauer,  who  was  the  first  resident  priest  here,  and  who  had  been  the  pastor 
here  for  forty-three  consecutive  years.  When  Father  Jacobs  took  charge  the 
congregation  comprised  175  families.  Under  his  ministry  it  has  grown  to 
over  four  hundred  families.  He  has  purchased  grounds,  erected  a  new  church 
edifice,  and  changed  the  old  church  into  a  school,  with  a  large  hall  above,  at 
a  cost  altogether  of  over  $70,000.  The  school,  a  free  one,  has  over  three  hun- 
dred pupils,  and  its  five  teachers  are  Notre  Dame  Sisters. 

Father  Jacobs  is  vice-president  of  the  Bank  of  Burlington,  for  in  addition 
to  being  a  priest  of  marked  ability  he  is  regarded  as  a  good  financier,  a  state- 
ment which  the  condition  of  his  church  afl:'airs  will  verify. 

A  History  of  St.  Mary's  Congregation  and  Church  of  Burlington,  Wis., 
by  Father  Jacobs,  follows  : 

In  a  memoir  edited  more  than  225  years  ago  by  Pere  Marquette,  a  Cath- 
olic priest,  the  name  Milwaukee  is  mentioned  for  the  first  time. 

In  October,  1674,  Father  Marquette  sailed  down  the  western  shore  of 
Lake  Michigan.  Two  years  later  a  Father  AUouez  labored  in  the  present 
regions  of  Milwaukee.  In  a  record  of  Father  Marquette  we  find  mention  of 
an  Indian  tribe  near  the  mouth  of  the  Milloike  river.  Solomon  Juneau,  a 
Catholic,  was  the  first  white  settler  of  xMilwaukee. 

In  the  year  1837  divine  services  were  oft'ered  in  the  house  of  Solomon 
Juneau  by  Father  Bondenil,  from  Green  Bay.  In  autumn  of  the  same 
year  Father  Kelley  came  from  Detroit,  Mich.,  and  two  lots  were  presented  by 
Solomon  Juneau,  on  the  site  of  which  a  small  frame  church  (St.  Peter's 
Church),  which  became  the  first  cathedral  of  Milwaukee,  was  erected. 

About  the  same  time  Father  McLaughlin  and  Father  Morrissy  came  over 
from  Detroit.  Some  years  later,  in  1842,  Rev.  Martin  Kundig  arrived  in 
Milwaukee. 

Burlington  is  forty-four  miles  southwest  of  Milwaukee,  situated  on  the 
Fo.x  river,  in  the  western  part  of  Racine  county,  twenty-seven  miles  from  Ra- 
cine. Divine  services  were  held  for  the  first  time  in  Burlington  by  Father 
Morrissy,  in  the  house  of  Mr.  Nims,  a  Protestant,  who  had  a  hotel  on  the  east 
side  of  the  Fox  river  at  that  time.  John  James  Krome,  a  Catholic,  and 
Rosine,  his  wife,  a  Protestant,  w-ere  the  first  Catholic  family  (if  it  may  be 
called  thus).  Meanwhile  Catholics  settled  more  and  more  in  and  about  Mil- 
waukee. 

One  of  the  first  Catholic  settlements  was  Burlington,  W^is.  Anton  and 
Margaret  Xoblet,  who  landed  in  New  York  in  1832,  came  to  Milwaukee  in 
October.  1838.  and  the  following  February  moved  to  Spring  Prairie.  Wal- 
worth Co.,  Wis.,  near  Burlington.  They  were,  therefore,  one  of  the  first 
families  here. 


l86  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Two  years  later  (1841)  the  following  families  came  to  Burlington: 
Joseph  and  Anna  Maria  Host  (the  latter  still  living;.  Sebastian  and  Margaret 
Amend,  Joseph  and  Catherine  Wackerman  and  Leonard  and  Catherine 
Schmit.  In  1842  John  H.  and  Johanna  Dahlman,  Xic  and  Magdelen  Mueller, 
Joseph  and  Barbara  Teigler,  Christopher  (Catholic)  and  Teresa  (Protestant) 
Winkler,  Henry  and  Christina  Kerkmann,  Patrick  and  Bridget  0"Neil, 
Michael  and  Helen  Cunningham,  Timothy  and  Margaret  Foley,  Christopher 
and  Maria  Haman  and  Anton  Bohner  came. 

The  first  child  that  was  baptized  in  Milwaukee  in  1840  was  Anton  Nob- 
let  from  Spring  Prairie.  The  first  child  from  Burlington  to  be  baptized  was 
Jacob  Host.  He  was  born  in  August,  1842,  w-as  brought  to  Milwaukee  in 
October  the  same  year  and  baptized  by  Rev.  Kundig,  who  had  shortly  arrived 
there. 

On  this  occasion  it  was  communicated  to  Rev.  Father  Kundig  that  a 
number  of  Catholic  families  living  in  Burlington  recjuested  him  to  pay  them  a 
visit.  "But  how  get  there?"  was  the  reply.  No  money,  no  vehicle  and 
an  unknown  way.  On  receiving  the  promise  that  they  would  call  for  him  if 
he  consented  to  come,  he  complied  with  their  wish.  Consequently  Mr.  John 
Dahlman,  who  owned  a  span  of  horses,  went  to  Milwaukee  in  Novemlier  for 
Father  Kundig  and  brought  him  to  Burlington.  Divine  services  were  then 
held  in  a  carpenter  shop,  the  joiner's  bench  serving  as  altar  table.  This  was 
on  the  very  place  where  the  Misses  Miller  and  Voelker  have  their  millinery 
establishment  at  present.  The  result  of  the  collection  taken  up  at  that  occa- 
sion was  sixty  dollars.  It  was  disposed  of  by  purchasing  a  horse  for  Father 
Kundig,  who  promised  the  people  to  visit  Burlington  once  a  month  after  this. 
All  were  well  pleased  with  the  success  of  their  enterprise. 

Later  on  they  assembled  at  Bohner's  Lake,  in  the  home  of  Mr.  Bohner, 
and  here  it  was  that  the  first  resolution  was  made  to  build  a  Catholic  church 
in  Burlington.  The  principal  house  of  assembly  for  divine  services  was  that 
of  Mr.  Leonard  Schmit.  High  mass  was  usually  celebrated.  Anna  Maria 
Host,  Margaret  Amend  and  Jacob  Westrich  were  the  first  singers. 

During  the  week  before  Christmas,  Father  Kundig  made  his  first  visit 
to  Spring  Prairie,  where  he  ofifered  the  Holy  Sacrifice  in  the  house  of  Mr. 
Louis  Kern.  On  the  same  day  seven  children  were  baptized.  Divine  ser- 
vices were  held  in  this  place  three  times  only,  and  after  that  they  were  held 
in  Burlington. 

In  the  year  1843  the  following  families  arrived  in  Burlington:  John  and 
Anna  O'Neil,  John  and  Catherine  Wagner,  David  and  Jane  Powdelly,  Ber- 
nard and  Agnes  Hess,  Richard  and  Eleonora  Naegel,  Philip  and  Barbara 
Prasch,  Anton  and  Margaret  Koch,  Henry  and  Barbara  Beck,  Patrick  and 
Helen  Callahan,  Lewis  and  Teresa  Kern,  Martin  and  Elizabeth  Eisenbart, 
Mathew  and  Maria  Klingele  and  Francis  Meinhardt.  In  1844  William  and 
Helen  McCarthy,  Peter  and  Mary  Cunningham,  Michael  and  Margaret  Cun- 
ningham, Henry  and  Elizabeth  Fuestmann,  Elizabeth  Kresken  (widow), 
Herman  and  Maria  Catherine  Rombeck,  Catherine  Klunkefuss  (widow), 
Carl  Klunkefuss,  .\loysius  and  Elizabeth  Boschert,  Bernard  and  Josephine 
Buschmann,  John  and  Barbara  Prasch,  Jacob  and  Maria  Anna  Prasch,  Law- 
rence and  Elizabeth  Gies,  Adolph  James  and  Maria  Anna  Plate,  Mathias  and 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  187 

Anna  Maria  Leber,  Louis  and  Christine  Tlieule,  Anton  and  Catherine  Grass, 
Joseph  and  Barbara  Grass.  Thus  the  number  of  Cathohcs  increased  con- 
stantly. 

Erection  of  the  First  Catholic  Church. — In  the  same  year  (1844) 
they  commenced  the  construction  of  the  new  church.  In  autumn  of  the  same 
year  stones  were  hauled  and  the  foundation  was  begun.  The  majority  of 
the  families  had  brought  little  or  nothing  with  them.  Money  was  very  scarce 
and  in  consequence  of  this  the  building  rose  very,  very  slowly.  After  many 
hardships  and  toils  the  roof  at  last  covered  the  church  and  the  interior  was 
so  far  completed  that  the  divine  mysteries  could  be  commemorated. 

Only  after  three  years,  in  1847,  the  church  was  dedicated.  In  December 
of  1845  Rev.  Francis  H.  Kendeler  came  to  Burlington  as  temporary  pastor, 
to  whom  we  owe  the  record  of  the  families  of  the  first  years.  During  his 
absence  of  a  few  months  the  Rev.  Fathers  Schraudenbach,  Kundig  and  Heiss 
administered  to  his  flock. 

On  the  9th  day  of  October.  1847,  Rev.  Michael  Wisbauer  came  as  re- 
siding pastor  of  St.  Sebastian's  congregation,  which  name  the  new  church 
was  to  bear.  A  month  after  the  arrival  of  Rev.  Father  Wisbauer,  on  the  8th  of 
November,  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Henni  came  to  Burlington  for  the  first  time,  ac- 
companied by  the  Rev.  Fathers  Kundig  and  Heiss.  The  following  day.  on 
Nov.  9th,  the  new  church  was  dedicated  to  the  service  of  God,  and  placed  un- 
der the  special  protection  of  St.  Sebastian.  After  this,  eighty  persons  re- 
ceived the  Sacrament  of  Confirmation.  The  hearts  of  all  present  were  filled 
with  joy  when  they  saw  the  day  to  which  they  had  so  long  looked  forward, 
and  which  was  now  realized  before  their  happy  eyes.  All  their  sacrifices 
were  fuHv  rewarded. 

Rev.  Father  Wisbauer  began  with  courage  and  energy  to  pursue  the 
work  of  his  new  field  of  labor.  He  visited  his  scattered  flock,  admonishing 
and  encouraging  them  to  remain  faithful  to  their  holy  Faith.  The  congrega- 
tion prospered  and  grew  very  rapidly  under  his  care,  so  much  so  that  after 
some  years  the  church  proved  to  be  too  small  and  the  necessity  of  a  new  church 
became  more  and  more  pressing. 

The  Second  Church. — In  the  year  1854  it  was  resolved  to  build  a 
larger  church,  for  which  the  foundation  was  begun  in  autumn  of  trie  same 
year.  The  plan  was  designed  by  Mr.  Schulte,  of  Milwaukee.  The  structure 
was  to  be  45  x  1 10  feet,  and  it  was  to  have  a  stately  steeple. 

In  the  following  year,  1855,  on  the  9th  of  September,  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop 
Henni  administered  the  Sacrament  of  Confirmation  in  St.  Sebastian's  Church. 
After  the  sacred  functions  were  over  the  cornerstone  of  the  new  church  was 
laid,  which  was  to  bear  the  name  of  the  Immaculate  Conception. 

What  a  project!  With  only  one  dollar  in  their  treasury  stones  were 
quarried,  lime  was  burned  and,  the  first  supply  being  exhausted,  want  of 
money  compelled  tliem  to  suspend  their  work  for  some  time,  until  after  five 
full  years  the  work  was  completed. 

On  the  8th  of  December,  the  feast  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  (1859), 
the  new  church  was  solemnly  dedicated  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Henni.  On 
the  following  day,  December  9th,  the  Bishop  confirmed  and  a  new  bell  was 
blessed.    At  this  celebration  the  illustrious  Dr.  Salzman  delivered  the  sermon. 


i88  COALMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

The  following  clergy  were  present :  Thomas  Schmith.  Thomas  Kernan, 
Martin  Weiss,  Sebastian  Sonner,  Jacob  Stehle  and  Michael  Beitter.  The 
above  mentioned  priests  have  all  gone  to  their  eternal  home. 

The  masonry  was  managed  by  Joseph  Wackerman  and  John  Rueter, 
the  carpenter  work  by  Henry  Bnrhaus  and  Henry  Rueter,  and  the  rafters  and 
steeple  were  built  by  John  Kemptner,  who  was  greatly  interested  in  the  entire 
work. 

St.  ^Mary's  Church  was  for  a  time  one  of  the  most  beautiful  churches  of 
Wisconsin  and  certainly  the  honor  and  ornament  of  the  congregation.  The 
church  being  w-ell  provided  for,  there  remained  but  one  wish  of  Father  Wis- 
bauer  to  be  fulfilled  and  this  was  the  school.  Secular  teachers  had  been  trusted 
with  the  education  of  the  youth  at  different  times,  but  in  i860  three  school 
Sisters  from  the  Notre  Dame  convent  in  Milwaukee  took  charge  of  St.  Mary's 
School  and  have  continued  their  work  to  the  present  day. 

From  that  time  forward  the  progress  of  the  congregation  was  still 
greater.  Every  year  witnessed  new  improvements,  a  parsonage  was  built, 
etc.  To  be  brief,  renovations  were  made,  both  the  exterior  as  well  as  the  in- 
terior of  the  church  being  em]3ellished. 

Father  Wisbauer  was  universally  venerated  as  a  father.  This  proved 
itself  in  a  most  touching  manner  on  the  occasion  of  his  Silver  Jubilee  as  pas- 
tor, in  1872.  Still  more  at  the  celebration  of  his  Golden  Jubilee  as  priest, 
in  August,  1884.  when  the  sincere  love  and  reverence  of  his  people  was  mani- 
fested so  strikingly.  It  was  a  jubilee  in  the  fullest  sense  of  the  word,  un- 
marred  nor  disturbed  by  any  discord.  To  his  great  delight  he  could  celebrate 
the  first  of  the  above  named  events  with  his  most  devoted  friend.  Dr.  Salz- 
man.  who  had  brought  with  him  all  the  students  of  the  seminary  to  solemnize 
the  joyful  occasion.  All  eyes  were  filled  with  tears  of  joy  when  Dr.  Salz- 
man  addressed  his  venerable  colleague,  reminding  him  of  bygone  days,  and 
of  their  own  beautiful  home  beyond  the  mighty  waters,  which  they  had  left 
to  follow  a  higher  calling  to  save  souls  and  gain  them  for  heaven.  When 
in  1884  this  village  was  thronged  with  people  to  celebrate  the  Golden  Jubilee 
of  their  venerable  pastor,  they  beheld  him  in  the  midst  of  high  dignitaries  of 
the  church — three  bishops,  his  friends,  who  had  come  to  honor  him  with  their 
presence.  How  must  his  noble  heart  have  expanded  with  joy  and  gratitude! 
And  with  a  just  pride  the  congregation  looked  up  at  their  beloved  pastor,  who 
was  so  singularly  iionored.  Thus  the  life  of  this  noble  and  benevolent  priest 
passed  cjuietly  and  peacefully  among  his  cherished  flock,  to  whom  he  was  ever 
a  faithful  and  true  shepherd.  On  the  20th  day  of  December,  1889,  he  followed 
the  call  of  his  divine  Master,  who  summoned  him  to  rest  in  a  far  brighter 
world,  and  his  remains  were  interred  three  days  later,  in  the  churchyard.  His 
name  will  ever  be  sacred  as  that  of  a  good  shepherd,  a  faithful  priest  accord- 
ing to  the  heart  of  God,  and  as  one  of  the  most  deserving  pioneers  of  the 
Church  of  Wisconsin. 

For  some  time  after  this  the  Capuchin  Fathers  took  charge  of  the  congre- 
gation, for,  the  Rt.  Rev.  Archbishop  Heiss  being  sick  at  the  hospital  in  La- 
crosse, no  successor  was  appointed.  After  a  few  months  the  Archbishop  died, 
and  expressed  himself  to  I3ishop  Flasch  that  it  was  his  wish  that  the  Rev. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  189 

Father  Jacubs,  of  Sinsinawa  Mound,  should  be  the  pastor  of  St.  Mary's 
Church,  BurHngton. 

After  the  aeath  of  the  archbishop,  Rev.  Father  Zeininger  was  appointed 
administrator  of  the  Archdiocese.  Shortly  after  this  the  administrator  re- 
quested Father  Jacobs  to  accept  the  parish  at  Burlington.  The  latter,  how- 
ever, was  not  inclined  to  comply  with  his  wish,  having  just  completed  a  new 
church  and  parsonage  at  Sinsmawa  Mound.  Upon  a  second  request  he  con- 
sented, and  came  to  Burlington  May  6,  1890. 

The  congregation  was  large,  but  there  was  much  indeed  to  be  wished  for. 
An  old  empty  parsonage,  a  church  by  far  too  small  in  comparison  to  the  num- 
ber of  parishioners,  and  a  few  old  school  buildings  which  would  not  accommo- 
date all  the  children,  was  what  he  found.  Father  Jacobs  considered  the  matter, 
summoned  the  whole  congregation,  and  laid  the  necessities  of  the  congrega- 
tion before  them.  His  proposals  met  with  opposition.  He  made  a  second  at- 
tempt and  succeeded.  He  therefore  bought  the  beautiful  corner  lot  from  the 
Sisters  for  $500,  which  he  presented  to  the  congregation  on  condition  that  they 
would  build  a  new  church  and  parsonage  on  the  grounds.  The  ofier  was  will- 
ingly accepted,  whereupon  they  resolved  to  go  to  work  at  once.  Father  Jacobs 
was  unanimously  elected  as  secretary  and  treasurer.  Messrs.  Schnetzky  & 
Liebert,  of  Milwaukee,  designed  the  plan,  and  already  in  the  month  of  August 
the  foundation  was  laid.  The  dimensions  of  the  new  church  were  to  be  61  x 
136  feet,  with  a  tower  186  feet  high.  In  the  course  of  the  follow'ing  winter  all 
material  for  the  building  was  procured  and  in  the  spring  work  was  begun  with 
full  energy.  Father  Jacobs  superintended  the  building  himself  and  took  up  the 
subscriptions  personally. 

The  work  proceeded  very  rapidly  during  the  summer  months,  so  that  the 
church  and  parsonage  were  completed  that  very  autumn.  Mr.  Joseph  Schunk 
attended  to  the  carpenter  work,  Albert  Kroening  to  the  masonry,  Rueter  & 
Zarneke  built  the  foundation.  Zwiebel  &  Co.  put  in  the  heating  apparatus. 
Messrs.  Joseph  and  Frank  Rueter  built  the  parsonage.  Notwithstanding  that 
the  stones  for  the  foundation,  the  sand,  etc.,  were  furnished  gratis,  by  which 
$10,000  was  saved,  the  expenditures  for  building  still  amounted  to  over  $40,- 
000. 

On  December  loth  the  new  church  was  solemnly  dedicated  by  Rt.  Rev. 
Archbishop  Katzer.  Rev.  Father  Miller,  of  Waukesha,  delivered  the  English 
and  Rev.  Father  Kuemper  of  Sherrill's  Mound,  Iowa,  the  German  sermon. 
More  than  twenty  priests  w'ere  present  at  this  solemnity.  Every  last  place  in 
the  church  was  taken,  testifying  that  1,200  persons  attended  the  services.  This 
was  evidently  a  very  joyous  day,  not  only  for  the  whole  parish  but  for  the 
whole  city  and  its  surroundings.  The  magnificent  edifice,  so  rapidly  completed, 
evidently  demanded  arduous  labor  on  the  part  of  Father  Jacobs  and  the  trus- 
tees of  the  congregation.  The  decoration  of  the  interior  of  the  church  was  the 
next  object  which  involved  the  whole  interest  of  the  Reverend  Pastor.  First 
of  all,  pews,  chandeliers  and  statues,  etc.,  were  procured.  Numerous  very 
beautiful  gifts  were  donated  by  individual  members. 

In  the  year  1892  Father  Jacobs  made  a  pilgrimage  to  the  Holy  Land,  dur- 
ing which  time  Rev.  Father  Schinner  administered  in  his  place.  During  his 
absence  Rev.  Philip  Klein,  a  child  of  the  congregation,  celebrated  his  first  holy 


190  COMMEMORATIA'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

mass  on  the  ist  of  August.  During  the  foUuwing  j-ear  a  second  son  of  the 
congregation,  Joseph  bchenimer,  was  ordained.  '1  lie  latter,  however,  had  he- 
longed  to  the  congregation  until  his  ninth  year  only.  On  his  return,  Eather 
Jacohs  presented  the  church  the  beautiful  stations  of  the  cross  which  he  had 
bought  m  Munich  for  the  sum  of  $1,150. 

Until  now  the  church  alone  was  the  sole  center  of  all  the  noble  endeavors. 
Now  his  attention  was  directed  toward  the  school.  He  resolved  to  sell  the  two 
old  school  buildings  and  the  grounds  and  to  change  the  old  church  into  a 
school.  The  buildmg  was  thoroughly  renovated,  the  roof  was  renewed,  the 
steeple  taken  down,  and  other  necessary  alterations  were  made.  The  whole 
building  was  divided  into  two  stories.  On  the  first  floor  are  five  large  spacious 
schoolrooms ;  the  whole  second  story  contains  a  hall,  a  stage  and  sceneries,  and 
is  well  supplied  with  fine,  comfortable  seats.  The  dimensions  of  the  hall  are 
45x110  feet.  The  building  is  heated  by  steam.  The  congregation  therefore 
possesses  a  school  and  hall  not  very  often  surpassed.  Three  sisters  and  a 
secular  teacher  were  employed  in  the  school,  which  had  an  attendance  of  240 
children  at  the  time.     The  total  expenses  for  the  school  and  hall  were  $6,300. 

One  thing  still  remained  to  be  done  that  the  work  might  be  called  complete, 
the  frescoing  of  the  church.  Eather  Jacobs  himself  took  the  responsibility  of 
having  the  church  painted  in  hand,  and  immediately  gave  his  subscription  of 
$300  for  the  purpose.  The  balance  was  to  be  covered  by  other  voluntary  con- 
tributions. The  famous  artist,  A.  Liebig,  of  Milwaukee,  w'as  entrusted  with 
the  work,  which  was  promptly  begun  July  i,  1895.  The  altars  were  also 
renovated,  new  carpets  were  laid,  and  the  electric  lights  put  in,  generously  do- 
nated by  Mr.  Leonard  Smith.  After  seven  months  the  work  was  executed  in 
every  detail,  adding  $3,500  further  to  the  cost  of  the  church.  Thanks  to  the 
untiring  zeal  and  noble  influence  of  Eather  Jacobs,  the  cash  was  on  hand  before 
the  work  was  completed. 

It  remains  to  be  mentioned  that  the  parish  honored  the  memory  of  the 
first  beloved  pastor.  Rev.  Eather  Wisbauer,  by  erecting  a  chapel  over  his  re- 
mains in  the  churchyard  in  1892.  This  was  also  richly  frescoed  at  the  expense 
of  Mrs.  J.  Kemptner,  whose  deceased  husband  had  made  the  plans  for  the 
chapel,  "willing  hands  contributed  $1,000,  which  w-as  the  sum  required  to 
cover  the  cost  of  the  memorial  chapel. 

On  Jan.  i,  1896,  the  total  debt  of  the  congregation  was  $7,600.  Erom  this 
time  on  improvements  were  made  gradually  and  new  things  added  to  the  in- 
terior of  the  church,  among  others  a  handsome  altar  rail  donated  by  Eather 
Jacobs,  costing  $1,475. 

On  Jan.  i.  1901,  the  standing  of  St.  Mary's  Congregation  was:  No  debts 
whatever.  Cash  on  hand  in  treasury,  $3,019.35.  Cash  on  hand  belonging  to 
Schoiil  Eund,  $6,797.15. 

In  1904  an  organ  was  placed  in  the  church  at  a  cost  of  $3,050.  provided 
for  by  a  public  subscription :  it  was  made  by  B.  Schaefer,  of  Schleisingerville, 
Wis.'  They  have  recently  placed  in  the  main  altar,  donated  by  Rev.  Eather 
Jacobs  and  his  cousin.  Miss  Christine  Roller,  the  former  paying  $3,000  and  the 
"latter  $500. 

May  St.  Mary's  Congregation  continue  to  flourish,  and  may  God's  bless- 
ing be  with  all  its  members,  is  the  sincere  wnsh  of  its  pastor. 

April  20.  1906.  T.  Jacobs,  Burlington.  Wisconsin. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  191 

FREDERICK  O.  PARKER,  of  the  Parker  Brothers  Transfer,  Ke- 
nosha, Wis.,  is  one  of  that  city's  substantial  and  representative  business  men. 
He  was  born  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  June  30,  1856,  son  of  Oscar  and  Rachel 
(Gardinier)  Parker,  natives  of  New  York  State,  the  former  of  Buffalo,  and 
the  latter  of  Little  Falls.  Herkimer  county. 

The  father  of  our  subject  was  a  graduate  of  the  University  of  Michigan 
at  Ann  Arbor,  and  after  leaving  school  went  to  Cold  Water,  Mich.,  remain- 
ing at  his  father's  hotel  there  for  some  years.  In  1854  he  came  to  Kenosha, 
where  he  located  permanently,  and  followed  contracting  until  his  death  in 
1895,  in  the  faith  of  the  ^lethodist  Church,  to  which  his  wife  also  belonged. 
For  some  years  Oscar  Parker  was  a  justice  of  the  peace  in  Michigan.  He 
and  his  wife  had  seven  children,  four  of  whom  are  now  living;  Mattie.  the 
wife  of  Richard  Drum  of  Kenosha;  Frances,  the  wife  of  H.  W.  Sammons  of 
Spring-field,  111. ;  and  Frederick  O.  and  Charles  P.,  of  Kenosha. 

Frederick  O.  Parker  was  reared  in  Kenosha,  and  this  has  always  been 
his  home.  He  attended  the  public  schools  and  learned  the  bricklayer's  trade, 
after  which  he  followed  the  lakes  for  some  years,  and  also  did  contract  work. 
For  about  twenty  years  he  has  been  engaged  in  the  contract  business,  and  has 
been  operating,  in  company  with  his  brother  Charles  P.,  a  bus,  cab  and  car- 
riage and  baggage  transfer  business.  He  is  well  known  by  traveling  men  all 
over  the  Laiited  States. 

On  Sept.  22,  1876,  Mr.  Parker  married  Miss  Flora  E.  Miller,  daughter 
of  Capt.  Charles  Chauncey  and  Julia  (Eastman)  Miller,  and  to  this  union 
have  been  born  eight  children,  four  sons  and  four  daughters,  as  follows : 
Harry  Fredric  is  in  the  butcher  business  and  operates  two  meat  markets  in 
Kenosha ;  he  married  Frances  Beinnemann.  Julia  died  aged  about  two  years. 
Bessie  died  aged  about  four  years.  Alan  died  when  not  quite  three  vears  of 
age.  Nettie  married  F.  C.  Mulligan,  and  lives  at  home.  Alice  married 
Charles  Schulin.  Edward  and  Alan  are  in  school.  Mr.  and  ^Irs.  Parker  are 
IMethodists.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican.  Mr.  Parker's  residence  is  sit- 
uated at  No.  271  Lake  avenue. 

Mrs.  Parker's  father  was  a  native  of  Erie  county.  Pa.,  and  her  mother 
of  Cattaraugus  county,  N.  Y.  They  had  eight  children,  three  of  whom  are 
now  living:  Mrs.  Parker,  of  Kenosha;  Frank  T.,  of  Chicago;  and  Esther, 
wife  of  Dr.  Leonard  Lower,  of  Chicago.  Capt.  Charles  Chauncey  Miller 
was  a  farmer  in  early  life.  For  many  years  he  was  a  lake  captain,  and  for  the 
past  twelve  years  has  lived  in  Chicago,  where  he  is  now  a  night  watchman  for 
a  large  factorv.  His  wife  died  in  1873.  in  her  thirty-sixth  year,  in  the  faith 
of  the  r^Iethodist  Church,  to  which  he  also  belongs. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Parker  was  Thomas  D.  Miller,  a  na- 
tive of  Pennsvlvania,  who  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Southport,  Wis., 
coming  here  in  18^3.  He  farmed  in  Pleasant  Prairie  township  for  some 
years,  and  died  in  Kenosha  in  his  eightieth  year,  while  his  wife,  Phoebe  Mer- 
shon,  died  in  middle  life.  Thomas  D.  Miller  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  1812. 
Mrs.  Parker's  maternal  grandfather  was  John  H.  Eastman,  a  native  of  New 
York  State  and  a  bricklayer.  He  was  an  earlv  settler  of  Kenosha,  and  there 
died  aged  seventy  years,  while  his  wife.  Almira  Larabee,  passed  away  aged 
about  seventv-five. 


192  COMMEAIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

REV.  THEODORE  B.  MEYER,  pastor  of  St.  Mary's  Roman  Catholic 
Church,  Racine,  has  had  his  present  charge  since  October,  1896,  and  is  counted 
one  of  the  most  effective  rehgious  workers  in  the  city.  His  interest  in  the  wel- 
fare of  Racine  and  its  environs  is  but  natural,  since  he  is  a  native  of  Racine 
county  and  a  member  of  one  of  its  pioneer  families. 

The  Meyer  family  is  of  German  extraction.  Father  ^leyer's  paternal 
grandfather  was  a  native  of  Kaltenborn,  Germany,  and  was  engaged  as  a  small 
farmer  and  miner.  His  death  was  the  result  of  an  accident  in  a  mine.  His 
wife's  maiden  name  was  Jungmann,  and  they  had  a  large  family. 

Peter  Meyer,  father  of  Rev.  Theodore  B.  Meyer,  was  born  in  the  Rhine 
Province,  Prussia,  near  the  city  of  Treves.  There  he  was  reared  and  there  he 
received  a  good  education.  W'hen  a  young  man  he  came  to  America,  in  May, 
1845,  making  his  first  location  in  Racine,  Wis.,  and  soon  afterward  found 
work  on  a  farm  at  Milton  Junction,  Rock  Co.,  Wis.  In  1847  he  returned  to  the 
Fatherland,  coming  to  America  again  in  the  spring  of  1848,  when  he  was  ac- 
companied by  his  sisters  Mary  and  r^Iagdalene.  In  1850  he  settled  down  in  the 
w-estern  part  of  Caledonia  township,  Racine  county,  where  he  engaged  in  farm- 
ing, having  a  tract  of  eighty  acres,  and  he  subsequently  carried  on  a  general 
store  also.  He  w'as  one  of  the  first  to  start  the  movement  which  resulted  in  the 
founding  of  the  St.  Louis  Roman  Catholic  Church  at  Caledonia,  in  1850.  he 
and  his  wife  being  charter  members,  and  ahvays  active  in  the  work  of  the 
Church.  Mr.  Meyer  donated  an  acre  of  ground  from  his  farm  for  the  church 
edifice.  He  was  also  prominent  in  public  affairs,  being  a  man  of  unusual  intel- 
ligence, and  served  as  town  clerk,  town  treasurer  and  supervisor.  Appreciat- 
ing the  advantages  of  education,  he  studied  English  after  settling  in  this  coun- 
try, at  Milton,  Wis.,  at  the  farm  where  he  worked,  and  taught  one  of  the 
first  schools  in  Madison,  and  one  term  near  the  city. 

Mr.  Meyer  married  Angeline  Epper.  who  was  also  born  in  the  Rhine 
Province,  at  Mersch.  Kreis  Bittburg,  near  Trier,  daughter  of  Jacob  and  Susan 
(Huss)  Epper.  Jacob  Epper  came  to  America  in  1848.  settling  in  Paris.  Ken- 
osha Co..  Wis.,  where  he  engaged  in  farming,  and  where  he  became  well 
known.  His  old  homestead  there  is  still  standing.  His  death  resulted  from 
freezing.  His  wife  reached  the  advanced  age  of  ninety-two  years.  They  had 
a  large  family,  of  whom  the  oldest  son  was  a  soldier  in  the  Prussian  army,  and 
reputed  to  have  been  the  strongest  man  in  that  army.  Peter  and  Angeline 
(Epper)  Meyer  became  the  parents  of  thirteen  children  of  whom  twelve  grew 
to  maturity  and  still  survive ;  ten  are  married  and  nine  have  families.  One 
daughter.  Sister  Mary  Jerome,  now  teaching  school,  at  Fowler,  Mich.,  has 
been  a  member  in  the  Dominican  convent  at  Racine  for  twenty-five  years.  Two 
of  the  sons,  John  and  Peter,  are  residents  of  Milwaukee,  the  former  being  a 
teacher  and  organist  of  St.  Francis  Church,  in  that  city,  and  the  latter  engaged 
in  business  as  a  merchant,  on  Warren  avenue.  The  mother  died  Aug.  2,  1884, 
at  the  age  of  fifty-four  years,  and  the  father  has  for  the  past  eighteen  years 
made  his  home  principally  with  his  son.  Father  Meyer.  He  is  now  (1905) 
eighty-one  years  old. 

Theodore  B.  Meyer  was  born  Felx  13.  1833,  in  Caledonia,  Racine  county, 
and  was  reared  there.  The  first  Catholic  school  there  was  opened  in  1856.  and 
he  attended  that  school  from  1838  to  1863.     In  the  fall  of  1868  he  entered  St. 


Of'^  0^^.  (G>.  Jli 


:^^:^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  193 

Francis  Seminary,  .Milwaukee,  and  was  there  ordained  to  the  priesthood  June 
24,  1877,  by  Archbishop  Henni.  His  first  appointment  was  at  Oshkosh,  \vis., 
where  he  served  as  assistant  to  Father  Reindl,  at  the  Vincent  de  Paul  Church] 
from  July,  1877,  to  December  of  that  year.  His  next  charge  was  at  Granville', 
Milwaukee  county,  where  he  was  pastor  of  St.  Catharines  and  St.  Michael  s 
from  Dec.  23,  1877,  ""til  December,  1880.  That  month  Archbishop  Henni 
sent  him.  to  Wilson,  Sheboygan  Co.,  Wis.,  to  take  charge  of  the  two  churches 
of  St.  George  and  St.  Rose,  and  there  he  remained  until  September,  1887. 
During  this  time  he  not  only  proved  himself  a  good  spiritual  adxiser,  but  also 
did  much  for  the  material  good  of  his  charges.  In  the  year  1884  he  had  the 
interior  of  both  churches  beautifully  decorated,  and  also  made  repairs  on  the 
schoolhouses  of  both  parishes.  In  1886  he  erected  a  fine  parish  house  in  Wil- 
son for  St.  George's. 

On  Sept.  16,  1887,  Father  Meyer  began  his  work  as  pastor  of  St,  Mary's, 
in  Saukville,  Ozaukee  Co.,  Wis.,  and  there  he  labored  fruitfully  until  October, 
1896.  He  found  the  parish  struggling  under  a  debt  of  $4,000,  which  under 
his  efficient  management  was  soon  liquidated.  In  1891  the  interior  of  the 
beautiful  church  was  remodeled  in  fitting  style,  and  ornamented  w-ith  elaborate 
frescoing,  supplementing  improvements  made  in  1889,  when  new  pews  and 
stairs  to  the  choir  loft  were  put  in.  In  1896  the  school  building  was  enlarged, 
but  with  all  this  expenditure  the  parish  was  practically  free  from  debt,  Father 
Meyer  himself  having  collected  not  less  than  $8,000.  During  his  nine  years' 
stay  in  Saukville,  he  visited  the  entire  parish  at  least  five  times. 

Transferred  to  Racine  by  Most  Rev.  Archbishop  F.  X.  Katzer,  Father 
Meyer  arrived  here  in  the  second  week  of  November,  1896.  St.  Mary's  was 
then  in  much  the  same  condition  he  had  found  existing  at  his  former  charge, 
and  he  has  had  ample  opportunity  for  the  exercise  of  his  executive  ability  in 
the  administration  of  its  affairs.  The  church  debt  was  $7,500,  interest  in  the 
various  societies  was  at  a  low  ebb,  the  school  and  parish  house  were  in  need  of 
repairs,  and  conditions  generally  were  disheartening.  But  Father  Meyer  was 
hopeful  and  ever  enthusiastic,  and  the  cordial  welcome  given  him  by  the  entire 
parish  encouraged  him  to  take  hold  of  the  work  with  vigor.  First  he  reorgan- 
ized the  old  societies  and  founded  new  ones.  On  Jan.  6,  1897,  he  changed  the 
Woman's  Sodality  to  a  Christian  Mothers'  Association,  under  the  direction  of 
the  church,  the  reception  of  members  on  that  day  was  137,  while  now  there  are 
194  active  members.  In  May,  1897,  he  founded  the  Sodality  of  the  Immaculate 
Conception,  which  now  has  a  membership  of  172.  On  St.  Aloysius  Day,  -.Sgy, 
the  St.  Aloysuis  Society,  which  now  has  ninety  members,  was  organized.  The 
St.  Bonifacius  School  Society,  which  now  has  150  memliers,  was  also  put  upon 
a  solid  basis.  During  July,  1898,  under  the  auspices  of  the  different  societies, 
a  successful  fair  was  held  to  raise  monev  for  the  discharge  of  the  debt.  The 
profits  were  $2,460,  this  lessening  the  debt  considerably. 

In  1900,  through  the  influence  of  Father  Meyer,  the  parish  house,  which 
is  located  at  No.  800  Wisconsin  street,  was  renovated  at  an  expense  of  $1,800. 
A  story  was  added  over  the  kitchen,  and  the  whole  house  was  equipped  with 
hot  water  heat  and  all  modern  improvements.  As  the  schoolhouse  was  in  verv 
bad  condition  it  was  resolved  at  a  meeting  held  in  June,  1901,  to  build  an  addi- 
tion to  the  building  and  also  to  repair  the  old  school.     The  resolution  was 

13 


194  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

passed  unaninuiusly,  and  the  new  building  was  commenced  at  once  according 
to  plans  made  by  D.  R.  Da\is.  The  contractors  were  Louis  Tharinger,  car- 
penter, and  John  Siepler,  mason,  both  of  whom  fulfilled  their  obligations  to  the 
utmost  satisfaction  of  all  concerned.  The  cost  of  putting  up  the  new  struc- 
ture and  completely  equipping  the  old  one  with  modern  improvements  amounted 
to  $6,200,  and  the  work  was  finished  by  the  beginning  of  November.  The 
dedication,  by  Rev.  J.  A.  Birkhauser,  assisted  by  various  priests  of  the  city, 
took  place  on  Thanksgiving  Day,  and  that  evening  an  entertainment  and  sup- 
per were  given  in  the  building,  which  netted  a  profit  of  $180.  The  church 
is  located  at  the  corner  of  Eighth  street  and  College  a\-enue,  and  the  school 
adjoins  it  on  the  south.  All  the  buildings  of  the  parish  are  now  complete  and 
in  good  condition,  and  although  the  current  expenses  are  heavy  the  congrega- 
tion can  look  forward  to  a  future  of  great  prosperity  and  contentment.  The 
church  now  has  a  membership  of  about  two  hundred  families,  and  i/O  pupils 
are  enrolled  in  the  school. 

On  July  2,  1902,  Rev.  Theodore  B.  ]\Ieyer  celebrated  the  silver  jubilee  of 
his  entrance  into  the  priesthood.  He  had  no  intention  originally  of  specially 
observing  the  day,  but  at  the  solicitation  of  his  friends  he  decided  to  hold  ap- 
propriate services,  and  the  occasion  resolved  itself  into  one  of  great  festivity. 
Over  seventy  priests  were  present  at  the  ceremony,  among  them  the  vicars 
general  of  Milwaukee  and  La  Crosse.  The  spirit  displayed  by  his  own  par- 
ishioners is  worthy  of  special  notice.  Young  and  old  vied  in  honoring  their 
spiritual  guide  and  wishing  him  future  joy,  and  the  various  societies,  all  of 
which  owe  their  present  flourishing  condition  to  his  untiring  labors,  took  ad- 
vantage of  the  opportunity  to  show  their  appreciation  and  affectionate  esteem, 
for  one  wIki  has  given  his  best  effort  in  their  behalf.  Thanksgiving  Day  of 
1902  (Nov.  27th)  was  the  fiftieth  anniversary  of  the  founding  of  St.  Mary's 
congregation,  and  under  the  auspices  of  Father  Meyer,  on  that  day.  was  cele- 
brated the  golden  jubilee  of  the  event.  The  services  were  impressive  and  large- 
ly attended.  Archbishop  Katzer  being  among  the  distinguished  dignitaries  who 
lent  their  presence  to  the  religious  festival. 

LORENZO  C.  WARD,  an  influential  farmer  citizen  of  \\'aterford 
township.  Racine  county,  was  born  in  Gaines  township.  Orleans  Co..  N.  Y.. 
Feb.  18,  1834.  son  of  Noah  C.  and  Betsey  (Rowley)  Ward,  natives  of 
Vermont. 

Orlando  Ward,  paternal  grandfather  of  Lorenzo  C.  Ward,  was  burn  in 
Vermont,  and  followed  farming  in  the  town  of  Poultney.  Rutland  countv. 
He  and  his  wife,  Phoebe  (Wood)  Ward,  removed  to  Orleans  countv,  N.  Y., 
and  later  into  Niagara  county,  where  both  died  when  past  middle  life.  They 
had  a  large  family. 

Phineas  Rowley,  the  maternal  grandfather  of  Lorenzo  C.  Ward,  was 
also  a  native  of  \'ermont.  and  removed  to  New  York  State,  locating  in  Or- 
leans county,  where  he  followed  farming  until  his  death,  at  an  advanced  age. 
He  married  Jane  Anderson,  and  they  had  a  family  of  six  or  seven  children. 

Noah  C.  and  Betsey  (Rowley)  Ward  removed  to  New  York  State  and 
settled  in  Orleans  county,  and  also  lived  for  some  time  in  Niagara  county.  N. 
\.     They  had  two  children,  Lorenzo  C,  and  Margaret  Jane,  the  latter  now 


COMMEMORATIX'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  195 

the  widuw  of  Albert  Bachus,  an<l  living  in  the  town  of  Gaines,  Orleans  Co., 
X.  Y.  Xoah  C.  Ward  always  engaged  in  farming,  and  also  operated  a  tan- 
nery for  a  short  time  after  his  marriage.  He  traded  a  horse  for  his  first  fifty 
acres  of  land  in  Niagara  county,  N.  Y.,  where  he  owned  at  one  time  from  150 
to  180  acres.  He  died  in  Niagara  county,  ten  years  after  his  wife  passedi 
away.     They  were  old-school  Presbyterians. 

Lorenzo  C.  Ward  was  reared  in  Niagara  county,  X.  Y.,  on  his  father's 
farm.  His  first  schooling  was  obtained  in  the  old-fashioned  subscription 
schools  held  in  log  cabins,  with  slabs  for  seats,  and  he  later  supplemented  this 
with  a  course  at  the  Wilson  Collegiate  Institute.  Mr.  Ward  taught  school 
for  a  number  of  years,  and  in  1861  came  to  Wisconsin  and  settled  in  Water- 
ford  township,  Racine  county,  where  he  taught  for  two  winter  terms,  selling- 
apple  trees  in  the  summer  season.  From  this  latter  occupation  he  was  nick- 
named by  his  old  friends  "Appletree  W^ard,"  this  name  being  given  him  by 
an  old  German  who  wanted  to  pay  him  a  bill  and  could  not  remember  his  first 
name.  Mr.  Ward's  first  purchase  of  land  in  Waterford  township  consisted  of 
twenty  acres.  He  has  bought  and  sold  at  different  times,  and  now  owns  140 
acres,  well  improved,  at  the  village  of  Caldwell. 

On  Jan.  6,  1863,  Mr.  Ward  married  Miss  Ellen  G.  W'ard,  daughter  of 
Lorenzo  and  Harriet  (Caldwell)  Ward,  her  father  being  an  uncle  to  our  sub- 
ject; her  mother  was  the  daughter  of  Joseph  Caldwell,  and  one  of  the  first  set- 
tlers of  W^aterford  township,  and  it  was  after  her  family  that  the  village  of 
Caldwell  was  named. 

Lorenzo  and  Harriet  Ward  were  natives  of  Vermont,  and  were  among 
the  first  settlers  of  W^aterford  township,  Racine  county.  They  had  two 
daughters  and  one  son:  Ellen  G..  Mrs.  Lorenzo  C.  Ward;  Emma,  also  de- 
ceased, who  was  the  wife  of  Fred  Simons ;  and  Francis. 

Seven  children  were  born  to  'Sir.  and  Mrs.  Lorenzo  C.  Ward,  as  fol- 
lows: Leon  C,  Elmer  G.,  Jay  R.,  Adnah  F.,  Glen  R.,  Don  R.,  and  Melva  H. 
Leon  C,  who  is  deceased,  married  Mary  Davis,  and  they  had  one  daughter, 
Leona.  Elmer  G.,  who  is  in  the  employ  of  Godfrey  &  Sons,  of  Milwaukee, 
married  Elizabeth  Perry,  and  they  have  two  children.  Mildred  and  Albert. 
Jay  R.  works  for  the  same  firm ;  he  and  his  wife,  Ida,  have  one  son,  Gerald. 
Adnah  F.  died  at  Albuquerque,  N.  M.,  in  1895.  Glen  R.,  who  works  his 
father's  land,  married  Daisy  King.  Don  R.  is  attending  business  college  at 
Oshkosh.     ^Telva  H.  is  studying  music  in  New  York  State. 

Mrs.  Ellen  G.  Ward,  the  wife  of  Lorenzo  C.  Ward,  died  Feb.  2,  1896. 
She  was  a  memlier  of  the  Methodist  Church,  in  whose  doctrines  Mr.  \\'ard 
also  believes,  although  he  is  not  especially  connected  with  any  church.  Po- 
litically he  is  a  Republican,  but  he  does  not  take  any  active  part  in  local  mat- 
ters outside  of  the  interest  shown  by  any  good  citizen.  During  the  Civil  war; 
Mr.  Ward  went  to  enlist,  Init  was  rejected  on  account  of  rheumatism.  He  is 
one  of  the  good  citizens  of  Waterford  township,  and  is  highly  esteemed  by  all 
who  know  him. 

JOHN  GRIFFITH  WILLIA:\IS,  junior  member  of  the  well-known 
firm  of  Schweitzer  &  \Villiams,  proprietors  of  the  White  Star  Laundrv.  Ra- 
cine, Wis.,  is  an  energetic  and  enterprising  business  man.     He  is  a  native  of 


196  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Racine,  born  July  16,  i860,  son  of  John  T.  and  Ann  (Williams)  Williams, 
natives  of  Wales,  who  were  the  parents  of  five  children,  three  ot  whom  are 
now  living :  Emma,  who  died  when  only  two  months  old ;  John  G. ;  Winnie, 
the  wife  of  John  A.  Klema,  of  Waukegan,  111. ;  Joseph  D.,  shipping  clerk  of 
the  J.  I.  Case  Plow  Works,  of  Racine,  and  Griffith,  who  died  at  the  age  of 
six  years. 

The  paternal  great-grandfather  of  John  G.  Williams  was  Thomas 
Williams,  his  wife's  name  being  Margaret.  Their  son,  John,  the  grandfather 
of  John  G.,  married  Mary  Roberts  (Rhosfarch),  and  their  children  were: 
John  T.,  Thomas,  Morgan,  Lewis,  Robert,  Mary,  Elizabeth  and  Jane. 

John  T.  Williams  (Caeceinach)  was  a  carpenter  by  trade.  He  came  to 
America  about  1850,  first  settling  in  Syracuse,  N.  Y.,  and  later  located  in 
Racine,  where  he  married,  and  continued  to  follow  his  trade  until  his  death. 
He  was  born  April  11,  181 1,  and  his  death  occurred  in  February,  1892.  Mrs. 
Williams  survived  him,  her  death  occurring  in  January,  1894,  in  her  sixty- 
fifth  year.  Both  were  members  of  the  Welsh  Congregational  Church,  Mr. 
Williams  being  one  of  the  first  members  of  the  Racine  congregation,  of  which 
he  was  a  deacon  for  some  time. 

Griffith  Williams,  of  Machynlleth,  John  Griffith  Williams's  maternal 
grandfather,  was  born  in  Wales,  and  was  a  first  cousin  of  Hugh  Williams,  a 
lawyer  of  Machynlleth,  Montgomeryshire,  and  one  of  his  daughters  married 
Ricliard  Cobden,  the  great  English  Reformer  and  member  of  Parliament. 
Griffith  Williams  became  a  substantial  farmer.  He  came  to  America  about 
1850,  and  located  on  a  farm  near  Cambria,  whence  he  removed  to  Osage, 
Iowa.  He  married  three  times,  his  first  wife,  Gwen,  dying  on  the  ocean  voy- 
age coming  to  this  country.  She  was  the  mother  of  all  his  children,  viz. : 
Mary,  Ann,  Owen,  Ellin,  Susan,  Margaret,  Jane,  Elizabeth,  and  an  in- 
fant that  died  in  New  York.  One  son,  Owen  Williams,  went  to  California, 
where  he  accumulated  considerable  property,  and  where  he  died  in   April, 

The  great-grandfather  of  John  G.  Williams  on  the  maternal  side  was 
Owen  Williams,  of  Brongadair,  near  Port  Madoc,  Wales. 

Tracing  the  genealogy  of  John  G.  Williams  more  systematically,  it  has 
been  found  that  in  his  native  country  he  is  closely  related  to  the  Kendricks, 
of  Glyn  Hall,  near  Harlech,  North  Wales.  The  heiress  of  Glyn  Hall  married 
an  Ormsby-Gore,  of  Porkington,  Salop,  there1:)y  uniting  the  two  estates.  This 
family  is  now  represented  by  the  third  Baron  Harlech. 

John  Griffith  Williams  was  reared  in  Racine,  where  he  attended  the 
Franklin  public  school.  He  learned  the  machinist's  trade,  beginning  when 
about  eighteen  years  of  age  at  the  works  of  the  Racine  Hardware  Manufac- 
turing Company,  and  followed  his  trade  until  1887,  in  February  of  which 
year  he  embarked  in  the  laundry  business,  forming  a  partnership  with  A.  F. 
Buse  and  establishing  the  Parisian  Laundry.  This  partnership  continued  un- 
til 1890.  when  three  laundries  were  consolidated — the  Parisian  Steam,  the 
Hagman  Steam  and  the  W'hite  Star — the  business  of  the  three  being  con- 
ducted under  the  firm  name  of  the  White  Star  Laundry  Compnnv.  Mr.  Buse 
sold  his  interest  to  the  company,  and  later  Mr.  George  ^^^  Schweitzer  was 
associated  in  the  business,  since  when  operations  have  been  carried  nn  under 


COMMEiMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  197 

the  name  of  the  W'liite  Star  Laundry,  with  Mr.  Geurge  W.  Schweitzer  and 
Mr.  John  Griffith  Wilhanis  as  proprietors. 

On  April  10,  1894,  Mr.  WiUiams  married  Aliss  Luhi  .M.  \\'icl<ham, 
daughter  ot  Wesley  \V.  and  Alice  (Genung)  Wickham,  and  there  is  one  sun 
by  this  union,  John  Wesley  Williams.  Mrs.  Williams  is  a  member  of  tlie 
Episcopal  Church.  Mr.  Williams  is  a  member  of  Racine  Lodge,  No.  32, 
Knights  of  Pythias,  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Old  Settlers'  Society,  an 
incorporated  society  owning  its  own  grounds  at  Union  Grove,  located  about 
the  center  of  Racine  county.  Mr.  Williams  resides  at  No.  11 24  Wisconsin 
street,  where  he  owns  a  fine,  modern  home. 

Wesley  W.  Wickham,  Mrs.  Williams's  father,  was  Ijorn  in  Middletown, 
Orange  Co.,  N.  Y.,  and  her  mother,  Alice  Adelia  (Genung)  Wickham,  near 
LaHarpe,  Hancock  Co.,  111.,  in  the  village  of  Terre  Haute.  There  were  four 
children  born  to  them,  three  of  whom  are  living:  Ophelia  Maud,  now  the 
wife  of  Luther  Grant  Kucker,  of  Englewood,  Chicago,  111. ;  Lulu  Marion, 
Mrs.  Williams;  and  Alice  May,  wife  of  Francis  H.  Merchant,  of  Waukegan. 
Mr.  Wickham  came  to  Chicago  when  fourteen  years  of  age  and  in  1859-60 
made  a  trip  overland  to  the  Rocky  Mountains  in  company  with  about  thirty 
men,  to  establish  a  quartz  mill  above  Denver.  Two  years  later  he  returned 
to  Chicago  and  entered  the  employ  of  the  United  States  Express  Company,  as 
messenger,  and  in  1875  ^'^'as  given  an  office  at  St.  Paul,  Minn.  A  short  time 
later  he  was  transferred  to  Waukegan,  where  he  remained  as  agent  until  1895. 
when  he  was  again  transferred,  this  time  to  a  Chicago  agency,  where  he  has 
since  remained.  He  has  been  in  the  employ  of  that  company  for  forty-three 
years  continuously.  He  was  reared  a  Methodist  and  INIrs.  \\'ickham  an  Epis- 
copalian. 

Horace  Wickham,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  \Villiams,  was  a  na- 
tive of  New  York,  of  English  descent,  and  was  a  harness  and  trunk  manufac- 
turer by  occupation.  He  was  greatly  interested  in  church  work.  He  married 
Matilda  Blacker  McCann,  of  County  Armagh,  Ireland,  and  they  had  seven 
children,  two  sons  and  five  daughters.  He  died  at  the  age  of  forty-two  years, 
and  his  wife  in  her  sixty-sixth  year.  His  father  was  Barnabas  Wickham,  who 
came  from  England  and  settled  in  Orange  county.  N.  Y.  Mrs.  Matilda  Blacker 
(McCann)  Wickham  was  the  daughter  of  Henry  and  Matilda  (Blacker) 
McCann.  The  Blacker  family  belongs  to  the  royal  family  of  Blacks  of 
Blacker  Castle,  Ireland. 

The  maternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Williams  was  Samuel  Freemam 
Genung,  proliably  a  native  of  Indiana,  of  French  descent.  The  name  was 
originally  spelled  "geNung."  His  wife  was  Cynthia  Ann  Burns,  a  native  of 
Missouri,  autl  they  had  ten  children,  seven  sons  and  three  daughters.  Mr. 
Genung  was  a  carpenter  and  contractor.  He  died  in  1886,  aged  sixty-one 
years,  while  his  wife  survived  him  and  passed  her  seventy-first  vear.  Cynthia 
Ann  Burns  first  married  a  Mr.  Kirkendall.  a  wealthy  plantation  owner  of 
Louisiana,  who  was  killed  in  his  cotton-mill  a  year  after  his  marriage,  leaving 
a  young  widow  of  eighteen  years.  Soon  afterward  she  came  north  to  Illinois. 
where  she  made  the  acf|uaintance  of  her  future  husband. 

DAVID  HURN.  one  of  the  best  known  citizens  of  Union  Grove,  Racine 
Co.,  Wis.,  where  he  has  followed  farming  for  a  number  of  years,  is  now 


198  CO:\LMEMORATlVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

living  retired.     He  was  born  in  Cambridgeshire,  England,  Dec.  25,  1835,  son 
of  Jonn  and  Alary  (W  arner)  Hurn,  natives  of  England. 

His  grandparents  on  both  tne  paternal  and  maternal  sides  died  in  Eng- 
land, grandfather  Warner  being  a  loreman  of  a  large  estate  in  that  country. 
Of  his  family,  which  consisted  of  one  son  and  six  uaughters,  the  son  was  a 
soldier  for  nnieteen  years. 

John  Hurn,  the  father  of  David,  was  a  farmer,  following  that  occupa- 
tion for  hfty  years.  He  was  three  times  married,  having  one  child  by  his 
first  wife,  five  by  his  second  wife,  and  eigliteen  by  his  third  wife,  who  was  the 
mother  of  David  Hurn.  He  died  aged  eighty-eight  years,  while  his  last  wife 
died  about  1862,  aged  fifty-two  years. 

David  Hurn  was  reared  in  England,  where  he  received  but  a  limited 
education.  On  coming  to  America,  in  1867,  he  worked  out  by  the  month  for 
his  uncle,  Abram  Asplin,  in  Yorkville  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  and  for 
several  other  farmers.  He  then  rented  farms  for  a  number  of  years,  until  he 
had  accumulated  enough  to  purchase  a  tract  of  100  acres  adjoining  Union 
Grove  on  the  west,  and  forty-four  acres  in  the  village.  This  he  improved,  and 
sold  it  in  1896.  He  then  purchased  a  farm  of  eighty  acres  in  Somers  town- 
ship, Kenosha  county,  which  he  also  improved.  Air.  Hurn  also  owns  a  pretty 
home  in  Union  Grove,  and  several  lots. 

In  1863  Mr.  Hurn  married  Miss  Mary  Ann  Perkins,  daughter  of  John 
Perkins,  and  to  this  union  there  were  born  three  sons  and  three  daughters, 
all  of  whom  died  in  infancy  with  the  exception  of  the  oldest  son,  Walter,  who 
lives  in  Kenosha ;  he  married  Hattie  Bohannan,  and  has  one  daughter.  Mrs. 
Mary  Ann  Perkins  died  in  March,  1885.  In  1890  Mr.  Hurn  married  (sec- 
ond) Miss  Mary  Alice  Dixon,  daughter  of  James  and  Mary  Dixon,  and  one 
son  has  been  born  to  this  marriage,  Mark. 

Mr.  Hurn  is  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Church,  having  joined  that  de- 
nomination over  thirty  years  ago.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and  he  was 
road  commissioner  for  six  years.  He  has  been  a  resident  of  Yorkville  town- 
ship for  thirty-eight  years,  and  during  all  that  time  his  actions  have  been  such 
as  to  win  for  him  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  those  with  whom  he  has  come 
in  contact.  He  is  a  man  of  quiet  disposition,  but  sturdy  character,  and  is 
strong  and  rugged  for  one  of  his  years.  His  wife  belongs  to  one  of  the  early 
settled  families  of  Racine  county,  has  lived  nearly  all  of  her  life  here,  and  is 
justly  entitled  to  worthy  mention  for  the  part  she  has  played  in  the  develop- 
ment of  the  country,  sharing,  with  her  husband,  the  respect  and  high  esteem 
of  neighbors  and  friends. 

HEXRY  HALTER,  a  well-known  agriculturist  of  Racine  county.  Wis., 
at  present  engaged  in  the  cultivation  of  his  farm  on  Section  31,  Mt.  Pleasant 
township,  was  born  in  Oak  Creek  township,  Milwaukee  county,  Oct.  13.  1855, 
son  of  Louis  and  Mary  (Kunselmann)  Halter,  natives  of  Alsace-Lorraine. 

Louis  Halter,  the'  paternal  grandfatlier,  was  a  native  of  Germany.  He 
came  to  America  in  1837,  and  to  Wisconsin  two  years  later,  locating  in  the 
town  of  Lake,  Milwaukee  county,  where  he  engaged  in  farming.  There  he 
died  in  middle  life.  His  first  wife  passed  away  in  Germany  about  1825,  after 
which  Mr.  Halter  married  twice.     He  was  one  of  the  earliest  pioneers  of  Oak 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  199 

Creek  township,  and  owned  several   farms,   which  he  afterward  ga\e  to  his 
son. 

Frank  Kunsehiiann,  the  maternal  grandfather  uf  Henrv  Halter,  came  to 
America  from  Germany,  and  settled  in  Oak  Creek  township.  Milwaukee  coun- 
ty, where  he  followed  gardening.  He  died  there  in  middle  life,  while  his  wife, 
who  was  Catherine  Kilber  before  marriage,  lived  to  be  eighty-fnur  vears  old. 
The  mother  of  our  subject  was  their  only  child. 

Louis  Halter,  the  father  of  Henry,  was  a  cabinetmaker  in  Germany. 
Coming  to  America  when  about  fifteen  years  old,  he  lived  two  years  in  Al- 
bany. N.  Y.,  and  came  West  to  Milwaukee  at  an  early  day,  1839,  living  in 
Oak  Creek  township.  Milwaukee  county,  for  about  twenty  years.  He  then 
removed  to  Caledonia,  Racine  county,  and  there  lived  about  forty-two  years, 
dying  at  the  home  of  his  son  Henry%  Dec.  26,  1904,  aged  eighty-four  years, 
eleven  months,  sixteen  days.  Mr.  Halter  was  noted  for  his  generosity  and 
helpfulness.  He  made  it  his  business  to  see  to  the  w^elfare  of  strangers,  and 
even  the  Indians  came  to  him  for  advice.  He  was  bright,  active  and  strong 
to  the  last.  When  he  first  settled  in  Oak  Creek  township  he  was  obliged  to 
w^ade  the  streams  to  reach  Milwaukee,  but  later  he  was  active  himself  in 
building  good  roads  and  laying  out  the  country  generally.  His  wife  died  in 
1888,  aged  fifty-eight  years.  Both  were  members  of  the  Catholic  Church. 
Their  children  were:  Catherine,  the  wife  of  Charles  J.  Mohr.  of  Racine; 
Frank,  of  Mankato,  Minn.;  Louisa,  who  died  in  infancy;  Louisa  (2).  wife 
of  Jacob  Mohr,  of  Racine;  Henry,  of  Mt.  Pleasant,  Racine  county;  William, 
of  Painsville,  Wis. ;  August,  of  Caledonia  township.  Racine  county :  Alljert. 
of  the  same  township;  Carrie,  of  Austin,  Minn.,  wife  of  John  Broschel ;  and 
Bertha,  the  wife  of  Henry  Swantz,  of  Brighton  township,  Kenosha  county. 

Henry  Halter  was  reared  in  Milwaukee  county  on  his  father's  farm,  and 
attended  the  district  schools.  He  lived  at  home  until  nineteen  years  old  and 
then  began  learning  the  tinner's  trade,  which  he  followed  for  three  years.  He 
then  went  to  California  and  retnained  one  year,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he 
returned  to  Wisconsin,  settling  in  Caledonia  township.  Racine  county.  There 
he  resided  until  April,  1904,  in  which  year  he  purchased  a  finely  improved 
farm  in  Mt.  Pleasant  township,  about  four  miles  from  the  courthouse  in 
Racine. 

On  June  22.  1881,  ]\Ir.  Halter  married  Miss  Emma  Swantz.  daughter 
of  W'illiam  and  ^latilda  (Friday)  Swantz,  and  one  daughter  was  born  to 
this  union,  Emma,  who  married  Robert  W^est,  of  Mt.  Pleasant  township.  Mrs. 
Emma  Halter  died  in  1882,  aged  twenty-two  years,  and  ^Ir.  Halter  married 
(second)  in  May.  1891.  Miss  Fredericka  Scheckler.  daughter  of  John  G.  and 
Mary  (Birch)  Scheckler.  Two  children  have  been  born  to  this  marriage, 
Etna  and  Frank. 

Politically  Mr.  Halter  is  a  Republican,  and  was  roadmaster  for  twenty- 
two  years  and  a  member  of  the  school  board  for  thirteen  years :  liis  father  was 
a  member  of  that  board  for  twenty-five  years. 

Mrs.  Fredericka  Halter's  parents  were  natives  of  Germany,  and  came  to 
America  about  1849,  settling  f^rst  in  Chicago.  They  then  removed  to  Two 
Rivers,  near  Manitowoc,  Wis.,  residing  there  a  short  time,  after  which  they 
removed  to  Racine  county,  spending  two  or  three  years  in  Mt.  Pleasant 
township.     They  then  removed  to  Somers  township,  where  they  reared  their 


200  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

family,  Mr.  Scheckler  owning  a  iio-acre  farm  there.  He  is  now  seventy- 
nine  years  of  age.  His  \vife  passed  away  in  1894,  aged  seventy  years,  her 
death  occurring  on  her  birthday.  Both  were  brought  up  German  Lutherans. 
He  served  durmg  the  last  year  of  the  Civil  war  as  a  soldier.  They  had  these 
children :  John ;  Fred,  of  Los  Angeles,  Cal. ;  Mary,  the  wife  of  Richard 
Kirchner,  of  Kenosha  county;  Fredericka,  Mrs.  Halter,  of  Mt.  Pleasant, 
Racine  Co.:  William,  of  Caledonia  township;  August,  of  Racine:  and 
Charles,  of  Somers  township,  Kenosha  county. 

SAMUEL  CURTIS  JOHNSON,  of  the  firm  of  S.  C.  Johnson  &  Son, 
manufacturers  of  parquetry  floors  and  floor  finishers,  Racine.  Wis.,  was  born 
Dec.  24,  1833,  at  Elyria,  Ohio,  a  son  of  Phineas  Miller  and  Orra  Ann  (Col- 
lins) Johnson. 

The  Johnson  family  is  of  English  stock  and  was  founded  in  the  Connecti- 
cut Valley  in  1626  by  Henry  Johnson,  whose  descendants  lived  on  one  farm 
for  180  years. 

John  Johnson,  who  died  Sept.  30,  1659,  married  (first)  Margery,  who 
died  June  9,  1653,  and  married  (second)  Grace  Fawer,  widow  of  Barnabas 
Fawer,  a  prominent  man  of  Roxbury,  Mass.,  who  came  to  this  country  in 
1630. 

Isaac  Jiihnson,  son  of  Jr}hn,  married  Jan.  20,  1637,  Elizabeth  Porter.  He 
was  killed  in  the  battle  with  the  Narragansett  Indians,  Dec.  19,  1675. 

Isaac  Johnson,  son  of  Isaac,  married  Dec.  26,  1669,  Mary  Harris,  and 
died  in  1720.     He  was  one  of  the  original  proprietors  of  Middletown. 

Isaac  Johnson,  son  of  Isaac,  was  born  Dec.  19,  1670,  and  married  Mar- 
garet Miller.     He  lived  at  Middletown. 

Henry  Johnson,  son  of  Isaac,  married  Abigail  Hubbard,  and  they  had 
three  children.  Samuel,  David  and  Ashel. 

Samuel  Johnson,  son  of  Henry,  was  born  in  1740,  and  died  in  1795.  He 
married  Anna  Hopkins,  who  was  born  in  1745.  and  died  in  February,  181 6. 
They  had  seven  children,  viz.:  Samuel,  born  Nov.  10,  1765,  died  in  1796; 
Phineas,  born  Feb.  26,  1768,  married  Hannah  Miller;  Anna,  born  Jan.  31, 
1772,  married  Ashel  Kelsey;  Simeon,  born  Feb.  17,  1770,  married  Lucretia 
Ramsey  (his  family  have  resided  at  Albany  for  years)  :  Henry,  born  Dec.  14, 
1776,  married  Betsey  Spooner:  Abigail,  born  Jan.  14,  1783,  married  \\'\\\- 
iam  W'ebster;  and  Bethuel.  born  Sept.  26,  17 — ,  went  to  sea  and  never  re- 
turned. 

Phineas  Johnson  had  five  children,  namely :  Sophia  married  Samuel 
Brooks:  Hannah  married  Hezekiah  Brooks:  Julia  married  Edmund  West: 
Cornelia  married  (first)  Ira  Kimball  and  (second)  Dudley  Griswold :  Irene 
married  (first)  a  Strong  and  (second)  Nyman  Bruce. 

Of  the  family  to  which  the  father  of  our  subject  belonged :  William 
Johnson  married  Alma  Otis;  Lucretia  died  Aug.  23.  1823,  aged  eighteen: 
Isaac  married  (first)  Cornelia  INIussey  and  (second)  Mary  Hnll:  Delia  mar- 
ried Horatio  Gates:  and  Phineas  Miller  married  Orra  Ann  Collins. 

Henrv  Johnson  removed  from  Middletown  to  Berlin,  where  Samuel  John- 
son and  Phineas  were  both  born.  In  1819  the  Johnsons  removed  to  Ohio,  and 
it  took  them  six  weeks  to  make  the  trip. 


COMMEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  201 

Phineas  Miller  Johnson,  the  father  of  our  subject,  was  born  in  Berkshire, 
]\Iass.,  and  the  wife  and  mother  was  born  Dec.  3,  181 1,  on  an  Ohio  farm,  she 
benig  a  daughter  of  Daniel  Collins,  who  died  at  Berkshire,  N.  Y.,  June  27, 
1820.  By  trade  he  was  a  cooper.  His  children  were :  Bristol  Lisk,  born  May 
2b,  1809,  who  died  July  7,  1814;  Orra  Ann,  Mrs.  Johnson;  and  George  Bristol 
Lisk.  born  Dec.  19,  181 5.  Phineas  M.  and  Orra  Ann  (Collins)  Johnson  had 
thirteen  children,  eight  sons  and  five  daughters,  the  four  still  surviving  being : 
Samuel  C.  of  Racine;  William  H.,  of  Alpena,  Mich.;  George  B.,  of  Chicago; 
and  Anna  M.,  wife  of  F.  G.  Ensign,  of  Oak  Park,  Illinois. 

Phineas  Miller  Johnson  was  in  the  iron  business  at  Elyria,  Ohio,  for  some 
time,  and  moved  from  there  in  a  prairie  schooner  to  Niles,  Mich.,  in  1835,  and 
to  Chicago  in  1836,  there  conducting  a  hardware  store  on  Randolph  street  for 
some  time.  From  there  he  moved  to  Kishwaukee.  111.,  eight  miles  south  of 
Rockford,  being  the  pioneer  settler  there,  but  in  the  fall  of  1842  he  removed  to 
Elkhorn,  Wis.,  and  the  following  year  to  Grafton,  Wis.,  which  place  was  then 
known  as  Milwaukee  Falls.  There  he  owned  a  mill  and  engaged  in  lumbering. 
In  1849  I'ls  went  to  California,  by  way  of  Panama,  prospecting  for  gold,  and 
returned  two  years  later,  coming  through  Mexico  on  horseback.  After  his 
return  to  Wisconsin,  he  was  engaged  as  a  right-of-way  agent  for  the  Milwau- 
kee &  La  Crosse  Railroad  Company,  and  was  located  at  Grafton.  In  1863  he 
came  to  Kenosha  and  located  his  family  there,  but  he  went  to  northern  Mich- 
ig'an  to  inspect  pine  timber  land,  in  the  employ  of  lumber  syndicates  who  hired 
him  to  point  out  the  best  parts  from  which  to  obtain  good  timber.  He  after- 
ward went  to  Florida,  in  the  same  line  of  work,  and  died  there  of  fever  in  1868, 
■aged  sixty-nine  years.  His  wife  survived  until  1885,  when  she  died  at  the  age 
of  seventy-four  years.  She  had  been  a  patient  invalid  for  about  thirty  years. 
Mr.  Johnson's  religious  connection  was  with  the  M.  E.  Church,  but  Mrs. 
Johnson  was  a  Congregationalist.  At  one  time  he  was  a  memlier  nf  the  W^is- 
consin  Legislature. 

Mr.  Johnson,  through  his  grandmother,  is  a  descendant  of  the  Coe  family 
which  came  to  America  from  Sufifolkshire.  England.  The  earliest  notice  of 
the  family  is  found  in  Fox's  "Book  of  Martyrs."  which  states  that  Roger  Coe, 
of  Milford,  Suffolkshire.  was  burned  by  Queen  Mary,  in  September,  1555,  at 
Texford,  in  that  shire.  Little  is  known  respecting  the  family  until  the  removal 
of  Robert  Coe  to  this  country  and  he  is  accounted  as  belonging  to  the  first 
generation  here.  He  was  born  in  Sufifolkshire  in  1596  and  with  his  wife  Anna, 
born  in  1591,  and  their  three  sons,  he  sailed  from  Ipswich  in  company  with 
seventy-nine  others,  in  the  good  ship  "Francis,"  John  Cutting,  master,  April 
10,  1634.  They  reached  Boston  in  the  following  June,  only  six  years  from  the 
date  of  the  first  settlement  in  the  Massachusetts  Colony. 

Robert  Coe  settled  with  his  faniilv  at  Watertown  and  was  made  a  freeman 
there  Sept.  3,  1634.  He  later  removed  to  Pyquang  (Wethersfield).  He  had 
three  sons,  John,  Robert  and  Benjamin,  all  of  whom  liecame  prominent  men. 
Of  these  Robert  and  his  wife,  Hannah,  had  one  child,  John,  who  married 
Mary  Hawley  and  had  ten  children.  Benjamin,  born  in  1629.  married  Abi- 
gail Carmen  and  spent  the  latter  part  of  his  life  in  Jamaica.  His  grandson. 
Benjamin,  born  in  1702,  removed  to  Newark.  N.  T-.  and  died  in  1787.  He  had 
two  sons,  one  of  whom  was  killed  in  the  Revolutionary  war.    The  other,  Ben- 


202  COiSBIEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

jamin,  was  born  in  173O,  and  died  in  1818.  leaving  two  sons,  .\aron  and  Laven. 
■J'lie  former  lived  at  Westfield.  X.  J.,  anil  the  latter,  born  April  26.  1772,  in 
Newark.     They  have  numerous  descendants  in  New  Jersey. 

Samuel  Curtis  Johnson  lived  with  his  father  during  the  years  of  pioneer- 
ing, and  his  earliest  recollection  is  of  coming  to  the  West  through  the  woods 
and  the  crossing  of  the  Maumee  river,  where  they  went  into  too  deep  water, 
and  had  to  stop,  unpack  and  diy  out  their  clothing.  Another  vivid  memory  is 
of  the  dog  "Towser"  tusseling  with  the  wild  boars  in  Michigan.  He  very 
easily  recalls  old  Fort  Dearborn,  Chicago,  and  can  remember  the  appearance 
of  the  military  guard  there.  The  family  lived  in  a  house  on  Randolph  street 
not  far  from  the  court  house.  He  can  tell  of  the  old  stage  coaches  and  the  mil- 
itary cry  as  the  guard  passed  in  the  night,  "Three  o'clock  and  all  is  well."  There 
is  little  doubt  that  residents  of  the  Windy  City,  in  some  parts,  would  feel 
more  secure  in  these  modern  days  did  the  guard  hourly  assure  them  that  "all 
is  well."  When  Mr.  Johnson  and  the  family  were_  moving  to  Kishwaukee  the 
father  would  go  on  ahead  and  pick  out  the  road  through  the  prairie  and  sound 
the  depths  of  the  various  water  courses  to  see  if  the  household  wagon  could 
safely  cross. 

Mr.  Johnson  obtained  his  early  education  in  the  old  log  schoolhouses  to 
be  founrl  wherever  a  pioneer  settlement  was  made,  attending  mainly  at  Graf- 
ton, \\'is.,  where  his  seat  was  a  split  log  or  puncheon.  Later  he  had  better  ad- 
vantages in  the  common  school  at  Oberlin,  Ohio.  His  first  real  venture  from 
home  was  to  become  office  boy  at  Milwaukee  in  the  service  of  the  old  ]Mil- 
waukee  &  La  Crosse  Railroad  Company.  It  was  his  duty  there  to  drum  up 
such  men  as  Moses  Kneeland,  James  K.  Kneeland.  E.  H.  Goodrich.  Byron 
Kilbourn,  for  board  meetings.  His  business  education  was  secured  in  that 
company  under  Levi  Burnell. 

In  1858  Mr.  Johnson  was  called  to  Kenosha  to  act  as  secretary  and  treas- 
urer of  the  Kenosha  &  Rockford  and  Rock  Island  Railroad  Company  (this  road 
then  being  in  course  of  construction),  until  it  was  sold  out  to  the  Chicago  & 
Northwestern  Railroad  Company,  a  period  of  several  years.  At  a  later  date 
he  was  in  the  employ  of  the  Northwestern  Telegraph  Company,  until  it  was 
absorbed  by  the  Western  Union,  some  years  later.  In  1887,  being  out  of  em- 
ployment and  not  caring  to  work  longer  on  a  salary,  he  came  to  Racine  and 
made  a  contract  with  the  Racine  Hardware  Company,  to  manufacture  for  him 
inlaid  ornamental  hardwood  flooring,  the  same  article  he  is  now  manufactur- 
ing for  himself.  At  a  later  date  his  son,  Herbert  F.  Johnson,  who  had  been 
with  him  all  the  time,  was  admitted  to  partnership.  This  is  now  an  import- 
ant industrA'  of  Racine,  the  business  having  been  developed  successfully  on  the 
lines  inaugurated  by  Mr.  Johnson's  business  capacity. 

^Ir.  Johnson  was  married  in  October,  1861,  to  Miss  Carrie  Fisk.  daughter 
of  Sereno  and  Lucinda  B.  FisK,  of  Kenosha.  They  have  two  children,  a  son 
and  a  daughter,  viz. :  Herbert  F.  and  Jessie.  The  former  married  Miss  Helen 
Converse,  and  thev  have  two  children.  Hibbard  and  Henrietta.  Jessie  is  now 
the  wife  of  F.  P.  Lyman,  of  Kansas  City,  Tvlo..  and  they  ha\-e  three  children, 
Julia.  Helen  and  Fredric. 

Mr.  and  I\Irs.  Johnson  are  members  of  the  M.  E.  Church.    Their  pleasant 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  203 

home  is  at  Xo.    1737  \\  iscoiisin  street.     They  are  among  the  most  highly 
esteemed  residents  of  Racine. 

CHARLES  K.  JOHNSON,  a  wealthy  farmer  and  leading  citizen  of 
Norway  township,  Racine  county,  with  .valuable  agricultural  property  in  Sec- 
tions 29  and  30,  was  born  in  that  township  March  18,  1850.  He  is  one  of 
nine  children  born  to  Knut  and  Bergetta  Johnson,  natives  of  Norway,  of 
whonr  the  following  five  grew  to  maturity  and  are  still  living :  John,  of 
Jackson  county,  Minn.;  Halvor  K..  of  Waterford  township;  Ole,  of  King 
county.  Wash. ;  Anna,  wife  of  August  W.  Garnetz,  of  Waterford  township, 
and  Charles  K. 

Knut  Johnson,  the  father,  was  a  shoemaker  in  Norway,  and  serverl  fi\'e 
years  in  the  regular  army  of  his  fatherland.  Having  saved  a  little  money  he 
came  to  America  in  1842,  located  in  Norway  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis., 
and  built  a  house  and  barn  on  the  fractional  forty  acres  which  he  had  pur- 
chased for  a  home.  Later  he  bought  another  forty  acres,  in  Waterford  town- 
ship, making  the  latter  his  homestead,  but  working  both  farms.  After  living 
there  for  many  years  he  went  to  reside  with  his  daughter,  Mrs.  Garnetz,  and 
died  at  her  home  in  1879,  aged  eighty-three  years.  His  wife  died  in  the  fol- 
lowing year,  at  the  age  of  eighty-two.  Both  were  lifelong  and  earnest  Luth- 
erans. Knut  Johnson,  in  fact,  assisted  in  the  erection  of  the  first  Norwegian 
Church  built  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  and  both  he  and  his  wife  were  mem- 
bers of  the  first  Norwegian  Lutheran  congregation  organized  within  its 
limits. 

The  paternal  grandfather,  John  Johnson,  was  a  farmer  in  Norway  and 
died  in  his  native  country,  when  well  advanced  in  years;  his  wife  also  lived 
to  an  old  age.  and  they  were  the  parents  of  a  large  family.  The  maternal 
grandfather,  Halvor  Oleson,  was  also  a  Norwegian-born  farmer,  and  died 
there  at  a  good  old  age.  He  was  twice  married,  his  second  wife  bearing  him 
several  children,  among  them  Bergetta,  the  mother  of  our  subject. 

Charles  K.  Johnson  remained  upon  the  family  homestead  until  he  was 
eighteen  years  of  age,  assisting  his  father  in  farming,  attending  the  district 
schools  and  learning  the  carpenter's  trade.  He  was  engaged  in  the  latter  vo- 
cation for  a  number  of  years  after  leaving  home,  purchasing  then  a  farm  of 
160  acres  in  Jackson  county,  Minn.  He  traded  the  Minnesota  property  for 
a  farm  of  seventy  acres  in  '\Vaterford  township,  upon  which  he  lived  for  five 
years.  After  selling  this  he  purchased  the  farm  of  140  acres  in  Norway 
township,  which  he  still  owns,  and  which  has  been  his  homestead  for  the  past 
twenty-three  years.  It  is  situated  three  miles  from  Waterford  village,  and 
is  so  finely  improved  and  so  advantageously  located  that  it  is  a  very  attractive 
and  \aluable  property.  He  also  is  the  owner  of  twelve  acres  in  Section  20. 
On  Jan.  2,  1875,  Charles  K.  Johnson  was  united  in  marriage  to  Live, 
daughter  of  Halvor  and  Margaret  (Oleson)  Nelson,  and  the  three  children 
born  to  them  are  Harvey  C,  Margaret  and  Carl  Edmund.  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Johnson  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  Politically  Mr.  Johnson  is 
a  stanch  Republican,  and  he  has  been  honored  by  being  chosen  for  consider- 
able public  service,  having  been  supervisor  one  term  and  school  director  for 
a  number  of  terms. 


204  COMMEMORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Johnson  were  natives  of  Norway,  came  to  America 
in  1^43  and  located  immediately  in  Norway  township.  Mr.  Nelson  became 
the  owner  of  two  farms,  and  died  on  the  old  homestead,  in  1893,  at  the  age 
of  seventy-five  years.  He  was  married  three  times,  his  second  wife  bearmg 
him  six  children,  as  follows:  Nels,  Ole,  Halvor,  Live  (Airs.  Charles  K. 
Johnson),  Albert  and  John.  Mrs.  Johnson's  paternal  grandfather,  Nels  Nel- 
son, a  native  of  Norway,  emigrated  to  America  at  an  early  day,  and  died  in 
\'ernon  township,  Waukesha  Co.,  Wis.,  after  he  had  lived  a  few  days  beyond 
ninety-nine  years.  His  wife.  Tone  Nelson,  was  about  seventy-seven  at  the 
time  of  her  death.  They  had  four  sons  and  two  daughters,  all  of  whom 
reached  maturity  and  themselves  raised  large  families.  Ole  Oleson,  the  ma- 
ternal grandfather  of  Mrs'.  Live  Johnson,  died  in  his  native  Norway,  far  ad- 
vanced in  years,  and  the  father  of  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  Three  of 
the  children  came  to  America,  Helga,  Annie  and  Margaret ;  Annie  married 
Ole  Evenson,  of  Vernon  township,  \\'aukesha  Co.,  Wisconsin. 

JOHN  F.  JOHNSON  is  president  and  manager  of  the  Johnson  &  Field 
Manufacturing  Company,  of  Racine,  of  which  large  and  flourishing  industry 
he  has  had  the  full  manag'ement  and  direction  since  its  inception,  in  1876. 
During  the  thirty  years  which  have  since  elapsed  the  efforts  of  the  manage- 
ment ha\e  been  centered  in  the  manufacture  and  improvement  of  grain  and 
seed  cleaners  and  separators  which  should  embody  the  essential  points  ot 
durability,  large  capacity  and  thorough  work.  This  aim  has  been  so  com- 
pletely accomplished  that  not  only  has  the  manufactory  developed  into  one  of 
the  great  industries  of  Racine,  but  the  so-called  Racine  fanning  mills,  turned 
out  by  the  Johnson  &  Field  IManufacturing  Company,  are  used  by  farmers 
and  grain  and  seed  men,  from  Maine  to  California  and  from  Alaska  to  the 
Gulf  of  Mexico,  as  well  as  in  Mexico,  Central  and  South  America,  the  grain- 
producing  countries  of  Eurpoe,  Asia  ]\Iinor.  India,  Morocco,  South  Africa 
and  Australasia.  The  larger  portion  of  the  company's  sales  is  in  the  grain- 
growing  sections  of  the  L'nited  States,  some  of  the  mills  sold  in  the  southern 
States  and  in  some  of  the  foreign  countries  being  fitted  for  cleaning  rice  and 
coffee.  By  means  of  a  variety  of  attachments — sieves,  screens  and  graders — 
the  mills  are  adapted  to  cleaning  wheat,  barley,  oats,  corn,  rye,  peas,  beans 
and  flax,  as  well  as  timothy,  clover  and  all  kinds  of  grass  seeds ;  separating 
oats  from  wheat  and  wild  from  domestic  oats ;  cleaning  onions :  removing 
dirt,  foreign  substances,  weeds,  etc..  from  the  merchantable  grains  and  grass 
seeds,  and.  in  general,  thoroughly  cleaning  the  material  for  marketing  and 
sowincf. 

The  specialties  manufactured  by  the  Johnson  &  Field  Company  are  farm 
and  warehouse  fanning  mills,  dustless  grain  and  seed  cleaners  and  separators, 
land  rollers,  chaffing  machines  and  broadcast  seeders,  all  of  which  are  known 
practically  the  world  over.  They  were  awarded  the  gold  medal  at  the  Omaha 
Exposition  of  1898:  highest  award  at  the  World's  Columbian  Exposition, 
1803:  the  gold  medal  at  the  New  Orleans  Cotton  Exposition,  and  a  high 
award  at  the  recent  Paris  Exposition. 

In  1876  Mr.  Johnson  started  this  manufactory  in  an  old  small  two-story 
frame  building,  on  Sixteenth  and  Junction  streets,  being  associated  in  the 


COM.MEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  205 

enterprise  w  ith  Mr.  Field,  who  acted  as  president  of  the  company.  Air.  Juhn- 
son  had  the  responsibihty  of  the  office  work,  acting  as  secretary  and  treasurer 
of  the  company,  and  having  full  management  'of  the  same.  The  building 
was  rented  and  the  business  started  in  debt,  with  a  manufacturing  force  of 
three  hands.  There  was  no  material  expansion  until  1880,  when  Mr.  Johnson 
began  to  act  as  outside  salesman  and  general  promoter.  At  that  time  the 
plant  consisted  of  a  small  frame  building,  40x80  feet.  As  Mr.  Johnson's 
acquaintance  on  the  road  was  large  and  his  business  ability  unquestioned, 
even  at  that  early  day,  the  effect  of  his  work  was  soon  manifest  in  an  increase 
of  sales  and  in  additions  and  improvements  to  the  manufactory  and  its  output. 
The  plant  gradually  expanded  until  it  now  covers  about  three  acres  of  ground, 
and  employment  is  given  to  some  forty  people,  its  annual  output  being  from 
3,500  to  5.000  mills  annually.  The  business  was  incorporated  as  the  John- 
son &  Field  Manufacturing  Company  July  i,  1898,  it  being  formerly  kiiowrt 
as  the  Johnson,  Field  Company.  From  the  time  the  business  was  first  started, 
in  1876.  after  it  was  incorporated  in  1880,  and  until  1905,  Mr.  Johnson  held 
the  position  of  secretary-treasurer  and  general  manager,  Mr.  Field  acting  as 
president  until  Mr.  Johnson  bought  his  interest,  in  1899.  From  that  time 
Mr.  Johnson  practically  had  the  entire  responsibilities  of  the  business  until 
1905,  when  he  associated  with  him  Mr.  James  Wellman,  a  young  man  who 
assumed  the  duties  he  himself  had  formerly  discharged,  becoming  secretary 
and  treasurer.  The  same  year  Mr.  Johnson  was  elected  president  of  the 
Johnson  &  Field  Manufacturing  Company,  as  it  is  still  known.  .\  few  per- 
sonal facts  regarding  the  head  of  the  business  are  now  given  below. 

John  F.  Johnson  was  born  in  Palmyra,  Jeft'erson  Co.,  Wis.,  May  2,  1845, 
son  of  Lars  Johnson  Lee  and  Bertha  (Takla)  Johnson  Lee.  natives  of  Voss, 
near  Bergen.  Norway.  His  paternal  grandfather  was  John  Lee.  a  native  of 
Norway,  and  a  farmer  by  occupation,  who  died  in  his  native  country  well 
advanced  in  years.  He  and  his  wife,  Sigvor  Lee,  had  two  sons  and  three 
daughters.  On  the  maternal  side  John  F.  Johnson  is  a  grandson  of  Lars 
Kindem  Takla.  a  farmer  of  Norway,  who  attained  advanced  age.  He  and 
his  wife  Ingeborg  Talka  had  two  daughters  and  two  sons. 

The  father,  Lars  Johnson  Lee.  was  a  farmer  in  his  native  country,  and 
he  continued  that  occupation  after  emigrating  to  America  and  locating  in 
Palmyra,  Jefferson  county.  There  he  spent  two  or  three  years,  after  which 
he  moved  to  LaGrange.  Walworth  county.  In  i860  he  settled  in  Leeds,  Co- 
lumbia county,  and  there  spent  the  remainder  of  his  life,  dying  at  the  age  of 
sixty-four  years.  His  widow  still  survives  and  has  attained  the  age  of  eighty- 
five  years.  She  is  a  Lutheran,  as  was  her  husband.  He  was  prominent  politi- 
cally and  held  various  township  ofifices,  among  them  being  that  of  treasurer 
of  A\  alworth  county.  He  always  took  a  great  interest  in  school  matters,  and 
erected  the  first  log  school  house  in  Walworth  county.  He  was  a  well  edu- 
cated man  and  a  great  mathematician.  He  and  his  wife  had  five  children, 
four  of  whom  now  survive :  John  F.,  of  Racine :  Sarah,  the  widow  of  Knut 
Erickson.  of  Madison,  Wis. ;  Lizzie,  the  wife  of  Joseph  Lee,  of  Leeds.  Wis. ; 
and  Lewis,  of  DeForest.  Wisconsin. 

John  F.  Johnson  was  reared  in  LaGrange.  Walworth  county,  and  there 
remained  until  fifteen  years  of  age.    He  was  reared  on  the  farm,  and  attended 


2o6  COAIAIEMORATI\"E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

the  district  schools,  also  going  to  the  high  school  at  Madison.  He  graduated 
troni  the  Eastman  Business  L<jllege,  in  i^hicago,  and  then  for  a  time  engaged 
in  newspaper  soliciting.  He  clerked  in  a  clothmg  and  men's  furnishing  goods 
house  tor  a  time,  and  then  hecame  clerk  and  later  assistant  to  the  chief 
engineer  of  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  Railway  Company,  being 
stationed  at  Madison.  He  removed  to  Racine  when  the  railroad  purchased 
the  Western  Union  Line,  being  in  the  offices  here  for  a  year  and  a  half.  He 
then  went  into  the  manufacturing  business  with  his  father-in-law,  A.  P. 
Dickey,  continuing  with  him  for  five  years,  at  the  conclusion  of  which  periou 
he  established  the  manufactory  with  which  he  has  since  been  identified  as  the 
leading  figure. 

On  Dec.  26,  1870,  John  F.  Johnson  married  Miss  Sarah  Arabelle  Dickey, 
born  in  Racine  June  i,  1850,  the  eldest  daughter  of  Albert  P.  and  Sarah 
(Balicock)  Dickey.  Her  father,  the  Racine  pioneer  in  the  manufacture  of 
fanning  mills,  was  descended  from  Scotch  and  Irish  ancestors,  but  is  a  native 
of  Londonderry,  N.  H.,  where  he  was  born  May  24,  1817.  When  three  years 
of  age  he  accompanied  his  parents  to  Livingston  county,  N.  Y.,  and  after  the 
limited  education  and  usual  training  on  a  farm,  in  1834  he  became  a  salesman 
for  his  brothers,  who  were  engaged  in  the  fanning  mill  business.  Later  he 
was  admitted  into  partnership  with  his  brother.  Oilman  Dickey,  and  for  twelve 
years  they  conducted  at  Price  Hill,  N.  Y.,  a  successful  manufactory  of  mills. 
For  six  years  while  a  resident  of  that  place  he  was  colonel  of  the  164th  Regi- 
ment, National  Guard.  In  1844  he  sold  his  interests  and  opened  a  shop  in 
Chicago,  but,  on  account  of  sickness,  in  the  following  year  removed  to  Racine, 
where  he  embarked  in  the  same  line  of  manufacture.  His  establishment,  which 
was  the  first  of  its  kind  in  Racine  and  one  of  the  pioneer  factories  in  the 
western  State,  became  one  of  the  most  prominent  industries  of  the  Belle  City, 
his  products  taking  medals  at  the  international  expositions,  and  meeting  with 
a  wide  sale  in  the  United  States.  After  his  death,  Oct.  23,  1880,  his  widow 
and  second  wife  (nee  Lucy  A.  Patterson),  in  connection  with  E.  H.  Pease, 
continued  the  business  for  five  years,  wdien  Mr.  Pease  withdrew  and  the  firm 
became  the  A.  P.  Dickey  Manufacturing  Company,  the  management  being 
in  the  hands  of  her  son-in-law  and  George  H.  Dickey.  Albert  Prescott 
^Dickey  w-as  first  married  at  Alba.  Genesee  Co.,  N.  Y.,  Nov.  19.  1840,  to  Miss 
Sarah  A.  Babcock,  a  native  of  that  county,  by  whom  he  had  five  children. 
She  died  Sept.  11,  1854,  and  he  was  married  (second)  Feb.  24,  1856.  to  Miss 
Lucy  A.  Patterson,  by  whom  he  had  tliree  children,  and  who  passed  away 
Nov.  10,   1890. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  F.  Johnson  are  both  meniliers  of  the  Presbyterian 
Church,  and  highly  esteemed  throughout  the  city.  For  more  than  thirty 
years  they  have  resided  in  their  pleasant  residence  at  No.  1025  Lake  avenue, 
which  Mr.  Johnson  erected  in  1875. 

Politically  Mr.  Johnson  has  always  been  a  Repulilican,  public-spirited  and 
alive  to  the  best  interests  of  the  communitv,  although  he  has  never  aspired 
to  political  office.  He  is  identified  with  the  I.  O.  O.  F.,  K.  of  P.  and  T.  P.  A. 
of  A.  Of  the  last  named  he  was  director  of  the  National  T.  P.  A.  of  America 
for  two  years,  and  for  several  years  its  vice-president. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  207 

EZRA  BEARDSLEY,  well  known  as  a  prominent  agriculturist  of 
Waterford  township,  Racine  county,  is  carrying  on  operations  on  Section  17. 
He  was  born  in  Caledonia  township,  Racine  county,  April  i,  1839,  son  of 
Elam  and  Naomi  (McMillan)  Beardsley,  natives  respectively  of  Delaware 
and  Ohio.  Elam  Beardsley  came  to  Racine  county  and  settled  in  Cale- 
donia township  in  1834,  the  Indians  still  being  there  at  this  time.  He  took 
up  government  land,  a  tract  of  160  acres,  and  this  he  improved.  After  a  stay 
of  eight  years  he  sold  out,  and  purchased  a  farm  of  200  acres  in  Waterford 
township,  where  his  children  were  raised,  and  where  he  died  in  June,  1877, 
aged  seventy-two  years.  His  first  wife,  the  mother  of  our  subject,  died  April 
I,  1839,  in  the  faith  of  the  Congregational  Church,  which  he  also  attended. 
Their  children  were :  Martin,  deceased ;  Nancy,  who  is  the  widow  of  Eliza 
Buttles,  who  lives  in  Waterford  township;  and  Ezra.  Mr.  Beardsley  held 
various  township  offices,  and  was  assessor  and  supervisor.  He  married  for 
his  second  wife,  Elizabeth  Simonton,  and  two  children  were  Ix^rn  to  this 
union:  Marcellus,  deceased;  and  Frances,  the  wife  of  John  Kelley,  of 
Beloit. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  Ezra  Beardsley,  a  native 
of  Delaware  county,  N.  Y.,  and  when  a  young  man  a  school  teacher.  He 
afterward  became  a  farmer,  and  came  to  Wisconsin  among  the  pioneers, 
dving  in  Waterford  township,  when  about  sixty-five  years  of  age. 

Ezra  Beardsley,  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  has  lived  in  Waterford  town- 
ship since  he  was  five  years  old,  a  period  of  sixty-two  years.  He  received 
his  education  in  the  district  schools,  and  lived  at  home  until  reaching  matur- 
ity. He  then  commenced  working  out  by  the  month,  at  which  he  continued 
for  several  years,  and  he  then  purchased  a  part  of  the  old  homestead,  on 
which  he  still  lives,  owning  220  acres  of  finely  improved  land.  Mr.  Beards- 
ley was  married  Dec.  27,  1867,  to  Miss  Elizabeth  Fox,  daughter  of  James 
and  Mary  (Ofield)  Fox,  and  eight  children  were  born  to  this  union:  Del- 
bert  George,  Mary  Gertrude,  Hattie  Irene,  Lizzie  Frances,  Elam  James, 
Olive  Nancy,  Grace  Victoria  and  Althea  Leone.  Delbert  George  is  a  farmer 
in  Nodaway  Co.,  Mo.,  near  Parnell.  He  married  May  Jeleff,  and  they  have 
six  children,  Nellie,  Esther.  Elam.  George,  Ida  and  Blanche.  Mary  Ger- 
trude married  James  Greeley,  of  Waterford  township,  and  they  have  three 
children.  Medora,  Mildred  and  Ezra.  Hattie  Irene  married  Walter  Clark, 
of  Adams,  Walworth  county,  and  they  have  two  children,  Doris  and  Sidney. 
Lizzie  Frances  married  Frank  Behling,  of  Waterford  township,  and  they 
ha\-e  four  children:  Emery,  Oscar,  Frances  and  Elsa;  and  the  other  four 
children  of  our  subject  are  at  home.  Politically  Mr.  Beardsley  is  a  Repub- 
lican, 

The  parents  of  Mrs.  Beardsley  were  natives  of  England.  Her  mother 
had  been  previously  married,  her  first  husband  being  William  Rush,  by  whom 
she  had  four  children :  Charlotte,  wlio  married  George  Foat,  and  lives  in 
Grand  Meadow,  'Slum. :  John,  of  Spring  Brook,  Ore. ;  Wihiam,  of  Rochester, 
Wis.,  and  George,  deceased.  \\'illiam  Rush,  the  father  of  these  children, 
died  in  Canada,  whither  they  had  emigrated.  His  \vidow  afterward  married 
James  Fox.  of  near  Hamilton.  Canada,  and  they  came  to  \^'isconsin  among 
the  early  pioneers  of  Waterford  township.     They  had  these  children  :     Fran- 


208  CO.M.MEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD 

ces,  born  in  Canada,  who  became  the  wife  of  Martin  FHnt,  and  now  resides 
at  Lake  Beniidji,  Minn.;  EHzabeth  Ann,  Mrs.  Beardsley,  who  was  born  in 
Canada,  and  who  has  spent  fifty-nine  years  in  Waterford  township;  and 
Harriet  the  widow^  of  Solon  Cook,  residing  in  Florida. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Beardsley  was  William  Fox,  a  native 
of  England,  where  he  died  in  middle  life.  He  had  one  son,  William,  the 
father  of  Mrs.  Beardsley.  Mr.  Fox  died,  and  his  widow  married  a  Air. 
Hewitt,  by  whom  she  had  two  children:  Hannah,  who  married  a  Mr.  Conk- 
lin;  and  Frances,  who  married  a  Mr.  Ward.  Mr.  Hew'itt  died,  and  his 
widow  married  for  her  third  husband,  Richard  Burns,  and  they  ha\e  one 
daughter,  Jane,  who  married  Theodore  Gibson. 

JOHN  P.  DAVIES.  president  of  the  Racine  Alalleable  &  Wrought  Iron 
Company,  is  one  of  the  jxipular,  enterprising  and  public-spirited  men  of  the 
city  of  Racine.  His  birtli  occurred  Jan.  31,  1853,  in  Racine,  but  his  parents, 
William  and  Ann  (Pugh)  Davies,  were  natives  of  Wales. 

William  Davies  was  a  locomotive  engineer  in  his  native  country,  and 
on  coming  to  America  located  in  Racine,  Wis.,  where  he  followed  stationary 
engineering  for  several  years  in  the  lumber  mills.  He  then  entered  the  em- 
ploy of  the  Chicago,  Milwaukee  &  St.  Paul  Railroad  Company,  in  the  shops 
at  Racine,  and  there  continued  until  his  death,  which  occurred  in  1872.  He 
married  Ann  Pugh,  who  survived  him  until  April  2,  1901,  passing  away  aged 
seventy-one  years.  She  was  a  member  of  the  Welsh  Congregational  Church. 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  Davies  had  six  children  born  to  them,  of  whom  three  are  now 
living,  namely:  John  P..  of  Racine;  Elizabeth,  the  wife  of  T.  M.  Jones,  of 
Racine;  and  Grace,  the  wife  of  W.  H.  Rothermel,  of  Chicago. 

John  P.  Davies  was  reared  in  Racine,  and  attended  the  public  and  high 
schools.  He  began  learning  telegraphy  when  about  sixteen  years  of  age  in 
the  Western  Union  Telegraph  office  at  Racine,  and  the  first  office  of  which  he 
had  charge  was  in  that  city.  He  then  worked  one  year  in  Chicago  and  six 
months  in  Oshkosh,  at  the  end  of  that  time  entering  the  employ  of  the  Chi- 
cago &  Northwestern  Railroad  Companv.  for  which  he  was  the  operator  and 
ticket  clerk  at  the  Racine  depot  for  several  years.  He  then  purchased  an  in- 
terest in  the  Jansen  Manufacturing  Company,  and  became  one  of  the  or- 
ganizers, secretary  and  treasurer  of  the  company,  which  was  later  reorganized, 
the  name  being  changed  to  the  Racine  Malleable  &  W'rought  Iron  Company ; 
as  such  it  has  continued  since.  Mr.  Davies  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
company  for  a  few  years,  and  then  was  elected  president  and  general  man- 
ager, which  offices  he  still  retains.  About  325  people  are  employed  in  the 
plant,  where  all  kinds  of  saddlery  hardware  and  special  castings  are  manu- 
factured. The  establishment  was  destroyed  by  fire  Julv  13.  i8q8,  at  which 
time  it  was  located  on  Milwaukee  avenue  and  West  street.  In  this  conflagra- 
tion Mr.  Davies  personally  lost  $75,000  in  about  thirty  minutes.  The  com- 
pany chose  a  new  location.  Twenty-first  and  Clark  streets,  known  as  Lake- 
side, and  at  once  rebuilt  the  works.  In  the  new  plant  there  are  six  large 
buildings  and  several  smaller  ones,  liuilt  of  brick,  on  modern  plans.  Mr. 
Davies  is  also  president  of  the  Reliance  Iron  &  Engine  Comjiany.  which  is 


dit^c^^    Qy     c>Cja^(^-c^ 


'^2*/-t6^ 


C0MME:\I0RATIVE    biographical    record.  209 

one  of  the  new  industries  of  Racine,  for  the  manufacture  of  gas  and  gasohne 
engines  and  castings  of  all  kinds. 

Fraternally  Mr.  Davies  is  a  thirty-second  degree  Mason,  belonging  to 
Racine  Lodge,  No.  18,  F.  &  A.  M. ;  Orient  Chapter  No.  12,  R.  A.  M. ;  Raciue 
Commandery,  No.  7,  K.  T.,  of  which  he  is  a  past  commander,  and  Tripoli 
Temple,  Nobles  of  the  Mystic  Shrine.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and 
served  as  police  commissioner  one  term,  and  as  a  member  of  the  board  of 
education  for  the  same  length  of  time. 

On  May  12,  1884,  Mr.  Davies  married  Miss  Cora  A.  Crane,  daughter 
of  Mri>.  Jennie  (Burch)  Crane,  and  she  died  eleven  months  after  marriage, 
of  typhoid  fever.  Mr.  Davies  married  (second)  Sept.  17,  1889,  Miss  Lillie 
E.  Case,  daughter  of  DeWayne  and  Eliza  (Greenhow)  Case,  and  to  this 
union  have  been  born  four  children :  John  P.,  Jr.,  Anna  E.,  and  Frank  Case 
and  Clinton  William,  twins.  The  family  resides  at  No.  744  College  avenue. 
Mr.  Davies  is  genial  and  affable  and  possesses  a  kind  heart.  Domestic  in  his 
tastes  and  habits,  he  love?  his  home,  and  it  is  there  he  may  be  found  after  a 
busy  day  at  his  ofifice.  Notwithstanding  his  heavy  loss  of  a  few  years  ago 
Mr.  Davies  is  far  from  discouraged,  and  hopes  for  better  fortune  in  the  fu- 
ture. He  is  rapidly  recovering  from  his  financial  embarrassment,  the  busi- 
ness growing  in  dimensions  every  day,  and  the  Ra'cine  Malleable  &  Wrought 
Iron  Company  promises  to  laecome  one  of  the  leading  industries  of  the  State. 
Not  only  is  the  company  itself  benefited  by  its  success,  but  also  its  employes 
and  the  city  of  Racine,  and  Mr.  Davies,  as  its  able  president  and  general  man- 
ager, to  whom  much  of  the  company's  success  is  due,  is  admittedly  a  puljlic 
benefactor. 

GEORGE  WASHINGTON  STONE,  Sr..  a  retired  blacksmith  of 
Burlington,  Wis.,  and  an  honored  veteran  of  the  Civil  war,  has  been  a  resi- 
dent of  Burlington  ever  since  1871.  He  was  born  March  7,  1821,  in  Car- 
roll Co.,  Md.,  son  of  John  and  Eva  (Nagel)  Stone,  natives  of  Maryland. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  of  German  descent  and  was 
undoubtedly  a  soldier  in  the  Hessian  army  which  came  to  America  to  parti- 
cipate in  the  Revolutionary  war.  The  maternal  grandfather  was  also  a  Ger- 
man, but  both  grandparents  died  so  long  ago  that  all  record  of  them  has 
been  lost. 

John  Stone  was  a  mason  and  a  farmer,  and  also  followed  school  teach- 
ing and  blacksmithing.  He  died  in  Maryland,  aged  about  sixty-seven  years, 
while  his  wife  survived  him  some  years,  passing  away  when  between  the  ages 
of  seventy  and  eighty  years.  She  belonged  to  the  Dutch  Reformed  Church. 
John  Stone  was  a  soldier  in  the  war  of  181 2.  was  a  man  of  note,  had  con- 
siderable correspondence  with  prominent  men,  and  taught  several  languages. 
He  and  his  wife  had  thirteen  children,  live  sons  and  eight  daughters,  all  of 
whom  grew  to  maturity,  and  lived  to  an  advanced  age. 

George  W.  Stone,  Sr.,  left  home  when  twelve  years  of  age  to  make  ln"s 
own  way  in  the  world.  He  worked  on  a  farm  for  a  few  years,  and  at  the 
age  of  sixteen  years  began  learning  the  blacksmith's  trade,  which  he  fol- 
lowed for  fifty  years.  He  learned  the  trade  on  the  Virginia  line,  in  Wash- 
ington Co.,  Pa.     He  left  Virginia  New  Year's  morning,   1842,  and  went  to 


210        comme:\iorative  biographical  record. 

Lockport,  N.  Y.,  remaining  there  until  1846,  when  he  came  to  Wisconsin. 
He  settled  in  East  Troy  in  1850,  and  resided  there  nineteen  years,  whence  he 
went  to  Waterford,  Racine  county,  and  in  1871  came  to  Burlington,  having 
made  this  city  his  headquarters  ever  since,  with  the  exception  of  one  year 
spent  in  LaCrosse  county.  Mr.  Stone  enlisted  in  Company  A,  First  Heavy 
Artillery,  during  the  Civil  war,  and  served  a  little  over  five  months,  being  in 
the  defences  at  Washington,  but  his  age  made  the  work  too  heavy  for  him. 
After  the  war  he  returned  to  Wisconsin. 

On  Aug.  25,  1841,  Mr.  Stone  married  Miss  ]\Iary  Lestina  Flanders, 
■daughter  of  John  L.  and  Martha  (Tibbets)  Flanders,  and  the  record  of  their 
■children,  besides  one  daughter  who  died  in  infancy,  is  as  follows :  (  i ) 
Matilda  married  James  Calder,  and  they  live  in  Seattle.  Wash.  They  have 
four  children,  ]Minnie,  William,  Xellie  and  Lestina:  (2)  Lafayette,  de- 
ceased, married  Hattie  Chapman,  daughter  of  one  of  Waterford's  prominent 
lawyers,  and  they  had  two  children,  one  of  whom,  Lura,  is  now  living. 
Mrsi  Hattie  Stone  married  again,  her  second  husband  being  a  Mr.  Turn- 
baugh,  and  they  live  in  Mt.  Carroll,  111. ;  one  son,  Joseph,  has  been  born  to 
them.  (3)  Emma  married  Henry  Boss,  and  they  live  in  Seattle,  Wash. 
They  have  three  children,  Eugene,  Carrie  and  Earl.  (4)  Clara,  widow  of 
Dwight  Rooker,  lives  in  Sparta,  Wis.,  and  has  four  children,  Lemoine. 
Mamie,  Alice  and  Joseph.  (5)  Alice  married  James  Boss,  a  cousin  of 
Henry  Boss,  and  they  live  in  Seattle.  Wash.  (6)  George  died  when  three 
or  four  years  okl.  (7)  George  W.  (2)  learned  the  blacksmithing  trade, 
and  later  became  a  veterinary  surgeon.  He  lives  in  Burlington,  where  he 
married  Margaret  ]McKenzie.  They  have  two  children,  Charles  and  Grace. 
(8)  Martha  married  Laverne  Stiles,  now  deceased,  by  whom  she  had  two 
children,  Frances  and  Burnett:  she  married  (second)  Dr.  J.  F.  Roe.  a  meat 
inspector  in  Milwaukee,  and  they  have  two  children.  Fremont  and  Bonita, 
{g)  Elihu  B.  married  .Vnna  \'line,  and  has  two  sons,  Lafayette,  a  professor 
of  music:,  and  George.  (10)  Frank  is  a  veterinary  surgeon  and  lives  in 
Burlington.  He  married  (first)  Bertha  Schale,  by  whom  he  had  three  chil- 
dren. Charles.  ]\Iarie  and  Florence:  he  married  (second)  Mrs.  Mary  Nor- 
ton. (II)  Bertha  Lillian  married  Peter  Sechrist.  by  whom  she  had  one 
son.  Percival :  she  married  (second)  Melvin  Sanford,  and  lives  in  Pasadena, 
California. 

Mrs.  Mary  Lestina  Stone  died  Xo\-.  17,  1894,  aged  seventv-four  vears. 
She  was  a  member  of  the  Methodist  Church  to  which  Mr.  Stone  belonged  a 
number  of  years  ago.  For  a  number  of  years  he  has  been  attending  the  Con- 
gregational Church  in  Burlington,  because  there  was  no  Methodist  Cliurcli 
here.  Politically  he  is  independent.  He  was  originally  a  Democrat,  cast 
his  first  Presidential  \ote  for  Clay  and  Frelinghuysen.  the  ^^'hig  candidates, 
then  voted  for  the  Republican  candidates  until  1S84.  and  then  voted  for  the 
Prohibitionists.  ^Ir.  Stone  never  consented  to  hold  political  office.  He  is  a 
member  of  Luther  Crane  Post,  No.  201,  G.  A.  R. 

At  one  time  'Mr.  Stone  took  up  the  study  of  veterinary  medicine,  being 
a  correspondent  of  Dr.  George  H.  Dodd,  D.  V.  S..  and  was  the  first  man  to 
advocate  the  principle  of  a  flat  shoe  for  horses.  He  is  the  oldest  surviving 
veterinary  in  the  State  of  Wisconsin,  having  followed  that  profession  for 
over  fiftv  vears. 


COAOIE^IORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  211 

FREDRICK  AIALSCH,  for  nearly  a  quarter  of  a  century  an  enter- 
prising and  progressive  business  man  of  Racine,  Wis.,  whose  meat  market 
was  situated  at  No.  1300  North  Wisconsin  street,  was  born  in  Baden,  Ger- 
many, Oct.  26,  1850,  son  of  August  and  Rosa  (Dotterer)  Malsch,  also  na- 
tives of  the  Fatherland. 

August  Malsch  was  a  butcher  by  trade,  and  on  coming  to  America,  in 
1855,  located  in  Racine,  where  he  engaged  in  business  from  1858  until  1873. 
From  the  latter  year  until  his  death,  in  1881,  he  lived  retired.  Mrs.  Malsch 
died  in  1853.  in  the  faith  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  to  which  Mr.  Malsch  also 
adhered.     Of  their  three  children  Fredrick  is  the  only  one  alive. 

Fredrick  Malsch  was  but  five  years  old  when  he  located  with  his  parents 
in  Racine,  and  that  city  has  been  his  home  continuously.  He  attended  the 
public  and  commercial  schools,  and  when  a  boy  learned  the  butcher's  trade  of 
his  father.  On  the  death  of  the  latter  Mr.  Malsch  succeeded  him  to  the  busi- 
ness, which  was  located  at  No.  1300  North  Wisconsin  street.  The  new  pro- 
prietor continued  to  carry  a  full  line  of  plain  and  fancy  meats,  and  the  excel- 
lence of  his  goods  and  the  straightforward  methods  he  invariably  used  in  his 
business  won  and  retained  the  confidence  of  the  public,  thereby  giving  Mr. 
Malsch  a  large  and  ever-increasing  trade.  He  continued  to  prosper  until, 
on  account  of  failing  health,  he  retired  from  active  business  in  June,  1905. 

On  July  15.  1873,  Mr.  Malsch  married  Miss  Marion  Griswold,  daugh- 
ter of  Nelson  and  Jane  (Wilson)  Griswold,  and  to  this  union  has  been  born 
one  daughter,  Rose  E.'  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Malsch  are  members  of  the  Episcopal 
Church.  He  is  identified  with  Racine  Lodge  No.  8,  I.  O.  O.  F.,  and  p()liti- 
cally  is  a  Repubiicaii. 

Mr.  Malsch  comes  from  intelligent  German  ancestry,  and  was  long  one 
of  t'  e  successful  business  men  of  Racine.  He  has  been  a  resident  of  that 
city  for  half  a  century,  and  has  witnessed  its  progress  and  development  from 
a  small  village  to  its  present  status  as  one  of  the  leading  manufacturing  cities 
of  Wisconsin.  He  is  one  of  the  old  settlers,  although  comparatively  a  young 
man,  and  highly  regarded  for  his  integrity,  possessing  many  of  the  sterling 
traits  of  his  father,  who  was  universally  esteemed  by  the  citizens  and  early 
residents  of  the  community.  Mr.  Malsch  owns  a  fine  home,  and  having  done 
his  share  in  the  upbuilding  of  the  interests  of  the  city,  is  n(iw  reaping  the 
benefits  of  his  years  of  industry  and  good  business  management. 

ARCHIBALD  COOPER  (deceased),  for  many  years  one  of  the 
prominent  farmers  of  Racine  county,  Wis.,  carried  on  agricultural  opera- 
tions in  Waterford  township.  He  was  born  May  10.  1810.  at  Palatine, 
Montgomery  Co.,  N.  Y..  son  of  Samuel  and  Esther  (Reed)  Cooper,  natives 
of  Ireland. 

Samuel  Cooper,  the  father  of  Archibald,  on  coming  to  America  settled 
in  Montgomery  county,  N.  Y..  and  afterwards  came  to  Wisconsin  among  the 
early  settlers  of  Racine  county.  He  located  in  Waterford  township,  where 
he  died,  when  just  past  middle  life.  His  wife  also  passed  away  here.  They 
had  seven  children :  James  S.,  Andrew,  Archibald,  Samuel,  John,  Rachel 
and  Margery. 

Archibald  Cooper  was  reared  in  Montgomery  county,  N.  Y.,  there  re- 
ceiving his  earlv  education.     He  came  to  Wisconsin  in  September,  1836,  and 


212  CO:^IMEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

purchased  160  acres  of  land  in  W'aterford  township,  to  whicli  he  afterward 
added  forty  acres,  and  later  another  like  amount,  owning  240  acres  at  the 
time  of  his  death.  On  locating  on  this  land  Mr.  Cooper  first  built  a  log  cabin, 
which  was  afterwards  replaced  by  a  large  and  handsome  frame  house,  and  he 
added  barns,  outbuildings  and  other  miprovements.  He  was  a  thorough, 
practical  farmer,  and  his  farm  was  one  of  the  finest  and  best  kept  in  the  town- 
ship. 

In  1839  ^Ir.  Cooper  was  married,  in  Honey  Creek,  Walworth  Co.,  Wis., 
to  Miss  Sally  Ann  \\  hitman,  daughter  of  Seely  and  Anna  Whitman.  ]\Irs. 
Cooper  died  some  three  years  later,  leaving  one  daughter,  Ellen  AL,  now  of 
Rochester,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.  In  March,  1846,  Mr.  Cooper  married  Miss 
Emily  Palmer,  daughter  of  Elias  and  Anna  (Bemis)  Palmer,  and  three  chil- 
dren were  born  to  this  union,  Hugh  Reed,  Fred  and  John.  Hugh  Reed  mar- 
ried Adelaide  M.  Orvis,  and  they  live  in  Waterford  village ;  Fred  is  now  liv- 
ing retired  in  Waterford,  Wis.,  and  John,  who  is  now  a  prosperous  farmer 
in  Rock  county,  Wis.,  married  Anna  Duthie,  and  has  three  children,  Mary 
Emily,  Judd  and  Burr. 

Archibald  Cooper  died  Dec.  2,  1885,  aged  seventy-five  years,  six  months. 
The  ten  last  years  of  his  life  he  was  afflicted  with  blindness,  but  bore  the  loss 
of  his  sight  with  wonderful  cheerfulness,  and  appeared  to  enjoy  life  to  its 
fullest  extent.  He  was  a  robust,  hearty  man,  very  fond  of  a  joke  or  good 
story,  and  no  place  in  the  section  was  better  known  for  its  genial  hospitality 
than  was  his  home.  He  was  one  of  the  most  prominent  Masons  of  his  lo- 
cality, having  filled  most  of  the  offices  of  Temple  Lodge,  A.  F.  &  A.  M.,  and 
retired  as  past  master;  was  also  a  Royal  Arch  Mason,  belonged  to  Racine 
Chapter,  and  a  member  of  the  Knights  Templar,  Racine  Commandery.  He 
■was  a  most  active  and  consistent  worker  in  Masonry,  and  the  large  attend- 
ance at  his  funeral  evidenced  the  high  esteem  and  brotherly  love  felt  for  him. 
In  his  death  the  community  lost  a  valued  and  respected  citizen  and  one  of  its 
early  pioneers,  to  whom  the  present  generation  is  deeply  indebted  for  helping 
to  hew  the  way  to  civilization.  He  did  much  for  his  town,  county  and  State, 
and  to  his  family  and  relatives  his  place  can  never  be  filled.  Mr.  Cooper's 
memory  will  long  be  cherished  by  his  old  associates  and  friends. 

Mrs.  Archibald  Cooper's  father  was  a  native  of  Connecticut,  and  her 
mother  of  Massachusetts,  and  they  were  the  parents  of  seven  children :  Al- 
bert, deceased ;  Phoebe,  deceased,  who  was  the  wife  of  Daniel  White ;  Oliver, 
deceased ;  Anna  C,  deceased  w-ife  of  Madison  C.  Babcock ;  W'illiam,  de- 
ceased; Garner  C,  who  now  lives  at  Albion,  Erie  Co.,  Pa.,  and  Emily,  the 
widow  of  our  subject. 

Elias  Palmer,  being  a  patriotic  citizen,  served  in  the  war  of  1812.  Later 
he  was  a  manufacturer  of  potash  and  pearlash  and  also  followed  farming  in 
Chenango  county,  N.  Y.  He  lived  to  be  nearly  one  htindred  years  old,  and 
his  wife,  Anna  (Bemis)  Palmer,  lived  to  be  ninety-three  years  of  age. 

Mrs.  Emily  Cooper  was  born  in  the  town  of  Columbus,  Chenango  Co., 
N.  Y.,  June  11.  1824.  In  1845  she  came  to  Wisconsin,  where  she  has  made 
her  home  ever  since.  She  and  her  husband  began  their  married  life  in  a 
small  log  cabin,  and  underwent  the  usual  experiences  and  hardships  of  pio- 
neer life.     jMrs.  Cooper  is  now  eighty-two  years  old,  and  is  very  well  pre- 


C0MA1E:^I0RAT1YE    biographical    record.  213 

served  for  one  of  her  age.  Her  memory  and  eyesight  are  still  excellent,  and 
her  C(>n\'ersation  is  both  interesting  and  pleasing.  She  resides  on  the  Cooper 
farm,  which  is  situated  two  miles  west  of  the  village  of  Waterford,  and  which 
was  one  of  the  first  settled  in  the  township. 

MARS  MYRUP,  city  editor  of  the  Daily  Times,  of  Racine,  Wis.,  has 
held  that  position  since  1898,  and  is  a  newspaper  man  of  many  years"  ex- 
perience. He  was  born  in  Denmark,  near  the  city  of  Thisted,  Aug.  23.  1849, 
son  of  Peter  C.  and  Elsie  (Ramsgaard)  Myrup,  natives  of  Denmark.  The 
paternal  grandfather  was  a  fisherman  and  died  in  Denmark,  while  the  ma- 
ternal grandfather,  Christian  Madse  Ramsgaard,  was  a  farmer  of  that  coun- 
try, where  he  died  when  over  eighty  years  of  age.  His  wife  survived  him  for 
some  time,  and  died  aged  ninety-four  years. 

Peter  C.  and  Elsie  Myrup  had  fourteen  children,  only  three  of  wlnjm 
are  now  living:  Mars,  our  subject;  Andrea,  the  wife  of  James  Jensen,  of 
Racine,  and  Lauritz,  of  Copenhagen.  Peter  C.  Myrup  was  a  fisherman  in 
his  youth,  but  later,  getting  an  opportunity  to  study,  became  a  schoolmaster, 
and  was  elected  to  the  congress  of  his  native  country,  serving  in  the  Lower 
House  four  years.  He  then  returned  to  school  teaching,  which  vocation  he 
followed  for  many  years,  and  was  finally  retired  on  a  pension.  He  died  in 
1902,  aged  eighty-five  years.  Peter  C.  Myrup  was  four  times  married,  his 
wife  Elsie,  the  mother  of  our  subject,  dying  in  1855. 

Jvlars  Myrup  lived  in  Denmark  until  1869,  and  studied  in  the  seminary 
of  Ranum.  On  coming  to  America  he  located  in  Racine,  and  followed  farm- 
ing for  a  time,  meanwhile  learning  the  American  language.  He  then  took 
up  decorating  and  sign  painting,  which  he  followed  until  1876,  when  he  be- 
gan issuing  a  Danish  weekly  paper,  the  Folkcts  A-vis.  in  which  he  is  still  in- 
terested. In  the  fall  of  1891  he  started  in  as  a  reporter  for  the  Racine  Daily 
Times,  and  in  1898  became  its  city  editor,  a  position  he  still  retains. 

On  Nov.  8,  1877,  Mr.  Myrup  married  Miss  Bertha  Emelie  Berthelsen, 
daughter  of  P.  Christian  and  Jensine  Berthelsen,  and  to  this  union  have  been 
born  sevai  children:  Agnes.  Alfred.  Emmett,  Richard,  Bert,  Chris  and 
\'ictor.  Politically  Mr.  Myrup  is  a  Republican.  Until  recently  he  was  a 
member  of  the  Public  Library  Board  of  Racine.  He  was  on  of  the  first 
members  of  the  Dania  Society,  a  social  and  benevolent  organization  of  which 
he  was  president  for  two  terms,  and  he  was  also  the  founder  of  the  Dania 
Male  Chorrs,  and  a  director  of  same  for  many  years. 

ODLE  LOUIS  CRABB.  a  well  known  carpenter  of  Union  Grove,  was 
born  in  Stamford,  Fairfield  Co.,  Conn.,  April  Jj.  1833.  and  is  descended 
from  Revolutionary  ancestry. 

Mr.  Crabb's  paternal  grandfather  came  to  Connecticut  from  England 
before  the  Revolution  and  took  up  arms  for  the  Colonies.  He  married  a 
Miss  Spellam,  by  whom  he  had  seven  sons  and  one  daughter,  and  both  li\-ed 
to  advanced  old  age.  The  maternal  grandfather  also  died  in  Connecticut, 
but  any  further  knowledge  of  his  history  or  family  is  lost. 

The  parents  of  Mr.  Crabb  were  Richard  and  Jane  W.  (Boughton)  Crabb. 
Tiiey  had  six  sons  and  two  daughters,  of  whom  Odle  L.  was  the  youngest, 


214  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

anil  he  is  the  only  one  living.  The  father  was  a  carpenter  by  trade.  He  vol- 
unteered as  a  private  in  the  war  of  1812.  His  death  occurred  in  Connecticut 
in  1849,  '*t  the  age  of  sixty  years,  after  the  demise  of  his  wife. 

Oclle  Lewis  Crabb  grew  up  in  Connecticut  and  received  his  education 
there.  He  learned  the  blacksmith's  trade  and  followed  it  about  twenty-five 
years,  and  then  took  up  carpentering,  which  has  been  his  occupation  ever 
since.  He  came  West  about  1855,  locating  in  Rochester,  Racine  Co.,  Wis., 
and  worked  foV  Richard  Ely  a  short  time,  offer  which  he  went  to  Raymond 
township  and  bought  a  farm  of  forty  acres.  This  purchase  he  made  in  part- 
nership with  his  brother  Noah,  and  they  also  worked  other  land.  He  lived 
there  till  1862,  and  then  moved  to  Waterford,  Wis.,  where  he  lived  for  three 
years,  returning  to  Raymond,  where  he  remained  until  April,  1870.  Since 
that  time  he  has  made  his  home  in  Union  Grove,  where  he  has  been  somewhat 
prominent  in  village  afifairs.  Politically  a  Republican,  he  has  been  much  in- 
terested in  questions  of  public  moment  and  has  Ijeen  a  member  of  the  town 
board.  He  also  served  as  supervisor  of  the  village  of  L'nion  Grove  for  six 
years  and  in  1904  was  elected  village  treasurer.  Sociallv  he  belongs  to 
Union  Grove  Lodge.  No.  288,  F.  &  A.  M. 

Mr.  Crabb  was  united  in  the  bonds  of  matrimony  June  28,  1857,  to  Miss 
Emma  Louisa  Mills,  daughter  of  Charles  K.  and  Elizabeth  (Roberts)  Mills. 
There  have  been  two  children  born  to  this  union,  Loretta  J.  and  Charles  L. 
The  former  married  Ardene  A.  Conner,  who  died  in  1903,  and  makes  her 
home  in  LTnion  Grove.  Charles  L.  is  a  member  of  the  board  of  public  works 
in  Racine ;  he  married  Miss  Nettie  L.  Stratton,  and  has  two  children.  Emma 
Loretta  and  Ethel  May.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Crabb  are  members  of  the  M.  E. 
Church,  in  which  he  serves  as  trustee. 

Mrs.  Emma  L.  (Mills)  Crabb,  wife  of  our  subject,  was  Ijorn  in  Bridge- 
port, Conn.,  April  27,  1842.  but  left  there  when  si.x  years  old  for  Poughkeep- 
sie,  where  she  grew  to  womanhood.  She  came  to  Wisconsin  in  1856.  with 
her  uncle,  James  Jackson,  and  settled  in  Raymond  township,  whither  her 
mother  had  preceded  her.  She  was  married  there  to  Mr.  Crabb.  Her  par- 
ents were  natives  of  England,  who  came  to  America  when  they  were  small, 
and  grew  up  in  Bridgeport,  Conn.,  where  they  married.  They  had  three 
children,  one  of  whom,  Charles  W.  Mills,  lives  in  Racine.  The  father, 
Charles  K.  Mills,  died  in  Bridgeport.  Conn..  May  22,  1847,  aged  thirty-four 
vears.  His  wife  lived  until  1880,  when  she  died  at  the  age  of  sixty-six  years. 
He  was  an  Episcopalian,  while  Mrs.  Mills  was  a  Methodist.  The  paternal 
grandfather  of  Mrs.  Crabb,  Charles  Mills,  was  a  native  of  England,  and  died 
Feb.  3,  1829.  His  wife,  Sophia,  lived  to  a  good  old  age.  They  had  thirteen 
children.  The  maternal  grandfather  was  Jonathan  Roberts,  born  Sept.  27, 
1777,  a  native  of  England  and  a  weaver  by  trade.  \Vith  his  wife.  Ann  Rob- 
erts, he  came  to  America  and  settled  at  Poughkeepsie,  N.  Y..  where  he  died 
Aug.  21.  1849,  fisred  seventy-one  years  and  ele\en  months.  He  was  the 
father  of  eight  children,  two  sons  and  six  daughters. 

In  the  thirty-five  years  that  Mr.  Crabb  has  lived  in  LTnion  Grove  he  has 
won  a  firm  place  in  the  esteem  of  those  about  him.  He  can  look  back  unon  a 
long  life,  well  spent,  and  has  seen  the  historv  of  his  country  unroll  itself  for 
nearly  three-quarters  of  a  century.     He  is  fa]l  of  interesting  reminiscences. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  215 

and  renienibers  clearly  the  o\d  flint-lock  ninsket  which  his  grandfather  car- 
ried in  the  Rexuhition  and  wjiich  in  his  own  Ijuyhood  it  was  his  chief  delight 
to  fire  off. 

LOUIS  NOLL,  Sr.,  of  the  well-known  firm  of  Louis  Noll  Company, 
dealers  in  general  merchandise,  drugs,  medicines,  real  estate,  loans,  etc.,  of 
Waterford,  Wis.,  is  a  native  of  Baden,  Germany,  born  in  Sulzfeld,  the  seat  of 
Eppingen,  May  31,  1834,  son  of  Frederick  and  Catharina  (Ege)  Noll,  na- 
tives of  that  country,  yis  grandfather,  wdio  died  in  Germany  in  middle  life,  in 
1807,  was  a  shoemaker  by  trade.  His  wife,  who  bore  him  three  children,  at- 
tained the  remarkable  age  of  ninety-three  years.  Caspar  Ege,  Mr.  •  Noll's 
maternal  grandfather,  was  a  farmer  by  occupation,  and  lived  to  an  advanced 
age,  as  did  his  wife,  Catherine.     They  left  a  large  familv. 

Frederick  Noll,  the  father  of  Louis  Noll,  w^as  the  only  son  of  his  parents. 
Reared  to  the  pursuits  of  a  farmer,  he  followed  that  occupation  in  his  native 
country,  and  on  coming  to  America,  in  1853,  settled  on  a  farm  of  forty  acres 
in  Waterford  township,  which  he  continued  to  cultivate  until  1881,  when  he 
died  at  the  age  of  eighty-six  years.  His  first  wife  passed  away  in  1846,  when 
forty-three  years  of  age,  in  the  faith  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  to  which  he 
also  belonged.  Mr.  Noll  married  for  his  second  wife  a  Mrs.  L^belie.  He 
was  very  prominent  in  public  affairs  in  his  native  country,  and  held  various 
positions  of  honor  and  trust.  The  children  of  Frederick  and  Catharina 
(Ege)  Noll  were  twelve  in  number,  but  four  of  whom,  however,  still  sur- 
vive: Louis  E.,  of  Waterford;  Charles,  of  Waterford;  Jacob,  of  Sturgeon 
Bay,  Wis.,  and  William,  of  Milwaukee. 

Louis  E.  Noll  received  his  education  in  his  native  country  and  there  re- 
sided until  eighteen  years  of  age.  In  Germany  he  had  been  a  shepherd,  and 
on  coming  to  America,  in  1852,  went  to  work  on  a  farm  six  miles  north  of 
Milwaukee,  at  Good  Hope,  receiving  as  remuneration  only  four  dollars  per 
month,  though  he  had  to  work  eighteen  hours  a  day.  There  he  remained  for 
six  months,  and  he  then  removed  to  Waterford,  where  he  learned  the  cooper's 
trade,  at  which  he  worked  for  about  twelve  years.  During  most  of  this  time 
Mr.  Noll  operated  a  shop  of  his  own.  and  also  conducted  a  hotel,  where  he 
boarded  the  men  who  were  in  his  employ.  Mr.  Noll  was  drafted  into  ser- 
vice during  the  Civil  war,  but  was  fortunate  enough  to  secure  a  substitute. 
In  1865  he  opened  a  general  store  in  Waterford,  on  a  small  scale,  and  here 
he  has  continued  ever  since,  his  business  having  grown  to  remarkable  pro- 
portions. On  account  of  his  strict  integrity  Mr.  Noll  has  become  very  popu- 
lar and  prominent  in  business  circles,  and  he  has  the  confidence  of  those  with 
whom  he  has  to  deal.  In  addition  to  his  mercantile  interests  Mr.  Noll  owns 
about  eight  hundred  acres  of  excellent  farming  lands  in  Waterford,  Roches- 
ter, Dover  and  Norway  townships.  He  has  done  more  teaming  tlnn  any 
other  man  in  Wisconsin.  In  the  strictest  sense  of  the  word  he  is  a  self-made 
man.  deserving  all  he  has  gained,  both  in  the  way  of  means  and  prestige. 

On  Nov."  IS,  1857,  Mr.  Noll  married  Miss  Elizabeth  Raab,  and  five 
children  were  born  to  this  union:  Charles,  who  married  Louisa  Johnson, 
and  has  two  children,  .Alfred  and  Cora;  and  Louis  L.,  Tuliana.  Oswald  and 
Elizabeth,  all  unmarried.     All  the  children  are  associated  with  their  father  in 


2i6  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

his  various  business  interests.  ]Mrs.  Xoll  died  Jan.  3,  1904.  aged  sixty-nine 
years,  six  months,  in  the  faith  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  to  w  hich  her  husband 
and  children  also  adhere.     Politically  Mr.  Noll  is  a  Democrat. 

WALTER  CURTIS  PALMER,  attorney-at-law.  at  Racine,  Wis.,  a 
member  of  the  well-known  law  linn  of  Palmer  &  Gittings,  was  born  at  Water- 
ford,  Racine  Co.,  W'is.,  Oct.  8,  1858,  son  of  Nelson  H.  and  Sarah  N.  (Curtis) 
Palmer,  both  born  in  the  State  of  New  York.  Their  children  were  seven  in 
number,  two  sons  and  five  daughters,  as  follows:  Charles  N..  of  Clyde,  111.; 
Walter  C. ;  Minnie,  wife  of  Dr.  James  F.  ?sIalone,  of  West  Allis.  Wis. ;  Nel- 
lie B.,  widow  of  Chauncy  Lahatchka,  of  Racine;  Satie  K..  wife  of  Samuel  E. 
Chapman  of  Payette,  Idaho ;  Miss  Mattie.  of  Racine :  and  ]Miss  Lelia  also  of 
Racine. 

]\Ir.  Palmer's  paternal  grandfather  was  a  native  of  New  York,  and  he 
came  to  the  West  in  pioneer  days,  devoted  his  life  to  agriculture,  and  died  at 
Waterford.  far  advanced  in  years.  He  had  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  The 
maternal  grandfather  was  \\'illiam  Curtis,  a  native  of  Massachusetts,  who 
moved  to  Oswego,  N.  Y.,  and  was  a  contractor  there.  He  married  Betsey 
Galpin  and  they  came  West  to  visit,  and  during  this  time  he  died  in  Wisconsm. 
The  widow  finally  decided  to  make  Racine  county  her  home,  and  lived  at  Wa- 
terford until  the  advanced  age  of  ninety  years.  Air.  Curtis  built  the  early  Kings- 
ford  Starch  Factory,  the  beginning  of  a  millionaire  enterprise,  and  constructed 
many  buildings  for  public  and  private  enterprises,  as  long  as  he  lived  at  Os- 
wego.   His  sons  worked  with  him  and  all  were  men  of  substance. 

Nelson  H.  Palmer  worked  in  a  woolen  mill  for  a  time  in  New  York,  and 
in  1838  came  to  Waterford.  Wis.,  where  he  worked  for  a  short  time  as  a  car- 
penter, and  then  carried  on  a  milling  business,  subsequentlv  becoming  a  mer- 
chant. He  died  in  November.  1899,  aged  eighty-one  years.  His  widow  still 
survives  and  resides  at  Racine.  At  various  times  he  was  elected  to  offices  of 
responsibility,  and  at  all  times  he  was  a  man  respected  and  esteemed.  He  was 
a  member  of  the  Congregational  Church. 

AValter  C.  Palmer  was  reared  at  W'aterford.  where  he  attended  the  public 
schools.  Later  he  \vas  a  student  in  Rochester  Seminary,  and  then  entered  the 
University  of  Wisconsin  at  Madison,  where  he  was  graduated  in  law  in  1881. 
and  was  admitted  to  the  Bar  in  the  same  year.  His  law  reading  and  study 
had  been  under  the  supervision  of  Jvistice  John  B.  Winslow.  who  is  now  one 
of  the  Associate  Judges  of  the  Wisconsin  Supreme  Court.  After  completing 
his  law  course  ]\Ir.  Palmer  returned  to  his  home,  assisted  his  father  in  his  mer- 
cantile business,  and  also  began  the  practice  of  his  profession.  In  the  fall  of 
1886  he  was  elected  county  clerk,  a  position  of  responsibility  he  held  for  four 
years.  Air.  Palmer  entered  into  partnership.  Jan.  i.  1891.  with  C.  C.  Git- 
tings. under  the  firm  name  of  Palmer  &  Gittings.  and  this  association  has  con- 
tinued until  the  present.  The  firm  is  one  held  in  very  high  regard  at  Racine, 
having  ably  handled  a  large  part  of  the  important  litigation  coming  before  the 
courts  here  for  some  vears. 

On  Alarch  12.  1889.  Mr.  Palmer  was  united  in  marriage  with  Miss  Abi- 
gail H.  Williams,  who  was  born  in  New  York,  daughter  of  John  and  Eleanor 
(Jones)  Williams,  natives  of  Wales.     Mr.  and  Mrs.  Williams  came  to  Wis- 


fe/Zen  (^-r^u..^.^ 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  217 

consin  some  thirty  years  ago  and  settled  at  Racine,  where  Mr.  Wilhanis  worked 
as  a  carpenter  for  several  years,  when  he  died.  His  wife  survived  him  for  a 
number  of  years  and  died  at  the  home  of  her  daughter.  Besides  Mrs.  Palmer, 
they  had  a  son,  William  R.  Williams,  now  a  resident  of  Portland,  Oregon. 

In  addition  to  attending  to  a  large  and  increasing  practice,  Mr.  Palmer 
has  many  other  interests  of  an  important  character.  He  is  president  of  the 
White  Buck  Hardware  Co.,  a  well-known  business  corporation.  He  was  one 
of  the  original  incorporators  of  the  Racine  Building  &  Loan  Association,  and 
has  been  its  secretary  since  April,  1895.  It  is  an  enterprise  wdiich  has  a  souna 
financial  standing.  He  is  a  stockholder  in  the  Racine  Shoe  Company,  and  also 
in  the  Citizens  Telephone  Company.  He  owns  a  considerable  amount  of  valu- 
able property,  including  his  handsome  home  at  No.  1426  College  avenue,  and 
a  tract  of  seven  acres  of  land,  upon  which  is  a  substantial  residence,  within  the 
limits  of  the  city.  He  is  also  interested  in  several  lead  and  zinc  mines  in  south- 
western Wisconsin,  being  a  director  in  the  Trio  Mining  Company,  of  Linden, 
Wisconsin. 

Mrs.  Palmer  is  a  member  of  the  Episcopal  Church.  In  political  sentiment 
Mr.  Palmer  is  a  Republican,  and  is  an  active  worker  in  the  ranks  of  the  party. 
He  has  numerous  fraternal  connections,  joining  the  Masons  as  a  member  of 
Waterford  Lodge,  but  now  being  affiliated  w'ith  Belle  City  Lodge  No.  92,  A.  F. 
&  A.  M.  He  belongs  to  Racine  Lodge,  No.  32,  Knights  of  Pythias ;  is  a  char- 
ter member  at  Racine  of  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America,  Lakeside  Camp 
No.  379 ;  and  is  also  connected  with  the  Royal  Arcanum,  Racine  Lodge  No. 
220.  He  has  an  honorary  membership  in  the  Racine  Club,  and  has  a  national 
reputation  as  a  whist  player.  For  many  years  he  has  been  president  of  the 
Horlick  Whist  Club,  which  in  1904  won  the  championship  of  the  United 
States  at  New  York  City.  As  will  be  inferred  from  the  foregoing  facts  he 
secures  a  lead  in  wdiatever  field  he  ventures  and  is  recognized  as  one  of  the 
financial  forces  of  Racine,  as  well  as  among  its  most  prominent  and  popular 
professional  gentlemen. 

CAPT.  HALVOR  WILLIAMSON,  a  wholesale  and  retail  dealer  in 
hardwood  lumber,  has  been  a  resident  of  Racine  for  over  thirty  years,  and  is 
one  of  that  city's  most  enterprising  and  progressive  business  men.  He  was 
born  in  Kragero,  Norway.  June  17.  1846.  son  of  William  Halvorson  and 
Helen  Johnson,  natives  of  Norway.  The  paternal  grandfather.  Halvor  Tur- 
geson,  was  a  native  of  Norway,  where  both  he  and  his  wife,  Anna  Turgeson, 
died.  The  maternal  grandfather,  one  Hendrickson.  was  also  a  native  of 
Norway,  was  a  sea  captain,  and  died  w^ell  advanced  in  years.  His  wife  was 
Ranguill  Hendrickson. 

William  Halvorson.  our  subject's  father,  was  a  ship  carpenter  and  a 
shipbuilding  master  for  eighteen  years ;  in  his  native  country  he  drafted  and 
built  ships.  He  came  to  America  about  1871.  settling  in  Racine  with  his  son 
Halvor.  and  dying  at  the  home  of  his  son  John,  in  1883.  in  his  sixty-fourth 
^•ear.  His  wife  passed  away  in  Norway  in  1852.  Both  were  Lutherans. 
They  had  two  sons  and  two  daughters,  both  the  daughters  dying  in  early 
^vomanhood.  The  sons  were  Halvor,  our  subject,  and  John,  who  died  in  Ra- 
cine in  1902. 


2i8  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Olaris  Johnson,  Capt.  Williamson's  uncle,  was  a  well  educated  man,  held 
various  offices  in  his  native  country,  and  although  he  sailed  to  a  number  of 
foreign  ports  never  needed  an  interpreter,  as  he  spoke  a  number  of  languages. 

Capt.  Halvor  Williamson  was  reared  in  Norway,  where  he  received  his 
schooling.  He  came  to  America  in  1861,  and  sailed  on  vessels  to  different 
countries  until  1867,  being  also  captain  of  vessels  on  Lake  Michigan.  He 
then  went  to  California,  being  on  the  coast  for  a  while,  after  which  he  pur- 
chased a  hay  press  and  pressed  hay  for  some  time  in  that  State.  In  1868  he 
removed  to  Alaska,  and  he  was  the  ninth  white  man  to  locate  in  that  country, 
E.  R.  Henning  being  the  first.  He  remained  in  Alaska  six  vears,  being  first 
engaged  on  the  coast  in  a  trading  schooner,  and  later  becoming  agent  for  the 
Alaska  Commercial  Company,  operating  several  stores  for  them.  In  1874 
he  returned  to  the  United  States  and  located  in  Racine,  becoming  a  captain 
on  Lake  Michigan,  and  continuing  as  such  until  1888,  when  he  left  the  Lake 
and  established  his  present  lumber  business.  He  furnishes  lumber  for  large 
contracts  and  supplies  many  large  factories,  running  two  vessels  of  his  own, 
and  employing  on  an  average  from  thirty  to  thirty-five  men.  His  offices  are 
located  at  the  north  end  of  Mead  street  bridge.  He  is  a  stockholder  in  the 
Citizens"  Telephone  Company,  and  owns  some  fine  propertv  besides,  including 
his  lumber  yards  on  Root  river. 

Capt.  Williamson  was  married  in  December,  1875,  to  ]iliss  Eliza  Marie 
Johnson,  daughter  of  Peter  and  Mary  Johnson,  and  to  this  union  were  born 
five  children :  One  that  died  in  infancy ;  Helen,  who  married  Lorris  Jacob- 
sen,  and  lives  at  Wakonda,  S.  Dak. ;  Alorris  and  Henrv,  in  the  empiov  of 
their  father;  and  Myra  Ethel,  at  school.  Mrs.  Williamson,  the  mother  of 
these  children,  died  in  1895,  "i  the  faith  of  the  Methodist  Church.  On  Dec. 
22.  1896,  Capt.  Williamson  married  for  his  second  wife  Miss  Marie  Thress- 
ing,  daughter  of  Ole  and  Oleanna  Thressing.  Capt.  Williamson  and  his  wife 
are  Lutherans.  The  Captain  owns  a  beautiful  home  at  No.  944  Main  street. 
Fraternally  he  is  connected  with  Racine  Lodge,  No.  92.  F.  &  A.  M.,  and  the 
Royal  Arcanum.     Politically  he  is  a  Republican. 

CARL  J.  RYGH,  a  prosperous  and  enterprising  agriculturist  and  rep- 
resentative citizen  of  Section  36.  Norwav  township,  was  born  in  that  town- 
ship March  26.  1866,  son  of  Samuel  S.  and  Hellena  (Skarie)  Rygh.  The 
parents  were  natives  of  Norway,  and  the  paternal  grandfather  was  Swein 
Rygh,  who,  after  the  death  of  his  wife  in  Norway,  came  to  America.  He 
was  a  farmer  in  this  country,  and  died  aged  eightv-one  vears. 

Samuel  S.  Rvgh,  father  of  Carl  J.,  came  to  America  when  a  voung  man, 
and,  settling  in  Norway  townshiD.  purchased  100  acres  of  land  which  he  im- 
proved and  still  owns,  and  to  which  he  has  added  120  acres,  now  having  220 
acres  in  Norway  township.  He  also  owned  at  one  time  fortv-nine  acres  at 
W^ind  Lake,  Racine  county,  which  he  sold  some  years  ago.  He  and  his  wife 
are  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church.  Politically  he  is  a  RpDublic^n.  and  he 
was  for  a  number  of  vears  sunervisor  and  town  treasurer.  Mr.  Rveh  married 
Hellena  Sknrie.  dauehter  of  Hans  Julson  Bleeen.  and  thev  h^d  the  following 
named  children:     Hans  S. :  Carl  J-:  ^larv  Ann.  wife  of  Andrew  G.  Oleson : 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  219 

Martha  A.,  wife  of  Harvey  E.  Britton ;  Henrietta,  wife  of  Herman  Erickson ; 
Samuel  E.,  and  Frederick  W. 

Hans  Julson  Blegen  ( father  of  Mrs.  Hellena  Rygh)  was  a  son  of  Jul 
and  Martha  Blegen.  who  lived  on  a  farm  in  Norway.  They  had  three  sons 
and  one  daughter,  of  whom,  the  daughter  married  and  had  two  daughters. 
One  son  married  and  left  two  sons  and  two  daughters.  Hans 
Julson  Blegen  married  Mary  Skarie,  and  touk  the  name  Skarie  from 
the  homestead  of  his  father-in-law  in  Norway,  where  he  lived  after  his  mar- 
riage. Coming  to  America  he  settled  at  North  Cape,  Wis.,  and  there  engaged 
in  farming  until  his  death,  in  his  sixty-ninth  year.  He  and  his  wife  had  six 
children  who  lived  to  maturity,  Jul,  Paul,  Even,  Hellena,  ]\Iary  and  Hans  Ble- 
gen Skarie.  Mary  Skarie,  wife  of  Hans  Julson  Blegen  Skarie,  was  the 
daughter  of  Paul  and  Hellena  Skarie.  Their  ancestors  were  from  Toten,  in 
Norway.  They  were  engaged  in  farming  in  Halland,  Norway.  They  had 
four  daughters,  Mary,  Martha,  Ragnild  and  Anna  Skarie,  of  whom  Anna 
married  Hans  Lauvbrotten  and  came  to  America,  settling  on  a  farm  in 
Winneshiek  county,  Iowa.  They  died  there,  and  left  five  daughters  and  one 
son. 

Carl  J.  Rygh  was  reared  in  Norway  township  on  his  father's  farm,  and 
attended  the  district  schools.  He  lived  at  home  until  grown  to  manhood,  and 
then  went  to  Milwaukee  and  worked  as  a  carpenter  for  the  Chicago,  Mil- 
waukee &  St.  Paul  Railway  Company,  later  becoming  a  member  of  the  police 
force  for  fourteen  months.  He  then  became  assistant  superintendent  of  the 
Racine  County  Insane  Asylum,  where  he  continued  for  five  "years,  at  the  end 
of  that  time  settling  on  his  father-in-law's  farm  at  North  Cape,  where  he  has 
resided  ever  since.  Mr.  Rygh  farms  200  acres  of  fine  land,  and  deals  exten- 
sively in  fine  cattle.  He  has  been  successful  in  his  business,  and  he  and  his 
wife  are  highly  esteemed  throughout  the  community. 

On  March  7,  1894,  Mr.  Rygh  married  Miss  Ellen  .\ndsion.  daughter 
of  Peter  M.  and  Sophia  (Spillum)  Andsion,  and  one  daughter  has  been  born 
to  this  union.  Maggie  A.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Rygh  are  members  of  the  Lutheran 
Church.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  anfl  lie  was  town  treasurer  for  one 
term. 

The  first  of  the  Andsion  family  of  whom  we  have  record  was  Paul  And- 
sion. of  Tommeraas,  in  Fyraas,  Sweden.  In  1731.  after  his  crops  had  failed 
for  thirteen  consecutive  years,  he  and  his  wife  with  their  twelve  children 
walked  across  the  mountains  to  a  place  called  Gr^nd  Aune.  a  few  miles  dis- 
tant from  the  Andsion  farm,  where  they  settled.  Peter  Paulson  Andsion,  son 
of  this  Paul,  was  the  great-grandfather  of  Mrs.  Rygh.  He  and  his  wife  lived 
on  the  Andsion  farm,  and  were  industrious  farming  people.  His  first  wife 
died,  and  he  married  again,  and  by  the  two  marriaees  he  had  the  following 
children :     Ole  Peterson.  Paul,  Lars.  Lorns.  Peter.  Ellen  and  Panilla. 

Ole  Peterson  Andsion.  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Rvgh,  was  born  in  Norway, 
where  he  passed  all  his  life.  He  married  Beret,  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Morten  Paulson  Andsion,  and  took  up  farming  on  the  adjoining  farm.  Thev 
had  two  daughters.  Merit  and  Rebecca.  ]\Ierit  Andsion  married  Peter  Liin 
Spillum,  and  they  had  one  son,  Ole,  who  married   Karen   Steendal  and  had 


220  COAIME^IORATl\E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

ten  chililren;  they  lived  un  the  farm  called  Liin,  at  Spillum,  near  Namsos, 
Norway,  and  there  died.  Rebecca  Andsion  married  Carl  E.  Savig  and  re- 
moved to  a  small  farm  called  Gaasnesset;  they  had  one  daughter,  Ellen  B., 
who  married  Tobias  Gaasnesset,  and  they  lived  on  her  father's  place,  and  had 
one  son.  Carl.  Ole  P.  Andsion's  wife  Beret  died,  and  he  then  married  her 
niece,  Ingeborg  Bergen,  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Staal  Bergen.  To  this 
union  were  born  five  children,  viz. :  Beirut,  Gullianna,  Sophia.  Peter  Meier 
and  Ovidia.  Of  these,  ( i )  Bernt  Andsion  and  his  wife,  Paulina,  had  two 
sons,  Ole  and  Jorgen.  Ole  came  to  America  and  walked  from  Portland, 
Maine,  to  North  Cape.  Later  on  he  married  a  widow,  Mrs.  Olson,  in  Mil- 
waukee, and  subsequently  moved  to  Omaha,  Neb.  (2)  Gullianna  Andsion 
married  Andreas  Hals,  and  lived  on  the  farm  called  Hals.  They  had  one 
daughter,  Josephine,  who  married  Andrew  Nelson,  son  of  Nels  Katmoen. 
They  had  one  son,  Norman,  wdio  lives  on  the  old  home  at  Hals.  (3)  So- 
phia' Andsion  married  Joel  Aune,  and  they  had  six  children,  Alex,  Martin, 
Justena,  Johan  P.,  Elise  J.  and  Carl  R.     Alex  Aune  came  to  America  and 

worked  first  as  photographer.     Then  he  married  Ann  and  settled  on 

a  farm  near  Baldwin,  St.  Croix  Co.,  Wis.  He  died  leaving  four  children. 
Carl  R.  Aune  married  Indianna  Alte,  and  coming  to  America  settled  on  a 
farm  near  Baldwin,  St.  Croix  Co.,  Wis.  To  them  six  sons  were  born,  four 
of  whom  are  living.  One  son,  Hans  Aune,  is  county  superintendent  of  St. 
Croix  county.  Wis.  (4)  Peter  ]Meier  Andsion  was  the  father  of  Mrs.  Rygh. 
(5)  Ovidia  Andsion  married  Jacob  Hals,  and  they  spent  their  lives  on  a  farm 
in  Norwav.  They  had  seven  children.  Johan,  Laurits,  Olise,  Gusta,  Anne, 
Sophie  ("who  married  Carl  Olson  and  lives  at  Denver,  Colo.)  and  Ole. 

Peter  Andsion,  son  of  Peter  Paulson  Andsion,  married  a  daughter  of 
Mr.  and  ]Mrs.  Flak,  and  to  them  were  born  two  children,  Lorns  Peter  and 
Margrethe.  Lorns  married  Julianna,  daughter  of  Halvor  and  Ellen  Berge 
Geisness,  and  to  them  were  born  five  children,  Peter  Albert,  Helnier  C,  Ed- 
ward J..  Charles  E.,  and  Julia.  They  came  to  America  and  settled  on  al 
farm  in  St.  Croix  county.  Wis.,  near  Baldwin.  In  1880  Helmer  C.  married 
Julia  Andsion.  daughter  of  Peter  M.  and  Anne  Sophia  Andsion.  They  kept 
a  hotel  at  Baldwin,  Wis.  On  Sept.  3,  1885,  he  was  drowned  in  Battle  Lake, 
Minnesota. 

Panilla  Andsion,  daughter  of  Peter  Paulson  Andsion.  married  Mr.  Hol- 
stad.  and  their  son  Ditlov.  with  wife  and  children,  came  to  America  and  set- 
tled in  Goodhue  county.  Minnesota. 

Peter  Meier  Andsion.  father  of  Mrs.  Rygh.  was  a  native  of  Norway,  and 
there  married,  on  May  25.  184=;.  Anne  Sophia  Spillum.  daughter  of  Elling 
H.  and  Maren  (Katmoen)   Spillum. 

The  first  of  the  Katmoen  family  of  whom  we  have  record  w-as  Ole  Kat- 
moen. of  Overhalden.  in  Norwav.  He  had  one  sister  and  one  brother.  Chris- 
toi)her.  Ole  married  Chersti  Tetli.  and  they  had  twelve  children,  seven  of 
whom  grew  up.  Nels.  Karen.  Johan.  Anne.  Maren,  Hellena  and  Swein  Kat- 
moen. who  later  took  the  name  Rygh.  Of  these,  (i)  Nels  Katmoen.  the  old- 
est, and  his  wife  Siri.  lived  at  the  old  home.  They  had  five  children,  of  whom 
one  son,   Andrew,  married  Josephine  Hals,  daughter  of  Andreas  and  Gul- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRArHICAL    RECORD.  221 

lianna  (Andsion)  Hals,  and  lived  un  her  parents'  farm.  They  had  one  son, 
Norman,  and  both  died  in  Norway.  Another  son,  Swain  Nelson  Katmoen, 
married  and  came  to  America,  and  was  editor  of  a  large  Norwegian  paper 
in  Chicago,  called  Skaiidi)iaz'cii.  (2)  Karen  Katmoen  married,  and  later 
on  both  she  and  her  husband  died  in  Norway.  (3)  Johan  Katmoen  married 
a  widow,  Margret  Vernbuen,  with  two  children,  and  to  this  union  three  chil- 
dren were  born.  They  died  on  their  farm.  (4)  Anne  Katmoen  married  Mr. 
Galgauften,  and  lived  on  the  farm.  They  had  two  children.  One  daughter, 
Olea,  married  Andreas  Valskraa,  after  he  returned  from  America.  (5)  Ma- 
ren  Katmoen,  after  working  three  years  with  her  brother  for  thirty-six  pounds 
of  barley  a  year  (for  money  had  lost  its  \-alue),  married  Elling  H.  Spillum, 
and  they  first  settled  on  his  father's  farm.  Their  children  who  lived  were 
Ole,  Hendrick,  Anne  Sophia  and  Michael.  (6)  Hellena  Katmoen  became  en- 
gaged to  a  widower,  Mr.  Melus,  and  after  a  fourteen  years'  engagement  she 
died  while  preparing  for  the  wedding.      (7)    Swein  Katmoen  Rygh  and  his 

first  wife,  Anne ,  had  two  chiklren,  Lovisa  and  Ole.     She  died,  and  later 

he  married  a  widow,  also  named  Anne.  She  died  without  a  family.  He  then 
married  Karen  Veglo,  and  they  had  two  children,  Samuel  S.  Rygh  (father  of 
Carl  J.  Rygh)  and  Tilla.  Tilla  married  Joakim  Melen,  and  had  a  small  farm. 
Their  family  consisted  of  two  sons  and  one  daughter.  They  all  reside  in 
Norway  except  the  youngest  son,  George  J.  Melen,  who  came  to  .\merica 
and  resides  at  or  near  North  Cape. 

Elling  H.  and  Maren  (Katmoen)  Spillum  came  with  three  sons  from 
their  native  Norway  to  America  in  1846,  and  settled  near  North  Cape,  in 
Raymond  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  where  Mr.  Spillum  purchased  eighty 
acres  of  land.  He  also  purchased  eighty  acres  in  Norw-ay  township,  com- 
prised in  the  late  home  of  "his  daughter  and  son-in-law,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  And- 
sion. paying  $1,000  for  both  farms,  including  the  crops  thereon.  In  1849  l^^ 
purchased  eighty  acres  in  Section  25,  town  of  Norw-ay.  He  died  in  1850,  at 
the  age  of  sixty-one  years,  on  his  farm,  and  his  w'ife  died  in  1864,  when  sev- 
enty-six and  a  half  years  old.  They  had  five  children,  four  of  whom  grew 
up  and  came  to  Racine  county.  Mr.  Spillum  was  a  well  known  man  in  his 
native  country,  and  held  offices  there. 

The  first  of  the  Spillum  family  of  whom  we  have  record  is  Elling  Spil- 
lum. He  and  his  w'ife  Beret  lived  at  the  farm  called  Spillum,  across  the  bay 
from  the  village  of  Namsos.  They  had  one  son,  who  was  drowned  while  out 
fishing.  They  also  had  two  daughters,  Ellen  and  Maren.  Elling  died  when 
a  little  past  forty  years  old  but  his  wife  lived  to  a  ripe  old  age.  Ellen  later 
on  married  Hendrik  Hoy,  and  lived  on  the  homestead.  They  had  one  son, 
Elling  H.  Spillum  (grandfather  of  Mrs.  Ellen  A.  Rygh),  and  two  daughters, 
Ellen  and  Anne.  Elling  H.  Spillum  married  Maren  Katmoen  and  lived  on 
the  homestead.  They  had  four  children,  Ole,  Hendrik.  Anne  Sophia  and 
Michael  Spillum.  In  1852  the  oldest  son,  (i)  Ole.  married  Betsy  Adland, 
daughter  of  Mons  and  Ellen  Adland,  and  settled  on  his  father's  farm.  They 
had  four  daughters  and  one  son.  but  only  three  daughters  grew  u]"),  Martha, 
Magdalena  and  Anna  Spillum.  Of  these.  Martha  married  Paul  Gunderson 
Aakvig,   a  grandson   of  Lendsmand   Paul   .\nflsion,   from  Vigten.    Norway. 


222  COMMEMORATR'E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

They  run  a  farm  and  he  is  machine  agent  at  Porter,  Yellow  Meditine  Co., 
.Minn.  They  have  three  sons  and  one  daughter.  Magdalena  married  Jerry- 
Fries  and  lives  at  Toronto,  S.  Dak.,  He  runs  a  bank.  They  have  two  sons 
and  a  daughter.  Anna  Spillum  married  Christ  Ebert.  They  run  a  store  at 
Tacoma,  Wash.  In  1868  Betsy  (Adland)  Spillum  died,  and  Ole  married  Anne 
Olson  Klat.  To  this  union  were  born  four  children,  three  living  at  present, 
Henry,  Bertha  and  Ole.  (2)  Hendrik  Spillum,  second  son  of  Elling  H.  and 
Maren  Spillum,  married  Lucy  Anderson,  also  a  native  of  Norway.  He  was 
blind,  but  worked  as  a  carpenter,  cabinetmaker  and  wagonmaker.  They  died 
without  a  family.  (3)  Michael  Spillum,  the  youngest,  married  Lovisa  Rygh 
and  lived  on  eighty  acres  in  Section  25,  Norway  township.  He  was  also 
blind.  They  had  four  children,  Edward,  Andrew,  ]Matheus  and  Sanna  C, 
wife  of  B.  J.  Bendickson.  (4)  Anne  Sophia  (Spillum)  Andsion  was  the 
mother  of  Mrs.  Ellen  A.  Rygh.     She  led  an  industrious  Christian  life. 

Maren  Spillum,  the  other  daughter  of  Elling  Spillum,  married  Jonas 
Spillum  the  same  day  her  sister  Ellen  was  married  and  each  received  one- 
half  of  their  father's  farm.  Their  children  were  Rachel,  Beret,  Ingeborg  and 
Ole.  Ole  married  Gunnil  Solum,  and  settled  on  the  homestead.  They  had 
three  children,  Johan  Andreas,  Tilla  and  George  Spillum,  who  came  to 
America  and  has  run  a  store  at  North  Cape  for  over  thirty  years. 

All  the  relatives  mentioned  in  this  biography  are  Lutherans  and  nearly 
all  are  Republicans.  Ellen,  daughter  of  Ellen  and  Hendrik  Hoy  Spillum, 
married  Halvor  Berge  Geisness.  They  were  engaged  in  farming.  They  had 
four  children,  Andrew,  Hendrik,  Carl  and  Julianna,  who  married  Lorns  Pe- 
terson Flak,  and  they  became  the  parents  of  Helmer  C.  Peterson,  who  mar- 
ried Julia  Andsion  May  20,  1880.  The  Geisness  family  resided  near  Bald- 
win, St.  Croix  Co.,  Wisconsin. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peter  M.  Andsion  remained  in  Norway  until  1849.  and 
on  coming  to  this  country  settled  in  Raymond  township,  Racine  county,  about 
a  half  mile  south  of  North  Cape,  with  Mrs.  Andsion's  parents.  There  they 
remained  five  years,  and  then  came  to  their  present  farm  in  Norway'  town- 
ship, the  one  Elling  H.  Spillum  had  purchased  some  years  before.  Mrs.  Spil- 
lum stayed  among  her  children  and  died  at  the  home  of  her  daughter.  Mrs. 
Andsion.  Mr.  Andsion  was  a  blacksmith  by  trade  and  followed  that  calling 
for  many  years,  together  with  his  farming.  He  became  prominent  in  public 
afifairs  and  in  religious  work,  holding  church  offices  and  various  township 
offices,  among  them  that  of  chairman  of  the  town  of  Norway  for  several 
terms.  Mr.  Andsion  died  Jan  23,  1904,  at  the  age  of  eighty-one,  just  eleven 
days  after  the  death  of  his  wife,  who  was  seventy-nine  and  a  half  years  old. 
They  were  memters  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  and  in  politics  Mr.  Andsion  was 
a  Republican.  They  had  four  children:  Edward  J.,  who  died  in  1850:  Mar- 
garetta.  who  married  James  Frederickson  and  died  in  1890.  leaving  three  chil- 
dren:  Julia,  widow  of  Helmer  C.  Peterson,  of  Baldwin,  Wis.,  who  was 
drowned  at  Battle  Lake.  Minn.,  Sept.  3,  1885;  and  Ellen  A..  Mrs.  Rygh. 

MATTHEW  CUNNINGHAM,  one  of  Burlington's  substantial  busi- 
ness men,  who  is  engaged  in  dealing  in  clothing,  drv  goods,  shoes,  etc..  was 


co:\i:memorative  biographical  record.        223 

born  in  County  Longford,  Ireland,  May  19,  1841,  son  of  Patrick  and  Ann 
(Donlon)  Cunningham,  also  natives  of  the  Emerald  Isle.  Daniel  Cunning- 
ham, the  grandfather,  died  in  Ireland,  aged  about  fifty  years.  He  was  a 
farmer.  He  and  his  wife,  Ann  Eagan,  had  a  good  sized  family.  On  the  ma- 
ternal side,  grandfather  Dunlon  li\ed  to  a  good  old  age,  as  did  also  his  wife, 
Mary  Shanley. 

Patrick  Cunningham  came  to  America  in  1847,  and  located  four  miles 
east  of  Burlington,  wliere  he  purchased  a  farm  of  eighty  acres,  to  which  he 
added,  from  time  to  time,  until  it  contained  240  acres.  There  he  died  in  1877, 
aged  seventy-two  years,  while  his  wife  survived  him  until  1888,  being'  sev- 
enty-eight years  old  at  the  time  of  her  death.  Mr.  Cunningham  held  the 
office  of  town  supervisor  for  some  years.  Eight  children  were  born  to  Pat- 
rick and  Ann  Cunningham,  three  of  whom  are  still  living :  Matthew,  of  Bur- 
lington; Maria,  the  wife  of  Michael  Gleason,  of  Dover,  Wis.,  and  Annie,  wife 
of  Robert  O'Neill,  of  Burlington. 

Matthew  Cunningham  was  a  little  over  five  years  old  when  he  came  to 
America  with  his  parents,  and  he  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm.  He  at- 
tended the  district  schools  and  lived  at  home  until  he  reached  maturity,  after 
which  he  began  clerking  in  a  clothing'  store  in  Milwaukee,  where  he  remained 
seven  years.  In  1870  he  went  to  Chicago,  and  in  1880  located  in  Burlington, 
forming  a  partnership  with  Leonard  Smith  and  buying  out  his  father-in-law, 
the  firm  being  Smith  &  Cunningham.  Tliis  firm  continued  until  1891,  when 
Mr.  Cunningham  bought  Mr.  Smith's  interest,  and  he  has  continued  alone 
ever  since.  On  Feb.  4,  1880,  Mr.  Cunningham  married  Miss  Annie  Smith, 
daughter  of  Valentine  and  Genevieve  Smith.  Ten  children  were  born  to  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Cunningham,  four  sons  and  six  daughters :  Clara,  Mary,  Nancy, 
Laura,  Katie,  Julia,  Alfred,  Leonard,  Joseph  and  Raymond.  Politically  Mr. 
Cunningham  is  a  Democrat,  and  he  served  as  a  member  of  the  city  council  for 
three  years.  He  is  one  of  the  substantial  merchants  of  Burlington,  where  he 
has  conducted  his  present  business  for  ovev  twenty-five  years.  He  is  honored 
and  respected  for  his  straightforward  business  methods,  not  only  by  his  pat- 
rons but  by  the  citizens  in  general. 

Mrs.  Cunningham's  parents  were  natives  of  Germany,  and  came  to 
America  about  1850,  locating  in  New  York  City  for  a  short  time.  They  then 
came  West  to  Burlington,  where  Mr.  Smith  died  in  July,  1899.  His  widow 
still  survives.  Of  their  children,  three  are  still  surviving:  Leonard,  Mrs. 
Cunningham  and  Louisa. 

JAMES  BROOK,  a  well-to-do  farmer  of  Brighton  township,  Kenosha 
county,  is,  like  so  many  residents  of  that  section,  of  English  descent,  and  was 
himself  born  in  England,  although  his  life  since  boyhood  has  been  spent  in 
Wisconsin. 

James  Brook  was  named  after  his  paternal  grandfather,  who  died  in 
his  native  England  when  about  ninety  years  old.  He  married  Miss  Sallie 
Fairbanks,  who  lived  to  nearly  the  same  age.  and  they  had  a  family  of  six 
sons  and  four  daughters.     They  were  farming  people. 

William  Brook,  son  of  the  above,  was  a  weaver  and  manufacturer  of 
alpaca.     He  came  to  Wisconsin  in  1847,  landing  at  Southport.  now  Kenosha, 


224  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

and  \-erv  soon  settleil  in  Brighton  township,  where  he  bought  eighty  acres  of 
land,  lie  addetl  to  this  till  he  owned  290  acres,  all  of  which  he  improved 
from  its  wild  state,  and  lived  there  till  his  death,  at  the  age  of  fifty-five.  He 
married  Miss  Mary  Taylor,  and  she  survived  him  until  1886,  passing  away 
when  seventy-three  years  old.  She  was  a  daughter  of  William  and  Betsey 
(Wilson)  Taylor,  natives  of  England,  and  farming  people,  who  died  in  Eng- 
land aged  eighty  and  seventy  years  respectively.  Their  family  consisted  of 
two  sons  and  four  daughters.  Mrs.  Brook  and  her  husband  both  belonged  to 
the  Church  of  England.  Of  the  five  sons  and  four  daughters  born  to  them 
si.x  are  still  living,  viz. :  James ;  William,  of  Brighton  township ;  Sarah. 
widow  of  Henry  Martin,  of  Brighton  township;  Hannah  Mary,  Harriet  Ann 
and  Amelia,  all  residing  in  that  same  township.  One  son,  Edward,  of  Com- 
pany H,  1st  Wis.  V.  C,  died  while  a  prisoner  at  Andersonville. 

James  Brook  was  born  in  Yorkshire,  England,  Jan.  17,  1838,  and  was 
a  boy  of  nine  years  when  his  father  brought  the  family  to  America.  Most  of 
his  education  was  acquired  in  the  Wisconsin  district  schools,  and  after  finish- 
ing his  studies  he  devoted  himself  to  farming.  He  remained  at  home  until  he 
was  forty-one  years  old,  taking  part  of  the  charge  of  his  father's  place.  At 
last  he  began  for  himself  on  a  farm  of  eighty  acres  which  his  father  gave  him 
and  he  has  added  to  this  till  he  is  the  owner  of  300  acres,  located  in  Section 
29.  He  has  made  many  extensive  improvements  on  his  farm  and  has  one 
of  the  best  in  the  region,  being  one  of  the  representative  men  of  his  township. 

The  marriage  of  James  Brook  to  Miss  Charity  Gulick  occurred  April  10, 
1879,  and  their  union  has  been  blessed  with  four  children,  namely:  William 
Henry,  a  lawyer  in  Ontario,  Oregon ;  James  Walter ;  Lulu  Bell ;  and  Lucy 
Loretta.  Mr.  Brook  in  his  religious  views  is  an  Episcopalian,  and  his  wife  a 
Presbyterian.     Politically  he  is  a  Republican. 

GILBERT  M.  SIMMONS  (deceased)  and  Gilbert  M.  Simmons  Li- 
brary. The  lamented  son  of  Hon.  Z.  G.  Simmons,  who  passed  quietly  away 
in  his  native  city  of  Kenosha,  on  the  afternoon  of  the  15th  of  January,  1890. 
was  a  thoroughly  educated  gentleman,  an  active  and  broad-minded  business 
man,  intensely  devoted  to  the  public  welfare  of  Kenosha,  and  in  his  death  the 
city  lost  one  of  its  most  popular  and  sincerely  mourned  residents.  It  was  univer- 
sally recognized  that  a  warm,  pure,  strong  character  had  been  taken  from  the 
community,  and  the  grief  was  the  more  widespread  and  deep  in  that  the  de- 
ceased was  only  in  his  thirty-eighth  year,  having  scarcely  readied  the  prime 
of  his  best  endeavors. 

Gilbert  M.  Simmons  was  born  in  Kenosha,  Wis.,  July  2,  1852,  the  son  of 
Hon.  Zalmon  G.  and  Emma  E.  Simmons.  In  1875  he  graduated  from  the 
Northwestern  University,  Evanston,  and  in  the  following  year  formed  a  mer- 
cantile partnership  at  Kenosha  with  Charles  C.  Brown,  under  the  firm  name  of 
Simmons  &  Brown.  At  college  he  was  an  athlete,  a  member  of  the  boat  crew, 
a  good  student,  and  popular  with  both  students  and  professors.  He  carried  his 
energetic  and  attractive  qualities  into  business  life,  and  as  he  was  thorough, 
honest  and  a  natural  executive,  he  was  soon  conceded  to  be  the  most  popular 
of  Kenosha's  citizens,  and  one  in  whom  the  public  had  unqualified  confidence. 
In  1 888  he  became  cashier  of  the  First  National  Bank,  and  at  the  time  of  his 
death  was  also  a  director  in  several  local  corporations. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  225 

On  March  30,  1877,  Mr.  Simmons  was  united  in  marriage,  at  Evanston, 
111.,  to  Miss  Juliet  Clarkson,  and  to  this  union  were  born  three  children,  Eliza- 
beth, Clarkson  and  Margaret.  Of  the  children,  Elizabeth  only  survives,'  Clark- 
son  having  died  at  the  age  of  eight  years,  and  Margaret  at  twenty  months.  The 
widow  resides  at  Kenosha.  In  politics  the  deceased  was  a  stalwart  Republican, 
and,  as  in  all  other  fields  into  which  he  entered,  an  active  and  influential  worker. 

The  library  erected  to  his  memory  by  his  devoted  father  stands  in  Cen- 
tral Park,  Kenosha,  and  is  an  imposing  and  beautiful  tribute  of  paternal  af- 
fection. Its  style  is  pure,  simple  and  Grecian  classic,  the  building  being  of 
stone,  with  a  stately  dome  and  colonnaded  entrance,  and  was  completed  in  July,. 
1900,  at  a  cost  of  $200,000 — the  building  and  decorations  on  the  grounds.  Its 
dimensions  on  the  ground  are  175x72  feet.  The  interior  is  of  marble.  Besides 
bearing  the  expense  of  the  erection  of  the  building  Mr.  Simmons  contributed 
$20,000  for  the  purchase  of  books,  the  library  containing  about  17,000  volumes 
with  a  considerable  sum  still  unexpended. 

This  memorial  to  a  beloved  son  and  munificent  donation  to  Kenosha  stands 
in  the  center  of  the  beautiful  grounds,  comprising  four  acres,  located  in  the 
heart  of.  the  city  and  formerly  known  as  the  Village  Commons.  They  are 
bounded  on  the  west  by  Chicago  street,  north  by  Park  Place,  east  by  Park  ave- 
nue, and  south  by  Deming  street.  The  artistic  and  imposing  Soldiers  Monu- 
ment presented  by  Mr.  Simmons  to  the  Civil  war  patriots  of  Kenosha  county 
is  also  on  the  library  site,  facing  Park  Place. 

Gilbert  M.  Simmons  Library  is  the  splendid  culmination  of  a  movement 
in  favor  of  a  public  institution  of  this  character  which  had  been  in  progress 
for  several  years.  To  condense  from  the  first  annual  report  of  the  president, 
William  W.  Strong,  in  1895  a  number  of  citizens,  feeling  that  a  public  librarj' 
was  not  only  a  desirable  institution  for  the  city  of  Kenosha,  but  was  indeed  a 
necessity,  for  the  further  advancement  of  the  mental  and  moral  welfare  of  the 
community,  held  a  meeting  in  the  parlor  of  the  "Hotel  Grant,"  in  the  evening 
of  November  14.  At  an  adjourned  meeting  held  Jan.  6.  1896,  the  committee 
previously  appointed  to  perfect  an  organization  reported  a  plan  by  which  tlie 
proposed  library  should  be  supported  by  a  system  of  annual  dues,  the  payment 
of  which  constituted  membership  in  the  Kenosha  Library  Association.  Messrs. 
Zalmon  G.  Simmons,  George  Yule,  James  Cavanagh,  William  W.  Strong, 
George  W.  Johnston,  Joseph  Bendt,  John  O'Donnell,  E.  C.  Thiers  and  Emory 
L.  Grant  were  chosen  directors,  and  later  Mr.  Simmons  was  elected  president. 
Mr.  Yule,  vice-president,  Mr.  Johnson,  secretary,  and  Mr.  Bendt,  treas- 
urer. Mr.  Simmons  found  it  impossible  to  accept  and  Mr.  Strong  was  elected 
president  in  his  place.  In  December,  1898,  Mr.  Johnston  removed  from  the  city 
and  Mr.  Thiers  was  chosen  secretary.  A  room  for  the  library  was  secured 
from  Mr.  Simmons,  and  many  citizens  contributed  books,  as  well  as  the  Uni- 
tarian Society,  which  presented  its  collection  of  800  volumes.  Not  a  few  also 
made  liberal  donations  in  money,  among  others  Messrs.  George  Yule  and  Ed- 
ward Bain,  who  each  gave  $1,500.  Soon  after  the  organization  Mrs.  Clara 
P.  Barnes  was  selected  as  librarian,  and  she  still  holds  that  position. 

To  quote  from  the  report  of  President  Strong : 

"The  work  of  the  Kenosha  Public  Library  continued  in  its  modest  way. 
attracting  to  its  notice  the  teachers  in  the  schools  and  members  of  the  various 
library  societies  of  the  citv,  until  in  i8gg  its  friends  were  surprised  and  de- 
lighted 1)V  the  announcement  made  bv  Mr.  Zalmon  G.  Simmons  of  his  munifi- 


226  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

cent  offering  to  tlie  city  of  Kenosha.  Soon  after  this  announcement  was  made 
the  directors  of  the  Kenosha  Pubhc  Library  held  a  meeting  and  passed  the 
foHowing  resokitions : 

"Whereas  :  There  has  appeared  in  the  public  press  a  proposition  made  by  Honorable  Z.  G. 
Simmons,  in  which  he  offers  to  erect  in  the  Central  Park  of  this  city,  a  library  building  and  to 
place  the  park  in  condition  to  make  a  beautiful  setting  for  the  building;  to  install  in  the  building  a 
carefully  selected  library  of  25,000  volumes;  and  when  the  same  is  completed,  to  present  it  to  the 
city  of  Kenosha  on  condition  that  it  is  to  be  called  "Gilbert  M.  Simmons  Library;"  therefore,  be  it 

"AVi-o/jrrf,  That  the  Board  of  Directors  of  the  Kenosha  Public  Library  hereby  offers  to  the 
reading  public  its  hearty  congratulations  upon  being  the  recipient  of  this  most  generous  ofier  of 
Mr.  Simmons. 

"A\'so/Tcd,  That  the  Board  of  Directors  hereby  requests  the  Common  Council  of  the  City 
of  Kenosha  to  accept  without  hesitation  this  munificent  offer. 

"A'fxo/i'fd,  That  when  the  proposed  liorary  is  completed,  that  the  Kenosha  Public  Library 
Association  be  called  together  for  the  purpose  of  offering  its  collection  of  books  to  Gilbert  M.  Sim- 
mons Library. 

"On  March  ig.  1900.  Mayor  James  Gorman,  in  a  message  to  the  Common 
Council  of  the  City  of  Kenosha,  named  the  following  as  members  of  the 
Board  of  Directors  of  Gilbert  M.  Simmons  Library,  viz. :  Zalmon  G.  Sim- 
mons, George  Yule,  James  Cavanagh,  William  W.  Strong,  Joseph  Behdt,  John 
O'Donnell,  Charles  C.  Brown,  Edward  C.  Thiers,  Emory  L.  Grant  and  Prof. 
Elvin  C.  Wiswall.  Shortly  after  a  meeting  was  held  at  the  office  of  Mr.  Sim- 
mons and  bv  ballot  officers  were  chosen  as  follows :  William  W.  Strong,  pres- 
ident; George  Yule,  vice-president;  Edward  C.  Thiers,  secretary;  and  Joseph 
Bendt,  treasurer. 

"About  July  ist,  1900,  Mr.  Simmons  announced  that  the  library  was  ready 
to  receive  the  books  of  the  old  association  (numbering  nearly  5,000)  and  the 
books  and  other  property  were  taken  to  the  magnificent  building  and  placed  on 
the  shelves.  On  July  19th  the  first  book  was  taken  out,  and  since  that  time 
until  now  the  book  lovers  of  Kenosha  have  constantly  availed  themselves 
of  the  opportunity  to  feast  their  minds  upon  the  productions  of  the  world's 
greatest  thinkers." 

LOUIS  MILTON  THIERS,  at  one  time  a  photographer  of  Kenosha, 
residing  at  No.  426  Park  avenue,  was  born  in  that  city  July  8,  1858,  son  of 
David  and  Louisa  K.  (Capron)  Tliiers. 

The  Thiers  family  is^  of  French  origin.  The  first  ancestor  in  America 
was  a  noted  Huguenot  who  fled  from  the  south  of  France  during  the  persecu- 
tion following  the  revocation  of  the  Edict  of  Nantes,  in  1685.  He  fled  first  to 
Frankfort-on-the-]Main  and  then  to  America.  Its  representatives  in  \Yisconsin 
came  from  the  State  of  New  York,  where  Mr.  Thiers'  grandfather,  George 
Thiers,  was  born  June  26.  1781.     His  grandmother  was  Mary  Bodine  Thiers. 

David  Thiers  was  born  July  28,  1820.  In  his  early  manhood  he  was 
employed  for  some  years  in  looking  after  the  interests  of  his  brother-in-law. 
Horace  Capron,  in  Maryland,  and  then  in  1850,  soon  after  his  marriage,  he 
moved  to  Kenosha.  He  remained  there  only  a  brief  period,  however,  and 
until  1854  was  engaged  in  farming  and  stock  raising  on  a  large  farm  whicli 
he  conducted  near  Alden,  McHenry  Co.,  111.  At  the  end  of  that  time  he  re- 
turned to  Kenosha,  went  into  the  flour  and  feed  business  for  a  number  of 
years  and  later  ran  a  grocery  store.     He  died  in  March,  1875,  leaving  a  wife 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  227 

ami  fijur  children.  One  daughter,  Ella,  died  in  infancy,  the  Withers  heing: 
Herbert  M.,  of  Chicago;  Emma  \V.,  wife  of  Charles  Ouarles,  of  Milwaukee; 
Edward  C,  of  Kenosha;  and  Louis  Milton,  of  Kenosha.  Mr.  Thiers  and  his 
wife  were  both  Congregationalists.  He  was  a  school  commissioner  for  some 
time. 

Mrs.  Thiers,  whose  maiden  name  was  Louisa  K.  Capron,  is  still  living, 
and  makes  her  home  with  her  daughter  in  Milwaukee.  She  was  a  grand- 
daughter of  Elisha  and  Abigail  (Makepeace)  Capron  and  a  daughter  of  Dr. 
Seth  Capron,  a  physician,  of  English  descent,  and  a  native  of  Massachusetts 
and  a  Revolutionary  soldier.  He  married  Miss  Eunice  Mann,  a  first  cousin 
of  Horace  Mann,  and  they  had  five  children.  One  of  the  sons,  Horace,  was  a 
general  in  the  Rebellion  and  became  commissioner  of  agriculture  under 
Grant's  administration.  He  was  afterward  employed  by  the  Japanese  gov- 
ernment to  go  over  there  and  introduce  manufactures  and  American  methods. 
Dr.  Seth  Capron  passed  away  when  upward  of  seventy  years  old.  At  one 
period  in  his  life,  besides  practicing  his  profession,  he  erected  the  first  cotton 
mills  built  in  New-  York  State  and  the  foundation  of  the  present  York  Mills. 
His  wife  lived  to  the  age  of  eighty-six  and  died  in  Kenosha. 

Louis  Milton  Thiers  grew  to  maniiood  in  Kenosha  and  received  his  edu- 
cation in  the  public  schools  of  the  city,  completing  the  high  school  course.  He 
attended  the  University  of  Michigan,  at  Ann  Arbor,  for  a  short  time,  but 
soon  took  up  instead  the  study  of  photography  in  Kenosha.  After  a  year's 
work  there  he  went  to  Chicago  and  for  five  years  worked  in  the  studio  of  Max 
Platz,  one  of  the  leading  photographers  there.  An  interval  of  a  year  followed 
during  which  he  was  in  the  office  of  N.  R.  Allen's  Sons'  tannery,  and  then 
began  his  connection  with  the  Scotford  Manufacturing  Company,  manufac- 
turers of  brass  novelties.  Mr.  Thiers  was  secretary  and  treasurer  of  the 
company  till  1891,  in  which  year;  because  of  ill  health,  he  was  obliged  to  re- 
sign. A  year's  travel  in  Europe  restored  his  strength,  and  on  his  return  he 
became  bookkeeper  for  the  Kenosha  Novelty  Company  for  a  while.  In  i8g6 
he  turned  his  attention  again  to  photography  and,  as  junior  member  of  the 
firm  of  Hollister  &  Thiers,  opened  a  studio  in  Kenosha.  This  association 
with  Mr.  E.  H.  Hollister  continued  for  six  years,  but  in  1902  Mr.  Thiers  sold 
out  his  interest  and  has  ever  since  been  engaged  in  looking  after  some  landed 
interests  in  Kenosha  county  and  in  Minnesota. 

Tune  n;,  1888,  witnessed  the  union  of  Louis  M.  Thiers  to  Miss  Marv 
Elizabeth  Lamb  Stanbridge,  daughter  of  William  Stanbridge.  No  children 
have  been  born  to  this  union,  but  they  have  an  adopted  daughter,  Natalie 
Elizabeth.  Mrs.  Thiers'  mother  was  Miss  Mary  Anna  Lamb,  only  daughter 
of  John  and  Anne  Mary  (Wilcox)  Lamb.  Mr.  Lamb,  a  large  landowner 
and  real  estate  dealer,  was  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Kenosha  county,  com- 
ing thither  from  Kington,  Herefordshire,  England.  He  lived  to  be  eighty-six 
years  old.  Anne  M.  (Wilcox)  was  Mr.  Lamb's  second  wnfe.  the  first  being 
Miss  Elizabeth  Stephens,  whom  he  married  in  England.  ■  Of  the  three  chil- 
dren born  to  that  first  union,  two,  William  and  Elizabeth,  lived  and  dierl  in 
Kenosha. 

HENRY  M.  0\"ERSOX.  who  is  carrving  on  agricultiu'al  operations 
on  his  fine  piece  of  land  in  Section  i,  Dover  township,  is  a  native  of  Racine 


228  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

count V,  biirn  in  Norway  township  July  24,  1859.  His  parents,  Frank  and 
Betsey  (Peterson)  Overson,  were  natives  of  Norway.  The  grandfather  diea 
in  Norway  township  in  middle  life,  and  his  wife,  Isabel,  lived  to  be  upward 
of  seventy  years  of  age.  They  had  five  children.  On  the  maternal  side,  our 
subject's  grandfather  was  Ole  Peterson,  a  native  of  Norway,  who  died  in 
that  country  in  middle  life,  meeting  his  death  by  drowning  while  following 
his  occupation,  fishing.     His  wife  was  Angeline  Peterson. 

Frank  Overson,  the  father  of  our  subject,  came  to  America  in  1840  and, 
with  his  parents,  settled  in  Norway  township.  He  took  up  Government  land 
on  growing  to  manhood,  and  at  one  time  owned  445  acres.  There  he  lived 
until  1904,  when  he  divided  his  farm  among  his  children,  now  making  his 
home  with  his  son-in-law  and  daughter,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Edward  Pierce,  in  Do- 
ver township.  His  wife  died  in  1880,  aged  forty-two  years,  eleven  months. 
■Mr.  Overson  is  a  Lutheran,  to  which  faith  his  wife  also  adhered.  They  had 
ten  children :  Henry  M. ;  Inga  Maria,  the  widow  of  James  Nelson,  living  in 
Racine;  Angeline,  the  wife  of  Grant  Nelson,  of  Racine;  Isabel,  the  wife  of 
Edward  Pierce,  of  Dover  township ;  Thomas  Overson,  who  is  on  the  old 
homestead  in  Norway  township;  Ellen  Josephine,  of  Racine;  Ole  Edmund,  of 
Dover  township ;  James,  a  lawyer  of  Kokomo,  Ind. ;  Frank  Ezra,  of  Racine, 
ex-manager  of  the  Racine  County  Insane  Asylum:  and  John  B..  of  Norway 
township. 

Henry  ]\I.  Overson  was  reared  on  his  father's  farm  in  Norway  t(^wnship, 
and  attended  the  district  schools.  He  has  always  followed  farming  with  the 
exception  of  two  years  spent  in  Milwaukee  and  one  year  in  Burlington.  \\'hen 
he  left  home  he  had  but  fourteen  dollars  in  his  pocket,  but  he  owned  a  team 
of  horses,  with  which  he  did  teaming  for  one  year.  He  then  rented  a  farm 
for  one  year,  at  the  end  of  which  time  he  purchased  his  present  120-acre  tract 
of  land,  to  which  he  has  added  from  time  to  time,  his  property  now  compris- 
ing 280  acres. 

On  June  14,  1893,  Mr.  Overson  married  Miss  Caroline  D.  Stalbaum, 
daughter  of  Frederick  and  Catherine  (Snider)  Stalbaum,  and  five  children 
have  been  born  to  this  union:  Frank  Leslie,  Stanley  Frederick,  Paul  Harold, 
\\'esley  John  and  Violet  Grace.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Overson  are  members  of  the 
Christian  Science  Church.     Politically  he  is  a  Republican. 

John  Stalbaum,  the  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Overson.  was  a  native 
of  Mecklenliurg.  Germany,  and  married  Katherine  Nuremburg.  They  came 
to  America,  being  among  the  early  settlers  of  Norway  township,  and  engaged 
in  farming.  Here  both  died,  leaving  five  children.  On  the  maternal  side, 
Mrs.  Overson's  grandfather  was  Conrad  Snider,  who  on  coming  to  America 
settled  in  New  York,  whence  he  came  West  at  an  early  day.  He  and  his  wife. 
Magdalena  (Raab)  Snider,  lived  to  advanced  age.  They  had  l:)ut  one  child, 
the  mother  of  Mrs.  Overson. 

Mrs.  Overson's  father  was  a  native  of  Mecklenburg.  Germany,  and  com- 
ing to  America  lived  in  New  York  for  a  time.  After  marriage  he  and  his 
wife  came  to  Racine  county,  being  among  the  early  settlers  of  Norway  town- 
ship, where  they  still  reside,  Mr.  Stalbaum  owning  about  five  hundred  acres 
of  land.      Thev   had   five  children,    as   follows:    Elizabeth,   who   is   at   home; 


COMMEMORATI\'E    BIOGRAPPilCAL    RECORD.  229 

Caroline  D..  wife  of  ]\Ir.  Overson;  In-cclerick,  deceased:  Sarah  Julia  (Nellie)  ; 
and  Louis,  at  home. 

RICHARD  PEAT,  a  skilled  patternmaker  employed  in  the  plant  of  the 
y.  I.  Case  Threshing  2^Iachine  Company,  Racine,  Wis.,  has  been  a  resident 
of  that  city  for  over  thirty  years.  Mr.  Peat  was  born  May  22,  1849,  i"  Mont- 
gomeryshire. North  Wales,  son  of  Richard  and  Ann  (Peat)  Peat,  natives  of 
that  country. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  our  subject  was  also  named  Richard  Peat, 
and  he  and  his  wife  Elizabeth  had  a  good-sized  family.  The  maternal  grand- 
father, Robert  Peat,  a  native  of  Wales,  was  a  tailor  by  trade,  and  he  died 
aged  about  eighty-twq  years.  His  wife,  Margaret,  also  lived  to  an  advanced 
age,  and  she  and  her  husband  were  the  parents  of  a  large  family. 

Richard  Peat  (2),  son  of  Richard,  and  father  of  our  subject,  was  a 
weaver  by  trade,  and  died  in  Wales  atout  1863,  aged  fifty-two  years, 
his  wife  passing  away  about  six  months  later.  They  were  members  of  the 
Congregational  Church.  Richard  and  Ann  (  Peat)  Peat  had  these  children : 
Robert,  of  Lima,  Ohio:  Elizabeth,  wife  of  L  R.  Tudor,  of  Van  Wert,  Ohio: 
Richard,  of  Racine:  William,  of  Gomer,  Ohio:  and  Edward,  M.  D.,  deceased. 

Richard  Peat,  the  third  in  direct  line  to  bear  the  name,  lived  in  his  native 
shire  until  seventeen  years  of  age,  and  attended  the  common  schools.  He  then 
came  to  America  and  lived  at  Gomer.  Ohio,  for  four  years,  and  at  the  age  of 
nineteen  years  began  learning  the  carpenter's  trade.  From  Gomer  he  removed 
to  Delphos,  and  thence  to  Columbus,  Ohio,  and  from  the  latter  place  went  to 
Chicago,  111.  About  1874  ]\Ir.  Peat  located  in  Racine,  and  went  to  work  in 
the  St.  Paul  railroad  shops,  remaining  seven  and  one-half  years.  He  then 
entered  the  employ  of  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company,  and  after 
fourteen  years  with  that  company  he  engaged  with  the  Racine  ^Malleable  Iron 
Company,  where  he  continued  for  nine  years.  At  the  end  of  this  time  he 
returned  to  the  J.  I.  Case  Threshing  Machine  Company,  and  there  he  has 
since  remained,  being  employed  as  a  patternmaker,  making  patterns  for  all 
kinds  of  new  machinery. 

Mr.  Peat  was  married  Jan.  6,  1876.  to  Miss  Margaret  Pugh.  daughter 
of  James  and  Jeannette  (Hughes)  Pugh,  and  to  this  union  have  been  born 
two  children :  Annie,  who  married  Albert  Fink,  of  Milwaukee ;  and  James, 
cashier  in  the  Internal  Revenue  Office,  Milwaukee,  who  was  formerly  em- 
ployed in  the  Manufacturers  Bank  of  Racine.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peat  are  mem- 
bers of  the  Presbyterian  Church,  in  which  he  is  a  "-'eacon.  Fraternally  Mr. 
Peat  is  connected  with  the  Modern  Woodmen  of  America.  Politicallv  he  is 
a  Republican.  His  fine  home  at  No.  842  Park  avenue,  was  built  by  him  in 
1894. 

We  quote  the  following  sketch  of  Miss  Annie  Peat  (now  ^Irs.  Albert 
Fink)  from  the  Cambrian,  a  Welsh  monthlv  magazine: 

"It  is  with  pleasure  that  we  present  with  this  issue  a  sketch  of  one  of  the 
most  popular  lady  musicians  in  the  L^nited  States,  and  one  who  is  known  to 
thousands  of  Eisteddfodwyr  all  over  this  vast  continent.  Her  ability  is  so 
well  known,  and  has  been  so  favorably  commented  on  by  some  of  the  noted 
critics  of  the  musical  world,  that  any  further  reference  on  our  part  to  her 


22,0  CO.M-ME-AIORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

sterling  qualities  as  a  musician,  as  well  as  her  ability  to  perform  on  her  chosen 
instruments — the  piano  and  organ — wouia  be  superfluous.     We  refer  to  Aliss  - 
Annie  Peat,  of  Racine,  Wisconsin. 

■'.Miss  Peat  was  born  in  Racine,  Oct.  i8,  1876.  She  is  the  daughter  or 
Richard  and  Alargaret  Peat.  Mr.  Peat  is  a  native  of  Llanbrynmair,  North 
Wales,  while  the  mother  of  the  subject  of  our  sketch,  was  born  in  Racine, 
being  a  daughter  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  James  Pugh,  who  gained  prominence  owing 
to  being  the  first  Welsh  couple  ever  married  in  that  thriving  town  on  Lake 
Michigan.  Miss  Peat's  talent  for  music  is  hereditary,  as  her  father  is  a  well- 
known  musician,  and  acknowledged  to  be  one  of  the  most  successful  conduc- 
tors in  the  locality  in  which  they  reside.  She  commenced  the  study  of  the 
piano,  for  which  she  showed  much  aptitude,  when  but  a  mere  child,  her  sub- 
sequent teachers  being  Frederick  Nelson  and  Miss  Merrick,  of  Chicago,  and 
Charles  W.  Dodge,  of  Milwaukee,  who  is  noted  for  his  excellent  qualities  as 
an  instructor.  By  faithful  study  and  practice  she  made  such  rapid  progress 
as  to  exceed  the  most  earnest  expectations  of  her  many  admirers,  who 
watched  her  with  strong  feelings  of  hopefulness  for  future  success.  Since  the 
commencement  of  her  career  she  has  studied  music  and  piano  playing  with 
such  etlect  that  she  has  developed  into  a  substantial  concert  player,  and  her 
methods  of  technique  and  of  musical  interpretation  have  enabled  her  to  give 
some  highly  satisfactory  renderings  of  the  works  of  the  great  masters.  Her 
playing  is  characterized  with  poetic  and  sympathetic  qualities  of  expression 
sustained  power  and  brilliancy.  She  has  given  numerous  recitals  throughout 
the  West  with  much  success,  and  received  very  flattering  encomiums  from 
the  press. 

"Possibly  it  is  an  organist  that  Miss  Peat  is  best  known.  After  a  three 
years'  course  of  study  with  Harrison  M.  Wild,  director  of  the  Apollo  Club, 
of  Chicago,  as  w-ell  as  organist  of  Grace  Episcopal  Church,  of  the  same  city, 
supplemented  bv  another  course  under  that  noted  performer  and  instructor, 
Herr  Wilhelm  Middleschulte,  organist  of  St.  James'  Episcopal  Church,  Chi- 
cago, and  Theodore  Thomas'  Orchestra,  it  is  hardly  to  be  wondered  at  that 
the  critics  rave  over  her  playing.  One  of  the  leading  organists  of  this  coun- 
trv.  on  hearing  Miss  Peat's  interpretation  of  Guilmant's  'Marche  Religieuse' 
at  a  recent  concert,  remarked :  'She  will  some  day  reach  the  pinnacle  of  fame, 
and  be  classified  with  the  leading  organists  of  the  w-orld.'  Such  commenda- 
tion from  one  so  able  to  judge  fully  repays  a  person  for  a  whole  life  of  study. 
At  the  Eisteddfod  held  at  Cincinnati,  O.,  Jan.  i,  1900.  where  Miss  Peat  was 
engaged  in  rendering  several  selections  on  the  grand  pipe  organ  in  Music 
Hall,  she  won  unstinted  praise.  Professor  Homan,  mucisal  critic  of  the  Cin- 
cinnati Commercial  Tribune,  referred  publicly  to  her  rendering  of  Bach's 
Tocatto  and  Fugue  in  D  minor,  as  follows :  'Her  reading  was  given  with  the 
genuine  Bach  spirit,  clean-cut  phrasing  and  finely  accentuated  periods.  She 
has  a  facile  command  of  facile  registration,  and  her  pedaling  is  excellent.' 
Miss  Peat  has  given  a  large  number  of  organ  recitals.  Her  first  occurred  at 
Racine.  April  2.  1894.  when  but  seventeen  years  of  age.  Since  that  time  she 
has  appeared,  among  other  places,  in  Van  Wert.  O..  where  at  the  ]\Iay  Fes- 
tival in  1897  she  played  the  accompaniments  of  Handel's  'Judas  Maccabeus' 
on  the  organ ;  a  recital  at  Pabst  Theatre,  Milwaukee,  at  the  Ben  Davies  Con- 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  231 

cert,  under  the  auspices  of  the  Ariun  Musical  Club;  and  at  the  recent  Eistedd- 
fod ni  Lmcumati,  U.,  ni  each  place  wmnnig  the  highest  praise  ut  lier  auaitors 
and  critics. 

"Miss  Peat  is  an  ardent  Eisteddfodist,  having  officiated  in  many  festi- 
vals as  an  accompanist.  In  this  role  her  services  are  in  great  demand,  as  she 
is  a  superb  reader  and  in  complete  sympathy  with  the  singer,  points  which  are 
necessary  in  an  ideal  accompanist.  For  several  years  she  officiated  as  an  ac- 
companist of  the  Orpheus  Llub  of  Racine,  under  the  directorship  of  Profes- 
sor Daniel  Protheroe,  Mus.  Bac,  of  Milwaukee,  to  the  utmost  satisfaction  of 
all,  and  has  also  accompanied  such  artists  as  Mrs.  G.  Clarke  Wilson,  Chi- 
cago ;  Frederick  Carberry,  H.  Evan  Williams,  Albert  Fink,  and  others,  with 
gratifying  success.  Miss  Peat's  experience  as  a  competitor  in  Eisteddfodau, 
while  not  a  very  lengthy  one,  proved  of  great  benefit  to  her.  She  first  com- 
peted at  Central  Music  Hall,  Chicago,  Jan.  i,  1890,  where  she  was  awarded 
first  prize.     In  all  her  subsequent  competitions  she  was  eminently  successful. 

"At  present  Miss  Peat  presides  at  the  organ  in  the  First  Presbyterian 
Church,  Racine,  a  position  she  has  held  continuously  for  the  past  seven  years 
[now  thirteen  years].  She  also  devotes  a  large  portion  of  her  time  to  teach- 
ing, having  under  her  instruction  at  the  present  time,  a  large  class  of  stu- 
dents, who,  it  is  hoped,  will  appreciate  their  opportunity  of  having  for  an  in- 
structor one  so  ciualified  in  every  respect  for  the  imparting  of  knowledge  to 
those  fortunate  enough  to  be  placed  under  her  careful  tuition.  Racine  people 
are  naturally  proud  of  their  talented  townswoman,  and  well  they  might  be. 
Miss  Peat  was  born  and  raised  in  Racine,  was  graduated  from  the  local  high 
school,  and  is  at  present  one  of  the  leaders  in  musical  circles  in  that  com- 
munity. 

"The  Caiuhnau  congratulates  Miss  Peat,  and  is  pleased  with  the  oppor- 
tunity of  presenting  a  cut  of  her  genial  features  in  its  columns,  hoping  that 
her  past  successes  will  be  as  a  trifle  in  comparison  with  what  the  future  has 
in  store  for  her. — lorwerth  ap  Rhys." 

Mrs.  Fink  was  appointed  by  the  State  of  Wisconsin  to  preside  at  the 
mammoth  organ  on  Wisconsin  Day  at  the  Pan-American  Exposition.  The 
Buffalo  (N.  Y.)  Sunday  Nczvs.  July  28,  1901.  said:  "Miss  Annie  Peat,  an 
accomplished  organist  of  Racine.  Wis.,  played  a  selection  on  the  organ.  Miss 
Peat's  playing  proved  a  very  delightful  feature  of  the  programme  and  she 
showed  herself  to  be  an  artist  of  rare  accomplishment  and  ability."  On  the 
same  date  the  Milwaukee  Sunday  Scntind  reported :  "Miss  Peat  gave  a 
magnificent  rendition  of  Bach's  Tocatto  and  Fugue  in  D  minor,  and 
showed  her  unquestionable  mastery  of  the  great  instrument  by  the  exquisite 
interpretation  of  Guilmant's  first  Sonata.  Her  playing  was  most  enthusias- 
tically received." 

Mrs.  Fink  is  the  only  woman  organist  to  give  a  recital  on  the  great  organ 
in  the  Tabernacle  at  Salt  Lake  City.  Under  date  of  Aug.  23,  1902,  the  Salt 
Lake  Telegram  says :  Mrs.  Annie  Peat  Fink,  who  is  visiting  in  Salt  Lake, 
conducted  the  organ  recital  at  the  Tabernacle  yesterday  afternoon  and  stir- 
prised  her  audience  by  a  masterful  performance.  She  possesses  individuality 
in  her  style,  combined  with  splendid  understanding  of  the  registration  and 
technique  worthy  of  any  artist." 


232  COMMEAIORATR-E    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

JAAIES  CAVANAGH.  Among  the  leading;  lawyers  of  Kenosha  none 
js  better  known  or  stands  higher  in  his  profession  than  James  Cavanagh,  who 
by  his  own  ability  and  untiring  industry  has  pushed  his  way  steadily  upward 
to  his  present  assured  position.  He  was  born  in  Kenosha  Jan.  23.  18^3,  of 
Irish  parentage  and  descent.  Nothing  of  his  paternal  grandfather  is  now 
known  except  that  he  died  in  Ireland. 

James  Cavanagh,  Sr..  was  born  in  County  Roscommon,  Ireland.  He 
married  JMiss  Catherine  Cox,  daughter  of  a  farmer  and  drover  in  ^^'estmeath, 
Ireland,  who  bought  and  sold  cattle.  Three  children  were  born  to  James  and 
Catherine  Cavanagh :  James,  Jr.,  and  Mary  and  Elizabeth,  who  both  died  in 
early  childhood.  In  Ireland  the  father  was  engaged  principahy  in  farming, 
but  after  he  came  to  America  in  1842  he  worked  at  landscape  gardening,  and 
spent  several  years  at  that  employment  in  Kenosha.  He  tlien  purchased  eightv- 
six  acres  of  land  in  Bristol  township,  and  gave  his  entire  attention  to  culti- 
vating it  for  the  rest  of  his  life.  His  death  occurred  there  in  November.  1861, 
when  he  was  about  sixty  years  of  age.  His  wife,  who  was  born  in  1828,  sur- 
vived him  until  1893.     They  were  members  of  the  Catholic  Church. 

James  Cavanagh.  Jr.,  grew  up  on  the  farm,  meeting  the  usual  experiences 
of  a  farmer's  son.  After  exhausting  the  opportunities  for  studying  at  the  dis- 
trict schools  he  went  to  the  Oshkosh  Normal  School  to  prepare  himself  for 
teaching.  For  six  years — partly  before  and  partly  after  his  graduation  from 
that  institution — he  taught,  but  still  operated  the  farm,  which  his  father's 
death  had  left  to  his  management,  during  the  summer  vacations.  For  some 
time  Mr.  Cavanagh  read  law  by  himself,  and  in  that  way  covered  much  of  the 
necessary  ground,  but  in  July,  1876,  he  entered  the  law  office  of  J.  V.  and  C. 
Ouarles.  at  Kenosha,  and  began  his  formal  preparation  for  admission  to  the 
Wisconsin  Bar.  He  passed  the  required  examinations  in  November  of  the 
same  year,  and  in  the  following  March  entered  upon  the  active  practice  of  his 
profession.  He  went  first  to  Stevens  Point,  Wis.,  but  after  one  year  there  re- 
turned to  Kenosha  and  has  been  permanently  established  there  ever  since.  Be- 
sides being  the  attorney  for  several  large  corporations,  Mr.  Cavanagli  has 
various  business  interests  of  his  own,  and  is  president  of  the  Kenosha  Gas  81 
Electric  Company,  director  of  the  Northwestern  Loan  and  Trust  Company, 
and  president  of  the  Kenosha  Home  Telephone  Company.  His  political  views 
have  led  him  into  the  ranks  of  the  Republicans,  and  for  four  years  he  held  the 
position  of  district  attorney.  He  was  also  superintendent  o'f  the  city  schools 
for  a  period  of  eight  years. 

On  April  25,  1877,  Mr.  Cavanagh  was  married  to  Miss  Nellie  Pratt  Park- 
inson, daughter  of  Reuben  and  Chloe  (  Pratt)  Parkinson,  of  Oshkosh.  To  this 
union  three  children  have  been  born,  namely:  Walter  James,  for  three  years 
a  student  in  the  L^niversity  of  Chicago,  at  oresent  in  the  employ  of  the  Simmons 
Manufacturing  Company  at  Kenosha:  Richard  P.,  attending  the  State  LTni- 
versitv  at  Madison:  and  James,  who  lived  but  two  and  one  half  years.  The 
family  resides  at  No.  370  Prairie  avenue,  which  property  ]\Ir.  Cavanagh  owns 
in  addition  to  the  old  home  farm  in  Bristol  township.  Mrs.  Cavanagh  is  an 
Episcopalian,  but  her  husband  adheres  to  the  faith  of  his  fathers. 


COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  233 

HENRY  F.  JOHXSOX.  One  of  the  fine  farms  of  Racine  county  is 
that  owned  by  Henry  F.  Johnson,  in  Section  12,  Norway  township.  Mr. 
Johnson  was  born  on  this  farm  March  5,  i860,  son  of  Ole  and  Juha  (Beck- 
jord)  Johnson,  natives  of  Norway. 

Mr.  Johnson  attended  the  district  schools  of  iiis  nati\'e  locahty,  and  there 
grew  to  manhood.  At  his  father's  death  he  inherited  a  share  of  the  old  home- 
stead, and  later  purchased  a  sister's  interest,  now  owning  a  finely  improved 
tract  of  160  acres.  The  father  gave  each  of  the  other  sons  a  farm.  Not  only 
is  Mr.  Johnson  well  known  as  an  enterprising  and  practical  agriculturist,  but 
as  a  town  and  county  official  as  well.  He  is  influential  in  the  ranks  of  the  Re- 
publican party,  and  for  twelve  years  he  served  as  supervisor,  being  chairman 
of  the  board  for  seven  years.  He  was  elected  school  treasurer  July  5,  1885, 
and  so  efficiently  performed  the  duties  appertaining  to  that  office  that  he  has 
been  re-elected  continuously,  term  after  term,  to  the  present  time.  He  was  a 
delegate  to  the  State  convention  on  Gov.  LaFollette's  first  nomination,  and 
has  been  to  many  county  conventions  as  well.  He  is  now  one  of  the  trustees 
of  the  Racine  County  Asylum  for  the  Chronic  Insane.  Mr.  Johnson  served 
for  many  years  as  a  director  of  the  Dover  and  Norway  Township  Farmers' 
Insurance  Company.  He  and  his  wife  are  members  of  the  Lutheran  Church, 
He  is  fraternally  connected  with  the  United  Order  of  Foresters. 

On  Oct.  5,  1887,  Mr.  Johnson  married  Miss  Carolina  A.  Nelson,  daugh- 
ter of  Nels  H.  and  Betsy  (Sanderson)  Nelson,  and  four  children  were  born 
to  this  union:  Orville  Newton,  Benjamin  Julian,  Nelson  Harold  and  Clar- 
ence Hulbert. 

Mrs.  Johnson's  parents  were  natives  of  Norway  and  early  settlers  of 
Raymond  township,  Racine  county,  where  Mr.  Nelson  owned  a  tract  of  156 
acres,  another  of  seventy-three,  and  one  of  sixty  acres  in  Norway  township. 
He  improved  the  first  farm,  and  there  continued  to  reside  until  his  death, 
Feb.  2,  1899,  at  the  age  of  sixty-four  years,  ten  months,  sixteen  days.  His 
widow  still  survives  and  lives  at  the  old  home  place.  She  was  bom  Oct.  21, 
1840.  She  is  a  member  of  the  Lutheran  Church,  to  which  Mr.  Nelson  also 
belonged.  They  were  the  parents  of  the  following  children :  Carolina  A., 
wife  of  Henry  F.  Johnson;  Herman  A.,  of  Rolfe,  Iowa;  Ellen  S.,  the  widow 
of  Syver  Goli,  of  Perry,  Dane  Co.,  Wis.;  Emma,  unmarried,  who  is  at  home; 
Anna  Matilda,  wife  of  Gustave  A.  Dawson,  of  Rolfe,  Iowa;  Bertha  Jose- 
phine, wife  of  Percy  Dawson,  of  Raymond  township;  Nellie  Louise,  wife  of 
John  B.  Overson.  of  Norway  township ;  Adolph  N.,  who  is  on  the  old  home- 
stead, and  Alfred  S.,  at  home. 

The  paternal  grandfather  of  Mrs.  Carolina  A.  Johnson  was  Hermo  Nel- 
son, a  native  of  Norway,  and  one  of  the  early  settlers  of  Raymond  township, 
where  he  followed  farming  until  his  death,  at  the  age  of  eighty-five  years.  He 
and  his  wife,  Karie  (Tufte)  Nelson,  who  was  seventy  years  old  at  the  time  of 
her  death,  were  the  parents  of  four  children :  Sarah,  who  was  the  wife  of 
Rev.  Filing  Eilson ;  Betsy,  who  was  the  wife  of  O.  B.  Dahle;  Nels  H. ;  and 
Julia,  widow  of  Thomas  Adland. 

Mrs.  Nelson's  maternal  grandfather  was  Andrew  Sanderson,  an  early 
settler  of  Dane  county.  Wis.,  where  he  died  at  an  advanced  age.  He  and  his 
wife,  Agatha,  had  a  large  family,  seven  of  whom  are  now  living,  as  follows : 


234  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Betsy,  Mrs.  Nelson;  Sander,  of  Dane  county,  Wis.;  Turina,  wife  of  Xels 
eleven,  of  South  Dakota;  Caroline,  unmarried,  of  South  Dakota;  Carl,  of 
Perry,  Dane  county ;  Olaus,  of  South  Dakota ;  and  Adolph,  of  South  Dakota. 

THOMAS  WEST,  an  influential  and  prosperous  agriculturist  of  Sec- 
tion lo,  Raymond  township,  Racine  Co.,  Wis.,  is  a  native  of  Ontario  county, 
Ontario,  Canada,  born  Dec.  29,  1826.  His  parents,  Thomas  and  Hannah 
Rebecca  (Phillips)  West,  were  natives  of  ^^lassachusetts  and  Pennsylvania, 
respectively. 

Thomas  West,  the  paternal  grandfather,  was  born  in  ^Massachusetts,  of 
English  descent,  his  father  having  been  the  founder  of  this  branch  of  the 
family  in  America,  whither  he  was  sent  as  a  missionary.  He  lived  not  far 
from  Montpelier,  and  was  in  the  dairy  and  milk  business  there.  He  later 
went  to  Canada,  spending  the  better  portion  of  his  life  in  West  Gwillimbury, 
Ontario,  Canada,  and  thence  moving  to  Wisconsin  spent  the  latter  part  of 
his  life  in  Franklin  township,  Milwaukee  county.  He  w-as  buried  in  Raymond 
township,  Racine  county.  He  and  his  wife,  Mary  (Davis)  West,  had  ten 
children:  Julian,  Deborah,  Thomas,  Benjamin,  Eliza,  George,  Quincy.  Al- 
fred, Derrick  and  David. 

On  the  maternal  side.  Mr.  West  is  the  grandson  of  William  Phillips,  a 
native  of  Pennsylvania,  of  Quaker  stock,  and  a  farmer  by  occupation.  He 
and  his  wife  died  in  Canada.  They  were  the  parents  of  four  children.  Owen, 
Mary,  Hannah  Rebecca  and  Gideon. 

Thomas  West,  the  father  of  our  suliject,  was  always  a  farmer.  When 
quite  a  young  man  he  went  to  Canada,  whence  he  came  to  Milwaukee,  landing 
there  Oct.  25,  1848,  and  at  once  removed  with  his  family  to  Raymond  town- 
ship, where  he  purchased  740  acres,  to  which  he  later  added  more.  This  he 
improved.  He  died  in  Iowa  when  almost  eighty  years  of  age,  and  his  wife 
died  in  February,  1876,  aged  seventy.  Mr.  West  was  a  member  of  the  Wis- 
consin State  Assembly  in  the  early  days.  He  and  his  wife  were  the  parents 
of  eleven  children :  Thomas,  William  and  Timothy,  deceased ;  George,  of 
Raymond  Center,  Wis. ;  Gideon  and  David,  deceased ;  Owen,  of  Raymond 
township;  Derrick,  deceased:  Stephen  and  Benjamin  of  Raymond  township; 
and  Rebecca  H.,  who  died  when  twenty  years  of  age. 

Thomas  West,  whose  name  introduces  this  sketch,  was  reared  in  Can- 
ada, and  there  received  a  common-school  education.  At  the  age  of  twenty- 
two  years  he  came  to  the  United  States,  and  has  been  a  resident  of  Raymond 
township  since  1848.  He  lived  at  home  until  1850,  and  then  began  farming 
for  himself  on  eighty  acres  of  land,  to  which  he  added  fifty-three  acres, 
which  he  continued  to  cultivate  until  1894,  when  he  sold  the  eighty  acres. 
now  conducting  operations  on  the  fifty-three  acres  in  Section  10,  Raymond 
township. 

On  June  16,  1850.  Mr.  West  married  Aliss  Charlotte  Ferris,  daughter  of 
William  and  Mary  (Callahan)  Ferris,  and  children  as  follows  were  torn  to 
this  union :  Rebecca,  George.  Myron,  Mary,  Eliza,  Thomas,  Elmer,  Char- 
lotte, Myra  and  Cora.  Rebecca  married  John  McAdams,  and  they  live  in 
Racine;  they  have  four  children.  Ethel.  Charles,  Daisy  and  Olive  Ernestine. 
George  and  Thomas  died  in  early  childhood.     Mary  married  Rev.  Ephraim 


COM.ME.MORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD.  235 

Corey,  and  thev  live  in  Bellaire,  Mich. ;  they  have  children — Evangeline, 
Ralph,  John,  Morris,  Dotty  and  Mabel.  Eliza  married  Sherman  Brice,  and 
lives  on  the  old  home  place  of  her  father.  Charlotte  married  Walter  G. 
Shumway,  of  Raymond  township,  and  they  have  two  children.  Linus  and 
Charlotte.  ]Myra  married  Fred  Hermas,  of  Racine,  and  they  have  three  chil- 
dren, Elmer  Ross,  Charlotte  Theresa  and  Cora  Almira.  Cora  marrieil  El- 
bert Shumway,  of  Raymond  township. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  West  are  Methodists  in  religious  belief,  but  are  not  iden- 
tified with  any  church  at  present,  as  there  is  no  church  of  that  faith  located 
near  their  home.  Politically  he  is  a  Republican,  and  has  served  as  town  treas- 
urer for  one  term,  one  or  two  terms  on  the  board  of  supervisors,  and  two-  or 
three  times  as  assessor.  He  held  the  office  of  justice  of  the  peace  for  many 
years. 

Mrs.  West's  parents  were  natives  of  Ireland,  her  father  of  County  An- 
irim,  and  her  mother  of  County  Cavan,  and  both  went  to  Canada  when  quite 
voung.  and  were  there  married.  They  located  in  the  United  States  in  1849, 
settling  in  Raymond  township.  Racine  county,  one-half  mile  west  of  Ray- 
mond Centre,  and  there  engaged  in  farming.  Mr.  Ferris  died  in  1898,  aged 
over  ninety-eight  years,  and  his  wife  in  1886.  when  about  seventy  years  old. 
They  had  a  family  of  eight  children :  Charlotte.  JNIrs.  West :  George,  de- 
ceased; Caroline,  wife  of  Newton  Alexander,  of  Milwaukee;  Alfred,  of 
northern  IMichigan;  Anna,  deceased,  who  was  first  the  wife  of  Matthew  Lee, 
and  afterward  of  Benjamin  Dory;  Elizabeth,  widow  of  Darius  Parsons,  and 
now  living  in  Delevan,  Wis.;  William,  deceased;  and  Susan,  wife  of  John 
Hav.  of  North  Cape.  Wis.  Mr.  William  Ferris,  the  father  of  these  chil- 
dren, was  a  soldier  in  the  rebellion  of  1837  in  Canada. 

ORLA  M.  CALKINS,  a  retired  business  man  of  Kenosha,  has  been  a 
resident  of  the  city  for  more  than  forty-five  years  and  has  witnessed  its  de- 
velopment from  a  small  village  to  its  present  proportions.  His  own  for- 
tunes have  grown  with  those  of  the  city,  so  that  he  ranks  among  its  substan- 
tial citizens.     He  resides  at  No.  504  Durkee  avenue. 

Mr.  Calkins  is  descended  on  both  sides  of  the  house  from  Connecticut 
stock.  His  paternal  grandfather,  Luther  Calkins,  was  a  native  of  that  State, 
and  was  of  Welsh  lineage.  He  was  a  farmer  and  died  in  early  manhood, 
leaving  a  wife,  Cynthia  (Wood)  Calkins,  who  lived  to  be  over  eighty,  and  a 
family  of  nine  children.  On  the  maternal  side  the  grandfather  was  Peleg 
Davis,  who  moved  from  his  native  State  to  Washington  county.  N.  Y..  and 
later  to  Oswego  county,  where  he  died  when  seventy-six  years  old.  His  wife. 
Hearty  (Crandall)  Davis,  died  while  still  a  voung  woman,  leaving  se\'en  chil- 
dren. 

Stephen  W.  Calkins,  father  of  Orla  M.,  was  born  in  Connecticut  in  1810. 
and  spent  his  earlier  life  in  farming.  He  moved  to  Washington  county.  N. 
Y..  in  an  early  day,  and  thence  to  Oswego,  where  he  died  in  1852.  He  con- 
ducted a  grocery  in  that  city.  He  married  Miss  Eliza  Davis,  who  lived  but 
a  vear  after  her  husband,  passine  away  when  forty-one  years  old.  Both  were 
Weslevan  Methodists.  Their  children  were  five  in  number,  namelv :  Luther 
E.,  of  Oswego  county,  N.  Y. ;  Orla  M. ;  Jtiliette  V..  deceased  wife  of  A.  G. 


236  COMMEMORATIVE    BIOGRAPHICAL    RECORD. 

Courtney;  Ellen  A.,  wife  of  William  Croniack,  of  Ruuseville,  Pa.;  and  Me- 
dora  E..  who  married  the  late  William  Ball,  of  Mexico,  Oswego  Co  New 
York. 

Orla  ]M.  Calkins  was  born  in  Oswego  county,  N.  Y.,  July  20,  1836. 
He  remained  there  until  i860,  receiving  his  education  in  the  public  schools, 
and  assisting  his  father  on  the  farm  and  in  his  grocery  store.  When  twenty- 
four  years  old  he  came  west  and  settled  permanently  in  Kenosha.  For  the 
first  eight  years  he  continued  in  the  grocery  line,  as  clerk,  and  then  traveled 
for  Sprague,  Warner  &  Co.,  of  Chicago,  during  a  period  of  ten  years.  In 
1878  he  again  went  into  the  grocery  business  in  Kenosha,  and  continued  it 
until  he  retired,  in  1891.  Mr.  Calkins  had  amassed  a  large  property,  and  is 
the  owner  of  more  than  a  dozen  store  buildings  in  Kenosha.  His  handsome 
residence,  built  by  United  States  Senator  Charles  Durkee,  was  purchased 
over  thirty-five  years  ago  by  Mrs.  Calkins  and  has  been  occupied  ever  since  as 
the  familv  residence. 

Mr.  Calkins  was  married  Feb.  13,  1868,  to  IMiss  Avis  Myers,  daughter 
of  Harmon  and  Margaret  (Mulford)  Myers,  of  Bennington,  Vt.,  but  Mrs. 
Calkins  lived  only  eleven  months  after  her  marriage.  On  June  i,  1874,  Mr. 
Calkins  became  the  husband  of  Miss  Elizabeth  M.  O'Neill,  daughter  of 
Charles  and  Mary  Elizabeth  (Douglas)  O'Neill.  One  son  was  born  to  this 
union,  but  died  in  infancy.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Calkins  are  both  members  of  St. 
Matthew's  Episcopal  Church,  of  Kenosha,  where  he  was  confirmed  thirty- 
five  years  ago,  and  his  wife  fifteen  years  earlier,  although  Bishop  Kemper 
ofticiated  at  the  rite  in  both  cases.  Mr.  Calkins  is  now  senior  warden  of  the 
church.  Over  forty  years  ago  he  became  a  Mason,  and  belongs  to  Kenosha 
Lodge,  No.  47,  F.  &  A.  M.  He  is  also  a  member  of  Kenosha  Chapter,  No. 
3,  R.  A.  M.  Politically  he  has  been  a  Republican  from  the  day  when  he  cast 
his  first  vote  for  Abraham  Lincoln,  and  he  has  been  an  active  worker  in  the 
party  ranks.  For  one  term  he  was  alderman  from  the  Second  ward,  and 
served  as  w-ater  commissioner  for  six  years.  Mr.  Calkins  commands  the  re- 
spect of  the  entire  community,  and  represents  the  best  type  of  an  American 
citizen. 

DAVID  LAWTON,  a  dealer  in  flour,  feed,  seeds  and  building  material, 
vi^hose  place  of  business  is  located  at  No.  219  Fifth  street,  Racine.  Wis.,  is  one 
of  the  prominent  and  enterprising  mercliants  of  that  city.  His  birth  occurred 
in  Leigh.  Lancashire,  England,  Nov.  26,  18^;.  and  his  parents.  John  and 
Margaret  (Allen)  Lawton,  were  also  natives  of  England.  Joseph  Lawton,  the 
p-randfather.  was  a  farmer  in  England,  where  he  died  aged  about  eight